View Full Version : Terengganu says no to Kongsi Raya gathering (The Star)
Read this article:
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2004/2/5/nation/7251991&sec=nation
What's your response?
Read this article:
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2004/2/5/nation/7251991&sec=nation
What's your response?
What can you say? They are right. Useless parties held at primary school at night? And you can bet that the kids will have to clean up the grounds the day after :/. Can't they get a better venue? And whats wrong with scheduling the event on say a Saturday afternoon? What I am more concerned is this:
A similar function was held at Kompleks Sekolah-Sekolah Wakaf Mek Zainab in Kota Baru on Jan 26. About 50,000 people attended the function which was held without a permit from the local council.
I am assuming that the function in Kelantan is also held by the Culture, Arts and Tourism Ministry? If that is so, what is the message that they are sending out? That it's okay to ignore laws if it doesn't suit you?
What can you say? They are right. Useless parties held at primary school at night? And you can bet that the kids will have to clean up the grounds the day after :/. Can't they get a better venue? And whats wrong with scheduling the event on say a Saturday afternoon? What I am more concerned is this:
A similar function was held at Kompleks Sekolah-Sekolah Wakaf Mek Zainab in Kota Baru on Jan 26. About 50,000 people attended the function which was held without a permit from the local council.
I am assuming that the function in Kelantan is also held by the Culture, Arts and Tourism Ministry? If that is so, what is the message that they are sending out? That it's okay to ignore laws if it doesn't suit you?
05-02-2004, 12:45 PM
What time is Maghrib? I thought if the event is from 8:30pm to 11:30pm, the prayer affected would be Isyak right? Correct me if I am wrong.
05-02-2004, 12:45 PM
What time is Maghrib? I thought if the event is from 8:30pm to 11:30pm, the prayer affected would be Isyak right? Correct me if I am wrong.
maghrib and isyak is fairly close. its usually begins around 7 to 7:30 depending on the time of year and place of course and ends at about 8 - 8:30 when isyak starts. so some people just wait for isyak after they are done with maghrib so they can do other stuff the rest of the night.
For events like this you know people are going to be there at least an hour early. And the preparations will need to be finished way earlier. All in all I'd say the concerns raised by the MB are valid.
maghrib and isyak is fairly close. its usually begins around 7 to 7:30 depending on the time of year and place of course and ends at about 8 - 8:30 when isyak starts. so some people just wait for isyak after they are done with maghrib so they can do other stuff the rest of the night.
For events like this you know people are going to be there at least an hour early. And the preparations will need to be finished way earlier. All in all I'd say the concerns raised by the MB are valid.
05-02-2004, 12:59 PM
Just wondering what is the usual time for event to happen in Malaysia? Because I am sure there would be events that involve Muslims and start around 8pm or something like that, and just with a short break for Isyak. How about all those other countdown and other celebrations. I am sure there are a lot of Muslims out there, do they just skip the prayer?
I am just asking all these questions, because I am curious to know more about it. No offense to anyone, kay?
05-02-2004, 12:59 PM
Just wondering what is the usual time for event to happen in Malaysia? Because I am sure there would be events that involve Muslims and start around 8pm or something like that, and just with a short break for Isyak. How about all those other countdown and other celebrations. I am sure there are a lot of Muslims out there, do they just skip the prayer?
I am just asking all these questions, because I am curious to know more about it. No offense to anyone, kay?
Hmm the time for Isyak is quite long, from whenever it begins at 8pm to well im not really sure when hehe; when the false dawn i guess, so lets say 5 am? Correct me if I'm wrong there. Personally I usually do Isyak when I'm about to sleep around midnight.
And for people who go to these event thingies, well... they probably skipped the prayers :/ well some might not, but a good majority probably skipped.
Hmm the time for Isyak is quite long, from whenever it begins at 8pm to well im not really sure when hehe; when the false dawn i guess, so lets say 5 am? Correct me if I'm wrong there. Personally I usually do Isyak when I'm about to sleep around midnight.
And for people who go to these event thingies, well... they probably skipped the prayers :/ well some might not, but a good majority probably skipped.
