View Full Version : Enough of technology transfer, time to make our own

04-02-2004, 04:52 AM
I found this article from ReCom is good for discussion:

"KUALA LUMPUR: Malaysia should step up from its current technology assimilation strategy, where the focus is more on adopting and transferring knowledge, and move on to developing homegrown technology, according to the consulting firm that played a key role in the planning of the Multimedia Super Corridor (MSC).

McKinsey & Co Malaysia partner Nikolai Dobberstein noted that 95% of the 6,000 patent applications in Malaysia in 2001 were based on technology researched elsewhere. "

So the questions are:

"when?", who are gonna do it? , "what kind of technology?"
etc...
let's discuss.

04-02-2004, 04:52 AM
I found this article from ReCom is good for discussion:

"KUALA LUMPUR: Malaysia should step up from its current technology assimilation strategy, where the focus is more on adopting and transferring knowledge, and move on to developing homegrown technology, according to the consulting firm that played a key role in the planning of the Multimedia Super Corridor (MSC).

McKinsey & Co Malaysia partner Nikolai Dobberstein noted that 95% of the 6,000 patent applications in Malaysia in 2001 were based on technology researched elsewhere. "

So the questions are:

"when?", who are gonna do it? , "what kind of technology?"
etc...
let's discuss.

dinna_g
04-02-2004, 08:59 AM
first of all we need resources. when we have enough resources, then it can happen.. otherwise, let's just dream about it.

dinna_g
04-02-2004, 08:59 AM
first of all we need resources. when we have enough resources, then it can happen.. otherwise, let's just dream about it.

04-02-2004, 09:11 AM
I think the first main big step that we have to change is the mentality. We should encourage creativity and innovation of Malaysians. I am not sure about the culture of research and development back home, but I think it is very essential to nurture that culture.

On whether we have the resources and capabilities, I think we need to try our best. I think there are a lot of ideas out there, but very few actually get implemented. For instance, I had visited RECSAM Science and Technology exhibition and there are a lot of amazing students' creatiion, but where do those people go after they finish F5?

I would suggest another thing would be to have high school students, especially matriculation and Form 6 students to have the opportunities to do research in public and private universities during semester break. It is a very good nurturing process!

04-02-2004, 09:11 AM
I think the first main big step that we have to change is the mentality. We should encourage creativity and innovation of Malaysians. I am not sure about the culture of research and development back home, but I think it is very essential to nurture that culture.

On whether we have the resources and capabilities, I think we need to try our best. I think there are a lot of ideas out there, but very few actually get implemented. For instance, I had visited RECSAM Science and Technology exhibition and there are a lot of amazing students' creatiion, but where do those people go after they finish F5?

I would suggest another thing would be to have high school students, especially matriculation and Form 6 students to have the opportunities to do research in public and private universities during semester break. It is a very good nurturing process!

dinna_g
04-02-2004, 02:21 PM

You have very good idea but I think that it's better to encourage college students in research area. I noticed that there are very few published research from malaysia. the tertiary education institutes should be the center of the development. at least, that is what i see in the states. in the us, the internet speed is the fastest in universities because they implement the latest technology (this is a true fact someone told me at some point). what about in malaysia? i don't think so (with the exceptional of mmu).

if you look from that point of view, how can we even build our own technology when we can't even produce much published research? not that published research is the way to evaluate technology, but it's a way to measure how much development is going on. yes, we can! but, we have very few resources. as long as our universities are not good enough to be the core of R&D, i don't think it's possible because there isn't many expert we can turn to for advice.

with that being said, we should start improving the R&D environment in malaysia. then only we should start thinking of having our own technology. i'm not being a pessimist but i think we should do this step by step. it's very unrealistic to go ahead and jump to another stage; it is not feasible.

dinna_g
04-02-2004, 02:21 PM

You have very good idea but I think that it's better to encourage college students in research area. I noticed that there are very few published research from malaysia. the tertiary education institutes should be the center of the development. at least, that is what i see in the states. in the us, the internet speed is the fastest in universities because they implement the latest technology (this is a true fact someone told me at some point). what about in malaysia? i don't think so (with the exceptional of mmu).

if you look from that point of view, how can we even build our own technology when we can't even produce much published research? not that published research is the way to evaluate technology, but it's a way to measure how much development is going on. yes, we can! but, we have very few resources. as long as our universities are not good enough to be the core of R&D, i don't think it's possible because there isn't many expert we can turn to for advice.

with that being said, we should start improving the R&D environment in malaysia. then only we should start thinking of having our own technology. i'm not being a pessimist but i think we should do this step by step. it's very unrealistic to go ahead and jump to another stage; it is not feasible.

