View Full Version : 100-200K Funding
Maxforce
11-12-2005, 01:40 AM
Well as the subject says, Now if you have 100-200K of funding (i.e. someone wants to invest 100-200K in a business with you in charge), what would you do? What business would you venture into?
11-12-2005, 12:42 PM
for a min of RM200k, you'll have sufficient fund to run a gas station.
11-12-2005, 01:07 PM
for a min of RM200k, you'll have sufficient fund to run a gas station.
i thought u need a plot of land(at a strategic location) to go with that fund...
start a website? and lotsa promotion with that money...
bingzhang
11-12-2005, 01:47 PM
Last time i heard that one would need minimum RM 500k to start a petrol station business. Correct me if i'm wrong.
However, with 100 - 200k capital that I would have, I will start with a well developed franchise business like like star bucks, KFC or McDonald or other franchise business, not necessary retail food business. The reason I choose a franchise business is because they have proved the business is doing well, the only matter is just the location. With first investment in franchise, I expect to grow my capital to have more money ready to invest in another same type of franchise or most importantly i get more money to be ready to invest in other business in the future.
I'm also pro of the website business but i also tend to believe a-money-making website needs a very good idea to stand out of the crowd and makes money. Otherwise, I am afraid if you will be stucking in the business with making of little of money or no money while it also sucks your all of your capital already which you won't have money to invest when a good opportunity comes.
So, my point is first investment is really important for people like us who don't have lots of capital. If we can't make it happen in the first investment, I am afraid we are not able to invest when we have a betteer opportunity.
11-12-2005, 01:54 PM
Hrm....
knowing M'sian mentality...Sports Toto or 4D
11-12-2005, 02:47 PM
what about pirated cd/dvd/vcd business? 8)
Salvation
11-12-2005, 03:41 PM
However, with 100 - 200k capital that I would have, I will start with a well developed franchise business like like star bucks, KFC or McDonald or other franchise business, not necessary retail food business. The reason I choose a franchise business is because they have proved the business is doing well, the only matter is just the location. With first investment in franchise, I expect to grow my capital to have more money ready to invest in another same type of franchise or most importantly i get more money to be ready to invest in other business in the future.
Seems like a good idea but are you sure that 200k in enough and KFC, McD and Startbucks is open for franchising?
bingzhang
11-12-2005, 04:56 PM
Seems like a good idea but are you sure that 200k in enough and KFC, McD and Startbucks is open for franchising?
Sorry but not too sure actually about this information in Malaysia since I have been abroad for few years. Kinda outdated about things in Malaysia. However, it's not hard to find out this type of information if you really want to. Go to check out their website and usually they have a section for prospective franchises. Talk with them about your interest of being one of the franchises, I'm sure each of them can provide you more than you need.
One point I like to add, I believe you are also minimizing your risk to start your first business with the franchise since there is a well developed system there to guide to you success. These people will surely help you out to success because when you are making money, they are making money too. With them, you can start learning more about the business before you start you own one.
While in Australia, I understand that you need AUS$250k to start coffee club and each month you have to pay around 10% out of the profit to them too.
Other than that, I believe Mcdonald have the best franchise system in the world. So, McDonald might be the right choice for you but be ready to pay very high franchise fees too.
masdie
11-12-2005, 05:15 PM
A small 'kedai runcit'........and 'buy' a wife with the leftover money.
Maxforce
11-12-2005, 05:30 PM
Interesting.. so many ideas...
1. Franchise KFC, McD, Starbucks
Sorry, the franchise not open anymore. In fact McD & KFC has been very aggressive in acquiring back the franchises. However, previously I heard it was for RM1m. Gloria Jeans (RM80,000 only)
2. Petrol Station
Kenot also. You need about RM500K as someone mentioned. RM350K for the rights etc. RM150K as working capital.
3. Toto/4D
Again, the license very difficult to get. Anyway the last I heard was also in the region of RM1m including undertable money
Website sounds like a great idea but selling what?
bingzhang
11-12-2005, 05:59 PM
Interesting.. so many ideas...
1. Franchise KFC, McD, Starbucks
Sorry, the franchise not open anymore. In fact McD & KFC has been very aggressive in acquiring back the franchises. However, previously I heard it was for RM1m. Gloria Jeans (RM80,000 only)
Website sounds like a great idea but selling what?