05-02-2004, 01:07 PM
yeah, i know about the time length, as my roommate for my freshman year is a Muslim.... I sort of know all these... But I guess, majority of Muslims in Malaysia are following the 5 prayers a day right? It is a very good time to be with God and also reflect.
I wish Malaysians of other religions would be spending some of their daily time praying...
05-02-2004, 01:07 PM
yeah, i know about the time length, as my roommate for my freshman year is a Muslim.... I sort of know all these... But I guess, majority of Muslims in Malaysia are following the 5 prayers a day right? It is a very good time to be with God and also reflect.
I wish Malaysians of other religions would be spending some of their daily time praying...
Lets put it this way: Most people do five prayers on most days. That should be a fair enough generalization.
05-02-2004, 01:23 PM
Though i do feel PAS is being unreasonable, MCA's reaction:
In an immediate reaction, state MCA chairman Datuk Lau Yin Pin lambasted PAS, saying that this was one of its efforts to prevent the rakyat from exercising their rights.
is too much. there's actually nothing to shout about. in fact, when keadilan tried to organize some gatherings, the government denied keadilan (or the opposition in general) the same rights.
it's a hint of hypocrisy but then, i guess its politics.
btw. i really think its fun to see ppl banging PAS' backyard every now and then.
however, MCA is overdoing it. Looking at the development in the recent months, its more of attacks on Islamic values rather than on PAS. In short, MCA is being insensitve.
05-02-2004, 01:23 PM
Though i do feel PAS is being unreasonable, MCA's reaction:
In an immediate reaction, state MCA chairman Datuk Lau Yin Pin lambasted PAS, saying that this was one of its efforts to prevent the rakyat from exercising their rights.
is too much. there's actually nothing to shout about. in fact, when keadilan tried to organize some gatherings, the government denied keadilan (or the opposition in general) the same rights.
it's a hint of hypocrisy but then, i guess its politics.
btw. i really think its fun to see ppl banging PAS' backyard every now and then.
however, MCA is overdoing it. Looking at the development in the recent months, its more of attacks on Islamic values rather than on PAS. In short, MCA is being insensitve.
the main reason i agree with the refusal is because of the venue hehe i empathize with the kids that are going to have to do the cleanups the day after. i know i hated the gotong-royongs whenever some bigwigs decided to visit my school. cleaning up our own mess was hard enough. imagine cleaning up after 50000 people :/
EDIT 1: The MCA guy's response was uncalled for though, too much spin on the whole issue, which is not really an issue to begin with anyways.
EDIT 2: Pity the police is a federal body not a state body hehe. It'd be great to see a federal minister get arrested for breaking state laws/enactments or whatever hehe.
the main reason i agree with the refusal is because of the venue hehe i empathize with the kids that are going to have to do the cleanups the day after. i know i hated the gotong-royongs whenever some bigwigs decided to visit my school. cleaning up our own mess was hard enough. imagine cleaning up after 50000 people :/
EDIT 1: The MCA guy's response was uncalled for though, too much spin on the whole issue, which is not really an issue to begin with anyways.
EDIT 2: Pity the police is a federal body not a state body hehe. It'd be great to see a federal minister get arrested for breaking state laws/enactments or whatever hehe.
da-hype
05-02-2004, 01:40 PM
__earth:
Looking at the development in the past few months, its more of attacks on Islam's values instead of PAS.
I don't agree with PAS either .. but what is wrong with islams values? what did they say?
/me not sure what's going on :P
da-hype
05-02-2004, 01:40 PM
__earth:
Looking at the development in the past few months, its more of attacks on Islam's values instead of PAS.
I don't agree with PAS either .. but what is wrong with islams values? what did they say?
/me not sure what's going on :P
05-02-2004, 01:50 PM
Hehe...that would really be funny!
05-02-2004, 01:50 PM
05-02-2004, 01:51 PM
Lol, da-hype hang nak kena penampaq? :D earth kata, MCA dok attack Islam bulkan dok attack PAS. Hang paham dak? kalau tak paham pi balik kampung, tanama jagung bukak sarong nampak burong.. :D
I need to sleep!
