View Full Version : JPA India bound students here!!!...
loneguardian
28-11-2005, 11:41 PM
Finally... Our own space... Feel free to introduce yourselves... As India is not a near country, we might need to get our relationship as good as possible...
loneguardian
28-11-2005, 11:47 PM
I heard alamanda saying that the BDS from the other two MC (other than Ramaiah) are recognised, may I know the source please? I think we should get the info from Malaysia Dental Coucil but phone there people dun wan pick up phone, email them like dumping letter into sea... Haihz...
My parents are now coming out wif horrible plans which I can't tolerate anymore... I'm worried...
graphite
29-11-2005, 12:05 AM
i'm not too sure whether this has the correct information or not, but it might be of some help to you all regarding the recognition of dental courses in india:
Oral Health Division Ministry of Health Malaysia
http://www.moh.gov.my/ohd/regqualification.htm#in
does not sound very convincing though :? ...
crazyfrog
29-11-2005, 08:41 PM
haha....finally...a thread for india bound...
btw, for dentistry...i think jpa wud no matter how pun try their best to recognize the uni that they will send u de la...coz in d end they need ur service pun, rugilah if they themselves send u to an unrecognized uni.....
haha...logic or not?
loneguardian
29-11-2005, 08:50 PM
Dunno why... I got a funny feeling tat... Tis smells like a conspiracy... 2 create cheap labours using d minimum cost... It wont b impossible tat they 1 serve-gov-only slaves...
graphite
30-11-2005, 01:40 AM
haha...trust me, you are not the only one with this "funny feeling" about this whole stuff about recognition etc...i mean, it's all about our future, man!
personally, i had always felt that once we accept this jpa scholarship to india (i really really really doubt if it is that frustrating if we were to be given u.k. or australia because come on la, recognition of courses is never a problem in both of that countries), it will be a do-or-die situation for us poor students...either we proceed with what's waiting for us, or we are doomed considering even the fms programme which we are undergoing right now is hardly recognised by other private higher education institutions *sigh*...it's like reaching the end of a tunnel or so *louder sigh* 8O ...
loneguardian
30-11-2005, 11:26 AM
Living is tough... Sigh...
crazyfrog
30-11-2005, 04:50 PM
haha....actually by now we should already accepted the fact that india is mmg our destination...i mean, no point still hoping for UK or aus...haha...
the 'consipary' is to produce more (cheap) labour....haha...now we are the raw materials, do we want ourselves to be such so called low quality labours? all we hv to reli do is.....to prove ourselves good n worthy... juz to show that it doesn't matter which country we are receiving our medical studies....as long as after studies...we too can be good doctors....
think of this....since the jpa will or already recognized the unis v r going...means that when we come back to serve...we are equal with those going to UK or aus....the country or uni doesnt reli matters....it all comes back to ourselves to make us good doctors in the future....
haha...graphite, u had a point on the fms....hehe....this is wat i wana add...... KUTPM sux!!!!!!!
alamanda_star
30-11-2005, 08:59 PM
i've found a page with the list of colleges and uni in india recognized by malaysia , but i not sure whether it is updated enough....anyway, why shud we be worrying about all this, aren't we jpa scholars, aren't we bound to jpa for ten years after graduation. but the way kutpm is, the fact that the fms programme is not recognized by any other colleges or uni had dissapointed us...and i was wondering , is bounded with jpa means we must come back to malaysia and find the job ourself or they will provide us with a job...http://www.indianhighcommission.com.my/collegelist.html
masdie
30-11-2005, 09:46 PM
Malaysia is in need of doctors. So JPA is trying to mass-produce and at the same time, save costs. That's why you see they're sending people to cheaper options. If I'm not mistaken, you'll have a job waiting for you. There's no need to look for a job right after graduation as you will need to complete your housemanship which means that you're working with the government. Currently, government hospitals need doctors, so you won't go hungry. The only questions is where you'll be thrown to. You'll be given 3 choices when you apply but you never know how these people work.
The problem is that government doctors resign after a few years (eg: after completing their compulsory service or after gaining 'enough' experience) and 'migrate' to the private sector. But for the past few years, JPA has been able to sponsor more students as they save when they send students to cheaper medical school. So from my point of view, there'll be an excess of doctors in time to come. When that happens, some doctors will have to stay in government hospitals. And when the supply increases further, more doctors will work with the government. So problem solved.
Besides that, JPA has chosen India, Indonesia, Russia as an alternative to the developed countries. So most probably, their scholars won't stay on in those countries, so wallah...another problem solved. No more scholars running away from their bonds.
So now you know JPA is actually a pretty smartass. No longer a dumbass.
ps: I don't look down on you people sent to these cheaper options. Good luck in your studies!.
graphite
30-11-2005, 09:54 PM
the list of recognised medical college in india as stated in the website of the indian high commision is long! and to imagine that the talk we had that day by an important figure (you know who i mean) confidently announced that only 3 out of the 37 medical college in india are recognised by the malaysian medical council...man, we really cannot be sure of information dumped upon us anymore...
loneguardian
01-12-2005, 05:48 PM
the list of recognised medical college in india as stated in the website of the indian high commision is long! and to imagine that the talk we had that day by an important figure (you know who i mean) confidently announced that only 3 out of the 37 medical college in india are recognised by the malaysian medical council...man, we really cannot be sure of information dumped upon us anymore...
The 3 medical colleges the person meant is in the Karnataka state...
Haih... How about BDS...
And in addtion to what masdie said, i wish to add that... The true intention is to let us work for government.. or worse... for government only...
graphite
01-12-2005, 09:02 PM
oh, is it? :lol: alrite, i retract my previous statement...
Cloudie
02-12-2005, 12:29 PM
a lot of top students and also below-average students want to become doctors. i don't understand if it's their life-long dream, or it's the job they thought is their dream job, or worse because it's the course for top students. and many resolve to going to cheaper places where sometimes quality is compromised to accomplish their dream. but frankly speaking, i look down on doctors graduating from indonesia, russia, ukraine, india and all the unheard of places. i don't trust them. and i won't trust them until they prove that they're able to treat patients like a good doctor. some of you might scold me for discriminating them but seriously i can't help it. it's not that i look high on doctors graduating from uk, us or even malaysia, but i think they had been trained and scrutinised well before graduating. i know there're also fat-asses able to graduate from these places but the fact that they graduate from these places is enough to give me a good impression. i also know that there're good one studying in russia, ukraine etc etc, but unless i'm sure, i prefer to take precaution. call me anything you want. but this is what i feel deep down inside.
Malaysia is in need of doctors. So JPA is trying to mass-produce and at the same time, save costs. That's why you see they're sending people to cheaper options. If I'm not mistaken, you'll have a job waiting for you. There's no need to look for a job right after graduation as you will need to complete your housemanship which means that you're working with the government. Currently, government hospitals need doctors, so you won't go hungry. The only questions is where you'll be thrown to. You'll be given 3 choices when you apply but you never know how these people work.
The problem is that government doctors resign after a few years (eg: after completing their compulsory service or after gaining 'enough' experience) and 'migrate' to the private sector. But for the past few years, JPA has been able to sponsor more students as they save when they send students to cheaper medical school. So from my point of view, there'll be an excess of doctors in time to come. When that happens, some doctors will have to stay in government hospitals. And when the supply increases further, more doctors will work with the government. So problem solved.
Besides that, JPA has chosen India, Indonesia, Russia as an alternative to the developed countries. So most probably, their scholars won't stay on in those countries, so wallah...another problem solved. No more scholars running away from their bonds.
So now you know JPA is actually a pretty smartass. No longer a dumbass.
ps: I don't look down on you people sent to these cheaper options. Good luck in your studies!.
Dear Masdie,
What make you change your attitude and concept just with in six months? Would you mind to share? or correct me if I am wrong. Thank you.
panda_gurl
02-12-2005, 02:01 PM
"wan tan lou"
sorry talk crap here..but i think some1 will know wat i mean..
Get it?? huhuhuh !!
masdie
02-12-2005, 08:38 PM
Dear Masdie,
What make you change your attitude and concept just with in six months? Would you mind to share? or correct me if I am wrong. Thank you.
Wow, didn't know people actually take note of things I wrote.
Well, I don't know how to answer this. Can I pass?
*quickly runs away...*
Does anyone knows how the JPA make the selection which country you are suppose to go... for example UK, Russia, India or even Indonesia?? As I remember when I went for their interview the panel did asked me where I want to do my dentistry and I answered Australia...but now they give me India.... :lol: :) :roll: :P
Tralon
13-12-2005, 05:34 AM
Unless u guys are not entering a twinning program with Manipal, the only option are the other 2 private med colleges, (Ramaiah & Belgaum).
Forget the rest of the list of colleges in the JPa list, They are all Indian government colleges, they don't entertain foreign students .
petertok
13-12-2005, 06:23 PM
Dear Masdie,
Wow, didn't know people actually take note of things I wrote.
Well, I don't know how to answer this. Can I pass?
*quickly runs away...*
pathetic
Tralon
17-12-2005, 03:47 AM
For those of you heading to India upcoming 2006 intake, all the best.
Coz you guys gonna need it for the coming April/Mei entrance exams (COMED).
JROTC_pw
17-12-2005, 11:48 PM
are u sure about this??..the dean of the Ramaiah medical college told us that day ...JPA students do not need to take the enterance exam....
Tralon
18-12-2005, 08:22 AM
are u sure about this??..the dean of the Ramaiah medical college told us that day ...JPA students do not need to take the enterance exam....
As far as the State Govt concerned, every private colleges must adhere to the Supreme Court of India rules. Govt nominate students take CET & Management (private students) seat takes COMED. i don't think there is any special rule or exemption for foreign students . The principal might break the law & face consequences....like always...Look what happened 10 years ago with the JPa students at Ramaiah....sigh..
JROTC_pw
18-12-2005, 10:27 AM
Look what happened 10 years ago with the JPa students at Ramaiah....sigh..
what happen??...
kakumei
18-12-2005, 03:05 PM
I don't think JPA students going to India need to take the entrance exam. That is what I heard from my lecturers. Only the India citizens are taking the exams.
graphite
18-12-2005, 11:34 PM
Look what happened 10 years ago with the JPa students at Ramaiah....sigh..
what happen??...
gosh...yeah, what happened??? 8O
btw, are you a medic student under jpa in india as well, tralon? which year?
Tralon
19-12-2005, 03:31 AM
One of the reason that private/foreign students got disbarred from enrolling in private colleges were that these colleges admitted in excess capitation fees students. This happened since '91 intake. The state government took drastic action by taking over the admissions since 1999.
The private colleges fought back by filing writ petitions & formed a new entrance exam for private students called COMED. Eventually the Indian Supreme Court gave 50% of admission back to the control of private colleges in 2005 ,BUT the law & regulation still in place for private funded m'sian students who joined since 2001, still MUST undertake the entrance exam before joining the colleges.
JPA stopped sending students since '95 due to the fact that these students although were enrolled & admitted, but had to endure hardship during University exams & permission to stay in India by the Indian Immigration office due to the absence of certain certificates which these private colleges could not obtain for them for the same fact that these colleges broke the governing rule.
So, what makes JPa students so special to get exemptions? Not even M'sian High Commission nor Wisma Putra could help then during those days. What makes it different now? Even If the state govt close one eye on this what makes the rest of the private students except JPA students who had to endure the entrance exams as well would say about this? I'm sure the other private students would protest and JPA students would return back to square one. Check your facts by calling up the University or the Ministry of Medical Education in India.
Unlike UK or US, there are NO JPA reps or even M'sian student department over here to defend fellow M'sians. You guys have to defend yrself what ever problems arise. In fact recently, when the JPA & M'sian Ministry of Finance officers came over to India to meet other m'sian students in a meeting to ask about the condition of studies, the college officers were also there. No real chances for m'sians to express freely what's the problem facing them. Crossing their path would mean trouble.
I'm not saying everything is doom here. Only if all the paper works done are in order/place, you guys would be almost trouble free till you finish your internship. Lacking one certificate or two, would mean trouble, or worse, having to return back to M'sia in a swift, empty handed.
Tralon
19-12-2005, 03:49 AM
Check your facts right. "Dean" does not exist in Ramaiah. The highest college adminstrator is Principal. Ramaiah Med school is only a college. Not a University.
Asymptote
19-12-2005, 05:23 PM
Tralon, are you currently studying medic in India?
Which college? JPA scholar?
graphite
20-12-2005, 12:09 AM
oh my goodness! then why on earth is jpa sending students to india??? :cry:
from what i have gathered, there is a jpa/mara representative each in the u.k., u.s., australia and korea (not sure of germany, france and indonesia though) to look after students studying over there. now, life in these countries are much better or kinda equal to that in malaysia, thus i don't think students have much problems adjusting to the environment as compared to students who are sent to india. everyone knows that studying in india requires a lot of adjusting considering that the standard of living over there isn't as er, wonderful as in first-world countries such as the u.s. and u.k.
so, it sounds odd that no jpa officers are stationed in india since they are much needed over there...or it's because no one is willing to be stationed over there and live what malaysian students are put through...? :?
masdie
20-12-2005, 02:15 AM
oh my goodness! then why on earth is jpa sending students to india??? :cry:
Err....because it's cheap?
Come on people, we know what shit we're getting into the moment we sign the contract.
elaine86
20-12-2005, 11:50 AM
Well, first of all I would like to thank Tralon for sharing his information and knowledge. :lol:
However there are some parts that I dun quite get it.
Govt nominate students take CET & Management (private students) seat takes COMED.
err wat is CET?
You mentioned that if we are not going to manipal, then, we will either be going to Ramaiah or Belgaum. Yeah, I knew about the 3 private medic colleges, that are approved by JPA. But, what we were told is Manipal, Ramaiah or Jawaharlal Nehru Medical College.
Is Belgaum = Jawaharlal Nehru Medical College? I have not heard of Belgaum before, pls tell me more about that.
I am certain that JPA students who went to manipal (both Kasturba and Bangalore) in August 2005, did not sit for any entrance exam. And, we are told that we are not required to sit for any entrance exam too.
Anyway, nobody knows for sure whether we will be sitting for their entrance exam or not, because the policies may change and it depends on the success of the negotiation between JPA and private medic colleges in India. I am aware of the intervention India Supreme Court, because we were told about that too.
I think that, the more important thing that we should focus on is COMED.I used to worry about whether we have to sit for that exam or not. Now, I realized that, it is out of fear, fear of the test, that I convinced myself to believe what JPA told us,(we do not need to take that test). That is not the correct attitude, that we, JPA scholars should adopt.
Instead or arguing on whether we will be sitting or not, it will be wiser to prepare ourselves for that test. We do not lose anything by preparing for dat test, it will not be a waste of effort even if later, it turns out that, we do not need to take da test.
Trojan, wat does COMED stands for?
1.) Basically, what type of question will be asked? Is it about English, physics, chemistry and biology?
2.) Is there any way, we can get the past year question for that test, so dat we will know roughly what we should study?
3.) Is it something similar to UK entrance exam, or it is more difficult?
4.) Any website that will tell us more about that?
Friends out there, do not worry about life in India, it is not the problem of can we adapt ourselves to the hardships there.
It is whether we want to adapt or not, It is the way we see/view things wisely, that matters.
Tralon, you do not seem to want to tell us about yourself. But, I think, it is ok. You may have your own reasons. (Though, I am curios as well) haha?..:)
graphite
21-12-2005, 07:22 PM
You mentioned that if we are not going to manipal, then, we will either be going to Ramaiah or Belgaum. Yeah, I knew about the 3 private medic colleges, that are approved by JPA. But, what we were told is Manipal, Ramaiah or Jawaharlal Nehru Medical College.
Is Belgaum = Jawaharlal Nehru Medical College? I have not heard of Belgaum before, pls tell me more about that.
really...from what we (india-bound students undergoing foundation in kutpm right now) have been told by jpa, the three universities (or medical colleges, i would rather say) which we will be sent to are:
1. m.s. ramaiah medical college, bangalore
2. kasturba medical college, mangalore
3. christian medical college, ludhiana
so which three universities are we supposed to be sent to???
elaine86, are you studying in india now? which university? mind to share with us about how it is like in india? :D
elaine86
22-12-2005, 11:36 AM
Wow, i didn't know that Christian Medical College would come into the picture. Anyway, it doesn't matter. because it is another top medical college too. Actually, I've been wondering why JPA didn't include Christian M.C.
I am the same as you. India bound student, but i did a different preparatory programme ( A level) in KTT. Our A level duration is 1 and half year. (beginning from July 2004 till Nov 2005).
But in Kutpm the pre-uni course is only 1 year, which means u all started in June2005 till next year. ( correct me if i am wrong). It also means that we will be going to India together next year 2006. ahh, there's another group of JPA students from Uitm too(but im not so sure about that).
graphite
24-12-2005, 02:14 AM
yeah, the foundation course in kutpm is about 1 year, so it should end around june or july next year, i guess...
well, i'm just wondering...how many of you are there in ktt (izzit in sepang?)? there are about 70+ india-bound students in kutpm and i'm just curious about how jpa is going to send ALL of us to india considering that not many foreign students are admitted over there...
and also, has the admin of ktt ever briefed india-bound students in ktt regarding how jpa is going to place all of you in the three universities in india? based on results or randomly? :lol:
merry christmas, everyone!
petertok
24-12-2005, 11:49 PM
Merry christmas yen tsen!!!
And also to all indian bound jpa scholars..!
graphite
25-12-2005, 01:14 AM
*sweats* why go and tayang so publicly in here la...haha...same to you as well, peter! merry christmas! :lol:
Tralon
27-12-2005, 11:41 AM
Forgive me for the late reply..too busy
As to answer some of the questions that some of you guys posted out,
1. CET means "Common Entrance Test". Not applicable to foreign students. Only the local state students are permitted to take it. The Karnataka state govt awards merit points and ranking after totalling the exam results, which means it includes the total marks of the pre-univ (50%) and the CET (another 50%).
2. As for COMED (" Common Entrance for Medical, Engineering & Dental) is applicable for private students of out- of- state of Karnataka and foreign students. The entrance tests is conducted by a consortium of all the private colleges of engineering, medical & dental. The subjects are physics, chemistry and biology and to some including maths, each subjects takes one and a half hour of test. COMED completes in 2 days. The exams are conducted usually in the month of April or Mei, and yes they do have books and preparatory notes selling all over the book stores on how to excel in them.
