View Full Version : STPM : Is this the right path?
jacLC
03-07-2005, 11:12 AM
I noe some of us r sad n disappointed because of the JPA scholarship rejection. But still, life has to go on. I really lack of confident in my STPM studies. Will u all feel like this? Hope we can share it all in here~
Christina
03-07-2005, 11:24 AM
Ya me tooo. so dissapointed.. try our very best but didnt get it after all... I am wondering too about STPM...many of them told me that if u have good results in spm it wont raise much problems in STPM..but i am lack of confidence...so wat am i going to do?Try my very best? :cry:
nicolegigi
03-07-2005, 11:25 AM
Ya,i really feel like your way.
no confidence.Frens kept on saying STPM is very tough.People always say many SPM top scorers cant even get 3As in STPM....i m desperate about it.I have been crying for duno how many months liao.
Most of ur frens still in F6 rite?
But mine r different.I m the top 3 students in my class for many years.However in F6,almost all fren gone already.they got MATRIK,colleges n many others scholarships.I feel frustrated.
jacLC
03-07-2005, 11:31 AM
same case... all frens went away.... Im trying very very hard 2 peruade myself 2 accept the fact n study form 6... But, i failed everytime.
So u guys going 2 take 4 or 5 subjects?
Christina
03-07-2005, 11:33 AM
Ya, most of my frens are in Form 6..
But that doesnt mean it will be all right..moreover most of my frenz nowadays are so hardworking.. seeing them..i felt very scare..
nicolegigi
03-07-2005, 11:38 AM
ya....i also cant accept the truth.
For 7 months,i never touch the book.
the longer i dun touch the book,the worrier i am
how to accept it...............???????
jacLC
03-07-2005, 11:43 AM
wat can we do except studying rite?
oh ya, will we still have chance to go overseas afta stpm?
kimsiang
03-07-2005, 11:51 AM
hello everybody here.....i m a form 6 graduate year 2003......
Dun hav to worry about that....coz i think form6 was the best life for me...
why?
1.U can hv closer fren n the relation between classmate is closer compare to b4...
2.Form6 is a preparation course for UNi....so,after u finished it,u can hv a bit relax life compare to those from matrik.....
3.Graduate faster doesnt mean anything....we need quality...
so,take yr time,learn more things in this 2 years....
4.STPM isnt that hard as u all thought....juz be more hardworking n u wil get A.....
5.U wil learn to be more mature..really....
I think that`s all i can say.....if hv any Q,juz dun be hesitate to ask me////
Montana dispensaries (http://montana.dispensaries.org/)
Gar87field
03-07-2005, 11:53 AM
Wow... actually all of us have the same feeling. Sigh of relief... We are in the same boat. At last, i found someone who can understand me... Really. Mum and relatives can't understand my condition now. They think i will do well in form 6 whereas i'm struggling here... So sad. Feel so helpless... One and a half year of hardwork. Will it be paid off? I wonder... :cry: (JPA second appeal: Will the appeal letter end up in the bin?)
jacLC
03-07-2005, 12:24 PM
duh.... haha, i didn even appeal 4 the 2nd time.
want 2 leave some dignity to myself i suppose... Haha... What's urs is urs.
We r all struggling, n im really glad to know dat im not alone is this battle.... ^^
abc2005
03-07-2005, 01:10 PM
I am a Form 6 school leaver last year and here is my point of view regarding the STPM:
-If you aren't the bookworm-type or have never touched a single page of your books, you are doom.
Studying for STPM requires swotting day in day out, just to memorising the facts and formulae.
- If you think you can cope without the school teachers, think again!
If you think your teacher is not good enough, go and find a tutor.
For your information, I've been struggling throughout my 2 years in Form 6. The teachers were boring and not proficient in English. They rushed through the topics without regards for their students' understanding. And lastly, no extra classes. I had to swot it up by myself.
At the end of the day, I barely passed my STPM with CGPA of 2.33. After waiting half a year for my fate in public U, I failed miserably and was denied a place even though I agreed to receive an offer beyond the 8 choices I have chosen. I've tried to appeal from the disappointing outcome through e-rayuan but then, I don't think my appeal will succeed or worse still, I will be offered leftovers from the first batch of students...(sigh) :cry: . Luckily, my application in UTAR have been accepted.
So for the current batch of students, face your challenges ahead like there's no tommorow. Treat everyday as the last day in your life. Buck up and well, cheers :D
Gar87field
03-07-2005, 01:48 PM
abc2005, You scare me... wahhhhhhhhhhhhh........ :cry: STPM PHOBIA~!!!
kimsiang
03-07-2005, 01:58 PM
I am a Form 6 school leaver last year and here is my point of view regarding the STPM:
-If you aren't the bookworm-type or have never touched a single page of your books, you are doom.
Studying for STPM requires swotting day in day out, just to memorising the facts and formulae.
- If you think you can cope without the school teachers, think again!
If you think your teacher is not good enough, go and find a tutor.
For your information, I've been struggling throughout my 2 years in Form 6. The teachers were boring and not proficient in English. They rushed through the topics without regards for their students' understanding. And lastly, no extra classes. I had to swot it up by myself.
At the end of the day, I barely passed my STPM with CGPA of 2.33. After waiting half a year for my fate in public U, I failed miserably and was denied a place even though I agreed to receive an offer beyond the 8 choices I have chosen. I've tried to appeal from the disappointing outcome through e-rayuan but then, I don't think my appeal will succeed or worse still, I will be offered leftovers from the first batch of students...(sigh) :cry: . Luckily, my application in UTAR have been accepted.
So for the current batch of students, face your challenges ahead like there's no tommorow. Treat everyday as the last day in your life. Buck up and well, cheers :D
ha,i dun quite agree with yr point of view...
At least i think that STPM`s subjext r not for memorize but for understand.......do more exercise to strength yr understanding...this is the basic of learning-exercise.....
Maybe many ppl wil say he din study b4 the exam but stil can get good result.....this is only for brilliant ppl who can study faster than other ppl...juz they finished it in few days b4 u study.....
or,the level , the standard of that exam is low.....
In this world,i believe that u must do something b4 u hv to result...ha,get good result without study..ha......Dun believe wat that ppl say.....
Of coz our life is full of challenge.....This is the thing that everyone hv to overcome...if u r doing something tough...i think u should feel happy...coz something good wil be waiting for u after it......
If yr life is alwaz easy...maybe u should worry...coz it may end...
so,abc2005....i duno yr real situation....but believe me,dun mind to work hard...u wil get result...and...the challenge in yr life havent really begin....Be prepared..
Big Tits Webcams (http://www.girlcamfriend.com/webcam/big-tits/)
seancl85
03-07-2005, 02:24 PM
em..i have heard a few friends of mine wanted to retake stpm...do u think is that a good move?
actually most of them did quite well...like 4bs,1a 2bs 1c..n etc
the reason they want to retake stpm is because they want to get a better local university and better course...
kimsiang
03-07-2005, 02:28 PM
retake?
2moro is the orientation of the Local Uni isnt it?juz ask yr fren to add me in msn..siangnet[at]hotmail[dot]com...i wil try to give them advise....
may i know in which stream yr frens r in?i m from science,physics..
Moderator action: Changed email format
Please do not put your email in the normal format. That is how you will get spam
Buy vaporizers (http://twitter.com/vaporizer)
seancl85
03-07-2005, 02:49 PM
they are from science
nicolegigi
03-07-2005, 03:46 PM
scary........
i almost faint when i heard that my current sch former principal's daughter who got 12A1 in SPM just managed to get 2A,2A- in the STPM2004....
On that day,she cried ,perhaps she knew that her wish to study madic damaged.The news is published in the newspaper in perak
I duno how to describe the feeling.feel pity to her n feel pity to myself :cry:
According to my seniors, many students cried on the day STPM resu;ts released.Many r 3A,1A-(no hope for medic,pharmacy, and dentistry).1 of my frens who just got 2As in SPM manage to get 4 flat in MATRIK ,will be going to UM medic soon.......CRYYYYYYYinggggg
(me)
1 of my fren who currently doing medic in UM said that in the 1 semester of the examination,10 students failed.and the 10 r MATRIK students.
Perhaps next time i go to see a doctor or a dentist,i need to ask she/he whether she/he is a STPM or MATRIK graduates, for my life sake
Gar87field
03-07-2005, 04:19 PM
Arggggghhhhhhhh... Am i wrong to do form 6???
jbboy88
03-07-2005, 04:37 PM
Arggggghhhhhhhh... Am i wrong to do form 6???
of course not....nobody can say that you've made a wrong decision... just give your all...that's it... leave the rest the hands of God...... :D
Jhuen
03-07-2005, 05:13 PM
scary........
1 of my fren who currently doing medic in UM said that in the 1 semester of the examination,10 students failed.and the 10 r MATRIK students.
your friend's right;came out in the papers it seems..from my personal point of view,i truly respect those who are taking form six.after 1 1/2 years,they tend to be more mature and ready for the outside world.my brother took form six and he told me that the first year in uni was a breeze because it was about the same thing as what he learnt in form six..anyway,would like to wish all of you guys the best of luck!may the form six years be an enriching experience for you!btw,doing form six is NOT a wrong decision :wink:
Anthony
03-07-2005, 05:26 PM
Its pretty clear cut now.
Private or Public.
The thing with Private is its easier to get better results but the setback is the $$$. If you have straight A1 or 9As above Tuition Waiver will be at hand. The cost will definitely go down. This helps you to get further financial aid in overseas university. I personally have done some research on scholarships..and Its pretty abundant esp in famous universities like Harvard Yale LSE Melbourne U Queensland.
These scholarships are without bond and pretty much cover up all the costs involved...provided you produce the result.
In STPM its cheap. Its the best way to become a doctor and theres no bond. So those who are from poor families should take STPM and do it seriously. Dont moan anymore. Get on with life, I think the reason good students in SPM lack is time and the start push. Because at the beginning of Form 6 many still are hoping to secure a scholarship. Thus they slack. Anyway there shouldnt be a problem being the best but you cant really tell cant you. Luck is Luck. For STPM overseas University wudnt be a choice because most University start in Jan/Feb---AUS March---Uk August ----US.....
the STPm result day doesnt suit the intake of overseas U's so practically malaysian U's are left but hey..UM, USM, UKM, UPM , even UMS have pretty high ratings in World ranking...so do your best guys....after all those which are left in form 6 are students who didnt perform as well as you right? so work hard again and pray for the best...
Jhuen
03-07-2005, 05:38 PM
after all those which are left in form 6 are students who didnt perform as well as you right?
perform as well in what??spm?do bear in mind that there are students in form six that did extremely well in their spm and excellent CCa;it's just that somehow,they didnt get scholarships..u sound like u're looking down on them..do correct me if i'm wrong.
03-07-2005, 05:40 PM
yes... quite true.
I remember my cousin appeared on newspaper because he did very well in his STPM.
I do not think students should be looked down and success in life is not directly connected to one's education.
OperaGhost
03-07-2005, 05:42 PM
Form Six isn't that bad as you all think.
"Don't give up. There are still scholarships waiting for you if you perform well in you STPM. " That's what my Further Math teacher always says.
It's true. Six students from Jit Sin scored 5As in STPM 2004 (if I'm not mistaken). One of them is going/has gone to Hong Kong University under scholarship. The others got ASEAN scholarship. I don't know about the 4As students but it seems like the only way to secure scholarships after STPM is to take up one more subject and score A for every paper, of course. Kinda like our SPM. :)
Its pretty clear cut now.
Private or Public.
The thing with Private is its easier to get better results but the setback is the $$$. If you have straight A1 or 9As above Tuition Waiver will be at hand. The cost will definitely go down. This helps you to get further financial aid in overseas university. I personally have done some research on scholarships..and Its pretty abundant esp in famous universities like Harvard Yale LSE Melbourne U Queensland.
These scholarships are without bond and pretty much cover up all the costs involved...provided you produce the result.
In STPM its cheap. Its the best way to become a doctor and theres no bond. So those who are from poor families should take STPM and do it seriously. Dont moan anymore. Get on with life, I think the reason good students in SPM lack is time and the start push. Because at the beginning of Form 6 many still are hoping to secure a scholarship. Thus they slack. Anyway there shouldnt be a problem being the best but you cant really tell cant you. Luck is Luck. For STPM overseas University wudnt be a choice because most University start in Jan/Feb---AUS March---Uk August ----US.....
the STPm result day doesnt suit the intake of overseas U's so practically malaysian U's are left but hey..UM, USM, UKM, UPM , even UMS have pretty high ratings in World ranking...so do your best guys....after all those which are left in form 6 are students who didnt perform as well as you right? so work hard again and pray for the best...
The academic year of British universities starts in march? i don't think so. Generally , the year starts in autumn
leng_cyl
03-07-2005, 06:28 PM
yo.. I'm studying lower six currently also.. ~
hehe.. I don't think I chose the wrong path... but first I have to admit that I don't have any exact ambition, and... I am really enjoying my form 6 life now~
It's sure the study is tough... we have to be hardworking, be commited and do what we should do...