05-02-2004, 01:51 PM
Lol, da-hype hang nak kena penampaq? :D earth kata, MCA dok attack Islam bulkan dok attack PAS. Hang paham dak? kalau tak paham pi balik kampung, tanama jagung bukak sarong nampak burong.. :D
I need to sleep!
hype hang nak biaq dia cakap lagu tu kat hang? jawab oi jawab! BWAHAHAH syok sungguh jadik batu api
05-02-2004, 02:11 PM
btw. i really think it fun to see ppl banging PAS' backyard every now and then
hehe - rhetorical pyrotechnics 8) Never get bored of it.
The event is a display - open house - man that's so political. Why don't you see people themselves opening their own house and invite friends over to celebrate the two events together? Instead of attending some rally?
Then the "blast"... well, they invited it anyway - there are so many ways to contain noise etc. so that events like this can go on at the same time as prayers. If it makes sense to reroute traffic to make certain things happen, then I don't see what's so hard to do something as a compromise. Both sides can tolerate instead of just outright banning like that. Either go pray somewhere else, or close the door, or have the event somewhere else, or turn off the volume for that short Maghrib hours (it's about an hour plus I recall) etc. And I thought it is typical of people to settle differences this way instead of exercizing authority and publicizing it on newspapers... shame on everyone. :x
05-02-2004, 02:11 PM
btw. i really think it fun to see ppl banging PAS' backyard every now and then
hehe - rhetorical pyrotechnics 8) Never get bored of it.
The event is a display - open house - man that's so political. Why don't you see people themselves opening their own house and invite friends over to celebrate the two events together? Instead of attending some rally?
Then the "blast"... well, they invited it anyway - there are so many ways to contain noise etc. so that events like this can go on at the same time as prayers. If it makes sense to reroute traffic to make certain things happen, then I don't see what's so hard to do something as a compromise. Both sides can tolerate instead of just outright banning like that. Either go pray somewhere else, or close the door, or have the event somewhere else, or turn off the volume for that short Maghrib hours (it's about an hour plus I recall) etc. And I thought it is typical of people to settle differences this way instead of exercizing authority and publicizing it on newspapers... shame on everyone. :x
It's all politics, i guess. I'd say the Culture Ministry people know that their application will be denied before they applied. Just curious though, did the Ministry hold rallies at other states or is this a PAS state only event? :D
da-hype
05-02-2004, 02:32 PM
I need to sleep!
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAAHHAHAHAA
aku dah duduk US lama sgt.... bontot dah lagi putih dr mat salleh... mana aku tau apa berlaku kat m'sia tu. HAHAHAHAH
HAHAHAHAA
da-hype
05-02-2004, 02:32 PM
I need to sleep!
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAAHHAHAHAA
aku dah duduk US lama sgt.... bontot dah lagi putih dr mat salleh... mana aku tau apa berlaku kat m'sia tu. HAHAHAHAH
HAHAHAHAA
06-02-2004, 08:25 AM
be prepared to laugh. :D
http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2004/2/6/nation/7257603&sec=nation
From the star:
The Kongsi Raya Chinese New Year open house, planned to be held in Kuala Terengganu today, will proceed despite the PAS-led Terengganu government's refusal to give a permit for the event.
Culture, Arts and Tourism Minister Datuk Paduka Abdul Kadir Sheikh Fadzir, who disclosed this yesterday, said the reasons for not allowing the open house were absurd and against the Constitution
kadir has gone out of his mind.
06-02-2004, 08:25 AM
be prepared to laugh. :D
http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2004/2/6/nation/7257603&sec=nation
From the star:
The Kongsi Raya Chinese New Year open house, planned to be held in Kuala Terengganu today, will proceed despite the PAS-led Terengganu government's refusal to give a permit for the event.
Culture, Arts and Tourism Minister Datuk Paduka Abdul Kadir Sheikh Fadzir, who disclosed this yesterday, said the reasons for not allowing the open house were absurd and against the Constitution
kadir has gone out of his mind.
dinna_g
06-02-2004, 08:47 AM
why don't they make the open house a lunch time event.. habis citer.. takdelaa nak kecoh dah.. and i do agree about the venue thingy.. pity those kids who will end up cleaning their schools.. sian dierang..
i personally think that it's no big deal.. why is everyone making such a big fuss about it.. cam bebudak.. aku tak paham..
dinna_g
06-02-2004, 08:47 AM
why don't they make the open house a lunch time event.. habis citer.. takdelaa nak kecoh dah.. and i do agree about the venue thingy.. pity those kids who will end up cleaning their schools.. sian dierang..
i personally think that it's no big deal.. why is everyone making such a big fuss about it.. cam bebudak.. aku tak paham..