05-02-2004, 01:15 PM
I would think that the first step the university could do would be to have more tie-up with industry. It would go a long way in helping to build a good resources for the research and development!

Yeah, talking about the internet speed, I think that is partly a factor, but with Streamyx available and it is at a decent speed (384 kbs), I think it is only right that students start using it... I have many friends in many public universities in Malaysia, and it is very sad when I heard that they do not use internet, sometimes, not even once in a month, whenever there is exam... It is a complete different culture. Nothing is needed to be done using internet or computer, may be except typing out paper using Word... That's something that really need to be rectified.

Another thing that made me mystifying is that many local universities' students are looking at research and development, as if it is something completely not in their level. In fact, many of them are able to help do something in it, but they just don't think that it is possible!

Hope that the generalization that I made would not make anyone mad at me.... I am just trying to point out my personal observation, based on the general condition. I would hope that the reality is that I am wrong. It would be a good news for the country. Hope that those who had a clearer picture could share their thoughts and idea!

05-02-2004, 01:15 PM
I would think that the first step the university could do would be to have more tie-up with industry. It would go a long way in helping to build a good resources for the research and development!

Yeah, talking about the internet speed, I think that is partly a factor, but with Streamyx available and it is at a decent speed (384 kbs), I think it is only right that students start using it... I have many friends in many public universities in Malaysia, and it is very sad when I heard that they do not use internet, sometimes, not even once in a month, whenever there is exam... It is a complete different culture. Nothing is needed to be done using internet or computer, may be except typing out paper using Word... That's something that really need to be rectified.

Another thing that made me mystifying is that many local universities' students are looking at research and development, as if it is something completely not in their level. In fact, many of them are able to help do something in it, but they just don't think that it is possible!

Hope that the generalization that I made would not make anyone mad at me.... I am just trying to point out my personal observation, based on the general condition. I would hope that the reality is that I am wrong. It would be a good news for the country. Hope that those who had a clearer picture could share their thoughts and idea!

cquayhl
03-03-2004, 07:17 AM
Hmm. I'd be curious to know what kinds of patents were applied for.

Chen Chow, mentality does have to change. Part of the problem is the 'learn by rote' school system. How can we change this? Previous attempts to identify gifted kids and be more flexible seem to have failed. The most notable example is PTS. Do you have any ideas?

I agree with Dinna that resources are also important. With enough money, the people with talent and the right mentality will materialise naturally. Half of the PhD's in physics awarded in the US go to foreigners. It's not like we don't have the talent. There are so many high-flying Malaysians on the academic/research track here, in Singapore etc. The problem is that the universities in Malaysia don't have the facilities they need.

Regarding involving undergrads or secondary school kids in research, yes, this is important. It really helps to build confidence, as many of us know from experience. But how can we do this if there is no money to even have proper labs in the first place?

As for industry, good idea, but at least in physics, most of the money comes from the government. Very few companies do basic physics research. I can only think of Bell Labs and IBM. Maybe for engineering it's different. Can someone comment on this?

Without the political will to put money into R and D, I don't see us having 'more published research' any time soon.

Another thing...about putting money into R and D, there is no way we can compete with the US. Nobody can compete with the US. But I feel that if we concentrate on a few areas (as many of the European countries are doing), we can do quite well. The question is, which areas?

cquayhl
03-03-2004, 07:17 AM
Hmm. I'd be curious to know what kinds of patents were applied for.

Chen Chow, mentality does have to change. Part of the problem is the 'learn by rote' school system. How can we change this? Previous attempts to identify gifted kids and be more flexible seem to have failed. The most notable example is PTS. Do you have any ideas?

