View Full Version : STPM answer thread?
reign226
14-11-2005, 09:41 PM
I wonder if anybody is going to do this? analyze all the objective question for the answers? just thinking but I think everybody will be so glad it's over and they won't bother. =D
Penny
14-11-2005, 10:13 PM
I've got a sms of PA1 answers.
Wonder who on earth was so free to check all the answers, or was it a teacher who gave the answers?
Anyways, will post it up later.
infested_ysy
15-11-2005, 05:43 PM
I've got a sms of PA1 answers.
Wonder who on earth was so free to check all the answers, or was it a teacher who gave the answers?
Anyways, will post it up later.
The teachers, ofcourse >_>
kelly86
18-11-2005, 09:05 AM
here is da PA 1 ans.
1. ABDBACCACA
11.DDACBAABBC
21.BACDCCDBDC
31.DACCDBDACB
41.DACBBCACAC
51.CACDDDCABC
joebf86
18-11-2005, 06:18 PM
anyone has answers for chem paper1? majority in my skool finds it tough but others said it was ok. so can u have ur opinion?
oh ya anyone knows bout the grading system ie whether they have a normal distribution graph and they ll set cut off point for A or izzit fixed?
anyway chem paper 2 is on monday. good luck everyone.
seiken
18-11-2005, 11:37 PM
Here is the Chem1 answers:
DDAAC BCBBC
CBBBA DDDBD
DCACC DCACA
AAADC DBCAC
DCCBD CCDDA
I think this Chem1 not very hard. Just ok..compared to 1999 n 2000...
Penny
19-11-2005, 12:07 AM
Reign, say something!
Reign said, the answer for Question 50 in Chem 1 is not A.
joebf86
19-11-2005, 02:04 AM
anyone has answers for physics as well?
my friend desperately needs it.
reign226
19-11-2005, 08:13 AM
Yeah, Chem1 number 50 is 100% gerenti B, not A. The production of phenylamine (aniline) can also be from reaction between chlorobenzene and ammonia using catalyst. This reaction is not covered in our textbook and I only found it online. Giler nasib I tembak. =D
IMO chem wasn't 'hard' but it's kinda tricky. Got a few questions where all the answers make sense, those 'choose the most accurate among all technically correct answers'.
Anyway take these answers with a grain of salt. I'd say at least +/- 3 accuracy. As for physics I dun think anybody has posted up yet. Penny? (since ur classmates all find it easy, keke)
kevinkhoo1986
19-11-2005, 12:13 PM
Yeah, Chem1 number 50 is 100% gerenti B, not A. The production of phenylamine (aniline) can also be from reaction between chlorobenzene and ammonia using catalyst. This reaction is not covered in our textbook and I only found it online. Giler nasib I tembak. =D
IMO chem wasn't 'hard' but it's kinda tricky. Got a few questions where all the answers make sense, those 'choose the most accurate among all technically correct answers'.
Anyway take these answers with a grain of salt. I'd say at least +/- 3 accuracy. As for physics I dun think anybody has posted up yet. Penny? (since ur classmates all find it easy, keke)
Really? But i put A. Anyway if it is not in the syllabus they should not set this kind of questions....Gosh.... This thread just cause me become more nervous... I still have 2 papers to go...
kevinkhoo1986
19-11-2005, 03:12 PM
DDAAC BCBBC
CBBBA DDDBD
DCACC DCACA
AAADC DBCAC
DCCBD CCDDA
I agree with that. Chem paper this years was not very tough. The pa 1 was also quite easy. But the PA2 essay questions and both of the math paper were really hard. Hopefully chem and phys paper 2 will be easier..
kevinkhoo1986
19-11-2005, 08:14 PM
DDAAC BCBBC
CBBBA DDDBD
DCACC DCACA
AAADC DBCAC
DCCBD CCDDA
I don't know which one is correct, bcoz i get the other answer provided by my friend as below:
DDAAC BCBBC
DBBBA DDDBD
DCACC DAACA
AAADC CBCAC
DCCBC CCDDA
reign226
19-11-2005, 08:44 PM
Yeah. If you are still skeptical, just google "chlorobenzene aniline production" and it should be in the first few links.