06-02-2004, 09:30 AM
A show of power - surely if the argument is not bebudak enough the laymen wouldn't understand anyway - how to get votes for coming elections? 8)
06-02-2004, 09:30 AM
A show of power - surely if the argument is not bebudak enough the laymen wouldn't understand anyway - how to get votes for coming elections? 8)
thanks for the feedback!
1. does anyone want to analyze the writing (language, tone, etc.) of the news report?
i hope someone with such expertise will give some comments.
2. i personally feel that many people would've already formed their opinion of the matter before finishing the article because of their pre-conditioned mindset.
is there anyway to help readers break out of their biased mindset so that they can read news objectively?
thanks for the feedback!
1. does anyone want to analyze the writing (language, tone, etc.) of the news report?
i hope someone with such expertise will give some comments.
2. i personally feel that many people would've already formed their opinion of the matter before finishing the article because of their pre-conditioned mindset.
is there anyway to help readers break out of their biased mindset so that they can read news objectively?
06-02-2004, 08:47 PM
Free Show ...
so why not take a sit and enjoy watching it ;)
I would really like to know this too if there is any method ...
06-02-2004, 08:47 PM
Free Show ...
so why not take a sit and enjoy watching it ;)
I would really like to know this too if there is any method ...
07-02-2004, 01:06 AM
I learned critical reading from my General Paper (GP) teacher. Singapore's one sided newspaper aside, the reason why he focuses on teaching us that is because most sources that we can find is a one sided, superfluous, skin-deep etc. and that's just the norm.
Usually we're told to find the one and only point of an article, if there's none, the article is usually fluff. You should be able to summaries the entire article into one sentence.
After finding that one point, just play devil's advocate. It's very easy, if the article say that abortion should be abolished, you think of all the reasons it shouldn't be. After having all of those on your head (and sometimes fully convinced of them), you read the article again, and see if they rebutted your point / didn't address it / give a very good counter benefit / blamed the cause to the government etc.
Now if all karangan teachers can teach students to read articles like that, it would help to give a good start to reading news objectively. It is hard to play devil's advocate if you passionately believe in the article, but we should still nonetheless make an effort to think about it.
For example this article says that praying means no event - think how you solve the problem to make it happen. Then the next article says that the event goes on - now you thik of all the problem that it will cause. It gives you perspective, so that while you read the article, you can either be convinced of its arguments or conclude that it is fluff.
Even when you read my post (e.g. jiinjoo says must disagree with what the article says - so I play devil's advocate and agree with what the article says), then because you agree with what I said here (i.e. my post is the article you're reading), you'll find that it's easier for you to futher agree with what I said... :roll:
07-02-2004, 01:06 AM
I learned critical reading from my General Paper (GP) teacher. Singapore's one sided newspaper aside, the reason why he focuses on teaching us that is because most sources that we can find is a one sided, superfluous, skin-deep etc. and that's just the norm.
Usually we're told to find the one and only point of an article, if there's none, the article is usually fluff. You should be able to summaries the entire article into one sentence.
After finding that one point, just play devil's advocate. It's very easy, if the article say that abortion should be abolished, you think of all the reasons it shouldn't be. After having all of those on your head (and sometimes fully convinced of them), you read the article again, and see if they rebutted your point / didn't address it / give a very good counter benefit / blamed the cause to the government etc.
Now if all karangan teachers can teach students to read articles like that, it would help to give a good start to reading news objectively. It is hard to play devil's advocate if you passionately believe in the article, but we should still nonetheless make an effort to think about it.
For example this article says that praying means no event - think how you solve the problem to make it happen. Then the next article says that the event goes on - now you thik of all the problem that it will cause. It gives you perspective, so that while you read the article, you can either be convinced of its arguments or conclude that it is fluff.