:lol:
aah... form 6... I'm the second batch of my school's form 6, it's still new in my school.. my seniors are of the first batch..
our teachers are not experienced in it, but they are dedicated ^^
I'm not really stress now.. maybe next time will be more stress...
my english isn't that good, so, I'm still not very used to english terms.. takes time to understand texts... well, not a big deal to me also .. ahahaha
I can say, it's not a wrong way to study form 6~!
I still can't say more detailed now since I'm still a lower six student, but.. I hope I will be more mature after this hard life 8)
and find out what I want to be ~
let's gambateh together~
airseal
03-07-2005, 08:54 PM
There is something i am not sure bout what Anthony said.Form 6 student can't enter oversea universities???Like the scholarship research he made,what qualification does oversea uni's look at???Is STPM recognize or not for the scholarship purposes???Me need more info bout oversea scholarships after STPM as i really want to study oversea.
Well i am also currrently doing form 6 like most of us here(rejects of PSD,Petronas,ASEAN)...Actually i never thought of entering form 6 but reality is cruel.
But now I am enjoying myself at form 6 although i am still trying to adapt myself to the reality.My homework is stacking higher by days because i can't find the 'Um' to do it.English makes me pening but i think better pening now then in University.Friends are helpful and also orientation week was fun.Involving in CCA in form 6 is totally different as people will look high on you.I think i will learn and enjoy a lot in form 6.Juz hopefully someone can really tell the fact that STPM is the right decision and a way to study oversea later.Hopefully!.................................
kimsiang
03-07-2005, 09:00 PM
There is something i am not sure bout what Anthony said.Form 6 student can't enter oversea universities???Like the scholarship research he made,what qualification does oversea uni's look at???Is STPM recognize or not for the scholarship purposes???Me need more info bout oversea scholarships after STPM as i really want to study oversea.
Well i am also currrently doing form 6 like most of us here(rejects of PSD,Petronas,ASEAN)...Actually i never thought of entering form 6 but reality is cruel.
But now I am enjoying myself at form 6 although i am still trying to adapt myself to the reality.My homework is stacking higher by days because i can't find the 'Um' to do it.English makes me pening but i think better pening now then in University.Friends are helpful and also orientation week was fun.Involving in CCA in form 6 is totally different as people will look high on you.I think i will learn and enjoy a lot in form 6.Juz hopefully someone can really tell the fact that STPM is the right decision and a way to study oversea later.Hopefully!.................................
Yeah,there stil r many Scholarship for u to apply after STPM...
For example.....Mombusho Scholarship(Japanese Government scholarship),Asean Scholarship for u to study in NUS...,
now,i m under Mombusho Scholarship......
last advise.....train yr english....is important...so that u can convey yr feeling n the things that u wan to say fluently...use yr time in Form6....dun waste the time....
How to roll blunts (http://howtorollablunt.net/)
Anthony
03-07-2005, 09:34 PM
after all those which are left in form 6 are students who didnt perform as well as you right?
perform as well in what??spm?do bear in mind that there are students in form six that did extremely well in their spm and excellent CCa;it's just that somehow,they didnt get scholarships..u sound like u're looking down on them..do correct me if i'm wrong.
most......I mean..Im not looking down Jhuen..dont get me wrong but it can serve as a push for people who failed to secure the JPA or other scholarships to strive in their form 6.
Anthony
03-07-2005, 09:36 PM
I think I put too much of my ideas here..sorry if I offended anybody...but I didnt mean too......Gud luck recomers......
STPM is recognised, the only problem is securing a good scholarship. What do i mean about a good scholarship? Most scholarship for studies in the UK and australia do not cover the entire costs, which means u still need to pay a hefty sum. Furthermore, It is not just STPM students who are vying for it, other students with other qualifications are also eligible to apply.
There isn't a direct answer to questions like 'can i get a scholarship after STPM?' etc
zchen
04-07-2005, 09:47 AM
as i understand,the number of scholarships avaible after stpm or a level is pretty limited...generally,the scholarship givers are individual unis<the other scholarships avaible are barely affordable,the students get a relatively small sum compared to the fees of course>.the best is to fund our own, otherwise stpm wil be just fine.anyone admitted into public uni is more or less a scholarship receipent.however with strong competition from the matriculation students with their huge number of 4.0 cgpa scorers,i suggest that stpm students take 5subjects and gamble for the 4.0 to get the course of choice<if im not mistaken for every stpm top scorer there are 5 matriculation top scorers>
im trying to take up medicine and will be starting my a levels soon,something i noticed is that stpm is ranked last behind a level and matriculation for admitance into imu<stpm requires a minimal of 3Bs,while the later requires a minimal of 2Bs and a C>.I wonder if its because of stpm was fully in bm in previous years and in imu the medium used is english..i hope someone can clarify this matter.
Irresistible
04-07-2005, 06:22 PM
I would like to share somethings here, my teacher's daughter get 10 A1 (staight A1 include GCE, she only take 9 subjects) in SPM, in her STPM,she got 3 A, 1B+ (GPA 3.84), she got TESL course which is her 1st choice.
u have to work very hard to score well in STPM. (my friends got 6 A's in SPM, 5 A's in STPM, bcoz he study very very hard, so called bookworm with only 6 hrs of sleep).
I wrote this post several times already :wink:
hmmm, i'm doing form 6 and i'm still having alot of free time... something is really wrong here...
stevemc90
04-07-2005, 08:08 PM
hmmm, i'm doing form 6 and i'm still having alot of free time... something is really wrong here...
some ppl who are smart enough can even study for an hour a day and they still get amazingly good results..... maybe u r that kind of person. :wink:
some ppl who are smart enough can even study for an hour a day and they still get amazingly good results..... maybe u r that kind of person. Wink
8O omg nononononopoooo, i m not that kind of person, in fact, i was lazy, very lazy.
leng_cyl
04-07-2005, 08:41 PM
:lol: the same situation here oh~ I still online everyday .. but ahaha.. because I'm still at the starting point, not so busy ~
however, I'm studying my chemistry everyday now >_<
guess my school's speed? now my teacher finished chapter 4 already, the electronic structure of atoms..
Oops.. out of topic~ =p
never mind, it's still at least something about form 6 .. wuahahah
wer're at chapter six now, the same goes with maths, the teacher's like speeding, and i dont even have the text book.
now hear this, our physic teacher is cool, he did 3 chapters in 3 periods, the laptop did all the talking for him, he just click the "play" button.
airseal
04-07-2005, 08:46 PM
I am currently taking 5 subjects and also being active in CCA.In fact I only sleep for 6hours a day but doesn't mean tat i study all the timelar.
Thanks bush and kimsiang for the advice.I think i'll try my best in form 6 and no matter how,i WILL study oversea.
p/s:so sorry for the manglish tat i used.
airseal
04-07-2005, 08:52 PM
Waa,my school seems to be left behind.Chem & physics only reach chapter 2.Bio still studying protein....
By the way,me too online everyday,watch tv,read comics all the time...Hopefully can change my attitude sooner... :P
I am currently taking 5 subjects and also being active in CCA.In fact I only sleep for 6hours a day but doesn't mean tat i study all the timelar.
Thanks bush and kimsiang for the advice.I think i'll try my best in form 6 and no matter how,i WILL study oversea.
p/s:so sorry for the manglish tat i used.
don't worry, it's easy to get a place in a foreign university with reasonable STPM grades.
That cannot be said for scholarships......................
wer're at chapter six now, the same goes with maths, the teacher's like speeding, and i dont even have the text book.
now hear this, our physic teacher is cool, he did 3 chapters in 3 periods, the laptop did all the talking for him, he just click the "play" button.
the first few chapters of physics is easy, no need to spend so much time on it.
jacLC
09-07-2005, 03:44 PM
i tink 4 my case, i dun even have time 2 on9 as frequent as i did.
I spent all my time reading (newspaper n books) n involving myself really actively in eca.
I have learnt my lesson. I dun wan to regret after all is over, just like spm. I believe dat i can do it. n i HAVE to do it. I tink by studying form 6, im more mature in the sense dat i dun procrastinate n i have learnt 2 do things systematically. I cant say dat i will get good result, but at least i have really tried my best.
Im oso taking the fifth subject. I was made known dat the overseas uni all want the student with 4 science subjects n 1 humanity social subject....(correct me if im wrong) thus im taking econ as my fifth subject.
Let's strive together. Nothing is impossible.
ALL IS NOT LOST. TILL WON~
yeah, all the best! hope i had the spirit like urs.
kimsiang
09-07-2005, 05:50 PM
For those who r interested to study in japan...pls take a look..that is for this year..the deadline was over...but u can apply next year..
http://www.my.emb-japan.go.jp/EN/Education/2006Monbukagakusho/2006MonbukagakushoScholarship.htm
ELECTRONIC CIGARETTES (http://www.ecigarettes123.com/)
nicolegigi
09-07-2005, 08:45 PM
Dear fren,
i m so sad.....doing F6.
may i know u all results in SPM ?or ur position in the class?wat is the range?
i just want to do some research...perhaps to balance my mind!!!!
airseal
09-07-2005, 09:06 PM
LoL!!~
Me also sad doing form 6 but that's the fact and we can't change it alde.Just strive and work hard for a good result in STPM.(haha,me saying this but my homework alde stack up for 2 weeks)
My friends all who got result worst then me also mostly got a scholarship or at worst,got into matrix or private U.Got a few friends(malay) with only 7A's got few scholarships to oversea and with no A's but got scholarship to local Uni.Nicolegigi,I am the 2nd best scorer in SPM at my school although i only got 11A's.But stil,i am stuck at form 6 and only 3 of my batch(form5 2004) went to form 6.*paiseh*???
Form 6 not that bad lar after all.Try being active in CCA and make more 'real' friends.Then u might change your thought on form 6.Form 6 is fun and most people look up on us for taking one of the hardest test soon.STPM also recognize world wide.That's the pro's and i am not gonna mention the con's as i am in a good mood now.
kimsiang
09-07-2005, 09:50 PM
Hello f6`ers here...dun ever think f6 is wasteful,useless compare to matrix,enter uni after form5..etc....
For me,f6 was the best time in my life.From my experience,it is the period for u to find out wat is yrself.There r many things that can happened in f6.And,i wil talk about my experience in f6.
I was from chung ling,2001.11th in school.get 9A in SPM...at that time,i also thought that f6 is wasting time..So,i bought form for MMU n UTM.thinking of doing engineering..But finally,i mailed them into the dustbin..duno y..
so,finally,i entered f6...juz in 2months,i ad hv 2 closed fren that can discuss manythings...especially in physics n math...that encourges me to continue in f6..at that time,i ad feel that i wil regret if din hv frens like them..hehe...then in July2002,there was a selection test for APhO/IPhO(juz check wat is it in internet)...Start from preparation for that,i found my interest..that is math n phy...so,i aim for phy and math start from that time...until now...
then,was happy that i can join the camp for IPhO/APhO...from that camp,i met top students from all over the malaysia n also professors from UTM,UM n teachers from other schools....some of them even r my closed fren now althought we juz 2gether for 1 weeks..ha...n also,1 of them was best student in stpm 2003.feel happy got fren like that..n also,i wil feel regret if din join that camp...on Feb2003,coz i was stil joining the camp,i was unable to send the scholarship applying letter...but luckily got my fren`s help...(scholarship from japanese government).Then in May,i went to Uni Malaya to sit for the exam.At that time,coz i stayed in KL,i was able to know some of my seniors in UM...1 of them r in Korea now...very kind to me n gave me many advise..In Aug2003,was calling for the interview from embassy of japan..
although i was unable to join the IPhO/APhO coz of SARS..i felt very happy coz i met many ppl who changed me a lots n teach me a lots about life......then,in July2003,my school won in pertandingan fizik kebangsaan in Pre-U (PFK)...from that,i also met some ppl who changed my life..hehe...yeah,at that moment.i felt that taking STPM is correct choice for me...at least now i stil think so ..haha...
Then,juz 1 month b4 STPM,thanks to my frens all over the malaysia,i got all the trial exam papers from their schools..33 school`s trial exam papars...i collected all of it from frenship which i built in f6...juz imagine how marverlous is frenship....then i got also tips from all of them,doing analysis...then finally i got all A in all papers in 5 subjects in STPM..it was not all my hardwork..but also helps n kindness of all my frens....
After STPM,Jan2004,got a letter from embassy of japan...yeah,i got it...then i started to prepare for going to japan...but,this is not the end....After ariving in japan,i found that japanese`s math is harder than further math in STPM...but i would think,if i din take f.math..izzit i sure die??,,haha...yeah,luckily i got take stpm.coz chemistry n physics in STPM r harder than japan`s...so,i can concentrate more on japanese language compare to understand chem,phy .....N after i enter Kyoto uni this year..i felt lucky coz all my knowledge which i gained in f6 helps me to answer many things that my japanese frens,Professors..etc asked me...
That`s all my life until now...so,if i hv the chance to choose agian...i wil definately choose STPM.....
for me,stpm is ,'S'pecial 'T'urning 'P'oint of 'M'ine
so,u see..how my life changed coz of STPM...
Want to hv life like me?Work Hard n join more activities to make more Friends..... :) ..stpm the best!!