As I see it, Mat1 easy, Mat2 hard. PA1 easy, PA2 hard (not popular questions at all). So far I think Phys 1 is hard, Chem 2 is easy. But Jit Sin students say Phys 1 is easy. So I can only speculate that we're in for a real whippin next week. ^^
Oh well, nevermind! Add more hydrocarbons!
Penny
19-11-2005, 09:11 PM
Reign, it's the second time you're emphasizing that Jit Sin'ians said Physics 1 was easy hey :p *jokingly*
Truly, my friends said it wasnt tough.
You know, when people said, "It was okay.." means, it wasnt really that hardcore.
Quite a few of them said, the questions were more straight forward compared to PYQ and also our school trial exam.
I'm sure they did pretty well.
(Majority did quite well in PA1, another paper which they think is okay)
I couldnt judge, because I didnt study Physics.
And I thought it was tough because I practically "tiang" through the whole paper :oops:
When the whole world thought the paper was easy, and I know so well that I will fail the paper, that makes me so :(
Anyways, we havent got any answers for this paper.
And, the seniors warned us, that the Paper 2 may be very tough.
We were asked to be prepared for the worst.
Shall see what has MPM got to offer on Tuesday. :P
seiken
20-11-2005, 12:00 AM
The Chem answers I got from my friend from Malacca. I think it was provided by some teachers..accuracy not 100%. MPM's skema is the "correct" one, but of course I think none of us here has it. Other than that, actually there's another set of Chem answers I got, 2 questions with different answers from what I posted.
So you see..we don't know for sure which one is more "accurate".
In my opinion, Maths1 is very easy, but Maths2 I died. Probably lost around 35-40 marks in there. Maths1 probably can score. I wonder whether I can still get an A for my maths, with marks 75-80...Do u all think that the marks will be lowered this year?
PA1 is easy..PA2 the essay a bit tough. Other than that, all's OK. Graph is easy, bahagian E also nice to do..
What do u all think about Bio? In my opinion, paper1 also OK. But paper2 the structure is weird and tough..luckily essay still ok. Most of the tips I got this year were not accurate, luckily I didn't trust 100%....
Hope Chem paper on Monday will be nice to do as well...hehe..
seiken
20-11-2005, 12:09 AM
Reign, not to say that you're wrong, but u said "production of phenylamine (aniline) can also be from reaction between chlorobenzene and ammonia using catalyst"
Try to look carefully at the answer choices. Selection (II) did not mention any catalysts..just [ C6H5Cl + NH3 ]
Now look at selection (I):
C6H5NO2 ----> (Sn/HCl on top of arrow)
Here the tin catalyst is mentioned. So this must be the answer.
Reaction (II) cant happen without catalyst..it shouldn't be the answer right?So the answer could just be A....
Penny
20-11-2005, 08:47 AM
Paper 1 wasnt tough.
But a lot of us got trapped in the Partial Fraction question.
Can I conduct a survey?
Does the majority of your school fell in the Partial Fraction question?
Or was it just our students' carelessness?
We didnt realize that the highest power of X was 2, and we needed to do long division.
Most of us just happily did the partial fraction, followed by binomial expansion.
We got to know about that right after we stepped out of the hall.
So :? Gone, 13 marks!
reign226
20-11-2005, 08:49 AM
Hmm, u got a point. But the problem is in chem there's a lot of variables. Even for a particular reaction, there might sometimes be lots of different catalysts that can be used, or that even if catalyst is not used, the reaction might still happen, only slower. Regardless it's no point debating this because the only person who knows the answer is the MPM. I say enjoy life and just wait for your surprise next March. ^^
Penny
20-11-2005, 08:49 AM
Paper 1 wasnt tough.
But a lot of us got trapped in the Partial Fraction question.
Can I conduct a survey?
Does the majority of your school fall in the Partial Fraction question?
