View Full Version : "Don?t bribe your way out"
23-09-2005, 08:18 AM
long time no see...
just feel like pointing this out... do u think this will ever work? or the program will just be another reason to better feed the corrupted traffic policemen...
http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2005/9/23/nation/12124058&sec=nation
my opinion: with some simple economics, and my observation on how things work in Malaysia (13 months ago), this will not work as plan, but will only act as a catalyst that increases policemen's 'yields'...
:lol: If the policeman don't interact with the offender, maybe there is a chance.
But still I think suspending license it's a good move. However, they just have to work out a mechanism make it work.
Currently offender are getting bolder and bolder. Just look at the summons. We need to offer discounts before they are willing to pay. Why should the traffic divisions needs to offer discount to offender? In fact the offender should be paying full amount. Failing to do that, reject the renewal of license and road tax of the offender. Of course, there are some offences that are cause of company vehicle. I think havin an appeal systems for case to case basis and if the victims fails an appeal (double the punishment). Like English FA hearing of player misconduct.
That would be certainly interesting.
reign226
24-09-2005, 09:33 PM
As long as the human factor is involved, there will be corruption in some form or another. What we need is a system of non-human cross-checking. Isn't it sad that we have to depend on computers more than humans now? It's a world that's basically controlled by computers now, and we're building this huge electronic tomb around us and the sad thing is this is the most effective measure we have.
gonjeng
25-09-2005, 12:19 AM
As long as the human factor is involved, there will be corruption in some form or another. What we need is a system of non-human cross-checking. Isn't it sad that we have to depend on computers more than humans now? It's a world that's basically controlled by computers now, and we're building this huge electronic tomb around us and the sad thing is this is the most effective measure we have.
but when it comes to traffic offenders, i cant think of anything else than using those 'human' police officers to do the job. i dont think the technology is that high yet to put robots or what not on the street to stop the cars and give the tickets (saman). that, i guess we'll have to wait for the first version of robocop ay?
anyway, as far as curbing the bribery, its a two way thingie. first, yeah we need honest police officers - not to expect bribes or even asking for one. personally i think the situation is heading that way, although the pace is relatively slow. secondly, the citizen should not condone to bribery to begin with. corruption requires two hand, pemberi and penerima. the problem is, the ppl think would rather bribe than having their license revoked, or having to pay a higher saman price (which is more than the cost to bribe). not many are willing to do otherwise.
it all boils down to mentality. from my conversation with few other malaysians who have been in the situation, they all hate bribery and corruption. everybody agrees that the policemen should be honest on their job. however, when put in the situation where they kena saman, most of them would rather 'settle it there' rather than kena saman...
25-09-2005, 09:52 AM
but when it comes to traffic offenders, i cant think of anything else than using those 'human' police officers to do the job. i dont think the technology is that high yet to put robots or what not on the street to stop the cars and give the tickets (saman). that, i guess we'll have to wait for the first version of robocop ay?
anyway, as far as curbing the bribery, its a two way thingie. first, yeah we need honest police officers - not to expect bribes or even asking for one. personally i think the situation is heading that way, although the pace is relatively slow. secondly, the citizen should not condone to bribery to begin with. corruption requires two hand, pemberi and penerima. the problem is, the ppl think would rather bribe than having their license revoked, or having to pay a higher saman price (which is more than the cost to bribe). not many are willing to do otherwise.
it all boils down to mentality. from my conversation with few other malaysians who have been in the situation, they all hate bribery and corruption. everybody agrees that the policemen should be honest on their job. however, when put in the situation where they kena saman, most of them would rather 'settle it there' rather than kena saman...
i think with some kinda 'black box' with GPS, and a speedometer on every car, a central system can know how fast a car is going at any part of the country to detect whether the car is speeding... but that kinda hard to implement, since 'we' don't like central system, and that kinda kills all 'opportunities' available...
25-09-2005, 08:46 PM
wow..that would make us very visible to everyone that can somehow access the system...now, big brother is watching out there..don't be naughty yea :P
i don't think i like the idea at all :?
maybe raising the salaries of the policemen will help out a little :)
gonjeng
25-09-2005, 08:58 PM
raising the salary may help reducing the policemen's tendency to 'ask' for more money... but how do we reduce the tendency for ppl to bribe to policemen? under the temptation to earn 'extra' and with the help of devil's whisper, a decent policemen may actually condone to bribery... after all, policemen are humans :D
25-09-2005, 10:05 PM
i wonder if they will accept bribes in the first place if they can themselves support their families with their very own salary...i'm not sure about the exact amount, but i don't personally think it's enough to support with extras to be saved for future uses :)
if this is implemented, then most of the policemen won't think about taking the risk of being jailed for taking bribes :)
reign226
28-09-2005, 05:52 PM
that's another fine point: since when have disciplinary actions been taken for 'offenders'? It's hard to find these people, gather the proof, file a charge and convict them, mainly because in the police, they're expected to watch each other's backs. I personally haven't even read any news about crackdown on bribery. There's a few now and then but the general feeling is that corruption is something of a taboo. I remember the story about an UMNO politician 'big fish' being charge for bribery? And you know what happened? The guy was referred to have his sentence reduced because of his 'contributions to the country'.
Since when was Karpal Singh given this treatment? How about the CSMU guy, Sothanistan (sp?). People watch each other's backs.
28-09-2005, 10:52 PM
oh well...that's the world right now...everyone's looking at their own interests...if only te world hey could see how the world suffers because their actions, they couldn't have done it..but alas, they choose to ignore that...greed... :cry: