View Full Version : Anyone knows about inclined columns?? civil engineering...
Abang_boy
03-08-2005, 12:15 PM
hye everyone. im abad from malaysia really needs help from all of u.
now, im doing my research regarding the inlined colums cases. how can i determined the columns safety based on calculation? or can u give any idea where to find such information regarding the matter?
please help me.. thank u. my appreciate is to all of u.
03-08-2005, 03:31 PM
Hi Abad (is that your name?) dont' worry - we're mostly all from Malaysia.
I'm not a civil engine student but I'll be doing a masters in architecture next semester. I guess the first and most prominent case study is the Seattle Public Library by Rem Koolhaas, which was opened in the last year. His building is a very good mix of vertical and inclined columns, both to support the vertical weight but also the lateral seismic forces prone to the area. Do google it
http://www.bryanboyer.com/morephotos/sea_library1.jpg
http://content.answers.com/main/content/wp/en/thumb/7/7a/250px-Koolhaas.seattle.lib.1.jpg
but to answer your question on how to calculate the columns safety, there are so many things to consider that a forum is not sufficient to describe them all. Among the things you have to consider:
1. Seismic / lateral forces - forces that move horizontally due to ground movement.
2. Vertical load - how much are you holding up?
3. Material - steel? concrete?
4. Fire insulation - in the US, the building code requires you to fireproof vertical columns. But if you're inclined column holds a significant amount of vertical load you'll have to fireproof that as well.
5. Users - how many people go in and out?
6. dan lain lain lagi
It really depends on what project you're doing. Actually if you're doing civil engineering, you should have a basic textbook on structures, do you? What are you working on?
03-08-2005, 03:44 PM
Koolhaas' firm, OMA, published a book on the Seattle Library. Check it out:
http://www.spl.org/lfa/central/oma/OMAbook1299/page2.htm
http://www.spl.org/lfa/central/oma/OMAbook1299/images/COVERP1.gif
Abang_boy
03-08-2005, 08:11 PM
thannx el_empty(is it?? hehe)..
yes, the basic must be the structure analysis. i hav the books but i want to know more about practice that others will do. mine is considerate with the british standard, but i want to know more about the US and Eurocode.
if u do got any other info, just bring it. my study case concern more on safety and using software calculation.
by the way.. im from UTM. thanxx...
04-08-2005, 01:05 AM
Well can't help you much there then. In the US, different states and cities have different building codes. Try googling New York City's Building Department's website. They have an online version of all their building codes and you can look around for something useful. I know it's there because I've used it before.
sassyss
04-08-2005, 10:43 AM
Hey,
I can only offer a little advice here. What you should consider first is the type of joints that is invovled at the end of the column. After that, every thing is as specified in the text or code as stipulated. It also depends on the material that you use and the physical properties such as shape of the cross section. The software that i used is SAP2000. Hope that the information is useful.