View Full Version : Nihongo anyone?

Pages : [1] 2

08-02-2004, 12:17 AM
The old thread had been destroyed by the "ReCom Black Thursday" incident so I'll start this thread again .. let's learn nihongo!!

08-02-2004, 12:17 AM
The old thread had been destroyed by the "ReCom Black Thursday" incident so I'll start this thread again .. let's learn nihongo!!

qedx
08-02-2004, 02:48 PM
darekahajimarimasuka. nanigabenkyoushimasuka?

qedx
08-02-2004, 02:48 PM

08-02-2004, 03:01 PM

it will be easier to be read if we type the sentence as :

dare kara hajimarimasuka?
nani wo benkyoushimasuka?

It is better to seperate a sentence where there is any conjunction...
I think we can talk about anything here and i will try to correct if there is any mistakes. This is better as we will learn mistakes that we made in our daily discussions other than simply learning new things.

eeto ... dou omoimasuka?

08-02-2004, 03:01 PM

it will be easier to be read if we type the sentence as :

dare kara hajimarimasuka?
nani wo benkyoushimasuka?

It is better to seperate a sentence where there is any conjunction...
I think we can talk about anything here and i will try to correct if there is any mistakes. This is better as we will learn mistakes that we made in our daily discussions other than simply learning new things.

eeto ... dou omoimasuka?

qedx
08-02-2004, 03:03 PM
hehe im lazy :P and the particles always mess me up :/

qedx
08-02-2004, 03:03 PM
hehe im lazy :P and the particles always mess me up :/

08-02-2004, 03:11 PM
So its called particles :oops:
haha....
i really dont know what i should called them ... *malu...malu*

08-02-2004, 03:11 PM
So its called particles :oops:
haha....
i really dont know what i should called them ... *malu...malu*

qedx
08-02-2004, 03:47 PM
in tests theres are usually a section devoted to particles only. they give you sentences sans particles and ask you to fill in the right ones.

been meaning to ask how do you type in japanese here eh? i tried using microsoft ime, but cant seem to turn on the conversion mode. i want to type ki and the letter ki appears. now if i want to type in jap, it uses a japanese keyboard layout :(

qedx
08-02-2004, 03:47 PM
in tests theres are usually a section devoted to particles only. they give you sentences sans particles and ask you to fill in the right ones.

been meaning to ask how do you type in japanese here eh? i tried using microsoft ime, but cant seem to turn on the conversion mode. i want to type ki and the letter ki appears. now if i want to type in jap, it uses a japanese keyboard layout :(

08-02-2004, 04:16 PM
perhaps you should set the "input mode" to either hiragana or katakana .. see picture (top-right corner) :

http://anatilmizun.homeip.net/directlink/ime_jp.png

see the cute little hiragana 'wa' in the input box?

08-02-2004, 04:16 PM
perhaps you should set the "input mode" to either hiragana or katakana .. see picture (top-right corner) :

http://anatilmizun.homeip.net/directlink/ime_jp.png

see the cute little hiragana 'wa' in the input box?

08-02-2004, 04:30 PM
press "Alt + the button below Esc" if you are using IME in WINXP---> forget the button already as i am using Japanese Keyboard for a long time.

08-02-2004, 04:30 PM
press "Alt + the button below Esc" if you are using IME in WINXP---> forget the button already as i am using Japanese Keyboard for a long time.

08-02-2004, 04:38 PM
that's a nice shortcut!! doumo osewasama Schye-kun (or is -san preferrable here?) ... btw, under the Esc key is ` (or ~) symbol ...

08-02-2004, 04:38 PM
that's a nice shortcut!! doumo osewasama Schye-kun (or is -san preferrable here?) ... btw, under the Esc key is ` (or ~) symbol ...

qedx
08-02-2004, 04:42 PM
oh well it seems to work now... but no pretty buttons like luke's screenshot :/

qedx
08-02-2004, 04:42 PM
oh well it seems to work now... but no pretty buttons like luke's screenshot :/

08-02-2004, 04:45 PM
Ok, so it works.

if you want to change the hiragana you type to:

katakana (F7 or F8 which different from err...space/size -- agian dunno how to tell in English)

hiragana ( F6 although usually we use hiragana as the default setting )

Alphabet (F10)

Hope these shortcut keys work too...press the same key more than one time to get different changes.

08-02-2004, 04:45 PM
Ok, so it works.

if you want to change the hiragana you type to:

katakana (F7 or F8 which different from err...space/size -- agian dunno how to tell in English)

hiragana ( F6 although usually we use hiragana as the default setting )

Alphabet (F10)

Hope these shortcut keys work too...press the same key more than one time to get different changes.

qedx
08-02-2004, 04:53 PM
ya everything seems to work ありがとうございます~

qedx
08-02-2004, 04:53 PM
ya everything seems to work ありがとうございます~

z
08-02-2004, 08:20 PM
if you have Office 2003, and have the Asian language support installed, you can do some pretty neat stuff!

no spoilers. go experiment it on your own :)

z
08-02-2004, 08:20 PM
if you have Office 2003, and have the Asian language support installed, you can do some pretty neat stuff!

no spoilers. go experiment it on your own :)

09-02-2004, 07:15 AM
minna-san konnichiwa,

I have a question for schye-sensei :) .. what does it mean if a verb has these ending? I came across a number of these forms in anime songs:

(1) -kya (eg: shinakya)
(2) -cha (eg: akiramecha)
(3) -eba (eg: sumaseba, areba)

also, what's the difference between 'hajimaru' and 'hajimeru'? both means 'to begin' but I have the feeling that they are used differently ...

doumo.

09-02-2004, 07:15 AM
minna-san konnichiwa,

I have a question for schye-sensei :) .. what does it mean if a verb has these ending? I came across a number of these forms in anime songs:

(1) -kya (eg: shinakya)
(2) -cha (eg: akiramecha)
(3) -eba (eg: sumaseba, areba)

also, what's the difference between 'hajimaru' and 'hajimeru'? both means 'to begin' but I have the feeling that they are used differently ...

doumo.

fish
09-02-2004, 12:14 PM
I may be able to tackle it. Schye may have comments though :D

1. kya
A short form of nakereba naranaiーJapanese way of saying must
like benkyou shinakereba naranai勉強しなければならないI must study
when we use it in short form, it becomes benkyou shinakya
勉強しなきゃ

2.cha
is the short form of teshimau (which means something was done ,completed)
ex; wasureteshimau  忘れてしまう
---> wasurechau, wasurechatta 忘れちゃう、忘れちゃった
means I had completely forgotten (about it)

3. eba
is the equivalent of if in English. eba form is used for suggestions which are not fixed in the future and is normally used for advice 助言

4. Japanese verbs are divided to 2 groups.自動詞 and 他動詞. One refers to the actor performing the action and the another refers to the situation only. Performing of actions normally carries the wo particle and reference to situations normally carries the ga particle

1.ドアを開けますthe actor opens the door
2.ドアが開いていますthe door was opened

3.授業を始めましたsomeone starts the lesson. could be the speaker.
4.授業が始まりましたthe lesson was started.

Notice that the actor was not stated in 1. In Japanese, it could be ommited when the speaker was obvious. You can add as well,
私がドアを開けます。
But you cannot add an actor in sentence 2 because the main actor, refers to the door. 主語はドアですから。

fish
09-02-2004, 12:14 PM
I may be able to tackle it. Schye may have comments though :D

1. kya
勉強しなきゃ

2.cha

3. eba
is the equivalent of if in English. eba form is used for suggestions which are not fixed in the future and is normally used for advice 助言

4. Japanese verbs are divided to 2 groups.自動詞 and 他動詞. One refers to the actor performing the action and the another refers to the situation only. Performing of actions normally carries the wo particle and reference to situations normally carries the ga particle

1.ドアを開けますthe actor opens the door
2.ドアが開いていますthe door was opened

3.授業を始めましたsomeone starts the lesson. could be the speaker.
4.授業が始まりましたthe lesson was started.

Notice that the actor was not stated in 1. In Japanese, it could be ommited when the speaker was obvious. You can add as well,
私がドアを開けます。
But you cannot add an actor in sentence 2 because the main actor, refers to the door. 主語はドアですから。

z
09-02-2004, 12:58 PM
waa! totemo omoshiroi.

was never taught this classification :)
thanks fish!

z
09-02-2004, 12:58 PM
waa! totemo omoshiroi.

was never taught this classification :)
thanks fish!

qedx
09-02-2004, 01:13 PM
なければならない what does that mean?

qedx
09-02-2004, 01:13 PM

09-02-2004, 02:38 PM
oh my God! You guys are like, talking tough stuff!!! 8O

ARGHHHH!!!! 8O

How to say, "the enemy of my enemy is my friend"?

Arigato! :D

09-02-2004, 02:38 PM
oh my God! You guys are like, talking tough stuff!!! 8O

ARGHHHH!!!! 8O

Arigato! :D

09-02-2004, 03:29 PM
1. kya
勉強しなきゃ

2.cha

Actually kya(きゃ) is the short form of kereba(ければ) and cya(ちゃ) is the short form of teha(ては).
For example as above:

勉強しなければならない = 勉強しなくてはいけない = 勉強しなくてはだめ
  勉強しなきゃならない   = 勉強しなくちゃいけない = 勉強しなくちゃだめ
  勉強しなきゃ         = 勉強しなくちゃ      = 勉強しなくちゃ

Japanese like to make the sentence short so sometimes they dont even finish one sentence but stop half way like the last row above.
There is another use of the cya or jya as stated by fish too in his/her second point.

死んでしまいました = 死んでしまった = 死んじゃった
食べてしまった = 食べてしまった = 食べちゃった

please notice that the jya nad cya is different for different verb according to group of the verb.

