View Full Version : [SPOILER] Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

nicodemus
21-07-2005, 03:36 PM
Funny I should say...

I don't see anyone discuss on this topic yet...or just I couldn't find it as I haven't be online for weeks... :?

To all those who have read HP & THBP... How you all find it?

I finished reading it in 7 hours...and I daresay it's a little far more interesting compared to HP5.

Well, I wouldn't say about the story here... But I think Rowling is not too kind killing one of the MAIN character in the book.

NOOOOOO......... how could she?

To those who have read it, what's your opinion? :D

moderators action: edited, Spoiler tag added to topic

edited by thirdshifter

21-07-2005, 04:08 PM
The main character's death came as a shock to me. One of his few mistakes has proved fatal. The HBP is a real a**hole. :x I find HP6 better than HP5 as it is less long-winded. Can't wait for the grand finale!!!

21-07-2005, 09:29 PM
weiii
apa nih, bagitau story ceh ceh

:evil: :evil: :evil:

21-07-2005, 09:58 PM
I did start the discussion actually dalam reading SIG
but no one responded.. maybe you've missed it..

We haven't said anything much la budakkerek.. :p
btw whoever buy the book early, should finish it up as soon as possible
because used book is coming out in ebay soon

21-07-2005, 10:22 PM
I did start the discussion actually dalam reading SIG
but no one responded.. maybe you've missed it..

We haven't said anything much la budakkerek.. :p
btw whoever buy the book early, should finish it up as soon as possible
because used book is coming out in ebay soon

well... i think people who buy the book early would read it really quick too rite... if not, I don't see the point of buying the book early... and don't read it... :)

and i do think that Rowling kills the character just to kill it... just because someone died in the 5th book, to keep up the "good" work, she has to kill someone more important in the 6th... just to let us have a sense that how strong and mighty Voldemort (gasp.... i speaked his name!!!)and his death eater are, and how hard it would be for HP to win the uphill battle against him...

anyway, i dun think they will only be 7 books altogether though... it's still uncertain yet (in my opinion), those who have read it, u know how the story ends... so, they might be more than 7 books...

and about the 6th book... i think it is rather not that amusing... although it is fast paced... it is rather plain... and expected...

21-07-2005, 10:36 PM
she said before that there will be 7 books.. but who knows right?
she's going to start writing the book next year..

i agree with DecentMerson..
we shouldn't expect that harry potter and the geng will live happily ever after... at least not until The-You-Know-Who is killed

LOTR also had almost the same idea.. one important person died in each episode.. although most of them came back to live..

khor_albert
22-07-2005, 07:53 AM
For an atheist of Harry Potter, I will say that the book is the cause of inflation.

22-07-2005, 09:40 AM
Frankly speaking, I was devasted when *********** was killed. I mean, why kill the person who's the one who tells Harry the histories and stories etc? And trust Rowling to make Harry see him get killed. Poor Harry.
Also, somehow, there has to be more to Snape than what is blatantly spread out in HP6, I feel. I hope. It can't be as obvious as it is in HP6.

22-07-2005, 09:56 AM
Frankly speaking, I was devasted when ------------- was killed. I mean, why kill the person who's the one who tells Harry the histories and stories etc? And trust Rowling to make Harry see him get killed. Poor Harry.
Also, somehow, there has to be more to Snape than what is blatantly spread out in HP6, I feel. I hope. It can't be as obvious as it is in HP6.

hey... don't spell it out.... :)
oh yar.. i think Rowling is kinda cruel to Harry too... well, lost his parents, his stepfather, now... another person close to him...

22-07-2005, 10:16 AM
hope harry doesn't lose *****

pangping1510
22-07-2005, 09:50 PM
Dumbledore's death do not leave any impact on me, neither good nor bad. I am a bit surprised because Snape is the prince. I would rather have Neville Longbottom, who was rumoured to be the prince last time. Great to see it is a smaller aka thinner book, not that long winding. I went to BORDERS, Time Square on the day HP6 was released. To my surprise, though there are many HP6 books on the racks, there is no crowd lining up to purchase them. I do believe there will be more than 7 books for the HP series. :lol: Actually I just took one of them, flipped to the last pages and search for those 'keywords' to know the storyline :lol: Ending is not important, what I care is the process towards the ending :D

Scope
22-07-2005, 10:00 PM
Stop spoilers! :evil:

22-07-2005, 10:29 PM
If you have not read the book, then please refrain yourself from checking this forum out. We cannot just keep everything to ourselves. This is a forum to discuss the book...geez.