For those taking COMED, the minimum requirement passing marks is only 50% ("officially") required by the university. That means for the state of Karnataka, since all health science colleges (including pharmacy, dental, paramedic etc) is under RGUHS (Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Sciences) which was established in '96, they require that all out of state/foreign students must have a basic understanding of science before they allow these students to take their respective courses.
Except "Melaka-Manipal Twinnig Programme". all exams in private & Govt med colleges in Karnataka are conducted under RGUHS. That means, all medical exams throughout the course are conducted simultaneously under the same university, and students are required to complete one year of internship before obtainig their degrees.
At the moment, there are no JPA/Telekom/Petronas sponsors studying under RGUHS (as far as i know) , as JPA stopped sending students since '95 due to the complaints and hassle. (please read my previous posts).
At the moment, only 3 private colleges are recognised by the M'sian Govt.
1. Jawaharlal Nehru Medical College, Belgaum .(we M'sians just pronounced as "Belgaum" even though Belgaum is just a town for short form sake).
2. Kasturba Med. College ( Most here just nick "Manipal"even though the branch in Mangalore is also recognized) and
3. Ramaiah Med College (known just as "Ramaiah").
All these colleges are in Karnataka.
As for Christian Med College, Ludhiana is in the state of Punjab (north west of India) even though is recognized, they do not admit foreign students. It is a Christian Missionary College, fully sponsored by the Catholics, intake is few ) less than 60 students per year and they have different set of requirements for intake, like for example it needs recommendation/supporting letter from yr local priests/godfather and fully baptized certificate from yr group of church etc.
As of to date, under the High Court of Karnataka ruling, RGUHS requires that all foreign/out of state students who's applying for admission into private med colleges, requires that these students must have at least 12 years of schooling, 50% passing marks in science subjects and have undertake the COMED. Private colleges are permitted to admit only 50% seats under the Management category and the other 50% will be filled up by local students selected under CET & are considered as Govt nominee students with merits.
All Govt & private colleges are permitted to admit only 150 students, and as for the latest news that i read in the local newspaper, the private colleges would award at least 20% seats under the manaegement category preference to local lower castes students ( India has a lot of caste categories since under hinduism, along with muslim, christians, anglonian, sikhs etc categories), 15% to NRI (Non Resident Indians- meaning Americans, British, Canadians etc of Indian Origin- even though M'sian Indian is not considered under this category- meaning parents of students holding Indian passports) and the remaining 15% is for foreigner.. So u guys calculate yrself how many M'sian students are permitted to study in these colleges per intake.
As much as Ramaiah, Manipal wanted to admit as many M'sian students as they want to ( which private colleges doesn't like money? $$$$$) they are bound by the rule. Therefore, most likely unless Ramaiah & Belgaum did a total turn around like what Manipal did by introducing a twinning programme, i'm afraid their hands are tight. But rest assured, under RGUHS, all the colleges are at least recognized by the Indian medical Council, WHO and are allowed to take Overseas medical board examination licenses. (such as PLAB, USMLE etc).
masdie
27-12-2005, 08:58 PM
Err...did JPA brief you all about all these stuff when you started this programme? Or did they only tell you that you're going to India? So irresponsible! Leaving you all blur blur like that.
Tralon
28-12-2005, 07:14 AM
I wish to add;
The M'sian JPA + private students those days (before '95) formed an association called "M'sian Sudents Association (MSA)" in order to organize, unite and voice out what ever problems and procedures that arised while studying in India. This gave them the power of "One Voice". This is more apparent and strongest in "Ramaiah" rather than the other 2 colleges since the ones in Bangalore had little more difficulty in their admission/exams than the rest.
MSA apart from organizing cultural event, sports,magazine,celebrating all the major M'sian Festivals events (e.g Raya, Chinese New Year & Deepavali, Merdeka), meeting JPA, High Commisssioner officials etc, the association also helps the new comers in terms of finding them lodgings, Indian Immigration Office (i.e paper work registration in Asst High Commisioner of Police) which should be done by the lack of JPA or M'sian embassies reps over here.
The m'sian students who 're studying here under RGUHS are mostly private students, and there are very less in numbers (max of 4-5 students per year), and they usually fend for themselves or worse case, being demanded of bribes by some unscrupulous middle men.
MSA is almost dead & buried, but if JPA starts sending again students to India, hopefully the association could be revived again by the sheer numbers of m'sian students. I hope the new comers (06 intake) make themselves known among each other and start co-ordinating with one another for what ever problems that may arise in the near future in India.
I will be glad to assist you guys for those who will be arriving shortly in India for yr studies provided that some of you are cooperative enough to unite, coz if some are just plain selfish, arrogant or just plain "hard headed" to cooperate, there will be hard times ahead.
I can get in touch with some of the ex-presidents of MSA to guide u guys in that direction.
Tralon
28-12-2005, 05:08 PM
Except "Melaka-Manipal Twinnig Programme". all exams in private & Govt med colleges in Karnataka are conducted under RGUHS. That means, all medical exams throughout the course are conducted simultaneously under the same university, and students are required to complete one year of internship before obtainig their degrees..
Excuse me for the typing error. Apart from "Melaka-Manipal Twinning Program", Manipal & Mangalore branch are also under seperate university from RGUHS, which is under MAHE. A totally independent private university, which also include under the same umbrella other courses such as engineering, IT, MBA etc.
graphite
28-12-2005, 10:00 PM
wow! tralon, thanx a lot for the info, man...they were really enlightening because seriously, nobody from the college of even jpa has ever thought of telling us india-bound students about all of those stuff...thank you so much!
Err...did JPA brief you all about all these stuff when you started this programme? Or did they only tell you that you're going to India? So irresponsible! Leaving you all blur blur like that.
*sigh* yeah, we weren't told anything except for the fact that we will be sent to three universities which are recognised by malaysia and our date of departure will be around middle of next year...that's the truth...
kakumei
29-12-2005, 12:00 AM
Wow. Thank you, Tralon! It is a great help here. Though I am really surprised about those info-s. :wink:
And @<hidden>, thanks for the college list info. I wasn't told about that in my college too. But still, is Christian MC is really in the list? If so, only the christians are able to apply. I can't see the logic here. Haha.
@<hidden>, hi! My new nick!
Tralon
29-12-2005, 10:12 AM
Latest news..perhaps just coincidence;
JPA & reps from M'sian Min of Health, came again ( almost twice within a short span of 2 months) ,around a week back to reinspect the facilties at these private colleges and also for some further fact finding mission..
The officers are also heading to the state of Tamil Nadu to inspect some private colleges also. As of now, no private colleges in Tamil nadu is recognized in M'sia as yet. Perhaps due to the hassle and restrictions imposed in Karnataka, i got the feeling that JPA gonna send u guys to Tamil Nadu and recognized at the same time a few more colleges.
This is perhaps from my own conclusion as the officers kept telling us that their mission is to inspect d facilities and heading to Tamil Naidu to also reinspect some colleges there too..
If u guys are not studying in Chennai (capital state of T.Nadu), other towns can be a little bit of back-water towns for the standard of u guys...But anyway, cheer up! U guys might become the new pioneers!! :D
elaine86
30-12-2005, 12:21 PM
hah...i have not been able to online for the past few days, some problems with my pc. Wow....what a huge lot of infomation from Tralon. Thanks..
hmm...the latest news is certainly not a good news...being the first malaysian students to study at medical colleges in Tamil Nadu??No...:roll: i would prefer to go to Karnataka state,at least there are more Malaysians there and people in Malaysia are more familiar with the medical colleges there..
As to Graphite's question, there are 21 of us JPA India Bound Students in KTT(i don't know bout the KTT-Mara sponsored students,some of them are going to India too) ..yeah, it is in Sepang. I think JPA will place us into the 3 medic colleges randomly. Just like how they divide our seniors to kasturba and mangalore..randomly.
hahaha,,we guys in KTT are having our long holidays rite now.. :wink: Our last A level paper was on 22nov.(Biology paper was hard).So,we are free until before going to India next year...
Eh, kakumei, is that another character's name in one of ur favorite Manga??:wink:
To those who are still studying in KUTPM, Gambate & Work Hard.. To others, HAppy NEw YEar!~ :
-UnknownAngel-
30-12-2005, 09:54 PM
Well, there are 36 india bound students in Intec, Uitm right now. having a-level soon by next month. wow, ktt finished off so fast? really dont quite understand why jpa shorten the course.. left the students with so much time ... the brain gonna goes rusty by the time they reach india. anyway, happy new year..
graphite
31-12-2005, 11:03 PM
waaa...you mean to say that you guys at ktt will be free until we depart for india? that's like...almost 7 months or so...so lucky!
haih, it's the opposite for us at kutpm right now...because our foundation is to be completed in one year (with three semester, about 5-6 subjects, different in each semester), so you can more or less figure out how we are rushing to finish everything by june 2006...haha...more like a crash course i would say...
hmmm...randomly? too bad we can't choose our universities...i thought that it will be based on results, but then again, our foundation courses (kutpm, ktt and intec) are so entirely different...
happy new year to all of you out there! :D
kakumei
01-01-2006, 10:19 AM
Aiks? I thought all the India-bound students will finish the pre-u course within the 1.5years period? Why UiTM students that are supposed to go to India still haven't finish their course?
And what are we KTTians doing? Lalalalalala....
Hey, all the KTTians out there! Sign up and join the discussion. At least we can know each other. Same to the ones from UiTM! We should know each other here...lol! Ok lah, should I start to intro myself 1st?
Yenny
01-01-2006, 11:21 AM
Hi guys and gals... glad to meet u all in here...! Well, I just knew about this network from a friend, and thus i decided to have a look at it and i find it very useful and interesting esp the part bout study in india.. Since kakumei (though i dunno who) ask more kttian to join, that's why i am here... haha... !!
Tralon
01-01-2006, 11:49 AM
Latest development regarding intake of students into private medical colleges in Karnataka for the 06 intake, The state govt still in discussion and the quota or even the qualifying marks hasn't been finalized yet for even the localites;
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/articleshow/1354117.cms
note:
SC means - scheduled caste'
ST - scheduled tribes
yuwei
01-01-2006, 09:04 PM
hey..yenny, did the flood affect your area badly??..eh, forgot to wish u Happy New Year!~
seems like KTT has got the least number of india bound students 21..Uitm 36, and Kutpm >70....
We finished our program much earlier because our exam(Cambridge A level) was on October/November2005..
kakumei
02-01-2006, 05:21 PM
@<hidden>
Thank you again for the infomation. I wonder we people are included in the quotas?
:( it seems that we lost contact with the JPA already. We don't know anything about the latest updates. Should we go and call the department for infos?
Tralon
02-01-2006, 08:44 PM
@<hidden>
Thank you again for the infomation. I wonder we people are included in the quotas?
:( it seems that we lost contact with the JPA already. We don't know anything about the latest updates. Should we go and call the department for infos?
As I said earlier, there is no JPA reps in India, the nearest M'sian authority center is the High Comm of M'sia in Chennai and they don't get involve with this kind of things. JPA could try to call the colleges but I'm sure these colleges would definitely wouldn't give any straight answers as these would jeopardise their "rice bowl".
Do u guys for sure would be send to India in the first place? Was it mentioned in yr contract?
Anyway,keep yr chin up. U guys are bonded to the govt, & i'm sure worst come to worst u guys will be send somewhere else, since JPA would take all the responsbilities of admitting u guys somehow, somewhere...
Beside, some of u guys are still in the midst or going to undertake the pre-u exams, and these worries would only distract their concentrations.
masdie
02-01-2006, 09:42 PM
Do u guys for sure would be send to India in the first place? Was it mentioned in yr contract?
Anyway,keep yr chin up. U guys are bonded to the govt, & i'm sure worst come to worst u guys will be send somewhere else, since JPA would take all the responsbilities of admitting u guys somehow, somewhere...
Ahh...the joy of dangling in the air. JPA has just made a fool out of himself. I wonder how JPA will settle this.
On second thought, maybe you guys should group up and send an official letter to JPA asking for an explanation. If JPA screws up, publish this in the papers.
MUAHAHAHAA!!
bean8112
03-01-2006, 12:48 PM
hi,kttians out there .....l am another kttian...happy new year to all of you ... :)
Tralon
05-01-2006, 01:00 AM
For those of you just finished yr exams & are waiting for the results, I would strongly advice for you to read some introductory books in medicines.
This are because;
1. Time is always short while studying in med schools. Be prepared, especially those who're bound to india coz even the localites have already have a head start and are doing it for themselves.
2. Indian med school for the sophomore is less than one year before the Univ' external exams. The teaching will go full steam ahead from the word 'go"and for those who're just trying to understand the latin & greek's medical terms would be lagged behind.
3. Even though you guys gets 3 times chances before they kick you out if you fail in the first year, (even if JPA already had paid the full entire amount of your school fees), on top of the time constraint, you guys must learn to adjust & adapt to a new country, system, culture shocks and to certain extent, the methods of learning in India are a bit different from M'sia.
My 2 cents worth of suggestions are;
1. Buy books like " Basic terms of Anatomy & Physiology by Bruce Squires for example. You will get a bit better picture on the whole course of studies. Or get any books that could give a clearer picture and step by step methods for studies.
2. Don't buy any text books in Msia, coz India is 20-50% cheaper on the whole. Beside, most of the readings will be based on Indian authors.
Besides, you guys have nothing to lose since intake is still around 7-8 months away.
midnightblue
05-01-2006, 09:27 AM
how is the method of learning in India?
kakumei
05-01-2006, 11:45 AM
@<hidden>,
Thank you again for the info and suggestion...I wanted to start early but wasn't motivated, but now, you really gave me a big push. :D
I have some questions to ask you too:
1. You suggested this Basic terms of Anatomy & Physiology by Bruce Squires. Is it recommended to use the book written by Elaine N. Marieb?
2. Can we start reading Biochemistry too? Do you recommend any books? How about the author Pamela C. Champe and Richard A. Harvey?
3. What do we learn in the 1st year? Does that includes Physcology, Physiology(which part?), Haemotology, Immunology, Basic Pathology?
4. We only start doing practical clinicals in the 3rd right?
Hope these questions won't take much of your time. Sorry and thnk you in anticipation.
Tralon
06-01-2006, 02:09 AM
@<hidden>,
I have some questions to ask you too:
1. You suggested this Basic terms of Anatomy & Physiology by Bruce Squires. Is it recommended to use the book written by Elaine N. Marieb?
2. Can we start reading Biochemistry too? Do you recommend any books? How about the author Pamela C. Champe and Richard A. Harvey?
3. What do we learn in the 1st year? Does that includes Physcology, Physiology(which part?), Haemotology, Immunology, Basic Pathology?
4. We only start doing practical clinicals in the 3rd right?
1. Use any book that u feel comfortable with. The main general idea is that u must get a better, clearer picture on your future studies. Think & treat learning medicine something like , when u first study a new foreign language for example. By taking/reading one page of the foreign book, u might not understand the main whole idea at first, coz you are bogged down by the first & foremost, the meaning of the words. In this case, medical teminologies. Try understanding the terminologies first and what they all meant. That's what i'm trying to explain here. It's not the authors or type of books that matters, as long as u understand them easily, one step at a time.
2. Medical subjects are vast. Each subject is an ocean of knowledge by itself. The main idea in medical undergraduate studies is taking excerpts or chapters from each subject ( Biochemistry as an example), for application in medical schools. Beside, each school in every countries have their own view points and emphasised only on certain ideas or knowledge. On top of that, books that might be useful in one school in certain country, may not be suitable in another. The best thing is to prepare & study with the recommended books suggested by your own medical schools, coz, the main objective is 'acing' in the examinations of your own respective school. In this regard, the localites have the home ground advantage since they know what to expect.
3. First year in India, you will be taught 3 main subjects; Physiology (incl haemotology, bio-physics, systemic physio, applied clinical etc), Anatomy (incl embryology,genetics, histology, gross anatomy etc) and Biochem (incl body fluids, metabolism etc). This includes lab experiments, viva, spotters and theory examinations.
4. Clinicals will be starting in your 3rd semester. U will have ample time seeing your patients daily till you graduate, concentrate first on your first year.
Yenny
06-01-2006, 04:31 PM
REally thanks a lot Tralon for all the information and advice that u give us...
Tralon
07-01-2006, 04:32 AM
I would appreciate u guys who're planning to study in India to discuss and interact more here in this forum. Rather than just sit & wait for someone else who has the guts and the urge to not just ask questions but rather be curious on what's life gonna be in India and so on.
The more u know, the less anxiety and less shock of the outcome gonna become.
I wish this forum were there for me when i first got here. I had many challenging experiences when i first got here. I wish i could share more, but, i don't really know what u guys are wondering of. Getting a seat in the school is one thing, surviving & understanding how the system works here is another. I'm suprise no one bother/risk enough to ask. Once u guys reach here, u guys are almost on your own. . Sure, back in M'sia, almost everything is provided by the authority, the food, lodgings, transportations, pocket money etc, but once here, do u guys know or wonder at least where your next meal is?
Maybe the college might help a little here & there, but you guys can't assume that JPA gonna hold you by the hands and make sure everything is gonna be smooth & easy once you are in a foreign land. Even they don't have the authority nor any influence over here. In m'sia, we entirely depend on government help/handouts where everything is put on a platter, & if something went wrong, wham! it's going to be in the local newspaper. But that system doesn't work over here. Here, if u want something, u guys have to work, fight and make & effort for it, no-one is gonna offer anything. Life doesn't owe you anything. Beside, if you think like a "little emperor" over here like in M'sia, then you got another problem coming.
Living abroad has its own reward, like, independent, mental toughness, broadening the mind etc but you have to earn it first.
masdie
07-01-2006, 09:27 PM
Err...I'm not going to India, but can I post some questions here?
1. Is it really that crowded in India? I mean we all know India is the second most populous country in the world so are the cities like sardine-packed?
2. Do they ALL speak English? Do you need to pick up any Indian language?
3. Do they charge foreigners at a different rate? Do they 'cut your throat' when you're a foreigner? And are they really that poor?
4. How well prepared are India-grad doctors? I was told that you all will have to complete one year of internship before graduating, so how would you compare that to our own M'sian internship? Are Indian medical students the playful type or the bookworm type?
