View Full Version : Cambridge Interview 2006 Entry
I had my interview today. Made an Open application.
The interview was *@<hidden>#$%^! Got bombarded with questions. One arugument broaches another. Argh. The interviewer was friendly but he was one heck of a debator!
20-10-2005, 07:30 PM
Perhaps you could share some of your experience over here, so that it would be beneficial to fellow ReComers. Lets promote the sharing and learning together.
Patrick
21-10-2005, 01:39 PM
Mind to share more about your interview?
Eg. The questions he asked and stuff like that?
how to apply ah?
Its closed for 2006 entry.
Get in touch with MABECS or the british council, fill in ur UCAS application and a separation cambridge application and u will be called for an interview.
21-10-2005, 08:02 PM
Come on man! More information about the interview...
Last time, mine was totally crap. It's not really an interview...more like a tutorial instead. I was asked to solve some technical questions in Biology, Chemistry and Mathematics....and to be honest, it's really freaking simple....just that I didn't revise before that and screwed up everything... *lol* such a waste...
The interviewer didnt even ask why I chose to apply to Cambridge. :twisted:
Neither did he ask me about why i chose Cambridge.
Yes, i agree that the interview is so tutorial-like {his monologue}
I applied to read medicine.
Some of the questions i can remember.
A[interviewer], I[ the pathetic inteviewee]
A: I see you are from [insert name of college]
I: Yes.
A: I have a Malaysian student.
I: Ok. That's great.
A: He told me he doesn't want to go to Russia.
I: I see.
A: He is a Malaysian scholar.
I: Oh.*trying to say sth.anything* he must be one of the top scorers in malaysia then.
A: errr....he is....quite.........hardworking.
I: Ok.wow.
A: Have u entered for bmat?
I: Yes, i have.
A: You have your no now?
I: I'm afraid i dun have it now.
A: [pointed at my form] this space is blank.
I: Wells, I have sent an email to the admission office to tell them abt my no. They hav replied, saying that they hav entered the no onto the form.
A: I see. The form was photocopied prior to that then.
I: My fault. *smile*
A: No no not at all. Their fault.[tried to convince himself] certainly their fault.
I: *smile*
A:Lets talk about recent outbreaks of diseases like bird flu, influenza, aids, [insert one unheard disease]
I: Oh, bird flu is quite recent.
A: No, i assume u know about bird flu*laughing cynically*
I: I do.
A: Lets talk about [one rare disease]
I: I have never heard of that disease.
A: It's common among [ insert medical terms u have never heard of]
I: Oh. Interesting. What's the cause?
A: It's caused by[complicated terms, again]
I: Any questions for me?
A: Err. No. I have told you the answer.
I: Haha. [sweating profusely]
A: Tell me about [specific things about some rare animals]
I: [i happened to know the very 1st one. So i talked about it. ]
A: You have any idea about [specific things about the 2nd animal]
I: Sorry i read about it last time. i have forgotten.
A: Oh. ok.
I: Im more interested in human beings.
A: I see.
The interview took about 20-25 minutes. I am afraid i did badly, if not mediocre. There's no specific preparation required. The thinking process matters more. But you must think fast, because he changes the topic fast.
Forgot to mention.
I made an Open application and my interviewer is from Christ's.
yuckfou
22-10-2005, 07:53 AM
I: Oh.*trying to say sth.anything* he must be one of the top scorers in malaysia then.
I: Wells, I have sent an email to the admission office to tell them abt my no. They hav replied, saying that they hav entered the no onto the form.
A: No no not at all. Their fault.[tried to convince himself] certainly their fault.
A:Lets talk about recent outbreaks of diseases like bird flu, influenza, aids, [insert one unheard disease]
The interview took about 20-25 minutes. I am afraid i did badly, if not mediocre. There's no specific preparation required. The thinking process matters more. But you must think fast, because he changes the topic fast.
Wow... your answers are short. Too short. I definitely don't know how the interviewer graded you. But one thing for sure, if it was like a job interview, you'll never make it past 5 minutes and walk out the door. Job interviews are normally 4 - 6 hours long with 1 hour per interviewer.