Sorry, I just found out that Starbucks does not offer opportunity of franchise. Also, McD needs rm600k to 2 millions to start up the business depending on the size and infrastructure. Not sure about KFC but will let you know when i found out.
Speaking back about the fact McD and KFC has been very aggressive in acquiring back the franchise sounds very wierd to me as I understand that McD did the same before. McD had tried to acquired back the franchises and had increased the ownerships of the stores probably 10% to 33%. However, McD also found that they failed to control these 33% of the stores properly and this OVER acquiring action is not benefiting the franchise system in long term.
secondly, this action in fact had created unhappy among the franchises because they are always afraid that their stores being acquired back by the corporate.
Since then, McD decided to sell the franchises back to the people and only holds 25% of the stores out of the market.
Website is always my favourite and I believe is the favourite of the students who dream to be rich too. LOL. However, like i said, a making-money website needs a very good idea.
Selling something? If you are targeting Malaysian market, it doesn't seem to be a good idea for me. Reason? Ask around your friends, family and colleagues, would they ever make transaction with their credit card in internet? I'm afraid not many would say yes since this is the trend in Malaysia. Anyway, i would consider selling something if one is targeting foreign market since they are more too open internet transaction.
Anyway, why not consider building a website providing content/information and services which can attract high volumes of visitors. By that, the website can make money out from the advertisement such as participating the google ad program. Forgot where did i read it before, "Information is the king".
by the way, it's also not healty to the business if the advertisement is the only revenue of the business. you should consider developing more sources of the revenue to the business such as charging for the services. anyway, these sources should vary with tbe type of the business/content of your website business.
anyway, you still need a good idea to develop the website that can attract thousand of visitors each day.
Maxforce
12-12-2005, 03:15 AM
Now this is getting really interesting!
I had no idea McD is back to selling franchises!!! But like you said, wow, high capital requirement. One of my friend was a franchiser, and he bought it with 1m. Thats how my figure came about. I have no idea it depended on infrastructure etc. Very enlightening Bingzhang!
The idea why they were reacquiring back the franchise business is to shut it down completely - to regain more control. The move was not profit motivated at all, or so I was told. (In fact, they made some losses out of it!)
Your website idea still sounds intriguing! But like you ve said, it needs some really original idea...
12-12-2005, 03:27 AM
oh yar... and another idea... get a group of friends(professionals, accountant, engineers, lawyer,architect....)... (i think u are in ur mid-late twenties? just dunno why, but i think u are)so, ur friends should have some working experience, and i would say get together and make a small consulthing firm target small business...
read about it where a bunch of ppl working part time on one of this company, and it's feasible... risky, but good return...
but, it's a company with friends... and u must face the fact that money is the root of all evil... friends-->foes if money is the problem...
12-12-2005, 04:45 AM
interesting topic. this is one of the topics we always discuss about, when we have a bunch of girls gather together. haha
we think of open our own restaurant, just a small shop. but the way we operate our restaurant will be based on how korean here making money with thier own restaurant. hehe...
through what we observe about the way how korean operate thier restaurants and malaysian's, we have figured out the differences between it and why we are way more attracted and prefer the restaurants here, rather than back in malaysia. ^.^
so, we think that it would be a good try for that, if we had those cash on hands.
12-12-2005, 05:00 AM
interesting topic. this is one of the topics we always discuss about, when we have a bunch of girls gather together. haha
we think of open our own restaurant, just a small shop. but the way we operate our restaurant will be based on how korean here making money with thier own restaurant. hehe...
through what we observe about the way how korean operate thier restaurants and malaysian's, we have figured out the differences between it and why we are way more attracted and prefer the restaurants here, rather than back in malaysia. ^.^
so, we think that it would be a good try for that, if we had those cash on hands.
err... what are the differences?
Maxforce
12-12-2005, 12:21 PM
Haha DecentMerson, I thought about opening an audit/accounting firm before but basically drop the idea everytime. The Critical Success Factor for an accounting firm the the debt collection and sadly, many clients owe the accounting firms 2-5 years of debts.
(Used to work in one. Many clients do not pay. Sad Sad...)
zAiTsEv, er I doubt janewai would be so generous to spill the details. But Janewai, if you are feeling generous, I am all ears!! Haha
12-12-2005, 12:45 PM
If I had THAT much money to spend on, I'd prob buy over the child development centre that I'm working at right now. My boss is retiring mid next year and has offered the business for RM100k. With an already established name, I'm pretty sure I can get back the 100k soonish!
