View Full Version : can u do me a favour?
xingru
26-07-2005, 01:42 AM
hi,everybody!i'm new here....n i'm in lower six science stream now
i'm very frustrating wif my sch....the teachers r lazy,unexperience,n irresponsible ....i can't stand anymore. besides tat i also very worried bout my study now i can't concentrate! can somebody lend me ur hand?
26-07-2005, 03:30 AM
wat's ur problem? if ur problem is ur teachers being irresponsible and all, u will have to study on ur own more, and if u have problems, ask those specific questions.
what kinda help/favor are u expecting??? pls be specific...
I think the help that you're asking for is extremely arbituary. Do you want us to help you knock her out for good or hit her in the head until she comes into her senses of how horrible her teaching is?
I don't think you can actually change the teacher's teaching technique, especially when they've been around teaching for a very long time. They unintentionally put themselves in a paradigm shift, thinking that they're teaching is appropriate and the best and students should resolve around them.
I agree that self study is one of the way out. You can also get some tuition. If you can't afford tuituin, get your friends to go to tuition and ask them for their notes and questions. It does help sometimes. I used to do that a little. You just need to spend a little money on photocopying.
In addition, I always encourage people to do self studying. It's a good studying practice. Trust me, when you get into college you'll have to do it a lot. So, right now is good time to start.
Anyway, if you need someone to rub your teacher out for good, I bet there are people out there who's willing to do that for a hefty price. Just kidding, though.
Peace out...
yuckfou
26-07-2005, 04:59 AM
I wrote the post above... Forgotten to log in....
Peace out...
littlepiglet
28-07-2005, 12:47 AM
hi, i am a new here. my school also in same situation. teachers who teach us are lack of experience in teaching form six. honestly, i not really understand what teachers are teaching during their classes. almost every subject i go to tuition. the tuition fee is a terrible number. even more, the school is always ask we to give money. school start until now, i have spend a lot of money in that school. i not really know what is the use of our money.
yuckfou
28-07-2005, 12:59 AM
hi, i am a new here. my school also in same situation. teachers who teach us are lack of experience in teaching form six. honestly, i not really understand what teachers are teaching during their classes. almost every subject i go to tuition. the tuition fee is a terrible number. even more, the school is always ask we to give money. school start until now, i have spend a lot of money in that school. i not really know what is the use of our money.
hmm.... why do you give money to the school if you don't know what it's used for? I guess you have every right to know since it's your school.
Unfortunately, there are not many good experienced teachers who wants to teach Form 6 anymore. I believe a teacher needs a Degree to teach Form 6. Well, with a degree they rather teach in a private college. They'll make more money that way. That's sad but it's true. I guess one reason why some experienced teachers still stay true to teaching in a public school is because of their passion.
Well, I do hope tuition and self study will help you. Don't forget that you have the right to know where your money is going to. Later...
Peace out...
xingru
28-07-2005, 01:14 AM
i juz need some motivation 2 light up my spirit coz my situation now is like fallen down 2 the deep valley i need somebody 2 pull me up, u know?i also need some effective ways 2 study like physics, chemistry subjects n some refrence such as website or any secondhand refrence books can sell 2 me?i'm lack of this refrence...
Byron
04-08-2005, 07:29 AM
If you need somthing to lighten up your spirit, I'd recommend you to go read the recom forum "Jokes + Words of Wisdom + Interesting Articles" especially the thread "new Jokes".
You might also want to try gathering a few of your friends and start cursing your teacher together, because group cursing is usually more effective than individual cursing. After that, ask them to help you with your studies. Go through the topics that you are confused about and ask them to explain to you. Also share your ideas with them, if your ideas are wrong, they can correct you. In short - group study. Again, doing things in group is often more effective than doing things individually.
You also need a good book for study. Too many reference books might confuse you. I didnt take STPM so we need some other people to give recommendation about good reference books. Do more practice from past year exams to find out which topic you are good at and which you are not. If there is something you cant understand even after people explained to you more than 20 times, that means you are tired and your brain is not functioning well. Go get some rest.
xingru
05-08-2005, 01:58 AM
thx byron 4 ur suggestion tat the effectiveness of group study but in my sch condition, discuss wif teachers is impossible bcause the teachers like physics,he din go into the class since 1 month ago n chemistry teacher she had alredi told us tat sheis not goin 2 teache us, she juz guide us, we hv 2 study ourselves at the 1st period she come in the class. she's also bad temper, she can get angry juz a matter of a maker pen! then how can i discuss wif the teachers when i'm in trouble?
yuckfou
05-08-2005, 02:43 AM
thx byron 4 ur suggestion tat the effectiveness of group study but in my sch condition, discuss wif teachers is impossible bcause the teachers like physics,he din go into the class since 1 month ago n chemistry teacher she had alredi told us tat sheis not goin 2 teache us, she juz guide us, we hv 2 study ourselves at the 1st period she come in the class. she's also bad temper, she can get angry juz a matter of a maker pen! then how can i discuss wif the teachers when i'm in trouble?