* just an extra point here:
しまいました has 2 different meaning.
1) finished /done something
2) did something by mistake (like TER in BM )
the meanig is different depends on the sentence and the situation.
ex:
1) 忘れちゃった it may have the meaning of both of the meaning or either one of them.
2) ご飯を食べちゃったよ。 I have finished all the rice! (1)
ごめん、食べちゃった。 Sory, i have eaten all of them. (1 and 2)
NOTE: cya is used when you are really close with someone OR when you want to MANJA with someone. So, dont used it to someone you are not that close to :wink:

3. eba
There are some more meanings which i dont know how to explain so i just post some examples below:

このままいけば、みんな死んじゃうよ。
If it continues like this, we will all die.

この道をまっすぐ行けば、 信号が見える。
(If you) walk straight on and you will see a traffic light.

明日天気がよければ、 散歩しましょう。
if the weather is good tomorrow, lets go for a walk.

09-02-2004, 03:29 PM
1. kya
勉強しなきゃ

2.cha

Actually kya(きゃ) is the short form of kereba(ければ) and cya(ちゃ) is the short form of teha(ては).
For example as above:

勉強しなければならない = 勉強しなくてはいけない = 勉強しなくてはだめ
  勉強しなきゃならない   = 勉強しなくちゃいけない = 勉強しなくちゃだめ
  勉強しなきゃ         = 勉強しなくちゃ      = 勉強しなくちゃ

Japanese like to make the sentence short so sometimes they dont even finish one sentence but stop half way like the last row above.
There is another use of the cya or jya as stated by fish too in his/her second point.

死んでしまいました = 死んでしまった = 死んじゃった
食べてしまった = 食べてしまった = 食べちゃった

please notice that the jya nad cya is different for different verb according to group of the verb.

* just an extra point here:
しまいました has 2 different meaning.
1) finished /done something
2) did something by mistake (like TER in BM )
the meanig is different depends on the sentence and the situation.
ex:
1) 忘れちゃった it may have the meaning of both of the meaning or either one of them.
2) ご飯を食べちゃったよ。 I have finished all the rice! (1)
ごめん、食べちゃった。 Sory, i have eaten all of them. (1 and 2)
NOTE: cya is used when you are really close with someone OR when you want to MANJA with someone. So, dont used it to someone you are not that close to :wink:

3. eba
There are some more meanings which i dont know how to explain so i just post some examples below:

このままいけば、みんな死んじゃうよ。
If it continues like this, we will all die.

この道をまっすぐ行けば、 信号が見える。
(If you) walk straight on and you will see a traffic light.

明日天気がよければ、 散歩しましょう。
if the weather is good tomorrow, lets go for a walk.

09-02-2004, 03:35 PM

it means ないとだめ or なくてはだめ
いけない here means like "tak boleh pergi" in BM. If you dont (do), then DAME(dunno how to explain) which means MUST.

わたしの敵の敵はわたしの友達です。
watashi no teki no teki wa(ha) watashi no tomodachi desu.

09-02-2004, 03:35 PM

it means ないとだめ or なくてはだめ
いけない here means like "tak boleh pergi" in BM. If you dont (do), then DAME(dunno how to explain) which means MUST.

わたしの敵の敵はわたしの友達です。
watashi no teki no teki wa(ha) watashi no tomodachi desu.

09-02-2004, 03:49 PM
thanks!

is it difficult to learn Jap? i keep forgetting what's what. Maybe coz lil practice kot..

09-02-2004, 03:49 PM
thanks!

is it difficult to learn Jap? i keep forgetting what's what. Maybe coz lil practice kot..

qedx
09-02-2004, 05:14 PM
bah zoom 300 to read all the kanjis haha

learning japanese is pretty easy (probably because got class every day) and i get university credit to do it :D

qedx
09-02-2004, 05:14 PM
bah zoom 300 to read all the kanjis haha

learning japanese is pretty easy (probably because got class every day) and i get university credit to do it :D

retroque
09-02-2004, 10:45 PM
waaa
schye sensei すごい!分かりやすいし。。。これからもよろしくね

retroque
09-02-2004, 10:45 PM
waaa
schye sensei すごい!分かりやすいし。。。これからもよろしくね

10-02-2004, 07:30 AM
holla ... sugoi!... doumo osewasama fish-sensei to schye-sensei ... muzukashii mitai n da, daijoubu ka na ...

(I'm too lazy to type in kana)

10-02-2004, 07:30 AM
holla ... sugoi!... doumo osewasama fish-sensei to schye-sensei ... muzukashii mitai n da, daijoubu ka na ...

10-02-2004, 01:57 PM

Kesimpulan?

Luke org malas..heheh :wink:

10-02-2004, 01:57 PM

Kesimpulan?

Luke org malas..heheh :wink:

10-02-2004, 02:06 PM
GRRRR ... ni cam nak carik pasal je ni ... ade yg kene ketuk ngan kamus jepon ni kang ... GRRR ..

10-02-2004, 02:06 PM
GRRRR ... ni cam nak carik pasal je ni ... ade yg kene ketuk ngan kamus jepon ni kang ... GRRR ..

10-02-2004, 04:47 PM
hahah...aiseyyy Luke...angry kaa you? jangan aa..xbesh aa canie... :P

okie laaa..sowie..sowie.. :wink:

10-02-2004, 04:47 PM
hahah...aiseyyy Luke...angry kaa you? jangan aa..xbesh aa canie... :P

okie laaa..sowie..sowie.. :wink:

fish
10-02-2004, 06:08 PM
Nice question Luke.

We were talking on transitive and intransitive verbs the other day. Sometimes, it is quite difficult to differentiate between these two verbs. But like the -te form, it requires some memorization and later on, when you are used to it, it becomes easier to use.

transitive, tadoushi 他動詞
akeru開ける
shimeru閉める
otosu落とす

intransitive, jidoushi,自動詞
aku開く
shimaru閉まる
ochiru落ちる

Sometimes, it is difficult to differentiate them, but transitive verbs normally ends with -su and intransitive verbs sometimes carries the -aru ending.

Can you see the pattern and differentiate them?

owaru 終わる, oeru 終える
hajimaru 始まる, hajimeru 始める
hanasu 離す, hanareru 離れる

These are some examples which I can think of. There are plenty of verbs out there which you can play with; differentiating them into 自動詞 and 他動詞.
Have fun!

We can have more discussion on potential forms next time.

fish
10-02-2004, 06:08 PM
Nice question Luke.

We were talking on transitive and intransitive verbs the other day. Sometimes, it is quite difficult to differentiate between these two verbs. But like the -te form, it requires some memorization and later on, when you are used to it, it becomes easier to use.

transitive, tadoushi 他動詞
akeru開ける
shimeru閉める
otosu落とす

intransitive, jidoushi,自動詞
aku開く
shimaru閉まる
ochiru落ちる

Sometimes, it is difficult to differentiate them, but transitive verbs normally ends with -su and intransitive verbs sometimes carries the -aru ending.

Can you see the pattern and differentiate them?

owaru 終わる, oeru 終える
hajimaru 始まる, hajimeru 始める
hanasu 離す, hanareru 離れる

These are some examples which I can think of. There are plenty of verbs out there which you can play with; differentiating them into 自動詞 and 他動詞.
Have fun!

We can have more discussion on potential forms next time.

11-02-2004, 02:25 PM
Kerek :
how about telling your experienced in your first Japanese lesson held yesterday? Maybe it will help some others who want to learn from the start.

11-02-2004, 02:25 PM
Kerek :
how about telling your experienced in your first Japanese lesson held yesterday? Maybe it will help some others who want to learn from the start.

11-02-2004, 03:41 PM
argh!!! :evil: sudah wrote, tp sudah hilang plak..takpe..coz of Recom, me write again..hehe

Okie..like Schye requested, I’m writing bout my first day in learning Nihongo formally :lol:

It was a small class, 25 students per class – a pretty condusive environ for language learning.

At the beginning, the sensei spoke Nihongo n nothing else 8O so we were like ii e, wakarimasen hehe…but then, he switched btw BM, English n Nihongo, so it wasn’t so muzukashi la.

we learned phrases like yes, no, understand, x understand, expressions like g morning, afternoon n evening, and the most important words of all (according to my sensei) itte kudasai! :D

It was fun laa, trying out the different sounds of the hiragan characters, which brought us to our next lesson: learning to write hiragana characters.

An easy way to practice n memorize hiragana is, get an A4 paper, fold it six times, then another five..so akan dpt 30 boxes when you buka the folds semula. Use both sides to write all the hiragana characters.
Very useful, coz can be fold n bw merata rata...you can just open it up and practice writing the characters (this was taught by my sensei)

Anyway, besh gilor le kls today...I'm not menyesaling my decision on taking up Nihongo.

to y'all recommmers out there, take up Nihongo if you can. it's real cool...

hmm..can't wait till i can understand what belldandy's saying..heheh...

11-02-2004, 03:41 PM
argh!!! :evil: sudah wrote, tp sudah hilang plak..takpe..coz of Recom, me write again..hehe

Okie..like Schye requested, I’m writing bout my first day in learning Nihongo formally :lol:

It was a small class, 25 students per class – a pretty condusive environ for language learning.

At the beginning, the sensei spoke Nihongo n nothing else 8O so we were like ii e, wakarimasen hehe…but then, he switched btw BM, English n Nihongo, so it wasn’t so muzukashi la.

we learned phrases like yes, no, understand, x understand, expressions like g morning, afternoon n evening, and the most important words of all (according to my sensei) itte kudasai! :D

It was fun laa, trying out the different sounds of the hiragan characters, which brought us to our next lesson: learning to write hiragana characters.