But then again, I might also make my wildest dream come true by using the money to publish a women's magazine =)
12-12-2005, 12:57 PM
Haha DecentMerson, I thought about opening an audit/accounting firm before but basically drop the idea everytime. The Critical Success Factor for an accounting firm the the debt collection and sadly, many clients owe the accounting firms 2-5 years of debts.
my idea is not so much of an accounting firm... it is more like a consulting firm...
bingzhang
12-12-2005, 01:11 PM
The idea why they were reacquiring back the franchise business is to shut it down completely - to regain more control. The move was not profit motivated at all, or so I was told. (In fact, they made some losses out of it!)
Your website idea still sounds intriguing! But like you ve said, it needs some really original idea...
Care to share where did you read the news so that i can read about it too? Thanks in advance.
From I know, the acquicition that happened was back in US and done by the second president of the McD. The move was to take more control of the overall market. Also it tried to "scare" the rest of the McD operators where if they could operate the shops properly, McD will buy back their shops (McD had very high influence on the contract of the franchises license). Lastly, they realized that operating the shops by themselves gave them more profit that they charged from the operators for the franchises fees. However, they decided to ban the idea and reduce the control to 25%.
Anyway, things might have been changed especially the changes of the management and also different management styles in different countries. They might have a good reason supporting their move. I would appreciate if someone can tell me this.
like others, I'm interested to know the differences too. Care to share? ^_^
Maxforce
12-12-2005, 04:48 PM
I cant remember where I ve read them bingzhang, as it has been some years since they started acquiring back the franchises, and I dont really focus on the global policy but more on at home in Msia. A number of my friends tried to apply as well but, was told of the story that franchises has stopped and they re reacquiring all.
12-12-2005, 09:41 PM
haha... how could i tell you all what are the differences now? there would be nothing new after i grad from korea next time, if i say out loud here... :wink:
12-12-2005, 10:08 PM
haha... how could i tell you all what are the differences now? there would be nothing new after i grad from korea next time, if i say out loud here... :wink:
no big deal. 8)
Salvation
13-12-2005, 12:52 AM
haha... how could i tell you all what are the differences now? there would be nothing new after i grad from korea next time, if i say out loud here... Wink
lol
It is hard to understand why any restaurants in any place in the world can compare to Malaysian mamaks and warongs...I miss them so much :( (ok, apart from the cleanliness factor and price is a huge concern to me)
Maxforce
13-12-2005, 01:09 AM
Haahaaa I thought so...
jane, if you need an investor then, look for me!
hehe :lol: :lol:
13-12-2005, 01:19 AM
haha... how could i tell you all what are the differences now? there would be nothing new after i grad from korea next time, if i say out loud here... Wink
lol
It is hard to understand why any restaurants in any place in the world can compare to Malaysian mamaks and warongs...I miss them so much :( (ok, apart from the cleanliness factor and price is a huge concern to me)
true... but actually, other than the food, the companies count too... missing my buddies too(kaki mamak and cafe...might be missing those 12am calls for mamak and cybercafe sessions forever, thanks to a 'missing' child and a 'worried' mother,...)
bestcreation
13-12-2005, 05:18 AM
with 100-200k, you will need to decide how much risk you are willing to undertake in your investments.
franchising is a decent idea and you should not expect to earn anymore than 10-15% of your capital yearly as that's the industry average in the food industry. That's 10 to 30k a YEAR. That's not much but your capital will probably be safe.
most rich people make their first million from real estate. There is a reason "real" means royal in latin.
The advantages of real estate: leverage, low (knowledge) barriers of entry, decent returns on capital, if all fails you can still stay in it
disadvantage: leverage, economic risks
real estate is risky simply because having 100-200k will allow you to buy a 1 million dollar property. Higher risk = (potential for) higher return.
nonetheless, anybody who puts all their money in real estate after reading some advice from public forums deserve to lost all their money.
read up on the subject and learn economic cycles as real estate, just like any other asset, is influence by both marco and microeconomi factors.
my 2 cents.
bingzhang
13-12-2005, 08:59 AM
most rich people make their first million from real estate. There is a reason "real" means royal in latin.
The advantages of real estate: leverage, low (knowledge) barriers of entry, decent returns on capital, if all fails you can still stay in it
disadvantage: leverage, economic risks
real estate is risky simply because having 100-200k will allow you to buy a 1 million dollar property. Higher risk = (potential for) higher return.
read up on the subject and learn economic cycles as real estate, just like any other asset, is influence by both marco and microeconomi factors.
my 2 cents.
