View Full Version : Welcome to the Psychology SIG, plz introduce urselves here..

FCHP
03-11-2005, 08:18 PM
Although we would have probably introduced ourselves in the recom main forum but for the benefit of people here, let's redo a bit of introductions with perhaps a little more emphasis on psychology. How we are involved in it? Our background in psychology and perhaps our interests in any particular fields of psychology.. Oh and also please give some suggestions for activities or for the visionary types what you envision this SIG to become so we can try to work together and put some plans into action...

Since this is a psychology SIG, my Myers Brigg personality type is performer which i obtained from the following site http://www.bbc.co.uk/science/humanbody/mind/articles/personalityandindividuality/whatamilike/performer.shtml
and i totally disagree with it :)

Well the "totally" part was just for effect, actually some parts are agreeable but i don't think it describes me well. Just shows my support for psychology huh... :) anyway on with the introductions...

Name: Fabian Chan Huan Pheng
Current Location: Sabah
Hometown: Sitiawan

Actually i've no background in psychology haha... though because of my field which is information technology, i have worked in the analysis of psychological data with some other psychology student. Oh and i've also gone around asking people to fill in questionnaires on behalf of banshee who is the real psychology moderator haha...

But to be honest, i've had an interest in people (didn't call it psychology at that time) from my teenage years and i'm sure you'll find this really weird but i had a log book of friends. A book in which i alphabetically ordered profiles of my friends. When i met them, how i met them, how much i' ve gotten to know them, how they've changed... well you get the picture... better stop before making myself sound more like some homocidal maniac... :)
maybe i'll elaborate on that next time... about what i did with it...hahaha...

On the activities part, I think i'll let banshee brief on that but one of my abilities i can share for psychology is on data analysis, my research deals with automated analysis of seemingly useless data in order to extract information. For example, like analysis of supermarket receipts to find out what stuff people usually buy together thus allowing supermarkets to strategically arrange associated stuff on the same shelf.... did you know diapers and beer is associated? :) anyway this is my area and i'll explain more later about automated analysis...

On to the next person then... :)

banshee
04-11-2005, 12:43 PM
Hiya...

^_^ konnichiwa...
my name is Coral Lean,
a 2nd year counseling psychology student of UMS.
planning to further my study in clinical psy.

because of my interest in psychology, wish to find someone else who's also interested in it too...

em...what else?
pls feel free to join our SIG~

no matter if you feel slightly interested in pscyhology, or always browse through the self-help corner n try to find something which suits u, or.. wondering how human's mind function, and what;s the difference between guys and girls, women and men~

this is a place for u, hop in!

~coral

04-11-2005, 12:46 PM

interested in stuffs like PRS, NLP, orgonomy, WIE, MC conspiracy, and Jungian theory.

and I think psychology is very limited...
prefer to explore psyche via quantum physics :D

banshee
04-11-2005, 02:39 PM
please refer to my other forum
introduction of psychology, thanks~

~coral

04-11-2005, 02:51 PM
seehua aka the ghost...

not directly involved in the field of psychology, but interested in it nevertheless..

will be taking optical electronics engineeering in germany...

been doing counselling for other ppl for a few months and love to observe and learn from my surroundings...

nice to meet you all there :)

banshee
04-11-2005, 02:54 PM
welcome,see hua ^_^
thanks for joining us~ :D

04-11-2005, 02:58 PM
u r welcome :)

05-11-2005, 12:14 AM
seehua aka the ghost...

not directly involved in the field of psychology, but interested in it nevertheless..

will be taking optical electronics engineeering in germany...

been doing counselling for other ppl for a few months and love to observe and learn from my surroundings...

nice to meet you all there :)

so my junior..
prepare to experience weird weather here.. hehe

deRame
05-11-2005, 05:09 AM
my real name is abdur-rahman mohd zahari. i'm currently studying in augsburg, germany (not far from aalen, iQing's study place).

and yeah, just like vseehua, i'm also not directly involved in the field of psychology, but interested to know more about this field. hopefully, i would gain interesting knowledge from this SiG.

FCHP
05-11-2005, 11:25 AM
psyche is pretty interesting or at least relevant to most people save for the really introverted people phobic types...

