View Full Version : Anwar to speak at Michigan University

09-11-2005, 11:39 AM
http://www.jeffooi.com/archives/Anwar_letterMsdPsd.jpg

Context: http://www.jeffooi.com/archives/2005/11/stay_away_from.php

Most of you aren't at University of Michigan, but lets just say you could attend the talk, and you were interested in the talk, WOULD YOU IGNORE THE WARNING and attend?

Wolverines rulz!

09-11-2005, 12:11 PM
Go Blue!
(pointless post)

09-11-2005, 12:28 PM
go blue!

(u of m, not m u) :D

09-11-2005, 01:12 PM
i hope he comes to my uni too.

09-11-2005, 01:20 PM
your uni will first have to decide if he's worth the $ they'll have to fork out...

09-11-2005, 01:34 PM
your uni will first have to decide if he's worth the $ they'll have to fork out...

if you were to be given a choice to decide, do you think it's worth it?

reign226
09-11-2005, 04:18 PM
A big, resounding YES. The letter alone makes me want to attend just for the heck of it. But Anwar is an intellectual as well so that's an added bonus.

Besides, why are Msia so concerned about pembangkang? They're supposed to help make the country better through constructive criticisms. If they hate them so much, just eliminate them out of the Perlembagaan lah and be done with this farce they call Democracy.

However, i would be a bit worried about being identified though. I guess I'll just wear a ski mask or something. And make sure to tape a sign in my back that says:

"I'm not a Terrorist. I am merely banned from attending this lecture by my country. Please refrain from taking off my mask, as it is not funny."

Of course, that last statement will have the same effect as the letter above.

bush
09-11-2005, 04:57 PM
.......NIASI*G, what rubbish is this.........Walaupun saya ditaja oleh kerajaan BN, ini tidak bermaksud bahawa saya setuju akan dasar dan pandangan kerajaan BN terhadap isu-isu tertentu.

Orang masuk universiti ialah untuk membuka minda bukan belajar menjadi robot.......

Salvation
09-11-2005, 07:58 PM
Its not even BN's money, its the taxpayer's money.

09-11-2005, 08:59 PM
Technically, this was not "dianjurkan oleh parti pembangkang". From the website:

http://www.umich.edu/~iinet/iisite/events/2005_nov_anwar%20ibrahim.html

"Sponsored by: CICS, Institute for the Humanities, International Institute, U-M Law School, and Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy "

09-11-2005, 11:26 PM
lol... i'll looking for locals to go and record the speech...

no way i'm risking to attend the lecture... although it is ridiculous for them to do so, but, i don't wanna risk my scholarship.

...word of mouth: some students were sent packing after getting caught attending a lecture by the same speaker elsewhere...

not sure how true it is, but i'm buying it..

and again, it's U of Michigan, not Michigan University... please get it right...

deRame
09-11-2005, 11:53 PM
i agree with u, DecentMerson. i prefer being called coward rather than make a ridiculous decision to attend the lecture as i'm also government-sponsored student. my effort studying for many years would go into drain if my scholarship "ditarik balik" just because i'm caught attending the lecture. plus i don't want to make my parent worry. the risk is too great for me to gamble on.

dqbonafide
09-11-2005, 11:55 PM
Anwar is very resolute in his speaking,as you know he is presently unknown in our media in Malaysia eventhough he had held talks in hong kong and US.This is because of the pressure that the government put on the media so it's understandable that they fear that bright yougn talents from our very own country will be mystified by his talk and policy of our nation and turn against the government. I don't know myself..but heard from my dad and one of my teachers which is interested in politics that Anwar is a good speaker...can twist
and twist and turn and turn till u accpet the fact hahaha...