I agree with Dinna that resources are also important. With enough money, the people with talent and the right mentality will materialise naturally. Half of the PhD's in physics awarded in the US go to foreigners. It's not like we don't have the talent. There are so many high-flying Malaysians on the academic/research track here, in Singapore etc. The problem is that the universities in Malaysia don't have the facilities they need.

Regarding involving undergrads or secondary school kids in research, yes, this is important. It really helps to build confidence, as many of us know from experience. But how can we do this if there is no money to even have proper labs in the first place?

As for industry, good idea, but at least in physics, most of the money comes from the government. Very few companies do basic physics research. I can only think of Bell Labs and IBM. Maybe for engineering it's different. Can someone comment on this?

Without the political will to put money into R and D, I don't see us having 'more published research' any time soon.

Another thing...about putting money into R and D, there is no way we can compete with the US. Nobody can compete with the US. But I feel that if we concentrate on a few areas (as many of the European countries are doing), we can do quite well. The question is, which areas?

03-03-2004, 09:09 AM
interesting discussion going on here.
Previous attempts to identify gifted kids and be more flexible seem to have failed. The most notable example is PTS.
don't mean to nitpick, but don't you think it's too early to conclude that PTS has failed? if i'm not mistaken the first batch of PTS students is only 1 year removed from the SPM, maybe 2...how to tell if pts worked?

sorry for steering this thread slightly out of topic...just curious to know what you're thinking.

03-03-2004, 09:09 AM
interesting discussion going on here.
Previous attempts to identify gifted kids and be more flexible seem to have failed. The most notable example is PTS.
don't mean to nitpick, but don't you think it's too early to conclude that PTS has failed? if i'm not mistaken the first batch of PTS students is only 1 year removed from the SPM, maybe 2...how to tell if pts worked?

sorry for steering this thread slightly out of topic...just curious to know what you're thinking.

03-03-2004, 09:33 AM
In fact, I think the first batch of those of those PTS students have just taken SPM this year and at least I had known 2 of them getting very good results. One of them, lilet, she is a ReCom members, she got 11A1 and 1B3 (in BM). Another one that I know of from PCGHS got 10A1 and 1A2(Moral).

So, I think PTS at least does not fail in this sense. Anyone has more data on this.

Sorry for swerving, but I think if we look at scrapping PTS as a failure after a few years, then we can look at Singapore, which scrapped SAT as entry requirement of NUS and NTU after a year of implementation.

03-03-2004, 09:33 AM
In fact, I think the first batch of those of those PTS students have just taken SPM this year and at least I had known 2 of them getting very good results. One of them, lilet, she is a ReCom members, she got 11A1 and 1B3 (in BM). Another one that I know of from PCGHS got 10A1 and 1A2(Moral).

So, I think PTS at least does not fail in this sense. Anyone has more data on this.

Sorry for swerving, but I think if we look at scrapping PTS as a failure after a few years, then we can look at Singapore, which scrapped SAT as entry requirement of NUS and NTU after a year of implementation.

03-03-2004, 11:46 AM
The question is, which areas?

agriculture and farming. we already have some kind of an advantage in that there area many plants that are local to this region

03-03-2004, 11:46 AM
The question is, which areas?

agriculture and farming. we already have some kind of an advantage in that there area many plants that are local to this region

dinna_g
04-03-2004, 05:01 AM

I totally agree with you. I once had a conversation with my Indonesian friend, the definition of a good professor in our country is a professor who makes his/her student study hard for his/her class but a good professor at least in the US, is a professor who is not only a good teacher but also a great researcher. We really need to change the local universities from not only being the center of education but also the center of research. I'm sure many professors would be interested in conducting research, they just don't have the facilities to do so.

As far as I'm concern, Intel and Xerox do a lot of research. I read several papers about thin films by Xerox and Intel definitely do more research in the electronics engineering field.

Great point you have there! I noticed that European countries are catching up with research. In order to produce a lot of "published research" they collaborate with universities in the US, which I think is a great idea. I think if we were to start with our own research, we can start with small collaborations with research groups in the US.

this is actually not a bad idea. we already have RRIM (rubber research institute of malaysia), PORIM, MARDI etc and we can just expand what they're doing to something more "publishable". I wonder if they ever publish their research. Does anyone know?

