View Full Version : Studying In Germany. All questions answered (hopefully)
02-02-2004, 07:39 PM
I just have to start a new thread here on studying in Germany. So post your questions here and us folks studying\studied in Germany will definitely help u out.
02-02-2004, 07:39 PM
I just have to start a new thread here on studying in Germany. So post your questions here and us folks studying\studied in Germany will definitely help u out.
03-02-2004, 03:36 AM
Kelvin, as a start, may be you can describe your typical life over at Germany....
03-02-2004, 03:36 AM
Kelvin, as a start, may be you can describe your typical life over at Germany....
Diagramma
05-07-2005, 03:57 PM
typical student life in germany?
WEEKDAYS:
wake up in the morning..
buang taik mata..then go to class. listen to lectures. (fyi, almost all FHs in Germany starts in the morning and finishes around 5pm..it?s worst than high school.)
go home.
rilex for a while (do whatever you wanna do. eg: play games, listen to music, read, watch tv, play music instrument, etc. etc.)
bathe.
cook..eat.
study..rilex..study..rilex..study..stop! (7-9 subjects per semester maa!! if u?re lucky enough..6!!!)
by the time you realize..it?s already 11.30pm
get ready to go to bed..
watch tv/read story book for a while..
Sleep.
Wake up..
(repeat the whole thing all over again.
WEEKEND (Saturday)
Do whatever you wanna do! eg: shopping, sightseeing, meet friends, travel, play video games until pening kepala, sleep..study!
WEEKEND (sunday)
Since no shops and malls are open on sundays except restaurants, you tend to either stay in your room and do something productive or hope today?s not sunday! (and definitely also not monday!!!)
05-07-2005, 04:07 PM
lazy mode.
bangun, rase letih, skip classes, surf internet, buy books from eBay and amazon and read them, trying stuffs like blogging and foruming.
hardworking mode :
bangun pergi class, ajak kawan german makan/main, pergi fitness centre, cycling 20 km to explore new villages, join activities etc.
launa
05-07-2005, 08:14 PM
hmmm..........when we 1st arrive at german, do we have some orientation or some similiar course and how long is the duration? when do normally start our 1st sem? in feb?
Diagramma
07-07-2005, 04:37 PM
hmmm..........when we 1st arrive at german, do we have some orientation or some similiar course and how long is the duration? when do normally start our 1st sem? in feb?
as for the newcomers, semester starts in mid march. so for the first 3 months..lepak (since u arrive in January)..unless if you fail ONE of the JPA criterias, eg. A-level below requirement or DSH fial..if that?s the case, you?ll have to do bridging course for one whole semester and sit for exams at the end of the course. (attendance required and performance during the course noted).
and for the students good/lucky enough to be going straight to baden-W?rttemberg:
1st 3 weeks short course in Carl Duisberg Centren (CDC) ;usually in Konstanz : introduction on German Culture, Umgangsprache, problem solving, etc. (subjects that requires a lot of talking and participation..umsonst, nothing educational but fun)
next few weeks after CDC: students will be divided to a few groups depending on which FH they will be studying in. these groups will be sent to different FHs to take short prep courses. subjects that u will learn during the course are maths, history, physics, etc. depending on which group/FH u go to.
vBulletin® v3.7.6, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.