22-07-2005, 10:44 PM
I went to BORDERS, Time Square on the day HP6 was released. To my surprise, though there are many HP6 books on the racks, there is no crowd

No crowd?
What has happened to the Malaysian people?
Not reading Harry Porter anymore?
Or is it too expensive?
How much is the book over there?

22-07-2005, 10:47 PM
People who have not read the book.. please don't read anything in this forum... you'll be spoiled..

22-07-2005, 10:57 PM
Darn it, I saw the word "------------- was killed" in the forum and I'm still halfway through the book(too busy with tests and assignments to finish it in one reading).... Nah, just kidding, I knew --------- would die since very early on, and it's so obvious who the HBP is. Anyway, I think the thread title should add a spoiler warning there.

22-07-2005, 11:03 PM
yeah.. i think so to..
should have a spoiler alert...
i dunno how to change the title
maybe only some people can..

i think from the very beginning Rowling has given us the idea..
------- wants Harry to have a private lesson with him.. must have something to do with it

23-07-2005, 08:21 AM
No crowd?
What has happened to the Malaysian people?
Not reading Harry Porter anymore?
Or is it too expensive?
How much is the book over there?

Excluding discounts, the book costs RM99.90, which is expensive according to Malaysian standards. This coupled w/ the lack of reading interest among Malaysians has made preordering the book unnecessary.

23-07-2005, 08:21 AM
People who have not read the book.. please don't read anything in this forum... you'll be spoiled..

What do you mean by "you'll be spoiled"?

23-07-2005, 09:29 AM
when you read the book... you will be like.. " Oh no.. I knew this already.. i"m spoiled.."

nothing serious or superstitious or anything..
if anyone get angry with that statement.. i'll delete it

23-07-2005, 09:31 AM
almost RM100.00 in Malaysia?
humm i will also think twice before buying it then..
maybe people should be encourage to share money to buy books
the person with the highest percentage of share get to keep the book

23-07-2005, 10:03 AM
when you read the book... you will be like.. " Oh no.. I knew this already.. i"m spoiled.."

nothing serious or superstitious or anything..
if anyone get angry with that statement.. i'll delete it

Nah, I just find the grammar faulty.

23-07-2005, 01:40 PM
here in Oz, the price is AUD45, which, when kali 3, is about, Rm135. but most shops are selling it for only AUD35, which, even when converted, is about the same price it's being sold in Msia. Quite cheap, if i buy i here *psychologically, coz btw 35 and 99, 35 sounds cheaper, though it's actually the same when converted LOL*

somehow, i dont feel the rush to read the book. Perhaps, the long hiatus and maybe i am much older *i'm turning 22 in half a year, sigh*. somehow i feel that Potter is no longer THAT attractive as he was last yr. or perhaps. the storyline is becoming more predictable and that, to me, is a bit sad.

Well..will read it, when i can buy it. Kinda short on cash right now. But the cute abang kedai buku, sudah janji to simpan one book for me *grin* kinda embarassing, sudah a few times datang and see the book, tp tak pernah beli ahahah
*blame it on the super excited trip back home* :P :P

23-07-2005, 01:47 PM
The book is a lot cheaper here in the U.S. Most places are selling it at a discounted price around USD15-17. I bought mine for USD17 from amazon.com. I knew it was more expensive in Malaysia because I checked mph.com.my. Even the first 5 books can be bought for a lot cheaper here.

astraltruist
24-07-2005, 01:48 AM
hm.. my fren preordered the HBP thru MPH and got it for 70 something i think. those who preordered got discounted price.

was really devastated tht ....... was killed. had to read the paragraph a few times.. now harry's got an upheavel task to complete since ....... died n cant help out anymore.. :wink:

profmich
24-07-2005, 09:33 AM
here in Oz, the price is AUD45, which, when kali 3, is about, Rm135. but most shops are selling it for only AUD35, which, even when converted, is about the same price it's being sold in Msia. Quite cheap, if i buy i here *psychologically, coz btw 35 and 99, 35 sounds cheaper, though it's actually the same when converted LOL*

It's AUD 22.43 at Big W, Melbourne (the last time I checked, it was all gone by sunday). The other bookstores that are selling it at a lower price are:
Borders (aud 29.95)
Angus and Robertson (aud 29.99)

Slasherbaven
24-07-2005, 02:01 PM
Nah, this kind of craze will die down slowly one....
You see, Harry Potter started to amuse many kids.
When the series proceeds. so will the age of these kids, they grow, and find much more interesting things than Harry Potter.
So, that's the reason. Same reason to answer people's verdict that Harry Potter gets bland and boring as the series go on.
And to other kids who reaches the level to be abe to read the books, about 38% won't buy it because of the total prices of the books and influence of other stuff.