One personal idea I have is, we can start encouranging research in Malaysia by having "Malaysian Journal of Science" or whatever. The standard might not be as high as other journals but at least it's a good start to encourage more research on our beloved "Boleh"land.

cheers!

dinna_g
04-03-2004, 05:01 AM

I totally agree with you. I once had a conversation with my Indonesian friend, the definition of a good professor in our country is a professor who makes his/her student study hard for his/her class but a good professor at least in the US, is a professor who is not only a good teacher but also a great researcher. We really need to change the local universities from not only being the center of education but also the center of research. I'm sure many professors would be interested in conducting research, they just don't have the facilities to do so.

As far as I'm concern, Intel and Xerox do a lot of research. I read several papers about thin films by Xerox and Intel definitely do more research in the electronics engineering field.

Great point you have there! I noticed that European countries are catching up with research. In order to produce a lot of "published research" they collaborate with universities in the US, which I think is a great idea. I think if we were to start with our own research, we can start with small collaborations with research groups in the US.

this is actually not a bad idea. we already have RRIM (rubber research institute of malaysia), PORIM, MARDI etc and we can just expand what they're doing to something more "publishable". I wonder if they ever publish their research. Does anyone know?

One personal idea I have is, we can start encouranging research in Malaysia by having "Malaysian Journal of Science" or whatever. The standard might not be as high as other journals but at least it's a good start to encourage more research on our beloved "Boleh"land.

cheers!

cquayhl
04-03-2004, 06:28 AM
Just a quick response to Chen Chow and topdog, other stuff will have to wait. :-)

OK, why I think PTS has 'failed'. We are talking about changing mindsets. I think we all agree that there is too much rote-learning in our education system.

Good SPM results are no indicator of ability to think critically. We have all been in the system, we all know that what is required is just to spit out the right answer. So what if people skip a year? After that, they'll still get potong markah because the method they use to solve maths problems is not exactly the same as the one in the syllabus. (This also happens in the real exams. My parents are teachers and at one point we knew the people who were in charge of marking Add. Maths for the country and for Perak. And the examiners potong markah the same way...)

What I'm trying to say is: it is not clear how cutting a year out of a bad programme is going to help, except that of course people would spend less time in school.

(BTW, my brother is in Form Three now and also skipped one year via PTS. My sister did OK in SPM and is a JPA scholar. So please understand I'm not trying to kutuk any of these people...just the system.)

Going over for a while to the other side, this is one view I have heard: It is not clear that we want to develop people who can think critically and do research and all that. After all, we are a developing country. We need engineers, doctors etc. who can do a 'good enough' job to industrialise the country, right? Anything else is overkill and a waste of resources. Sure, with the current system, we lose all our Feynmans and Einsteins, but on the whole, the 'average student' still does quite well. And those are the ones we need anyway. What do you guys think?

OK, now having criticised everybody, here's a straw man for you to knock down and replace with something better. Five years ago, I thought that an ideal school would be one where teachers would only be facilitators. Students would learn on their own and only ask teachers when they have questions. School likbraries would be well-stocked. Exams could be taken whenever. None of this 'You must be X years old to sit STPM' crap. In the end, everyone would learn at their own pace and graduate/drop out whenever they felt like it.

Now, of course I realise that this would work only for a very small number of students, but I'm not sure that I want to see a multi-track system like Singapore's. It smacks of elitism. So anyway, I'm not sure what the answer is. Any suggestions for a better education system? (And one that we can afford, both in terms of money and human resources?) :-P

Cheers,
Charis.

cquayhl
04-03-2004, 06:28 AM
Just a quick response to Chen Chow and topdog, other stuff will have to wait. :-)

OK, why I think PTS has 'failed'. We are talking about changing mindsets. I think we all agree that there is too much rote-learning in our education system.

Good SPM results are no indicator of ability to think critically. We have all been in the system, we all know that what is required is just to spit out the right answer. So what if people skip a year? After that, they'll still get potong markah because the method they use to solve maths problems is not exactly the same as the one in the syllabus. (This also happens in the real exams. My parents are teachers and at one point we knew the people who were in charge of marking Add. Maths for the country and for Perak. And the examiners potong markah the same way...)

