View Full Version : Malaysia Forum - Q&A
02-02-2004, 05:03 PM
Recreating this forum - since it was wiped out due to the previous attack.
Will try to write more again later. For those who have no idea, try http://www.malaysiaforum.org (or for those in M'sia and vicinity: http://www.stanford.edu/~jiinjoo/mf ) to find out, and post your questions to this forum. It is best for me to answern questions instead of blabbering what we already have on the website.
Thanks much!
-Jiin Joo :wink:
02-02-2004, 05:03 PM
Recreating this forum - since it was wiped out due to the previous attack.
Will try to write more again later. For those who have no idea, try http://www.malaysiaforum.org (or for those in M'sia and vicinity: http://www.stanford.edu/~jiinjoo/mf ) to find out, and post your questions to this forum. It is best for me to answern questions instead of blabbering what we already have on the website.
Thanks much!
-Jiin Joo :wink:
03-02-2004, 08:56 AM
Phew!!
I think I just spammed the largest number of people at any single time in my life. God bless my soul...
Anyway, for those who have just stumbled on this forum, please post the questions here instead of sending me e-mail. This way I can avoid having answer the same question over and over again. You can also read the forum for similar questions.
3 FAQs that I already got before (and was wiped out as part of the blackout):
Q. What!? You want me to go to California?
A. We're inviting you here. In fact we already have a few registrants who're flying in from places beyond the Bay Area. We think that it will be a great day to make friends and learn more about our country.
Q. Accomodation?
A. If you let me know earlier on, you might be able to "camp" in my house, or Z's or some other friends in Stanford. Don't worry if you don't know anyone here, we can definitely hook you up somehow as long as you bring your sleeping bag :)
Q. Gahmen? ISA?
A. No way!! :twisted: This is a University based event with a public focus. Make sure you read the release before signing up - in particular, we're implementing the Chatham House Rule of Confidentiality.
03-02-2004, 08:56 AM
Phew!!
I think I just spammed the largest number of people at any single time in my life. God bless my soul...
Anyway, for those who have just stumbled on this forum, please post the questions here instead of sending me e-mail. This way I can avoid having answer the same question over and over again. You can also read the forum for similar questions.
3 FAQs that I already got before (and was wiped out as part of the blackout):
Q. What!? You want me to go to California?
A. We're inviting you here. In fact we already have a few registrants who're flying in from places beyond the Bay Area. We think that it will be a great day to make friends and learn more about our country.
Q. Accomodation?
A. If you let me know earlier on, you might be able to "camp" in my house, or Z's or some other friends in Stanford. Don't worry if you don't know anyone here, we can definitely hook you up somehow as long as you bring your sleeping bag :)
Q. Gahmen? ISA?
A. No way!! :twisted: This is a University based event with a public focus. Make sure you read the release before signing up - in particular, we're implementing the Chatham House Rule of Confidentiality.
As I've mentioned before, I'm more than willing to host one or two people in my room. And I promise I'll provide at least a sleeping bag for each of my guests. See, just bring yourself. Cool. Now SIGN UP! And apply for transportation subsidy (if applicable).
FiAnS
04-02-2004, 10:19 AM
Hey guys,
I'm Suffian and I'll be attending the forum together with Syamsul and another guy. For your concern, we are all from USC (same as Syamsul). I hope you could provide us with the accomodation. Thanks.
Suffian Muhili
FiAnS
04-02-2004, 10:19 AM
Hey guys,
I'm Suffian and I'll be attending the forum together with Syamsul and another guy. For your concern, we are all from USC (same as Syamsul). I hope you could provide us with the accomodation. Thanks.
Suffian Muhili
*bump*
for is it not allowed here? :)
anyway, keep track of the sign-up dateline. don't miss this event!
*bump*
for is it not allowed here? :)
anyway, keep track of the sign-up dateline. don't miss this event!
16-02-2004, 05:45 AM
Updates:
We have a new signup deadline - 22 February 2004, so if you have to sort somethings out you can still sign up in time!
The response to the event is VERY HEARTWARMING! Definitely beat a chocolate box on Valentines Day :twisted: So far we have 50 people signed up, since we have a capacity of 80 people, we might be able to take 20 to 30 more.
We have friends coming from Seattle, Pittsburgh and Los Angeles (and one I'm not sure, but she's currently in M'sia!!) - kudos!
If you're still not aware - you can apply for some sponsorship if you're a student coming from outside of Bay Area.
We have a new speaker: Professor Bridget Welsh from John Hopkins University, a young and brilliant academic on Malaysia - visit the website for more details.
16-02-2004, 05:45 AM
Updates:
We have a new signup deadline - 22 February 2004, so if you have to sort somethings out you can still sign up in time!
The response to the event is VERY HEARTWARMING! Definitely beat a chocolate box on Valentines Day :twisted: So far we have 50 people signed up, since we have a capacity of 80 people, we might be able to take 20 to 30 more.
We have friends coming from Seattle, Pittsburgh and Los Angeles (and one I'm not sure, but she's currently in M'sia!!) - kudos!
If you're still not aware - you can apply for some sponsorship if you're a student coming from outside of Bay Area.
We have a new speaker: Professor Bridget Welsh from John Hopkins University, a young and brilliant academic on Malaysia - visit the website for more details.
26-03-2006, 03:34 AM
^bump
26-03-2006, 11:05 PM
Interesting andjust in time.
Anyway, since the time this thread was run, MF1 has went successfully. Then years past and MF2 was even better (http://smf.stanford.edu/mf2).
Today we just had the first conference call forming a new committee to drive MF3, which is targetted around Thanksgiving this year. Look out for more information coming up!
lyzzy
27-03-2006, 12:13 AM
hopefully you guys will have it on the east coast this time around...
Yamaha TD2 (http://www.yamaha-tech.com/wiki/Yamaha_TD2)