So welcome everyone :)

05-11-2005, 02:44 PM
I remember when I was in secondary school,
I find graphotheraphie very useful in building character..
try it, it is fun

I recommend balanced zones, vertical slant and middle size.
make it tidy and start slowly :)

writing with left hand helps opening hidden talent as well.

06-11-2005, 10:34 AM
nice to meet you all here too...hope to learn from you guys...

oneforthelord
08-11-2005, 12:26 AM
hello semua! Me am Jamie, just joined ReCom today. Didn't really know this place existed! I'm a Psych major in NUS right now, on to my second year.

Psychology for me is really a means to an end: I want to help people, especially those locked up in asylums. As such, my interest is mainly Abnormal Psych, leaning toward Clinical/Counseling. I plan to further my studies in Auckland Uni, and then go PhD-ing in Stanford if possible. My dream is to be the best Clinical Psychologist in the world! Muahahaha :)

I believe this is a great way to network. Next time when we graduate can already have international contacts with other Psychologists :D

*edit*

By the way, I took the personality survey and lo and behold, I'm a Counselor! Fits exactly into the way I function :D

http://www.bbc.co.uk/science/humanbody/mind/surveys/whatamilike/index_5.shtml?personality_type=counsellor

08-11-2005, 09:37 AM
way to go man...

haha...it's my main aim to help out others too...but in a different way...let's make the world a better place to live in :)

hmm..yea, took the test last nite and i'm a innovator..which features fits me the most..though i hv lots of personality traits from other classes as well...perhaps i'm the jack of all trades and master of none??..just kidding la...i realize that i do hv my own specialties as well...what is it?? i'd prefer not to tell now..those who know me will know what they are...hehe... :wink:

banshee
09-11-2005, 12:14 PM
By the way, I took the personality survey and lo and behold, I'm a Counselor! Fits exactly into the way I function :D

http://www.bbc.co.uk/science/humanbody/mind/surveys/whatamilike/index_5.shtml?personality_type=counsellor

hiya.. :D jamie.. welcome in..
anyway..i think it's good to hear from you..since our group is dominated by engineers..haha...

anyway..good to hear about your dream. counselor, in the MBTI... nice..
i'm a master mind anyway....
http://www.bbc.co.uk/science/humanbody/mind/surveys/whatamilike/index_5.shtml?personality_type=mastermind 8)

lotus
18-11-2005, 02:44 AM
As an accounting student, I'm not even remotely involved in studying psychology. However, I have always suspected I have an inclination towards it. I just tried some psychology tests in the site given by FCHP. I find them interesting and they reveal some interesting details about me. :) My personality; I never guess I am a nurterer?? haha

According to the the career test I should throw away my financial/accounting books and follow my artistic heart and soul!! Without much artistic talent to boast of, I should at least be thinking of social oriented careers such as clinic phychologists. This part of the results must be valid. Otherwise, how do I explain my drifting to this SIG? :? haha

oneforthelord
18-11-2005, 03:22 AM
Haha nice to see you here. Welcome! Though I'm newer than you :P

Throw out your accounting books? Well, not if you want to earn money :lol: Psychologists aren't really that highly paid, you know. Psychiatrists are, but that's because they're medical doctors. So unless you have a deep and burning passion for burning your financial/accounting books, don't burn them :P:P:P

banshee
18-11-2005, 11:52 AM
:) save your accounting books...not everyone can do what they really like in life... ^_*

i might go to be a writer if not major in psychology..hahaa

anyway..welcome in to our Psychology SIG, lotus~

18-11-2005, 10:06 PM
welcome to oneoftheload and lotus...hehe..hope we all can share with each other secrets of our mind here :)

lotus
20-11-2005, 11:40 PM
Thanks for the warm welcome everyone. :D

welcome to oneoftheload and lotus...hehe..hope we all can share with each other secrets of our mind here :)

hehe..share secrets? erm..we shall see =)

21-11-2005, 08:59 PM
sure sure...

haha...

banshee
29-11-2005, 04:43 AM
wondering if any new people intersted to join in..

23-12-2005, 02:53 PM
Hehe, an IT graduate here, but now is teaching in a primary school..hoping to endeavor in education arena...count me in!!! :wink:

deRame
24-12-2005, 05:07 PM
welcome PeiWen! :D cool we have a teacher here. please don't walk around, scolding and caning us here, OK.