LovelyWendie99 (http://www.lovelywendie99.com/)
a bit "paiseh" n bad feelings were evolved in my mind within this period! why should you feel ashamed of yourself? i feel proud of myself doing form 6. as you can see, the standard of form6 is far more higher and better than some course out there. sometimes i even look down upon those who are willing to give anything just to enroll themselves into some college or other institution. what they want is just fame, or trend, following their friends. etc. but if you're talking about quality here, form6 will never be worser than any other courses out there. in fact some institution and firm will only accept form6 graduates.
i dont know, but my teacher (who's also a tutor in a university) commented that when he compared the post-form6 graduates with the college students doing the same class in universities, those who went for form 6 tend to be more matured, and he respected them for that.
anyway, like i've said before, i stayed back for form6 cuz i dont feel like going colleges etc, i never knew form6 was all about preparing urself for universities. i dont feel like leaving. i never liked leaving.
may i know u all results in SPM ?or ur position in the class?wat is the range?
i just want to do some research...perhaps to balance my mind!!!! tell you what, i never applied for anything after i've gotten my spm result, i never had any of those certificates of mine photostated and certified. the same both spm and the result day meant nothing much to me. i was in one of the best class in school (or probably the best class in school, as that's what the teachers and the principle had always said, :roll: DOH!) but i never liked abit about it, in fact, i hated the class, i'll just go to other classes to find my friends as i dont have friends in my class. and the teacher tend to practice stereotype and compare you with others.
so, wat i try to say is, you dont really need to follow others, or try to be in the trend. be yourself. believe in yourself. know yourself. if you think what's good then good, i wish you luck in whatever you do, but if you think what's good for others is also good for you, then i dont know. goodluck to you too.
i've been blabbling, cool.
reality sucks.
nicolegigi
09-07-2005, 10:00 PM
i face problems in F6 as well.
i m now in SAMTET,but i get transfered there.Most of the frens there i duno much.they r all mostly AMC gals.....in my class,just me alone from my school.i m so sad.
Yet,the students sat beside me really bad.i try to talk to her...but she seem to avoid me...i wonder Y i m so MALANG to sit with that kind of person who even do unsightly action in the class.
i hope i can be more happy...but i cant...
that's y everyday i m sobing..sobing...n sobing
uhm, kim siang, no offence here, but wat do you get for your bi, or muet? cuz i dont really understand what you're talking about.
what are you trying to say? for all i know from your message is that somehow someone or something changed your life, the same phrase repeat repeat and repeat again.
i m now in SAMTET,but i get transfered there.Most of the frens there i duno much.they r all mostly AMC gals.....in my class,just me alone from my school.i m so sad.
Yet,the students sat beside me really bad.i try to talk to her...but she seem to avoid me...i wonder Y i m so MALANG to sit with that kind of person who even do unsightly action in the class. are you a gal or a guy?
if you're a guy, then ure really malang, but if you're a gal, you could try talking to the guys.
airseal
09-07-2005, 10:25 PM
Sorry to ask but What SAMTET mean and where it is located at??
I'm curious coz some mention it in other thread too.
09-07-2005, 10:33 PM
For many of you, STPM will bring you one step closer to achieving your life goals.
But for most of you, STPM will dash your dreams and leave you disillusioned.
You will ask, "Why do I study so hard an end up rejected for a course, where other less qualified people are accepted".
Studying hard for STPM is not the only answer. It may make you smarter book-wise, but it does not make you enlightened.
You don't have to study to obtain enlightenment.
You merely have to realise you are not among the priviledged class, and have to work a lot harder, hold your head higher and eventually achieve a lot more than those with priviledges.
I bear no malice to the priviledged masses. However, I despise the ones who support the policies of inequality, instituitionalised racism, and patronage.
Fuck the system. Do it your way!
Sorry to ask but What SAMTET mean and where it is located at??
I'm curious coz some mention it in other thread too.
Samtet is a top secondary school in Ipoh.
airseal
09-07-2005, 10:58 PM
Kimsiang,personaly i admire your wonderful form 6 experience... It surely mean a lot to you.May i know wut is IPhO/APhO???I check it in Google but answer came out in japanese or chinese(i can't read both)...Getting 30 trial paper is amazing coz even SPM also i didn't get that much... Not all friends are willing to spend time photostating papers... U took further maths!!!U are genius lar...*salute*
Do u mind to share a bit of ur experience studying in form 6 kimsiang???Do u really burn midnight oil or u are the type which can remember well???I am worry of my studies and my homework is really freakin' me out.Some say that consistency is the key...
I am so lost after failing to obtain scholarships...Bt this thread is changing my mind now...Many great advice gave me inspiration to face the great challenge...STPM...I also hope it may be my Special Turning Point of Mine too.....
kimsiang
09-07-2005, 11:03 PM
uhm, kim siang, no offence here, but wat do you get for your bi, or muet? cuz i dont really understand what you're talking about.
what are you trying to say? for all i know from your message is that somehow someone or something changed your life, the same phrase repeat repeat and repeat again.
ha,juz band 4...sorry for my bad english.n sorry to make u confuse.what i m telling here is that dun look down at STPM coz taking STPm brought many good things to my life...and , it may do the same thing to yr life also... :wink:
Fine-x (http://www.toyota-wiki.com/wiki/Toyota_Fine-X)
nicolegigi
09-07-2005, 11:06 PM
Yet,the students sat beside me really bad.i try to talk to her...but she seem to avoid me...i wonder Y i m so MALANG to sit with that kind of person who even do unsightly action in the class. are you a gal or a guy?
if you're a guy, then ure really malang, but if you're a gal, you could try talking to the guys.
i m a gal.
Kimsiang,personaly i admire your wonderful form 6 experience... It surely mean a lot to you.May i know wut is IPhO/APhO???I check it in Google but answer came out in japanese or chinese(i can't read both)...Getting 30 trial paper is amazing coz even SPM also i didn't get that much... Not all friends are willing to spend time photostating papers... U took further maths!!!U are genius lar...*salute*
Do u mind to share a bit of ur experience studying in form 6 kimsiang???Do u really burn midnight oil or u are the type which can remember well???I am worry of my studies and my homework is really freakin' me out.Some say that consistency is the key...
I am so lost after failing to obtain scholarships...Bt this thread is changing my mind now...Many great advice gave me inspiration to face the great challenge...STPM...I also hope it may be my Special Turning Point of Mine too.....
International Physics Olympiad and Asian Physics Olympiad........
nicolegigi
09-07-2005, 11:35 PM
Hello f6`ers here...dun ever think f6 is wasteful,useless compare to matrix,enter uni after form5..etc....
For me,f6 was the best time in my life.From my experience,it is the period for u to find out wat is yrself.There r many things that can happened in f6.And,i wil talk about my experience in f6.
I was from chung ling,2001.11th in school.get 9A in SPM...at that time,i also thought that f6 is wasting time..So,i bought form for MMU n UTM.thinking of doing engineering..But finally,i mailed them into the dustbin..duno y..
so,finally,i entered f6...juz in 2months,i ad hv 2 closed fren that can discuss manythings...especially in physics n math...that encourges me to continue in f6..at that time,i ad feel that i wil regret if din hv frens like them..hehe...then in July2002,there was a selection test for APhO/IPhO(juz check wat is it in internet)...Start from preparation for that,i found my interest..that is math n phy...so,i aim for phy and math start from that time...until now...
then,was happy that i can join the camp for IPhO/APhO...from that camp,i met top students from all over the malaysia n also professors from UTM,UM n teachers from other schools....some of them even r my closed fren now althought we juz 2gether for 1 weeks..ha...n also,1 of them was best student in stpm 2003.feel happy got fren like that..n also,i wil feel regret if din join that camp...on Feb2003,coz i was stil joining the camp,i was unable to send the scholarship applying letter...but luckily got my fren`s help...(scholarship from japanese government).Then in May,i went to Uni Malaya to sit for the exam.At that time,coz i stayed in KL,i was able to know some of my seniors in UM...1 of them r in Korea now...very kind to me n gave me many advise..In Aug2003,was calling for the interview from embassy of japan..
although i was unable to join the IPhO/APhO coz of SARS..i felt very happy coz i met many ppl who changed me a lots n teach me a lots about life......then,in July2003,my school won in pertandingan fizik kebangsaan in Pre-U (PFK)...from that,i also met some ppl who changed my life..hehe...yeah,at that moment.i felt that taking STPM is correct choice for me...at least now i stil think so ..haha...
Then,juz 1 month b4 STPM,thanks to my frens all over the malaysia,i got all the trial exam papers from their schools..33 school`s trial exam papars...i collected all of it from frenship which i built in f6...juz imagine how marverlous is frenship....then i got also tips from all of them,doing analysis...then finally i got all A in all papers in 5 subjects in STPM..it was not all my hardwork..but also helps n kindness of all my frens....
After STPM,Jan2004,got a letter from embassy of japan...yeah,i got it...then i started to prepare for going to japan...but,this is not the end....After ariving in japan,i found that japanese`s math is harder than further math in STPM...but i would think,if i din take f.math..izzit i sure die??,,haha...yeah,luckily i got take stpm.coz chemistry n physics in STPM r harder than japan`s...so,i can concentrate more on japanese language compare to understand chem,phy .....N after i enter Kyoto uni this year..i felt lucky coz all my knowledge which i gained in f6 helps me to answer many things that my japanese frens,Professors..etc asked me...
That`s all my life until now...so,if i hv the chance to choose agian...i wil definately choose STPM.....
for me,stpm is ,'S'pecial 'T'uring 'P'oint of 'M'ine
Want to hv life like me?Work Hard n join more activities to make more Friends..... :) ..stpm the best!!
wow...kim siang!ur F6 life really wonderful.It's really ur turning point!
Mind to share with us your study method?
Frankly, i have no confidence with STPM for these few reasons:
1.Quite a lot of my frens who got straight A1s in SPM cant get even 3 AS in STPM
2.My cousin who got 4As in STPM cant get MEDIC in local u.she is currently doing LAW in MMU.What use for studying so hard?i wonder.
3.My former principal daughter who got 12A1s in SPM just got 2A,2A- inSTPM. And on that day,she cried.cos she knew her dream to become a doctor is very unlikely to come true...at least in malaysia.
4.Even though i got good results ,i cant get matrik.But my frens whiose r far more worser than me,instead got it.I dont believe in fairnes in our education system. :cry: My parents went to PUTRAJAYA to rayu mereka,they dont even hiraukan us.almost despair.
5.The 128 incident scared me.MATRIK students will be given priority about the admission into the local U.they want MEDIC,got MEDIC,want pharm,get pharm.want dentistry ..get dentistry.....too many examples......perhaps there r only very few dont.
6.My senior ,who just got 2As in SPM manage to study medic in UM now after entering MATRIK. Imagine.Her batch student,who is the no1 students just got 3As ,1A- in STPM n failed to get MEDIC for sure.
7.I m unhappy in my school.(as i mentioned above,the gal who sit beside me)
8.I never touched the books for 7 months,i m so worried ,f i start now.......still able to get 4 As in STPM????If i really study very hard like how i was in F5.(i got full As in every single exam in my school include the SPM trial exam which many top scorers dont)I know the passing mark for SPM is very low.BUt i m sure all my papers are above 80S....not like others who got 60 also can get an A1 in SPM.Mine is diferrent 1.
9.My frens ( i think around 20s whoseults really not good 1, get only 3/4/5 As in school exam but manage to get 11As in SPM since the passing point so low) said that, the lecturers there will give them 5 hours or wat to copy the work from each others ,,,,then to be passed up.........(then leh will be counted as exam marks.SHIT.....how to compare with STPM???yet the thing they study in semester 1 wont come out in semester 2 ).......imagine la.....our future doctor,dentist,pharm..from local u r like that 1.......GREAT DISSAPPOINTMENT.
10.I met senior in my school who even belittle me by saying that if i got money,i dont have to study F6 la.....u know....that kind of belittling tone....hurt me.( perhaps i have high self-esteem)
That's wat i think..i face..i get to know.
no intention to annoy anybody.
If got ......then i m glad to apolpgise. :wink:
kimsiang
09-07-2005, 11:39 PM
Kimsiang,personaly i admire your wonderful form 6 experience... It surely mean a lot to you.May i know wut is IPhO/APhO???I check it in Google but answer came out in japanese or chinese(i can't read both)...Getting 30 trial paper is amazing coz even SPM also i didn't get that much... Frieds have to spend time photostating papers... U took further maths!!!U are genius lar...*salute*
oh,IPhO = International Physics Olympiad,APhO=Asian physics Olympiad....juz the main competition for physics in the world...
i think both....i can remember once i study..n i also hardworking....
got burnmidnite oil too...coz studying further math is not that easy u know......
er....if u feel u cant catch up...of coz u hv to use more time on it..
dun use the holiday in december to work.Stay at home,find some fren who is also the same wif u.Study 2gether...group study is the main thing that i do in f6...it was very very helpful.....
but dun spend all the time on study..
i like football,basketball..etc also..so,i spend at least 4 times 1 week to do sports....coz healthy body wil increase the sharpness in our thinking..
yeah,,consistency is the key.....
Free Joomla Themes (http://themesfree.org)
1.Quite a lot of my frens who got straight A1s in SPM cant get even 3 AS in STPM
2.My cousin who got 4As in STPM cant get MEDIC in local u.she is currently doing LAW in MMU.What use for studying so hard?i wonder.