Or was it just our students' carelessness?
We didnt realize that the highest power of X was 2, and we needed to do long division.
Most of us just happily did the partial fraction, followed by binomial expansion.
We got to know about that right after we stepped out of the hall.
So :? Gone, 13 marks!
reign226
20-11-2005, 08:29 PM
Hmm, I haven't asked my friends about the partial fractions, for fear of jeopardizing their mood. AFAIK, I'll always check to see if I can long divide the top part (quotient?) before doing anything. I dunno, it's like some sort of habit =D
I think it's because i'm a lazy jerk so if the top part looks too long, the lazy part of me immediately wants to make it shorter. =D
Penny
20-11-2005, 08:55 PM
Strange. When did I quote my own message, and repost again?
(Refering to the post above Reign's)
kevinkhoo1986
21-11-2005, 11:18 AM
Haiz.... I don't even know that toluena which come out in essay and stucture is in fact a methlybenzene....!! Why can't they give us some clue.. :cry:
Anyway i am not satisfied with the way the teacher who conducted the examination. Do you guys know what happen to me today?
"Sorry, buku data tak mencukupi, sila angkat tangan anda sekiranya mahu pinjam..." examinar XXXXX
and i am the only one candidate without the data booklet because i sat at the last row. They should know that the data booklet is quite important for us in this paper. Hmmm....
seiken
21-11-2005, 12:00 PM
Hey...just came back from Chem2. Wah...quite hard oh. But I think I can still survive this paper...should be better than maths2! :lol:
Feel like kicking myself...someparts I forgot. Only when the paper is over then I remember. Wrong time management, so didn't ave the time to check..
Wa..kevinkhoo...ur school tat teruk ah? Until lack of data booklet..
Penny..regarding your question...I think my school also a lot fell for it. But then, I managed to evade it :lol: bcoz I read partial fraction the night before...If I screw up this question then my maths really no hope d...
Do you all know that this yr's STPM paper are set by University lecturers? If you haven't noticed...the questions this year some of them were quite strange...
kevinkhoo1986
21-11-2005, 01:40 PM
Wa..kevinkhoo...ur school tat teruk ah? Until lack of data booklet..
Do you all know that this yr's STPM paper are set by University lecturers? If you haven't noticed...the questions this year some of them were quite strange...
It wasn't my school fault lar, should blame either the teacher or the MPM for not providing enough data booklet for us. Where did you heard that this year paper were set by U lecturers? Anyway i do agree that this year paper looks different from the past year questions.
joebf86
21-11-2005, 02:48 PM
yeah i heard of that lecturers will set papers. but i thought this system starting this year, means they are setting for next year's paper? isnt stpm papers are setted on the year before? anyone can clarify?
but marking is still done by school teacher right?
kelly86
21-11-2005, 04:05 PM
i heard from my friend tat our math's passing is 35..dunno true or not la...
kevinkhoo1986
21-11-2005, 04:44 PM
i heard from my friend tat our math's passing is 35..dunno true or not la...
I think it's lower than 35. Usually during normal school exam, nearly half of the class will fail. But amazingly for stpm result, our school manage to get more than 90% pass for math T. Furthermore last year in my school, out of 120++ students sit for Math T, about 50 of them manage to get A and A- , while during school based exam, you could hardly see more than 10 students get 75 marks and above...
Penny
21-11-2005, 06:35 PM
Kevin,
You should tell the school.
Let your science teacher, or the Panitia know about this.
Not to say that we wanna penalize on whichever party.
At least, they're able to do something about it so as to avoid such circumstance frm happening again.
reign226
21-11-2005, 08:08 PM
Many interesting comments we have. I can't say I agree with the use of data booklet tho... I mean I only found it useful for a grand ONE question, and that's only to find the mass of sulphur. No questions on redox or electrochem that requires referring to the book this year.
What did you guys use the book for anyways? It's making me nervous.
Penny
21-11-2005, 08:19 PM
Okay. For this year, it doesnt pose much of use, except for the Relative Formula Mass question.