24-12-2005, 06:36 PM
Haha....I won't be that bad..I'm a good and kind teacher...hehe

banshee
27-12-2005, 03:14 PM
hihi, Pei Wen...
:) nice to meet you.
teachers are always kind 1 mah...haha...why i know? cause my parents are both teachers too..haha

alamanda_star
18-02-2006, 09:16 PM
hye~ alamanda here...

I'm going to sit for a psychology test at jpa, putrajaya next couple of months. So. anyone had already experienced it before this? can anyone kindly tell me what I am going to face during that test? is it hard? I don't have any clue about the test. Just curious to know. Is there anything I should know before sitting the test? thanks in advanced!

19-02-2006, 07:34 AM
i guess you must have waited a long time for this...haha

i've sat for the psycho exam last year in Uitm but i never got the results...hehe...our schedule was kinda packed so there were no time for the psycho camp back then...

the test is divided into 2 sections, one to test your personality and the other to test on which type of career suits you in the future..

you will have 2 hours to complete the test, which have 200 questions to attend to...don worry,most people will complete it within half an hour, or so is the case with us all...haha,the most important point will be, right after you read your question, answer them straightaway, there are no point in lying about your choice here. there are no right and wrong, so just answer in the form that best describes you :)

there will be no need to do any preparations for the test, just bring along your pen and whatever that jpa requires you to bring along...i think that should enough to answer your questions...

alamanda_star
19-02-2006, 05:37 PM
Thanks.. but just confuse.. is it really that easy... I thought in the jpa agreement they thought if you don't pass the test you can't fly.... what I understand about ur explaination is that the test is just like the quiz in the magazine, is it like that?

20-02-2006, 01:39 AM
u won't be able to fail the test la, unless you decided to skip it...haha....don worry..it's easy 1...

alamanda_star
20-02-2006, 01:35 PM
thanks for ur help vseehua.. really appreciate that...

20-02-2006, 07:58 PM
u r welcome...good luck in your test :)

aubrey
04-03-2006, 01:21 PM
8O

interesting idea, this. i wonder how many more psychology graduates we have out there?

04-03-2006, 02:47 PM
hi aubrey....welcome to recom, and the psychology sig...

hehe...

the more the better...cz number of crazy people are increasing..but i hope the psychologists in turn won't get crazy..infected by crazy people... :twisted:

aubrey
04-03-2006, 03:18 PM
hello vsehua! :lol:

what would you define by crazy, personally? in chinese societies until lately, crazy would include those who see or hear voices. i suspect that some still do think so (whether in singapore, malaysia, taiwan, hk etc elsewhere). the way they would explain this craziness is- ghosts.

in psychology, you'd say too, they are crazy, but offer a different explanation- past childhood (Freud) schizophrenia (biomedical/abnormal psychology) brain trauma/acquired injury (neuropscyhology)

so what say you, friend? i am interested in what you guys think. :wink:

04-03-2006, 03:29 PM
hmm....in this context i mean those who had stressed themselves over the limit, ie, with psychological problems...

hehe...i always refer to myself as the ghost..yea..i'm one of those crazy ones as well.. :P

PaTiEnT
15-03-2006, 10:22 PM
hi all~ I'm Helen.. I'm in my third year doing BA (Psych) in Uni of Melb. :)

aubrey
15-03-2006, 10:59 PM
hey helen! hehe fancy seeing you here.... :wink:

16-03-2006, 07:12 PM
hi there..haha...patient eh..nice to meet ya here...

wonder where did all the other guys gone too...

and wondering what the heck is an engineer...oops..it's...future engineer... doing here...hehe...

OperaGhost
10-07-2006, 12:00 AM
Hi there, Mr Casper @<hidden> the ghost. :) Another so-called future engineer here. :D Intro: Just call me Opera Ghost. :D

I'm a JPA scholar, will be flying to the United States to read Engineering this coming Fall. Currently I'm enjoying my last week in INTEC Shah Alam under American Degree Foundation Program (ATU12).

I'm taking Introduction to Psychology in my third semester. The book we use is "Psychology- An Introduction" by Benjamin B. Lahey (eighth edition) Actually I'm supposed to study for my last psychology test right now. Hehe..

