View Full Version : Recognition to Contributors @ Recom

royston
15-01-2004, 02:24 PM
Guys,

I would like to suggest that we make a page as our Recom Hall of Fame. We may list down all the contributors' name and their accomplishment in it.

I was thinking on how are we going to recognize our contributors? If you guys are in Malaysia, I have no problem to "belanja", at least something for the contributors' effort. But we are all around the world and it is also kinda hard to schedule a time to meet each other. So by putting their name in the Hall of Fame, I hope and believe this is the least we can do as a credit for them.

Any comment? I hope you guys can give some input to this. I might not be as capable as those contributors but I still wish to recognize them.

~ roy ~

bachok83
15-01-2004, 03:30 PM
now that's a good idea, however, we could include into our big module called About.

so, masterof_none, what do you think?

then we need to inlude admin mod so that we can add names.

seriously, i need to learn php.

from now on, php, ready or not.. here i come.. he he he

15-01-2004, 04:07 PM
Maybe we could recognise them by giving them a chance to choose the title under their nick themselves.
---> cant think of any good example now

laplace
15-01-2004, 06:47 PM
Well, I agree with SChye. I came across a forum which you can type in your own title. I guess it shouldn't be something tough, should it?

laplace..

15-01-2004, 09:24 PM
What if certain contributors do not wish to be named?

laplace
15-01-2004, 11:14 PM
Chiun Lin,

For this case, we may leave the contributors' name behind but again, their contribution cannot be left out. So I would suggest we put up their accomplishment and what benefit has Recom gain from their effort will do. Leave the names invisible.

laplace..

16-01-2004, 01:20 PM
good idea..
but make sure we ask them first..
because some people just don't prefer to be given anything for what they did

z
16-01-2004, 04:10 PM
schye, awesome idea!

maybe link the avatar to his/her contribution on the "hall of fame" page?

this is slightly off topic, but can anyone explain the HP/MP thingy?

z
16-01-2004, 04:10 PM
schye, awesome idea!

maybe link the avatar to his/her contribution on the "hall of fame" page?

this is slightly off topic, but can anyone explain the HP/MP thingy?

16-01-2004, 06:59 PM
Yeah, yeah, as a new member, I am also curious to know what does HP, MP and EXP really stand for. Can someone pls explain ? Maybe all new members should be given an explanation about these when they join.

16-01-2004, 06:59 PM
Yeah, yeah, as a new member, I am also curious to know what does HP, MP and EXP really stand for. Can someone pls explain ? Maybe all new members should be given an explanation about these when they join.

royston
16-01-2004, 07:05 PM
HP is determined by your average posts per day.

MP is determined by your join date related to your post count.

EXP goes up each time you post, and when you get to 100%, you gain a level and the EXP drops to 0 again.

~ roy ~

royston
16-01-2004, 07:05 PM

EXP goes up each time you post, and when you get to 100%, you gain a level and the EXP drops to 0 again.

~ roy ~

09-06-2004, 04:48 PM
I think it would be a great idea to have a section where we can talk about our fellow members.. it make me feels like a family..

for eg I can talk how humourous is elansar , how witty is chenchow and so on...

what do u think?
it would be dull if we just discuss current issue.. let?s have something new like this one...

10-06-2004, 04:47 AM
how about building it right into the profiles page? Have something like testimonials close to freindster style?

10-06-2004, 04:49 AM
I agree on this one...

maybe this makes recomers not so faceless..

10-06-2004, 04:56 AM
I fully agree on this proposal and I think it will be a great step for us to know each other better. Any suggestion on how to implement it? I would think that the idea is great, and perhaps we should brainstorm on how to make it.

I think there has been some suggestions on making the profile incorporating more information, however, according to luke, it was kind of difficult to implement, as he needs to hack into the code.

Any suggestion?

10-06-2004, 05:25 AM
i am not confident with luke. it seems he dislike suggestion and give excuse for changes.

besides, he has some problems with his attitude in the forum.

is it possible if we have a technical consultant for recom where he will be specialise in doing codes? I hope someone will volunteer himself for his task.... perhaps a programming student.

10-06-2004, 06:07 AM
I disagree with iQing on this aspect. I think Luke is pretty open for suggestions. He has been instrumental in developing a great number of stuff, and I believe that as he is seriously involved in the programming, he foresees the problem. The SIG, the map, design on top, and a number of other features are done by him.