5. Are the equipments there old-school?
6. Any interesting place you had visited? (Besides the Taj Mahal of course)
7. Since there're many Miss Worlds from India, are most Indian girls you meet on the streets cute?
graphite
08-01-2006, 02:42 AM
lol! wonderful and enlightening questions you have there, masdie! may i add to the list:
8. how is the duration of semesters for medical students in india? which month till which month?
9. international calls to india from malaysia are expensive! are domestic calls within india cheap?
10. is the indian accent (for english i mean) hard to grasp?
Tralon
08-01-2006, 05:24 AM
1. Is it really that crowded in India? I mean we all know India is the second most populous country in the world so are the cities like sardine-packed?
2. Do they ALL speak English? Do you need to pick up any Indian language?
3. Do they charge foreigners at a different rate? Do they 'cut your throat' when you're a foreigner? And are they really that poor?
4. How well prepared are India-grad doctors? I was told that you all will have to complete one year of internship before graduating, so how would you compare that to our own M'sian internship? Are Indian medical students the playful type or the bookworm type?
5. Are the equipments there old-school?
6. Any interesting place you had visited? (Besides the Taj Mahal of course)
7. Since there're many Miss Worlds from India, are most Indian girls you meet on the streets cute?
I will try to be brief..
1. It depends. Major cities are crowded. But u have to understand, this is due to the misrepresentation of the ratio of density of population per sq km . It happens even back in M'sia in the old 70 -80'. If the infrastructure is limited, of course most ppl would congregate at the most convenient area, thus, congestion occurs.
But India is expanding infrastructure wise.
2. ha ha...they do speak english majority of them. More so than in M'sia. English is widely spoken & educations 95% are in english unlike m'sia. In fact, grammatical wise, they are more proficient & proud of their proficiency, and unlike us, we are bogged down usually by "Manglish" language. Learning the local language is a plus.
3. Con or cheat occurence are almost everywhere in the world, wherever there is trade involve. Most goods manufactured here ( and even some imported-like our M'sian chocalates) printed with a "MRP"- which stand for "Maximum Retail Price" printed on the box itself. Unlike M'sia, where our goods price are labelled according to the whims & fancy of the retailers.
4. Preparedness? That depends on how you look at it. Almost 40% doctors in U.S & 30% in UK are Indians. They excel academically. In fact, most post-graduate entrance exams top-scorer conducted overseas are Indians. M'sians are the playful type & take life & studies more easily.(Just from my own opinion). This is because, only the scorers of 95% & above in pre-u are allowed for seats in med school.(CET seats). For each one seat, there are 1000 applicants.
5. Equipments is not much a big priority in med schools anywhere. Everyone must learn the basics before one can use the high-tech stuffs. What's the point? If u can only take B.P for example by digital gadget, what if the gadget breaks down or run out of battery? This applies to every med schools around the world.
6. sure..lots of interesting places . U have to experienced it yrself. Every place in this world has its own unique spots.
7. Beauty lies in the eye of the beholder.
deRame
09-01-2006, 01:54 AM
7. Beauty lies in the eye of the beholder.
the way u answered it gives me an impression that there are not many beauties in india.... :lol: :lol:
masdie
09-01-2006, 02:44 AM
Almost 40% doctors in U.S & 30% in UK are Indians.
I found the numbers rather interesting:
Source: http://www.internationaldoc.com/
IMGs make up 23% of the US physician workforce, and 24% of residents........... The largest national groups are from India 20%, Pakistan 12%, Philippines 9% Former soviet republics 3%.
This website was last updated on April 15th, 2005 so I think the statistics are pretty recent. So there're 23+24=55% of IMGs. Indians make only 20% out of that figure. So it should be very much lesser than 40% of the total number of doctors in US.
Source: http://www.workpermit.com/news/2005_02_23/uk/bma_criticizes_uk_immigration_charges.htm
Mr. Johnson also stated that with an estimated 30 percent of doctors in the UK trained overseas, Britain's National Health Service (NHS) is heavily reliant on immigrant medics.
Also this page was created on 23 February 2005. It says here that 30% of UK doctors are IMGs. And I won't believe if you say all of them are Indians. So there, I would say not more than 50% of IMGs are from India.
I would like to stress that I don't know how reliable these two statistics are. If you can find a more reliable source, please let me know.
I'm just putting this up to clarify your statement. I have nothing against you or Indian medical school.
Why would I want to put this up? Because I hate to see laymen blurred with misconceptions. Most of us heard from people that Indian med schools are good because there're a lot of corpses for you to study. People say that Irish med schools especially RCSI are also very good. I say these are all because people graduating from those places are boasting about their so-called good education. I hate it when stupid people believe all those shit. It depends on that individual itself. It really depends on him, whether he wants to study or he wants to lepak around. You can be in Johns Hopkins (ranked best US hospital by USnews) but if you don't work, you won't be good.
Tralon
09-01-2006, 04:02 AM
Almost 40% doctors in U.S & 30% in UK are Indians.
I would like to stress that I don't know how reliable these two statistics are. If you can find a more reliable source, please let me know.
I'm just putting this up to clarify your statement. I have nothing against you or Indian medical school.
Why would I want to put this up? Because I hate to see laymen blurred with misconceptions. Most of us heard from people that Indian med schools are good because there're a lot of corpses for you to study. People say that Irish med schools especially RCSI are also very good. I say these are all because people graduating from those places are boasting about their so-called good education. I hate it when stupid people believe all those shit. It depends on that individual itself. It really depends on him, whether he wants to study or he wants to lepak around. You can be in Johns Hopkins (ranked best US hospital by USnews) but if you don't work, you won't be good.
I'm no politician, nor hold any official figures from the Interior ministry of each country on the numbers, nor do you... beside,as much as i would wish to answer yr previous questions based on my opinion, which i have done, its just an opinion. Just like all of my other answers. As much as u r disturbed with certain remarks, that also, i leave that up to you. As much as i am entitled to my own opinion, i also do the same of yours.
By the way, perhaps u got the wrong interpretations from my answers. I never said that indian med school is good, nor it is bad. Every place has it's own good points & bad. As much as u don't like other people sound typical, what i guess, u also have that typical mindset of certain places & people. That's human nature.
I'm more interested in creating awareness for those who are seriously coming to India, along with explaining some pitfalls along the way, and trying to assist them. Perhaps u haven't read what i've trying to convey here from my every posts from the start. What about u? since u r not intending to study here...i do hope it's not just mere curiosity and create attention to yrself, coz it would be a pity, coz there are more others who are serious & anxious to know their fate once they're in India.
Tralon
09-01-2006, 04:14 AM
8. how is the duration of semesters for medical students in india? which month till which month?
9. international calls to india from malaysia are expensive! are domestic calls within india cheap?
10. is the indian accent (for english i mean) hard to grasp?
8. Each year is divided into 2 semesters. Intake would be during August or September. Exams would be usually on March and September..
9. Calls within India is cheap. But still depends on distance.
10. Once u get a hang on the accent, u will do fine. Not that diifficult really. Just getting time to get use to.
masdie
09-01-2006, 04:45 AM
since u r not intending to study here...i do hope it's not just mere curiosity and create attention to yrself, coz it would be a pity, coz there are more others who are serious & anxious to know their fate once they're in India.
If my previous post causes distress or unhappiness to you, I sincerely offer an apology. But as you've put it in your own words, I have my own opinion too. And no I am not trying to gain popularity stars. I appreciate your initiative trying to help others. I am glad you maintained your professional tone in your post. No hard feelings okay?
As much as u don't like other people sound typical, what i guess, u also have that typical mindset of certain places & people.
Yes you are right. I hate Malaysia.
Tralon
15-01-2006, 07:33 AM
You guys m'sians, bound to India, this news, might be a temporary relief for you. It seems that The Supreme Court of India recently abolished quota on private colleges, but the State Govt is gonna try to challenge the supreme law,by introducing a new state legislation instead ensuring them still the control of admissions. Keep your fingers crossed..U guys might get admitted a bit more easier without any Entrance exams and more M'sians could join in if the State Govt loose their grip of control on admissions. I'll try to keep track on this issue constantly..
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/articleshow/1370204.cms
(p.s the article is 4 pages long, try to click "Next")
graphite
15-01-2006, 09:22 PM
thanx a lot, tralon :D i believe most of us will continue being blissfully ignorant about this issue if not for your help and assistance. haha, it is certainly heartening to note the latest development which might help us india-bound students a lot...
elaine86
21-01-2006, 12:49 PM
Congratulations to all KTTians who have done well in their A level examinations!.. :lol:
N-Guy
03-02-2006, 02:24 PM
what's the concept of the nomination seat?
well, i have some 5 Malaysian friends sstudying in All Indian institute of medical sciences (AIIMS) under this concept
All i know is that there is some capitation money involved
and datuk Sammy vellu has one seat to be given annually
So,hows that possible to study in AIIMS when it recives some 30000 applicants annually but only 50 are taken per year??(bear in mind 7 seats are allocated for the 'nominated candidate")
Any help?
loneguardian
05-02-2006, 11:40 PM
Walau.... long time din come and so many people spoke liao lah... Haihz... BTW, i hope we KUTPMians can meet KTTians in the future... And let's see how "wonderful" is our "university" college... Sigh (for KUTPM)...
Got sumthing i wish to ask, is the err... banking stuff, telecommunication tech and computer tech in India... or more specifically, South India...
1) Should we buy our hp here or there? Is mobile phone or fixed line phone more preferable there?
2) Should we buy our laptop here or there?
3) Do we have Malaysian Banking service there?
Thank you very much in advance for any answers...
Tralon
07-02-2006, 11:56 AM
what's the concept of the nomination seat?
well, i have some 5 Malaysian friends sstudying in All Indian institute of medical sciences (AIIMS) under this concept
All i know is that there is some capitation money involved
and datuk Sammy vellu has one seat to be given annually
So,hows that possible to study in AIIMS when it recives some 30000 applicants annually but only 50 are taken per year??(bear in mind 7 seats are allocated for the 'nominated candidate")
Any help?
1. Nomination seats are usually awarded to merit students in general belonging to a minority sectors, but in the case of foreign students admitted to medical colleges, applications are usually thru the respective Indian embassies.
Capitation fees are only applicable for private medical colleges. In this case, yr m'sian friends did not pay a capitation fees as AIMS is a fully sponsored govt medical college. Most likely, the payment is in a form of "services rendered" to the middle men who either pulled a lot of "strings" to get yr friends into it.
There are hardly any foreign students in Govt med colleges, as the procedures are tight & the fees are extraordinary low since the educations is almost 90% subsidised by the govt. If any, foreigner, usually it is admission thru recommendation by the foreigner's respective govt & intake usually "once in a blue moon".
My best advice, stick to private colleges approved by JPA, as there are many cases of foreign students who went thru middle men into govt colleges, were kicked out in the middle of their studies once there is a change of govt or party in the state.
Tralon
07-02-2006, 12:18 PM
Walau.... long time din come and so many people spoke liao lah... Haihz... BTW, i hope we KUTPMians can meet KTTians in the future... And let's see how "wonderful" is our "university" college... Sigh (for KUTPM)...
Got sumthing i wish to ask, is the err... banking stuff, telecommunication tech and computer tech in India... or more specifically, South India...
1) Should we buy our hp here or there? Is mobile phone or fixed line phone more preferable there?
2) Should we buy our laptop here or there?
3) Do we have Malaysian Banking service there?
Good questions..
Actually, I'm in KL now for the past week for holidays & was quite busy, & to answer some questions honestly,
1. Buy a HP in m'sia if u have any..GSM phones are widely used in India..Prices of certain basic brands does not differ much unless u r planning to buy those 3G phones..
2. Laptop is best brought from m'sia as pc's are expensive here & spare parts are not easy to get by. I myself brought myself a PC instead of laptop from m'sia although it was cumbersome to carry but worth every penny over here as sometimes, some parts broke down or upgrading wise, i get the replaced parts locally in India.
3. M'sian ATM kiosks are a bit difficult to find here, the best way for yr family to send money is by u opening a bank account in an international bank such as HSBC or CitiBank. But best of all, even though it's not quite popular in m'sia, get a Citibank ATM card. The Citibank ATM kiosks are almost on every street corner in India. Using M'sian local bank card u might have 2 be charged extra for the services such as currency exchange rate conversion & taxes for each time u use the Indian ATM's.
In any case, if u guys need further clarification on the scenarios in India, i'll be glad to meet up all of u guys & give some important Do's & Don'ts before coming to India. I'll be leaving by 14th of Feb. Leave yr e-mail or hp no in my message box, & i'll try to meet up if i can make it in time
midnightblue
08-02-2006, 05:43 PM
Thanks Tralon for those useful information!
loneguardian
17-02-2006, 03:17 PM
Hurray!!!!! The end of torturing by Basic Anatomy and Physiology!!!.... Happy holiday to all KUTPMians!!!
midnightblue
17-02-2006, 05:39 PM
~Happy Holiday to all KUTPM-ians !!~
graphite
02-03-2006, 02:33 AM
to tralon or whoever who is currently studying in india,
erm, i'm just wondering...how is the hostel conditions like in indian universities? single-room, double-room or dorm-style? are we given the freedom to choose our accomodations, or are we tied down to the specifications of jpa?
thanks.
kakumei
03-03-2006, 11:13 AM
BIG NEWS!
6 of the 19 KTT students going to India on 10March. JPA changed it to a twinning programme.
How's that? Surprise! I got a call this morning from JPA, requesting us to be in MMC tommorow morning for registration...
2Malays, 2Chineses, 2Indians...
Jenni
03-03-2006, 12:27 PM
i'm totally surprised. How come suddenly change to twinning? just us kttians or everyone going india?
*weeping*....
midnightblue
03-03-2006, 10:26 PM
How many years are you all going to spend in India for the twinning programme? And which medical college are you all going to?
graphite
04-03-2006, 01:31 AM
oh my gosh!!! this is too sudden! 10th of march is like...6 days from now only! 8O
will jpa be doing this kind of switch again in the future? :? which university/medical college were you guys sent to?
Tralon
04-03-2006, 09:10 AM
As far as I know, the ONLY twinning programme is conducted by Manipal-Melaka Twinning Program. The other 3 recognized private medical colleges doesn't have the facility nor the license to do so..beside, there is no fresh intake on march for this 3 colleges. Only Manipal has the capability with 2 intakes admissions per year.
I guess due to the hassle and blurred admission regulations imposed by the Karnataka State Govt for foreign students, JPA decides to send them first to Manipal on twinning basis.
Good luck guys who're heading there!! Summer dry weather is up ahead, get ready with yr sun block and bottles of mineral water.. :D
kakumei
05-03-2006, 01:10 PM
Yeah, hello. I'm just came back from KL. I'm totally busy right now. At least today is Sunday, I can relax just a bit.
The actual scenario was like this. On Friday morning when I was peacefully reading the newspaper, suddenly I was called to report myself in Manipal-Melaka College the next morning at 9.00am.
They changed the 5years India programme to twinning programme. There is a very high possibility that the rest will be going to do twinning in the same college in Sept.
Right now, I am still rushing to do my Visa and my damn pasport within 3to4 days. I think I am screwed now. We'll be flying on Friday night!
Lalalalalala...i'm going crazy...
-UnknownAngel-
05-03-2006, 04:22 PM
wanna ask smth. will the rest of the full india bound programme changed? u mentioned there is a high possiblity of the rest changing. does it apply for those in INTEC? this is kinda confusing..i mean the sudden changes of programme
kakumei
05-03-2006, 05:13 PM
Sorry I can't confirm to you with that. Of course, you can't predict the future. Who knows what JPA will come up later...
So, just don't waste your time worrying the future. 8)
-UnknownAngel-
06-03-2006, 10:51 AM
as for the students in INTEC, jpa still doesnt want to release the uni list even though they are aware that our result will be out very soon ( 16th march ) but the closing date for the uni application will be at the end of april i heard.
kakumei
15-03-2006, 07:50 PM
HI, I'm in Manipal right now. Under MMMC.
As Tralon had said, this year, KMC rreduced the number of foreign students entering their college. Reduced to around 65, if i'm not mistaken, for foreign students.
JPA/MARA sponsored students are A LOT! There is no way they can fit all into KMC. SO, good luck to anyone that could manage to crawl your way into KMC. :D :D
MMMC has the best library! Best library i wou;d say. Plenty of medical journals and reference books. Very comfy in the library. It is a big WOW.
Many malaysian students here in MAnipal. When the police ask me "why there are so many malaysians wanted to become doctors?", I'm too stumped to say anything. Every batch there will be 100++ malaysians enrolled. Damn lot.
Orientation day is tomorrow.
midnightblue
15-03-2006, 11:22 PM
How's is the environment there in Manipal? Is internet connection easily available there or the other way round? And how about your hostel?
Tralon
16-03-2006, 02:32 PM
How's is the environment there in Manipal? Is internet connection easily available there or the other way round? And how about your hostel?
Every place has it's plus and minus, just a matter of adjustment, the main goal is to finish & complete yr studies. Manipal is a conducive place for studies, almost like a University township with many foreign students & many types of studies/courses on offer ..Most likely JPA students would be boarded into rented houses as hostels are suitable and caters mainly for local students, as most M'sians prefer staying in rented houses/apartments anyway..
Internet cafe's are everywhere so does internet connections, choose yr pick, cable , dsl or leased line if u have the money..I wouldn't worry about that much if i were u..
kakumei
18-03-2006, 07:59 PM
Internet is available anywhere. There are a few service provider here. The rate here is quite OK. Though they don;t have any unlimited downloads during the day, they do, 'treat' you with unlimited download at midnight. The speed depends lah...they have 256kbps, 512kbps and 1.0Mbps package...around 3000rupee for the 1.0Mbps package.
Easy to get a connection in your room,; just go get a permission letter from the chief warden without question asked.
:D I'm staying in RT block, Tagore. It's not the best but I'm OK with it. Other options are a bit expensive.
Don't worry that you'll miss malaysian food. They have plenty stall that sells malaysian food...lol :D :D
You'll like the Indian food here too. I got addicted to their milk! Damn nice. It's like flavored milk. Sweet and nice.
P.S. In case you are not a frequent internet user, you can always visit the library. And I heard that the administration is planning to provide free WiFi at certain places...near the girls AC dorm... :? They'll firewall P2P programs. :evil: :evil:
-UnknownAngel-
22-03-2006, 12:16 PM
hmm i got a bit confusion here..
