View Full Version : News

16-01-2004, 01:32 PM
Guys.. what kind of news you like to be posted here?

the current brief news is cool; so that people will know
important things happening..
if they need more info's they'll surely can browse through the
newspaper itself

16-01-2004, 03:26 PM
Yeah, currently our practice is to include the first two paragraph or so, then the link. So, if you are interested, you can just click on the link.

As everyone's interest is diverse, I would urge everyone, that if you find any interesting, informative news, please submit it to ReCom for everyone to read. It is easy to submit, just scroll up, go to Menu >> Submit News. Just first two paragraph or so and the link~!!!

Thanks!

16-01-2004, 03:26 PM
Yeah, currently our practice is to include the first two paragraph or so, then the link. So, if you are interested, you can just click on the link.

As everyone's interest is diverse, I would urge everyone, that if you find any interesting, informative news, please submit it to ReCom for everyone to read. It is easy to submit, just scroll up, go to Menu >> Submit News. Just first two paragraph or so and the link~!!!

Thanks!

16-01-2004, 11:51 PM
why not put a few links of some important news agent at the frontpage...
to encourage ppl to read about current issues.....
a good one that i recommend is The BBC.....

www.bbc.co.uk :)

16-01-2004, 11:51 PM
why not put a few links of some important news agent at the frontpage...
to encourage ppl to read about current issues.....
a good one that i recommend is The BBC.....

www.bbc.co.uk :)

17-01-2004, 12:06 AM
Thanks for the idea.

In fact, we have those links. From main page, either go to
Services >> WebLinks >> Newspaper

or
Home >> (Scroll Up) Misc >> WebLinks >> Newspaper

We have links from about 20 newspapers/magazine, from Star, NST, ST, Berita Harian, Utusan, Nanyang, Sin Chew, Malaysiakini, to BBC, CNN, NY Times, LA Times, Washington Post, Newsweek, Economist etc.

If you have any other links that you could suggest, please let us know! Thanks!

17-01-2004, 12:06 AM
Thanks for the idea.

In fact, we have those links. From main page, either go to
Services >> WebLinks >> Newspaper

or
Home >> (Scroll Up) Misc >> WebLinks >> Newspaper

We have links from about 20 newspapers/magazine, from Star, NST, ST, Berita Harian, Utusan, Nanyang, Sin Chew, Malaysiakini, to BBC, CNN, NY Times, LA Times, Washington Post, Newsweek, Economist etc.

If you have any other links that you could suggest, please let us know! Thanks!

noneedname
24-07-2004, 08:14 PM
Well, here is one for you if you think that economic grounds is the only reason for many to migrate.

I will be leaving this country within the next one year.

If you must know, currently I am earning a five figure salary, living in a luxury condo in the heart of KL, own another landed property in Bangsar and have two kids who are three and five respectively. I also have a maid, who for a mere RM400 a month, helps my wife to look after the home and kids.

Yes, I will be migrating to the land of the white-man soon. And guess what, I don't even have a job to go to yet in this white-man's land. But you know something? It doesn't matter to me as I know that with my skills, I can get a job there if I look in the right places.

They do not ask me if I am Muslim or a bumiputera before giving me a job. All they look at is my CV which speaks for itself. And I don't need to be connected to a 'Dato'.

I wouldn't even mind taking up a lower level job as long as I can look after my family and at the same time give my kids the option of a better and fairer future. There is no guarantee that my kids will become doctors or scientists. But merely knowing that they have a fair option is more then enough for my family to decide to take this giant step to uproot.

My lifestyle in this white-man's land will definitely be different. But just as I had strived for 10 years in Malaysia to create my wealth from nothing at all, what is there to stop me from doing it all over again? In fact with the same effort, I should be much better off.

To put it bluntly, I am prepared to take the risk of emigration at the age of 38 with my family 'on tow'. The question arises - why should a person in my capacity want to leave when I have all that a person can wish for?

should stop looking with malice at people like me who make a choice to migrate for the betterment of our family's future. He might want to do a proper study on how much Malaysia stands to lose from skilled people leaving this country simply because they have had enough of it.

Please crawl out of your tempurung and look around at the amount of money that is being wasted in this country to make the well-connected bumis rich. They have nothing to complain about as the government is prepared to give you anything even when in many cases you might not deserve it.

If you want to talk about fairness, then look at the titles that have been given to bumis who had not done much at all. The round-the-world sailor who had to be assisted by the Royal Malaysian Air Force with an expenditure of about a million ringgit and the swimmer whose feat is not accredited by organisations monitoring English Channel crossings.

What about the first Malaysians to make it up Mount Everest, where are their 'Dato' titles? Perhaps a title for the medical student who recently crossed the English channel in almost half the time of the former 'hero'?

