View Full Version : I wonder why JPA doesn't send many students to canada
ambosayenegaroambo
15-11-2005, 04:33 PM
i am a jpa scholar will be doing engineering in canada.still doing my preparation in malaysia..i wonder why jpa don't send many students there..in the 70-80 malaysia used to send many students to canada. but later they stop sending students there..then, last year they had started to send students to canada again(only 12 students)..this year 9 students..who here is JPA_CAN? :?: ..other than MR YES
khor_albert
15-11-2005, 08:18 PM
Well, my friend, who is also a ReComer by the nickname of mothball is a Canada-bound JPA scholar doing his preparation in Subang Jaya too. Perhaps both of you are classmates/college-mates.
oh cool. which uni are you going to in canada?
i'm also studying in canada right now.. not jpa scholar though.
To those of you who are interested in joining UofT, do post ur concerns on the forum of our Malaysian Students Association of University of Toronto's newly refurbished website: http://masatoronto.org/
As this forum is still new, we've yet to receive any posts. Thus, your participation is highly encouraged. Do not hesitate to post your concerns, we don't bite...Thank you.
julia
23-07-2010, 04:40 PM
oh cool. which uni are you going to in canada?
i'm also studying in canada right now.. not jpa scholar though.
can i know which uni n course that you r studying in Canada
Alexis Ma
24-07-2010, 07:55 PM
A better question is "why doesn't the JPA send scholars to NUS, best in the region and tops in the world to boot?".
25-07-2010, 12:15 AM
A better question is "why doesn't the JPA send scholars to NUS, best in the region and tops in the world to boot?".
Brain drain... And to make things worse, it's to your tiny next door neighbour who is currently more advanced than you.
Alexis Ma
25-07-2010, 12:25 AM
Unspeakable, yanno_yamster... You... You... You spoke the truth! D:
Glassylicious
25-07-2010, 12:54 AM
I think some of us here might not be seeing the bigger picture in terms of feasibility of idea.
Might it be because Singapore doesn't have many universities [only about 3] and the universities that are worth going to [NUS/NTU] are VERY competitive?
Think about it. It doesn't make sense to pick up 50 or so post-SPM students for Singapore when there are only 2 or 3 universities there which are known for their very tough [and not Malaysian-friendly] admissions policies. Sure, a select handful might get in, but it's wishful thinking to expect the whole Singapore-bound lot to get a place in a Singaporean university. So where are all these rejected scholars going to go? Our current JPA policy basically makes you stuck to whatever country you signed up with. A Singaporean category for our PILN just isn't feasible simply because probably at least 80% of the scholars aren't going to get a place due to the competitiveness and admissions quota in these universities.
That's like saying "Why doesn't JPA send their scholars to Harvard and Oxford?"
25-07-2010, 01:00 AM
You do have a good point there, Glassy. Your opinion is no doubt from a more optimistic point of view while mine was rather pessimistic and skeptical.
kykoay
26-07-2010, 08:34 PM
i am a jpa scholar will be doing engineering in canada.still doing my preparation in malaysia..i wonder why jpa don't send many students there..in the 70-80 malaysia used to send many students to canada. but later they stop sending students there..then, last year they had started to send students to canada again(only 12 students)..this year 9 students..who here is JPA_CAN? :?: ..other than MR YES
Your statistics is completely skewed. For the batch of Canada-bound scholars for Fall 2010, there are 129 scholars sponsored by JPA. If you compile your statistics from Recom's database, then you ought to know that not all scholars use ReCom. The number of Canada-bound students don't really deviate that much from year to year.
As for the take on why wouldn't JPA want to send students to Singapore, the rigour of university selection makes sense, though I would say that culture difference is also of plausibility.
davidchak
09-08-2010, 03:00 AM
The reason why JPA dont want to send students to SIngapore is the same reason why they dont let us fly SIA to Canada.