An easy way to practice n memorize hiragana is, get an A4 paper, fold it six times, then another five..so akan dpt 30 boxes when you buka the folds semula. Use both sides to write all the hiragana characters.
Very useful, coz can be fold n bw merata rata...you can just open it up and practice writing the characters (this was taught by my sensei)

Anyway, besh gilor le kls today...I'm not menyesaling my decision on taking up Nihongo.

to y'all recommmers out there, take up Nihongo if you can. it's real cool...

hmm..can't wait till i can understand what belldandy's saying..heheh...

qedx
12-02-2004, 06:35 AM
meh have to learn all the kana in one day? heh a bit stress inducing if you ask me hehe

here i was taught the kanas in about a month, and the rest of the semester we did some basic grammar stuff. in second sem, we learn more grammar and start to learn some kanji

qedx
12-02-2004, 06:35 AM
meh have to learn all the kana in one day? heh a bit stress inducing if you ask me hehe

here i was taught the kanas in about a month, and the rest of the semester we did some basic grammar stuff. in second sem, we learn more grammar and start to learn some kanji

z
12-02-2004, 08:51 AM
i had a week for hiragana and a couple of days for katakana. feel like kana is something you pick up along the way. can't really remember every single character unless you write everything in kana... haha...

z
12-02-2004, 08:51 AM
i had a week for hiragana and a couple of days for katakana. feel like kana is something you pick up along the way. can't really remember every single character unless you write everything in kana... haha...

12-02-2004, 10:28 AM
Yup , i used to forget katakana whenever there were holidays when i was learning Japanese in Msia :p

I forgot how to write the `RO` in katakana when i was trying to write happy birthday = baka yarou to one of my friend on a birthday card .....
as the result, i wrote バカヤrou :roll: :roll: :roll:

12-02-2004, 10:28 AM
Yup , i used to forget katakana whenever there were holidays when i was learning Japanese in Msia :p

I forgot how to write the `RO` in katakana when i was trying to write happy birthday = baka yarou to one of my friend on a birthday card .....
as the result, i wrote バカヤrou :roll: :roll: :roll:

12-02-2004, 12:03 PM
we learned how to write the hiragana charcters but bukannya kn memorise trs...just as an intro to what we're gonna learn later.

But at least, now i know what those weird looking things are...
can recognize bit bit laa..but not so terre yet..hehe...

:D :D Hmm...what's the difference btw hiragana, katakana, kanji n romaji? :?

12-02-2004, 12:03 PM
we learned how to write the hiragana charcters but bukannya kn memorise trs...just as an intro to what we're gonna learn later.

But at least, now i know what those weird looking things are...
can recognize bit bit laa..but not so terre yet..hehe...

:D :D Hmm...what's the difference btw hiragana, katakana, kanji n romaji? :?

deadmeatz
12-02-2004, 11:49 PM
need some help~
what's desu? izzit a word that u've to say when answering a question?

deadmeatz
12-02-2004, 11:49 PM
need some help~

13-02-2004, 04:21 AM
hiragana & katakana (these 2 are called kana) are syllabulary japanese character sets while kanji is ideographic japanese characters, sometimes called chinese characters ... romaji is simply the romanized japanese - japanese words written in Roman alphabet - eg: omae wa nani suru n da yo?

each character in kana charts represent an utterance (syllable) like 'ba', 'ka', 'ya', 'ro' and 'u' ... with kanji, you have to determine the meaning/idea each character represents and then choose the utterance accordingly ... each character has at least 2 common utterances but some combinations of characters form totally different utterances - e.g: combination of 'ima/kon' 今 (now) and 'nichi' 日 (day) give 'kyou' 今日 (today) ...

'desu' is a special word in japanese ... my lecturer calls it 'The Copula' .. it gives the allusion of the English word "be" (or its variances: is, am, are) ... it's used in most sentences, not only for answering questions ... 'desu' is also sometimes refered as the polite word ... just by adding/omitting 'desu' in a sentence, you switch between polite and plain form of it ...

= Statement =
kawaii desu nee. (polite)
kawaii nee. (plain)
* both have the same meaning: "Cute, isn't it."

= Question =
watashi desu ka? (polite)
watashi? (plain)
* both have the same meaning: "Me?"

= Answer =
iye, luke-chan desu yo. (polite)
iye, luke-chan yo. (plain)
* both have the same meaning: "No, [I mean] luke."

13-02-2004, 04:21 AM
hiragana & katakana (these 2 are called kana) are syllabulary japanese character sets while kanji is ideographic japanese characters, sometimes called chinese characters ... romaji is simply the romanized japanese - japanese words written in Roman alphabet - eg: omae wa nani suru n da yo?

each character in kana charts represent an utterance (syllable) like 'ba', 'ka', 'ya', 'ro' and 'u' ... with kanji, you have to determine the meaning/idea each character represents and then choose the utterance accordingly ... each character has at least 2 common utterances but some combinations of characters form totally different utterances - e.g: combination of 'ima/kon' 今 (now) and 'nichi' 日 (day) give 'kyou' 今日 (today) ...

'desu' is a special word in japanese ... my lecturer calls it 'The Copula' .. it gives the allusion of the English word "be" (or its variances: is, am, are) ... it's used in most sentences, not only for answering questions ... 'desu' is also sometimes refered as the polite word ... just by adding/omitting 'desu' in a sentence, you switch between polite and plain form of it ...

= Statement =
kawaii desu nee. (polite)
kawaii nee. (plain)
* both have the same meaning: "Cute, isn't it."

= Question =
watashi desu ka? (polite)
watashi? (plain)
* both have the same meaning: "Me?"

= Answer =

z
13-02-2004, 06:25 AM
need some help~

following along the lines of Luke, usually you'll answer politely, and hence the using of desu.

for example, your teacher might ask: namae wa(ha)? instead of the long (polite) form: namae wa nandesu ka.

and you're nonetheless expected to answer: OO desu. instead of just OO.

z
13-02-2004, 06:25 AM
need some help~

following along the lines of Luke, usually you'll answer politely, and hence the using of desu.

for example, your teacher might ask: namae wa(ha)? instead of the long (polite) form: namae wa nandesu ka.

and you're nonetheless expected to answer: OO desu. instead of just OO.

13-02-2004, 08:41 AM
hait, wakarimas!

arghhh..lmbtnye kls Jap!!! Next Tuesday bah!!! can't wait...dododod.... :?

13-02-2004, 08:41 AM
hait, wakarimas!

arghhh..lmbtnye kls Jap!!! Next Tuesday bah!!! can't wait...dododod.... :?

13-02-2004, 08:49 AM
hahaha kelas jepun aku hari2 ade ... all 5 days of classes .. on top of that ges-sui-kin (Mon-Wed-Fri) got extra one hour of lecture each ... so in total 8 hours of japanese per week :lol: :lol:

13-02-2004, 08:49 AM
hahaha kelas jepun aku hari2 ade ... all 5 days of classes .. on top of that ges-sui-kin (Mon-Wed-Fri) got extra one hour of lecture each ... so in total 8 hours of japanese per week :lol: :lol:

13-02-2004, 08:51 AM
arghhh!!!jahat jahat!!! :evil: :evil:

13-02-2004, 08:51 AM
arghhh!!!jahat jahat!!! :evil: :evil:

13-02-2004, 09:00 AM
ii ja nai ka? nihongo o yoku benkyou suru n da kara ... waruku nai yo!

13-02-2004, 09:00 AM
ii ja nai ka? nihongo o yoku benkyou suru n da kara ... waruku nai yo!

13-02-2004, 10:29 AM
IMHO, some ppl are being really mean (eg Luke) :twisted:
Thank you :wink: :P

13-02-2004, 10:29 AM
IMHO, some ppl are being really mean (eg Luke) :twisted:
Thank you :wink: :P

13-02-2004, 10:47 AM
meanie meanie who else if not me, the most meanie is also me ...

13-02-2004, 10:47 AM
meanie meanie who else if not me, the most meanie is also me ...

13-02-2004, 11:52 AM
hek elleh....luke bad boy... :P

13-02-2004, 11:52 AM
hek elleh....luke bad boy... :P

qedx
13-02-2004, 11:59 AM
go flirt some where else :P

qedx
13-02-2004, 11:59 AM
go flirt some where else :P

13-02-2004, 12:47 PM
each character has at least 2 common utterances but some combinations of characters form totally different utterances - e.g: combination of 'ima/kon' 今 (now) and 'nichi' 日 (day) give 'kyou' 今日 (today) ...

= Answer =

- we dont use cyan in polite form :P
- the yomikata(pronunciation of kanji) depends on where the words come from.There are two type of pattern called kun-tpmi and on-yomi. one is using the ponunciation from the kanji which came from China which is quite similiar with the pronuncation of Mandarin and the other one is the original Japanese word which they uses kanji which has the same meaning with the original words(usually will have totally different pronunciation with mandarin). katakan and hiragana are also came from Kanji.
i have posted in once in one of the recom thread but i cant find it back. Maybe someone who still rememebr which thread it was in can help me to find it out.

13-02-2004, 12:47 PM
each character has at least 2 common utterances but some combinations of characters form totally different utterances - e.g: combination of 'ima/kon' 今 (now) and 'nichi' 日 (day) give 'kyou' 今日 (today) ...