10-11-2005, 01:14 AM
Anwar is very resolute in his speaking,as you know he is presently unknown in our media in Malaysia eventhough he had held talks in hong kong and US.This is because of the pressure that the government put on the media so it's understandable that they fear that bright yougn talents from our very own country will be mystified by his talk and policy of our nation and turn against the government. I don't know myself..but heard from my dad and one of my teachers which is interested in politics that Anwar is a good speaker...can twist
and twist and turn and turn till u accpet the fact hahaha...

if one is that easily 'mystified', then, he or she is not that bright i would say...

most good politicians are good with words... and if the government is wise enough, they shld worry about why they are worrying and not worry about 'bright young talents' mind being 'corrupted'...

and Anwar is addressing on "forms of human rights abuses in developing countries, including the Internal Security Act, media control and election abuses."... don't you think the letter is doing a great job positively (or negatively, depends on where u stand) supporting his statements?

10-11-2005, 01:41 AM
For those who're interested, DSAI's speech at the Kennedy School of Government was videotaped and is available online at:

http://www.iop.harvard.edu/events_forum_archive.html

See November 7th

14-11-2005, 05:58 AM
so? did anybody go to the UMich talk?

14-11-2005, 11:16 AM
If you think any JPA scholars will reply to this...you are sadly mistaken.

14-11-2005, 11:51 AM
so? did anybody go to the UMich talk?

i didn't... but i received mixed reactions from my local frens who attended... (some of them were forced by their political science lecturer to attend the talk...) and I was told that he an 'was interesting character' and his lecture was very 'insightful'... another fren walked out of the lecture halfway because it was 'too boring'...

15-11-2005, 07:47 PM

it was definitely worth a shot. sigh... too bad. one down for malaysia

15-11-2005, 07:50 PM

Ini menunjukkan bahawa penuntut JPA tak ada bola!

15-11-2005, 11:23 PM

are you guys surprised? i hope not. the govt has been sending students overseas for decades. surely some Western decadent values such as democracy, rule of law, etc would have rubbed off on the scholars whom i presume must be very bright, no? but nothing's really changed in the way this country is run, has it? so what else is new.

the notion that the govt i.e. BN owns its scholars runs far deeper than a few star appearances by anwar. and for that matter it's not limited to scholars....ask the professors who were sacked for being naughty.

can't bash the jpa scholars who didn't attend anwar's talks. tell me with a straight face that you have no qualms about risking your scholarship.

16-11-2005, 01:44 AM

are you guys surprised? i hope not. the govt has been sending students overseas for decades. surely some Western decadent values such as democracy, rule of law, etc would have rubbed off on the scholars whom i presume must be very bright, no? but nothing's really changed in the way this country is run, has it? so what else is new.

the notion that the govt i.e. BN owns its scholars runs far deeper than a few star appearances by anwar. and for that matter it's not limited to scholars....ask the professors who were sacked for being naughty.

can't bash the jpa scholars who didn't attend anwar's talks. tell me with a straight face that you have no qualms about risking your scholarship.

with my quote up there i hope you weren't under the assumption that i'm bashing the jpa scholars. that's misled_youth and his balls quote.

my 'one down for malaysia' refers to yet another victory for the ruling party to curb alternative opinion. the choice of attending anwar's talk rests completely on the discretion of the scholars themselves.

on a similar note, my romantic self wishes that there is an act of defiance en masse, for only such show of solidarity will force some change (and senses) in the authorities. how long do the scholars/academics intend on being disenfranchised and enslaved?

16-11-2005, 01:54 AM

Nope. I was pretty sure that our gov sponsored students will be intimidated by the email and i dont blame them. Hopefully they will change the system from within to improve some of our shortcomings when they are in powerful positions and not be washed away by the system.

nick_khaw
16-11-2005, 03:21 AM
If you watch the video from the Harvard website, there's a pretty good close-up of my face.

deRame
16-11-2005, 03:52 AM
If you watch the video from the Harvard website, there's a pretty good close-up of my face.

well, which one is u? care to tell me? :P

nick_khaw
16-11-2005, 10:33 AM
About 11 and a half minutes in, they zoom in on 2 ppl in the audience. I'm the guy.

17-11-2005, 10:49 AM
oh well...curbing alternative opinions are a good way to go down and crash i'd say..if the gov aka bn cn't accept comments, i wonder if this is the reason malaysia's going backward right now...