May be you could IM Luke and have some discussion. Hopefully more people could chip in for discussions. I think besides thinking of the idea, we should also look into how to make it a reality. Sometimes, something seems easy, but it is not as easy as we thought.

ReCom welcome as many volunteers as possible.

10-06-2004, 08:36 AM
I disagree with iQing on this aspect. I think Luke is pretty open for suggestions. He has been instrumental in developing a great number of stuff, and I believe that as he is seriously involved in the programming, he foresees the problem. The SIG, the map, design on top, and a number of other features are done by him.

May be you could IM Luke and have some discussion. Hopefully more people could chip in for discussions. I think besides thinking of the idea, we should also look into how to make it a reality. Sometimes, something seems easy, but it is not as easy as we thought.

ReCom welcome as many volunteers as possible.

ok. since your wavelength is the same as luke I think you are the best person to talk to him. I believe he will listen to you.
however, I am not optimistic that there will be such improvement in ReCom.

10-06-2004, 08:49 AM
may be you can post your suggestions here... let everyone to discuss about it.

10-06-2004, 05:40 PM
i hv to disagree w iQing on this one. Luke's one of the guys yg dh contributed n still is, contributing to recom. saying that he's not open to suggestions is kinda sweeping statement..coz so far, he's been oke w my suggestions. perhaps you hvnt been clear enough on giving the suggs. aspects.

or you guys just dont click..beats me why...

apepun, any suggestions, just shout it out..if we can do it, then yeah..we will..

12-06-2004, 12:24 AM
mmm looks I have become a topic here ...

ok, first of all, sorry to iQing ... maybe I have been discriminating you ... perhaps because of the MSN chat we had last time ... this is one of my bad parts ... I couldn't let go bad impressions on people's attitudes even if they have changed ... and because of that, I've been seeing your suggestions as requests ... I felt like being told to do this and that, despite the fact that I do all these things for ReCom because I want to; as a volunteer ... if you didn't mean that way, iQing, I apologize ...

anyway, I hope to get along with all of you recommers :) ... as one would say in japanese: "yoroshiku onegaishima~su!"

12-06-2004, 12:30 AM
no problem. apology accepted.
we are still young and can be influensed by emotion easily.. let?s learn from our mistakes.

*shake hands*

12-06-2004, 02:11 AM
let's call for a reconciliation party!

b_ronick
12-06-2004, 08:32 PM
what is the latest updates?
would those ideas be happening soon?

14-06-2004, 06:30 PM

~ roy ~

i think this is pretty useless.... i mean...the bar showing the HP, MP and EXP. Why not...put these information at the user's profile? when another person clicks on the person's profile, we can know the number of posts per day, date joined and post counts? i myself dun really bother about the level, MP and HP showed.....

14-06-2004, 06:34 PM
I think it has something to do with motivation. it encourage members to be active in the forum...

I suggest we should put some similar HP or ranking on activeness in SIG.. this way I believe more people will be active in SIG.

14-06-2004, 07:07 PM
I think it has something to do with motivation. it encourage members to be active in the forum...

I suggest we should put some similar HP or ranking on activeness in SIG.. this way I believe more people will be active in SIG.

yeah...but most ppl dun understand what are those bars....
why not put it in the profile page...
and....just display number of posts to all...
the titles such as recom partner...recom best friend....should be set to a wider range....

those who posted more than 60 i think...already achieve the highest status..the recom partner.. i think....we should set the posts like... 100 for best friend, 500 for recom partner , 1000 for recom senior, 5000 for recom prince/ princess....10000 for recom grandmaster...and so on...just my suggestion.. the titles that i gave as example are really bad...haha....

14-06-2004, 08:00 PM
ok done .. now you are just super best friend, pandaboy :lol:

15-06-2004, 01:01 PM
heh, what happened when ppl surpass those rankings? we should make up some new ones as we go dearies... LOL

15-06-2004, 02:22 PM
ok done .. now you are just super best friend, pandaboy :lol:

haha...okie... im everybody's super best friend now!

Did u guys realised that the smileys are not working?

15-06-2004, 10:04 PM
sometimes when we want to delete a posting we can?t find the pangkah icon...
sometimes got and sometime don?t have...

