View Full Version : How to select US universities?
reFlect0r
11-10-2005, 09:12 AM
Quality is most of the time, the top concern.
Then it might come to location-(not near the coast! or Hollywood! etc)
For friends who are not on scholarship(eg JPA) and are concerned about finance matters, what is the advice? There are some top universities but they offer financial aid too. some give full scholarship..where can i get all these info?
kucingbiru
11-10-2005, 04:03 PM
Then it might come to location-(not near the coast! or Hollywood! etc)
eer, why? is it just your personal preference?
Patrick
11-10-2005, 10:49 PM
Then it might come to location-(not near the coast! or Hollywood! etc)
eer, why? is it just your personal preference?
Remember Katrina? Rita?
Hmm.....about Hollywood...probably he doesn't want to be starstruck.
reFlect0r
11-10-2005, 11:57 PM
some of my friends just want to go to Hollywood. some choose California..yeah.coastal states are avoided because of disasters.
Are there many recomers going to US??
kucingbiru
12-10-2005, 05:36 AM
some of my friends just want to go to Hollywood. some choose California..
so u dont wanna be near Hollywood because of that?
kucingbiru
12-10-2005, 05:40 AM
coastal states are avoided because of disasters.
if u wanna go to inland states, be prepared for the extreme weather.
it doesnt really matter where the school is as long as its a good school. no?
as for weather concerns. for the past 10 years i've beeen in the states, things like katrina rita etc only happens once every few years and its rarely that extreme. if u want to live in a place where weather is somewhat like msia, i'd suggest the southern east/west florida or ca. maybe even texas(i heard dallas is fun). if u're up for some 4 season then come up the northeast/north region. nyc is fun :o
-ps: if u're hokkien i found this funny song that i posted on my Xangay (http://www.xanga.com/pik)
reFlect0r
18-10-2005, 08:26 PM
how about the finance part?
Hi! Anyone knows about Bowling Greenland State University? Is it a good university, especially for psychology major?
I heard that this university offers quite a lot of scholarships, even with not so good results like cgpa 2.8. They have lots of students under scholarships. Now, where they got so much money from since most of their students are under scholarships?
topdog
19-10-2005, 12:02 AM
Hi! Anyone knows about Bowling Greenland State University? Is it a good university, especially for psychology major?
I heard that this university offers quite a lot of scholarships, even with not so good results like cgpa 2.8. They have lots of students under scholarships. Now, where they got so much money from since most of their students are under scholarships?
it's Bowling Green State University actually, in Bowling Green, Ohio. sources of money: endowment, grants, state funds (since it's a public university). about the scholarships, are you referring to finaid for graduate studies (aka "postgraduate" in malaysia)? i don't suppose they provide much, if any, financial assistance to international undergrads.
it's Bowling Green State University actually, in Bowling Green, Ohio. sources of money: endowment, grants, state funds (since it's a public university). about the scholarships, are you referring to finaid for graduate studies (aka "postgraduate" in malaysia)? i don't suppose they provide much, if any, financial assistance to international undergrads.
Opss... sorry for the name. It is Bowling Green State University. Yeap, I'm talking about international undergraduates. I'm actually in American Transfer Program, and one of my friends is now studying in that university. His cgpa was 2.8 when he was applying to this uni and he got 100% scholarship for the tuition fee. And he's telling that most of the students there (yeap, undergraduates) are under scholarships whereby some of them don't even need to pay for the hostel and meals. However, according to him, there are only few Malaysian students.
I have visited the website, but the website can tell nothing about the real situation in that uni. So, anyone knows more about this uni?
I wonder why only so little Malaysians go there since they offer so much scholarships.
jiinjoo
19-10-2005, 10:50 PM
If the website don't give much information, try sending email to the admission office or better still, give them a call. An alternative is to go to MACEE to get more information. If they are really focused on getting Malaysians and giving us scholarships, then they probably have left a good contact aruond too. :)
But then my hunch is that the school is just trying to boost ranking by giving lot sof finaid to international students, as diversity of a school counts. Maybe the school is really all white or somthing like that, thus when compared to a school in the city, their diversity scores are pretty low... of course that's just hunch. Need to do research!
Thanks for your advice, jiinjoo
You might be right that they want to attract more international students. According to the advisor of my program, my friend is the only Malaysia student in undergraduate program. Seeing others getting full tuition fee waiver and without paying the accommodation and meals fee, my friend went and asked if he could be like that too. Guess what? He got the refund for the accommodation and meals fee! Phew!!
I have search for information about this uni and its actually not a bad uni. What a good luck my friend has!
enilit
12-11-2005, 01:18 AM
Hello,
You might want to go to College Confidential http://talk.collegeconfidential.com. It has an International Students thread, and there's lots of info about US colleges that offer financial aid (FA: combination of grants/scholarships, loan, and campus job/internship).
Also, if the college's website doesn't say anything about FA for international undergrads, try mailing the FA officer/admissions director.
Generally US schools are pretty generous with FA (US News considers alum giving in its rankings). If you do apply for aid, though, you've to be prepared to be rejected/put on the waiting list, 'cause then your admission chance is tied to how much FA you need.
Hope this helps, and good luck! :)
vBulletin® v3.7.6, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.