Even when you read my post (e.g. jiinjoo says must disagree with what the article says - so I play devil's advocate and agree with what the article says), then because you agree with what I said here (i.e. my post is the article you're reading), you'll find that it's easier for you to futher agree with what I said... :roll:
earth kata, MCA dok attack Islam bulkan dok attack PAS.
No ones attacking Islam :roll: , it's interpretation of it that's creating a lot of hoo haa.
Why hasn't anybody raised the tolerence issue? LIke during the recent Thaipusam ( or was it deepavali?), it generated a lot of traffic jams in Penang during their procession. Its a once in the year issue, so everybody accepts the disruption in their lives. So why not this? Its not like their celebrating it everyday. :roll:
No ones attacking Islam :roll: , it's interpretation of it that's creating a lot of hoo haa.
Why hasn't anybody raised the tolerence issue? LIke during the recent Thaipusam ( or was it deepavali?), it generated a lot of traffic jams in Penang during their procession. Its a once in the year issue, so everybody accepts the disruption in their lives. So why not this? Its not like their celebrating it everyday. :roll:
bah i dont accept disruption in my life for any reason :P
and both parties seem to like playing political games anyway. so let them have their fun
bah i dont accept disruption in my life for any reason :P
and both parties seem to like playing political games anyway. so let them have their fun
07-02-2004, 05:08 PM
that's what you think. imagine how the ppl there think.
anyway, dont you hate this smiley -> :roll: . I think i have a issue.
back to the original point, it just happens that, unfortunately enough, aligns itself with Islam. and this is one of the few PAS' arguments that actually aligns with the opinion of conservative muslim.
and when PAS' opinion and conservative's opinion crosses each other, attacking PAS also means attacking Islam in the eye of the conservatives
I'm not against the celebration, but MCA needs to consider the muslims' sentiment before getting itself excited.
07-02-2004, 05:08 PM
that's what you think. imagine how the ppl there think.
anyway, dont you hate this smiley -> :roll: . I think i have a issue.
back to the original point, it just happens that, unfortunately enough, aligns itself with Islam. and this is one of the few PAS' arguments that actually aligns with the opinion of conservative muslim.
and when PAS' opinion and conservative's opinion crosses each other, attacking PAS also means attacking Islam in the eye of the conservatives
I'm not against the celebration, but MCA needs to consider the muslims' sentiment before getting itself excited.
i dont like the venue. whats wrong with the state stadium or some local town hall? ministry dont want to foot the rent bill? they must give good reasons to do the event at a primary school. savings on rent and free child labour isnt good enough :p and saying there wasnt enough time to book a better venue just shows a lack of organization on the ministry's part
i'm just throwing this random thought out there...
maybe the school is seeking some kind of donation from the MP or BN? holding such events at schools usually mean funding/sponsorship of some kind. maybe they get $$$ (or at least priority to funding) for school facilities etc.
just random thought.
i'm just throwing this random thought out there...
maybe the school is seeking some kind of donation from the MP or BN? holding such events at schools usually mean funding/sponsorship of some kind. maybe they get $$$ (or at least priority to funding) for school facilities etc.
just random thought.
08-02-2004, 03:10 AM
yeah - that happens in my primary school and secondary school too. We often host dinners because we have a school hall, usually the size of 6 badminton courts. Typically the school rents out the hall to recuperate the cost of building it - normal days to badminton players, sometimes to performance groups, dinners like these, even wedding dinners. They might not be "affiliated", but probably they don't charge that much. At least from my experience, child labor is not used for those occasion. The catering, cleaning up etc. is done by hiring outside people, and usually not handled by the school.
But like z says - the principal of the school might be good friends with the minister, and having it at the school allow the guest to come visit the "fortress" that they made.., maybe to get pity donations for the school?
A stadium will be too big - this is not the 20,000 strong rally at bukit jalil in the rain. And it will be odd to put out some round tables in the middle of the field (unless they have an indoor one). Local town hall is usually jammed packed with events. They are (understandably) more expensive and maybe fully booked months if not years in advance.
p/s I don't have an issue with mr. roll eye :roll: -- perhaps we should have a static version that doesn't move :wink: but I still like mr. green best :mrgreen:
08-02-2004, 03:10 AM
yeah - that happens in my primary school and secondary school too. We often host dinners because we have a school hall, usually the size of 6 badminton courts. Typically the school rents out the hall to recuperate the cost of building it - normal days to badminton players, sometimes to performance groups, dinners like these, even wedding dinners. They might not be "affiliated", but probably they don't charge that much. At least from my experience, child labor is not used for those occasion. The catering, cleaning up etc. is done by hiring outside people, and usually not handled by the school.