15-06-2004, 10:29 PM
sometimes when we want to delete a posting we can?t find the pangkah icon...
sometimes got and sometime don?t have...

i think only new posts have that pangkah icon lor...

why not put an exclamation mark icon that will report any posts to the mod? another suggestion..hehe ^_^

15-06-2004, 10:39 PM
it would be a cool function, pandaboy .. but the problem is the Forum module we are using right now was created by some other people ... and if you have tried programming, you would understand how hard it is to understand other programmers' code and what not, it's a lot a lot harder to modify it ... unless someone (at least not me) knows how to add your suggested feature, there will be no such button ...

p/s: last time, it took me weeks to integrate SIG forums and SIG (the feature that allows only SIG members to post) ..

15-06-2004, 11:09 PM
it would be a cool function, pandaboy .. but the problem is the Forum module we are using right now was created by some other people ... and if you have tried programming, you would understand how hard it is to understand other programmers' code and what not, it's a lot a lot harder to modify it ... unless someone (at least not me) knows how to add your suggested feature, there will be no such button ...

p/s: last time, it took me weeks to integrate SIG forums and SIG (the feature that allows only SIG members to post) ..

hehe...sorry....
just a suggestion la... i dont know how this forum thingy works....
^_^

15-06-2004, 11:13 PM
May be those who are interested could join the Programming SIG and this could be one of the projects to work on....

Frankly, programming, especially at this level, is very crucial. One thing, we try to keep ReCom up almost 100% of the time and that means we can't really be experimenting with it a lot... So, we need to be testing it very well, before bringing it for ReComers to use...

But that's something that we can look into and work together!!! Luke is a great programmer...

16-06-2004, 09:04 AM
the smileys are not working i think mainly coz of the prob we got before this. can anyone check this out? our posts mcm dh xcumil coz the smileys are not working...heh :wink:

17-06-2004, 08:27 AM
the smileys are not working i think mainly coz of the prob we got before this. can anyone check this out? our posts mcm dh xcumil coz the smileys are not working...heh :wink:

yeah! the smileys are working now...
thanks too.....err.... whoever anchors tht solve the problem... 8)

17-06-2004, 12:19 PM
yeah!!! i love smileys!! sape yg betulkan and revived the smileys, big SMOOCH for you :P

17-06-2004, 09:01 PM
ayark .. tak mau kerek punye smooch .. uwek :twisted:

mmm tensen la ngan hacker yg hack recom ni ... takde keje lain ke? baik tolong develop recom ade gak manfaatnye ...

18-06-2004, 09:41 AM
I think the hacker is already member of Recom..
we just have to wait for them/him/her to come and join the Recom Anchors team. :)

18-06-2004, 07:30 PM
we just have to wait for them/him/her to come and join the Recom Anchors team. :)

why r u welcoming hackers t? join ReCom.. i cannot understand...

19-06-2004, 05:37 PM

why r u welcoming hackers t? join ReCom.. i cannot understand...

cos we need their expertise? hehe... i dont know...

19-06-2004, 06:24 PM
It is because the hackers could be an asset to the expertise of ReCom. Most likely the hackers hack, because they have nothing constructive to do. So, why not do something constructive at ReCom? We welcome everyone, as long as you want to help develop ReCom~!

20-06-2004, 04:39 PM
I though we should not succumb to evilness?

20-06-2004, 04:46 PM
I totally agree with chenchow. Some companies organise competitions for hackers to hack into their database or systems so that they can improve on their security.

This benefits both sides.

20-06-2004, 06:39 PM
Don't think that all hackers are evil... Some may just be bored, want to test out etc....

20-06-2004, 07:41 PM
Don't think that all hackers are evil... Some may just be bored, want to test out etc....

yeah...just like virus creators...some didnt intend to make so much damage with the virus they created.....

23-06-2004, 04:21 PM
ok let?s get back to the basic stuffs here...
maybe I can write a simple hall of fame .. something like testimonial i think...

Chenchow - admin.. active and he?s the main motor here
Masterof_none - admin .. one of the pioneer
bachok - pioneer
budakkerek - moderator
pandaboy - active moderator
__earth - active poster
silverblue...
etc.
etc.

23-06-2004, 11:51 PM
clarify...i am just one of the people who work hard in ReCom...what I do is much less compared to others like syamsul(masterofnone), yusuf(bachok), lukman(luke) etc etc.... All ReComers work as a team..I think that is essential.

iQing, the page is here:-
http://recom.homelinux.org:8000/~recom/modules.php?name=About&filename=anchors