KMC refers to the one in manipal only or bangalore? i heard there's one called bangalore medical college as well. is that one in jpa's list? i really got all this colleges name ..confused =.=" someone cares to explain?
Tralon
23-03-2006, 05:02 AM
KMC refers to the one in manipal only or bangalore? i heard there's one called bangalore medical college as well. is that one in jpa's list? i really got all this colleges name ..confused =.=" someone cares to explain?
Yeah, I understand how u feel for a newcomer like u to India, Bangalore Med College is a Govt college, situated in B'lore, even though recognized by JPA but as usual, intake into govt colleges are almost non-existant for foreigners.
KMC stands for Kasturba Med. College, which is a private college, situated in Manipal, also recognized by JPA. By the way, Manipal is a 10hrs journey by bus from B'lore, situated on the coastal town on the south-west of India. Where else, Ramaiah Med. College (private), too recognized by JPA is situated in B'lore.
I do hope you get into any of these colleges, coz the one in Belgaum, (Jawarharlala Med) is in a remote area in the middle of south india, which can be dry, arid at times.
graphite
31-03-2006, 11:47 PM
erm, someone asked me to post this because apparently he, er, is "bad in making sentences" -___-" (you know who you are =P)...haha...anyway, here goes:
india-bound jpa students in kutpm were told recently dat our choice of medical colleges are as follow:
1. kasturba medical college, mangalore
2. m.s. ramaiah medical college, bangalore
3. christian medical college, vellore
4. jawaharlal nehru medical college, belgaum
i know that the list above contradicts with the list which i had posted in this thread a few months ago, but both lists were really given by jpa to us during briefings; the first when we first entered kutpm, and this list recently...well, this IS jpa :lol: ...
anyway, i just wanna ask everyone out there for their opinions regarding these universities...my main questions are these: which is the best in terms of standard of education? are there any rankings for these universities? any other important information about these universities which we should know?
opinions of those who are actually studying in these universities are especially needed...we poor lost souls seriously need the light to our future, haha...
thanks in advance. :D
midnightblue
01-04-2006, 09:57 AM
yea...we seriously need to know more about those colleges mentioned by graphite. Any senior can help us here by providing more information about those colleges to us? :)
Tralon
01-04-2006, 04:58 PM
Sometimes I do wonder, whenever this topic almost wither of its natural death, you guys start again bumping it up.. :D
Anyway, back to yr questions,
Standard of education... Well the annual poll by the local magazine "India Today", ranks only Kasturba Med College in the top 10 med schools in India from your list. ( The polls were remitted by perceptual & actual rank on:, PG studies,facilities, location, reputation, admission procedure, job prospects etc.)
In my own opinion, we M'sians don't have to worry or concern on this matter as prospect for a job/service in M'sia is almost certain & continuing our speciality cannot be done in India as PG studies in India are not recognized by MMA nor JPA. So the main priority here is just finish our undergarduate studies and move on back home to M'sia or other countries. These kind of polls are just for references for the local Indian students as they have to compete vigorously for limited seats for their post graduate studies locally. I don't want to explain further the system & method to apply for P.Graduate studies in India nor the perceptions coz it's not applicable for us M'sians.
Examination questions, lab & clinical practise are almost identical in all aspects througout Indian colleges. In the state of Karnataka, the examinations & certifications is under the same single university, i.e RGUHS. Which means the exams & questions are uniform and conducted simultaneously throughout all the colleges. Same thing goes to other states mostly with their own individual single Board of Examination.Except a minor few.
You guys should have taken the opportunity of my offer to meet me up while I was in M'sia for holidays last February. I might have given you guys a lot of hints/ do's & don'ts but nobody bothered to reply. You guys just assume that just becoz you guys are JPA scholars that doesn't mean totally be royally "spoon-fed' for every infos by JPA do ya?If u ask these type of questions to the education agency or consultants in KL, you guys would have been charged a LOT!! sigh... :(
enire
01-04-2006, 11:16 PM
hello...newbie from kutpm...
can any seniors tell us more about vellore and christian medical college in vellore..
is it a very remote place? how convenient is it? environment? wut about accomodation? and the people there? friendly?
thanks in advance...
midnightblue
01-04-2006, 11:30 PM
Which medical college out of these 4 should we choose if given a choice?
Jenni
01-04-2006, 11:37 PM
Dear graphite, i would like to ask when did jpa give y'all the latest list of medical colleges. You mentioned that the lists were given by jpa during briefings, hmm.. i wonder when's the latest briefing? in march? or .. (oh ya, the briefin is given by jpa officer or thru kutpm? if jpa officer, may i ask who? ) Care to jog ur memory? thankz..
crazyfrog
02-04-2006, 12:10 AM
Dear graphite, i would like to ask when did jpa give y'all the latest list of medical colleges. You mentioned that the lists were given by jpa during briefings, hmm.. i wonder when's the latest briefing? in march? or .. (oh ya, the briefin is given by jpa officer or thru kutpm? if jpa officer, may i ask who? ) Care to jog ur memory? thankz..
it was on 20th march. the briefing was given by the dean of the school of health sciences, kutpm. the list of universities is actually the list of universities that kutpm is partnering with in india. so basically, that few universities are those that we in kutpm are heading to. on this coming 3rd of april, there will be another briefing by the same guy.. perhaps i or some other kutpm recommers will post on the details of this upcoming briefing..
by the way, may i ask jenni, u r india-bound oso?
graphite
02-04-2006, 12:31 AM
thanx a lot, tralon! :D
You guys should have taken the opportunity of my offer to meet me up while I was in M'sia for holidays last February. I might have given you guys a lot of hints/ do's & don'ts but nobody bothered to reply.
i'm sorry to hear that, but it should be pointed out that we (at kutpm) were having our final examinations in the month of february (the week just before the exams was especially terrible because we had to rush with the last-minute assignments heaped on us by the lecturers), so we were too busy not only to even think of meeting up with you, but also to visit recom to check for updates. :oops:
You guys just assume that just becoz you guys are JPA scholars that doesn't mean totally be royally "spoon-fed' for every infos by JPA do ya?
i'm also sorry that you seem to have the impression that we jpa scholars expect to be "royally spoon-fed" by jpa. please don't. the actual situation in our (kutpm-ians) position is that the information given to us by jpa/kutpm so far has all been contradicting each other to the extent that we don't know what to actually trust and what not to. we accepted the scholarship knowing that we will be tied to a 10-year bond (compare that to the 10-year bond for a uk-bound student although the standard of education and life is definitely better than in india), so honestly, i believe that we at least have the basic right to be given proper details of what we are supposed to be led to. that is why we are naturally worried about how things are over in india.
erm, come to think of it, the briefings were conducted through kutpm. no jpa officers have ever conducted a briefing in kutpm so far, if i'm not mistaken (anyone who knows more about this?). the latest briefing was conducted by someone called prof. asbi (again, IF i'm not mistaken) who i think is from kutpm, not jpa. it was held around 2-3 weeks ago.
anyway, just for general information:
the initial list of medical colleges which jpa students were supposed to be sent to:
3. christian medical college, ludhiana
the recent list of medical colleges which jpa students were supposed to be sent to :roll: :
peace. *flashes V sign* :D
Tralon
02-04-2006, 03:30 AM
i'm sorry to hear that, but it should be pointed out that we (at kutpm) were having our final examinations in the month of february (the week just before the exams was especially terrible because we had to rush with the last-minute assignments heaped on us by the lecturers), so we were too busy not only to even think of meeting up with you, but also to visit recom to check for updates. :oops:
Ok, i accept yr apologies, feel sorry for u guys too..
In my opinion, no one has the definite answer, even the colleges in India....coz I've asked even one of the administrator in one the listed college of yours.
The main reason is the state govt, especially the one in Karnataka hasn't got the "green-light' from the state govt to allow foreigners without the state entrance exam to join up. Even though the private med schools won the court case in the Supreme Court of India, the state govt is fighting back, making life unbearable for the colleges as, there are lot of selected students nominated by the state govt will be stranded in a state of limbo if the private colleges have their way..
The only way of thinking forward is, STOP WORRYING!. This problem is considered minor compared to the ones you guys would have to face once you are in India. I don't want you guys to panic, unforseen problems/ things happen to almost everyone, even in well developed countries for studies, it's just that the ones who are there, never liked to complain as people would never believe them & would look down on them as soft/pampered anyway.
As long as you guys stick together, I would help in any way i can.
Jenni
02-04-2006, 09:56 AM
yeah, me india-bound oso, under jpa too.
Hmm, i wonder wete u guys in kutpm gonna apply for the place in the mentioned medical colleges by ursef or kutpm gonna secure 'em for y'all. Or JPA? (lucky OOo..if u guys got to choose, freedom of choice =P)
For us from ktt, we were told that jpa gonna find place for us, so we r now in the dark, am waitin for further news from jpa. *keepin our fingers crossed* Hope all will end well for all of us (",) grinz
graphite
02-04-2006, 03:59 PM
yeah, me india-bound oso, under jpa too.
Hmm, i wonder wete u guys in kutpm gonna apply for the place in the mentioned medical colleges by ursef or kutpm gonna secure 'em for y'all. Or JPA? (lucky OOo..if u guys got to choose, freedom of choice =P)
For us from ktt, we were told that jpa gonna find place for us, so we r now in the dark, am waitin for further news from jpa. *keepin our fingers crossed* Hope all will end well for all of us (",) grinz
i'm oso not very sure about this matter. initially, kutpm said that jpa will be the one distributing the places amongst all of us and we have no say in that. then kutpm said that our places in the universities will be based on the results of our foundation course, although the guy who held the briefing insisted that there is no such thing as rankings amongst the indian universities (so HOW do we know where the top students go to and where the rest end up in? randomly?). then now apparently, though i'm not so sure about this, we will be given the chance to state our choice of university. 8O that's why everything is kinda blurred right now...
anyway, there will be a briefing in kutpm regarding the allocation of places in the indian universities tomorrow, so hopefully, HOPEFULLY, we will be given a much clearer picture about this matter. i don't think you guys in ktt have to worry much because all of you did a-levels, which is accepted in most universities. our problem in kutpm is that our foundation course (a relatively unknown one) is only recognised in certain universities. :?
loneguardian
02-04-2006, 09:13 PM
What about description in terms of living condition for these colleges?
-UnknownAngel-
03-04-2006, 10:48 PM
Hmm jenni... sound like a girl from st e i know in sibu or i guess you happen to be her? haha. anyway, those in kutpm.. you guys should be grateful that jpa actually gave you guys a "list" u know. those in Intec... are somehow in the dark as well like KTTians. we arent informed anything about uni stuffs though our core person mentioned the uni application thingy ends this month! gosh...! she said jpa gonna calls us personally to inform us about that. I would like to ask smth.. Is Mangalore same as Bangalore? cause i never heard anything like mangalore ....=.=" just curious whether it is a typing mistake or there's really a place like that. KUTPM juniors are going to da same uni's as their seniors is it? hmm just curious. I heard u guys gonna start off something like pre-medic or smth and that's why u have an extra year in India before you actually graduate as in 6 years?
crazyfrog
04-04-2006, 02:48 AM
very funny la...
today there was another briefing... more information on indonesian universities than indian... basically they just show us photos taken from various universities in indonesia and india...
later on, we are given a survey form to fill in our 1st, 2nd, 3rd choices for universities in india... the list now has more universities again....
1. Kasturba MC, Manipal
2. Kasturba MC, Mangalore
3. M.S. Ramaiah MC, Bangalore
4. Christian MC, Vellore
5. Christian MC, Ludhiana
6. Jawaharlal Nehru MC, Belgaum*
*Jawaharlal Nehru MC was mentioned in the briefing but was not printed in the survey form... after we asked, it is indeed one of the option.
btw... BTN camp is just around the corner... the schedule looks boring... hehe....
Tralon
04-04-2006, 03:50 AM
If i were given the same choice ;
1. I will choose Manipal, NOT Mangalore for my first choice.
Reasons:
Pro;
- Conducive environment for studies as all the facilities are complete, and most major facilities are walking distance.
- Many M'sians. It's almost like "mini- Malaysia".
- Food/lodging easy to find. Restaurants may not have authentic
M'sian food, but at least almost taste like it.
- Great sports/library facilities
Cons
- Too hot, especially during summer
- The locals are too damn familiar with M'sians. They think M'sians
are mostly stuck-up or plain arrogant for some. (Can't blame
them though, coz most rich/wealthy m'sians studying there for
the last 30 years)
- Distance quite remote from major city. The town thrive majorly
on foreign students money. Imported m'sian grocery limited &
costly.
- Entertainment/Shopping/Infrastructure wise, nothing to shout
about. Limited compared to B'lore.
I can't write everything here..Too much on my list and as always, opinion is SUBJECTIVE. I do have other opinion too on other colleges.Feel free to rebuke me.
graphite
05-04-2006, 01:17 AM
I would like to ask smth.. Is Mangalore same as Bangalore? cause i never heard anything like mangalore ....=.=" just curious whether it is a typing mistake or there's really a place like that.
nope, bangalore and mangalore are two totally different places. you can try checking these places in the world map. mangalore is more of a coastal area (the west coast of india, if i'm not mistaken) while bangalore is more towards the central part of india. both are in the state of karnataka, though. :lol:
I heard u guys gonna start off something like pre-medic or smth and that's why u have an extra year in India before you actually graduate as in 6 years?
haha, i'm not so sure about that but from what i have heard, the sixth year is supposed to be the year where we have to do our internship in india. but, again, i'm NOT that sure...so, anyone who knows better, please comment? :oops:
later on, we are given a survey form to fill in our 1st, 2nd, 3rd choices for universities in india... the list now has more universities again....
1. Kasturba MC, Manipal
2. Kasturba MC, Mangalore
3. M.S. Ramaiah MC, Bangalore
4. Christian MC, Vellore
5. Christian MC, Ludhiana
6. Jawaharlal Nehru MC, Belgaum*
yeah yeah yeah, the list has been changed yet again :roll: . note that 'kasturba medical college, manipal' is now very much in the list. and i remember very clearly someone asking the same guy who conducted the last briefing (19th of march) the question of whether there is the possibility of india-bound kutpm-ians being sent to manipal, and his reply was "no, you will definitely NOT be sent there" 8O i mean, what...? it's really amazing how the list can be changed in such a short period of time. :? that's why expect more changes soon, especially since that particular guy said that "it is not finalised yet", haha...
Cons
- The locals are too damn familiar with M'sians. They think M'sians
are mostly stuck-up or plain arrogant for some. (Can't blame
them though, coz most rich/wealthy m'sians studying there for
the last 30 years)
yeah, we really can't blame them for this :( hopefully, this does not translate to more malaysians being targeted in robberies, if there are any...
Jenni
07-04-2006, 11:08 PM
Yea, me from st e (^o^) most probably i am.. *grinz..
A point to ponder for those tat got freedom to choose:
Sometimes(or maybe most of the time?), it's not really abt the place-the uni, rather, it's abt our immediate environmen, usually our group(s) of frens tat's more important. n of course one's willingness to learn n adapt to the new environmen, learn how to learn..bla,,bla.. guess we all hear this part pretty often, well, just mayb need remindin at times? :lol:
loneguardian
08-04-2006, 10:20 PM
That's right... It's 6 years time of studying man... Living environment comes first... I don't care about the rankings of the MCs... I really don't care... I've seen KUTPM.. I won't care...
bilvo
09-04-2006, 12:20 AM
Yup, living conditions and environment come first when it's india we're talking about. KUTPM is like a training ground, it prepares us to face the worst in india.
Btw, do we need to get any immunisation injections before going to india, injections like hepatitis b, perhaps?
bilvo
09-04-2006, 12:33 AM
haha, i'm not so sure about that but from what i have heard, the sixth year is supposed to be the year where we have to do our internship in india. but, again, i'm NOT that sure...so, anyone who knows better, please comment? :oops:
Hmm, the sixth year is supposed to be the year when we do our housemanship. In india, housemanship is a part of the mbbs programme. Not really sure it's six years or not though, cause i heard it'll be 4 1/2 years of studying, then followed by 1 year of housemanship. Altogether should be 5 1/2 years, right? Correct me if i'm wrong.
And i heard that MMC do not recognise the housemanship in india because the housemanship is considered part of india's mbbs programme. Meaning, when you come back from india, you'll have to do housemanship again in msia. Is this true?
graphite
09-04-2006, 12:53 AM
KUTPM is like a training ground, it prepares us to face the worst in india.
*laughs* yeah, it has also taught me that websites of colleges are never to be trusted, no matter how impressive the colleges may look from the sites... :wink:
speaking of immunisation jabs, how about anti-malaria jabs?
graphite
09-04-2006, 01:00 AM
And i heard that MMC do not recognise the housemanship in india because the housemanship is considered part of india's mbbs programme. Meaning, when you come back from india, you'll have to do housemanship again in msia. Is this true?
whether MMC accepts the housemanship stint in india or not, i don't think it matters la...we jpa students are still tied to the 10-year bond, UNLESS one is thinking of breaking it... :lol: ...
-UnknownAngel-
09-04-2006, 12:26 PM
oh well.. kutpm got 6 years.. while their seniors only get 5 years. yeah, i heard from my core person we have to do 1 year housemenship in india too. so is it included in the 5 years or it will be an extra one year to make it 6 too? duh.. hey.. =.=" we havent get our uni list till now.. worried
masdie
09-04-2006, 03:23 PM
If I'm not mistaken, you all will be studying for 4 1/2 years and then will be doing a 1 year internship. So you'll spend a total of 5 1/2 years in India. Upon returning, you will have to serve 1 1/2 years of housemanship and then 3 years of compulsory service. If you're under JPA, you'll continue to serve another 5 1/2 years.
crazyfrog
25-06-2006, 03:54 PM
yeah... fms kutpm is over.... at long last... haha.....
Tralon
14-07-2006, 02:17 AM
For those who're vying to join Indian Med colleges for this year intake, I do hope JPA has already given the names to the admitted respective colleges.
The intake interviews is going on at the moment and most local students have obtained their respective admission letters.
The official intake/admission procedures and fees payments will starts by next month till early september.
