View Full Version : Unscrupulous Private Education Operators
Dr_Tay
06-12-2005, 11:40 PM
Lately, in the newspapers the tribunals for consumer claims have been very busy hearing cases brought about the private education operators for unscrupulous acts.
One of the acts I can think of involves providing postgraduate programs and when the ownership of the institution is transferred the onus is on the candidates who had enrolled before the transfer, to find solace in trying to pursue a program which has little support from the franchiser and the franchisee.
Secondly, providing a program filled with unkept promises.
It would be interesting to find out how many of you have experienced this whether at undergraduate or postgraduate levels.
Maxforce
07-12-2005, 01:29 AM
Dr,
Actually these incidents has happened long time ago, only recently it got highlighted in the papers. Personally I have no experience in this (thankfully) but a number of accounting students were duped most commonly in this manner:
1. To study AIA (a course), and was told it was recognised by MIA.(Malaysian Institute of Accountants - Governing body in Msia)
Fact: NOT True. Previously AIA was NOT recognised at all in Malaysia. Recently MIA allowed AIA graduates to take an ADDITIONAL exam for the recognition.
2. To study in an US based accountancy degree and was told (yet again) that it was recognised by MIA.
Fact: Again NOT true. US accounting policies are very different from what is practised around the world and what is practised in Msia. I am unsure if MIA allows US students to take a qualifying exam though.
One factor may be that the college is totally unscrupulous. ANother could be that the college employs some half assed (ehem, excuse my language) part time staff as student counselor who know next to nothing about the courses they were advising.
I got duped by the college too in Malaysia. Paying top money for diploma programme (they were saying that it's internationally recognise and can be transfer to anywhere)... and yet is was their own Diploma.
I got so piss off with their programme, I flew to Australia to finish off my degree. What's worst is that they have guts in not sending my completed courses result and resulting me in doing rubbish electives.
Luckily the coordinator in my programme was kind (maybe I was an international student)... and she manage to get my results by the end of the semester.
Never trust what colleges said about their programme. During my time... internet sucks (maybe also because we spent too much time MIRC or we do not know how to use internet). They are just profit making crocrodile.
I was lucky that I got a good coordinator and smart enough to go through IDP to do my own credit transfer.
Maxforce
07-12-2005, 11:12 PM
And I gather ck, it was an example of another unreported incidents?
Not in Malaysia. But it was quite a huge fuss in my Uni as the programme HOD (the college in Malaysia) came to Aus. to settle the problem for me.
It was kinda tarnishing their image.
Maxforce
07-12-2005, 11:41 PM
Of course you're right, was just trying to point out and stressing that the problem has been going on for years, unchecked.
Dr_Tay
08-12-2005, 09:07 PM
I understand the frustration experienced by most of you with colleges who are out to make a fast buck as I had personally experienced it myself.
The point is the foreign partner sometimes is also at fault in allowing for such programs to take place and for partnering with a questionable college which has no qualms in taking money but not delivering what it promises. At times fully paid up students were not even registered and some went through the program only to find out that their seat and results were not even recorded.
Maxforce
08-12-2005, 09:27 PM
Dr, I tend to disagree on the part whereby the foreign partner is to be blamed. I mean, how would they know anyway?
In many countries abroad, reputation meant a lot. Here? Gee, you know lah how it is.
Dr_Tay
11-12-2005, 10:02 PM
The foreign partner university as a licensor or franchisor is legally responsible for the services that their agent on contractual parnter provides. It is a pity that foreign partner universities are not more accountable and responsible for what their local partner delivers to the student of the host country.
Secondly, the brand of the university is at stake after all the degree is awarded by the foreign partner not the local agent, and in most cases the payment is sometime made part to the foreign partner or all to the foreign partner where disbursements are later made to the local agent.
Acceptance of student for candidature is done by the foreign partner university and not by the agent. So really the foreign university really knows what they are really getting themselves into
Maxforce
12-12-2005, 03:17 AM
You're right of course, Dr.
However, I would consider it as a Business Risk.
And that is probably why a number of colleges had lost their foreign partners over the years. I think that is about all that the foreign partner could do.
seancl85
13-12-2005, 09:09 AM
anyway..let say we are doing a degree in a Z private university in msia...how can we do credit transfer to other countries?
13-12-2005, 09:37 AM
anyway..let say we are doing a degree in a Z private university in msia...how can we do credit transfer to other countries?
you need to check with the university you plan to transfer to.
seancl85
13-12-2005, 04:34 PM
when can we do a credit transfer?......1st year..2nd year..or anytime?
Dr_Tay
13-12-2005, 07:31 PM
It is best as the last person suggested to check with the uni you plan to transfer to. But I would also recommend that you look before leaping into a uni in Australia bearing in mind the discriminatory negative sentiment that is running in their society even with some of their institutions of higher learning you can feel the racially charged hype and commercially and profit motivated objectives in providing offshore programs with local operators.