What I'm trying to say is: it is not clear how cutting a year out of a bad programme is going to help, except that of course people would spend less time in school.

(BTW, my brother is in Form Three now and also skipped one year via PTS. My sister did OK in SPM and is a JPA scholar. So please understand I'm not trying to kutuk any of these people...just the system.)

Going over for a while to the other side, this is one view I have heard: It is not clear that we want to develop people who can think critically and do research and all that. After all, we are a developing country. We need engineers, doctors etc. who can do a 'good enough' job to industrialise the country, right? Anything else is overkill and a waste of resources. Sure, with the current system, we lose all our Feynmans and Einsteins, but on the whole, the 'average student' still does quite well. And those are the ones we need anyway. What do you guys think?

OK, now having criticised everybody, here's a straw man for you to knock down and replace with something better. Five years ago, I thought that an ideal school would be one where teachers would only be facilitators. Students would learn on their own and only ask teachers when they have questions. School likbraries would be well-stocked. Exams could be taken whenever. None of this 'You must be X years old to sit STPM' crap. In the end, everyone would learn at their own pace and graduate/drop out whenever they felt like it.

Now, of course I realise that this would work only for a very small number of students, but I'm not sure that I want to see a multi-track system like Singapore's. It smacks of elitism. So anyway, I'm not sure what the answer is. Any suggestions for a better education system? (And one that we can afford, both in terms of money and human resources?) :-P

Cheers,
Charis.

dinna_g
04-03-2004, 09:27 AM
Speaking of our education system, I notice that it is too exam based. PTS for instance evaluated a student based on one exam. Just one! It seems a little bit unfair. If you are a teacher in a particular class, you can definitely tell who's Einstein, who's Spielberg and who's Beethoven, right? The PTS products are not chosen by the teacher but rather an exam and I actually doubt the exam's ability to evaluate students' competitiveness (sp?) as compared to teacher's evaluation. I'm not pointing that PTS products are bad, it's just that, not every geniuses can be found this way.

One thing I also notice is that our education system is too forgiving. The positive side of the system is we can make average students doctors, engineers and what not. The negative side of the system is we forget our geniuses. I think the education system should be a little bit more flexible as too allow bright student to learn at faster pace e.g. sit SPM at the age of 15. These extremely bright students eventually ended up studying overseas so they can move at their own pace. Eventually, we lose these students because they find that staying overseas better suit their interests.

I remember when I was in Sunway College, one of my lecturer was just 21 but he already has a degree and was doing his master's while teaching. He's one brilliant guy who's extemely ambitious. At the end, he decided to move to Singapore to pursue his studies because apparently Malaysia do not offer what he's looking for. Looking at this case, we need to be a little bit more flexible so that we won't lose any Einstein or Feynman.

Cheers!

dinna_g
04-03-2004, 09:27 AM
Speaking of our education system, I notice that it is too exam based. PTS for instance evaluated a student based on one exam. Just one! It seems a little bit unfair. If you are a teacher in a particular class, you can definitely tell who's Einstein, who's Spielberg and who's Beethoven, right? The PTS products are not chosen by the teacher but rather an exam and I actually doubt the exam's ability to evaluate students' competitiveness (sp?) as compared to teacher's evaluation. I'm not pointing that PTS products are bad, it's just that, not every geniuses can be found this way.

One thing I also notice is that our education system is too forgiving. The positive side of the system is we can make average students doctors, engineers and what not. The negative side of the system is we forget our geniuses. I think the education system should be a little bit more flexible as too allow bright student to learn at faster pace e.g. sit SPM at the age of 15. These extremely bright students eventually ended up studying overseas so they can move at their own pace. Eventually, we lose these students because they find that staying overseas better suit their interests.

I remember when I was in Sunway College, one of my lecturer was just 21 but he already has a degree and was doing his master's while teaching. He's one brilliant guy who's extemely ambitious. At the end, he decided to move to Singapore to pursue his studies because apparently Malaysia do not offer what he's looking for. Looking at this case, we need to be a little bit more flexible so that we won't lose any Einstein or Feynman.

Cheers!

06-06-2004, 01:49 PM
I heard from my lecturer that the job market for the research field isn't very good, that's why he's in the teaching field. I think if we could improve on that, we can certainly create more technologies. The government should fund more money on research and development.