You definitely don't look interested in answering the questions or even having the conversation. Saying that you've forgotten about something is never a good idea.
Well, this is my opinion and only based on what you've described. It could have been different from what you've actually experienced.
One good advice, don't answer a question with just a few words. It shows your interest and knowledge regarding the topic.
Later...
Wow... your answers are short. Too short. I definitely don't know how the interviewer graded you. But one thing for sure, if it was like a job interview, you'll never make it past 5 minutes and walk out the door. Job interviews are normally 4 - 6 hours long with 1 hour per interviewer.
You definitely don't look interested in answering the questions or even having the conversation. Saying that you've forgotten about something is never a good idea.
Well, this is my opinion and only based on what you've described. It could have been different from what you've actually experienced.
One good advice, don't answer a question with just a few words. It shows your interest and knowledge regarding the topic.
Later...
Lolz. Good comments, really.
Thanks. Will heed your advice ;)
But seriously...in the first part, how should you answer?
pangping1510
22-10-2005, 03:01 PM
i also feel that your answer is too short, not good to attract the interviewer's attention. it seems like you are forced to go to the interview.lol, no hard feelings, thats my opinion. anyway, best of luck :lol:
windrunner
22-10-2005, 03:49 PM
I had the nicest interviewer (I) EVER. I hope she does not think badly of me (M).
M: HI (loud).
I: It is nice to have a physicist for a change after so many engineers.
M: Well, they are the same to me.
I: No, they are not. Why do choose natscience.
M: Flexibility, i might want to have a go at biology before focusing. SPM is definitely not enough... World class research, learning the facts is one thing, but having the skills and analytical ability is another. Perhaps , i could have a go at it (something like that).....
I: (A little annoyed, maybe it is just me)Fair enough. Now, You need math for physics , so let us start with some calculus.
M: (work , work , work, trying to derive formula, appears puzzled)
I: Well, there is a relationship for that...
M: I know, i am deriving it now.
I:Let me cut it short and give you the formula....
end of math
I: Now, let me ask you some gravitational question.
........went on with gravitational potential............
How do you relate this with mgh?
M: I am afraid i already know the answer since i came very early, can you please change the question.
I: (laugh, laugh) Ok, that is fair i guess. Now, why does light pass through glass and not metal.
M:Hmmm,........... wavelength??
I:No, what is light?
M: A pack of photons......
I: and it has.....
M: Energy?
I:What kind?
M:.... (i was thinking about kinetic, my bad , since em is like moving)
I:You know, the one that vibrates....
M: EM? That is an energy? (i thought kinetic)
I: Yes , it is.
M: OH oH, i know i know,(start to draw on paper like a madman) because metal has delocalised electrons, thus require less energy to be excited , and then it shoots light out (reflection). If they are reflected , then they can't go through.
I: What about glass.
M: Glass has a fixed structure, electrons are binded strong, harder to be excited, thus it passes through.....
...........................................cannot finish.....................................
And a lot more (technical) questions , the only non-technical part was when i mumbled about hating simple arithmatic. Then she started (laughing then serious) warning me about that..... opps.
That was the best 20 minutes of my physics life, I don't mind not gettin it. I hope my TSA is good...
I cannot finish my essay....
By the way, she is Dr Susan Stobbs ...... I salute her.
Europa
22-10-2005, 05:33 PM
I had the nicest interviewer (I) EVER. I hope she does not think badly of me (M).
M: HI (loud).
I: It is nice to have a physicist for a change after so many engineers.
M: Well, they are the same to me.
I: No, they are not. Why do choose natscience.
M: Flexibility, i might want to have a go at biology before focusing. SPM is definitely not enough... World class research, learning the facts is one thing, but having the skills and analytical ability is another. Perhaps , i could have a go at it (something like that).....
I: (A little annoyed, maybe it is just me)Fair enough. Now, You need math for physics , so let us start with some calculus.
M: (work , work , work, trying to derive formula, appears puzzled)
I: Well, there is a relationship for that...
