View Full Version : Entrepreneurship in the US

diong
16-01-2004, 08:53 AM
I am thinking of starting some retailing idea in the US. It will most likely involve buying stuff from Europe and selling it in the States. I am still at the preliminary stage of this project, in conjunction with my entrepreneurship class.

I welcome anyone who is interested in this idea to email me at sdiong@<hidden> so that we can further discuss on this idea. And I will keep you updated with my latest findings.

Diong

16-01-2004, 08:57 AM
Why Europe?

16-01-2004, 09:03 AM
yeah. why Europe? doesn't asia sound better?

16-01-2004, 09:34 AM
In terms of retailing stuff from overseas, I think one of the important factors to consider will be the do's and don't. The tariff, import duties etc, since I assume you are doing it legally.

I have seen many Singaporeans on my campus been buying International Edition of textbooks from Singapore in bulk. I am talking at thousands of dollar of textbook per month, and they sell it online here. They make good profit over it, but my question is, is that kind of activity legal?

On Europe, I think it depends on what kind of goods you are trying to retail. But I think Asia would be a much cheaper source if you would like. Find a good partner from the country you plan to source and forge a partnership will be better. Latin America and Africa sounds to me like a future heaven. May be if you don't mind taking a risk, it is worth it to explore that region.

diong
16-01-2004, 09:47 AM
Thank you Jiinjoo, __earth, and Chen Chow for your inputs.

I was thinking of imitating the UK fashionBus idea in the US. <http://www.londonfashionbus.com>

Product-wise: I will try to get highend stuff, like the top designers product, clothes, handbags, shoes, ... and sell it in the US using a bus touring from one place to another.

Challenges :
1. Sourcing
2. Publicity
3. Funding

Thank you.

16-01-2004, 11:18 AM
Diong, do you plan to work on it on a more permanent schedule or just a one-off project? If it is one-off, I don't think it is that feasible unless you can find a bus that could be rented to you at a cheap rate, or else the overhead cost would be too high.

How long you plan to work on this project? How many people are involved? Because I think you need to take into all these considerations. About manpower. Yeah, publicity is an important factor too.

16-01-2004, 12:57 PM
diong! my long-time-no-see friend..

i'm thinking about selling some soccer stuff
like replica jersey and soccer boots

i haven't survey the market yet..

shrimphead
16-01-2004, 02:13 PM
hi, this is shrimphead.

i am interested.
currently in japan, have some contacts if you need stuff from Japan.

going to UK in May 2004. Keep me inform of your plan.

shrimphead
16-01-2004, 02:13 PM
hi, this is shrimphead.

i am interested.
currently in japan, have some contacts if you need stuff from Japan.

going to UK in May 2004. Keep me inform of your plan.

16-01-2004, 04:59 PM
Welcome kokking ;)
I am not sure about the price in other countries but i just bought a digicam with around rm700...

16-01-2004, 04:59 PM
Welcome kokking ;)
I am not sure about the price in other countries but i just bought a digicam with around rm700...

diong
16-01-2004, 09:08 PM
Thank you for the enthusiasm from Schye, Shrimphead, and Taufiq.

I am currently working closely with my professor for my entrepreneurship class on this idea, and I promise to keep everyone updated with the latest development.

Terima Kasih.
Diong

diong
16-01-2004, 09:08 PM
Thank you for the enthusiasm from Schye, Shrimphead, and Taufiq.

I am currently working closely with my professor for my entrepreneurship class on this idea, and I promise to keep everyone updated with the latest development.

Terima Kasih.
Diong

27-03-2004, 07:27 PM
hey diong,

I'm from the UK....think London Fashion Bus designers are mainly from Camden rite? You doing Fashion Design?

Cool idea....but maybe you should survey the market 1st...is there a big demand for it? You do realise that there's a 17.5% VAT tax here on goods do you, so things aren't exactly that cheap...except maybe ice-cream?

Keep us posted.

27-03-2004, 07:33 PM
hey since this topic's on entrepreneurship....just wanna ask anyone who's interested in setting up an internship centre in M'sia for overseas M'sian students? I'm planning to start it this summer....if you're interested, please email me at internshipasia@<hidden> for more details :D

hey sorry diong, if you get offended by this post!

27-03-2004, 07:39 PM
the best european product to be marketed here is cigarette. i'm serious, you buy a carton online for $15, and you sell here for like $35. heh, but it's not really legal. :P

08-05-2004, 03:55 AM
hmm....looks like this topic is not very popular =)

Hi Diong, wonder if you're still interested in the idea I was mentioning earlier....I got a few ppl here in London and we have kinda started on it... If you want to have a look, here's the link:

www.internshipasia.sferahost.com or www.internshipasia.tk

We are non-profit, the ads are there (at the bottom) so that we can buy our domain name and hosting =) so pls click on it to support us!

and we have only just started...so just bear with us... =)

just wondering.....If reCom is interested we can be affiliates or something like that?

08-05-2004, 04:00 AM
weich, definitely ReCom is hoping to be an affliate Internship Asia.

Perhaps we could all brainstorm and talk more about this and hopefully bring into the platform of getting more internships listed to help fellow Malaysians abroad to get internships.

We have a number of internships as well, so perhaps we could do crosslistings etc. I am putting IA website into ReCom's weblinks.

08-05-2004, 04:02 AM
woah...that's fast...do you get like an RSS feed or something? so that you know when a new post is up?

add me to your MSN: wei_cher@<hidden>

we can talk more =)