I did my STPM and it's true that teachers don't really help a lot. I tend to ignore them most of the time too. They'll just come into class and yak and yak for a whole good 2 hours and leave. I did all the studying myself and borrow some of my friends notes and questions from their tuition classes. I didn't go for tuition b'cos I don't really believe that it will actually help a lot.
Group study is the best. But keep the group small. not more than 4 or 5. The only problem with group study is people in the group tend to discuss topics that are not relevant to the group study.
After doing a group study, follow up with a self review session of what you have discussed in the group study. That will strengthen your understanding of the topic that was discussed.
In addition, get a good sleep every night and don't study excessively. Not good for the brain. It's like over clocking your CPU. Oh, please don't be a nerd too... Have some fun... Go to Hooters if you have to... hahahaha...
Byron
05-08-2005, 03:46 AM
I know I am giving bad advices here but I tend to ponteng classes few weeks before final exams, coz teachers dont really help and attending classes is a waste of time.
If your teacher is not good at teaching, just ignore it like yuckfou does. Your teacher seems like a bastard. Get your friends to help you. I think many people are having the same problem. What you can do is again curse your teacher so that s/he gets fired.
Try to control your mood. Do something you're happy with, and FORGET ABOUT YOUR TEACHER while studying. If you keep thinking how useless your teacher is while you'r studying, you wont be able to concentrate. Maybe you'll find it easier to concentrate while studying in a different environment. ex: study in the library/ study by the lake/ in the park/ on the roof top/ study while jogging, in the toilet etc.
yuckfou
05-08-2005, 05:02 AM
I know I am giving bad advices here but I tend to ponteng classes few weeks before final exams, coz teachers dont really help and attending classes is a waste of time.
If your teacher is not good at teaching, just ignore it like yuckfou does. Your teacher seems like a bastard. Get your friends to help you. I think many people are having the same problem. What you can do is again curse your teacher so that s/he gets fired.
Try to control your mood. Do something you're happy with, and FORGET ABOUT YOUR TEACHER while studying. If you keep thinking how useless your teacher is while you'r studying, you wont be able to concentrate. Maybe you'll find it easier to concentrate while studying in a different environment. ex: study in the library/ study by the lake/ in the park/ on the roof top/ study while jogging, in the toilet etc.
Eh... you ponteng class??? Hai.... we both member lah like that. I also kaki ponteng. But I ponteng to go find other form 6 gals in the library. hahahaha...
Yeah, go and swear at your teacher everday. It helps to release tension a lot. I doubt you'll get her booted out from school though. I think it's so hard to find form 6 teachers now. They would rather teach in colleges since it pays more.
Control your mood? Bryon, what you mean by that? Mood swing ah?? Must be time of the month already. Better stay home like that. If not you'll end up punching or slapping your teachers.
One more thing. Don't go and study with your bf or gf by the lake or library too long. Very likely you guys might end up studying each other... hehehe...
But if you don't have a gf/bf in form 6, go find one. It's about time. hahahaha...
05-08-2005, 11:31 PM
hoepfully the swearing won't make you dislike the teacher even more :twisted: ...for me, i'd rather take the more liberal approach...hehe..not as bad...hehe...i'll go to sch all right..but to do my own revision...or sleep in the class..just to make up my attendance..all the teacher talk abt will be like winds passing over my ear...haha..or go in the left ear, out the right ear....hehe...for me, cursing = not good :twisted:
xingru
06-08-2005, 02:36 AM
I did my STPM and it's true that teachers don't really help a lot. I tend to ignore them most of the time too. They'll just come into class and yak and yak for a whole good 2 hours and leave. I did all the studying myself and borrow some of my friends notes and questions from their tuition classes. I didn't go for tuition b'cos I don't really believe that it will actually help a lot.
Group study is the best. But keep the group small. not more than 4 or 5. The only problem with group study is people in the group tend to discuss topics that are not relevant to the group study.
After doing a group study, follow up with a self review session of what you have discussed in the group study. That will strengthen your understanding of the topic that was discussed.
In addition, get a good sleep every night and don't study excessively. Not good for the brain. It's like over clocking your CPU. Oh, please don't be a nerd too... Have some fun... Go to Hooters if you have to... hahahaha...
u said u did stpm so do u still got the materials like books&questions? i'm lack of these materials. i can tell u tat i'm not enough time in sleeping n i donno y the time seems pass very fast in a day n i can't finish my work untill midnight. mybe my time management is not good,got any suggestions?
whoami
06-08-2005, 03:50 AM
--
yuckfou
06-08-2005, 04:09 AM
u said u did stpm so do u still got the materials like books&questions? i'm lack of these materials. i can tell u tat i'm not enough time in sleeping n i donno y the time seems pass very fast in a day n i can't finish my work untill midnight. mybe my time management is not good,got any suggestions?
Make a timetable. Try to follow it as much as possible. It'll help a little.
07-08-2005, 11:06 PM
yea, that'll help out..but do remember to allocate enough time for rest and leisure,,,you can't learn anything if you study while you are tired or exhausted :P
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.