Anyways, regardin' the price of these books, piracy can easily overcome that! :lol:
There's even the pirated version of HP&H-BP
I have the e-book fer it [heh] =P
Healthy living (http://www.health-forums.org/)

reedhus
24-07-2005, 09:17 PM
honestly, my opinion is that many ppl are getting carried away with the series and are hanging onto rowling's every word. the books are a great escapism, but ppl shud not go to the lengths of crying and mourning when someone dies. i remember some time ago, there was even a series of letters in the star newspaper bout ppl who were upset when sirius died. books are great for a read...but it shud stop there.

Slasherbaven
24-07-2005, 09:37 PM
reedhus, there's no arguing with your point.
Still, you gotta understand, there are FANATICS out there, or mebbe there's a different word to replace it.

I'll give you a good example that SOMEHOW(concept-wise) relates to that :
==[The incident of 9/11]==
Ya see, that incident made the whole world sad. OK, now just compare with how the Iraqs are sufferin'. Is the whole world bein' sad for them?
Ironic, isn't it? I mean what body causes Iraq to suffer like that indirectly? And are we bein' right in what we do/did ?

Anyways, comin' back to this, it's either like the above, OR they're really into the book, where they virtually revolve around the Harry Potter world. And when someone important dies, you get really sad. It's like watchin' Titanic, though it's only a movie, people cry at that certain scene.
Kawasaki KD100 (http://www.cyclechaos.com/wiki/Kawasaki_KD100)

25-07-2005, 01:57 AM
Let's continue with the discussion
who is RAB?
I think it's Sirius brother..
I still think that Snape is not that evil, his history must be revealed in the 7th book.. explaining about the HBP and stuff.. Dumbledore might have saved him or his family, which made him loyal to Dumbledore and works as a double agent.

Since book 4, I thought Hermione will be together with Ron in book 6, but maybe not yet... book 7 probably..

astraltruist
25-07-2005, 07:00 AM
yeah i wonder who's RAB?..

i think hermione and ron definitely has something goin on or else she wouldn't be that jealous.. hahah

maybe snape has been bad all this while waiting for voldemort to get stronger. i think dumbledore really died in vain. after drinking that stuff in the cave.. otherwise, he would still be strong enough to fight the death eaters..

25-07-2005, 10:29 AM
arghh...i'm only starting to read, but nvm. i love knowing wat happen in the book hahaha

somehow, i dont feel that much of an excitement. the 6th book seem a bit bland maybe..and yes, there's too much explanation, or the lack of it at some parts. nvm. i'll read it just to let ppl know, i've read it LOL

25-07-2005, 07:36 PM
i think RAB could be related to Sirius Black? What do you guys think?

25-07-2005, 10:11 PM
R. A. B. = Regulus A. Black = Sirius Black's younger brother, a Death Eater.

25-07-2005, 10:30 PM
I'd say it's Regulus as well

hey.. why did Dumbledore plead when he talked to Snape?
Is it because of the Unbreakable Vow?

26-07-2005, 12:43 AM
I initially thought that Snape didn't really killed him
but then after DD plead.. i think the death is real..

I think the next Horcrux to be found must be in Hogwarts
something that they always see but didn't realize that it is one of the Horcrux

Snape should come back to help.. but I just don't know how..
Malfoy as well.. Seems like no one else believed in them except DD

26-07-2005, 02:33 AM
I initially thought that Snape didn't really killed him
but then after DD plead.. i think the death is real..

I think the next Horcrux to be found must be in Hogwarts
something that they always see but didn't realize that it is one of the Horcrux

Snape should come back to help.. but I just don't know how..
Malfoy as well.. Seems like no one else believed in them except DD

i don't think so... because of believing in them, DD died... and, DD is certainly the most powerful mage in the good side... so, there's no point for him to sacrifice himself, just to make Voldemort believe Snape and Malfoy...