I just PARTLY agree with your opinions.
It's true that having 100-200k will allow you to buy a 1 million dollar property. However there are few conditions you must meet which are:
1. you have a very good credit rating.
2. you have some security deposit such as house, or cash.
3. In order to laverage with the money (100 - 200k) you have in real estate. You always have to fullfil the conditions above. Two situation might happen in this scenario. If this is your first house, it's very hard for you to invest in second house unless you still have heaps of cash with you, whcih is not true for this case since max considers 100k for his investment.
But assuming max already has his first house, it's a lot easier for max to buy second, third or even 30th house later. why? most people will put their first house as security to get the loan for the second house and then 2 houses as security to get the loan for the third house. in the mean time, they will service the interest but NOT the repayment. This is the way people laverage and make money in real estate.
4. Increase of the value of real estate takes YEARS ( sometime up to ten years at least ) in order to see the result. Unless you planning to do short term investment like the author or rich dad poor dad (robert), otherwise, it takes really long period to get huge return in real estate. Another exception would be you can foreseen correctly the market of real estate will be very very good in next few years. Short term investment in real estate might be good but also lies on next two conditions.
5. Cash Flow. Investing in real estate is notorious of getting profit in short term. Think of getting paid from renting the house? don't forget you will have to service the interest at least, pay for house maintainence, agents fees( if you have one) and etc. Most people reported lost during financial years (assuming the case in australia) but they still hold the houses just to make money in long term. So, Unless you have very good source of strong income and good plan, otherwise it will affect your cash flow.
6. Capital gain tax. Not sure how much tax you tax in Malaysia now but some countries charge very high capital gain tax (50% of your profit). Plus, your transactions include agent fees, lawyers , accountant and etc.
It's not that I don't agree investing in real estate is good but i just think that FIRST investment should not go to real estate. I believe one should only invest (apply the laverage theory as mentioned above) when one already developed his own business and have very good source of strong income which can help investing in real estate.
By the way, consider investing in mamak near uni or college and make it big. haha.....hey, as far as i know some mamak makes around 15k for just one saturday night. (famous and crowded mamak only lah)
Maxforce
13-12-2005, 09:23 PM
Agree with Bingzhang
Agree with bestcreation
nonetheless, anybody who puts all their money in real estate after reading some advice from public forums deserve to lost all their money.
14-12-2005, 02:59 AM
hmm...if you want high returns be prepared to face higher risk...nothing comes free...as for me I'll put it all in an FX trading account and just work as a day trader.
bestcreation
14-12-2005, 05:47 AM
currency trading is a zero sum game.
every cent you make is conditioned on someone else losing a cent.
might as well go to genting, at least the rules are clearer there.
bingzhang
14-12-2005, 11:51 AM
Hey Max, why don't you start with something that you are familiar, which you have been doing/observing and something you think you can make the difference or bring the revolution to that particular industry? It makes a lots easier for you to start and the chance of success is also higher.
My personal favourite would be food retails, IT and real estate, (but based on what a start-up business can do lah). :D
Yous?
Maxforce
14-12-2005, 10:32 PM
Well, bingzhang, thats the problem. I am not familiar with any industry. However, before you jump the gun, I was trained to do business, it is in my veins to do business, in fact it is my calling, my destiny to be in business.
I am quite well versed with a number of areas from accounting to IT, from Sales to customer service, from Marketing to Branding. Previously I started off an online store selling car parts to Australia. I know next to nothing about car parts. And I still dont. But I know what will work for the company. I know what it will take for the company to grow. Hence, it was making money. However, as I was partnering with another person and due to certain circumstances, I withdrawn.
Food business, yeah it makes money. And managing it would not prove to be too difficult for me. However, as I am not a master chef myself, I find that it would be just too risky.
Real estate? If as an investor, 100-200K is nothing. And due to the small capital, you cannot afford to make a mistake. And we know mistakes are just all too common. Real estate sales, well, it is currently over saturated. No juice there. Real estate management, now that is an interesting area. However, the CSF in this case is contacts - with all the rich ppl, which I do not have.