I find the subject not only educational but enlighting as well. I learn more about myself and human behavior in general. So far the topics we covered include: biological foundations of behavior, states of consciousness, basic principles of learning, memory, developmental psychology, motivation and emotion, personality theories and assessment, stress and health

What I have learned is just, of course, a tiny scratch out of a gigantic iceberg. Or just the thin vapour hovering on top of it, perhaps. How can someone possibly understand psychology well in two months' time? I will probably get a minor in psychology later. (That is, if I can cope with my engineering course well enough. :?) Now I wish to read more on this vast topic. Any recommendations? (I prefer something light, don't give me a dictionary-size textbook!)

banshee
11-07-2006, 10:58 PM
hi there..
as a counseling psy major, i think if you need to know more about psy, just take a few more textbooks...basically, if u got 1 good textbook, u got the picture.. Sternberg's Psychology is good.. but it's thick...
most psychology books are thick..
if u're hardworking enough, i'm sure you;ll finish it in time..

if u've got any problem, email me then..
coral_lean@<hidden>

yinyin
31-07-2006, 01:11 PM
hi all
so happy to know many senior here.

my name is yinyin
a f6 (upper six) student.
i m a science stream student

i wish to take either psychology or tourism course if i can enter Uni.
but i dun know whether i suitable study psychology or not?

before tat i have do may test to test what career we more suitable to join or involved....

everytime i do ..
ya i very suitable to involve in psyhology.
actually i also very like psychology too.

but my sis dun think so.she say my behaviour .....n emotional
if i cant control well ...maybe i not gualified to learn.

so i wanna know abt more psychology...
n what basic qualification to learn this course..??

hope all senior here can give me some advise..

n nice to meet u here.
i m sorry abt my poor english!@<hidden>@<hidden>

banshee
19-08-2006, 09:45 AM
Hi there, Yin Yin...
So, you plan to take psychology in uni?

Actually, in Malaysia, since you had already chosen science as form 6 major... You only have 1 destination left..
it's ukm.. it's a psychology major, which means you study a very very broad range of psychology, a little bit of psychology of children, a little bit of psychology of youths, etc...

Besides that, for other university (forget about islamic university), Universiti malaysia sabah (ums) , which has a faculty of psychology and social work on its own, is more specific on courses... but, they only accept art stream students.

many people rush into psychology because they think that psychology can solve their own problems, they are expecting something out of it... but, most of them would be disappointed, because psychology can't provide an answer.

it is good to have a stable personality to study psychology. however, what your sibling seen in you might not represent all of your personality, neither does a simple career test.

for more information, you can contact me, Coral at coral_lean@<hidden>

ChocoChris
28-04-2007, 08:43 AM
Hi there,
I am interested in Psychology since I was 15. It's just so intriguing, the human mind. And i love to help others. I was thinking of pharmacy before, but shunned that idead since i don't have much interest in it.
But now, seeing the $$ need to actually study psyhology for 6 years, it is discouraging me :cry:

Anyway, my personality is a ounsellor .Yay!!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/science/humanbody/mind/articles/personalityandindividuality/whatamilike/counsellor.shtml

Why does it seems that this SIG is a bit dead?

28-04-2007, 09:45 AM
haha...it's becaue no one posts here?

Theano
28-04-2007, 10:58 PM
Hi, I'm Siew Ya. I plan to take psychology and if possible creative writing after my secondary education.

01-05-2007, 10:27 PM
hi, i am white2020, may i know do there any club for psychology for students to join??

i m not intending to take this field to further my studies..but..i want to get to know more about this field..as i know it helps a lot..

evening_go_jogging
22-06-2007, 04:30 PM
hi, i'm evening_go_jogging, MISS RECOM 2007.

nice to meet you all!

23-06-2007, 02:42 AM

nice to meet you all!title withdrawn due to violation of competition rules...

evening_go_jogging
23-06-2007, 11:24 PM

unfortunately you are not the judge....

02-07-2007, 02:44 AM

unfortunately you are not the judge....

evening_go_jogging,

the judge is here...I have made the ultimate decision... :twisted:

Jonathan
23-06-2009, 08:19 PM
Hi all Recomers

Name: Jonathan Yeh
Hometown: Ipoh

Interested and want to take up organisational psychology. Does anyone here know what is organisational psychology all about? I only know that it will help you to earn lots of money...haha. I would like to know more.....Thanks