Has anyone got their college destination and flight ticket yet?
graphite
15-07-2006, 11:47 PM
Has anyone got their college destination and flight ticket yet?
seriously, no. we have yet to get a definite answer from jpa regarding where and when we will be flying to india...scary...
Tralon
17-07-2006, 06:23 PM
The local new comers 95% has got their admission and paid their college fees, and now all are busy submitting their original documents to the colleges and applying for some certain certificates from their respective universities.Foreign students face more hassles as there are xtra forms and letters to be applied for. Time is running short.
Classes is scheduled by end of next month.
I do hope M'sians are really coming this time.
If you guys need any of my help once you reach India, especially those who're destined to Bangalore, just let me know.
loneguardian
19-07-2006, 12:02 AM
Long time no c ev1... Oh no.. I m starting to miss my frens at KUTPM oled... Argh.... How... Wat to do.. Bwaaaaaaaaaaah.... I want Melati!!! I want chicken chop!!!.... Bwaaaaaaaah...
Opps.. soli.. forgive me...
Anyway... The end of KUTPM life... I will miss it... Really... Not KUTPM... but the frens... and mayb 1 or 2 of the lecturers
And I must say this... MORAL SUCKS!!!!! Tat's all...
Got a few things to ask:
1) Which mobile phone solution should I choose over ther?
2) Is winter clothing needed in Bangalore?
3) Err... Suggest anything that I should bring aside from clothes and stationery?...
ACtually I am near to no news oso... JPA oso din tell the 10 of us anything abt it... So mysterious for wat...
graphite
19-07-2006, 11:18 AM
yeah, great question...what kind of stuff are we advised to bring over to india? in terms of food, clothing, basic stuff...?
p/s: a fren of mine told me that paper is expensive in india. myth or true?
Tralon
19-07-2006, 03:53 PM
Read my previous posts and answers..
U guys don't have much time.. Classes starts soon. You guys have less than a year to prepare for your first external university exams. You guys have 3 times chances/opportunity attempts to pass the exams before being kicked out. (JPA or private, no one cares).
Apart from accustoming to the weather/environment etc, you guys also have to familiarise with the education system and way of learning which are very inconvenient for new comers especially foreigners.
If i were u, I would be preparing my studies and mugging up thoroughly all I can on the subjects of the 1st year. Internal assesments are up coming within a couple of months which also will be taken into accounts into the external exams. First year ain't a honeymoon year that's for sure.
-UnknownAngel-
20-07-2006, 01:17 PM
just got a quite disappointing news today. my friend emailed MAHE only to realise that they havent get our submitted application form to JPA since june. private students had already got their feedbacks by now. we heard tat classes are starting by early aug..1st of aug and it is going towards the end of july and we do NOT know whether which uni we are going still.. oh great!
Tralon
20-07-2006, 08:03 PM
Just call it a hunch..I feel that you guys aren't destined to any other place apart from Manipal, as Manipal is quite flexible on intakes numbers coz they're totally independent institution unlike M.S Ramaiah or Jawarharlal Nehru which are tightly bound by limited number of seats. Since by now, I think most seats are already taken or already booked, first come first serve is the policy. I may be wrong, don't take much of my word.
Anyway, on the brighter side, there're hundreds/thousands? of M'sians in Manipal to look after you guys. I'm sure those guys would direct you into all the correct paper works/procedure once you are there.
Just read all you can on 1st year subjects like anatomy, embryo,physio ,biochem, osteo etc while you wait.
loneguardian
24-07-2006, 05:08 PM
The first batch with KNOWN destination is out... About 10 ppl are goin to Belgaum to J.Nehru... The flight's on 28th July... Any1 there to welcome them?
loneguardian
26-07-2006, 12:09 AM
Next news... 46 students are informed by jpa tat they'll b joining the Melaka Manipal Twinning Programme by nx year's march...
As for me? Still no news...
Felicity
26-07-2006, 12:42 PM
spend the last hour readin tru the forum n wat can i say...i learnt a lot of stuff...thanx 2 everyone, especially tralon. u've been a big help!!
i got a call from jpa a few hours ago n my prog has changed 2 twining prog. 2.5 yrs in manipal and 2.5 yrs in melaka. It will begin in march next year ( 8 months 2 go!!)
i guess tat means v're not gonna join KTT n intec students tis yr.
Tralon
27-07-2006, 09:36 AM
Next news... 46 students are informed by jpa tat they'll b joining the Melaka Manipal Twinning Programme by nx year's march...
As for me? Still no news...
Don't be disheartened, who knows you might get a call to India soon for this coming intake. Time is short but not that hopeless yet. For those who'll be admitted in other colleges apart from the twinning program, they would graduate at least much earlier.
I'm sure since, the intake for Belgaum, has been sort out, now is the time for the KMC manipal and Ramaiah B'lore next.
Chin' up. :!:
loneguardian
29-07-2006, 12:15 AM
Now... All KUTPM-ians' india bound medic has been changed into melaka manipal twinning programme... I noe all of them are angry now... Sigh...
I just sent ppl off tis evening... Those who are goin to j.nehru... Good luck to all of you... Hope we can visit each others in india... Hahaha...
And news for the dentistry KUTPM-ians left... JPA told unofficially that we might be sent to Salem... I forgot which uni... Any1 can help us get an image of Salem?... Thx...
Now KUTPM is really Kolej Untuk Tipu Rakyat Malaysia... Off all the 3 MCs... None of us get to be there... Those who went Kasturba... R onli KTT-ians or UiTM-ians... KUTPM... *toot* you!...
Tralon
30-07-2006, 12:31 PM
Hmmm, I know it's quite disappointing, but I think JPA's hands are tight. Historically, for the last several years, all private med colleges in India were taken against their will being filled up by government nominated students. That's why the reason of 'The Melaka Twinning Program' were established in the first place, so that the flow of M'sian & other private students admission won't be interrupted, MAHE had to seperate Kasturba Med College from the grasp hold of the government of India by putting up a totally new college in M'sia.
On the other hand, the other private colleges fought back and won the case in the Supreme Court just recently, and the seats returned were just still 50% for this year. Although it may be filled up by private students, the seats are still quite limited. Most probably, beginning next year, JPA could start again sending students regularly.
Therefore, JPA has no jurisdiction in the law of admission even though it has signed the deal with the private colleges.
By the way, Salem is in the state of Tamil Nadu. I wonder why JPA chose to recognize dental colleges in a remote area there when there are a lot more better dentals in the big cities like Chennai or Bangalore.
skyrocket
31-07-2006, 06:53 PM
Now... All KUTPM-ians' india bound medic has been changed into melaka manipal twinning programme... I noe all of them are angry now... Sigh...
I just sent ppl off tis evening... Those who are goin to j.nehru... Good luck to all of you... Hope we can visit each others in india... Hahaha...
And news for the dentistry KUTPM-ians left... JPA told unofficially that we might be sent to Salem... I forgot which uni... Any1 can help us get an image of Salem?... Thx...
Now KUTPM is really Kolej Untuk Tipu Rakyat Malaysia... Off all the 3 MCs... None of us get to be there... Those who went Kasturba... R onli KTT-ians or UiTM-ians... KUTPM... *toot* you!...
To all India-bound KUTPM-ians,
First of all, you should stop complaining and think about those ppl who have completed 2 yrs of A-Level in INTEC UiTM and KTT. You guys only finished a yr of foundation! So, who should be given the priority here? Just be patient coz others have spent longer time doing their pre-university programme. Don't try to jump queue!
bilvo
31-07-2006, 11:24 PM
To all India-bound KUTPM-ians,
First of all, you should stop complaining and think about those ppl who have completed 2 yrs of A-Level in INTEC UiTM and KTT. You guys only finished a yr of foundation! So, who should be given the priority here? Just be patient coz others have spent longer time doing their pre-university programme. Don't try to jump queue!
Well, at least a-level's a recognisable and highly accredited universal pre-uni programme. You guys can go anywhere (any uni in India and the world!) with this pre-u. But definitely NOT us. There is like no uni in this world that recognises KUTPM FMS. That's why we can't just enter any uni in india. That's why we got changed to MMMC. It's not like it's our intentions to study in that crappy college (KUTPM). It's JPA's. And since JPA previously had said before that we will be flying to india THIS year to study the WHOLE medical prog FULL-TIME in india, shouldn't jpa just kept to its promises/contract? But no it didn't.
Who's the real victim here?
skyrocket
01-08-2006, 12:46 AM
Well, at least a-level's a recognisable and highly accredited universal pre-uni programme. You guys can go anywhere (any uni in India and the world!) with this pre-u. But definitely NOT us. There is like no uni in this world that recognises KUTPM FMS. That's why we can't just enter any uni in india. That's why we got changed to MMMC. It's not like it's our intentions to study in that crappy college (KUTPM). It's JPA's. And since JPA previously had said before that we will be flying to india THIS year to study the WHOLE medical prog FULL-TIME in india, shouldn't jpa just kept to its promises/contract? But no it didn't.
That's the problem. Ppl who have completed FMS need to fight for uni places with those who did A-Level. The places are limited and the priority is given to ppl who did A-Level. JPA should have just stick to A-Level instead of sending ppl to do FMS. Then, everyone will get a place in uni without waiting for so long. So, the bottomline is, JPA did not do their homework properly and realised the shortcomings only after a while. And yes, KUTPM FMS students are the victims. But again, when you enter the March intake, you will gain 6 months compared to those who did A-Level.
Just want to find out; which do you prefer, full-time India or twinning prog?
-UnknownAngel-
03-08-2006, 08:23 PM
i just wanna say smth .. some feedbacks to all the complains by kutpm juniors... i don see the point of all of you complaining and getting worried tat much. don blame jpa for changing all of you to twinning programme cause i heard from my seniors tat kmc (not sure bout the other private colleges)is reducing their intake for foreigners.there's supposed to be around 50+ students in kmc mangalore now but only 25 jpa (mbbs) got it. cause the rest of them (ktt my batch) all got changed to twinning programme. in fact, 6 of my friends in intec.. got changed to twinning also. and plz.. we did 1.5 years of a-level. and we are left hanging in the middle of nowhere since january k? we only got the news tat we are going to india kmc 6 days ahead! wat a rush.. no time to prepare much things. and it's at least quite nice you all have a list to pick out of so many colleges back then which we don have at all and we should have been the one complaining.i mean your programme is short... you get to graduate earlier as compared to us wasting so much time doing nth.. waiting for jpa's call everyday. life in india is practically very tough. in fact, some of my friends was hoping to get twinning so they can go back to malaysia earlier. don blame jpa for anything..just be thankful they still tell u that you are going to MMC so many months ahead instead of leaving u hanging there not knowing anything ^^ ...all the best
nertynenny
04-08-2006, 11:17 AM
Yes, we do realize how we are seemingly in ur way in getting the proper university that everyone deserves. Noted.
We are all the victim here.At least we know JPA is trying to pull through rather than putting their hands up, unlike KUTPM. No offence anyone, but that is what exactly they did to MARA students. They just let go within a couple of weeks before their depature. Some of them are clueless. My friend got a call from 'them' 3 days ago asking them to take back their passports, 'surat sokongan' and etc etc. They will have to get their own Visa after 'they' told us that everything will be fine because 'they' are going to take care everything.
Please, let's take some time to look at this.
Everyone is a victim. So yea, some ppl did A levels and wasted one year and a half and found out that they are switched to twinning. While some did a heck of a rushing most depressful year and found out that we, are also switched to twinning. Then we'll have to find alternatives to spend our half a year 'break' which is actually more like dangling at the end of a rope. It's a fair game.
As for me, I prefer twinning. So yeay! :D
loneguardian
08-08-2006, 05:27 PM
Update for the status of the remaining dentistry india bound... V'll fly to Bangalore on 27th August to go to Salem's Vinayaka Mission's Research Foundation Deemed University... Our agent is is Nugrahan Sdn. Bhd.... Any one wants to provide some advice for us?...
Tralon
09-08-2006, 02:40 AM
.... Any one wants to provide some advice for us?...
All the best in their studies, for these students,.. won't have much entertainment/ recreationial facilities in the first place. It's a backward area, and if they plan to have any R&R, I guess B'lore is the only nearest place which is still about 4 hrs drive away. Don't expect any shopping malls, just some plain ol provision shops, and don't expect any cineplex or fancy fast food either. 8)
Bring a good brand of rechargeable light coz power breakdown will be once too often. Get use to the water, coz it's plain hard water. (If u guys get renal stone due to the calcified lime, u know who to blame :wink: ).
Don't expect any kind of m'sian comfort there, as life/weather/etc there can be pretty demanding.
And I pretty guess, Nugrahan Sdn Bhd is gonna start "printing money" again once JPA sends students there regularly ( Of course, the private m'sian students will follow suite due to the recognition). Just think, for each students Nugrahan gets a commission of at least 10k. Just calculate the rest. This time, just blame it on JPA if the education level is too low coz, hardly , the population density there is too low to learn/practice anything new in the first place.
Also, expect, the fees to these colleges, will triple within one year as soon as JPA students starts their education. Tough luck to the private students. Nugrahan would make a "killing" by next year, as it will be awarded the sole agent in M'sia.
graphite
10-08-2006, 01:50 PM
Bring a good brand of rechargeable light coz power breakdown will be once too often. Get use to the water, coz it's plain hard water. (If u guys get renal stone due to the calcified lime, u know who to blame :wink: ).
er, does this apply only to salem or the whole of india?
btw, it should also be pointed out...if i'm not mistaken, nugrahan is also the agent in charge of jpa students flying to universitas gadjah mada in yogyakarta, indonesia... :roll:
Tralon
10-08-2006, 08:01 PM
er, does this apply only to salem or the whole of india?
:
Good question.
Almost all of south India deprive of 24/7 continuos power supply but 80% of towns and small cities, lacks more than the bigger ones. Unlike bigger cities, on which most residential areas have back-up power generators/inverters in residential/apartments and a bigger grid power rations, the smaller towns are usually ignored or take a less priority by the Power Companies.
Do expect, that during summer when the power demand is more, in smaller towns, they might receive even less. There are places which gets only 3-4hrs of electricity only per day.
Water is another issue. Tamil Nadu state gets less water ration due to overwhelming demand. Therefore even in Chennai, the capital city of T.N, water is mostly salinated and hard. There is a seperate water pipes channel which is use only for drinking consumption, but it still does taste hard and bitter. Most residences, have a bore well of their own.Imagine the scenario in smaller towns of Tamil Naidu.
Like what Dato' Seri Najib said recently when he visited and surveyed India quote, "Most M'sians take standard of life for granted back home." India still is a plain 3rd world country with a few pockets of improvement in mostly private company sectors.
it should also be pointed out...if i'm not mistaken, nugrahan is also the agent in charge of jpa students flying to universitas gadjah mada in yogyakarta, indonesia
I don't know how the Indonesian payment system is, but I do know that in India, private colleges charges capitation/donation fees which is not included in the usual college fees for private/management students.The amount is supposed to be paid in 3-4 installments, which cost not less than USD60k each student. It's supposedly as some sort of donation for the maintanance/upkeep plus foundation fees of the college, which is look down upon by the state governments of India. With the labyrinth accounting system of the colleges, even the state govt doesn't know where the money all end up to. Beside, some of these new colleges is not up to mark even for an Indian normal standard (Why don't u look up in the Indian Medical Council list of status). Tell me, what kind of role Nugrahan has with this ?
Therefore, I still don't understand why JPA still prefer these smaller/remote type of colleges when there are many good/better ones in bigger cities. It's such a pity when the cream of m'sian students are send to these type of colleges. I hate to think it's becoz of financial reasons, since JPA had send students to UK, Australia, Ireland for medicine before and still penny pinching when it comes to India.
loneguardian
07-09-2006, 06:51 PM
Hei... Saying Hi from Salem... From Vinayaka Mission's Research Foundation...
slumber
08-09-2006, 12:48 AM
what about manipal??/
Tralon
05-10-2006, 01:40 AM
To those of you who're arriving to Bangalore and join the twinning Ramaiah Med College, tomorrow..welcome to Bangalore..
Hope u guys, study well and do M'sians proud..
Ikan_kering
05-10-2006, 08:30 AM
That's the problem. Ppl who have completed FMS need to fight for uni places with those who did A-Level. The places are limited and the priority is given to ppl who did A-Level. JPA should have just stick to A-Level instead of sending ppl to do FMS. Then, everyone will get a place in uni without waiting for so long. So, the bottomline is, JPA did not do their homework properly and realised the shortcomings only after a while. And yes, KUTPM FMS students are the victims. But again, when you enter the March intake, you will gain 6 months compared to those who did A-Level.
Hm...what bout students who take a level and got send to MMMC anyway? And waste time studying for 24 months (seriously, I prefer relaxing and doing nothing).
Tralon make me scared to go to india...I wanna change my country destination!!!! (but its impossible, right?). Thank god only gonna live there for 2.5 year.
:roll:
loneguardian
06-10-2006, 01:12 AM
Anyone interested to pay a visit to our place in Salem? Hahaha... Anyway who r the ones goin to RMC? JPA sponsored? Why never heard b4?
Ikan_kering no nd to b afraid lah... Manipal won't be worse than Salem or Belgaum... N v stil hafta stuck here for 5 yrs...
Tralon
06-10-2006, 08:25 PM
U guys should be considered lucky if u r heading to Manipal or Bangalore..Manipal is almost like "mini Malaysia' and Bangalore is almost like "Little Penang", having almost every facilities but in a smaller scale wise.
Since this is the first badge of M'sian students in B'lore, there are only around 60-70 students only. I'm sure by the years to come, there would be in the thousands.
loneguardian
07-10-2006, 02:46 AM
My god! 60-70 stil ONLY? We here jz barely passed the 50 milestone (And there're only 23 JPA students, others are PIDC Twinning Programme)... Hahaha... Looks like it's still a LOOOOONG way for msian here to reach 100... Sigh...
-UnknownAngel-
07-10-2006, 11:51 PM
Bangalore is a big city with super cool weather! =.=" i like bangalore's weather so much. manipal on the other hand is really like a mini malaysia.. u have all the malaysian foods there and well lots of malaysians!
well...just a slight update...there's some riots going on in mangalore.. quite a serious one i would say. the city has went into curfew since thursday until today.. not sure till when this gonna last. it's quite dangerous out there right now .. someone got stabbed =.=" and i heard got mob enters bejai using their lorry and the police comes to chase them out.. apparently, my hostel here is going to run out of food supply soon i guess. no more egg, chicken and fish -,-" and even the rice might run out soon in 1-2 days i heard. crazy leh... argh!! FIRST sessional coming after next week..3 theories papers in a row =.= crazy ar....