= Answer =

- we dont use cyan in polite form :P
- the yomikata(pronunciation of kanji) depends on where the words come from.There are two type of pattern called kun-tpmi and on-yomi. one is using the ponunciation from the kanji which came from China which is quite similiar with the pronuncation of Mandarin and the other one is the original Japanese word which they uses kanji which has the same meaning with the original words(usually will have totally different pronunciation with mandarin). katakan and hiragana are also came from Kanji.
i have posted in once in one of the recom thread but i cant find it back. Maybe someone who still rememebr which thread it was in can help me to find it out.

deadmeatz
13-02-2004, 01:07 PM
tq for the replies~ really appreciate it!
but then, in what ways polite and plain are differ? izzit when u're writting essays? or when u have a conversation wif someone that are older than u. ie sensei, parents.
izzit a normal thingy when u have a polite conversation wif ur frens. ie classmate

deadmeatz
13-02-2004, 01:07 PM
tq for the replies~ really appreciate it!
but then, in what ways polite and plain are differ? izzit when u're writting essays? or when u have a conversation wif someone that are older than u. ie sensei, parents.
izzit a normal thingy when u have a polite conversation wif ur frens. ie classmate

retroque
13-02-2004, 05:16 PM
i think the term 'polite' and 'plain' refers to 'formal' and 'informal' form.

when talking to someone older,more respectable (such as sensei,gov officials) ,doing business or maybe someone you"ve just met,you'll have to use the polite form.this also applies to essays .

(laboratory reports or assignments also are written in the polite form,but with a slight change in certain words)

the plain form is mainly used between friends,families.It actually shows how close you are to the person.Thats why the polite form is used when talking to a person you've never met before.
In simple words...plain form is 'bahasa pasar...rojak..whuteverlah..hehe.

schye先生はどう思う?

retroque
13-02-2004, 05:16 PM
i think the term 'polite' and 'plain' refers to 'formal' and 'informal' form.

when talking to someone older,more respectable (such as sensei,gov officials) ,doing business or maybe someone you"ve just met,you'll have to use the polite form.this also applies to essays .

(laboratory reports or assignments also are written in the polite form,but with a slight change in certain words)

the plain form is mainly used between friends,families.It actually shows how close you are to the person.Thats why the polite form is used when talking to a person you've never met before.
In simple words...plain form is 'bahasa pasar...rojak..whuteverlah..hehe.

schye先生はどう思う?

13-02-2004, 10:59 PM
schye先生はどう思う?
Dont call me sensei lol :P
i am still learning too ...

Err...
actually Japanese divided into more than jsut formal and informal ...
there are kenjyougo that to lower youself
sonkei go that when you are talking with someone you really respect or in business. ALL the letters are in this form except those to your really close friends(it uses mase-desu form)
both of the above are alwasy being used together.

the come the teineigo (the masu-desu form) which is being used in normal essays which is in a form of informal and used when we are talking to someone who we are not that close with of with sensei that we are quite close to.

futuutai - the normal form which is being used in Reports, essays or articles. It is being used in normal conversation with close fren as retroque stated above as informal. Of course we dont use bahasa pasar in reports ;) but they were in the same group although report actually have another way of writing it which is using normal form BUT in a formal way....

13-02-2004, 10:59 PM
schye先生はどう思う?
Dont call me sensei lol :P
i am still learning too ...

Err...
actually Japanese divided into more than jsut formal and informal ...
there are kenjyougo that to lower youself
sonkei go that when you are talking with someone you really respect or in business. ALL the letters are in this form except those to your really close friends(it uses mase-desu form)
both of the above are alwasy being used together.

the come the teineigo (the masu-desu form) which is being used in normal essays which is in a form of informal and used when we are talking to someone who we are not that close with of with sensei that we are quite close to.

futuutai - the normal form which is being used in Reports, essays or articles. It is being used in normal conversation with close fren as retroque stated above as informal. Of course we dont use bahasa pasar in reports ;) but they were in the same group although report actually have another way of writing it which is using normal form BUT in a formal way....

qedx
14-02-2004, 04:02 AM
see. easy to learn, hard to master

qedx
14-02-2004, 04:02 AM
see. easy to learn, hard to master

14-02-2004, 07:30 AM
hey guys,

i am always confused when to use the particle "ga".

For eg in this sentence,

だから、留学 を決まった時は、本当にうれしかった

I use the particle "o" but the answer turns out to be "ga". I am curious what's wrong with that? Will the meaning of the sentence be different?

14-02-2004, 07:30 AM
hey guys,

For eg in this sentence,

だから、留学 を決まった時は、本当にうれしかった

I use the particle "o" but the answer turns out to be "ga". I am curious what's wrong with that? Will the meaning of the sentence be different?

qedx
14-02-2004, 07:45 AM
the kanji being unfamiliar to me i cant read your example, heh. but from my understanding "A wo verb" means a verb is happening A. "A ga verb" means A is doing the verb.

qedx
14-02-2004, 07:45 AM
the kanji being unfamiliar to me i cant read your example, heh. but from my understanding "A wo verb" means a verb is happening A. "A ga verb" means A is doing the verb.

14-02-2004, 09:04 AM
the kanji being unfamiliar to me i cant read your example
Wow .. your sentence sounds like japanese sentence .. sugoi na ... :D :D :D ..

14-02-2004, 09:04 AM
the kanji being unfamiliar to me i cant read your example
Wow .. your sentence sounds like japanese sentence .. sugoi na ... :D :D :D ..

qedx
14-02-2004, 03:23 PM
thank you. to learn this, a lot of effort is needed. you too, with some effort, will be able to learn.

qedx
14-02-2004, 03:23 PM
thank you. to learn this, a lot of effort is needed. you too, with some effort, will be able to learn.

14-02-2004, 05:50 PM
hey guys,

For eg in this sentence,

だから、留学 を決まった時は、本当にうれしかった

Usually GA will be followed by 自動詞(jidoushi) while WO will be followed by 他動詞(tadoushi).

So, the sentence should be :
留学が決まったとき、本当にうれしかった。

or

留学することを決めた。
which in ththe 2nd case you decide it yourself that you want to study abroad.

14-02-2004, 05:50 PM
hey guys,

For eg in this sentence,

だから、留学 を決まった時は、本当にうれしかった

Usually GA will be followed by 自動詞(jidoushi) while WO will be followed by 他動詞(tadoushi).

So, the sentence should be :
留学が決まったとき、本当にうれしかった。

or

留学することを決めた。
which in ththe 2nd case you decide it yourself that you want to study abroad.

15-02-2004, 03:35 AM
particles in Japanese are tough to master ... "wa", "o" and "ga" are a breeze but when it comes to "no", "ni", "de", "kara" etc then you need some good judgment ... coz each of them can have different uses and connotations based on the contextual meaning ...

for example:
"chairo no no wa watashi no desu." = the brown one is mine..

the first "no" connects the adjective nominal "chairo" to the second "no", which means "one" (not one as in numeral value but as one in English equivalent of "that one") ... the last "no" shows possession ...

15-02-2004, 03:35 AM
particles in Japanese are tough to master ... "wa", "o" and "ga" are a breeze but when it comes to "no", "ni", "de", "kara" etc then you need some good judgment ... coz each of them can have different uses and connotations based on the contextual meaning ...

for example:
"chairo no no wa watashi no desu." = the brown one is mine..

the first "no" connects the adjective nominal "chairo" to the second "no", which means "one" (not one as in numeral value but as one in English equivalent of "that one") ... the last "no" shows possession ...

angie
15-02-2004, 11:16 AM
hai! just join in! どうぞ 宜しくお願いします。

angie
15-02-2004, 11:16 AM
hai! just join in! どうぞ 宜しくお願いします。

15-02-2004, 12:49 PM
アニメと日本語のSIGにようこそ angie-さん ... whoaaa you are in Japan! you can be our sensei then :) ... こちらこそ、 宜しくお願いします。

15-02-2004, 12:49 PM
アニメと日本語のSIGにようこそ angie-さん ... whoaaa you are in Japan! you can be our sensei then :) ... こちらこそ、 宜しくお願いします。

angie
15-02-2004, 02:09 PM
日本に勉強しているだけで、先生に言われるのはちょっと大げさじゃない?thanx! but i'm still working on it! please feel free to correct me if i made any mistakes! ne? hai...and here with me another 単語 list for the quiz tomorrow!

angie
15-02-2004, 02:09 PM
日本に勉強しているだけで、先生に言われるのはちょっと大げさじゃない?thanx! but i'm still working on it! please feel free to correct me if i made any mistakes! ne? hai...and here with me another 単語 list for the quiz tomorrow!

qedx
15-02-2004, 04:43 PM
勉強している and 言われる. the reading is?

qedx
15-02-2004, 04:43 PM
勉強している and 言われる. the reading is?

angie
15-02-2004, 09:08 PM
勉強している
benkyou している - a continuous form of 'benkyousuru'

言われる
i われる - a passive form of 'yu', means 'to be called'

angie
15-02-2004, 09:08 PM
勉強している
benkyou している - a continuous form of 'benkyousuru'

言われる
i われる - a passive form of 'yu', means 'to be called'

16-02-2004, 11:19 AM
excuse me , can anyone explain what benkyou means?
Thanks! :P

16-02-2004, 11:19 AM
excuse me , can anyone explain what benkyou means?
Thanks! :P

16-02-2004, 11:38 AM
it means study

16-02-2004, 11:38 AM
it means study

16-02-2004, 12:05 PM

Iu = speak
iwareru = being spoken (in this case its being called but usually with the sense of unhappy/-ve image if we use the passive form)

from the sentence above,
先生に言われる = being called BY sensei
so to mean being called a sensei should be
先生と言われる

Other example of using 言われる(iwareru)

こういうことをやると、馬鹿(ばか)といわれるのは当然だろう。
of course you will being called an idiot if you do this kind of (stupid)things. (-ve)

彼はよく天才といわれている。
he is alwasy being called a genius (+ve)

:idea: 先生に言われた。
being scolded by sensei.
(usually when we use iwareru , it has -ve meanig in it )

Kerek:
-benkyou(noun)
- benkyousuru (verb)
benkyou means studies
benkyousuru = study
kagaku no benkyou wo suru = do the study of chemistry = study chemistry

16-02-2004, 12:05 PM

Iu = speak
iwareru = being spoken (in this case its being called but usually with the sense of unhappy/-ve image if we use the passive form)

from the sentence above,
先生に言われる = being called BY sensei
so to mean being called a sensei should be
先生と言われる

Other example of using 言われる(iwareru)

こういうことをやると、馬鹿(ばか)といわれるのは当然だろう。
of course you will being called an idiot if you do this kind of (stupid)things. (-ve)

彼はよく天才といわれている。
he is alwasy being called a genius (+ve)

:idea: 先生に言われた。
being scolded by sensei.
(usually when we use iwareru , it has -ve meanig in it )

Kerek:
-benkyou(noun)
- benkyousuru (verb)
benkyou means studies
benkyousuru = study
kagaku no benkyou wo suru = do the study of chemistry = study chemistry

16-02-2004, 12:09 PM
so if you wanna say "let's study japanese" how? :?:

16-02-2004, 12:09 PM
so if you wanna say "let's study japanese" how? :?:

16-02-2004, 12:30 PM
let's study/learn Japanese! = nihongo wo benkyou shimasyou!