3.My former principal daughter who got 12A1s in SPM just got 2A,2A- inSTPM. And on that day,she cried.cos she knew her dream to become a doctor is very unlikely to come true...at least in malaysia.
4.Even though i got good results ,i cant get matrik.But my frens whiose r far more worser than me,instead got it.I dont believe in fairnes in our education system. :cry: My parents went to PUTRAJAYA to rayu mereka,they dont even hiraukan us.almost despair.
5.The 128 incident scared me.MATRIK students will be given priority about the admission into the local U.they want MEDIC,got MEDIC,want pharm,get pharm.want dentistry ..get dentistry.....too many examples......perhaps there r only very few dont.
6.My senior ,who just got 2As in SPM manage to study medic in UM now after entering MATRIK. Imagine.Her batch student,who is the no1 students just got 3As ,1A- in STPM n failed to get MEDIC for sure.
8.I never touched the books for 7 months,i m so worried ,f i start now.......still able to get 4 As in STPM????If i really study very hard like how i was in F5.(i got full As in every single exam in my school include the SPM trial exam which many top scorers dont)I know the passing mark for SPM is very low.BUt i m sure all my papers are above 80S....not like others who got 60 also can get an A1 in SPM.Mine is diferrent 1.
9.My frens ( i think around 20s whoseults really not good 1, get only 3/4/5 As in school exam but manage to get 11As in SPM since the passing point so low) said that, the lecturers there will give them 5 hours or wat to copy the work from each others ,,,,then to be passed up.........(then leh will be counted as exam marks.SHIT.....how to compare with STPM???yet the thing they study in semester 1 wont come out in semester 2 ).......imagine la.....our future doctor,dentist,pharm..from local u r like that 1.......GREAT DISSAPPOINTMENT.
10.I met senior in my school who even belittle me by saying that if i got money,i dont have to study F6 la.....u know....that kind of belittling tone....hurt me.( perhaps i have high self-esteem)
What do u intend to read in university?
Even if u have the money and the necessary grades, u may not get to do medicine just like that....
nicolegigi
09-07-2005, 11:46 PM
Even if u have the money and the necessary grades, u may not get to do medicine just like that....
if i got money,i go to russia study medic liao la(just like my fren)....
No enugf$$$,that's y i dont. :? .....................
unless local U,if not....almost impossible.
nicolegigi
09-07-2005, 11:52 PM
unless local U,if not....almost impossible.i like Bio ,Chem very much.I like to deal with people.............i have the patience,n i think i have the HEART to be a good doctor...really....not for the matter of $$$ or wat......just my interest....if for the sake of money....y shuld i wanted so much to studyMeDic since there r still many careers which r far more better paid than doc.
My teachers told me,if i want to study MEDIC,better go for private,(like my XXX classmate)....i know....but i dun have enugf $$ wat....how to go?her words even sharpened my hurt :cry:
sometimes, when i m really desperated, i really want to change my ambition which i persist for so long,just a short while i back to the former....1 liao.
unless local U,if not....almost impossible.i like Bio ,Chem very much.I like to deal with people.............i have the patience,n i think i have the HEART to be a good doctor...really....not for the matter of $$$ or wat......just my interest....if for the sake of money....y shuld i wanted so much to studyMeDic since there r still many careers which r far more better paid than doc.
My teachers told me,if i want to study MEDIC,better go for private,(like my XXX classmate)....i know....but i dun have enugf $$ wat....how to go?her words even sharpened my hurt :cry:
sometimes, when i m really desperated, i really want to change my ambition which i persist for so long,just a short while i back to the former....1 liao.
there are other paths which could lead u to professions similar to a medical practitioner.
If caring for the sick is one of ur passion, nursing could be a good option as u tend to the needs of the patients more frequently than doctors do.
physiotherapist, though u are not the doctor u expect to be, u are still actively helping to cure a person of his or her backache.
U can also look into biomedical sciences where u learn stuff closely related to stuff which u would learn in a medical course. U can opt for a MBBS once u have graduated with good grades. U might even abandon the idea of becoming a doctor once u have been exposed to the lastest fields in medical science.
nicolegigi
10-07-2005, 12:28 AM
i want to be a doctor.
anyway,i will try my best.
If cannot,that's ok.I wont force myself at least.
I believe a better future awill be lying infront of me.
there is still many options in front of me....not necessary medical field.
CAREER n AMBITION will not be the same...anyway....i would like to join wat LEO or ROTARY club when i am manage financially or become a profession in future.i want to contribute to the needed....perhaps can be in another way.Not necessary to be a doctor.
now i look more open liao...not like last time......just want to be doctor...if cannot be doctor...dun want survive...haha...quite stupid.most important live a happy life...... :wink: which i wish i will be able la.
kimsiang
10-07-2005, 01:38 AM
wow,wat a long questions...
yeah,i hv to admit that it is recently unfair in education system...
since u r taking stpm now...u hv to accept it...
But,for me,i wil say that: y everybody aim for medicine?juz becoz the future is promising?or can gain many money?etc..
I think u need to find out...i m not saying that become doctor or doing medicine is bad...but i think there r more interesting things to do after doing bio.....for example,i think everybody knows about microscope rite?
but,do u know there is a microscope which worth 0.3billion in my uni?
It is called low temperature microscope.can even see the atom of a molucule..interesting izzit??i tell u,it was created by a bio student graduate in my uni when he was 30++....
so,of coz u can aim for medicine in STPM...but u may also in the same time..find out the interesting research that u can do in the future....
for a normal student..i feel that matrix doesnt prepare him well for entering Uni....if din study stpm n come to my uni....i m sure that he cant survive.......
so,i think u stil hv the chance to chase up....dun worry...start study now.....
another thing.....dun hv to consider anything about spm..that is juz "A" machine......
dun to disappoint now.....its the time to change.... :wink:
Ipad Cases (http://accesoriesipad.com/)
nicolegigi
10-07-2005, 11:32 AM
pls tell me la...where can i find good frens in my school???
i need some kind of the frenships spirit to give the strength to continue..really.......
all my ex-classmates gone liao.......
there r just 3 students of my school in ST.........all different class tim.
i found myself very unhappy....how?
esp with that gal with sat bside me.
10-07-2005, 11:39 AM
from another locked thread (http://recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=2889).
Anyone know about the system to calculate the cocuriculum mark? Is it like last time or wat? Is it calculate 2 highest post of 2 clubs or new one? I m still wondering. How about for ppl who do 5 subjects? i know now is count the highest 4. But long time ago the CGPA is divided by 5, not the 4 best. I m worry about cocuriculum indeed. Becoz i m not selected for NS. Cocuriculum consists of 10%, a lot. Anyone know about it? Why gov nv give us a proper answer? And do u all know? Matrix students, their cocu is very easy. They juz have to go for cocuriculum activity for one sem only. UNFAIR UNFAIR UNFAIR. So sometimes i read some politicians trying to use the 100% based on exam again.
i m now in lower 6. i have no confidence wif the education policy. Keep changing. Many ppl wonder about studying STPM. Actually the problems do not lie on STPM that exam, is the selection to local U. STPM is recognised worldwide ( England, US, Aus, NZ, ......).
I did have a good suggestion here. Actually, for matric students who wan to do medic, even they get a place in U, they suffer coz they learn not enough. Therefore, GOv should impose the law that ANYONE WHO WANT TO PURSUE MEDICINE IN LOCAL U MUST STUDY STPM. MATRICULATION STUDENTS ARE LIMITED TO CERTAIN COURSES ONLY. isn`t it a good idea?
give u my full support
That's what i have been thinking as well....many months a go :wink:
Therefore, GOv should impose the law that ANYONE WHO WANT TO PURSUE MEDICINE IN LOCAL U MUST STUDY STPM. MATRICULATION STUDENTS ARE LIMITED TO CERTAIN COURSES ONLY. isn`t it a good idea?
My friend, your idea won't work. Better if they unionise the local pre-u course, run back the old system-HSC or follow singapore-A levels. But dude, think, why would the gov take the trouble to have two pre-u courses?
How about for ppl who do 5 subjects? i know now is count the highest 4.
True? Then i stongly suggest form sixers take 5 subjects. More secure, your little flaw in one subject won't affect your chance to get 4.00.
what i m telling here is that dun look down at STPM coz taking STPm brought many good things to my life...and , it may do the same thing to yr life also... yeah, why do ppl look down on stpm student? somehow some even tend to think stpm students were poor students, both financially and acedemically.
and yeah ppl, could you all please dont quote the whole passage when you're trying to reply others? you could just post ur reply, or quote the part relevent.
i need some kind of the frenships spirit to give the strength to continue..really.......
all my ex-classmates gone liao....... well, feel bad for you since ure going for medic, then form six may seem to be just wasting your time. anyway its never too late to change, start now, train yourself with your social skill, learn to talk to others before they do. or try talking to the teachers or etc. come up with some topics in class to talk about. seniors? juniors? or you could just go online and try to find new friends, say. like recom here. you can get to know alot of ppl.
want to be a doctor.
anyway,i will try my best.
If cannot,that's ok.I wont force myself at least.
I believe a better future awill be lying infront of me. well, i hope all the best to you, i heard you're doing very well in your studies? you could always appeal appeal and appeal again, they had 3 chances of reviewing your appeal, you could always try, send your appeal letter straight to the address, but not the email-address. if they rejected you without any reason you could always sue them. perkara 5, everyone had 3 chance to merayu. learn that in the PA lesson.
good luck to you, (thing is i've forgotten what i've wanted to say).
jackjack
10-07-2005, 02:22 PM
Our school. Just meet frens there. Be a lil more outspoken, your classmates all very talkative ones, aren't they? Sing songs when my class has lessons.Lol.
and yeah ppl, could you all please dont quote the whole passage when you're trying to reply others? you could just post ur reply, or quote the part relevent.
Can't agree more. The long quoted text is a lil annoying, space-consuming, and unnecessary.
jackjack
10-07-2005, 02:28 PM
Btw, is it true that the calculation of CGPA for STPM takes Best 4subjects instead of all 5 if a student takes 5 subjects?
If so, it's an advantage for students taking 5 subs. And their chances of getting higher or perfect CGPA are greater. That's good news for STPM students.
nicolegigi
10-07-2005, 04:30 PM
[quote=kimsiang]what i m telling here is that dun look down at STPM coz taking STPm brought many good things to my life...and , it may do the same thing to yr life also... yeah, why do ppl look down on stpm student? somehow some even tend to think stpm students were poor students, both financially and acedemically.
YUP..........my senior also looked down on me said that I STUDY F6 BECOS I M POOR,kinda belittling me.Some even will think that I DID not that good in SPM so that i study F6.....i m going to pengsan(I Did the 2nd best in my school for SPM)all my frens whose results just so so all go for MATRIK liao,i bet they can surely get 4.00 lor,in MATRIK .Torture me mentally.Perhaps,i shuld not listen to the devils who kept on pouring cool water on me anymore.
P/s: i m not not outspoken la,last time with my classmates i was not like that one.Can sing,talk...alot....quite happy.Perhaps,it's the new school for me.and there are so many gangs/groups in my class......feel hard to really GET INTO what they talked.
kimsiang
10-07-2005, 05:08 PM
YUP..........my senior also looked down on me said that I STUDY F6 BECOS I M POOR,kinda belittling me.Some even will think that I DID not that good in SPM so that i study F6.....i m going to pengsan(I Did the 2nd best in my school for SPM)all my frens whose results just so so all go for MATRIK liao,i bet they can surely get 4.00 lor,in MATRIK .Torture me mentally.Perhaps,i shuld not listen to the devils who kept on pouring cool water on me anymore.
yeah,that`s wat other may think...i experienced it too last time.So,wat i did was,juz smile to them.maybe u can tell them.."yes,i m poor,i m stupid,so i study form6....but at least i din look down at people.
So,i advise all f6`ers to strive for yr future,dun hv to bother those "torturer".They may regret 1 day for wat they hv said 2day. :wink:
I wil give full support to all STPM`ers....even i m in kyoto now.. :wink:
Toyota Manufacturing Uk Specifications (http://www.toyota-wiki.com/wiki/Toyota_Manufacturing_UK)
nicolegigi
15-07-2005, 03:12 PM
I'm back home.finally.
I dont feel happy.
Her behaviour even beocme more aggresive to me.
I feel very very "hard to breath"
She sat beside,she doenst talk to me.
she does vulgar action.when i want to see the paper she hold,she deliberately pull away...DELIBERATELY.
Sitting with her is really tortorous.how come so bad luck?
I think i sit with any other of the class wont be like that.even with guys,i dont think they will be like that.
I want to change place.She is really very very bad.Whenever i ask her something ,related to the school work la....(she doesnt seem want to HIRAU me........in no choice i need to turn to others.
sad...i hope to change place.I dont want to sit with that SOT gal anymore.I never met such kind of people in my life B4.It's the 1St time.................
i want to sit with others in the class.ANYBODY also can.....just dont want her.
i wish to change place......but i dont think the ES TAN(teacher) will let me do so .
then change, explain to the teacher, i think the gal had problems, change, or else she'll just give u more stress.
I'm back home.finally.