06-06-2004, 11:16 PM
the education system not only has to be flexible but also be more open minded n be able to teach the students to think more critically .

but this comes back to the factor of teachers' standard in teaching the students. wat we see now is that teacher teach base only in text books with nothing more but reference books. this kind of education is boring n not practical. thus it cant produce many bright students by limiting their mind n skill in other than academic.

to do this the government must do something on the system now first. the saying of ' we realise that the edu system is too exam based n should be changed' by the government is only theory on paper, no effort could be seen in changing the condition.

07-06-2004, 02:02 AM
One of the reasons we keep transferring technology I feel is not because we are not good enough, but because we dont have adequate facilities. For example, if a brilliant kid wants to be an astronomer, he will soon realize that there is virtually nothing he can do in Malaysia with an astronomy degree except maybe work at the planetarium or science centre as guides or curators, which may not be the future that they desire even though they may have the enthusiasm. Compared to the facilities their counterparts have in more advanced countries (huge telescopes, space centres, scientific equipment, etc.) it's easy to see why our scientists don't usually end up researching and developing their own technology. I'm not sure if the lack of facilities is caused by monetary constraints, but if we can build the 2nd tallest towers in the world and huge mega projects like the MSC, why not spend some money on building observatories and other kinds of scientific research centres?

morpheous
07-06-2004, 03:35 AM
..why not spend some money on building observatories and other kinds of scientific research centres?
ussdefiantnx74205
it doesn't work that way.remember the first two laws on political power. one needs money, another want to stay in power.so here is the deal: i get your money through education sponsorship/scholarship and you get to create your cronies/supporters/bureacrats from all these baited students. i need the money to fuel my economies and to support my social welfare programs.

hmm..have you read the article "why mahathir failed..."?

observer, one thing that you go to understand is that when it comes to the allotment of the gov. contracts, is the usual suspect that gets it. no need to talk about bumi or non bumila my friend, in this level they are all working on the same cause to benefit each other. the money rotates around them only.
Posted by polis at June 4, 2004 10:13 PM

you,the msian politicians, need to have your cronies,captain of industries in science,technology,industry,capitalists/business and government (bureacrats&government civil servants)
only then you can pump money to GLC or your cronies' companies,for example:

Posted: Jun 7 2004, 01:24 AM
Group: Junior Member
Registration Open for Unemployed Graduate, FREE Graduate Training Scheme (Cisco)

If you are interested in pursuing Cisco Certified Network Professional, look no further, call IMS Asia at 03-77101360 (Cisco Authorized Learning Partner) offering Cisco courses for 5 months program.

The training to be provided will be a combination whereby the theoretical part will be delivered by training providers and attachment training at employers? premises. The attachment training will equip graduates with working experience and will provide opportunities for them to practise the knowledge that they have gained from training at the workplace.

Target Group for Cisco Training:
Applicants must have a Degree in Computer Studies or Engineering.
Only Malaysians who have graduated from 1999 onwards and have remained unemployed are eligible to apply.

FREE CISCO TRAINING & EXAMS! RM500 Monthly Allowance!!

Please bring along:-
1) 1 Photostat IC
2) 1 Color Photograph (Passport Size)
3) 1 Photocopy latest academic qualification OR
4) For applicants who have yet to receive their latest academic certificates, please submit letters of verification by university registrars confirming completion of studies OR
5) duly verified copies of final semester?s examination results with confirmations stating the completion of studies; and
6) Photocopy of RHB or BSN Saving Book containing the following:-
i)Page 1 showing the trainees? names and account numbers; and
ii)Page 2 showing the latest transaction or updated entry (please ensure that the savings account is not a dormant one).

(All Photocopies must be verified by a Member of Parliament, Member of a State Assembly, Headmaster or School Principal, Village Head, ?Penggawa?, ?Tuai Rumah? or ?Ketua Kaum?, ?Ketua Mukim Bertauliah?, any Government Officer in the A Category or a Justice of Peace)

Don't miss this golden opportunity! Register NOW by calling IMS Asia at 03-77101360 and speak to Azlin, Norihan or Cecilia or come and visit IMS Asia Sdn Bhd at 5th Floor Bangunan TH, Uptown 3, Petaling Jaya.