16-02-2004, 12:30 PM

16-02-2004, 02:46 PM
SHimasyou means JOM!!haha
It can be used in a lot of ways.

shinimasyou !
Lets die together!

gohan wo tabeni ikimasyou!
lets go for a meal!

ikimasyou!
JOM!!

16-02-2004, 02:46 PM
SHimasyou means JOM!!haha
It can be used in a lot of ways.

shinimasyou !
Lets die together!

gohan wo tabeni ikimasyou!
lets go for a meal!

ikimasyou!
JOM!!

16-02-2004, 03:08 PM
wow....kagum siot..

anyway, how mnay other ways can we use to express how we feel on eating? hehe... 8)

16-02-2004, 03:08 PM
wow....kagum siot..

anyway, how mnay other ways can we use to express how we feel on eating? hehe... 8)

17-02-2004, 02:54 PM
wow....kagum siot..

You mean the adjectives ?

delicious - oishii, umai(for guys ONLY)
not delicious - mazui

and there are tons of others if you want to say the food is sticky etc...

17-02-2004, 02:54 PM
wow....kagum siot..

You mean the adjectives ?

not delicious - mazui

and there are tons of others if you want to say the food is sticky etc...

qedx
17-02-2004, 03:01 PM
adjectives for food... now thats what I call specialization

qedx
17-02-2004, 03:01 PM
adjectives for food... now thats what I call specialization

17-02-2004, 09:26 PM
while we are at the topic of food, what are the nihongo equivalents of tastes (sweet, salty, bitter, hot, bland etc etc) ? :wink: :wink:

also, how do we know a nominal word is a /na/ nominal or a /no/ nominal? like if it's descriptive then it's a /na/ nominal or something like that?

17-02-2004, 09:26 PM
while we are at the topic of food, what are the nihongo equivalents of tastes (sweet, salty, bitter, hot, bland etc etc) ? :wink: :wink:

also, how do we know a nominal word is a /na/ nominal or a /no/ nominal? like if it's descriptive then it's a /na/ nominal or something like that?

18-02-2004, 08:50 AM
not delicious - mazui

Schye, you mean wanna say "That's one 'umai' guy" or umai's for guys to use only? :D :D

18-02-2004, 08:50 AM
not delicious - mazui

Schye, you mean wanna say "That's one 'umai' guy" or umai's for guys to use only? :D :D

angie
18-02-2004, 10:27 AM
thanks schye! i'm always confused by all those particles.
mmm...about food and taste...

let's make 'coffee' as the object! i love coffee!!!
sweet coffee
- amai kouhii
salty coffee :?
- shioppoi kouhii or shiokarai kouhii
sour coffee :?
- suppai kouhii
bitter coffee :D
- nigai kouhii
hot coffee
- atsui kouhii
cold coffee
- tsumetai kouhii
lukewarm coffee
- nurui kouhii
bland coffee
- usuaji no kouhii
spicy coffee :?
- karai kouhii
(be careful with this one, it can means 'salty' too.
once, i went to this restaurant and asked the waiter to suggest something that is 'chou karai' (super spicy), and haha...the thing is that is super salty! i didn't mean to be rude but i actually spit that out! siao oh! i want something which is KARAI not SHIOKARAI!!!)

angie
18-02-2004, 10:27 AM
thanks schye! i'm always confused by all those particles.
mmm...about food and taste...

let's make 'coffee' as the object! i love coffee!!!
sweet coffee
- amai kouhii
salty coffee :?
- shioppoi kouhii or shiokarai kouhii
sour coffee :?
- suppai kouhii
bitter coffee :D
- nigai kouhii
hot coffee
- atsui kouhii
cold coffee
- tsumetai kouhii
lukewarm coffee
- nurui kouhii
bland coffee
- usuaji no kouhii
spicy coffee :?
- karai kouhii
(be careful with this one, it can means 'salty' too.
once, i went to this restaurant and asked the waiter to suggest something that is 'chou karai' (super spicy), and haha...the thing is that is super salty! i didn't mean to be rude but i actually spit that out! siao oh! i want something which is KARAI not SHIOKARAI!!!)

aida_ikmal
18-02-2004, 02:22 PM
Konnichiwa.. Watashiwa Aida desu.. Doozo youroshiko..

aida_ikmal
18-02-2004, 02:22 PM
Konnichiwa.. Watashiwa Aida desu.. Doozo youroshiko..

fish
18-02-2004, 03:22 PM
Hi! Welcome to the forum Aida. Are you learning Japanese now?

Umai is only used by guys. Budakkerek, you can Maiuuuuu. :mrgreen:

fish
18-02-2004, 03:22 PM
Hi! Welcome to the forum Aida. Are you learning Japanese now?

Umai is only used by guys. Budakkerek, you can Maiuuuuu. :mrgreen:

qedx
18-02-2004, 03:56 PM
lol angie. he probably misheard the chou hahaha how salty was it exactly? and isnt that bad for you?

qedx
18-02-2004, 03:56 PM
lol angie. he probably misheard the chou hahaha how salty was it exactly? and isnt that bad for you?

18-02-2004, 04:22 PM
by the way,

Usually we dont use
atsui kohii as hot coffee unless you found that it is too hot.
ex: atsui ne kono kohii.

Usually we say
HOTTO kohii (hotto from HOT in english :P)
or atatakai kohii :)

Welcome aida...
are you the Aida from nagaoka technical university or?!

18-02-2004, 04:22 PM
by the way,

Usually we dont use
atsui kohii as hot coffee unless you found that it is too hot.
ex: atsui ne kono kohii.

Usually we say
HOTTO kohii (hotto from HOT in english :P)
or atatakai kohii :)

Welcome aida...
are you the Aida from nagaoka technical university or?!

fish
18-02-2004, 07:58 PM
寒いときはホットコーヒーが飲みたいなー。
でも今日はもいっぱい飲んで寝られなくなった。
何のコーヒーが一番好きですか。
私はやっぱりカフェオレが一番気になるわ。

fish
18-02-2004, 07:58 PM
寒いときはホットコーヒーが飲みたいなー。
でも今日はもいっぱい飲んで寝られなくなった。
何のコーヒーが一番好きですか。
私はやっぱりカフェオレが一番気になるわ。

qedx
18-02-2004, 08:03 PM
寒い and this 気, reading please

qedx
18-02-2004, 08:03 PM
寒い and this 気, reading please

fish
18-02-2004, 08:16 PM
samui寒い

ki気

fish
18-02-2004, 08:16 PM
samui寒い

ki気

aida_ikmal
19-02-2004, 10:41 AM
arigato gozaimas, everyone..
o genki desuka?

aida_ikmal
19-02-2004, 10:41 AM
arigato gozaimas, everyone..
o genki desuka?

19-02-2004, 01:18 PM
寒いときはホットコーヒーが飲みたいなー。
でも今日はもいっぱい飲んで寝られなくなった。
何のコーヒーが一番好きですか。
私はやっぱりカフェオレが一番気になるわ。

寒いときにはホットコーヒーが飲みたいなー。
でも今日はもいっぱい飲んでしまって,寝られなくなった。
何のコーヒーが一番好きですか。
私はやっぱりカフェオレが一番気に入っている。

:P as usual... correcting some mistakes...hope you wont mind it...

I prefer cappucino or columbia ...

19-02-2004, 01:18 PM
寒いときはホットコーヒーが飲みたいなー。
でも今日はもいっぱい飲んで寝られなくなった。
何のコーヒーが一番好きですか。
私はやっぱりカフェオレが一番気になるわ。

寒いときにはホットコーヒーが飲みたいなー。
でも今日はもいっぱい飲んでしまって,寝られなくなった。
何のコーヒーが一番好きですか。
私はやっぱりカフェオレが一番気に入っている。

:P as usual... correcting some mistakes...hope you wont mind it...

I prefer cappucino or columbia ...

angie
19-02-2004, 07:42 PM
あたしね、モカが大好きわよ。

angie
19-02-2004, 07:42 PM
あたしね、モカが大好きわよ。

retroque
19-02-2004, 09:11 PM
寒いなあ
何かを飲みたい
そんなとき

カフェオレあったら
ほっとするかも :lol:

retroque
19-02-2004, 09:11 PM
寒いなあ
何かを飲みたい
そんなとき

カフェオレあったら
ほっとするかも :lol:

fish
20-02-2004, 05:00 PM
ark! Guru Besar Schye. takutle.

kibishiiiiii

fish
20-02-2004, 05:00 PM
ark! Guru Besar Schye. takutle.

kibishiiiiii

20-02-2004, 08:36 PM
Well, this is nihongo corner :) and i think we could learn from each other here better than make mistakes in front of others or at some important situations :wink:

But then again,
気になる and 気に入る are having totally different meanings so i just TERcorrect the mistake.
If you mind it, then maybe i should correct the mistakes by sending private messeges next time .

