View Full Version : Some teachers just never respect students

okaywhy
08-10-2005, 10:38 AM
I wonder why some teachers never treat students as human... They have seriously underestimated the students' wisdom... they treat students as a medium to vent their angers... This is not professional at all! (not all the teachers behave so, and for those who disagree with me, please understand the word "some")

Instead of education; they have opted some short cut such as verbal atacks, violence, humiliation as the ways to discipline(or 'tame') the fellow students... Yes, no doubt, some students are plain morons, but does it mean that they do not deserved to be respected at all? I thought one of the teachers' jobs is to civilise the morons? But seems like, the teachers are the one who have been 'moronised'.

Students have no freedom to form their own opinion. Those self-centred teachers always think that they are perfect, and they never dare to admit their mistakes... Presumably, they have isolated themselves from the reality, they live in their own world.

There is a chinese proverb that sounds "Zhun Shi Zhong Dao", but, what are being practised is pure "Zhun Shi" instead of "Zhong Dao"!

08-10-2005, 11:44 AM
Was it because you just recently got mistreated by a teacher that made you write on this particular topic? if so, do share with us your story so that we can disect it and see what's the rationales behind it, if any. or if you just read a story about an instance of incidents of such nature, do post some references on where all of us here can look for it and start discussing.

At least give us some clues on where to start. Your statement is kinda like jumping straight to the middle. It's a good topic though :)

08-10-2005, 11:59 AM
I think it is two different issues - one is what is the teacher educating the student, and second is how, although I understand why you put them together (as if you're teaching the students that venting anger at inferiors is ok)

Some teachers are just pain rude, but maybe because they know no better than that. They stil want to teach the kids, but the kids are too boisterous, so they have to use the one an only way they know to turn them submissive, in a way that they wuold then listen to what they have to say about the subject matter.

In any case, the next time your teacher cross the line, let him or her politely that they have done so, and that you would appreciate a more amicable teacher-student relationship. Make sure you do your part too. Teachers can only discipline you that much. You need to have the respect for your teachers. Students who respect teachers have the respect of the teachers for themselves.

Ok, continue to discuss where the "line" is... what constitute a "verbal attack", "humiliation", "moron".