But you wont know if next year the candidates will need it for redox kinda questions, and they need to refer to the Data Booklet in any way?
Truly, if I were the candidate without a Data Booklet (whilst the rest of the people in the hall had one), even thought I might not need it, I would be challenged physchologically. Somehow it'll affect my performance.
reign226
21-11-2005, 09:31 PM
Of course passing mark low la. The Govt won't torture you until like that one. The passing mark is usually very low, and the mark for distinction very high, so they end up with a lot of 'in-between' students, who can then be shoved into the private education system to generate revenue for them.
Just look at SPM. If not for the fact that so many ppl can somehow manage to 'mirculously' survive the exam, our private edu system will be bankrupt. People, this has nothing to do with your skills or luck, just that that's the way things work in this country.
Of course passing mark low la. The Govt won't torture you until like that one. The passing mark is usually very low, and the mark for distinction very high, so they end up with a lot of 'in-between' students, who can then be shoved into the private education system to generate revenue for them.
Just look at SPM. If not for the fact that so many ppl can somehow manage to 'mirculously' survive the exam, our private edu system will be bankrupt. People, this has nothing to do with your skills or luck, just that that's the way things work in this country.
ya totally agree...
another point is the government is trying to make STPM harder ,relatively, so that students of matriculation can enter Local U ,fair and square...
Imagine all your friends got flat four,
while our STPM is getting more difficult until you have to be half or fully nerd to get straight As...
(and ya, it's confirm by my teacher that the University Lecturers are those who set STPM papers)
and they will have the right to rank you more dumb than the matriculation student with 4 flat....
in case you fail to get straigt A (not A-) of course...
Whatever the reasons are, we have no choices but walk through it...
Remember that the more one has been oppressed, the stronger one will stand...
Just my personal view point, with some "source" of information...
p/s no pun and offence intended
seiken
22-11-2005, 12:09 AM
Well...exam's over...but I don't feel like celebrating it. I wonder what are the lecturers up to. Will the number of STPM 4.0 candidates drop again? Really worried. Why are we treated so unfairly.... :cry:
reign226
22-11-2005, 06:28 AM
Personally I don't think it'll drop. Going from 2003 to 2004 there's already a 50% decline. As the saying goes, "Things can only go up from here." =D
Penny
22-11-2005, 06:57 AM
I hope so? :p
All the best for the candidates taking physics.
4 more hours... and we'll be free... Haha...
(Bio students, shhh... I know you guys have been enjoying since then... grrhhh.... It's gonna be our turn, today!)
Penny
22-11-2005, 10:49 AM
YAY!!!
It's OVER!
We are going to SHOUT IT OUT.
We are going to the beach.
We are going to RedBox.
We are going to party.
We are going crazy!
kevinkhoo1986
22-11-2005, 03:39 PM
Many interesting comments we have. I can't say I agree with the use of data booklet tho... I mean I only found it useful for a grand ONE question, and that's only to find the mass of sulphur. No questions on redox or electrochem that requires referring to the book this year.
What did you guys use the book for anyways? It's making me nervous.
I still remember there is one questions ask us to find what is X2+ element. I think it is barium. Izzit? For that i have to raise my hand to borrow the data booklet which certainly waste my time... Hmm....
reign226
22-11-2005, 06:02 PM
Yeah barium, although I think my entire class all wrote BaSO4 instead of the full name. @<hidden>(*%&%
Anyway how was physics? I thought it was pretty easy in that I can do all the questions without resorting to (too much) guessing.
joebf86
22-11-2005, 09:04 PM
compared to 2003, there is a decrease of 50% of straight As students. how if we put it in this way, the number of sraight As for 2003 increases 100% than the previous year due to the election year? and later it "seemed"that it dropped 50% the figure is more or less compared to previous years ie 2000, 2001, 2002 ....
put it in a short way, 2003 is an odd year with surprisingly high top scorers ( maybe because of the elections...) when the number increased tremendously, problems came in la...the jpa thingy, 128 4.0 students failed to enter medic and so on la...
anyone agree?
reign226
22-11-2005, 10:04 PM
That sounds like a fair enough point. I'm not exactly sure what the average amount of STPM scorers are though. It could just be that the amount of STPM scorers are more or less constant with 2003 being an abberent year due to elections. Since about 2000 got distinctions that year, I would assume that the 'normal' number should be about 1000 per year.