20-02-2004, 08:36 PM
Well, this is nihongo corner :) and i think we could learn from each other here better than make mistakes in front of others or at some important situations :wink:

But then again,
気になる and 気に入る are having totally different meanings so i just TERcorrect the mistake.
If you mind it, then maybe i should correct the mistakes by sending private messeges next time .

20-02-2004, 10:01 PM
schye and others who currently studying in japan, do u guys mind sharing the japs using by the young people? is it called "wakamono eigo"?

for eg, i know instead of saying "starbucks ni kohi o nomi ni iku", they just simply say "starbaru"

i dun think we will be able to learn this stufff in class. next time if go japan, at least know what's going on among young people like us, heheh...

20-02-2004, 10:01 PM
schye and others who currently studying in japan, do u guys mind sharing the japs using by the young people? is it called "wakamono eigo"?

for eg, i know instead of saying "starbucks ni kohi o nomi ni iku", they just simply say "starbaru"

i dun think we will be able to learn this stufff in class. next time if go japan, at least know what's going on among young people like us, heheh...

20-02-2004, 10:43 PM
Well, actually it is like waht we called inner group language usually. It may differs from place to place and in fact sometimes i dont know what they are talking about too :oops:

However here are some common ones.

Happy New year!
明けましておめでとうございます。
akemashite omedetou gozaimasu.
= ake ome

今年も宜しくお願いします。(some one please translate this :? )
kotoshimo yoroshiku onegaishimasu.
= koto yoro

combined both of above it becomes "akeome, kotoyoro".
This is i think the most common one and in fact the only one that pop out in my minds for the moment cos some are too lousy or just unappropriate 8)
However Japanese like to keep the words short.

personal computer
パーソナル コンピュータ = パソコン
pasonaru konpyuta = pasokon

convenience store
コンビニエンス ストア = コンビニ
konbiniensu sutoa = konnbini

there are more such as OL, OB, OG, makku(Mc Donalds) etc. In fact, they are having a tv programme named あたらすい日本語(あたらしい日本語)which introduce New Japanese language everyweeks. However, i still prefer formal or better to say errr, normal language that is understood by most of the people.

20-02-2004, 10:43 PM
Well, actually it is like waht we called inner group language usually. It may differs from place to place and in fact sometimes i dont know what they are talking about too :oops:

However here are some common ones.

Happy New year!
明けましておめでとうございます。
akemashite omedetou gozaimasu.
= ake ome

今年も宜しくお願いします。(some one please translate this :? )
kotoshimo yoroshiku onegaishimasu.
= koto yoro

combined both of above it becomes "akeome, kotoyoro".
This is i think the most common one and in fact the only one that pop out in my minds for the moment cos some are too lousy or just unappropriate 8)
However Japanese like to keep the words short.

personal computer
パーソナル コンピュータ = パソコン
pasonaru konpyuta = pasokon

convenience store
コンビニエンス ストア = コンビニ
konbiniensu sutoa = konnbini

there are more such as OL, OB, OG, makku(Mc Donalds) etc. In fact, they are having a tv programme named あたらすい日本語(あたらしい日本語)which introduce New Japanese language everyweeks. However, i still prefer formal or better to say errr, normal language that is understood by most of the people.

retroque
21-02-2004, 02:26 AM
ello there

若者の言葉だったら分かるよ.

here's a couple of examples.just as schye mentioned .."It may differs from place to place ".if you go to kampung areas...there's so much slang and words their using..just like slang negeri sembilan ..or kedah.people from cities of course use phrases that are much more easier to understand.

>as some or most of you would know that とても=TOTEMO means "Very".but this can be replaced by several other words to make it look informal such as examples given below.

1 .とても うれしい= totemo ureshii

but pple especially among friends and young people use

めっちゃ うれしい。=meccha ureshii.

meaning "(i am) verry happy".u dont have to say "watashi wa"..which in this case means "i am" in front of it as it has already been understood.

2. とても楽しい=totemo tanoshii

can be replaced by

すげえー楽しい=sugee tanoshii. (meaning "very exciting..fun')

>as for people from tokyo..it's cool to add さ=sa at the end of a sentence or a word such as:

明日さ。。新宿行くからさあ。 =ashita sa shinjuku iku kara saa.

(tomorrow i'm going to shinjuku)

> english words that they use normally is

ドン マイン=dont mind.
ケス バイ ケス=case by case
ナウ=now...but it actually means "modern" if im not wrong

p/s:please feel free to correct me.
p/s2:starbucks?the nearest is 2 hours frm here...huarghh

retroque
21-02-2004, 02:26 AM
ello there

若者の言葉だったら分かるよ.

here's a couple of examples.just as schye mentioned .."It may differs from place to place ".if you go to kampung areas...there's so much slang and words their using..just like slang negeri sembilan ..or kedah.people from cities of course use phrases that are much more easier to understand.

>as some or most of you would know that とても=TOTEMO means "Very".but this can be replaced by several other words to make it look informal such as examples given below.

1 .とても うれしい= totemo ureshii

but pple especially among friends and young people use

めっちゃ うれしい。=meccha ureshii.

meaning "(i am) verry happy".u dont have to say "watashi wa"..which in this case means "i am" in front of it as it has already been understood.

2. とても楽しい=totemo tanoshii

can be replaced by

すげえー楽しい=sugee tanoshii. (meaning "very exciting..fun')

>as for people from tokyo..it's cool to add さ=sa at the end of a sentence or a word such as:

明日さ。。新宿行くからさあ。 =ashita sa shinjuku iku kara saa.

(tomorrow i'm going to shinjuku)

ドン マイン=dont mind.
ケス バイ ケス=case by case

p/s:please feel free to correct me.
p/s2:starbucks?the nearest is 2 hours frm here...huarghh

21-02-2004, 12:02 PM
hello...can anyone gimme any tips on how to remember all the hiragana characters? thank you! :wink:

21-02-2004, 12:02 PM
hello...can anyone gimme any tips on how to remember all the hiragana characters? thank you! :wink:

21-02-2004, 01:02 PM
rensyuu wo shireba, sugu oboeru yo!

= if you practice you'll memorize it!

21-02-2004, 01:02 PM
rensyuu wo shireba, sugu oboeru yo!

= if you practice you'll memorize it!

fish
21-02-2004, 03:40 PM
SCHYEさん、

冗談だけわよ。
気にしないで下さい。

ちょっと、ルーク(LUKE)さん、

練習しればじゃなくて、
練習すればの方が正しいよ

fish
21-02-2004, 03:40 PM
SCHYEさん、

冗談だけわよ。
気にしないで下さい。

ちょっと、ルーク(LUKE)さん、

練習しればじゃなくて、
練習すればの方が正しいよ

qedx
21-02-2004, 08:18 PM
ahhh kanji :P it'd be great if you guys put the reading beside the kanjis you know :P

qedx
21-02-2004, 08:18 PM
ahhh kanji :P it'd be great if you guys put the reading beside the kanjis you know :P

22-02-2004, 03:23 PM
すれば?分った。どうもお世話さま。
sureba? wakatta. doumo osewasama.

えと。。。漢字はあまり分らない。ロマジを使っていい?
eto ... kanji wa amari wakaranai. romaji wo tsukatte ii?

22-02-2004, 03:23 PM
すれば?分った。どうもお世話さま。
sureba? wakatta. doumo osewasama.

えと。。。漢字はあまり分らない。ロマジを使っていい?
eto ... kanji wa amari wakaranai. romaji wo tsukatte ii?

23-02-2004, 08:34 AM

The latest trend is using CYOU(超) - cyou ureshii(超うれしい)
Cyou means SUPER .
Cyoujin means Superman :P
You can use CYOU + any other adjectives too.

ドン マイン=dont mind.
ケス バイ ケス=case by case

I think you mean ナウイ here which means modern+new+up to date. However this word itself already "outdated" :P It was being used only by the generation who was around 28 years old or above now. So, you friend might be laughing at you if you use it now.

Somemore:

気持ち悪い = きもい
kimochi warui = kimoi
- わっ?きもい。
wak... kimochi warui
Wah, you really GELI laaa!
- その先生まじきもい。
 sono sensei maji kimoi - MAJI here means really which the original meaning is Serious.
The teacher is really making me (rasa meluat)

There are more such as うぜぇ、まじ etc....again can figure out anymore for the time being :P However i really cant find any with a good meaning ... So, GUNAlah Bahasa Baku!!!

23-02-2004, 08:34 AM

The latest trend is using CYOU(超) - cyou ureshii(超うれしい)
Cyou means SUPER .
Cyoujin means Superman :P
You can use CYOU + any other adjectives too.

ドン マイン=dont mind.
ケス バイ ケス=case by case

I think you mean ナウイ here which means modern+new+up to date. However this word itself already "outdated" :P It was being used only by the generation who was around 28 years old or above now. So, you friend might be laughing at you if you use it now.