But like z says - the principal of the school might be good friends with the minister, and having it at the school allow the guest to come visit the "fortress" that they made.., maybe to get pity donations for the school?
A stadium will be too big - this is not the 20,000 strong rally at bukit jalil in the rain. And it will be odd to put out some round tables in the middle of the field (unless they have an indoor one). Local town hall is usually jammed packed with events. They are (understandably) more expensive and maybe fully booked months if not years in advance.
p/s I don't have an issue with mr. roll eye :roll: -- perhaps we should have a static version that doesn't move :wink: but I still like mr. green best :mrgreen:
08-02-2004, 04:00 AM
i like 8) the best. it's a cool looking smiley.
However, i still prefer the original ascii version. nowadays, smiley has been transformed to. much to accomodate n3+ ub3rn00b3r demand.
back to the issue, it turns out that the event was carried out because the terengganu state govt allowed it.
From PAS' Harakah.
KUALA TERENGGANU, 6 Feb (Hrkh) - Kerajaan Terengganu telah meluluskan permohonan Kementerian Kebudayaan, Kesenian dan Pelancongan untuk menganjurkan Program Kongsi Raya Rumah Terbuka Tahun Baru Cina 2004 yang dijadualkan berlangsung malam ini dengan syarat pihak penganjur mematuhi peraturan yang ditetapkan.
Antaranya mengadakannya selepas Maghrib, dipindahkan ke Taman Budaya dan mematuhi Enakmen Hiburan Negeri Terengganu.
Menurut Setiausaha Akhbar kepada Menteri Besar Terengganu, Haji Zahari Mohamed, Pejabat Setiausaha Kerajaan Terengganu dan Majlis Perbandaran Kuala Terengganu (MPKT) melalui surat bertarikh 4 dan 5 Februari lalu menetapkan bahawa program tersebut diluluskan dengan beberapa syarat.
Antara syarat yang ditetapkan oleh kerajaan negeri ialah tidak ada sebarang aktiviti dijalankan di antara jam 7.20 malam hingga 8.40 malam bagi menghormati waktu Maghrib, tidak diadakan di kawasan sekolah dan tiap-tiap aktiviti dan persembahan yang akan diadakan hendaklah mematuhi sepenuhnya Enakmen Hiburan Negeri.
Bagaimanapun, kerajaan negeri tidak mendapat sebarang maklum balas daripada kementerian berkenaan setelah menetapkan beberapa syarat berhubung program tersebut.
Akhbar Berita Harian semalam melaporkan bahawa kerajaan PAS Terengganu menolak permohonan kementerian berkenaan untuk mengadakan program kongsi raya tersebut.
Turut dilaporkan ialah kenyataan Menteri Besar Terengganu, Dato' Seri Haji Abdul Hadi Awang yang mengatakan permohonan berkenaan ditolak setelah mengambil kira tiga faktor yang dinyatakan di atas.
"Sedangkan, kerajaan negeri telah meluluskan permohonan itu dengan meminta kementerian terbabit mematuhi tiga syarat yang ditetapkan," tegas Haji Zahari ketika dihubungi Harakahdaily.
Bagaimanapun, kata beliau, kerajaan negeri melihat kementerian terbabit enggan mematuhi salah satu antara syarat iaitu memindahkan tapak program tersebut ke tempat lain.
Tambah Haji Zahari, dalam surat bertarikh 5 Feb yang dihantar kepada Pejabat Kebudayaan dan Kesenian Negeri Terengganu, kerajaan negeri telah mencadangkan agar program tersebut diadakan di Taman Budaya, di kawasan Lagun Kuala Ibai yang memang khusus disediakan untuk program seumpama itu.