M: I know, i am deriving it now.
I:Let me cut it short and give you the formula....
end of math
I: Now, let me ask you some gravitational question.
........went on with gravitational potential............
How do you relate this with mgh?
M: I am afraid i already know the answer since i came very early, can you please change the question.
I: (laugh, laugh) Ok, that is fair i guess. Now, why does light pass through glass and not metal.
M:Hmmm,........... wavelength??
I:No, what is light?
M: A pack of photons......
I: and it has.....
M: Energy?
I:What kind?
M:.... (i was thinking about kinetic, my bad , since em is like moving)
I:You know, the one that vibrates....
M: EM? That is an energy? (i thought kinetic)
I: Yes , it is.
M: OH oH, i know i know,(start to draw on paper like a madman) because metal has delocalised electrons, thus require less energy to be excited , and then it shoots light out (reflection). If they are reflected , then they can't go through.
I: What about glass.
M: Glass has a fixed structure, electrons are binded strong, harder to be excited, thus it passes through.....
...........................................cannot finish.....................................
And a lot more (technical) questions , the only non-technical part was when i mumbled about hating simple arithmatic. Then she started (laughing then serious) warning me about that..... opps.
That was the best 20 minutes of my physics life, I don't mind not gettin it. I hope my TSA is good...
I cannot finish my essay....
By the way, she is Dr Susan Stobbs ...... I salute her.
Dude, where were you interviewed? The recounting sounds very familar to me...
BTW, glass does not have a rigid lattice structure. It is has a uniform amorphous structure (which displays both liquid and solid properties). Ironically, that same question was also a 'recycled' one. :D
I think the answer is that the absorption of glass is outside visible light wavelengths but metals absorbs visible wavelengths. If you read up the part on Photoelectric effect, the basics are there. Electrons in metals can be excited by absorption of visible light whereas in glass the corresponding absorption wavelengths are out of the visible light spectra. Thus visible light passes through glass but is absorbed in solid metals.
windrunner
22-10-2005, 06:26 PM
Omit the rigid part, i did not say that, wasn't thinking right , sorry...
You are right about the wavelength part, which leads directly to the energy difference... (man , photoelectric has not been taught, thank goodness i read the book)
BTW, i was interviewed in Taylor's college, you should know me, the nervous one......
Europa
22-10-2005, 07:25 PM
I'm guessing you're the third NSP candidate to be interviewed yesterday? The one planning to do Biophysics? :D
windrunner
22-10-2005, 07:30 PM
And you are the one who loves astrophysics?
Ahh, small world i must say. Only 4 NSP...
Europa
22-10-2005, 08:26 PM
Aye, you've obiviously guessed right (must change my nick!). Its not a small world, just that we're a small group of 'weird' people. :D
There is this saying that Oxford is the Original, Cambridge is the Copy...........
Mrs Susan Stobbs is the director of admissions of cambridge colleges. There's a Dr Kelvin Bowkett too.
Europa
23-10-2005, 08:40 PM
There is this saying that Oxford is the Original, Cambridge is the Copy...........
Heh, sounds like someone from the Dark Side talking there.
Yeah, Dr. Stobbs is the Director of Admissions (Science) for the University. So all Engineering and NSP applicants beware, if you're BSing you'll be found out very quickly espcially since she's a Theoretical Physicist! 8O
Dr. Bowkett is a Senior Tutor, but I'm not sure what is his specialty other than he has something with do with Cambridge Malaysia Applications Office.
shouldn't it be NST? Natural Science Tripos........
Heh, sounds like someone from the Dark Side talking there.
It goes well, doesn't it?
O is to O, C is to C
Oh no, i think i have done very badly during the interview! *sobs*
Unlike windrunner, i don't find the interview enjoyable. Sigh. I have screwed up really badly.
Haha. Who's the Cam student who doesn't want to go to Russia?
*Scratching my head*
Anyone else from mara banting, tunku kurshiah, sunway, taylors, and kyuem to share ur experience? C'mon lets have fun comparing!
Patrick
24-10-2005, 12:08 PM
Hehe, I'm from MARA Banting, but a first-year IB student.