Somemore:

気持ち悪い = きもい
kimochi warui = kimoi
- わっ?きもい。
wak... kimochi warui
Wah, you really GELI laaa!
- その先生まじきもい。
 sono sensei maji kimoi - MAJI here means really which the original meaning is Serious.
The teacher is really making me (rasa meluat)

There are more such as うぜぇ、まじ etc....again can figure out anymore for the time being :P However i really cant find any with a good meaning ... So, GUNAlah Bahasa Baku!!!

fish
23-02-2004, 11:15 AM
SCHYEさん、

冗談だけわよ。
気にしないで下さい。

ちょっと、ルーク(LUKE)さん、

練習しればじゃなくて、
練習すればの方が正しいよ

冗談だけわよ。
Jyoudan dake wa yo.
It is only a joke
気にしないで下さい。
Ki ni shi nai de kudasai.
Please do not take it seriously

ちょっと、ルーク(LUKE)さん、

練習しればじゃなくて、
Ren shuu shi re ba jya na ku te
練習すればの方が正しいよ
Ren shuu sureba no hou ga tadashii yo

fish
23-02-2004, 11:15 AM
SCHYEさん、

冗談だけわよ。
気にしないで下さい。

ちょっと、ルーク(LUKE)さん、

練習しればじゃなくて、
練習すればの方が正しいよ

冗談だけわよ。
Jyoudan dake wa yo.
It is only a joke
気にしないで下さい。
Ki ni shi nai de kudasai.
Please do not take it seriously

ちょっと、ルーク(LUKE)さん、

練習しればじゃなくて、
Ren shuu shi re ba jya na ku te
練習すればの方が正しいよ
Ren shuu sureba no hou ga tadashii yo

24-02-2004, 06:52 AM
what's the difference between the IF using "-reba" and the one using "nara"?

<sentence X> nara <sentence Y>
<sentence X>-reba <sentence Y>

24-02-2004, 06:52 AM

24-02-2004, 06:55 AM
yeah i have that question as well...thanks luke for bringing it up

i asked my sensei and she said sometime even the native jap themselves confuse about that...

anyone can give some clarification?

24-02-2004, 06:55 AM
yeah i have that question as well...thanks luke for bringing it up

i asked my sensei and she said sometime even the native jap themselves confuse about that...

anyone can give some clarification?

24-02-2004, 10:30 AM
Luke, meaning hv to write again n again n again?

24-02-2004, 10:30 AM
Luke, meaning hv to write again n again n again?

24-02-2004, 10:32 AM

Well, although both mean "IF" in English but the usage is different.
As far as i know,

--------------------------------------------------------------------------
もしハイキングへいくなら、レインコートを用意した方がいい。
moshi haikingu he iku nara, reinko-to wo youyi shita hou ga ii yo.
=If you are going to hiking, you better prepare a rain coat (in case it rains)
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
X nara Y.
NARA is used more when we are advising someone.
Usually Y will comes before X.

もしハイキングへ行けば、頂上からきれいな景色が見える。
moshi haikingu he ikeba, cyoujyou kara kireina keshiki ga mieru.
= If you go hiking, you may see beautiful scenaries from top of the mountain.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
X - reba Y
-REBA is used more for the possibility of things that may happen IF we do something.
Usually Y will becomes as the consequence of X.

24-02-2004, 10:32 AM

Well, although both mean "IF" in English but the usage is different.
As far as i know,

もしハイキングへいくなら、レインコートを用意した方がいい。
moshi haikingu he iku nara, reinko-to wo youyi shita hou ga ii yo.
=If you are going to hiking, you better prepare a rain coat (in case it rains)
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
X nara Y.
NARA is used more when we are advising someone.
Usually Y will comes before X.

moshi haikingu he ikeba, cyoujyou kara kireina keshiki ga mieru.
= If you go hiking, you may see beautiful scenaries from top of the mountain.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
X - reba Y
-REBA is used more for the possibility of things that may happen IF we do something.
Usually Y will becomes as the consequence of X.

fish
24-02-2004, 02:38 PM
Note :D

The ba form is used for presumption.仮定
When you are joining 2 sentences(X and Y) together, they form 2 parts; controllable (+) and uncontrollable (-). You can have (-) & (-), (-) & (+) and also (+) & (-). But you can never have (+) & (+) forms together when you are using -ba form. Lets take Schye s example.

You can control going to hike but you cannot control being able to see beautiful scenaries from the mountain top (sometimes, it may rain, etc). Therefore, the verb ends with mieru instead of miru.

Thus, the sentence is in (+) & (-) form.

Another example,

Moshi takakereba, kaitakunai.
もし高ければ、買いたくない。
I would not buy it if it is expensive.
You can control the buying action but you cannot control the price of the goods.

Thus, the sentence is in (-) & (+) form.

Nara form is used when you have a hypothesis presented and you accept the hypothesis. That means you presume whatever the speaker said as the truth. It is normally used for advice.

Compare these two sentences,

1.結婚したら、温かい家庭を作ってください。
kekkon shi tara, atatakai katei wo tsukkute kudasai
After you marry, please build a warm family

2. 結婚するのなら、やさしい人がいい。
kekkon suru no nara, yasashii hito ga ii.
A gentle and kind person is good for marriage.

1 sounds like a request while 2 sounds like advice.

Hope this helps. I am also learning how to differentiate all these confusing grammar too.

fish
24-02-2004, 02:38 PM
Note :D

The ba form is used for presumption.仮定
When you are joining 2 sentences(X and Y) together, they form 2 parts; controllable (+) and uncontrollable (-). You can have (-) & (-), (-) & (+) and also (+) & (-). But you can never have (+) & (+) forms together when you are using -ba form. Lets take Schye s example.

You can control going to hike but you cannot control being able to see beautiful scenaries from the mountain top (sometimes, it may rain, etc). Therefore, the verb ends with mieru instead of miru.

Thus, the sentence is in (+) & (-) form.

Another example,

Moshi takakereba, kaitakunai.
もし高ければ、買いたくない。
I would not buy it if it is expensive.
You can control the buying action but you cannot control the price of the goods.

Thus, the sentence is in (-) & (+) form.

Nara form is used when you have a hypothesis presented and you accept the hypothesis. That means you presume whatever the speaker said as the truth. It is normally used for advice.

Compare these two sentences,

1.結婚したら、温かい家庭を作ってください。
kekkon shi tara, atatakai katei wo tsukkute kudasai
After you marry, please build a warm family

2. 結婚するのなら、やさしい人がいい。
kekkon suru no nara, yasashii hito ga ii.
A gentle and kind person is good for marriage.

1 sounds like a request while 2 sounds like advice.

Hope this helps. I am also learning how to differentiate all these confusing grammar too.

aida_ikmal
25-02-2004, 01:02 PM
let's sing!

kaeru no uta ga
ki koete kuru yo
gero, gero, gero, gero
kuak, kuak, kuak

p/s: this song is about 'kaeru' which means 'frog'

aida_ikmal
25-02-2004, 01:02 PM
let's sing!

kaeru no uta ga
ki koete kuru yo
gero, gero, gero, gero
kuak, kuak, kuak

p/s: this song is about 'kaeru' which means 'frog'

25-02-2004, 02:13 PM
haha...katak gemuk...kan aida..kan? :wink:

lagu for ahiru tak de ke? :twisted:

ten little ahiru went out one day...hehehe :twisted:

25-02-2004, 02:13 PM
haha...katak gemuk...kan aida..kan? :wink:

lagu for ahiru tak de ke? :twisted:

ten little ahiru went out one day...hehehe :twisted:

fish
25-02-2004, 04:06 PM
toloooong! 8O 8O

It s that kaeru song which we sang during our trip to Nikko.

fish
25-02-2004, 04:06 PM
toloooong! 8O 8O

It s that kaeru song which we sang during our trip to Nikko.

26-02-2004, 06:55 AM
just wanna share a magazine that i think is useful in learning nihongo. the title is nihongo janaru (nihongo journal). the contents are way more interesting than the textbook and u can learn some japs culture at the same time as well. (right now i m reading the description of the difference between udon and soba) it also has some short articles which is easy to read, and u can see how the sentence structure u learned in school being applied there. yeah, a lotsa kanji but dun worry they have the explanation for difficult kanji as well. i think u should be able to get that from the asia library of your school. just curious what textbook r u guys using? i m using genki.

talking about japs culture, for those who r now staying in japan, u guys mind share some of your obserrvation with us? like what u like about it, what u think is weird, anything useful we can learn from there, etc.

i learned about the "dialogue" when someone come visit your house and telephone conversation. just wondering do japs practise those kind of "standard" conversation everyday? for eg, when the guest come the host will say yokuirrashaimashita, doozo oagarikudasai and so on.

26-02-2004, 06:55 AM
just wanna share a magazine that i think is useful in learning nihongo. the title is nihongo janaru (nihongo journal). the contents are way more interesting than the textbook and u can learn some japs culture at the same time as well. (right now i m reading the description of the difference between udon and soba) it also has some short articles which is easy to read, and u can see how the sentence structure u learned in school being applied there. yeah, a lotsa kanji but dun worry they have the explanation for difficult kanji as well. i think u should be able to get that from the asia library of your school. just curious what textbook r u guys using? i m using genki.

talking about japs culture, for those who r now staying in japan, u guys mind share some of your obserrvation with us? like what u like about it, what u think is weird, anything useful we can learn from there, etc.

i learned about the "dialogue" when someone come visit your house and telephone conversation. just wondering do japs practise those kind of "standard" conversation everyday? for eg, when the guest come the host will say yokuirrashaimashita, doozo oagarikudasai and so on.

fish
27-02-2004, 02:42 PM
Do you notice that the Japanese girls have very weird taste in fahsion? Maybe I am a little old-fahsion instead. But the girls like to wear skirts over their jeans. I had never seen any Malaysian girls (I mean KL) wear skirts over jeans.
And some guys wear makeup in my uni. Guys here spend loads of time perfecting their hairstyles. Fashionable colours are yellow-gold and brown. It is perfectly normal even to have blue shades. I had seen this guy wearing blue lipstick to class. Well, no one really took notice.
And they have pretty aprons for mothers to wear. These aprons are not to be used in kitchens but they are sort of like fashionable wear when you go shopping.
As for keigo, we do not use them normally. I don t get to hear yoku irrashai ma shi ta and douzo oagarikudasai here. Normally they will just say, douzo hatte kudasai.

fish
27-02-2004, 02:42 PM
Do you notice that the Japanese girls have very weird taste in fahsion? Maybe I am a little old-fahsion instead. But the girls like to wear skirts over their jeans. I had never seen any Malaysian girls (I mean KL) wear skirts over jeans.
And some guys wear makeup in my uni. Guys here spend loads of time perfecting their hairstyles. Fashionable colours are yellow-gold and brown. It is perfectly normal even to have blue shades. I had seen this guy wearing blue lipstick to class. Well, no one really took notice.
And they have pretty aprons for mothers to wear. These aprons are not to be used in kitchens but they are sort of like fashionable wear when you go shopping.
As for keigo, we do not use them normally. I don t get to hear yoku irrashai ma shi ta and douzo oagarikudasai here. Normally they will just say, douzo hatte kudasai.

