View Full Version : Computer problem
kit_chai
26-07-2005, 10:28 PM
Can anyone help me? When i point at the local area connection icon on the taskbar it shows that it's 10.0Mbps. However my comp loads pages and dwl very slow. Can anyone please advise? Issit the setting or something went wrong?
you've set everything up by urself or someone else did it for you?
Europa
26-07-2005, 11:35 PM
IMHO, if you or anyone else did not change the connection settings for the network recently, its most likely that a bottleneck emerged somewhere within the network, either at the routers or server gateway. An improbable reason might be due to the cable connections, due to degrading or interference.
On the other hand, its possible that some ports are accidentally closed by a firewall or manually, or that the modem maximum bitrate speed has been set to a lower than nominal value.
Spyware and/or malware may also cause this problems, but they usually have some other symptoms (eg. slower PC loading, homepage redirects, etc etc etc...)
yuckfou
27-07-2005, 12:15 AM
IMHO, if you or anyone else did not change the connection settings for the network recently, its most likely that a bottleneck emerged somewhere within the network, either at the routers or server gateway. An improbable reason might be due to the cable connections, due to degrading or interference.
On the other hand, its possible that some ports are accidentally closed by a firewall or manually, or that the modem maximum bitrate speed has been set to a lower than nominal value.
Spyware and/or malware may also cause this problems, but they usually have some other symptoms (eg. slower PC loading, homepage redirects, etc etc etc...)
I have to agree with Europa. Anyway, you can't even achieve a 10Mbps connection. I've used cable and DSL and the most I could achieve is 400 kbps.
Go check your connection setup. It might probably the gateway or the network switching problem. The switch might be too old. My brother had slow connection problem before and he called the maintanence person to check it out. He found out that the network switching to his house is too old and the performance has degraded. It might be the same problem for you. However, you'll need to get your internet provider to fix the problem for you since the switches are located outside your house. Good luck....
Peace out...
kit_chai
27-07-2005, 06:57 AM
My computer is set up by the person at the place i stay that provide the internet connection as I am living in a place some kind like a hostel. This problem has occured from the first day. Can anyone please tell me how to set up my computer for higher speed?
Salvation
27-07-2005, 12:46 PM
First and foremost what kind of internet connection are you using? Is it dial-up or ADSL or Cable or Wifi? Having a 1000000 Mb local network connection does not help you because your speed is limiteed by your internet connection speed. And...here is not a good place to ask for advice for computer troubleshooting, unless you can provide really detailed details about your computer settings the network condition and so on, we can only guess what had gone wrong, better to seek help from a computer savvy friend at your hostel.
27-07-2005, 08:05 PM
Firstly, the 10 Mbps is the physical limitation of the local area network. It just shows what your network card can do, that's all.
The bandwidth is still limited to the connection to the Internet.
Also 10 Mbps is Megabits per second. (marketers like to use Megabits because it sounds more.
but the speed you see while downloading stuff from the Internet is in kB/s or kilobytes per second.
And since 8 bits make a byte, theoretical speed is if your DSL is 1Mbps= roughly 125kB/s (I get usually 90kB/s on my DSL)
27-07-2005, 08:43 PM
do you mind telling us what do you mean by slow??using broadband will be fast if your connection that the isp provided you with is at least 512kbps....but if it's still slow, the it may be the problem with the server of the page or one of the many interchange servers en route to you computer...if it's like this, then there's not much that we can do to rectify this situation...
another problem will be that you may have trojan and spyware residing within your own computer..nowadays they are used to enable the culprits to send mass spams...and eating up your network bandwidth along the process...try using microsoft antispyware (http://www.microsoft.com) and spybot s&d (http://www.safer-networking.org) to check if you have this problem, if this problems exists, then use the tools to clean it...your surfing speed may speed up as a result...
happy fixing :)
kit_chai
27-07-2005, 10:50 PM
When I download the speed is like 4kbps. So is that considered slow for 10Mbps? I am not really sure where the problem is. Anyone can show me the steps to check? Thanks in advance.