IT has many areas as well, but most of it is also over saturated. Unless you could provide something of an edge, like SEO. but then, I am not a technical person. I could be the marketer (sweet talk that makes business sense), and the admnistator (due to my accounting background) but never the chief engineer. I know my limitations. Just fishing out some ideas. And at the same time, let you guys have some fun.
bingzhang
15-12-2005, 11:25 PM
Real estate sales, well, it is currently over saturated. No juice there. Real estate management, now that is an interesting area. However, the CSF in this case is contacts - with all the rich ppl, which I do not have.
Care to tell more about the situation of real estate sales in Malaysia now? As far as I know, it seems to be not very popular in Malaysia where Malaysian prefer to sell/buy the house by themselves.
As you said, contact is import in this case, and you emphasize it on rich ppl. I agree taht contact is important (no matter what industry u r in ) but rich ppl is certainly not the majority of the customer. No doubt that rich ppl have the potential of investing and buying more properties but number of rich people is less than average ppl. With the large amount of average ppl, attention to this group of ppl should not be forgotten as the total of transation of LARGE AMOUNT of average ppl would be equivalent or more than the sales of small amount of rich ppl. By the way, it's expected to build up your contact whether the customer is rich or average or poor over the process of building the business as it's hard to have all the contacts overnight before you start the business.
I am not a technical person. I could be the marketer (sweet talk that makes business sense), and the admnistator (due to my accounting background) but never the chief engineer. I know my limitations. Just fishing out some ideas. And at the same time, let you guys have some fun.
Same problem as my technical skills are not strong enough. Haha, what a shame since i did IT. I know my limitations too. :?
Maxforce
16-12-2005, 12:48 AM
Real estate in Msia? Situation? Same like UK. Poor and middle class ppl like myself dont have enough. We are struggling with the payments/buying/maintaining a house for ourselves. Right now, the only property market that is hot are the luxury sections. That is why I say focus on the rich ppl. There used to be a time when the focus should be middle class, but right now, it is not. Therefore you cannot concentrate on volume strategy as there isnt much volume anyway.
Yeah contacts first or business first? Well classic chicken and egg story heh?
Yeah, we all must know our own limitations.
Maxforce
16-12-2005, 10:26 PM
I have decided...
I have decided to open a pet shop
selling oversized cockroaches to stupid ppl.
Hahahaha
Thanks everyone for the participations and suggestions. Cheers! :lol: :lol: :lol:
bingzhang
16-12-2005, 11:27 PM
haha............what a facinating and wierd idea............
How does it work? Care to share? or may PM me it's too sensitive. LOL
Maxforce
17-12-2005, 03:39 AM
haha bingzhang... it was meant as a joke...
well, after going through my core competencies and the resources (incldg ppl i trust) i ll most probably start with a kindergarten and an online business specializing in gifts. Nothing original. Just that I am quite convinced with the business model. Thats all.
Wedko
17-12-2005, 10:19 AM
Real estate in Msia? Situation? Same like UK. Poor and middle class ppl like myself dont have enough. We are struggling with the payments/buying/maintaining a house for ourselves. Right now, the only property market that is hot are the luxury sections. That is why I say focus on the rich ppl. There used to be a time when the focus should be middle class, but right now, it is not. Therefore you cannot concentrate on volume strategy as there isnt much volume anyway.
Yeah contacts first or business first? Well classic chicken and egg story heh?
Yeah, we all must know our own limitations.
You could target 1 bedroom flat or two bedroom flats
Reason: there will be many young professionals who want to own a property at their earliest stage, and 1 bedroom flat is the cheapest option they could get.
'Paying mortgage is better than paying rent'
And also don't forget to set up an estate agent, as when they get married, they will move out of that flat, then you will have chance to rent or sell it out for them. And the new buyer will do the same thing.
So you could end up selling the same flat for many times within five years.
Wedko
17-12-2005, 10:30 AM
zAiTsEv, er I doubt janewai would be so generous to spill the details. But Janewai, if you are feeling generous, I am all ears!! Haha
As I said before, accountants are underpaid, so don't even try to think of becoming rich if you want to start an accounting firm.
Reason: too much responsibility and paying too much insurance premium.
Result: Business can't grow as quickly as other business eventhough you can work 24 hours a day.
Howeer, it could provide you a comfortable life but not luxurious life.
Wedko
17-12-2005, 10:41 AM
A good businessman can turn any business idea into money machine.
Building a successful business is not only about idea, Bill Gates didn't build Microsoft simply by having a good idea, it was about his vision and determination to achieve his vision.