"Kerajaan negeri mencadangkan supaya program itu diadakan di Taman Budaya, di mana ia merupakan sebuah lokasi yang dikira bertepatan dan bersesuaian dengan program tersebut dan tidak mengganggu lalulintas, berbanding jika diadakan di kawasan sekolah," jelas beliau.
Kementerian terbabit dalam surat permohonannya kepada Majlis Perbandaran Kuala Terengganu (MPKT) berhasrat mengadakan program tersebut di padang Sekolah Kebangsaan Sultan Sulaiman 1, Kuala Terengganu.
Harakahdaily turut difahamkan bahawa pihak polis negeri juga menghadapi masalah serta berasa serba salah dalam membenarkan program tersebut diadakan di kawasan sekolah berkenaan kerana ia boleh menimbulkan kesulitan kepada pihak polis yang bertugas mengawal lalulintas, berbanding jika diadakan di Taman Budaya.
Ketika ditanya mengenai ketegasan kementerian terbabit untuk meneruskan program tersebut malam ini, beliau hanya mengatakan bahawa setakat ini kerajaan negeri sudahpun menjalankan tanggungjawab dan bertindak mengikut bidang kuasa kerajaan negeri.
Program yang akan dirasmikan oleh Abdul Kadir itu turut membariskan kumpulan Alleycats, Hijjaz, Waheeda, Jamal Abdillah, Yusri KRU, Dikir Puteri, Orkestra Cina dan Tarian Singa 24 Seasons Drum. (mn)
but yet, the ruling parties, especially MCA and Kadir are still b1tch1ng about it. makes me feel msian politics reached a new childish low.
08-02-2004, 04:00 AM
i like 8) the best. it's a cool looking smiley.
However, i still prefer the original ascii version. nowadays, smiley has been transformed to. much to accomodate n3+ ub3rn00b3r demand.
back to the issue, it turns out that the event was carried out because the terengganu state govt allowed it.
From PAS' Harakah.
KUALA TERENGGANU, 6 Feb (Hrkh) - Kerajaan Terengganu telah meluluskan permohonan Kementerian Kebudayaan, Kesenian dan Pelancongan untuk menganjurkan Program Kongsi Raya Rumah Terbuka Tahun Baru Cina 2004 yang dijadualkan berlangsung malam ini dengan syarat pihak penganjur mematuhi peraturan yang ditetapkan.
Antaranya mengadakannya selepas Maghrib, dipindahkan ke Taman Budaya dan mematuhi Enakmen Hiburan Negeri Terengganu.
Menurut Setiausaha Akhbar kepada Menteri Besar Terengganu, Haji Zahari Mohamed, Pejabat Setiausaha Kerajaan Terengganu dan Majlis Perbandaran Kuala Terengganu (MPKT) melalui surat bertarikh 4 dan 5 Februari lalu menetapkan bahawa program tersebut diluluskan dengan beberapa syarat.
Antara syarat yang ditetapkan oleh kerajaan negeri ialah tidak ada sebarang aktiviti dijalankan di antara jam 7.20 malam hingga 8.40 malam bagi menghormati waktu Maghrib, tidak diadakan di kawasan sekolah dan tiap-tiap aktiviti dan persembahan yang akan diadakan hendaklah mematuhi sepenuhnya Enakmen Hiburan Negeri.
Bagaimanapun, kerajaan negeri tidak mendapat sebarang maklum balas daripada kementerian berkenaan setelah menetapkan beberapa syarat berhubung program tersebut.
Akhbar Berita Harian semalam melaporkan bahawa kerajaan PAS Terengganu menolak permohonan kementerian berkenaan untuk mengadakan program kongsi raya tersebut.
Turut dilaporkan ialah kenyataan Menteri Besar Terengganu, Dato' Seri Haji Abdul Hadi Awang yang mengatakan permohonan berkenaan ditolak setelah mengambil kira tiga faktor yang dinyatakan di atas.
"Sedangkan, kerajaan negeri telah meluluskan permohonan itu dengan meminta kementerian terbabit mematuhi tiga syarat yang ditetapkan," tegas Haji Zahari ketika dihubungi Harakahdaily.
Bagaimanapun, kata beliau, kerajaan negeri melihat kementerian terbabit enggan mematuhi salah satu antara syarat iaitu memindahkan tapak program tersebut ke tempat lain.