I dont feel happy.
she does vulgar action.when i want to see the paper she hold,she deliberately pull away...DELIBERATELY.
I think i sit with any other of the class wont be like that.even with guys,i dont think they will be like that.
I want to change place.She is really very very bad.Whenever i ask her something ,related to the school work la....(she doesnt seem want to HIRAU me........in no choice i need to turn to others.
sad...i hope to change place.I dont want to sit with that SOT gal anymore.I never met such kind of people in my life B4.It's the 1St time.................
i wish to change place......but i dont think the ES TAN(teacher) will let me do so .
maybe she is jealous because u look better than her.........
jackjack
15-07-2005, 04:48 PM
Ignore her.
Hei, I remembered u sat at the back of the class when you first arrived , how come changed place already?
You can totally ignore the scoundrel. Don't have good impression on him.
wendy
15-07-2005, 10:21 PM
I'm back home.finally.
I dont feel happy.
hello! I'm another gal doing from 6! so far so good.chem practicals is fun! thank god nobody blew up the lab!haha.my assignment is mountaning!dun think i can ever finish it! ohh yea back 2 the subject.my advise to u(nicolegigi) y not treat this as a blessing in disguise. By not interacting with her, u will have much more time to do your homework in class.make good use of this time. I, on the other hand share the opposite fate from you, my class isn't exactly a class, coz we have no classroom, we're using the lab as our classroom instead. so, we sit in a large group(6-7ppl).And "coincidently" i sat with my ex classmate cum very very very very good frens.........so we normally use up any extra time chit-chatting.this explain y i can never finish my assignments! haha.anyhow, don't be too distress over matter like this,u don't want to lose ur study mood becoz of her right? If u really cannot stand her, y not try confronting her.Maybe there's a communication barrier between both of u.u never know unless u ask.Guess thats all.All the best in solving this prob.
Back to my form 6 story..........ohh yea......i have really really nice ppl as my classmates,,,,all are smart ass who share the same fate as me(din get scholarship) this explain y we can get along so well.haha. btw, ppl who look down upon f6 students r dumb, so dumb, extremely dumb! no offence lar.....bt plz use ur brain before u say things lar.Act, it takes lotsa guts to take form 6.Firstly ,its becoz of its high level of difficulty .......one of the hardest exam in the world. Second, because its a huge risk.some might end up wasting 2 years of studying n yet still never get their ideal course. But i believe taking f6 is never waste of time,because u'll gain maturity at the end of this.So its all worth the time,i guess.
Neway i;m so glad to learn that there r quite a number of recommers taking form 6.....well maybe we can share some tips or pointers for STPM 2006. that's all frm me. chow!
17-07-2005, 08:43 PM
hello there....
well, i was in form 6 for one month b4 i got my jpa scholarship, and i dare say, form 6 is fun...although there are lots and lots of assignments and homework to do, but it'll make you use your spare time (if you have some) better, it'll make you cheerish and use it properly rather than just loitering around...
and i did read some time ago that people who completed form 5 or a-levels in malaysia are more mature than those who go and take foundation classes, perhaps they tend to use their time better...its mature in terms of time management, budget and attitude..perhaps most malaysians who have just completed form 5 aren't ready for college life:p
and if i don't get my scholarship i'll definitely stay in form 6, even if it means that i will be teased by other people, they aren't my true friends anyway:)
jackfook
19-07-2005, 10:11 PM
No one can look down on STPM students.We are brave enough to handle it although it is famous of toughness.We wake up early in the morning just to study and do a lot of endless assignment.We learn more as the subjects cover everything.We become more matured as we cope with study and participate in extra cocuricular activities.Respect STPM students!We are willing to face challenge regardless where we are. :D :D
Jhuen
19-07-2005, 11:56 PM
No one can look down on STPM students.We are brave enough to handle it although it is famous of toughness.We wake up early in the morning just to study and do a lot of endless assignment.We learn more as the subjects cover everything.We become more matured as we cope with study and participate in extra cocuricular activities.Respect STPM students!We are willing to face challenge regardless where we are. :D :D
cant agree more..i salute students taking f6..just stay focus and ignore all those idiotic statements from **ahem** idiotic people that say that f6 stus are dumb..since it's so tough(as acclaimed by many),it just goes to show that f6 students are braver and stronger when it comes to facing challenges..so, to all f6 students,my hats off to u guys!! :D
yuckfou
20-07-2005, 11:04 AM
Yeah! I did my STPM in 1999. I'm old school, yet I support STPM 100%. I've learned a lot in the entire 1.5 years. The best part is getting to know the gals and partying hard! Enjoy life for the first half of the year and worry about STPM the next half... hehehe....
60% mental, 40% ability (60/40)
Peace out...
revive
21-07-2005, 08:52 PM
1st of all,i wud like to wish u guys who choose stpm.well,frm my personal experience,bad experience i shud say.I dun think its quite a gd choice to b in stpm.the most important point is,the examiners n markers r all,in fact malays.sorry to offend u guys.there might be other races,but its less,least.there's a marker who went to our skool for a seminar(btw,he's indian) told us those dark sides abt marking(for this case,he's involved in pengajian am).for ur information,we will be deducted 16 out of 20 marks frm our graph drawing,for juz 1 single mistake,such as forgetting to draw the scale,title without "malaysia' n so on.well u guys think tis is reasonable?tis is not strick,its crap! they r not marking our papers at all..in fact,only those whom r involved in marking the papers know exactly wat the examiners wanted.to summaries all,our teachers in skool cant tell us exactly how to tackle the questions n the way to fulfill the requiments..imagine how sad of us hearing the marker told us'wat can we do,tis is stpm'
secondly,if u guys can remenber those 128 scorers during 2004,they r all stpm students,n most of all,they r all chinese if im not mistaken.so in the yr 2005,u wud have had predicted tat the government,ministry, or watever,wud make sure tat tis kind of phenomenon,will not arise again.n it really didn't.can u imagine those straight As scorer fell frm 700 odd strudents to only 300 odd?dun u think its rediculous?i've nvr heard of such kind of things happen during my 12 yrs of studying.well,u guys name it.
anyway,its ok if u guy r already here,no point crying for spilt milk.work hard,i mean really hard.dun even have 2nd abt having so called'honeymoon yrs',there's still hope if all of u work hard.gamnbateh!
littlepiglet
21-07-2005, 10:31 PM
that day i read from newspaper. a student in Muar (Johor) got the point 3.8 something but she cannot go any one of the local university. she was very upset. all students who study in form 6 is know that 4.00 is the highest point. that girl got 3.8, is it she was not good enough to study in local u or she was a chinese so that chance go to university is less than the malay (sorry being offence).
but is is unfair to us who to decided take STPM and then want go to local u and continue study.
kimsiang
22-07-2005, 05:26 PM
guys
STPM is a joke
things wouldnt be the same if i din choose that idiot STPM.
but anyway, it taught me a lot
taught me tat its hard for chinese to survive in this country if your not good enough
either u pack ur stuffs, go home and start a business ( govt control you still ), or pay a few hundred thousand to do the course you like oversea.
i'd no choice. i gotto work or study in the place that i don want to be.. anyway.. life muz go on.. i agreed
Although this is the truth,i think u must think in another way.
1."idiot STPM" is not a suitable phrase.
2."its hard for chinese to survive in this country"-yeah,of coz.that`s y we hv more knowledge n alwaz can do better compare to our "friend".....i believe challenge wil let 1 stronger.without challenge in life,that is juz a dead person(mentally)
another thing.u studied bio b4?
do u know that u r champion?since only the strongest sperm can
hv u 2day.
3.Since u was born here,this is yr country.Dun u know about the thing "love yr own country"?Maybe u havent go to other country n compare the life with those ppl with that nationality.I think Malaysia is stil the best.Although we r not majority,we stil hv power in many field.That mean`s wat?that means even we r few,we r more competitive.
Final:The world is getting more n more challenging.so,i think this is a best place for us b4 enter the society.really.
that is juz my opinion.Anyway,if u hv anything unsatisfy,juz post it.
Mercury grand marquis specifications (http://www.ford-wiki.com/wiki/Mercury_Grand_Marquis)
8O we are the martians, we are the martians again.
kimsiang
22-07-2005, 07:09 PM
nice reply.ha,ok,u r bio expert..but that are juz special case... :P
i m talking about normal 1..
er...maybe i m not bio student,cant understand wat u all feel.
but,i think those who wan to study bio is becoz they wanted to be doctor,pharmacist rite?coz their high earnings?wan to save ppl?
make sure they know y they wan to study bio 1st.
if is becoz wan to earn more money,as wat u hv said..go to hv yr own company...
but if is for saving ppl..there r many ways..not only become doctor..
studying about protein,dna,n many stuff else can help u to do so..
i know all bio students r aiming to get medicine,pharmacy..
but we hv to change depends on situation also...
since stpm is stil provide the good education for bio,i think there r a few ways..
1.if u r rich..then..i dun hv to say...jz go where u wan
2.if u hv chance,try to get the scholarship or loan after SPM
3.if u r not 2 or 3,dun worry.study stpm,increase yr knowledge.at last,maybe u cant get into local u,but now,u hv more choice now.with STPM,i think that`s not a problem for u to get at least a loan.
so,anybody who has other opinion pls post here...let`s help those bio students to get what they want.
Bdsm Slave (http://www.fucktube.com/categories/250/slave/videos/1)
nicolegigi
22-07-2005, 11:19 PM
i really get more n more frightened!~~~
perhaps i shuld listen to wat my idol said...."SHUN QI ZHI RAN"
nicolegigi
22-07-2005, 11:23 PM
nice reply.ha,ok,u r bio expert..but that are juz special case... :P
i m talking about normal 1..
er...maybe i m not bio student,cant understand wat u all feel.
but,i think those who wan to study bio is becoz they wanted to be doctor,pharmacist rite?coz their high earnings?wan to save ppl?
make sure they know y they wan to study bio 1st.
if is becoz wan to earn more money,as wat u hv said..go to hv yr own company...
but if is for saving ppl..there r many ways..not only become doctor..
studying about protein,dna,n many stuff else can help u to do so..
i know all bio students r aiming to get medicine,pharmacy..
but we hv to change depends on situation also...
since stpm is stil provide the good education for bio,i think there r a few ways..
1.if u r rich..then..i dun hv to say...jz go where u wan
2.if u hv chance,try to get the scholarship or loan after SPM
3.if u r not 2 or 3,dun worry.study stpm,increase yr knowledge.at last,maybe u cant get into local u,but now,u hv more choice now.with STPM,i think that`s not a problem for u to get at least a loan.
so,anybody who has other opinion pls post here...let`s help those bio students to get what they want.
I m in the number 2 condition.
SPM 11A1s(include GCE)+1A2(chinese)
active in coco,reresent school in competition for national level.....in both academically n sports.I was the no1 student in the whole school.After all, i got nothing.Not even MATRICULATION which almost all my classmates(CHINESE) got just because they r so clever(put village address), whereas i m so so so STUPID + JUJUR...put my own home address!~~~~
SercretMan
23-07-2005, 12:57 AM
I have an opinion to share with u all. For STPM, i feel the result will determine the course, not that we can choose like when after SPM. However, students with full A is definitely allowed to choose anything they want. So, conclusion is STPM result will determine ur future but full A students can determine themselves.
Somemore, i would like to share my experience studying STPM.
I am the only one among my frends doing STPM in another school. I met friends from various schools. Actually, frankly speaking, i feel i learn a lot of experience from daily life becoz the frends we know at this age is not that simple as the frends we know since young (naive and friendly). I m not saying my new friends are not friendly, but quite tough to cope wif them in a lot of things, coz they all come in big groups, u can feel they reluctant to accept a ppl from other background to join in their group. In f6, u can see those GALS BEHAVIOUR obviously, very selfish. Little bit happen than refuse to talk to others.
What i wan to conclude here is:
As we know STPM can learn a lot things, is worldwide recognised and standard. So i conclude from the aspect of the life in form 6.
Form 6 is the place where we learn our EQ, maturity, stability, personality, communication and others. Although only 2 months in form 6, but i c an obvious differences between myself and some college friends. The point, way and maturity in chatting are different totally.
This is my own view. Form 6 students are still school students, are restricted to do this and that, and wear in uniform. But college is totally free. They prefer to talk about boys and gals. Form 6 students, coz there are activities in school and the lesson is very tough, they discuss more on these instead of those topic.
But for everthing, there is an exceptional case. This is just my own opinion. Hope my discussion won't provoke anyone and STPM students plz share ur experience here too.
Lastly, i wan to recommend myself. i m BIO student!!
airseal
23-07-2005, 01:16 AM
I took biology since SPM but never intended to be in any biology related field... Its just for my knowledge as i think it is very interesting... I am taking it for STPM too...
1st)i am not rich and tat's y i didn't take A'lvl...
2nd)i miss all my chance to obtain scholarship alde...
So now i am not sure wut am i doing in form 6 but for sure is I am not studying at Local University......(maybe not qualified...hahaha)
Form 6 life although is tough but till now(for the pass 2 month),
I got to know the politics in form6,
I have more friends,
I like the surrounding,
Err.....the stress studying PHYSICs in english.....
Overall its fun studying form 6...
So to all form 6'es... Lets strive hard...