Tralon
23-10-2006, 12:28 AM
Selamat Hari Deeparaya to those who celebrate..
And for those studying in Salem, who're going to Asst High Commissioner's house to celebrate with En. Rusli, have a safe journey to Chennai.
loneguardian
30-11-2006, 02:47 AM
Good luck for everyone sitting for exam!... Be it SPM, STPM or Internals... Hehehe...
okidoki
21-12-2006, 10:46 PM
hmm
where can i find a good website to learn india language??
Tralon
11-01-2007, 07:01 AM
hmm
where can i find a good website to learn india language??
Not really sure what u mean by "Indian" language..Indian dialects are around several hundreds. Most in the North of India speaks Hindi, but other dialects such as Marathi, Urdu, Bengali are also widely spoken..
In the south, Telugu, tamil, kannada and malayalam.
But if u r planning to study in India, try learning the local dialect which is spoken in yr area of studies.
18-01-2007, 11:22 AM
The required band for IELTS for India is 6.5 and recently, someone dropped a bombshell that for those who can't get at least 6.5 in the first attempt, JPA will change our course to Indonesia...
I don't believe it anyway, but just want to know whether anyone experienced or have seen someone who attempted for several times for IELTS?
slumber
03-02-2007, 12:19 AM
yup my senior
taking ielts for d second time
08-02-2007, 11:59 AM
Is it true that those doing Medicine full time in India under JPA scholarship will have to serve the India government for 1 year (Total 6 years in India) before returning to Malaysia for housemanship?
loneguardian
08-02-2007, 03:45 PM
Is it true that those doing Medicine full time in India under JPA scholarship will have to serve the India government for 1 year (Total 6 years in India) before returning to Malaysia for housemanship?
I don't know whether it's true for other institute, but for us in VMRF, it's 4.5 years course + 1 year internship. Internship should be in our own hospital, not government. Same goes to dentistry, 4 years + 1 year internship (known as Compulsory Rotatory Resident Internship, CRRI) in our own dental college.
08-02-2007, 04:23 PM
I don't know whether it's true for other institute, but for us in VMRF, it's 4.5 years of course + 1 year internship. Internship should be in our own hospital, not government. Same goes to dentistry, 4 years + 1 year internship (known as Compulsory Rotatory Resident Internship) in our own dental college.
This sounds more likely to be the case, and also a more acceptable version....
loneguardian
24-04-2007, 09:05 PM
Hmmph... It's been so quiet all the while... Haha... Anyway just to mention that the VMRF we're in is the exact institute where the Penang International Dental College is co-operating... In fact we JPA students are staying in the PIDC hostel... Hence anyone interested to know more about PIDC can contact us...
uglyducklai
24-04-2007, 11:19 PM
hi everyone.
may i ask you all a question?
is matriculation in Malaysia recognise in India medical school?
please help me,thanks
Tralon
26-04-2007, 05:35 PM
hi everyone.
please help me,thanks
Most of indian med colleges do not recognise matrics, but I think the m'sian recognised ones would, ......if you can pull some strings....Like for example if you are send in batches by the m'sian sponsors. But individual application, might be an uphill battle.
uglyducklai
27-04-2007, 12:13 AM
hi everyone.
please help me,thanks
Most of indian med colleges do not recognise matrics, but I think the m'sian recognised ones would, ......if you can pull some strings....Like for example if you are send in batches by the m'sian sponsors. But individual application, might be an uphill battle.
which 1 is m'sian recognised medical U?
8O
loneguardian
27-04-2007, 05:51 PM
Check it out at our own Ministry of Health of course : )
http://www.moh.gov.my/MohPortal/unimedPublic.jsp
uglyducklai
27-04-2007, 06:01 PM
Check it out at our own Ministry of Health of course : )
http://www.moh.gov.my/MohPortal/unimedPublic.jsp
thanks a lot for ur replies. :lol:
loneguardian
02-07-2007, 08:34 PM
Phew... It's been a long while since last post here, and hey, it's our Ist BDS finals oled... I wonder why there's stil no one asking about anything over here...
Anyway, our uni - VMRF is the one cooperating with Penang International Dental College (PIDC) in Msia in this BDS twinning programme... Hence if there's anyone heading to PIDC, or planning to head to PIDC can clear your doubts here... We Msian students are actually staying in the same hostel as the PIDC students, although we are not having the class in the same places...
OK, one more thing, I've read the PIDC pamplet, which looks quite interesting but the actual condition over here is kinda opposite to what they are saying... They cant even have a proper fence for our hostel also... Anyhow, I don't wish to talk too much until no one dares to come to Salem... Hahaha...
12-07-2007, 12:28 PM
Anyone has any idea on latest list of colleges (Medicine and Dentistry) which JPA will send the students to?
I found that there were 6 colleges in the list year 2005, but I wonder actually how many of these are really applicable....
Anyone has any idea on latest list of colleges (Medicine and Dentistry) which JPA will send the students to?
I found that there were 6 colleges in the list year 2005, but I wonder actually how many of these are really applicable....
can share with us what are the colleges in the list??
so far i know...they'll be sending us to
..kasturba(manipal n bangalore)..jawarhallal?....
16-07-2007, 11:16 AM
Just look at previous posts in this thread for information.
slynn
26-09-2007, 11:54 PM
heard some r aimin to go to new delhi..as far as i noe it;s one of the best for medic..don noe how true..
but i hav a friend in kasturba magalore(self paid)..he said tat jpa reserve many places for jpa students in tat college..esp 4 dentistry..
accordin to him it;s one of the best too..they actually hav a skull each..hehe..he's enjoyin himself there..but quite costly..he spent at least 300 plus plus thousand..i mean his parents..
27-09-2007, 10:52 AM
heard some r aimin to go to new delhi..as far as i noe it;s one of the best for medic..don noe how true..
but i hav a friend in kasturba magalore(self paid)..he said tat jpa reserve many places for jpa students in tat college..esp 4 dentistry..
accordin to him it;s one of the best too..they actually hav a skull each..hehe..he's enjoyin himself there..but quite costly..he spent at least 300 plus plus thousand..i mean his parents..
As far as I know, JPA won't send students to New Delhi, but I need someone to clarify this. Also, check out the list of top Indian medical colleges, Kasturba Mangalore is not in top 25. Kasturba Manipal is in top 10, as well as Christian Medical College, Vellore.
Check it here: http://www.successcds.net/Top-Colleges/Medicine-MBBS-Top-25.htm
slumber
27-09-2007, 11:50 AM
have u all do the entrance exam?
yeerui
27-09-2007, 02:45 PM
Hi, glad to know that we are actually having JPA juniors, although arriving 1 year later, haha...
First thing first, are you really sure that you are going to do your dentistry here in VMRF, Salem? Because JPA don't usually disclose this info even until the very last minute. Is it written in the offer letter? For us it's not, there'll be another offer letter coming from both VMRF and JPA when we're confirmed that we'll be studying here.
And so, to continue the letter, I assume that you're really going to come here after all, hehe...
Life in Salem is definitely much more harder than in Malaysia, and I believe in any part of Malaysia... Two major downsides in this place (And i believe in most part of india) is - lack of infrastructure, and is worsen by the err... people here... I dunno how to explain the people here but you'll noe when you come here... In short, one needs to be really strong (mentally mostly) to be able to survive here... Hehe...
We are the very first batch to be sent here, so we have no seniors... How sad, isnt it? Haha... The course here is ok, head over to www.vinayakamission.com and try to take a look at the BDS course curriculum, I cant explain much here... But anyway I do think it's ok... But keep in mind that it's no easy stuff waiting here, although it's still comparatively easier compared to medic...
The most challenging part... I guess is to deal with the people here, one thing about this place is most people can't speak english, and we have been screwed up by the auto (small taxis you can find all over india) drivers quite alot of time... despite than wat I told you - their behavioural problem... But that doesnt mean a high crime rate over here, just those err... annoying crime i suppose? (eg. never queue in everything)
Take note ah, err, I guess the toilet paper is very expensive loh, 1 roll for about RM 3 for the cheapest... Hehehe... I guess that'll have to wait until you are going to head over to this place...
About going back to Malaysia, err, I suppose I am not going back as often as my frens studying in indon, but so far I've just returned from my 2nd time of Malaysia trip, for after 1 year of studying here...
Anyhow just don't get too negative about tis place, we've gone through more than any juniors will go through as the management here are trying to improve things a bit in a very slow rate, so be happy and stick along with JPA's arrangements...
We studied foundation in KUTPM, Shah Alam, and I believe it's been a fiasco caused by the college, resulting us to be sent here instead of the colleges they've promised - KMC, Manipal/Mangalore, RMC, Bangalore, CMC Vellore... And now there are no more JPA students in KUTPM...
JPA will cover the tuition fees as well as the exam fees only, for others we'll have to pay ourselves... But for the 1st year they're kind enough to pay for the books, equipments also...
It's kinda hard to describe the places here... But there's really no 'campus' here anyway, unlike any uni in our country, our place don't even have a proper fence just for your information...
http://photos1.blogger.com/blogger/1829/250/1600/schematic%20map.jpg
this is a map I drew describing our 'campus', hehe...
And if you do use google earth, try to locate the octagonal hostel at 11?35'3.49"N 78? 3'38.85"E
And the rest of the building is just like in the schematic map...
And the white-house-like building you see on the official web page is at 11?35'49.56"N 78? 5'2.89"E, it's actually the university building - mainly admin stuffs...
Opposite it will be the dental college...
So you see, that's the campus... Hehe...
I've travelled once for one of the holidays, if not I'd have returned to Malaysia 3 times... Hehe... I've travelled to Manipal, Mangalore, Bangalore, and Chennai (as the port of leaving india for malaysia)...
And this places are all better than Salem, haha...
You're welcomed, and I hope that you can share the info with more of my "juniors", hehe... Or better if you repost the question and my reply in the forum...
All the best to you too.
blahblahblahcip
27-09-2007, 03:26 PM
hey..i'm also a jpa sponsored dentistry student..i have read loneguardians 'message' frm salem n i was quite shocked when i get 2 know tht toilet papers costs RM3 there!! therefore i have a very humble suggestion which i think most of d other juniors will agree too...n that is for the seniors(i.e any senior studying in india) 2 appeal for an increase in allowance for all india-bound Jpa scholars. Ur cooperation(loneguardian in particular) in appealing for extra allowance frm d PSD is very much needed i think,reflecting the condition u described earlier about Salem ...(i'm actually quite worried now...not looking forward to go there...n i'm keeping my fingers crossed not to be sent there!!) it will definitely be of much help to us...with d extra money...i think. I'm (or maybe we(all juniors)) are counting on u n any other seniors to do so!! lastly, thanks...u may ignore or take my post seriously but i hope u will at least consider it!! extra cash!! who will resist??
slumber
27-09-2007, 05:11 PM
im in!!!! i want jpa to raise our allowance in india!!!
Grazio
30-09-2007, 05:58 PM
dear loneguardian, how much is your allowance monthly?
is your allowance enough for your daily expenses?
if u dun mind me asking,around how much rupee/rm u spend each day?(roughly)
hmm...ya i just got to know jpa recognized VMRF not long ago...can't imagine so fast they send our dental students there...
i'm another dental student...about to finish my foundation programme...(not yet fly)
how many of dental student of your batch were sent to VMRF?
were all of your batch sent to the same place,VMRF?
there are about 60-70 dental students doing A-level currently in KTT...i wonder how jpa going to place all these students...or they going to separate the students to several colleges...haiz... :?
Grazio
30-09-2007, 06:11 PM
loneguardian, who is the jpa officer who is in charge of the india bound dental students?
do u have his/her email or contact number?
Susyi
26-11-2007, 10:41 PM
Just look at previous posts in this thread for information.
Can share the list here coz i can't find it?
truly appreciate.
27-11-2007, 01:43 AM
That day in briefing with JPA, they said there are two colleges for medicine full time, KMC Manipal and Mangalore. Also, they said that JPA might visit more universities in India next year, and once recognised, there might be pioneer batch next year....
niknasir
17-01-2008, 02:33 PM
kakumei
kakumei
kakumei
which bank account should i opened in malaysia for easy withdrawl money from ATM in india HSBC or standard chartered
loneguardian
17-01-2008, 09:26 PM
ther's no need for opening acc in msia, unless told by jpa. just follow wat is told in jpa's briefing.
19-01-2008, 11:41 PM
Then during your batch which bank do you use ?
loneguardian
24-01-2008, 10:58 AM
for our batch v use ICICI bank
niknasir
26-01-2008, 11:48 AM
Tralon
Tralon
I was informed by MMMc that the students will be sent to Karnataka do you know the place
Tralon
26-01-2008, 03:39 PM
Tralon
Tralon
I was informed by MMMc that the students will be sent to Karnataka do you know the place
No I don't...As far as I know, in order for M'sian sponsored students to circumvate the entrance exams in India is by either twinning program OR JV with the Indian college such as KUTPM in Bangalore. (They've JVed with M.S Ramaiah Med College) for MARA students and selected private students studying in Bangalore.
In the case of MARA, although u might be studying in MS Ramaiah compounds but the degree awarded will be by KUTPM.
JPA is still searching & signing on several colleges in India for M'sian admissions (resource comes from certain m'sian diplomats). U might be send anywhere..But most likely, only smaller or cash strapped colleges in India who're willing to admit M'sians.
Tralon
27-01-2008, 08:21 AM
There's a good question raised by Miracle Seed which I think is useful to share with others as well..
Hello, senior, I'm a scholar under JPA, will be going to India doing 5 years full-time medicine course there. We have finished our A-Level last November and our intake will be in August or September this year, and destination is still unknown, but most likely to be in Karnataka.
However, our college and JPA have planned and Indian language course for all Indian bound students (Medicine and Dentistry), for 4 months starting March. I've heard that we will be learning Kannada or Hindi.
I would like to ask your opinion about the language course, whether it is important or useful to learn that, since 4 months is not a short period. Many people have already got a job, so if it it not relevant we might talk to JPA. Is it that we must learn the language to be applied in clinical years? What if we learn Hindi instead of Kannada? Or it is already sufficient if we only pick up the language after we reach there?
Thanks for you advice.
Learning a new language is always a bonus, but if JPA is planning to send u guys to Karnataka, learning Kannada is much more useful than even Hindi..
I have classmates who were from North India whose mother tongue is Hindi & other languages, yet they too have problems learning Kannada..even after studied the language privately for a whole year..
Knowing a little bit of local language makes life in clinical years much more easier but actually is not a necessity..As there are many students from all over India having different mother tongue dialects, the board of examiners does not punish you for not understanding the local language, as per the guide rules of examination in India, assistance of an intrepreter during the clinical examination is always available..
Beside, the most important facts during clinical examinations focused by the examiners are
1. What physical symptoms did you find
2. What do you think he/she has
3. What do you want to do with him/her
01-02-2008, 04:33 PM
Thanks for the info.
I have an question here about the internship in India. According to what we heard, for full time students, we will study 5 years in India, then do 1 year internship in India, then only we are considered graduated. However, from infomation I got from internet, it is 4.5+1 year in India. Which is the correct version?
Also, some people said that 1 year internship is not included in housemanship in Malaysia, that means we have to do another 2 years of housemanship when back in Malaysia. Is this the case?
And, my friend told me India will soon do the same as Malaysia, where medical students have to do 2-year internship. So in total, we will have to study 5 years + 2 years internship in India + 2 years housemanship in Malaysia before we are M.O. Is this true?
Thanks a lot.
loneguardian
02-02-2008, 07:11 PM
argh... we are so blurred even though we're in India... hahaha... Don't know whether those changes are going on but definitely something is changing for the dentistry course...
Dentists have to do 2 years internship in Malaysia also?
niknasir
17-02-2008, 04:07 PM
crazyfrog
please let me know how much JPA monthly allowances every month in India
and can we survive
niknasir
17-02-2008, 04:09 PM
Tralon
how much JPA monthly alowances every mnth in India
is it in USD
Tralon
17-02-2008, 09:28 PM
Tralon
how much JPA monthly alowances every mnth in India
is it in USD
MARA students in India get the same amount as students in the U.S & other countries..plus furnished apartments.. Talk about "Living in the lap of luxury"..
JPA? No idea...
slumber
18-02-2008, 05:38 PM
how much actually mara give it to u?
Tralon
19-02-2008, 03:06 AM
how much actually mara give it to u?
Did I ever mention anywhere in this forum that I'm a MARA scholar? Where did you get the idea from?
How much you gonna get from JPA is NONE of my business but if you are NOT satisfied with the level of income, FIGHT for it...No need to worry/complain here on how much you're getting OR gonna get.
Cos NO JPA financial officers gonna read this forum and say,"Hump, poor JPA students in India, we have to do something to console them so that they could study in comfort".
There are other proper channels to go about it, or do I have to mention them in writings here too?
I'm not criticizing you nor making fun of you, but be realistic here. . There are many things in India which no Govt, college nor parents could understand how M'sian students survive, cos they would never know nor understand the hardships we have to face through and I think this is one of the place (forum) to share those thoughts.
My intention in joining this forum is just to give my 2 sen worth of advice, help or ideas on how to stay afloat in India.
loneguardian
19-02-2008, 07:08 PM
okok... cool down guys...
here's some details on the allowance of JPA given to the students of JPA in India:
Big cities like Bangalore is 700USD per month.
For other places like Salem, Manipal, Mangalore is 500USD per month.
I can only say that it's enough for us in Salem (not sure about JPA scholars in other places), mainly because there are not much we can spend on over here (there's no shopping malls over here).
I agree with Tralon that there are indeed so many other things over here that others would never understand how we can survive in such hardship, till the extent that when I'm asked, "What's really hard to live in India?" I can just answer, "Hard lah", and don't know how to explain further.
loneguardian
19-02-2008, 07:17 PM
okay and here's some extra information, the first batch of PIDC students (started their twinning course on april 2006) has just finished their 2nd year final exam, which means they are leaving India and continue their course in Malaysia.