Tambah Haji Zahari, dalam surat bertarikh 5 Feb yang dihantar kepada Pejabat Kebudayaan dan Kesenian Negeri Terengganu, kerajaan negeri telah mencadangkan agar program tersebut diadakan di Taman Budaya, di kawasan Lagun Kuala Ibai yang memang khusus disediakan untuk program seumpama itu.
"Kerajaan negeri mencadangkan supaya program itu diadakan di Taman Budaya, di mana ia merupakan sebuah lokasi yang dikira bertepatan dan bersesuaian dengan program tersebut dan tidak mengganggu lalulintas, berbanding jika diadakan di kawasan sekolah," jelas beliau.
Kementerian terbabit dalam surat permohonannya kepada Majlis Perbandaran Kuala Terengganu (MPKT) berhasrat mengadakan program tersebut di padang Sekolah Kebangsaan Sultan Sulaiman 1, Kuala Terengganu.
Harakahdaily turut difahamkan bahawa pihak polis negeri juga menghadapi masalah serta berasa serba salah dalam membenarkan program tersebut diadakan di kawasan sekolah berkenaan kerana ia boleh menimbulkan kesulitan kepada pihak polis yang bertugas mengawal lalulintas, berbanding jika diadakan di Taman Budaya.
Ketika ditanya mengenai ketegasan kementerian terbabit untuk meneruskan program tersebut malam ini, beliau hanya mengatakan bahawa setakat ini kerajaan negeri sudahpun menjalankan tanggungjawab dan bertindak mengikut bidang kuasa kerajaan negeri.
Program yang akan dirasmikan oleh Abdul Kadir itu turut membariskan kumpulan Alleycats, Hijjaz, Waheeda, Jamal Abdillah, Yusri KRU, Dikir Puteri, Orkestra Cina dan Tarian Singa 24 Seasons Drum. (mn)
but yet, the ruling parties, especially MCA and Kadir are still b1tch1ng about it. makes me feel msian politics reached a new childish low.
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2004/2/7/latest/15879KTopenho&sec=latest
bitchiness. and of course they are not telling people that the state government allowed their little party. i guess they prefer the image of holding an illegal gathering because they are "right"
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2004/2/7/latest/15879KTopenho&sec=latest
bitchiness. and of course they are not telling people that the state government allowed their little party. i guess they prefer the image of holding an illegal gathering because they are "right"
08-02-2004, 06:07 AM
|3!+?#iness. and of course they are not telling people that the state government allowed their little party. i guess they prefer the image of holding an illegal gathering because they are "right"
considering the star is MCA-owned - the bias is unavoidable.
08-02-2004, 06:07 AM
|3!+?#iness. and of course they are not telling people that the state government allowed their little party. i guess they prefer the image of holding an illegal gathering because they are "right"
considering the star is MCA-owned - the bias is unavoidable.
singaporean press is even more biased, right, jiinjoo? :)
does anyone have any recommendations of reliable alternative news sources? preferably ones that are available online, and for free :P
singaporean press is even more biased, right, jiinjoo? :)
does anyone have any recommendations of reliable alternative news sources? preferably ones that are available online, and for free :P
08-02-2004, 07:38 AM
I guess the best thing would be to read newspapers from various different sources... I read from NST, Star, Berita Harian, Utusan, Malaysiakini, Nanyang, Sinchew, Singapore ST every day to see what is their take on various issues...Although I don't read from cover to cover or every news, I do glance through each of the paper online version daily.
08-02-2004, 07:38 AM
I guess the best thing would be to read newspapers from various different sources... I read from NST, Star, Berita Harian, Utusan, Malaysiakini, Nanyang, Sinchew, Singapore ST every day to see what is their take on various issues...Although I don't read from cover to cover or every news, I do glance through each of the paper online version daily.
I read from NST, Star, Berita Harian, Utusan, Malaysiakini, Nanyang, Sinchew, Singapore ST every day to see what is their take on various issues..
wow..... 8O
*impressed*
I read from NST, Star, Berita Harian, Utusan, Malaysiakini, Nanyang, Sinchew, Singapore ST every day to see what is their take on various issues..
wow..... 8O
*impressed*