View Full Version : Which MP3player is the best one?

30-07-2005, 10:22 PM
hey guys, need ur help la
me thinking of getting a new MP3 player.

but kinda confused over which i should get,
iPod Mini, iPod white, iRiver, Samsung, creative, Olympus m:Robe etc etc

so, in terms of memory, handling *changing songs etc*, price, specs etc, which, do you guys think is the best?

Thanks for your help!

sakurakinomoto
27-08-2005, 01:46 PM
get a ipod 80Gb, that's the best

Slasherbaven
17-09-2005, 02:02 PM
80GB?
That's crazy, unless your whole life surrounds music, and I don't mean it literally~
girlfriend pictures (http://girlfriendpics.org)

qedx
17-09-2005, 07:58 PM
If you are going for an ipod, get the nano (just launched last week i think so maybe it's not available yet in aus?). it uses solid state memory so less moving parts compared to a hard disk based one. I've also seen players that take an SD card and play the songs off those but I can't pull out a brand name from out the top of my head.

17-09-2005, 08:32 PM
go for micro zen. cheaper but similar in quality. Also, replaceable battery!

khor_albert
17-09-2005, 10:14 PM
Can ReComers please elaborate abt the price as well?

I am also in search for a MP3 player, just in search. I will be very interested to know about the price before purchasing something and I think the same goes for many of us here. Can ReComers discuss about that as well? Specifically?

PS : Btw, anybody can give me the quotations and comments about MWalker?

18-09-2005, 10:13 PM
yep, nano juz came out last week. but some Nihon-jins who came by to visit last week already got it. which probably means Nano came out in Japan first. damn cun la..but the price, about the same as mini here, 349AUD. that one, the price online la. at the kedai, i dunno hehe damn slim..arghh...

jaX
18-09-2005, 11:18 PM
i'm a fan of creative, though i'm using a super old model, a muvo slim 128mb that i won from somewhere. at the moment it costs around RM100+.

but then, it's only 128mb.

the creative zen neeon is pretty cheap for a 5gb mp3 player. think it's selling for around RM700. it's cheap cuz the battery life is, err, 16hrs. which is quite...low.

actually the whole zen collection is pretty cool and quite affordable.

and please la...you don't need THAT much storage. music files can be compressed (if you don't care about audio quality - the difference ain't that much anyway) to fit hundreds/thousands of songs on anything more than 512mb.

of course this is all subjective to personal tastes. just my two cents.

for more info on the creative lab mp3 players, visit http://www.creative.com/products/welcome.asp?category=213

25-09-2005, 11:17 PM
well, some people do use their mp3 players as external storage, so it still depends on how you want to use the device..if you frequently transfer big files between computers, then bigger storage can be considered :)

but then again, ain't CD-R's the cheaper option for that??

Patrick
26-09-2005, 10:30 AM
I have an iPod mini and this gadget rocks.

Capacity = 3.87 GB, although stated 4GB on the packaging.

You have 3.87 GB, and that can give you about 950 songs, which is a lot. You can also use this as a portable hard disk, if you use less than the maximum capacity. I've transferred games from a computer to another one using this one. It's pretty good.

Sound quality = Excellent. The earphones look good, the wires of the earphones are durable, and the design is one to drool at.

Since iPod nano is out, I recommend that you get that. It's super slim - that of iPod mini's.

Relatively cheap too, if you look at the price of other brands. Some unknown brands offer 512KB models at 200-300 ringgit. Not worth it, considering you can own a 4/5 GB model for 800 (mini) or 1200 (nano).

22-06-2007, 11:56 AM
My PC has about 3110 songs... i think only hard drive mp3 player will satisfy me...

if y'all are given choice... what will y'all choose ?? Microsoft Zune (with Wi-Fi)??, IPod Video??, Zen Vision : M (or W) ??

Microsoft Zune is the best mp3 player with connectivity (but not in Malaysia, 'cuz u need to find another ppl own a Zune as well)

IPod Video ... the best?? I don't think so... Popular is the word to describe it...

Zen Vision : M / Zen Vision : W.. a mp3 player that support popular video format (avi, divx......)