Congratulations for finishing 2nd year exams as well as going back to our homecountry. All the best to all of them in Malaysia.
slumber
19-02-2008, 08:44 PM
huhuh
ok sorry Tralon
Cloudie
01-03-2008, 11:48 PM
[quote="loneguardian"]okok... cool down guys...
here's some details on the allowance of JPA given to the students of JPA in India:
Big cities like Bangalore is 700USD per month.
For other places like Salem, Manipal, Mangalore is 500USD per month.
The allowance of JPA for Mangalore is 700 USD per month
21-03-2008, 09:18 PM
Hello seniors in Salem, there will be 11 juniors going to Salem for dentistry this coming intake, 7 Chinese and 4 Malays. I'm not one of them, but some of my friends are. Take good care of them, yea.... haha....
tehshanice
22-03-2008, 01:19 AM
Hello seniors in Salem, there will be 11 juniors going to Salem for dentistry this coming intake, 7 Chinese and 4 Malays. I'm not one of them, but some of my friends are. Take good care of them, yea.... haha....
haha...i guess i'm ad included in ur list,rite?btw,many ppl complain to jpa aft we c d list.some parents even tried to force jpa to change their son/daughter to manipal uni...so things become x sure again...dat's wat i heard..
btw,a bit nervous aft finish reading tis forum... salem seems haizzz...n d ppl there dun even understand english?!!Oh my GOSH!!then wat language will be useful there,loneguardian?tamil??for ur info,d india full time KTTians r having kannada language class now,btw,i dun think dat it will be useful in salem rite??if dats true then i am planning to learn tamil ad...
one more question,loneguardian,about hostels in salem...izit true dat all d rooms are twin-sharing design?no single room available?izit possible for d full-time dentisry in india change to twinnig prog like PIDC 1?thx Q!
loneguardian
23-03-2008, 06:12 AM
haha...i guess i'm ad included in ur list,rite?btw,many ppl complain to jpa aft we c d list.some parents even tried to force jpa to change their son/daughter to manipal uni...so things become x sure again...dat's wat i heard..
Hmm... Never heard of JPA accepting appeal to change their arrangement... But anyway, if you are to be sent here, don't really feel doomed like there's no tomorrow, it's not really a HELL over here...
btw,a bit nervous aft finish reading tis forum... salem seems haizzz...n d ppl there dun even understand english?!!Oh my GOSH!!then wat language will be useful there,loneguardian?tamil??for ur info,d india full time KTTians r having kannada language class now,btw,i dun think dat it will be useful in salem rite??if dats true then i am planning to learn tamil ad...
People here understand numbers in english, so buying stuffs won't be a problem at least, hehe... And yes, over here in Salem, it'll be TAMIL only, not Kannada or even Hindi - the national language...
one more question,loneguardian,about hostels in salem...izit true dat all d rooms are twin-sharing design?no single room available?izit possible for d full-time dentisry in india change to twinnig prog like PIDC 1?thx Q!
Yup, rooms are twin sharing design, they never build it for single room design, but some students are willing to pay for 2 person for a "single" room, you know what I mean?
Nope, I don't think it's possible for changes like that.
tehshanice
23-03-2008, 08:59 PM
Yup, rooms are twin sharing design, they never build it for single room design, but some students are willing to pay for 2 person for a "single" room, you know what I mean?
ya...i noe what u means...dat means if i wan a single room i have to pay double in order to stay alone in the twin sharing room,izit?? well...may i noe how much you guys have to pay for ur hostel?
loneguardian
25-03-2008, 02:45 AM
It's USD 1200 per year per person, meaning that a room will be USD 2400. I know it's ridiculous, but it's the best lodging (in terms of age of building) you can find around the college.
Other wise one will have to settle down in the town (which is more convenient), I have no idea how much it'll cost but it'll be at least 30 minutes of travel to college.
loneguardian
30-03-2008, 07:13 PM
Q & As on life in Salem (mainly for JPA students, but still can be referred by PIDC ? Penang International Dental College students)
Read this before continuing, it was another reply to some other questions, which also has some continuity with this reply.
hi... I'm not really very sure about going to VMRF, Salem for dentistry...JPA just disclosed to our juniors (yeah, your super juniors) that we will be sent to 4universities that they recognise in India.. namely VMRF, Kasturba, plus two other more which i'm not so sure, though i've heard about Jawaharlal Nehru before... Yeah, I think I shall wait for the offer letter to come..
So if you are not sure that you'll be sent here, I shall still assume that you'll be sent here, but I must remind you that different places have different environment, even inside the same country ? India. People in Kasturba will find themselves easier to adapt to their lifestyle, comparing to people who are sent to Salem and J.Nehru... Some of our KUTPM foundation course mates are sent to J.Nehru for dentistry, however I can't actually tell you what it's like over there, because I haven't paid a visit to that place...
I heard from a friend that they provide textbooks for you in college but they're not very useful and you have to get them on your own... And I heard the books are cheap.. How cheap are they? Do you know the pricings?And are laptops there much cheaper compared to that in Malaysia?Do they have wifi in Salem?Internet connection, are they free?Where is the nearest civilisation to Salem (ermm... I meant city like Bangalore.. how many hours distance?
About textbooks, you'll really have to judge yourself after you started to study over here... Take Dental Materials for instance, the internationally used textbook (according to our lecturer lah) is Phillips' Science of Dental Materials... It's a pretty burdening-lengthy-black-and-white only book, but I myself found that it's actually pretty informative and by following it I gained some advantages in the subject, especially when the lecturer wanted to test something out of the usual...
In short, I can't agree with the statement that ALL the textbooks prescribed are not useful, but after you started to study here, you'll really know how to judge which book is helpful and which is not... And just for your information, only on the first year we are provided with textbook, thus this year we have to buy our own books...
Books are cheap here, even for international books they'll have India edition and it's pretty cheap compared to other countries, though I don't know how much does the content of the books differ. And most of the time, each book will not cost more than RM 100, mostly around RM 50 only... Mainly due to the books we are using are written by Indian authors... And just for comparison, medical books in Malaysia are much more expensive, which usually range from hundreds and some even reach thousands...
About the laptop price, if you did refer to the early posts (posted by Tralon), the laptops (and I should say ALMOST ALL ELECTRICAL STUFF + PLASTIC WARES) are comparatively more expensive than in Malaysia... So far I still haven't find any place similar to our own Low Yatt Plaza (which is having lots of cheap computer stuffs), even in Bangalore I still haven't see such place (though Tralon has just told me a place in Bangalore, but I haven't go check it out)... So in short, if you are coming to India, it's ok to pick your own laptop in Malaysia before coming...
I assume that you're asking whether our "hostel" has wifi or not, right? Ya, I do admit that we have wifi, and this reply is actually posted through the wifi connection, and it's free (I suppose it's already in the fee already, nothing's free in this world :))...
There's a city known as Coimbatore, which takes around 2-3 hours to reach there from Salem by road travelling, I've just passed through it when I travelled by train from Salem to Mangalore, and I do think that it's a nice city, at least from what I see from the train... Going to Bangalore is about 4-5 hours by bus... Don't worry, there are nice A/C buses (like in Malaysia ones) travelling in between Bangalore and Salem... Hehe... Just that the 2+2 types are still common here, unlike in Malaysia it's already 1+2 type (VIP seat)... And also when the bus enters Salem city it really does look abit odd, just because everything in Salem seems so... Haha... no comment...
Yeah, it's very sad not to have guidance.. Are you guys ok now? How many of you are there? (chinese seniors?) Are we given tamil communication courses there? Do they have societies and stuff there like most universities do? How's the co-curriculum there like? How do you guys spend your free time there?
OK, when you are asking how many people are already here it's kinda tricky to answer:
One thing you should know is VMRF is in cooperation with Penang International Dental College (PIDC) having their BDS twinning programme here... And we regular programme malaysians are actually staying in the same hostels as them, and PIDC send 2 batches of students every year, there're already 4 batches of students here now and the very first batch has just finished their 2nd year a few weeks ago and headed back to Malaysia to start their 3rd year...
What I want to say is ? there is actually a small community of Malaysians over here liao loh, something over 100 lah, hehe... And we JPA students are 20 sumthing... Most of the PIDC students are Chinese, and for JPA there're around 5 in my batch, and in our regular programme junior (private non JPA ? 1st BDS) there're 3 chinese...
The college said they'll have some kinda Tamil speaking course here but don't ever expect they'll really do it when they've just only said so... We've had quite alot of occasions being screwed up by their "brilliant" plans...
There're currently no co-curricular activities here... It's only 100 sumthing people over here, nothing fancy can be done yet, in addition to that, the facilities is also quite deprived, maybe they've emphasized only the academic aspect when constructing the "university"... We spent our free time here by doing non-facility dependent activities ? jogging and the more popular sport here is badminton... The PIDC seniors had organized a sports day last October, kinda fun but we Vinayaka Missions students didn't participate because it's their event...
Screwed up by the auto drivers quite alot of time? hmm... that i'll have to experience myself.. feel a bit scared thinking about that now... How do you guys travel to your dental college? by bicycle? train? car? How much does one meal cost? where do you guys eat usually? and what kinds of food? do they have chinese food there? how about fast foods? international cuisine?are they all spicy?
Screwed up by auto-drivers is really not something you wanna experience, it's just something like being ripped off by the taxi drivers in Malaysia... But here they even say they'll ask all the auto drivers to demonstrate in front of the college if you don't pay the ridiculously expensive auto-fee... Nice huh... I don't know about other parts of India but based on my experience in Karnataka, the autos are quite OK and the base price is still lower than that of Tamil Nadu... Karnataka is overall kinda more higher class than Tamil Nadu, but the autos are still cheaper than in Karnataka... And that rip-off-then-demonstrate case I told you just know happened on that day when we finished our small tour in Karnataka...
And one more thing to note, EVERY auto (there might by exception, but i've never met one) in Tamil Nadu DOES NOT use the meter to calculate the fare, and alot auto here are still having the meter installed only for cosmetic reason I guess... While in Bangalore, only a few autos don't use meter, for those who used meter it's ridiculously cheap until I doubt whether the auto driver can earn a living or not, thinking that we've had paid much more to travel that far in auto when we're in Tamil Nadu...
OKOK, kinda pointless to complain about autos in Tamil Nadu to a person who's not living in India, hahaha... So let's continue... About the travelling, we can just walk to the medical college for classes like Anatomy, Biochemistry and Physiology, but for dental college, they will provide a college bus... Other modes of transport are such as auto and bus...
About food here, it's again another long talk...
When we'd just arrived, there's nothing other than the hospital canteen to serve our need... It serve only typical South indian food ? Thali meals for lunch, paratha, chapati, dosa, etc. But they serve fried rice (chicken, egg or just plain vege fried rice) also for those who cannot tahan their "dough products"...
Then after a few months the PIDC management started another canteen, named "Malaysia Cafe" which serve basically the same thing as in the old canteen, but in a higher class manner + higher price also. Only difference is they started a "buffet" style lunch like the ones we have in Malaysia, but it's expensive also and they don't really know how to cook dishes in Malaysian style, the most they can do is fried cucumber strips, fried chicken, brinjals with sambal (oily also)...
But nonetheless it's at least better than the old canteen...
Now back to your question, you asked how much will it cost, basically it depends on what you eat and how much you eat, if you can live with the "dough products" it will not cost more than Rs. 20 (~RM 2), for the Malaysia Cafe buffet lunch, it usually cost me Rs. 50 (~RM 5), you can get better food in town e.g. north Indian food ? Tandoori, Naan, etc. but it will not come cheap also, half of the Tandoori chicken will come around Rs. 50-60. Vege fried rice or Vege fried noodles will come around Rs. 20-30 with Rs. 5 increment pattern in Vege-Egg-Chicken fried noodles/rice, i.e. Rs. 25-35 / Rs. 30-40 / Rs. 35 ? 40.
So if you see, the food aren't much cheaper than in Malaysia, but we don't have any other place to spend money over here in Salem, that's why the allowance will be enough.
Many restaurants here claimed that they cook Chinese food, but actually it's just non-Indian style of cooking, you'll find out that once you're in India. The famous Chinese styles will be like Chicken 65, Chicken Manchurian or Chicken Szechuan (Hey, it's not my grammar problem, it's their way of naming over here, really), which you'll see common enough once you're in India.
International cuisine? Not so common in Salem but we have one Pizza Corner here, anyhow I don't really like the pizza there and it's even more expensive than our Pizza hut. In Bangalore you can see all McD, KFC and Pizza hut but they are generally more expensive than in Malaysia.
Many people say that Indian food are spicy, I am not sure about it because I think they tend to make the non-Indian food more spicy than Indian food, but overall, food over here are not that spicy as you think (in my opinion).
hmmm... toilet paper very expensive.. i got it... how about papers? do we have to use many A4 papers during our course of study?
About papers, over here in Salem we only needed notebooks, and unruled ones, I don't know why but the lecturers only want unruled notebooks, although in final exams the papers are ruled.
What do you think we have to prepare to bring to India besides toilet paper? How much does a punjabi suit cost? what do you wear there usually? I heard it's very hot there.. 40 degrees celcius? And there's a lab coat which we have to wear everyday? How many hours class per day?
I'm not sure how much a punjabi suit cost over here, but I believe it won't be too expensive because all the girls here do shop for punjabi suits. But for our class, we have to wear formal (shirt with slacks and shoes). For locals, the girls can only wear punjabi suits, but for Malaysians, the girls tend to wear T-shirt only because it's covered by the lab coat, which I don't think is really proper, haha.
The weather is is comparatively drier than in Malaysia but overall it's almost same as in Malaysia, just that you may experience some more heat during day and some chillness in the morning before sunrise.
How many hours of classes per day, it's hard to tell because each batch will have different timings, but take it like this:
We have classes from Monday to Saturdays, Monday to Fridays the classes are from 8am/9am to 3pm/4pm, Saturdays are 8am/9am till 1pm/2pm... Each first Saturday will be a holiday. Kinda hectic huh.
What are the management improving on? How dilapidated are the infrastructures? How's your hostels? Are they apartment styles? Or rooms? How many people share a room? How much we have to pay per month for lodgings? How about electricity? How far is the dental college from the hostels? Walking distance?
About the management here, I'm too tired to comment anymore, because they're just too much of bull****s and empty promises. The hostel as you can see in the schematic diagram is an octagonal double-storey building, with 6 rooms on each floor thus 12 rooms in each block. It's a twin sharing room equipped with A/C but the electric bill have to be paid by ourselves (which is pretty ridiculously priced, about RM 20 for my room, without using the A/C at all, and we did have issues with the bill over here, some people have the bill go up to RM 300-400 per room per month)...
For our hostel we have to pay about USD 100 per person per month, which is again another rip-off, but what can we do? There's no other lodgings ever comes close to this hostel around the university.
Dental college is 3-4 km away from our hostel, I don't know if that's a walking distance for you. Haha.
wow... I saw the schematic diagramme dy... now i have some pictures in my mind.. what surrounds the whole VMRF? forests? shopping centres? towns?
Err, surrounding our university is just forests I guess, but not that kind of untouched primordial forest as you've thought, it's mostly coconut farms or just empty lands. The trees here can't grow as tall and as "concentrated" as in the forests in Malaysia. But nonetheless, the point is, it's pretty underdeveloped around our universities, you can see squatters around here. Shopping centres? In your dreams maybe... Haha...
what do you do when you travel to Manipal, Mangalore, Bangalore, and Chennai ? what's interesting there? until now I've only heard about negative things concerning India... do you have anything to introduce which would raise our spirits a little bit? haha...
Manipal got nice campus, comparable to Malaysia ones. Mangalore is a typical town-city, nothing much. Bangalore is a big city, with some shopping centres and a famous street full of nice shops (including Levi's). Chennai is another big city, but very packed (typical Tamil Nadu style) with a few shopping centres and a few famous streets also.
I know that hearing all those negative things doesn't help in comforting those who are coming to India to study, but just think that what you'll be studying here is going to make you a much more useful person for the world, I hope that will raise your spirit better. Haha.
Al-Bert
31-03-2008, 12:11 AM
My A-level biology told me that India is one of the countries where people are highly exposed to infectious diseases like AIDS, malaria, cholera and tuberculosis....
Did any seniors be infected by such diseases during their days in India?
crazyfrog
04-09-2008, 02:22 AM
My A-level biology told me that India is one of the countries where people are highly exposed to infectious diseases like AIDS, malaria, cholera and tuberculosis....
Did any seniors be infected by such diseases during their days in India?
hi.. i'm currently in mmmc, manipal..
there are endemic diseases here like those that you have mentioned.. and in manipal... malaria is especially prevalent here.. few of my friends has got infected and are well and suffering nothing now...
manipal is a kinda quite-underdeveloped-town (besides the uni facilities).. so infections are sometimes inevitable.. but taking care of a good personal hygiene is all that matters sometimes...
@<hidden>
nice to see u giving good advices to juniors... keep it up...
loneguardian
04-09-2008, 02:52 AM
hi.. i'm currently in mmmc, manipal..
there are endemic diseases here like those that you have mentioned.. and in manipal... malaria is especially prevalent here.. few of my friends has got infected and are well and suffering nothing now...
manipal is a kinda quite-underdeveloped-town (besides the uni facilities).. so infections are sometimes inevitable.. but taking care of a good personal hygiene is all that matters sometimes...
@<hidden>
nice to see u giving good advices to juniors... keep it up...
As in Salem, it's certainly more underdeveloped than Manipal (no doubt in this as I'm the living witness, LOL). However, endemic diseases among us are not common (there are 1 or 2 cases but didn't happen to my friends). But maybe among the public in Salem it'll be worse, which I currently have no idea how bad is it.
Anyhow there's been one case of food poisoning which involved several blocks of people, no one knows whose fault is it really. The students are saying that the water was the problem, but the management said that the fridge had been storing food for too long until they had started to rot. Oh well.