I know of bumi students in Universiti Malaya. I know them well. You see, I didn't get the chance to do a proper science course locally and had to struggle to fund my overseas education by begging and borrowing.

You might also want to find out the real reason why the 128 students were not given medical seats in local universities even though they had very high scores. Are you saying that these students are inferior to the matriculation students?

Do you know the pains of studying in order to score excellent results in the STPM? Please, feel free to furnish me facts so that poor souls like me would be convinced that the policies of this country are just and fair.

If you have ever heard of the simple saying, "Give a man a fish, he eats for a day, teach him how to fish and he eats for a lifetime," you will realise that many non-bumis have learned how to fish but the government is still handing out fishes to the bumis. One day the fish will run out.

24-07-2004, 11:25 PM
first, write in normal font size.

second, wtf? its out of place and its not you writing it. I have seen this somewhere.

the-model-racist-nation
21-01-2006, 01:55 PM
Moderators Action: Post deleted

thirdshifter

21-01-2006, 02:01 PM
And I thought Anchors asking me about my masturbation habits was bad. Sheesh. Where's the anchors now? Do something lah please...

lyzzy
21-01-2006, 02:27 PM
Er I agree with misled youth on this.

Moderators? I know that some of you are really liberal on this and all, but I think that you guys should draw the line at plaguerism and multiple-posting by deleting the offending postS.
herbal vaporizer (http://herbalvaporizers.info)

johnleemk
21-01-2006, 05:07 PM
This same moron (or morons?) has been spamming the Malaysian blogosphere, forums and even Wikipedia with these messages. It's not plagiarism, but it certainly is annoying and trolling.

22-01-2006, 07:22 PM
Well, here is one for you if you think that economic grounds is the only reason for many to migrate.

I will be leaving this country within the next one year.

If you must know, currently I am earning a five figure salary, living in a luxury condo in the heart of KL, own another landed property in Bangsar and have two kids who are three and five respectively. I also have a maid, who for a mere RM400 a month, helps my wife to look after the home and kids.

Yes, I will be migrating to the land of the white-man soon. And guess what, I don't even have a job to go to yet in this white-man's land. But you know something? It doesn't matter to me as I know that with my skills, I can get a job there if I look in the right places.

They do not ask me if I am Muslim or a bumiputera before giving me a job. All they look at is my CV which speaks for itself. And I don't need to be connected to a 'Dato'.

I wouldn't even mind taking up a lower level job as long as I can look after my family and at the same time give my kids the option of a better and fairer future. There is no guarantee that my kids will become doctors or scientists. But merely knowing that they have a fair option is more then enough for my family to decide to take this giant step to uproot.

My lifestyle in this white-man's land will definitely be different. But just as I had strived for 10 years in Malaysia to create my wealth from nothing at all, what is there to stop me from doing it all over again? In fact with the same effort, I should be much better off.

To put it bluntly, I am prepared to take the risk of emigration at the age of 38 with my family 'on tow'. The question arises - why should a person in my capacity want to leave when I have all that a person can wish for?

should stop looking with malice at people like me who make a choice to migrate for the betterment of our family's future. He might want to do a proper study on how much Malaysia stands to lose from skilled people leaving this country simply because they have had enough of it.

Please crawl out of your tempurung and look around at the amount of money that is being wasted in this country to make the well-connected bumis rich. They have nothing to complain about as the government is prepared to give you anything even when in many cases you might not deserve it.

If you want to talk about fairness, then look at the titles that have been given to bumis who had not done much at all. The round-the-world sailor who had to be assisted by the Royal Malaysian Air Force with an expenditure of about a million ringgit and the swimmer whose feat is not accredited by organisations monitoring English Channel crossings.

What about the first Malaysians to make it up Mount Everest, where are their 'Dato' titles? Perhaps a title for the medical student who recently crossed the English channel in almost half the time of the former 'hero'?

I know of bumi students in Universiti Malaya. I know them well. You see, I didn't get the chance to do a proper science course locally and had to struggle to fund my overseas education by begging and borrowing.

You might also want to find out the real reason why the 128 students were not given medical seats in local universities even though they had very high scores. Are you saying that these students are inferior to the matriculation students?

Do you know the pains of studying in order to score excellent results in the STPM? Please, feel free to furnish me facts so that poor souls like me would be convinced that the policies of this country are just and fair.

If you have ever heard of the simple saying, "Give a man a fish, he eats for a day, teach him how to fish and he eats for a lifetime," you will realise that many non-bumis have learned how to fish but the government is still handing out fishes to the bumis. One day the fish will run out.