A number of my seniors went for the interview.
We're having our 3-week holiday now, so I have not heard any news about their interviews, except a SMS from my senior saying this :
The interview was tough. Be prepared if you want to apply.
XD
windrunner
24-10-2005, 04:05 PM
The interview was not that tough, you just have to know what you are doing. Please do not think that the interviewers know nothing about your field (even if they specialise in something else). For example, a scientist can ask you about the general things of law eventhough they may not know the specific terms of it. (they usually do i guess)
They will also give you new situations in which you need to analyse carefully, remember the principle is the same, don't think that they are trying to trick you or something.
The math interview was quite hard so i heard, a little bit of further math so to speak, but then it should not be hard for people who are applying for math (which i assume that you have taken the most challenging courses in math) in Cambridge. Of course, be prepared for the written math test though, it is the 'pumped up' version of further math test.
As for the rest, just read your book, listen to your teacher, and be CALM.
For oxford. Was asked to integrate a function, a pretty standard function, a function when integrated will yield sin inverse.......
caramel_nut
24-10-2005, 07:33 PM
My interview was conducted by Dr Susan Stobbs as well. Very nice lady. I applied for Engineering, open application.
Regarding the application process, first of all, get the forms from either your college or MABECS. Complete the two forms(one is the application form, the other one is for the interview), attach your personal statement for UCAS(UCAS is the online system we use to apply for UK universities. For Cambridge, you have to submit both Cambridge forms and the online UCAS form), and give it to your college official to fill in the rest, such as teacher's testimonial, blah blah blah..... Your college will most probably be glad to help you courier the forms to Cambridge, but make sure they do so before the deadline. The deadline for each year varies but usually it's around September or November. Another thing, Cambridge will ask you to state the college you prefer (Cambridge is a collegiate university. Read more about this yourself. Too much spoon-feeding already). If you don't know which college to choose, it's then advisable to submit an open application. Most Malaysian students put in an open application. If you choose a certain college, you have to explain your reasons for doing so.
Choose your subject carefully. Competitive subject like Medicine is very, very difficult to gain admission as there is a quota of 20 international students only per year. Anyway, Malaysia has a considerably big share of the 20 each year. If you apply for Medicine or Veterinary, you have to take the BMAT(BioMedical Admissions Test); Law, the LNAT and Maths, the STEP. The cost of BMAT and LNAT is RM500. STEP's cost, I'm not really sure(I think it's free as well) but I can ask my friend and update the info later. For the other subjects, you have to take the Thinking Skills Assesment and an essay test (free of charge). You don't have to take IELTS if you have an A1 or A2 for your 1119.
The interview is a very important component of the application. Since most applicants' results are rather similar- strings of As, the interview is your only way to shine among the applicants. I had my interview last Friday, 21st of October. Dr Stobbs began the interview by asking me to describe the place I come from(I mentioned that I'm an outstation student) and why I choose Engineering. Then, she proceeded by asking two very easy calculus questions (I screwed it up though, too nervous, I tried to intergrate the differentiation question. She told me and I quickly corrected it). Then I was asked to sketch a graph, won't be a problem for Further Maths students. y=x/(x^2-2x-1). I also screwed this one, didn't revise my further maths. argh!! Anyway, if you don't know how to proceed with the questions, they'll always help you by giving you some prompts.
Then I had some Physics questions- If I drop a chain on a table, describe how I would calculate the force exerted by the chain on the table. Is the force constant, incresing or decreasing? How does a helicopter remain at its position in the air? Calculate the voltage passing through a resistor in a circuit, she drew the circuit on the spot. Very easy, the usual type you find in SPM Physics but I also screwed it. Haih... As an engineer, how can I help to reduce the global warming? I don't remember if there was anymore.
Usually the interviewer will ask you things related to the subject you applied for. So you must know your A Level, STPM(yes, you can apply with your STPM results), and IB syllabus really thoroughly. Extra reading will always be helpful because they might ask you the current issue in the respective industry. I myself did quite a thorough reading of fuel cell, hybrid cars and photvoltaic cell. My interviewer didn't ask about it, a bit disappointed but still, it's always good to be prepared.