@<hidden>:
thx. I'm in the middle of creating a forum for Salem people, once it's running well I'll make announcement here. ^^ Good luck in your studies dear MMMCians. ^^
crazyfrog
05-09-2008, 06:14 AM
I know that hearing all those negative things doesn't help in comforting those who are coming to India to study, but just think that what you'll be studying here is going to make you a much more useful person for the world, I hope that will raise your spirit better. Haha.
haha... negative things are only on lifestyle in india.. but when the curriculum is taken into consideration.. you'll be proud knowing that you are studying in india.. but, like loneguardian said, classes are kinda hectic.. and prepare to no longer consider saturdays as weekends.. hehe... (it is still half day in mmmc though... but in kmc it is a full day even on saturdays)
28-09-2008, 09:13 PM
haha... negative things are only on lifestyle in india.. but when the curriculum is taken into consideration.. you'll be proud knowing that you are studying in india.. but, like loneguardian said, classes are kinda hectic.. and prepare to no longer consider saturdays as weekends.. hehe... (it is still half day in mmmc though... but in kmc it is a full day even on saturdays)I'm now accustomed to the fact that Saturday is not a holiday, though occasionally we still have half day off...
Shinn89
12-12-2008, 01:12 AM
I'm back at last, haha.
Well, would like to ask the seniors what should we do before going to India?
And now we have a whole list of Unis tat we might be send to....
12-12-2008, 06:04 PM
I'm back at last, haha.
Well, would like to ask the seniors what should we do before going to India?
And now we have a whole list of Unis tat we might be send to....Just sit back and relax... Enjoy your time in Malaysia... You might have the whole list of university but most of the time you can't do anything about it...
jpncrayon
10-02-2009, 04:35 PM
im going to vinayaka mission univeristy in salem next month... can i know more about the facilities there? other than badminton courts... wat else do they have? swimming pool? basketball court? football field? gym? and... clubs? :P
junedesst
30-05-2009, 12:04 PM
does anybody around here have any idea how was it, im sorry if i post on the wrong thread or anything, bt please reply if you know, thanx,
30-05-2009, 02:27 PM
Thread "study in india" merged into an existing thread
mochitor
11-06-2009, 02:49 PM
Moderator note: Advertisement removed. As per ReCom policy, book sale should be done in Market Place, instead of Education forum. Thanks.
~Miracle_seed~
yuan_renn
11-06-2009, 11:48 PM
Do you know where JPA sends medic students to in India? Anyone know about JJMMC? Does JPA send scholars there? If you're kind enough, can provide me more info on this? Can't believe everything in the website, need some feedbacks from ReComer:)
11-06-2009, 11:51 PM
Do you know where JPA sends medic students to in India? Anyone know about JJMMC? Does JPA send scholars there? If you're kind enough, can provide me more info on this? Can't believe everything in the website, need some feedbacks from ReComer:)If you want to take a look at the list of medical colleges where JPA send their students to, you may refer to ReCom Wiki. If you are referring to JJM Medical College in Davangere, yes, JPA do send scholars there, but I don't know about the exact condition there.
yuan_renn
11-06-2009, 11:55 PM
Err, how can I get into contact with seniors who are in JJM?
12-06-2009, 12:01 AM
Err, how can I get into contact with seniors who are in JJM?I don't have any contact of them, but there are quite a lot of Malaysians there as many MARA scholars are sent there. By the way, why would you want their contact? I suppose you just get JPA scholarship this year, and not India-bound too?
yuan_renn
12-06-2009, 09:20 AM
I don't have any contact of them, but there are quite a lot of Malaysians there as many MARA scholars are sent there. By the way, why would you want their contact? I suppose you just get JPA scholarship this year, and not India-bound too?
I see. I'm asking for someone else:) Thanks for helping Miracle_seed
magickd89
12-06-2009, 11:48 AM
Err, how can I get into contact with seniors who are in JJM?
i hv a couple of contacts there. mostly MARA scholars and a few Indian private students. do lemme know if u need any info. the 1st batch of JPA scholars will be here by this August 09.
johnlau91
14-06-2009, 07:42 PM
i am currently a Jpa sponsored student, study medic. can i apply university in india by my own and tell jpa?
yuan_renn
14-06-2009, 08:13 PM
i am currently a Jpa sponsored student, study medic. can i apply university in india by my own and tell jpa?
I suppose we're the one who do the applying job and JPA just sponsors us? Correct me if I'm wrong.
magickd89
14-06-2009, 09:02 PM
I suppose we're the one who do the applying job and JPA just sponsors us? Correct me if I'm wrong.
I'm not sure whether this is mentioned in any threads before.. But for recent full time India-bound scholars (Medicine & Dentistry) under JPA, the practice is that you complete your A-levels for the Oct/ Nov session, obtain your results around January of the following year, enter the KI (Kursus Intensif India) programme around March till June, then await for your placements by JPA instead of applying it on your own.
You will get to know your placements in the midst of KI around end of April or early May. Admission into Indian Universities is usually around July-August each year, ie. you have about a month or so to prepare yourselves before you take off to your respective unis.
The placements will be handled by Nugrahan agency mostly and for a few other unis like JNMC Belgaum, KLE Belgaum, MCODS, KIMS Karad, they will have direct correspondence with JPA instead.
For johnlau91's question, so far there hasn't been a successful case like that (if I'm not mistaken), but you can always try.
yuan_renn
14-06-2009, 09:06 PM
I'm not sure whether this is mentioned in any threads before.. But for recent full time India-bound scholars (Medicine & Dentistry) under JPA, the practice is that you complete your A-levels for the Oct/ Nov session, obtain your results around January of the following year, enter the KI (Kursus Intensif India) programme around March till June, then await for your placements by JPA instead of applying it on your own.
You will get to know your placements in the midst of KI around end of April or early May. Admission into Indian Universities is usually around July-August each year, ie. you have about a month or so to prepare yourselves before you take off to your respective unis.
The placements will be handled by Nugrahan agency mostly and for a few other unis like JNMC Belgaum, KLE Belgaum, MCODS, KIMS Karad, they will have direct correspondence with JPA instead.
For johnlau91's question, so far there hasn't been a successful case like that (if I'm not mistaken), but you can always try.
I see, is it the same for every country? So after we complete our foundation we just wait for JPA to arrange for us? Again, thanks for the useful information.
magickd89
14-06-2009, 09:27 PM
It is not the same for every country as different unis in different countries have different admission procedures. For instance, UK-bound students have to sit for an admission test and along with that have to attend interviews before they get a place in the unis. I am not very sure about the detailed procedure and for other countries (perhaps you could refer other threads), but so far for India-bound students it is like that.
You are most welcomed :)
johnlau91
15-06-2009, 12:38 PM
thank you for the information. that mean i cant choose which medical school i desired.:( I am aiming for Kasturba Medical School under manipal university. However, Nugrahan Agent has no partnership with this school. Are you a India bound medical student?
What if i want to continue my specialist in other country like UK? Until now, i only now Kasturba Medical School is well recognized. :nuts
magickd89
15-06-2009, 02:19 PM
thank you for the information. that mean i cant choose which medical school i desired.:( I am aiming for Kasturba Medical School under manipal university. However, Nugrahan Agent has no partnership with this school. Are you a India bound medical student?
What if i want to continue my specialist in other country like UK? Until now, i only now Kasturba Medical School is well recognized. :nuts
You're welcome :)
FYI, for this year, none of the JPA India-bound full time medical scholars got admitted to Kasturba Medical College under Manipal University as there were some recognition issues previously and that the tuition fees has risen considerably for the past years. However, for the previous year ( 2008 ) , all of them got admitted to KMC (Manipal and Mangalore). For KMC, admission is dealt directly with MAHE (if I'm not mistaken).
Not sure whether JPA will continue sending scholars to KMC in the future as JPA's policy changes from time to time. That also depends on the seats allocated by the college each year.
Lol. I'm India-bound dentistry actually but I do have some good friends from the medical side :wink
I'm not very sure about the specialist n recognition thingy. Have to ask someone who's more knowledgeable on this.. I heard of something about obtaining a recognition letter from JPA when you apply for your specialization overseas, don't know how far it is applicable though. Perhaps you could ring up JPA someday and see? :)
johnlau91
15-06-2009, 02:54 PM
You're welcome :)
FYI, for this year, none of the JPA India-bound full time medical scholars got admitted to Kasturba Medical College under Manipal University as there were some recognition issues previously and that the tuition fees has risen considerably for the past years. However, for the previous year ( 2008 ) , all of them got admitted to KMC (Manipal and Mangalore). For KMC, admission is dealt directly with MAHE (if I'm not mistaken).
Not sure whether JPA will continue sending scholars to KMC in the future as JPA's policy changes from time to time. That also depends on the seats allocated by the college each year.
Lol. I'm India-bound dentistry actually but I do have some good friends from the medical side :wink
I'm not very sure about the specialist n recognition thingy. Have to ask someone who's more knowledgeable on this.. I heard of something about obtaining a recognition letter from JPA when you apply for your specialization overseas, don't know how far it is applicable though. Perhaps you could ring up JPA someday and see? :)
Yeah, the fee in KMC rise to about 150K USD. But, it is the only medical college which is well recognized. So, it means there is no agent for KMC/? :(. Which College you study for dentistry?
magickd89
17-06-2009, 01:03 PM
Yeah, the fee in KMC rise to about 150K USD. But, it is the only medical college which is well recognized. So, it means there is no agent for KMC/? :(. Which College you study for dentistry?
There's no agent for KMC. Any application has to be directed to MAHE itself. Further details can be found here:
http://www.manipal.edu/manipalsite/Users/admissionsubpage.aspx?Pgid=20
Btw, some of the colleges like JNMC n KMC that JPA sends its scholars to are listed in the All-Indian ranking so I guess they're not bad.
About the 2nd question, if you don't mind I would prefer to maintain the suspense for awhile lol :P
johnlau91
23-06-2009, 10:32 AM
There's no agent for KMC. Any application has to be directed to MAHE itself. Further details can be found here:
http://www.manipal.edu/manipalsite/Users/admissionsubpage.aspx?Pgid=20
Btw, some of the colleges like JNMC n KMC that JPA sends its scholars to are listed in the All-Indian ranking so I guess they're not bad.
About the 2nd question, if you don't mind I would prefer to maintain the suspense for awhile lol :Pso which university will JPA send me to??
24-06-2009, 01:04 AM
so which university will JPA send me to??Most of the time, you'll only know after you finish your A-Level. However, if you want to know which colleges JPA sent their students, this year and years before, you may check ReCom wiki. Still, nothing can be said for sure till the time you apply for university.
Hi, I got dentistry to India. Is it true that the medical check-up in government hospitals cost RM200? The health officer told me that.
wanee
24-06-2009, 03:02 PM
did MARA send their medical students to manipal university?i've seen the university, it's so big and nice.i dont know if that's just a mere picture and it wouldnt be nice as it looks.
magickd89
25-06-2009, 08:44 PM
Most of the time, you'll only know after you finish your A-Level. However, if you want to know which colleges JPA sent their students, this year and years before, you may check ReCom wiki. Still, nothing can be said for sure till the time you apply for university.
johnlau91, this is the direct link for the page:
http://www.recom.org/wiki/Medicine_in_India_(JPA_Scholarship)
There is no definite list as JPA might come to recognise new universities in the future. It all depends on JPA's policy which varies year by year.
Hi, I got dentistry to India. Is it true that the medical check-up in government hospitals cost RM200? The health officer told me that.
In my year, it cost me RM175 in HKL. It varies depending on the hospital where you do your check-up. Some of my friends did for RM200++, some did for only RM160.
With that said, I'm not sure whether it has risen within these 2 years.
did MARA send their medical students to manipal university?i've seen the university, it's so big and nice.i dont know if that's just a mere picture and it wouldnt be nice as it looks.
I've been there. It's a great university. Facilities are good and library is well-conditioned. Great place to study if you don't consider entertainment as top priority. :P
MARA sends students to MMMC. For KMC haven't heard of it but should have for earlier years. (like 4-5 years back or before)
Hey thanks magickd89...I'm just a bit curious because the hospital told me it's RM80 but that health officer said that the hospital made a mistake, it's RM200. He asked me to do the medical check-up in private hospital instead. I did it and it cost RM235. I just wanna know whether this health officer guy lied to me or not. He didn't have to lie to me just to chase me away, right? Anyway, thanks.
wanee
25-06-2009, 10:29 PM
I've been there. It's a great university. Facilities are good and library is well-conditioned. Great place to study if you don't consider entertainment as top priority. :P
MARA sends students to MMMC. For KMC haven't heard of it but should have for earlier years. (like 4-5 years back or before)
wow u have been there.yeah it seems like a very good uni with good facilities too.
is MMMC n KMC manipal campus are both in the same univeristy?
i've browse both colleges and it looks like it's in the same university.manipal univeristy.is it true?
is there any different requirements to get into the uni?because i want MMMC but too bad we cant choose the uni.
25-06-2009, 11:02 PM
wow u have been there.yeah it seems like a very good uni with good facilities too.
i've browse both colleges and it looks like it's in the same university.manipal univeristy.is it true?
is there any different requirements to get into the uni?because i want MMMC but too bad we cant choose the uni.MMMC and KMC Manipal share the same campus, but under different colleges, they use the same lecture building, but different lecture halls, and different dissection halls even though in same building. Both have separate labs as well, however they both use the common library.
wanee
25-06-2009, 11:12 PM
MMMC and KMC Manipal share the same campus, but under different colleges, they use the same lecture building, but different lecture halls, and different dissection halls even though in same building. Both have separate labs as well, however they both use the common library.
oh i see.the university is the orange coloured building right?it's so big.perhaps more or less like mid valley.:P
25-06-2009, 11:14 PM
oh i see.the university is the orange coloured building right?it's so big.perhaps more or less like mid valley.:PIt is the administration + library building, however, you won't have any class there. Lectures will be held in lecture hall building, while practicals in labs.
wanee
25-06-2009, 11:26 PM
It is the administration + library building, however, you won't have any class there. Lectures will be held in lecture hall building, while practicals in labs.
so admin+library and lecture hall are in different buildings?is it near to each other?
25-06-2009, 11:36 PM
so admin+library and lecture hall are in different buildings?is it near to each other?Yes, they are two different buildings, about few hundred metres apart...
Al-Bert
26-06-2009, 01:33 PM
In my understanding, ragging among students is quite prevalent in Indian universities and colleges.
So to the seniors in India, if possible, could you all enlighten me regarding the ways to handle college ragging?
wanee
26-06-2009, 01:57 PM
which uni is near for shopping stuff and entertainment?
26-06-2009, 03:00 PM
In my understanding, ragging among students is quite prevalent in Indian universities and colleges.
So to the seniors in India, if possible, could you all enlighten me regarding the ways to handle college ragging?Yes, there is also ragging in Indian universities and colleges, and the degree should vary from college to college. In my college, however, only local students are ragged, international students like us, they didn't even touch us, while Malaysian seniors are super nice, bringing us to buy things, giving us notes, brief us on books to use etc... They even treated us to a dinner....
However, I heard that in some other colleges, international students couldn't escape the fate of being ragged, though I have no idea how to handle it.
which uni is near for shopping stuff and entertainment?Universities in cities, such as Mangalore and Bangalore will be have more entertainment...
magickd89
26-06-2009, 04:51 PM
So to the seniors in India, if possible, could you all enlighten me regarding the ways to handle college ragging?
Actually ragging is prohibited in Indian universities, colleges and hostels. This is registered in an act of which circulars are distributed to various colleges around end of last year.
However, certain forms of ragging are still prevalent for instance in local hostels of which freshers are asked to perform tasks by their regional seniors (meaning Maharashtra seniors rag Maharashtra juniors, Punjab seniors rag Punjab jrs etc) on the pretext of enhancing ties between the two cliques. My local batchmates (boys) were even requested to shave their heads to near bald/ shave their moustaches/ beards etc, of which they did out of no choice.
Besides, in my college, the PGs of a certain department were really harsh as in they ridicule the juniors and ask to write impositions of 10, 20 times when some couldn't answer their questions.
Local seniors may also request for your phone number (usually girls are affected) and in the end a whole lot of people (miraculously) will come to have your number and disturb you all the time by overloading your inbox with messages and calling you non-stop. This has happened to some of my friends and my seniors, of Malaysian origin.
Depending on the degree of ragging (ie. if it concerns soliciting, beating or any forms which are considered serious), I suggest reporting to the college authorities or your international warden(s) of which I believe would take appropriate action.
Nevertheless the most crucial thing is to stay out of trouble and take necessary precautions/ act wise so you won't get dragged into the mess. Never hand out your number to local people or be too reckless in your speech/ actions. Stay calm and collected always. After all, you are in a foreign country and the least you can do is to take good care of yourself.
is there any different requirements to get into the uni?because i want MMMC but too bad we cant choose the uni.
MARA scholars of my year were sent to JJMMC and MMMC. I think it depends on the recognition of the Unis and discretion of your sponsor, ie. when you're allocated twinning programme you'll go MMMC, full time programme JJMMC. You can always contact MARA and enquire whether it is possible to appeal for your desired programme, no harm trying. MARA scholarship is quite flexible in my knowledge, if I'm not mistaken.
axreus
01-07-2009, 12:51 PM
hello guys.
i juz check out the prices for some textbooks.
kinokuniya and mph
-a lvl biology textbook(around rm 180)
-a lvl chemistry textbook(around rm 180)
there will be a or some bookshop which will come during the registeration day.
their prices are:
-a lvl biology textbook(rm 140 NETT)
-a lvl chemistry textbook(rm 160 NETT)
but my friend and some fasilitator or member of mpp ktt can help u guys buying those books with a great deal.
a lvl biology textbook is rm 140 and a lvl chemistry textbook is rm 160 plus A FREE cd of a lvl past year questions for bio, chem and may b math and physics.and also A FREE photocopy of step by step a lvl chemistry.
BUY TWO FREE TWO.:):)
*wanna know more details, plz pm me or email 2 me. tq
patma
04-07-2009, 02:49 PM
I have a doubt!!
What is Kursus insentif India (KI) that all India bond student have 2 attend fr March till June b4 leaving 2 indian??
Is it like kem Bina tatanegara o national service coz its 3 months!!
help me!
Thx
Actually KI course is a preparation course before departing 2 India...
3 Indian languages which are Hindi, Kannada and Tamil will b taught...
N some basics of anatomy and physiology...
confuse
04-07-2009, 10:03 PM
im studyin in intec
doin a-levels medic...
any seniors selling their books, notes, n exam papers??
plez contact me ya...thnx
i'm bound 2 india 2...
magpie
21-07-2009, 11:18 PM
hello. im going india soon and im really baffled. indian uni keep student's original birth cert until they leave uni? is this true? can anyone pls shed some light. i really need help on this. im a bit anxious about the birth cert kept by someone else issue. thanks