If now we assume only 50% of that is chinese (in 2003, about 900 are chinese, 700 bumi staight A for STPM), that's only a puny 500.
That's what the maths show me anyway. It's gonna be tough, and those 500 students will definately be the creame of the crop, if indeed the figures are correct.
Anyway I hope things return to normalcy. Whenever the govt messes around with things, it usually doesn't turn out well, especially for the unpriviliged.
kevinkhoo1986
23-11-2005, 11:02 AM
That sounds like a fair enough point. I'm not exactly sure what the average amount of STPM scorers are though. It could just be that the amount of STPM scorers are more or less constant with 2003 being an abberent year due to elections. Since about 2000 got distinctions that year, I would assume that the 'normal' number should be about 1000 per year.
If now we assume only 50% of that is chinese (in 2003, about 900 are chinese, 700 bumi staight A for STPM), that's only a puny 500.
That's what the maths show me anyway. It's gonna be tough, and those 500 students will definately be the creame of the crop, if indeed the figures are correct.
Anyway I hope things return to normalcy. Whenever the govt messes around with things, it usually doesn't turn out well, especially for the unpriviliged.
but i heard that last year only one bumi get straight A in STPM.
reign226
23-11-2005, 12:03 PM
Wuh? I dunno but my source (Google) gave me those numbers. Somebody dbl check?
XLing
23-11-2005, 02:07 PM
Wuh? I dunno but my source (Google) gave me those numbers. Somebody dbl check?
If I remember correctly, there was 700++ straight As student in 2003 STPM, with only ONE bumi...
I think the numbers that you got must have included those in the matrikulasi...
dizzy_b
23-11-2005, 05:34 PM
here is da PA 1 ans.
1. ABDBACCACA
11.DDACBAABBC
21.BACDCCDBDC
31.DACCDBDACB
41.DACBBCACAC
51.CACDDDCABC
20 not D meh? III for sure got. IV also got. but II they didn't mention anggota tetap or anything. Anyone got answers for Bio I?
dizzy_b
26-11-2005, 04:09 PM
I marked myself. the '?' ones are unsure answers:
1?ABDDABD?C
11?CBBACDBDA
21CDBDBCABAD
31CCCBAACDBD
41ACABACDCCC
If my answers are wrong let me know. Any bio students in here or not? Sounds like I'm the only one..
confused-freaker
27-11-2005, 04:49 PM
BIO P1 answers
1D 2A 3B 4D 5D
6A 7B 8D 9B 10C
11C 12C 13B 14B 15A
16C 17D 18A 19D 20A
21C 22D 23B 24D 25B
26C 27A 28B 29A 30D
31B 32C 33C 34B 35A
36A 37C 38D 39B 40D
41A 42C 43A 44B 45A
46C 47D 48C 49C 50C
this isnt my answers, i pasted from other forum...but seems quite true
dizzy_b
07-12-2005, 06:52 PM
hey..thanks..what other forum? which one?
Q1. How is water as a polar molecule important to living organism? formation of ice? Q11. All carbons? 18 is A? But the hypothalamus has osmoreceptors so the answer shouldn't be A..right? 31..er..shouldn't the graph for absolute growth curve be C instead? The shape of the graph I mean..cos it's absolute growth curve, not absolute growth rate curve..or whatever the other graph is..
how much you got, C-F?
joebf86
07-12-2005, 09:49 PM
Q1. it can forms hydrogen bonding and act as a solute for other subtances. some put C but it's really up to MPM
Q11. should be C rite? recall respiration?technical problem i guess. should have ignore the word ALL. the same goes for Q4. both malay n english version of the question is confusing. seriously....