Thank you
remember foreign education-foreign industry-msia government conspiracy?) i help u .u help me.i scratch your back and you scratch mine..remember the wheel of socio-economic change?money must "bekitar-kitar" and "berlegar-legar" among all your carefully-placed cronies/loyal supporters in science (scientists like biotechnologists?hmm..are they truly scientists?,etc..), technology (engineers,doctors,dentists,etc..),industry (CEOs, ICT professionals?MSC?cinta IT?belajar IT?etc...), capitalists(economists,bankers,actuaries,accountants,etc..) and government ( bureacrats with degrees in law,art & social science ,etc...)

support and fund science?No,not now while we are still "training and educating" your sponsored students to do science. we devised the syllabus and course contents. we assigned who to teach the sponsored students...heheehee, we can "dilute" them if we want, right?hmm..wanna buy and taste my glass of tea that i am going to bancur for you?

Sunday June 6, 2004

Malaysia needs more scientists

I WOULD like to share my opinion on the recent university intake issue.

The nation is extremely proud that the number of straight-A students has increased again. This means that our students are serious about their education and future.

But it is rather sad to hear that so many high flyers were not able to get courses of their choice. Perhaps the mistake was theirs as they may have applied for courses they were less qualified for.

However, I feel students should not be penalised just because there are not enough places for certain demanding courses in our public education system. That will be a really demotivating factor as it will discourage our students from striving for excellence. After all, who would want to slog at their studies if success in examinations offered no reward?

We are definitely on the side of the Government when it comes to meritocracy but the current system of admitting students into public universities based on two very different yardsticks -- namely the STPM and matriculation -- needs some review.

There should only be one yardstick to evaluate and benchmark students in the public examination system and one examination council to ensure the quality of students in the intake for the public universities.

Perhaps there should be interviews for entry into critical courses like law and medicine to ensure that applicants really deserve to be offered places for such courses in the universities.

This system is already being implemented in the United States and the United Kingdom.

Society should also do away with the idea that only doctors, engineers and lawyers are glamorous professions. As our country moves towards developed nation status, we actually lack scientists more than any other professionals. Research may, in the long run, prove to be even more noble and rewarding than the ?traditional? professions. However, this can only succeed if the government takes the initiative to promote R&D activities.

KW
Puchong
msia's education system already fused/rojak/mixed with politics, there is nothing that young recomers can do at this present....wanna fix education system?
fix msia politics first. separate executive,judiciary and legislative.made them independent of one another.more accountabilities and transparencies on usage of public funds.
oh..yeah!sure!..wait a minute!?u forget the first two laws on political powers?...so no go!

No separation of powers, no accountability

MSY
2:30pm Fri Jun 4th, 2004

Minister in the Prime Minister?s Department Nazri Abdul Aziz has now come out to admit that there is no separation of powers in the various branches of the Malaysian government, namely the judiciary, the legislative and the executive.

Finally, no more sandiwara, no more hiding behind lies that the judiciary decides what it wills and that the judges are independent and without bias.

In Nazri's eyes and that of the Barisan Nasional government, separation of powers is ?too idealistic?. I presume that in his political ideology, the executive holds the ultimate and supreme power and only then can ?national security? be assured in our country.

Such a statement from the government shows both its insecurity and lack of respect for the constitution of Malaysia besides lacking an understanding of the parliamentarian system of democracy.

The whole idea of having separation of powers in the legislative, judiciary and executive is so that there are checks and balances. What Nazri has confirmed is that in Malaysia, the executive has absolute influence over the judiciary - and obviously the legislative with a majority in parliament.

That means that it does what it wills with no accountablity to anyone. The rakyat has long believed this to be the case as seen during the Mahathir years when mega projects and policies were implemented hastily and without due diligence resulting in cronyism and corruption.

I have always wondered what national security means in Malaysia and have, in fact, come up with my own definition.

National security means the security of the Barisan Nasional government and any threat to national security would naturally mean a threat to the ruling coalition. This is parliamentary democracy a la Malaysia.

Thank you, Nazri, for clarifying and confirming our suspicion that there is no, and has never been, any separation of powers in Malaysia.