26-07-2005, 03:22 AM
I think DD have to let Snape kill him because:

1. Snape has made an Unbreakable Vow to protect Draco. Maybe DD and Snape had discussed about the possibility of Snape having to kill DD at one time.. that might be the cause of their fight (Hagrid saw they were fighting). Or maybe Snape had an unbreakable vow with DD as well.

2. DD drank the water which might be fatal or something.. the water that might have killed R.A.B (maybe Rufulus). Or maybe the water will turn DD into an inferi or something..

3. DD and Snape are both very skilled in occlumency.. maybe they were also talking to each other's mind at the same time. Snape didn't want to killed DD and that's why DD plead.. so that Harry will hear that as well..

4. Snape didn't kill Harry although he can do that anytime during their fight. He only defended himself... but then he turned angry when Harry says that he's coward. He just couldn't stand it when someone called him coward after he just did the bravest act he could do.. killing DD for a good reason..

I still believe in DD's judgement.. if he trust Snape.. I felt somehow obliged to believe in Snape as well..

Hey.. do you think DD's will come back as a potrait? Or has it been stated in any book before that a headmaster who was killed by a Death-Eater or LV will not comeback?

26-07-2005, 09:11 AM
4. Snape didn't kill Harry although he can do that anytime during their fight. He only defended himself... but then he turned angry when Harry says that he's coward. He just couldn't stand it when someone called him coward after he just did the bravest act he could do.. killing DD for a good reason..

Snape didn't kill Potter because Voldemort wants to finish him himself.

Hey.. do you think DD's will come back as a potrait? Or has it been stated in any book before that a headmaster who was killed by a Death-Eater or LV will not comeback?

If you read carefully, Dumbledore's portrait was hanging on the wall when McGonagall and Potter walked into the headmaster's office after Dumbledore died. In fact, the portraits of all previous headmasters are there as well.

26-07-2005, 09:42 AM
yeah.. Snape can say like that just so that no one will kill Harry..
and we just don't know yet whether DD will wake up or not.. although his potrait is already there.. at least if he wake up later on.. he couldn't do magic anymore.. although his advice will still be useful. Maybe he'll tell why he had trusted Snape and what had actually happened before.

26-07-2005, 10:13 AM
yeah.. Snape can say like that just so that no one will kill Harry..
and we just don't know yet whether DD will wake up or not.. although his potrait is already there.. at least if he wake up later on.. he couldn't do magic anymore.. although his advice will still be useful. Maybe he'll tell why he had trusted Snape and what had actually happened before.

I believe Voldemort said that in one of the previous books.

Salvation
29-07-2005, 06:04 AM
I wonder why DD would freeze HP when he heard someone coming up the stairs. It is not wise to disable your ally when you are expecting hostile enemies, unless as taufiq had mentioned, Snape was the good guy after all and this was planned in advance and DD wanted HP out of action since he knew nothing about the plannings and would interfere.
DD was potraited by JKR all along to be the high and mighty wizard and he was disarmed by a lowly student? This is illogical unless again, the situation has been foreseen and he deliberately allow this to happen, as in th following sentence.
"I'm the one with the wand....you're at my mercy...
No, Draco said Dumbledore quietly. 'It is my mercy, and not yours, that matters now."
Not to mentioned the arguments DD and Snape had earlier that has not been adequately explained.
Snape was also seen as touting/advising HP when HP tried in vain to attack him. Something about closing his mouth and his mind.

29-07-2005, 07:03 AM
yeah, i agree. but i still dont get it. why would DD freeze HP when he knows, HP could hv helped him? he is after all, the Chosen One

and i'm glad Ginny n HP turned out to be together, even for a while. so suweeeetttt...i kinda expected it since the 2nd book, was it, when Ginny was first introduced into the serie. coz of the way she acted around HP and all

anyway, geez..the ending, when HP decided he had to break it off with Ginny, i really think JKRowling didnt sort of wrap it all nicely. Ginny could hv said that she would help HP no mttr wat...or sthg like dat, then the theme of love over evil could be more strongly showed. ginny saving HP or sthg like dat.

anyways, enough bout me 2 cents..crapping in the early morning..i cant sleep..geezzzz...God help me!!! 8O 8O 8O