Let me tell you something noneedname. to be living the life of what you're living right now in america or europe you'll need a six figure salary? Theres no way you can just uproot to the west and get a managerial job and live in a place like bangsar. impossible. I think the trade off isnt worth it and you're making the biggest mistake of your life. But if you're coming from an average background in malaysia, say earning two three k rm a month then if you have the skills it isnt such a bad choice. No matter what mistake you're making, malaysia needs less people like you so you can go to the white mans land and try your luck there cos people with an attitude like yours are not wanted in malaysia.

22-01-2006, 11:25 PM
He won't reply you, don't bother

trojan209
23-01-2006, 01:28 AM
He won't reply you, don't bother

second that. it had been ages since the last time she/he logged in and posted something (and sadly, never posted her/his own words and personal opinion though). honestly, i don't like people like this :evil:

btw zeroth, how do u know that noneedname is a "he"?

24-07-2006, 01:25 PM
haha, i only assumed. XY chromosomes forever!

coolstudy
06-12-2006, 11:47 PM
Reports of ethnic-minority students with near-perfect STPM results not getting a place at the local university have become the norm, and yet objections are often ignored - the government claims that it is a fair game for all.

Personally, I had no choice but to go overseas to study, and my parents had to spend their entire pension savings on financing my undergraduate degree in Australia. After graduation, most of my Malaysian classmates chose to either stay in Australia or work in Singapore, where equal opportunities and fair competition give them better job prospects.

Before coming to the London I did my masters degree in Singapore, where I met many Chinese Malaysians in this situation. Most of us would like to return to Malaysia, but we know that research prospects for minorities are limited. No matter how talented we are, it seems we still have to travel outside our country to seek opportunities.

Unless we all vote in a more representative and responsible government, more Malaysians will leave.

I know a couple, the guy was a finance director in one of the big local banks while the wife was a finance manager and they had 4 children. They emigrated to New Zealand and the children were very happy with the new education system.

Mostly it was because what he had articulated as his reasons for leaving was somewhat true and reflective of the unsaid feelings of the majority of non-malay citizens of this country.

No one in the current leadership positions appear to have what it takes to bring Malaysia to the era of enlightenment.

My view on the future of Malaysia? Well, basically the same as the current African states, if not worse. Why? Because the government is an expert in coming up with new types of taxes to tax the people and use the money collected to throw at the Muslims literally. But are nuts when come to improving economy and social security.

In another 30 years, all the rich Chinese people will emigrate to China, while the rest of them will go to America, Australia and Singapore. What is left? A rotting piece of land with its inhabitants not any better off.

If the current government does not change their arrogant, lazy and stupid attitude, I will not be surprise that 1 Singapore dollar can buy 10 Malaysia rinngits in another 10 years time. Right, the Malaysia government has said that they have not dropped in their standards, just that other nations are growing faster than them.

This is the difference between Malaysia and Singapore. To the Malaysia government, what I want to say is this, "This tiny red dot (Singapore) has evolved from a piece of mud to become a piece of shiny gold, while in the same time span, you have evolved from a piece of wood only to stone, at the very best."

In the future to come, this red dot will further become a diamond, while its counterpart might just revert back to wood, if not worse.

I guess the racism goes on and on and I do feel for the minority races over in Malaysia if they had encounter a problem or a situation where they felt racially discriminated - and really can prove it.

I feel such sentiments almost everyday but I guess I always have reminded myself that, life is way bigger than the color of our skin and that what is more important no matter how clique it may sound; are families and friends.

07-12-2006, 01:48 AM
since our dear country is in such a tawdry, gaudy, awful, acerbic, and pitiful state like how u have beautifully illustrated, what have u and all your friends, so called brainy intellects, done to rectify or even alleviate this labyrithine mess? Why can't there be second, third or even fourth Lim Kit Siang in this land?

hei Chenchow, i think this news posting idea is great as i've always wanted to contribute n share interesting news, but i can't seem to find the menu button that you mentioned. Where is it anyway?

cinnamon
07-12-2006, 04:15 PM
hi seiryu

try these:

i. at the top of the recom page -> kinda top right corner -> click miscellaneous, then u'll see a Newspaper link

ii. at the home page of recom.org, under Quick Navigation ( just above the announcement, a section with a few icons in it ) -> click the Weblink icon (the second last one) -> Newspaper link

hope u can find it. =)

07-12-2006, 05:04 PM
Thx, i found them but how come they are all links to news websites, not specific news with starting paragraphs as mentioned earlier... :?:

07-12-2006, 05:38 PM
Hey guys,

i think a blog might be suitable for this, me and pandaboy has setup one over at:

www.mamakk.com

It highlights the interesting stories in the papers and also the blogosphere, feel free to submit posts too if you like.

Have a look!

fizzy
15-02-2007, 08:26 PM
Spam/Ads
Deleted by schye