Remember tat our result wll be release before the next election...
So our STPM standard will be lower down?????????
kimsiang
23-07-2005, 01:20 AM
yeah,Secretman,u appear at the right time....100% support..
Hot Girls Live (http://www.girlcamfriend.com/webcam/babes/)
lotus
23-07-2005, 01:32 AM
Hey, must say that there are many helpful viewpoints in this thread.... most of us have read Robert Lee Frost's The Road Not Taken for SPM ...which mirrors our phase in life about making the right choices..no doubt we must think carefully but eventually the faster we come to terms the better..then we can move forward..or continue our journey ..so chill people, be happy :)
abc2005
23-07-2005, 01:57 AM
Well, IMHO regarding form 6 and STPM, the 18 months during my form 6 last year has taught me two important lessons, that is patience and and thrive in the hard time.
Patience-you need patience if you are studying in form 6. Not only you have to strive hard in your study and exams, but toleration of the bias system as well. Looking back, while i received the news of my failure to secure any places in public U, i knew that the whole selection was in favour of the matrics students. Even if i've been selected, i'll be going for some peculiar yet odd and totally 'estranged' courses like forestry or fisheries or something like that. as a non bumi, i've learned to tolerate the bias dual U entrance criteria ever since the first day i stepped into the form 6 class.
Thrive-Even though i failed in my bid into public U, i'm relieve that there are many other alternatives. At the end, I chose to further my study in UTAR. I know that I must not throw in the towel despite the setback. I've overcome my disappointment and sadness after even i lost out my appeal in securing any leftover courses a week ago. I felt great after a week studying in my new environment. the quality of facilities and lecturers are absolutely amazing. I've learned to be independent(not financially)in every aspect. I understand that i must study harder and harder to get what everyone dreams for-first class honours.
For any sixformer, don't put the stake too high on public U unless you believe that you can obtain 4 flat. the competition is high. imagine 75000 STPMers + 24000 matrics students vying for 40000 places in public U. for CGPA of 2.00 till 2.80(for stpm), you will definitely out. If you live in rural areas, your chances will be higher than those living in urbans. Look for other altenatives from now on, like scholarships to study overseas...
Finally, I wish you all good luck! :)
yuckfou
23-07-2005, 03:52 AM
hmmm... It seems like the many of guys are struggling to find a place in a local university. That really sux. Anyway, I've got 2 suggestions for those who are currently taking STPM:
1. Apply for a university in Singapore (Ex: NUS). The colleges there are pretty good, especially for people into EE or engineering. I know they give out scholarships and student loans. I had some friends who did that are now working in Singapore as engineers. Some are in Intel Penang. They only had two A's in their STPM result. As you work, you get to pay off your loan. Another reason to go there is because the engineering sector there is pretty good at the moment. American corporations are moving their business to Asia (Singapore, China, Philipines, Malaysia, India, Korea).
2. Go for the long shot. It is not impossible to study in the USA without cash. Many colleges here in the US gives full scholarship for foreign students with really good grades. When I mean full scholarship, it's a 4 year scholarship. You're not bonded by any company or anyone. I've known people who has got it. Some even got scholarships with only SPM results. Well, the only downside is that you have to pay USD 50 for the application fee into college and not knowing whether you get in or not. It's also non refundable. However, if you feel lucky and you might be, just try your luck. Nothing is impossible. But do your research first at MACEE.
Like I've said, I've known people who took up one of these two options and are currently successful in geting jobs. Remember, STPM is equivalent to GCE A-Levels. STPM=GCE A-Levels.
One more thing. With STPM grades, you can transfer credits to most universities in the US. That means, you might not need to do your 1st year of education in the univesity if you get your credits transfered. How do I know this? Because I've done it and it works.
Finally, never ever limit your options to local univesities just because you can't afford a tertiary education outside of Malaysia. You have to start thinking outside the box. There are many universities around Malaysia and I believe that they do offer 100% scholarships to foreign students. You do not have to hope for scholarships in the Malaysia. Malaysian scholarships bonds you in the country or with a company for a certain number of years.
There are sooooooooo many scholarships out there that really mean it when they say full scholarships. No bond and no commitment. All you need are to get good grades.
I would like to say it out loud to all future and present STPM candidates out there to start thinking outside the box. You already have an A-Level certificate in your hand with your STPM certificate. Don't believe me, go look behind the certificate. Read the fine prints.
Be flexible with your education. There are options out there. Go to MACEE if you're interested in a college in the US. The people there can help you locate universities that offer full scholarships or direct you to the Malaysian Student Association in the university.
Information and opportunity are abundance. You just have to look for it. Me and my brother did our STPM in Penang. We've used our STPM grades to transfer credits to the college in USA. I don't know anyone who has done it yet. Maybe there are people who have done the same but must be scarce. Furthermore, believe me, STPM was way much harder last time.
Oh, it's not compulsory to complete your degree in 4 years. Who ever said it is compulsory??? I did my Bachelors and Masters in EE in 4 years and 9 months. My brother did his Bachelors and Masters in Computer Science in about the same amount of time. 4 years is only the suggested time period to complete your credit hours. If you complete your credit hours in 2 years, go ahead.
Let me say something to the STPM takers about one thing. I'm proud of STPM and it might be a joke for some people. That is true. People have their own opnion. But once you're into STPM, you have to start thinking about the available options that you have.
Why let the government determine what you can and not have? If you're thinking about other option besides local universities, do your research way before you sit for your STPM exam. Be one step ahead of everything. Only you can make it happen. Not the government, not even the politians can help you. The only person you can rely on is yourself. Do your research, research and research....
So many unversities out there in the world. Japan, Germany, Korea, Australia, Singapore, India, France, UK, USA, etc... Go look for them.
Goodluck to all STPM students....
Peace out...
tbeeean
23-07-2005, 05:31 AM
yuckfou, well said!
hmm, I'm a bit old here as I did my STPM in 1996, but I would like to encourage all students in form 6 to go on and try your best. STPM is not as hard as people told you, try it yourself.
I got 4A in my SPM but I scored 5A in my STPM. I switched from science to art, as I really have no interest in science. I have my best 2 years in form 6, mixing with other Malaysians, having new friends, studying the subjects I really like. I have never imagine I could score 5A, but I did! I have a friend who changed school bcos her old school's friends don't like studying, she took further maths in tuition center and scored A for it. At the end it is how you desire to try and do well.
Did business in UM, have very sweet memories joining all the activities, living in the college the first year then live crazy life with other 11 friends, who shared the same passion. Went for an exchange program with Motorola US under Aiesec exchange program. Have another best 2 years there. Met a French, he supports me to study MBA there. Due to visa issue couldn't find job. We decided to move to France. Will go to university to learn French starting Sept.
I just want to say, since you are in form 6, just put all your effort to try and get what you want. Everybody I knew in the form 6 class my time successfully enter uni, except those who reject bcos they didn't like the course. We were all skeptical like you at the beginning, but we gave it a try and we got what we wanted.
Good Luck!
Irresistible
23-07-2005, 06:47 PM
yuckfou, well said!
hmm, I'm a bit old here as I did my STPM in 1996, but I would like to encourage all students in form 6 to go on and try your best. STPM is not as hard as people told you, try it yourself.
I got 4A in my SPM but I scored 5A in my STPM. I switched from science to art, as I really have no interest in science. I have my best 2 years in form 6, mixing with other Malaysians, having new friends, studying the subjects I really like. I have never imagine I could score 5A, but I did!
B4 2001, local U is open for application of SPM students. I am 2001 SPM students, so I know tht. Therefore, most of the top students(especially b4 yr 2000) manage to enter local U. Some may go to college or private U.
The leftbehind one will go to F6 (Matriks is only open to non bumi in yr 2002), most of them are average students. Therefore, the competition is not the same with today's STPM student. Today, many SPM straight A's is pursuing STPM, so u can imagine the competition..... 8O 8O 8O 8O
STPM is tough, but still can't compare with the toughness of degree programme. Many GPA 4.00 student in STPM can't even get 1st class in his/her degree. However, as u know, excellent STPM results is the only way to enter public U, but u still can get a job if u are 2nd 0r 3rd class degree holder. :) :) :) :)
wendy
23-07-2005, 11:15 PM
hmmm... It seems like the many of guys are struggling to find a place in a local university. That really sux. Anyway, I've got 2 suggestions for those who are currently taking STPM:
1. Apply for a university in Singapore (Ex: NUS). The colleges there are pretty good, especially for people into EE or engineering. I know they give out scholarships and student loans. I had some friends who did that are now working in Singapore as engineers. Some are in Intel Penang. They only had two A's in their STPM result. As you work, you get to pay off your loan. Another reason to go there is because the engineering sector there is pretty good at the moment. American corporations are moving their business to Asia (Singapore, China, Philipines, Malaysia, India, Korea).
2. Go for the long shot. It is not impossible to study in the USA without cash. Many colleges here in the US gives full scholarship for foreign students with really good grades. When I mean full scholarship, it's a 4 year scholarship. You're not bonded by any company or anyone. I've known people who has got it. Some even got scholarships with only SPM results. Well, the only downside is that you have to pay USD 50 for the application fee into college and not knowing whether you get in or not. It's also non refundable. However, if you feel lucky and you might be, just try your luck. Nothing is impossible. But do your research first at MACEE.
Like I've said, I've known people who took up one of these two options and are currently successful in geting jobs. Remember, STPM is equivalent to GCE A-Levels. STPM=GCE A-Levels.
One more thing. With STPM grades, you can transfer credits to most universities in the US. That means, you might not need to do your 1st year of education in the univesity if you get your credits transfered. How do I know this? Because I've done it and it works.
Finally, never ever limit your options to local univesities just because you can't afford a tertiary education outside of Malaysia. You have to start thinking outside the box. There are many universities around Malaysia and I believe that they do offer 100% scholarships to foreign students. You do not have to hope for scholarships in the Malaysia. Malaysian scholarships bonds you in the country or with a company for a certain number of years.
There are sooooooooo many scholarships out there that really mean it when they say full scholarships. No bond and no commitment. All you need are to get good grades.
I would like to say it out loud to all future and present STPM candidates out there to start thinking outside the box. You already have an A-Level certificate in your hand with your STPM certificate. Don't believe me, go look behind the certificate. Read the fine prints.
Be flexible with your education. There are options out there. Go to MACEE if you're interested in a college in the US. The people there can help you locate universities that offer full scholarships or direct you to the Malaysian Student Association in the university.
Information and opportunity are abundance. You just have to look for it. Me and my brother did our STPM in Penang. We've used our STPM grades to transfer credits to the college in USA. I don't know anyone who has done it yet. Maybe there are people who have done the same but must be scarce. Furthermore, believe me, STPM was way much harder last time.
Oh, it's not compulsory to complete your degree in 4 years. Who ever said it is compulsory??? I did my Bachelors and Masters in EE in 4 years and 9 months. My brother did his Bachelors and Masters in Computer Science in about the same amount of time. 4 years is only the suggested time period to complete your credit hours. If you complete your credit hours in 2 years, go ahead.
Let me say something to the STPM takers about one thing. I'm proud of STPM and it might be a joke for some people. That is true. People have their own opnion. But once you're into STPM, you have to start thinking about the available options that you have.
Why let the government determine what you can and not have? If you're thinking about other option besides local universities, do your research way before you sit for your STPM exam. Be one step ahead of everything. Only you can make it happen. Not the government, not even the politians can help you. The only person you can rely on is yourself. Do your research, research and research....
So many unversities out there in the world. Japan, Germany, Korea, Australia, Singapore, India, France, UK, USA, etc... Go look for them.
Goodluck to all STPM students....
Peace out...
any scholarship for medic??? frankly speaking, sometimes i juz hate myself 4 wanting to study medic coz......the opportunities r so limited!!! But what to do?...I'm preety interested in that field! haih.....no jpa.......no matriks....thats y my stpm is my everything.......never get 4A that means mz bid farewell to medic edi! sob sob! i'm like livin in a pressure cooker now!
but overall, i'm having fun in form 6! :lol:
yuckfou
24-07-2005, 02:50 PM
Many people don't realize that with their SPM results, they can actually get full scholarships in some universities around the world, for example USA. It is very unfortunate that many people think that SPM won't really get you anywhere and that you need STPM or A-Levels to get into a university.
In the US, SPM is equivalent to your final year in high school. However, US system of education requires 6 years of high school education to get into a US university. But SPM is only up to 5 years of education. I had a friend who managed to get around the system. He stayed on in Lower Form 6 for half a year to make it six years of high school of education. I also had another friend who managed to get partial scholarship with his SPM results in a university in US.
