View Full Version : 2005 Local University registrations
reign226
03-11-2005, 10:20 PM
Might be a bit premature to open such a thread now, but I have a few questions I hope the STPM2004 batch can clarify, specifically regarding the online registration stuff.
First of all, how are we supposed to send in our Kokum marks? AFAIK the ministry only has records of our STPM results.
Secondly, when do we send in our selections? My friends who have gotten their computer password slips say to submit on this 10th Nov and submit another time after results come out. This seems illogical to me so I'm waiting until my results come out before sending anything. What do you think?
Lastly, i remembered a student in my school who was a STPM top scorer in 2003 and when I went back to read my school magazine she mentioned that she is already taking law in UM. Since I assumed the interview was conducted right after she got her results, how can she find out she's doing law in UM so quickly? Of course there is a possibility the interview is done a long time after the results is announced, but is it possible to find out what you are doing before getting your results?
Sorry for the long thread but I think that's all I need to know for now. Hu hu exam is next week. PANIC!!!
reign226
03-11-2005, 10:22 PM
Oh yea one last thing. I remembered in 2004 there was a document circulating around after the results were announced that listed all the projected CGPA required for such and such course in such and such university. I believe the document was called Jifen or something. Anyway I find the doc fascinating, and I'm wondering if 2005 there will be a similar guide?
Penny
04-11-2005, 12:15 AM
As for the ECA (extra curricular activities), the applicants just key in the society/clubs that they joint, and the post held.
I'm not sure how they make sure tht applicants are being honest in filling the form.
Also, if I'm not mistaken, my cousin sent in her application once, before the result was released. (She's a STPM candidate of 2004) I remember her saying, "How should we choose the course when we don't know our result yet larrr!!"
For each ID, you'll be given 3 (I think so it's 3) chances to alter your choices. You can't changed more than 3 times. So, consider before doing any changes.
The Ke Xi Ji Fen is actually something some sorta survey.
It's just for reference.
They do analysis on the stats, and they'll chart the informations.
For which university, which course, what's the cut-off point, what's the average CGPA of the students who got the course.
If the average CGPA is 3.9, it doesn't mean that you won't get the course with 3.8.
The information will be renewed each year, because the cut-off points vary every year. And I'm pretty sure that there'll be such thing for us (when the time comes).
Our school will normally conduct a talk before students start sending in their choices of unis/courses. (after STPM result is released)
That's when the teacher will let us know the stats and so on and so forth.
Also, alumni will come back to give us a brief talk. Some sorta advise. They'll teach us how to apply based on their experiences. Also some will tell, how you should not do.
None worries about this yet. Haha.
True, STPM will start next week.
And my preperation is like... :oops:
I am afraid I'll flunk my physics :p
Till then, all the best.
I'll post it up if I get any news frm the school regarding this application thingy.
well...i supposed we wouldn't know which course we will get b4 our results ....2 or 3 months afta d official release of STPM results then only u can check ur application status online....
btw dun worry too much bout it...juz focus on ur STPM exam... do ur best to avoid regrets n dissappoinment...coz if u wana study d course u want u hafta score well...remember u will not only compete with STPM candidate but also matrik student...
oh yea for those seniors out there.....how do d STPM 2004 student who intended to reapply for d 2006 U admission again???means they withdraw from d course offered n stat with new application....
reign226
04-11-2005, 07:17 AM
Many thanks for the helpful comments. I guess she did the interview after they announced the results la. It would be helpful if you can post up any advice on stuff you learn during your school STPM talk or something coz I think mine is just leaving us out to dry.
Anyway back to studies I suppose. Yeah I second the Physics paper. I wonder who'se smart idea it was to split the two papers so far apart. As if it weren't enough it's the last paper and we're taking it after being demoralized with all the early papers and being excited and all ready to celebrate 'Merdeka' (that we get careless). I remember feeling like that during my SPM last paper too (think it was Moral).
Penny
04-11-2005, 09:10 AM
oh yea for those seniors out there.....how do d STPM 2004 student who intended to reapply for d 2006 U admission again???means they withdraw from d course offered n stat with new application....
I heard my friends said quite a few of the university students did like this this year. (They dropped their course, and re-applied for 2005 admission)
But it's in fact against the rules.
The university will take action if ever they find any students doing so.
reign226
04-11-2005, 01:12 PM
I think Xen meant can STPM 2004 students who did not get offered a position re-apply for it again this year. To this, i think the answer is no. You get one shot, then one appeal, and that's it.
[edit] whoops, reread what Xen wrote. Anyway what I said still holds la, but out of topic hehe.
Penny: So you're saying we can't change course halfway? That kinda sucks. Oh and unfair too, since when they reapply they are actually taking up spaces that are supposed to go to the students taking the STPM examination that year. Shame on them, as if it's not hard enough competing with Matrix students, now we have to compete against 'kakilang' ah? LOL, just kidding. But I still think it's a tad unfair tho.
yea....for those who din not get any place n also those who rejected d offer not their choice....means they din even enter uni ...
hoping to get n apply for better course next yr...many students are doin dat....
anway how to buy our ID???
stevemc90
05-11-2005, 08:56 AM
reign,
i think i know which gal you're talking about. Anyway, i just wanna tell you that there's no interview for local unis applicants. I guess that this senior of urs made assumption she's going to um to read law (indeed, she got it as what u were saying). She must've been TOO confident i guess?
As for those who had been rejected or turned down the unis offers, of course they can re-apply but please bear in mind that these applicants will not be given priority in selecting the courses that they want. They only will be offered a place when the present batch has been screened through.
Anyhow, if the student finds that he cant cope with the course he's taking, he can apply for a change of course internally without having to re-apply for the particular uni. However, the decision of admitting him to other course will be the dean's discretion to do so
(the dean of the other faculty that he's applying)
Best of luck to whom ever that are taking spm n stpm.
reign226
05-11-2005, 09:49 AM
Oh, okay I apologize for any mistake I've made then. You know her? She's from Sabah.