I always tell my friends that there is no big deal if someone has implemented their ideas or used their idea as it doesn't guarantee that person to be successful.
If you look into every industry, there is hardly any business that has no competitor (except government's restriction). We have coke and pepsi, yahoo and google, Microsoft and Apple etc...
How sure are you that no other people is doing what you are going to do?
Korean is one of the most competitive people in the world, they like competition and this is the driving force of their success.
Wedko
17-12-2005, 10:49 AM
haha bingzhang... it was meant as a joke...
well, after going through my core competencies and the resources (incldg ppl i trust) i ll most probably start with a kindergarten and an online business specializing in gifts. Nothing original. Just that I am quite convinced with the business model. Thats all.
In the UK, there are a number of companies selling 'experience'.
Basically, you could buy a voucher (online or from the Supermarket) for your friend as a gift.
And you could choose what kind of experience he/she wants to have.
For example, driving F1 car in Sepang Circuit, swimming with Dolphin or simply appear on a tv programme... all kind of wierd experience.
The best thing about this is you receive cash in advance and create your own currency, your company voucher.
Finally, there is no stocks involve.
Maxforce
17-12-2005, 10:39 PM
Hey GREAT IDEA there Wedko!
Selling experience!!! Why didnt that come to the puny mind of mine!!! Simply AWESOME!
But execution wise may be difficult? I mean I will still be the middle person right? So, they could have gone direct? E.g. F1 experience, buy direct from the organisers?
Or do I add in extras like view the pit, meet with the drivers, meet with the models, or throw in extra gifts like F1 memorables? Er, how ar?
Wedko
18-12-2005, 12:04 AM
well, it is profit sharing.
If the experience provider quote you RM100, then you will have to sell RM300, RM100 (RM200 if you sell online) for you and RM100 for retailer.
Remember you only have arrange the activity if only buyers have paid you.
And you can use the money to pay the provider in full.
However, you have to spend lots of money on marketing and advertisement.
Maybe as a start you have to pay some deposits as a token of trust.
Companies in the UK:
Red Letter Days
http://www.redletterdays.co.uk
Into the Blue
http://www.intotheblue.co.uk
http://www.virginexperiencedays.co.uk
Yes, buyers can go direct to the service providers, but this can only happen if they know where and who to contact.
In fact, you are not really targeting the buyers who are going to use vouchers but those who want to buy it as a gift to someone else.
18-12-2005, 06:26 AM
200k won't cut it for a Gas (petrol) station in Malaysia.
The Bribe your going to have to give to the people who'd sign an OK would be in the 200k already.
Maxforce
18-12-2005, 10:42 AM
Hey thanks for the links Wedko bro!
Might just incorporate them into my plans. Hehe will do the necessary research and surveys
Thirdshifter, yeah you re right. And also the plot of land will probably cost quite a bit.
EDIT: Correction, Wedko bro. WILL DEFINITELY incorporate it into my plans. Cheers! :lol: :lol:
Wedko
21-12-2005, 03:54 PM
Good that you like the idea.
It is nothing new here but it could be a big hit in Malaysia. As this is a luxury gift, this will also depend on the puchasing power of consumers.
Lots of work to be done though. That's why I don't think I could do it now.
Hope you will be successful and don't forget to send me some free vouchers, ok.
From my view, in order to survive in this business, you have find a new experience every week.
22-12-2005, 01:28 AM
vocation-vacatians?
www.vocationvacation.com
Maxforce
22-12-2005, 11:13 PM
Hehe hehe , thanks guys.
Laying the groundwork...
:lol: :lol: :lol:
Wedko
23-12-2005, 04:19 AM
Hey, nice to have you back.
Thought you already 'cabut' after pitching a good idea from us.
Or hide out in some quiet place to draft your business plan.
13-01-2006, 03:53 AM
Or....you can do what this kid did...
Cash pours in for student with $1 million Web idea (http://news.yahoo.com/s/nm/20051229/ts_nm/homepage_dc).
..Because chances are, Alex Tew, a 21-year-old student from a small town in England, is cleverer than you. And he is proving it by earning a cool million dollars in four months on the Internet.
Selling porn? Dealing prescription drugs? Nope. All he sells are pixels, the tiny dots on the screen that appear when you call up his home page...
Guess how much the last 1000 pixels went for? (http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=5652179487&ssPageName=ADME:L:LCA:UK:31).
Dammit...why didn't I think of that?