My whole point is that not many people understand the system of education in the countries around the world. You should compare your system of education with other country's system of education and consider the possibilites of how your education can fit in with other country's system of education. Find equivalence between your education with other countries education. Then find for option of scholarships and loans offered by the universities.
myself 4 wanting to study medic coz......the opportunities r so limited!!! But what to do?...I'm preety interested in that field! haih.....no jpa.......no matriks....thats y my stpm is my everything.......never get 4A that means mz bid farewell to medic edi! sob sob! i'm like livin in a pressure cooker now!
but overall, i'm having fun in form 6! :lol:
Yeah, medic opportunity is so limited. That is just so unfortunate. However, go find out what's the limitation. Find out about universites in India, Japan, Korea or other countries. They might offer you full scholarships. Remember, you do not lose any precious time by doing your research. Instead, you get to learn about other universities around the world. But if you don't do any research and make your own assumptions that no universities around the glob offer scholarships, you'll really won't know anyting. There is nothing for you to lose. Motivate yourself to look for answers, not jump to conclusions or create assumptions.
well maybe i shouldnt sound like one of them terrorist.. but trust me.. ur STPM result doesnt GUARANTEE a place in local Uni. Ur right FULL A IS DEFINATELY ALLOWED to choose... But will u get what you choose thats another issue.. Why cant u guys juz get it? U guys have such a good result in SPM, you should have do SAM, CIMP, A LEVEL instead or STPM...
Well, how sweet if everyone can do SAM, SAT, CIMP, A-Levels or even TOEFL. Unfortunately, many people can't afford any of these options that led them to STPM. If they don't do STPM, what should they do?? Go sell Hokkien Mee, Laksa Asam or Char Koay Teow? Yeah, you might actually make more money doing that.
If you have to do STPM, do it. However, you have to understand the options that you have after your STPM. Instead of relying 100% on local universities, try applying for some universities around the world. Singapore is a strongly suggested option. By doing so, you are just increasing your probability of getting accepted in a university with the degree of your choice.
If the university accepts your application but don't offer full scholarship, look for partial scholarship and loans. Keep your options open. If they don't offer you anything, you don't have to enroll into the university. The only thing that you'll lose is your application fee.
Sometimes, you'll need to sacrifice certain things in order to achieve sucess in your future. Try and give all that you've got in your research for your future education besides putting 101% effort in STPM.
Peace out....
khersham
24-10-2005, 11:54 PM
STPM is really a turning point of ones life. It is either going to kill you or to enlight you.Basically understanding is the key to success. And believe me STPM really changed my life forever. And to all the candidates, viel Gl?ck( wish you luck in german), Don?t be affraid and prove yourself that you are the best.
littlepiglet
26-10-2005, 09:19 PM
Do form Six really is time to us be mature? I found out that Form Six is a tough life. I don't know whether i am right to take form Six. I quite afraid that if i didn't do well in the Form Six, will i have the chance to go university. What is the minimum requirement for us go into local university if i want to take courses in engineering?
enilit
09-01-2006, 03:12 PM
I've just finished STPM. Form 6 was a good time, had space to sort out myself. I guess you could call that maturing... But I think it's more attitude. If you want to grow up, you will, wherever you are.
Doing STPM calls for determination. I won't say Science stream's harder or Commerce/Humanities is easier, because I switched to C/H, and it's tough as well. The lines aren't so clear (naturally) and it's more subjective than SPM.
Most people only apply for local public uni's and (maybe) singapore ones... even those who get straight A's... They don't realize that with STPM you can go to any uni overseas, since it's considered equiv. to IB/A-levels.
To all those who will be taking STPM this year: All the best!
To those who are considering Form 6: Decide wisely, and make the most of whatever you'll be doing!
yewkwanghooi
10-01-2006, 01:49 AM
Hi everyone,
I did my STPM in 1998. At that time, STPM is the only prerequisite to gain an entry into medical schools in local varsities apart of having lots of $$$ to be enrolled into IMU. Unfortunately, my results are only good enough for pharmacy, which I did not take up coz I have very little interest in it. I was offered to do Computer Sc. instead by UPU and that had been my field ever since. I recently graduated from Cornell, NY in Master of Engineering in Computer Science.
Let me share with the members of this forum my opinions of pros and cons of doing Form Six and let you judge yourself whether it is worthy of taking up.
Cons:
1. You spent two years learning about theories, memorizing facts and doing endless homeworks, of which only a few chapters of one or two subjects may be related to your tertiary study or work.
2. SPM difficulty level had been lowered since the days of the MCE but not STPM (at least during my year; after 1999, there were some amendments to the syllabus). You will discover that there were some subtle "broken bridges" that link SPM to STPM, in particular Mathematics. Hence you have to work really hard to bridge up.
3. STPM is not an assured way of getting into the university program that you want. UPU doesnt seem to be that good in matchmaking student talents and interest with the field applied for. So if you have other means, STPM should be your last resort.
Don't feel demeaned by the cons. I did my STPM too and had found some pros in it.
Pros:
1. It is one of the hardest exams in the world, and hence well-recognized overseas.
2. Makes you mature fast. Because if you don't, you'd definitely flunk. If you think you are supergood in your SPM, STPM might make you a more modest person.
3. If you make it through STPM, I don't think you will have problem doing any degree program, even overseas (Assuming you have strong command in that foreign language too).
At the end of the day, you decide on your own. If you just want a quick degree so that you can get yourself out of school quickly, then STPM is not for you. If you want to fortify yourself with knowlege, the maturity and the right attitude that will bring you far in both academics and career, then you may want to consider STPM as a good training ground.
Good luck and I hope do contribute something to this forum.
p/s: Pls don't feel demotivated if you have to do STPM. Someday if you may get ahead farther than your friends who don't. If you let that feeling controls you, you are doomed.
"NEVER BELIEVE IN PASSIVE WORDS" - ARNOLD SCHWARZENAGGER
endymion_serene
10-01-2006, 09:27 AM
juz giving my opinion here. i feel like stpm is an alien thing for malays... many of them didnt get involved with it and i think its because most malays got sponsorship after spm. is it true?
leng_cyl
10-01-2006, 10:36 AM
*it has been a long time I didn't visit this forum*
I'm now an upper six student, em... and when schooling started few days ago, there were 3 students in my class and about 10 students from art class decided to stop studying form 6!
About 90% of them were Malays....
As what I know, they stop studying form 6 because they had finally got the offer from those IPTA @<hidden> college...... 8O
Some of them said STPM is really hard so they couldn't cope with it and decided to give up; ok, it's because they are those people that don't want to put in effort !
[there are some students choose to study form 6 because they are forced by their parents but not on their will; and hence they wouldn't study hard, so they get bad result]
Like other said, if one has decided to study form 6, he should take the initiative to study hard on his own and shouldn't say that the teachers are not good or what!
STPM is hard for sure, but for me, I am really enjoying my form 6 life while busy with study.... form 6 life is so different from the other secondary years in the past.
Treat it as A-level?
Form 6 is harder than A-level because the result depends only on the second year end STPM exam while A-level's depends on few exams of semesters, right? (correct me if I'm wrong..)
with STPM, you definitely have more choices than A-level~
*it has been a long time I didn't visit this forum*
Like other said, if one has decided to study form 6, he should take the initiative to study hard on his own and shouldn't say that the teachers are not good or what!
STPM is hard for sure, but for me, I am really enjoying my form 6 life while busy with study.... form 6 life is so different from the other secondary years in the past.
Treat it as A-level?
Form 6 is harder than A-level because the result depends only on the second year end STPM exam while A-level's depends on few exams of semesters, right? (correct me if I'm wrong..)
Rightly said. A-level depends on a few examination sittings. But it doesn't make it easier to score. You still need to be consistent in your work. Screw up the first, you would most likely screw up the next.
Care to elaborate on stpm having more choices than A-levels?
leng_cyl
10-01-2006, 04:51 PM
:D it's because A-level students can't enter Local U 8)
but most of those A-level students are rich enough and are afford to study at private U ... haha
just like "yuckfou" said, we form 6 students can try to apply for private U too...
hmm... however, if you are rich and know what you want to be, and are not planning to enter Local Universities, then you should study A-level or others instead.
paiseh to tell, in fact I still don't know what I want to be, but I know I want to enter local University and I know I'm interested in biology field. So I'm now taking biology stream in form 6.
:D it's because A-level students can't enter Local U 8)
but most of those A-level students are rich enough and are afford to study at private U ... haha
just like "yuckfou" said, we form 6 students can try to apply for private U too...
hmm... however, if you are rich and know what you want to be, and are not planning to enter Local Universities, then you should study A-level or others instead.
paiseh to tell, in fact I still don't know what I want to be, but I know I want to enter local University and I know I'm interested in biology field. So I'm now taking biology stream in form 6.
Technically, they can but priority is given to STPM and matriculation holders.
Not all who do A-levels are rich........
okaywhy
10-01-2006, 10:00 PM
Some of them said STPM is really hard so they couldn't cope with it and decided to give up; ok, it's because they are those people that don't want to put in effort !
[there are some students choose to study form 6 because they are forced by their parents but not on their will; and hence they wouldn't study hard, so they get bad result
wow... that's too harsh..., mam. It's nothing wrong for them to give up if they found out stpm doesn't suit them....
This sounds familiar..., if you were to say so, meaning that teachers are just useless for you, since you can "study hard on your own", you don't need to come to the school.
I do think teachers play an significant role in provoking interest among the fellow students. What makes a student hard working? Part of the reason lies on interest itself.
Teachers are people who introduce a subject to the student, which in turn giving students an initial impression of a certain subject, if the teacher failed to perform, ought not they be criticised? Some of my friends hate Biology because of their terrible learning experience with their form 4 Biology teacher.
Those students complaint because they felt that listening to some lousy teachers who don't understand the subject they are teaching, does not worth their time.
leng_cyl
10-01-2006, 10:46 PM
Not all who do A-levels are rich........
Did I say all are rich?
I did mention:
but most of those A-level students are rich enough
and sorry if I'd given wrong information or...
To OkayWhy,
I'm just giving my opinion, and I just said "some" but not all;
well, I agreed to what you've said, it's alright for them to choose other way when they found out that form 6 doesn't suit them, I didn't said they can't.
If my words expressed the wrong meaning, I say sorry :roll:
for teacher matter, I don't deny that teachers play an important role, but when you are forced to have those teacher with weaker teaching skill, what can you do?
Are you going to keep blaming them for not teaching well and don't try your best to study on your own?
but of course, if possible, when you dislike that teacher, you may transfer to other school to search for the best teacher you are looking for.
by the way, once again, I'm out of the topic; sorry
11-01-2006, 12:42 AM
There are different types of Alevels, you're referring to the modular based Alevels, whereby you sit for exams after each module. Not the case for CIE Alevels.
I don't think so, based on the fact that many students don't get their first choice course when applying to local uni.
There are different types of Alevels, you're referring to the modular based Alevels, whereby you sit for exams after each module. Not the case for CIE Alevels.
I don't think so, based on the fact that many students don't get their first choice course when applying to local uni.
You get at least two sittings for CIE......
11-01-2006, 04:51 AM
You get at least two sittings for CIE......
Yes, just two. Not a few. And obviously not every semester.
You will get four sittings if you do your A-levels there.......
11-01-2006, 05:52 PM
There? Where? I'm talking about CIE Alevels in Malaysia...
johnleemk
11-01-2006, 06:02 PM
According to my economics lecturer, the traditional CIE A Level course has two sittings - one for the AS, and another for the A2. If your AS results suck, you can opt to resit them at the same time when you sit for the A2.
There? Where? I'm talking about CIE Alevels in Malaysia...
UK........Jan-June-Jan-June....
enilit
12-01-2006, 11:52 PM
Best 4 subjects' CGPA only for application to M'sian public uni's.
According to my economics lecturer, the traditional CIE A Level course has two sittings - one for the AS, and another for the A2. If your AS results suck, you can opt to resit them at the same time when you sit for the A2.
Yup, if you do so, you would be doing it like the old days. One sitting and that's it.
leng_cyl
13-01-2006, 12:18 AM
Best 4 subjects' CGPA only for application to M'sian public uni's.
hmm.. do you mean 4 best subjects of STPM are chosen for application to Local University if that person is taking 5 subjects?
As I know (heard from my friends), if you are taking 5 subjects, then the CGPA is obtained by taking the average of those 5 subjects but not the best 4...
If I'm not mistaken......
indian_ripper
13-01-2006, 01:33 PM
As anyone here ever retaken stpm?
indian_ripper
13-01-2006, 01:34 PM
Has anyone here ever retaken stpm?
okaywhy
27-02-2006, 02:25 PM
Ya, how to resit STPM?
Is it available for all ages?
Larry
27-02-2006, 11:53 PM
Although it is not that bad doing f6, the problem is that all students are compulsory to take Pengajian Am( PA ). I deemed this subject is a waste of time since we don't get much benefit from it! As such, I am still considering for other options after spm. Unfortunately, I don't think I will escape from f6 due to $$$ matter.
Haihz......
enilit
01-03-2006, 06:35 PM
Although it is not that bad doing f6, the problem is that all students are compulsory to take Pengajian Am( PA ). I deemed this subject is a waste of time since we don't get much benefit from it! As such, I am still considering for other options after spm. Unfortunately, I don't think I will escape from f6 due to $$$ matter.
Haihz......
I don't believe Pengajian Am is a waste of time. You don't need to spend a lot of time on it anyway--it's all government policies, system, etc. Quite fun, rather. :)
Haihz......
I don't believe Pengajian Am is a waste of time. You don't need to spend a lot of time on it anyway--it's all government policies, system, etc. Quite fun, rather. :)
I like PA too, especially the first part of it. The essay, graphs and the rest of the papers are bad though. :lol:
My problem with form six is mainly the science subjects themselves. Physics and Chemistry are pain in the ass, really.