Q18. i wanna know the explaination too.
Q31. another question with problems. well absolute growth curve graph's shape should be C but the the axis doenst sound logic? no idea also.
never expect that i'll dig up the question papers again haha
dizzy_b
08-12-2005, 12:57 AM
Q1. it can forms hydrogen bonding and act as a solute for other subtances. some put C but it's really up to MPM
Q11. should be C rite? recall respiration?technical problem i guess. should have ignore the word ALL. the same goes for Q4. both malay n english version of the question is confusing. seriously....
Q18. i wanna know the explaination too.
Q31. another question with problems. well absolute growth curve graph's shape should be C but the the axis doenst sound logic? no idea also.
never expect that i'll dig up the question papers again haha
lol..yeah..our teachers must be proud of us if they knew..only doing so out of boredom though..l :D
Q11. I put C at first but chged to D when i saw the word 'all' cos not all the carbons get oxidised to CO2..but is acetyl CoA the completely oxidised form? not too sure bout that..wat about Q4?
Q18. the answer that C-F gave, A, most prolly refers to chemoreceptors which can be found at the carotid and aortic(?) bodies..osmoreceptors are found in blood vessels (aorta?) so the most probable answer is B..gah, I got that wrong..:p
Q31. yeah, the problem lies within the axis..lol..
anymore odd questions to throw about? lol..can't believe i actually miss discussing schoolwork..must have caught some weird bug..
confused-freaker
08-12-2005, 07:50 PM
lol..badly done...at least got more than half correct....i'm glad d
09-12-2005, 03:54 AM
Q1. How is water as a polar molecule important to living organism? formation of ice?
not really an expert in Chemistry... but i remember reading somewhere, sometime back that:
becoz of water as a polar molecule
--> ice has a lower density than water
--> in a lake or river, only the surface was turned into ice
--> hence, organism can survive...
and water as a solution answer is true too, because water molecule's polarity, it is a universal solvent(is this the word), and it serves a medium of lots of reaction...
(i think this is what i can remember from my half done A-level chemistry more than 2 years ago...)
joebf86
10-12-2005, 08:36 AM
Q4. i guess the biggest problem lies on the way the question i constructed. "is the origin of other membranes in the cell"basically people understand it in 2 ways
1) source of other membranes in the cell, means which organel cretaes membranes/membran-bounded organelles in the cell
2) which organelle comes from oher membranes in the cell.
well, at that moment, i chose 1) and i was forced to choosesmooth ER though many books didnt mention about it can create vesicles. Rough ER would be a better answer.
for those who is in 2), they picked lysosome. but how does lysosome add/create new membranes? it only hydrolses other organelles.
anyway this question is debatable.
and if the problem lies on the language, having bilingual paper didnt help:
"yg manakah asal usul membran lain di dalam sel"
oh, the bahasa so cacat. haha
since u guys seem so interested, how bout
Q6. Pelangi and Longman give two different amswers. one sure salah la.
Q18. there are chemoreceptors in aorta? omg. i didnt study that chapter well
anyway, happy discussing!
dizzy_b
10-12-2005, 02:50 PM
So, the ans to Q1 is D lah..
Q4. I chose 1) as well..though I didn't think about vesicles at that time..since smooth ER synthesises phospholipids, (ans B in Q3), which is the main component of cell membranes (I think)..I chose smooth ER..I considered lysosome too..
if you think the bahasa for this year's paper is cacat u should try our bio past year Qs, translated version of course..some are really direct translations..more cacat la..LOL..
Q6. omg..two diff answers? I didn't study Pelangi at all! I chose A. Y'know..last year's paper 1..there's a question on this as well..check out the graph..it's the graph in B..die..
Q18. I dunno bout aorta lah..cos it's not in the books..only chemoreceptors in the hypothalamus are mentioned (the kidney chapter)..wat's a carotid sinus actually? i have no idea..
oh well..at least my bio 1 is better than Maths 2..what a nightmare..but then again, I'm not that good at maths..
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.