29-07-2005, 07:03 AM
yeah, i agree. but i still dont get it. why would DD freeze HP when he knows, HP could hv helped him? he is after all, the Chosen One

and i'm glad Ginny n HP turned out to be together, even for a while. so suweeeetttt...i kinda expected it since the 2nd book, was it, when Ginny was first introduced into the serie. coz of the way she acted around HP and all

anyway, geez..the ending, when HP decided he had to break it off with Ginny, i really think JKRowling didnt sort of wrap it all nicely. Ginny could hv said that she would help HP no mttr wat...or sthg like dat, then the theme of love over evil could be more strongly showed. ginny saving HP or sthg like dat.

anyways, enough bout me 2 cents..crapping in the early morning..i cant sleep..geezzzz...God help me!!! 8O 8O 8O

29-07-2005, 07:05 AM

29-07-2005, 07:13 AM
wei...i tried to post tak boleh..benci la..penat jak type ceh ceh :evil: :evil: :evil:

29-07-2005, 07:14 AM

PS: aiyak..boleh pulak..disregard the last entry by sleep me ahaha

29-07-2005, 10:23 AM
told ya budak kerek.. disregard the error message..
your comments were actually posted on the forum already..
it's okay though.. unless you're rajin enough to delete them all

well about Ginny.. yeah.. it's kind of too simple to end it just like that
Dumbledore talked about the power of love to Harry
it must have something to do with using the love to defeat LV

a few more ideas.. Dumbledore's brother is the next Order's member that will be introduced in book 7.. Crookshank.. humm maybe the cat is actually a human as well.. maybe crookshank will find the next Horcrux..

umm what else.. humm maybe i will fail my exam tomorrow.. yeah.. that sounds possible..

pangping1510
29-07-2005, 04:50 PM
I would like Harry to be with Hermione. Cho Chang was kicked off, but why is Ginny Harry's new GF? I hope Rowling will realise my dream in HP7 :lol:

wawa
29-07-2005, 04:57 PM
I would like Harry to be with Hermione. Cho Chang was kicked off, but why is Ginny Harry's new GF? I hope Rowling will realise my dream in HP7

dude, he's gonna be dead in the last book anyways.

29-07-2005, 05:40 PM
HP is still a children book eventhough it's for everyone to read
so i don't think Harry will die..
maybe Snape will be the one who will die while he's trying to help Harry kill LV?

29-07-2005, 10:48 PM
ceh. benci la mende debug error tuh *menyampah i*
penat ja, me sakit jiwe LOL

anyway, hermione will end up w ron, and ginny w HP
i really love the ending, how Fleur saw Bill but still, would stay w him. so sweet..i guess what JKR (JK Rowling la, not Jbtn Kerja Raya ok) was trying to send across in HP6 is the msg of love defeats all evil, love will prevail bla bla bla

coz you can count how many ppl got together n broke up n got together w someone else.

anyway, just kill Snape. he's such a weird guy. they should make him see a psychiatrist sheesh..

Salvation
29-07-2005, 11:51 PM
maybe snape died for harry...truimph of love over evil...*yawns* when is the next book?

astraltruist
30-07-2005, 03:27 AM
yeah, im quite happy for hermione to end up with ron. they'd make a sweet couple. harry n ginny made a fine couple as well. i think the love defeat evil thing does make sense.. hm..

30-07-2005, 10:31 PM
i think the relationship with lupin and tonks is so cute. as for the rest.. i am not really feeling the relationship between ginny and harry.
ron and hermione (??) is expected.

fareza
31-07-2005, 04:53 PM
heya! read the book as well. Glad to know that Draco's really not that evil after all. Snape's still a mystery to me. The effect of Dumbledore's death on everyone, not the actual death scene itself made me cry (has nothing to do with HP fanatism mind you!) But i have to say, i felt that HBP was just as bland and dragging as OOTP. I can read the first 4 books over and over again but book 5 n 6 just bores me.

-pairings-

harry and ginny is so boring la... so mushy, so teenage-like... puppy love dudes! dunno why,i'm just not feeling the luuurrrv

hermione and ron is soooo predictable, i'm sure they'll get together by the end of the series. Kinda hoping that won't happen though. don't think they're compatible *chocked by ron/hermione shippers*

Bill and Fleur is ADORABLE!

Lupin n Tonks is just so out of this world..... didn't expect that at all!