01-03-2006, 08:37 PM
i took onw month of form 6 last time...hehe...pa classes were kinda fun..but when the exam time comes....erm...uh-oh...
Larry
01-03-2006, 09:58 PM
In genaral, what is PA?
As far as I know, we have to put lots of efforts in it memorizing all the facts for the purpose of exam right?
WinnieH
05-03-2006, 11:30 AM
In genaral, what is PA?
As far as I know, we have to put lots of efforts in it memorizing all the facts for the purpose of exam right?
PA is pengajian am/ general studies.
yes, you need to memorise a lot of things but do make sure you understand them and not just memorising blindly. as far as i'm concern, in the PA essay, you need to focus and be alert when reading the questions cause they're very tricky. my sis told me everything i need to know for stpm... so if you got any questions, feel free to ask, all right?
06-03-2006, 02:13 PM
I'm waiting for my spm result... and i'm also waiting for my form six to start...
Kimsiang, you took further maths in stpm.... GREAT!!! can u pls tell me where did you buy your textbooks? from school? from internet? and what language was it during your year...? Pls help...
Bush, University Bookstore in section 14 pj is way too far away from my house! but thx for the suggestion in the other thread, i'll must try to find one day to visit that store.... I'M DESPERATE FOR A STPM FURTHER MATHS TEXTBOOK!!!!!
STPM for me is a risky investment, if u are willing to take the risk, and if u suceed, the reward would be handsome... Look into the bright side! No point keep looking into the negative side of stpm. We'd already chosen this path in our life, so, work hard to finish it! Good luck stpm recomers! Let's strive for a good result in STPM together! :wink:
WinnieH
06-03-2006, 03:19 PM
further maths? can we take it?
If you are well prepared, why not?
I would discourage you from taking it if you have severe problems in you mathematics, taking this subject might pull down your CGPA and might reduce your chance of getting a scholarship.
AAA is always better than AAAD.
06-03-2006, 07:48 PM
Of cos we can.. but the prob is we need a textbook! and i can't find one.....
WinnieH wrote:
Of cos we can.. but the prob is we need a textbook! and i can't find one.....
As far as I can remember, the guys in my school used either university level books for it (just learn and look up the syllabus) or books written like 30-40 years ago. The pure maths then is our futher maths now. :P
reign226
07-03-2006, 12:28 PM
Yeah PA is definately very fun. It would be great if you have an interesting PA teacher (like mine who constantly talk buruk about the govt lol). It's not really about memorizing stuff.... just make sure you read a lot. It's a great subject if you like just reading things and knowing stuff. Anyway I think PA is very very interesting and definately helps break the monotony of those damned science subjects.
WinnieH
07-03-2006, 02:36 PM
Yeah PA is definately very fun. It would be great if you have an interesting PA teacher (like mine who constantly talk buruk about the govt lol). It's not really about memorizing stuff.... just make sure you read a lot. It's a great subject if you like just reading things and knowing stuff. Anyway I think PA is very very interesting and definately helps break the monotony of those damned science subjects.
oh i cant agree more that that. PA is fun indeed. i'm starting to read the books now.
07-03-2006, 03:13 PM
As far as I can remember, the guys in my school used either university level books for it (just learn and look up the syllabus) or books written like 30-40 years ago. The pure maths then is our futher maths now. :P
University book... u mean university book for maths? but even for maths, there are so many books for it, like for ex one book for calculus, one book for statistics, and one book for trigonometri etc etc... but anyway thx.. i think there are books written to cover all mathematic fields for university students. Just need to dig it out. Thx ya.
reign226
07-03-2006, 05:43 PM
i believe just getting old books is sufficient... the most important thing you need is still the syllabus.
07-03-2006, 09:08 PM
i believe just getting old books is sufficient... the most important thing you need is still the syllabus.
But the problem is i couldn't find any books on stpm further maths in mph or popular, not even the old books.... it's as if that the subject doesn't exist anymore.. i haven tried kinokuniya and university bookstore though.
Larry
07-03-2006, 10:14 PM
One question here, can we survive further math through STPM if we try to read up ourself. So far as i am concerned, the teacher in schol may not teach further math and it depends lots on students themselves!
About PA, why all of you always keep saying it is fun? Do we benefit from it after spending 18 months studying it?
One question here, can we survive further math through STPM if we try to read up ourself. So far as i am concerned, the teacher in schol may not teach further math and it depends lots on students themselves!
About PA, why all of you always keep saying it is fun? Do we benefit from it after spending 18 months studying it?
Yes, you may, provided you have a talent in mathematics..........most of us need instructions in mathematics, only a few can learn mathematics by themselves.
WinnieH
08-03-2006, 10:56 AM
well yes. you learn something new and you know more about your country and stuffs. isn't that benificial?
Larry
08-03-2006, 10:27 PM
well yes. you learn something new and you know more about your country and stuffs. isn't that benificial?
We spent lots of years studying sejarah this subject and i think it is sufficient for us to know everything about our country, right? I would like to know what do you mean by 'something new'?
08-03-2006, 10:56 PM
many aspects of the history have been intentionally erased so that we won't even know about it...there are much more to learn than those in the text books...
victorvandort
09-03-2006, 10:20 AM
those who took stpm, which school did u go to? how is the quality of education in ur school? anyone from cbn/aminudin baki form 6 here?
Scrmath
07-03-2009, 10:25 PM
hello everybody here.....i m a form 6 graduate year 2003......
Dun hav to worry about that....coz i think form6 was the best life for me...
why?
1.U can hv closer fren n the relation between classmate is closer compare to b4...
2.Form6 is a preparation course for UNi....so,after u finished it,u can hv a bit relax life compare to those from matrik.....
3.Graduate faster doesnt mean anything....we need quality...
so,take yr time,learn more things in this 2 years....
4.STPM isnt that hard as u all thought....juz be more hardworking n u wil get A.....
5.U wil learn to be more mature..really....
I think that`s all i can say.....if hv any Q,juz dun be hesitate to ask me////
I noe wad u saying but if u scored a 4.0 but get unwanted courses in local u?Tats the only thing that hesitated me to do f6.Actually i m willing to take f6..tell me wad yr opinion?
lwk88
10-03-2009, 03:58 PM
no money? then go form 6 lo........... got money study pre-u at taylor, sunway.....
pettybimbo
19-03-2009, 03:58 AM
Form six is actually not bad la wei... u get to spend more time wiht ur family... which is very important..
with ur 4.0 still can apply for stuff la.. can get scholarships de lor.... dont necessary have to go to ipta ... with 4.0 you'll have many options.. just make sure u dont miss ur chance.
markwongsk
19-03-2009, 09:33 AM
Form six is actually not bad la wei... u get to spend more time wiht ur family... which is very important..
with ur 4.0 still can apply for stuff la.. can get scholarships de lor.... dont necessary have to go to ipta ... with 4.0 you'll have many options.. just make sure u dont miss ur chance.
I agree... My father was working overseas and he only came back when I just started doing my lower six. When you were in form 1-5 you would be STUDY STUDY STUDY only... coz you want to make sure you can get away as soon as possible. Then when results come out and you start thinking when did you last spent time with your family??
cheanrocks
03-04-2009, 07:48 PM
those who took stpm, which school did u go to? how is the quality of education in ur school? anyone from cbn/aminudin baki form 6 here?
I went to MBSSKL. :) I would say this school is one of the best in KL. Sadly, we have lost quite a few good teachers. Nevertheless, there are still a number of experienced and good teachers.
blueminer
06-04-2009, 08:50 PM
I continued Form 6 in St. Xavier's Institution and I'm proud of having gone through it.
Though it does have many shortcomings, like teachers that aren't up to par and the large scope of the syllabus, I'd be inclined to say it trumps matriculation anytime.
I had a lot of good times in Form 6. Won't ever regret it, even though I scored 3.83 for STPM and wasn't offered anything for IPTA. Not even after appeal. Long story.
Know that you are what you make yourself, and never give up even though circumstances are tough.
Cheers.
Blueminer why would you not get a course you want? Your pointer is on the high end. Unless you applied Medicine, Dentistry and Pharmacy?
Scrmath to reassure you, if you score a 4.00 and your extracurricular marks are quite high, there is no reason for them to deny you a place in the IPTA. For IPTA admissions there are no ambiguous interviews or tests (except USM, for now) so they evaluate everything that is on paper. If you make sure what is on paper looks good, then there is simply no reason to reject you.
And yes, STPM is just as recognised as A levels. So 4As or 5As in STPM still carries a lot of weight when it comes to universities overseas.
I actually was pretty upset when I couldn't get anything out of my Form 5 results, but looking back I guess I was just being silly. My Form 5 results were nothing great to shout about and frankly my participation wasn't all that good either. Ha ha.
The main problem I think with STPM is that the number of quality teachers are dwindling. Its the same here in Kuching. To make matters worse the new teachers coming up all studied in BM, whereas Form 6 is now in English. I actually relied quite a lot on teachers who were from my Father's generation, the last batch that still studied their Form 6 in English. You really see the difference in the way they teach, speak etc. I'm not saying that the newer ones are completely hopeless; all are hardworking and do try to improve themselves, and frankly some are really successful. I'm saying when in Form 6, don't limit yourselves to the teachers you have, just like you shouldn't limit yourself in the books you read. By all means ask other teachers in your school, or if absolutely necessary get some tuition somewhere.
Actually getting pre U at private institutions is not a bad idea. The only question is, do you have enough money to pay on and on for the next 5-6 years? Bear in mind undergraduate courses are more expensive than the pre U course, and the fees increase each year due to inflation. After that 5 years and about 100-200k poorer, you still end up with the same degree as someone who spent about 15-30k on a degree from UM. In my opinion, its just not worth it without a scholarship.
Wilson_Cahi
14-04-2009, 10:14 PM
issit possible for me to handle up the chemistry subject if i didnt take it at form 5?
Whether it is possible or not for you to handle is entirely for you to decide.
It is definitely possible to take up Form 6 Chemistry without going through Form 5. It's just more difficult to do so, that's all.
14-04-2009, 10:35 PM
Why didnt you take Chemistry in Form 5? It's a must if you were in Science stream.
However, if you were in Art stream, I dont think you can study Chemistry (any other science subjects-Physics, Biology) when you come to Form 6.
Just a student who studied Science stream in Form 5 can study Art stream when he comes to Form 6.
Correct me if I'm wrong.
Well I was too polite to ask, I echo Keiko123's concern. You took Physics or Biology for Form 5?
Wilson_Cahi
14-04-2009, 11:09 PM
the only science subject i take in spm is physics
Can you list down your other subjects? My guess is you're a Sekolah Menengah Teknik graduate?
As for streaming I think you don't need to worry, because MOE will do the streaming for you. If you manage to get science stream, my guess is the school will force you to go to Physics class, and probably express concern as well with regards to your Chemistry.
But no worries, because SPM Chemistry is woefully inadequate compared to Form 6 Chemistry. Most Form 6 students feel quite lost in the beginning. You'll do fine if you're someone who grasps concepts easily, because the relevant ones are repeated in Form 6. Just take it upon yourself to keep up and you might want to do a bit reading up on SPM Chemistry to give yourself a bit of a foundation.
Wilson_Cahi
14-04-2009, 11:26 PM
Can you list down your other subjects? My guess is you're a Sekolah Menengah Teknik graduate?
As for streaming I think you don't need to worry, because MOE will do the streaming for you. If you manage to get science stream, my guess is the school will force you to go to Physics class, and probably express concern as well with regards to your Chemistry.
But no worries, because SPM Chemistry is woefully inadequate compared to Form 6 Chemistry. Most Form 6 students feel quite lost in the beginning. You'll do fine if you're someone who grasps concepts easily, because the relevant ones are repeated in Form 6. Just take it upon yourself to keep up and you might want to do a bit reading up on SPM Chemistry to give yourself a bit of a foundation.science,maths,physics,bm,bi,moral,sejarah.those are the subjects i took.since i aint got any add maths nor chemistry background,how hard issit going for me to score at stpm,whats the admission if i wanna get into public uni and do my master degree in usa ?
SapphireDragon
14-04-2009, 11:40 PM
Hey, its not as if the whole world will crumble on your helpless little soul when you're in Form 6. There's still light at the end of the tunnle. Yeah, of course you have to endure the sufferings but its worth i at last.
Wilson_Cahi
14-04-2009, 11:45 PM
Hey, its not as if the whole world will crumble on your helpless little soul when you're in Form 6. There's still light at the end of the tunnle. Yeah, of course you have to endure the sufferings but its worth i at last.
yea,maybe im just too worried about it.but its better to prepare and understand early also clearly to prevent a flop in the future.
Strange, I wonder how your school packaged your subjects.
Anyhow, like I said, the streaming will be done for you. So in your offer letter from MOE (because entry into Form 6 is NOT automatic like Form 5) which you can check online, it will be stated that you're in Jurusan Sains or Jurusan Sastera.
If you should get the Science stream, I'll admit it'll be difficult to cope since you don't have an additional mathematics background. Form 6 Maths is tough enough as it is. But again, the relevant topics will be repeated. So it boils down to you yourself. Hopefully you'll get a teacher who takes you through everything, not just the 'new stuff'.