28-07-2005, 02:42 AM
When I download the speed is like 4kbps. So is that considered slow for 10Mbps? I am not really sure where the problem is. Anyone can show me the steps to check? Thanks in advance.
i think u still don't really get the idea that the 10Mbps is the LAN connection, not ur internet connection... so, as long as ur Local Area Network is connected, it will show 10/100 Mbps... even if u don't have internet connection at all.
Do you know what internet service u are using... dial-up? Streamyx? or wat??
and how many of u are sharing the connection?
and how about other computers' speed?
kit_chai
28-07-2005, 07:01 AM
i think u still don't really get the idea that the 10Mbps is the LAN connection, not ur internet connection... so, as long as ur Local Area Network is connected, it will show 10/100 Mbps... even if u don't have internet connection at all.
Do you know what internet service u are using... dial-up? Streamyx? or wat??
and how many of u are sharing the connection?
and how about other computers' speed?
Icic the internet connection is shared out with many residents in the block. I asked them about the connection, they said they distribute 10Mbps for every block and i am not really sure wat service we are using but i dun think is dial-up though because the server is being online for 24hours per day. I dunno about other users' speed in the block. Thanks for helping.
Europa
28-07-2005, 09:46 PM
I'm sure you don't need to post 5 times just to tell us that. :lol:
Hmmm, 10Mbps per block?
That sounds very little as it would amount to an equivalent of a 512kbps connection divided equally among 20 users, and that is only a rough estimation, and a theoretical one (since I'm assuming an ideal connection and equal division of bandwidth among users). I'm sure you would have more than 20 users using the conenction at any one time, so it'll come to much less than what i've just estimated above averaged for any one user.
In that case I don't think you can find your way around the problem, as it is most likely caused by your neighbours online activity. As most hostel users will leave their PCs online 24/7 for P2P downloads (think Bit Torrent and DVD files), the bandwidth is largely taken up to fulfil their File Transfer usage.
What the gibberish actually means that the 'roads' leading from your block's Internet line to all the individual PCs can support download traffic up to 10Mbps, but most of the traffic is leading to your blockmates' PCs and not yours. :)
Solution? Find a way to disconnect all the PCs in your block except yours! :evil:
lotus
30-07-2005, 12:17 AM
Haha....somebody really have to do something about the multiple posts..Kit-Chai you hold the Recom record for multiple posts!! 8) Wow 5 posts at one go! Jokes aside, did you experience the 'bug error' thingy when you tried to post? That happened to me the last time and I ended up with a double posts...wondering :?:
lotus
30-07-2005, 12:20 AM
Haha ..this is fun Europa !! You are coming in a good runners-up with 3 posts =PP
deRame
30-07-2005, 12:37 AM
Jokes aside, did you experience the 'bug error' thingy when you tried to post? That happened to me the last time and I ended up with a double posts...wondering :?:
yup2...i'm experienced also the same thing. but the worse is, i can't upload my ANBU avatar (5.83 kB). my avatar gone missing after the ReCom server migration and i cannot even upload other pic as my avatar.:cry:
anybody care to help me?
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v486/deRame/anbu2_23032_112.gif
lotus
30-07-2005, 12:46 AM
Jokes aside, did you experience the 'bug error' thingy when you tried to post? That happened to me the last time and I ended up with a double posts...wondering :?:
yup2...i'm experienced also the same thing. but the worse is, i can't upload my ANBU avatar (5.83 kB). my avatar gone missing after the ReCom server migration and i cannot even upload other pic as my avatar.:cry:
anybody care to help me?
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v486/deRame/anbu2_23032_112.gif
Counting the number of posts, that I can manage pretty well :wink: but anything more than that about the computer is beyond me. Wow..your prob sounds mighty big to me. Hopefully I keep bumping this and someone will come to your rescue :)
30-07-2005, 04:08 AM
kit_chai, do the tests in this website & tell us your results:
http://www.dslreports.com/tools
just hang on a while w.r.t the bug.
yuckfou
30-07-2005, 04:43 AM
if the entire block is sharing 10Mbps, then you're screwed. You're on cable connection. No way can get around that. You'll have to get DSL instead. So much faster than the cable you're currently using. Or, if you're damn good, go hack into the system and allocate all the bandwidth to your PC.
Peace out...