Then I took my written test on the consecutive day. Thinking Skills Assessment is totally the same as the thinking skills subject I take for my A Level, so not a big problem but the time was cut short by half an hour. Managed to finish everything at a steady pace. Pretty satisfied with the TSA. Then staightaway, we continued with the essay. For each subject, there'll be 3 options to choose from. Write one only in half an hour. Engineering questions: (1) Why does bicycle have gear? (2) The chemical industry - hero or villain? (3) Sorry, can't remember, don't even understand the question. hehe. Finish writing my essay in time but I think it was all craps and nonsense...
Next week, I'll know which college is processing my application. The results will be out usually end of Dec or early Jan. You can either be accepted (conditional offer if you apply with forecast results), rejected or winter pooled. If you are pooled, you still stand a slim chance of getting admitted. Another college might have extra places and pull you in to their college. Pray really hard if you get pooled.
I guess this is all I can tell about the whole Cambridge application process. If any of you still have doubt, plz email or IM me. Btw, the Cambridge University Malaysia Society has a website at www.cumas.org.
windrunner
24-10-2005, 08:12 PM
Well written!!
Anyway, just to add that STEP was most probably replaced by Saturday's test, it is not TSA, just another maths paper. Same difficulty , less time.
I do not think you can ever finish all the questions for math, like STEP.
How well should i do for the Bmat to gain admission?
Aiks. Heard it's hard!
Europa
25-10-2005, 11:50 AM
Well, the BMAT, LNAT and TSA are all designed to give the respective candidates a challenge in answering them. So, I guess the most basic stuff you could do is to brush up on your 'critico-creative' thinking (basically TKS la) :D since from what I've heard and experienced, in all the papers you are given a stimulus and you have to give logically reasoned answers.
As for TSA, it is tougher than the usual TKS Paper 1 that you have to sit for A-Levels, but as long as you have grasped the skills thought in TKS, you should have no problem doing most of the questions. Plus, if you have done enough practice in A-Levels doing 50 MCQs in 90mins shouldn't be a big problem. (Had a few problems here and there, since I last sat for TKS in June but overall it was still ok)
All TSA candidates are given this TSA Essay booklet during the MCQ session, containing about 8 sets of three questions each for every individual course that TSA caters for (Econs, NSP, NSB etc). If I remember correctly, I think the 2nd question for NSB students is asking about stem cells. For NSP, the first question was to talk about one or two areas in Physics or Chemistry that you think would be the most exciting avenues for development in the future, and the second is asking you to imagine that you're giving a lecture about nanotechnology to the general public, and you'll have to explain what is nanotechnology (duh, so simple) and talk about some of the applications of nanotechnology. Can't remember the third one though.
I choose the first question and decided to talk on both string theory and nanotechnology. (partly due to interest and partly to 'kill' two birds with one stone :P) But most importantly, like what Dr. Deva said, answer ONLY ONE question from the choice you are applying for, not all three! :)
In my interview, the questions started off with a pulsar, its characteristics, its formation (why is it a so-called neutron star?), and what prevents gravitational collapse in an active star. I don't think any of you would get this set of questions, since I mentioned about them in my PS as my childhood interest, and she used that as a starting point to get 'warmed up'. So don't start panicking and start reading up on astronomy! :lol:
Next, we went to the chain. Then we went to gravitational potential, and after a few more questions relate it to GPE=mgh when change in g is negligible (hung just two lines away from the answer! :oops: How embarassing!)
Then my last question is Archimedes principle. 8O First the definition, then asked to find the fraction of a floating object submerged in water. Then moving on, for a Fe sphere floating in Hg liquid, what would happen to the position of the sphere when water is poured over the Hg?
zell_ll
30-10-2005, 04:06 AM
The interview is fun and be prepared to be ask question outside of syllabus(which they know u can't answer but they will help u a lot)....n more than 90% tecnical question..all the best to all n GooD LucK :D
GooD Luck in BMAT too.....