View Full Version : STUDENT WORKING IN LONDON - Part time / Full Time

edbravo
21-10-2005, 04:59 AM
Hi everyone. :D
I am interested to know about the working atmosphere in England especially London. Since nowdays student are allowed to work about 20hrs/week during their term time, i was wondering what jobs do you guys have and how much does it pay? how many hours do you work for a week? have anyone work beyond 20 hrs/week and how did you get through it? and what are the best evening or night jobs in London?

Basically, i would appreciate your total experience. Please contribute so knowledge here. :lol:

thanks.

21-10-2005, 07:57 PM
Hi everyone. :D
I am interested to know about the working atmosphere in England especially London. Since nowdays student are allowed to work about 20hrs/week during their term time, i was wondering what jobs do you guys have and how much does it pay? how many hours do you work for a week? have anyone work beyond 20 hrs/week and how did you get through it? and what are the best evening or night jobs in London?

Basically, i would appreciate your total experience. Please contribute so knowledge here. :lol:

thanks.

I'm not from London...but in England nevertheless.

The typical pay per hour is around 5-7pounds here in Bristol. And my advice is...never ever work more than 20 hours per week during term time. There's this university student who got deported back to his/her country within few days after being caught just because he/she overworked an extra hour (21 hours instead of 20)... So they are really strict about this...

edbravo
22-10-2005, 09:28 PM
wow this sounds scary. do you know anyone who didnt get caught? :D

22-10-2005, 11:50 PM
hmm..i've never worked before during term time...but the pay's about ?5/hour in the bars/student union shops.

if you're lucky, you can get some admin job which should pay >?7 i think.

edbravo
23-10-2005, 12:37 AM
i am wondering if anyone had a accounting (bookkeeper) or office admin job before? how did you get paid and how did you managed because most office related works are day-jobs. :D

23-10-2005, 01:33 AM
restaurants r your best bet. try chinatown or mawar edgware road. balibali, malaysia hall. holiday villa hotel

Kazaf
05-11-2005, 02:40 PM
Some jobs pay better than others. I was a supervisor at a secondary school in London near UCL. Essentially, I was a paid 'pengawas'! Lol. Good pay - 12 pounds per hour!

My friend (Malaysian, LSE) who was a part-time mobile phone salesman at Phones4u in London made quite a lot of money actually!

bush
05-11-2005, 05:16 PM
pengawas? what did you do?

Kazaf
06-11-2005, 12:18 AM
pengawas? what did you do?
Exactly what a 'pengawas' does in a Malaysian secondary school - making sure that students line up in the canteen, clear their plates and rubbish after they eat, etc. :)

But it was a pretty rough school. I saw with my own eyes the vast disparity between the students at the independent (i.e. private) schools and the state schools. Most of my British friends at UCL came from independent schools, and I have actually spent some time with an English friend who lived in a countryside mansion and attended a posh medieval school! When I contrast his school with the one I taught at, the students are really light years apart.

HOWEVER, what is interesting is that their respective facilities are not light years apart. Of course, the independent schools have better facilities, but the state schools are not bad at all.

bush
06-11-2005, 03:32 PM
macam itu pun boleh kah?

airseal
06-11-2005, 10:15 PM
Can we support our own tuition fees and cost of living in UK by ourself by working part time during term and also full time during summer hoidays??

I heard that we might get 2k per month during summer holidays.
If 5X20X4=400pound/month,,,11k per semester for tuition fees.......
Cost of living i dun noe....

Can I???

bush
07-11-2005, 12:03 AM
Can we support our own tuition fees and cost of living in UK by ourself by working part time during term and also full time during summer hoidays??

Can I???

Highly unlikely, most universities would not take it as a proof of financial stability.

airseal
07-11-2005, 11:06 PM

Can I???

Highly unlikely, most universities would not take it as a proof of financial stability.

Proof of financial stability???

bush
07-11-2005, 11:43 PM
Before you enrol yourself, the university requires you to produce a proof of your financial status, that you are able to finance your education for the 3-4 year period.

It is highly unlikely to finance your education by working part-time, so the universities wouldn't recognise it as a source of financing your studies.

Kazaf
08-11-2005, 03:34 AM

Can I???
I think it would be impossible. The tuition fee alone would be 10,000 pounds, plus at least another 5,000 pounds for living expenses. You can't possible earn enough to cover that. Even the highest paying summer job (internship at an investment bank) would only pay you around 8,000 pounds for your second year summer.

airseal
08-11-2005, 11:42 PM
Basicly,me cant study in UK without scholarship la.....

Might digress frm this thread but what if i make bank loan,then work part time there while sudyin and repay the bank loan after we started working at UK?

Can tat be our proof of financial status?

bush
09-11-2005, 04:49 PM
Yes, I believe Bank loans can be used as a proof.

Put it this way, the income for part time work cannot be used as the only source of financing your education, it is just additional pocket money.

Secondly, it is EXTREMELY DIFFICULT to get a job in the UK after your studies. It's not easy to get a work permit, even non-EU footballers have problems with the work permit though they are employed by big clubs.

09-11-2005, 09:16 PM
yes, it's not that easy to get a job here...experiencing it currently. Anyway, if you have certain 'expert' skills like coding & designing in Flash, ORACLE, SQL database knowledge, etc already, you can do some freelance work here. I have a friend who earns on average ~?1500-2000/month during the year when he decided to do some freelance work.

airseal
09-11-2005, 10:11 PM
Thx for all the info.Btw,aren't british prefer asian then others cause we are more hardwoking??

Btw,even though we graduate wif good results in Uni there still wont gurantee a job??? Then why many JPA scholars which studied there doesnt want to come back to our country??

bush
10-11-2005, 12:05 AM
Not really, they go for people who can get the job done, be it asian or caucasian.

Yes, you won't be given a job even though you scored great. To get a work permit itself is a hassle, your company must sponsor you and state why they want to hire a foreigner when there are so many other qualified locals and EU citizens around. So unless you are some rare species that everybody wants, you will most likely be coming home after your studies.

regarding JPA scholars, if i am not mistaken, they are doctors, they are needed very much everywhere in the world.

Wedko
23-11-2005, 01:51 AM
I have a friend managed to spend only 2k pounds for the whole year during his study but it was not in London.

It is very expensive to live in London.

rent min 60 pounds per week , very crappy one
transport 50 -100 pounds a month, depending on the where you live
food - cook by yourself 10-30 pounds per week

so minimum you will need about 100 pounds a week which is 400 pounds a month.

as for part-time work it is not difficult to find a job in the restaurants, but your pay will be very low - let say 6 pounds an hour x 20 = 120 pounds per week. After tax will be less than that.

Office job -- very rarely you could get it unless your english is really good (not Malaysian english though)

Accounting or bookeeping job, if you have a qualification such as ACCA or AAT, then you could get a higher rate.