View Full Version : Jing Yung(金庸)

warrior
28-06-2005, 11:10 PM
Hello...I can sure tht many of u read Jing Yung's novels be4 right. So, among the 14 stories, which story u prefer the most? And also which story u hate the most? Just share ur idea...

I have few favourite stories, just like 鹿鼎记, 射雕英雄传, 神雕侠侣, 笑傲江湖,and 倚天屠龙记. Among these, I think I like 鹿鼎记 the most. 小宝 this character is very funny. Create lots of jokes.. :lol:

okaywhy
09-12-2005, 03:00 PM
I like 笑傲江湖!

The character of 令狐冲 defies description....

I think the 独孤九剑 is probably the greatest among all the martial arts which are using sword as the weapon in Jin-yung's books.

MothBall
14-01-2006, 10:42 AM
Jin Yong is so famous that there was a saying that "wherever there is Chinese, there will b Jin Yong's books". I've read all of them I think. All of them are pretty good, I must say. Jin Yong is arguably the Chinese master of Romance. I liked the Lu Ding Ji the most. It's so unique. The hero is not the child of a famous people but the son of a pros. He doesn't get his way through raw power (martial arts) but by wit. And the tone of the story can be relaxing. The character Wei Xiao Bao is certainly not self-disciplined, lazy, and in every way "unheroic". It really provided a diversion from other conventional Jin Yong heroes.

MothBall
14-01-2006, 10:48 AM
Xue Shan Fei Hu is not a bad story also. I liked the ending which is left hanging for the readers to make their choice on the ending their prefer. Who dies? Miao Ren Feng or Hu Fei? It all depends on the reader's imagination. I like the plot where Hu Fei discovered that Miao Ren Feng, a brilliant swordsman he admired was his father's killer, and he thought Miao Ren Feng used poison to do that. Later he found out that another doctor was responsible for the poisoning, and thus the doctor was the real killer. He even fell in love with Miao's daughter. Comes the best part, despite knowing that he has no reason to fight Miao, they finally have to fight till death when Miao mistakenly thought that Hu Fei's has insulted her daughter's dignity. Great story.