Butters
22-06-2007, 12:30 PM
My PC has about 3110 songs... i think only hard drive mp3 player will satisfy me...shoot....i only have 1200 songs....and i only listen like 10 songs....what a waste of space :D

if y'all are given choice... what will y'all choose ?? Microsoft Zune (with Wi-Fi)??, IPod Video??, Zen Vision : M (or W) ??iPod

Microsoft Zune is the best mp3 player with connectivity (but not in Malaysia, 'cuz u need to find another ppl own a Zune as well)ZUNE?!! Puh-lease....microsoft is 5 years late. FYI, every cent you pay for the zune goes to Universal. This means microsoft is supporting DRM music. Say goodbye zune. Too zune!

IPod Video ... the best?? I don't think so... Popular is the word to describe it...excuse me.... Apple has sold over 100 Million iPods (FACT)....so that makes iPod is the BEST and POPULAR.

Zen Vision : M / Zen Vision : W.. a mp3 player that support popular video format (avi, divx......)boring...rip-off from Apple

Fourthshifter
22-06-2007, 12:43 PM
I think it is Nokia integrated phone.
wiki says nokia is the largest producer of MP3 in the world

Butters
22-06-2007, 03:58 PM
wiki says nokia is the largest producer of MP3 in the world

are you sure?

22-06-2007, 05:58 PM
I am always intrigued by the sheer amount of songs people have.. like 5000, 10000 songs etc. I have a feeling that many people who are proudly claiming their huge song collection don't really know or enjoy every single song, they simply transferred songs in bulk whenever they have "mp3 exchange sessions".

I personally have more than one thousand mp3 files, but I think I love about five hundred of them. The others are just there, only popping up whenever I switch on "random". Most of the time, I would pick my own playlist and it's always from those five hundred, and even more common from the few dozens that I enjoy the most.

So, when people complain that "I have ten thousand songs and I must need iPod 80gig!!", I seriously wonder, how many of the ten thousand songs do you really know, let alone listen and enjoy? If you don't listen to all the songs in your collections, then it's only going to waste space in the iPod, or any MP3 player you have.

Butters
22-06-2007, 06:54 PM
I am always intrigued by the sheer amount of songs people have.. like 5000, 10000 songs etc. I have a feeling that many people who are proudly claiming their huge song collection don't really know or enjoy every single song, they simply transferred songs in bulk whenever they have "mp3 exchange sessions".

I personally have more than one thousand mp3 files, but I think I love about five hundred of them. The others are just there, only popping up whenever I switch on "random". Most of the time, I would pick my own playlist and it's always from those five hundred, and even more common from the few dozens that I enjoy the most.

So, when people complain that "I have ten thousand songs and I must need iPod 80gig!!", I seriously wonder, how many of the ten thousand songs do you really know, let alone listen and enjoy? If you don't listen to all the songs in your collections, then it's only going to waste space in the iPod, or any MP3 player you have.

earlier, i said "shoot....i only have 1200 songs....and i only listen like 10 songs....what a waste of space"

doesn't mean the whole time i only listen to the same 10 songs. Maybe next week, I change my songs in the playlist. So, i won't waste my time downloading (or stealing) songs from someone else.

22-06-2007, 06:58 PM

earlier, i said "shoot....i only have 1200 songs....and i only listen like 10 songs....what a waste of space"

doesn't mean the whole time i only listen to the same 10 songs. Maybe next week, I change my songs in the playlist. So, i won't waste my time downloading (or stealing) songs from someone else.
I wasn't referring to you, butters. :) I was referring to some people (not targeted to anyone in this thread) who claim that they can't live without bringing 5000 songs with them at all times, as if they love so many songs.

22-06-2007, 08:32 PM

I wasn't referring to you, butters. :) I was referring to some people (not targeted to anyone in this thread) who claim that they can't live without bringing 5000 songs with them at all times, as if they love so many songs.

haha... *sounds that I'm the one*

23-06-2007, 01:33 AM
my k750i have most of my favourite songs in it's memory stick :P

Butters
23-06-2007, 09:20 AM
my k750i have most of my favourite songs in it's memory stick :P

i realised k750i and nokia 5700 are very popular phone+mp3 player.

27-06-2007, 09:32 PM
mind if i suggest sony mp3?? NWS705F... one of the best so far... 2 gig, noise cancellation technology. price :RM 699

Butters
27-06-2007, 10:36 PM
mind if i suggest sony mp3?? NWS705F... one of the best so far... 2 gig, noise cancellation technology. price :RM 699

no thanks

28-06-2007, 08:15 AM
mind if i suggest sony mp3?? NWS705F... one of the best so far... 2 gig, noise cancellation technology. price :RM 699Add 200 ringgit to it and i can get myself an k750i with 4G memory...

Butters
28-06-2007, 09:15 AM
mind if i suggest sony mp3?? NWS705F... one of the best so far... 2 gig, noise cancellation technology. price :RM 699Add 200 ringgit to it and i can get myself an k750i with 4G memory...
Add another 200 ringgit to it and i can get myself an iPod video with 30G memory...

28-06-2007, 09:35 AM
Add another 200 ringgit to it and i can get myself an iPod video with 30G memory...

haha.. iPhone will be released @<hidden> 29 June for US.... save your buck and buy this one...

28-06-2007, 11:50 AM
then might as well, get a cheapskate-made-in-china mp3.. you can definitely get those below 100 bucks...

29-06-2007, 01:13 PM
then might as well, get a cheapskate-made-in-china mp3.. you can definitely get those below 100 bucks...i don't want to rick my data to something cheap...

Butters
29-06-2007, 04:04 PM
then might as well, get a cheapskate-made-in-china mp3.. you can definitely get those below 100 bucks...i don't want to rick my data to something cheap...

me too

29-06-2007, 08:46 PM

me too
count me in as well.. hehe

29-06-2007, 08:59 PM
all rich people here..... 8O 8O

30-06-2007, 12:52 AM
all rich people here..... 8O 8O
all we want is quality stuffs...

Butters
30-06-2007, 09:14 AM
all we want is quality stuffs...

i agree

zureen
01-07-2007, 07:13 PM
i'm using an iPod nano and personally i think it's a great gadget..slim, ultra-light and simple..although im quite curious why they stated that it has 4GB of capacity but actually it's less than that...

02-07-2007, 06:11 AM
i'm using an iPod nano and personally i think it's a great gadget..slim, ultra-light and simple..although im quite curious why they stated that it has 4GB of capacity but actually it's less than that...as with ALL storage drives, the capacity quoted are unformatted capacity. As the drive is being formatted, some of the space will be used to store low level information that are vital to the file system. The amount of capacity 'lost' depends on the file system being used. FAT32 are known for their huge amount of 'wasted' space...

For me, Ipod nano 2nd. generation are very nice for their tough aluminium casing. Just replace their headphones with better ones...

zureen
02-07-2007, 10:25 PM
as with ALL storage drives, the capacity quoted are unformatted capacity. As the drive is being formatted, some of the space will be used to store low level information that are vital to the file system. The amount of capacity 'lost' depends on the file system being used. FAT32 are known for their huge amount of 'wasted' space...

oo..i see..thanks vseehua..

For me, Ipod nano 2nd. generation are very nice for their tough aluminium casing. Just replace their headphones with better ones...

yeah..i agree..it falls out of your ears quite easily..the aluminium casing's the best part of it actually..i love the metallic effect..

Daniel_Chin
11-07-2007, 11:57 AM
vseehua wrote:

yeah..i agree..it falls out of your ears quite easily..the aluminium casing's the best part of it actually..i love the metallic effect..
I'm using an iPod nano too, and I intend to replace my headphones too. May I know the best price for an In-ear Headphones in Malaysia? Another thing, I notice that there're small dents on the corner of my nano, so it isn't that though, is it?

17-07-2007, 06:01 PM
vseehua wrote:

I'm using an iPod nano too, and I intend to replace my headphones too. May I know the best price for an In-ear Headphones in Malaysia? Another thing, I notice that there're small dents on the corner of my nano, so it isn't that though, is it?

Why the Apple keep selling expensive iPod in M'sia?