02-03-2004, 04:40 PM
i think the style's catching up. Lately in Msia, there've been quite a number of girls (esp those fashion-conscious or juz wanna be different fr the mass) who try wearing clothes in such a fashion.

Japan has this really big impact on the fashion world. japanese youths hv become sorta like this trendsetter for the rest of the world. youngsters everywhere are following japanese youths.

I like, though, the way they represent themselves. Like on docus on Discovery, national geog etc. japanese ppl seem to hv this weird sense of fashion, but it's real cool coz it makes em stand out n different from other ppl. I wouldn't mind wearing a purple lipstick to class :wink: The weirder, the better. As long as it's decent, i guess it's oke

Anyway, my 2 cents

02-03-2004, 04:40 PM
i think the style's catching up. Lately in Msia, there've been quite a number of girls (esp those fashion-conscious or juz wanna be different fr the mass) who try wearing clothes in such a fashion.

Japan has this really big impact on the fashion world. japanese youths hv become sorta like this trendsetter for the rest of the world. youngsters everywhere are following japanese youths.

I like, though, the way they represent themselves. Like on docus on Discovery, national geog etc. japanese ppl seem to hv this weird sense of fashion, but it's real cool coz it makes em stand out n different from other ppl. I wouldn't mind wearing a purple lipstick to class :wink: The weirder, the better. As long as it's decent, i guess it's oke

Anyway, my 2 cents

02-03-2004, 04:42 PM
oh ya..i've worn blue shades to class before. that was when i was in school. hehe..the specs reflects the mind, perhaps? :wink: :wink:

02-03-2004, 04:42 PM
oh ya..i've worn blue shades to class before. that was when i was in school. hehe..the specs reflects the mind, perhaps? :wink: :wink:

02-03-2004, 09:30 PM
ok .. you are weird .. i get it :P

02-03-2004, 09:30 PM
ok .. you are weird .. i get it :P

03-03-2004, 01:52 PM
:P :P :P
luke, jaga ko..balik nanti..heheh... :twisted: :twisted:

03-03-2004, 01:52 PM
:P :P :P
luke, jaga ko..balik nanti..heheh... :twisted: :twisted:

04-03-2004, 10:06 AM
ok ... tp don't forget to wear a purple lipstick when we meet nanti ok? ... senang skit nak kenal ... maklumlah nanti korang main tukar2 identiti plak ..

anyway, back on track ... senseitachi, i just found out about a weird form of verb, maybe I've mistaken but .. :

stem+masu+te = stem-mashite

e.g: itadakimashite, hajimemashite, gozaimashite

oshiete kudasaimasen ka?

04-03-2004, 10:06 AM
ok ... tp don't forget to wear a purple lipstick when we meet nanti ok? ... senang skit nak kenal ... maklumlah nanti korang main tukar2 identiti plak ..

anyway, back on track ... senseitachi, i just found out about a weird form of verb, maybe I've mistaken but .. :

stem+masu+te = stem-mashite

e.g: itadakimashite, hajimemashite, gozaimashite

oshiete kudasaimasen ka?

04-03-2004, 12:47 PM
pakai hijau takleh ke? LOL

04-03-2004, 12:47 PM
pakai hijau takleh ke? LOL

04-03-2004, 05:32 PM
konbanwa!

anyone, the many many hebat sensei here esp, can explain what's the difference btw all the many particles there in Nihongo? :) arigato!

04-03-2004, 05:32 PM
konbanwa!

anyone, the many many hebat sensei here esp, can explain what's the difference btw all the many particles there in Nihongo? :) arigato!

fish
05-03-2004, 10:46 AM
I did not mean blue shades as in sunglasses, I meant that some guys dyed their hair blue. :wink:

PS, It is difficult to explain all the particles together. Remember, when Luke asked about the -eba form? We had a such long disccusion about it that I think it carried to about 3/4 of a forum page. This Sakana is not crazy enough to do it again.

SChye, how do you sing that Sakana song? It is quite popular in the supermarkets,

Sakana, sakana, sakana @<hidden>????@<hidden>
Karada,karada,karada #+++++#

Don t really remember. :lol:

fish
05-03-2004, 10:46 AM
I did not mean blue shades as in sunglasses, I meant that some guys dyed their hair blue. :wink:

PS, It is difficult to explain all the particles together. Remember, when Luke asked about the -eba form? We had a such long disccusion about it that I think it carried to about 3/4 of a forum page. This Sakana is not crazy enough to do it again.

SChye, how do you sing that Sakana song? It is quite popular in the supermarkets,

05-03-2004, 11:22 AM
hey what about my question? explain the -mashite verb form onegai!

05-03-2004, 11:22 AM
hey what about my question? explain the -mashite verb form onegai!

05-03-2004, 12:06 PM
hahah..sorry lei.. :P

anyway, normal lei...i think they jusy wanna express themselves, create their own image sthing like dat

hehe..cian luke diabaikan...lalala :)

05-03-2004, 12:06 PM
hahah..sorry lei.. :P

anyway, normal lei...i think they jusy wanna express themselves, create their own image sthing like dat

hehe..cian luke diabaikan...lalala :)

fish
05-03-2004, 05:23 PM
Just asked my Japanese colleague, she told me that we seldom use gozaimashi_te and itadakimashi_te. Itadakimashi_te is normally used by the store people to be super polite. We can use it this way,

_をいただきまして、ありがとうございます

But we normally use moraimashi_te or moratte now.

hajimemashi_te is the form which you normally use when you meet people for the first time. Like telling [Nice to meet you].

Budakkerek, if Luke diabaikan, you are the last person to to so :wink:

fish
05-03-2004, 05:23 PM
Just asked my Japanese colleague, she told me that we seldom use gozaimashi_te and itadakimashi_te. Itadakimashi_te is normally used by the store people to be super polite. We can use it this way,

_をいただきまして、ありがとうございます

But we normally use moraimashi_te or moratte now.

hajimemashi_te is the form which you normally use when you meet people for the first time. Like telling [Nice to meet you].

06-03-2004, 12:01 AM
-mashite is the te form of -masu

I am not sure if it is right from the formal nihongo or not but sometimes i use it when talking to sensei etc.

for ex :

(sorry..back in Msai now....cant recall any example...anyone ...please help!! :wink: )

06-03-2004, 12:01 AM
-mashite is the te form of -masu

I am not sure if it is right from the formal nihongo or not but sometimes i use it when talking to sensei etc.

for ex :

(sorry..back in Msai now....cant recall any example...anyone ...please help!! :wink: )

retroque
06-03-2004, 10:17 AM

er...i'm not schye...but i think i can reply to this right??hehe

nway...if im not wrong it's suppose to be

sakana,sakana,sakana,
sakana wo taberuto

atama,atama,atama
atama ga yokunaru

retroque
06-03-2004, 10:17 AM

sakana,sakana,sakana,
sakana wo taberuto

atama,atama,atama
atama ga yokunaru

06-03-2004, 11:49 AM
an an an,
tottemo daisuki,
dorae~ mon~
:wink: :wink:

06-03-2004, 11:49 AM
an an an,
tottemo daisuki,
dorae~ mon~
:wink: :wink:

07-03-2004, 10:11 AM
I think this thread is becoming long .. how about opening another thread like "Nihongo anyone? part 2"? ..

or perhaps, since this thread is now the 5th/6th most-replied topic in ReCom, we could continue in this thread and aim for #1 ! :P :P :P

どちらの方がいいかと思っている。
dochira no hou ga ii ka to omotte iru.

どうしおうかな 。。。
dou shiou ka na ...

07-03-2004, 10:11 AM
I think this thread is becoming long .. how about opening another thread like "Nihongo anyone? part 2"? ..

or perhaps, since this thread is now the 5th/6th most-replied topic in ReCom, we could continue in this thread and aim for #1 ! :P :P :P

どちらの方がいいかと思っている。
dochira no hou ga ii ka to omotte iru.

どうしおうかな 。。。
dou shiou ka na ...

fish
07-03-2004, 12:50 PM
Haha thanks Retroque. Once you get that sakana tune, you cannot get it out of your head.

Luke, are you asking us for an opinion (dochira no hou ga ii ka to omotteiru) or are you just thinking aloud? :)

I think we should start a new thread. This is getting a little bit too long.

I am going off to Lotteria now. They have 黒豆シェーキ for just a limited time (probably by the end of this month). Try it if you have a chance.

fish
07-03-2004, 12:50 PM
Haha thanks Retroque. Once you get that sakana tune, you cannot get it out of your head.

Luke, are you asking us for an opinion (dochira no hou ga ii ka to omotteiru) or are you just thinking aloud? :)

I think we should start a new thread. This is getting a little bit too long.

I am going off to Lotteria now. They have 黒豆シェーキ for just a limited time (probably by the end of this month). Try it if you have a chance.

07-03-2004, 01:43 PM
hmm...maybe we can open a thread just for grammar, then another thread of japs culture, trend or whatever and etc ?

07-03-2004, 01:43 PM
hmm...maybe we can open a thread just for grammar, then another thread of japs culture, trend or whatever and etc ?

07-03-2004, 05:12 PM

sakana,sakana,sakana,
sakana wo taberuto

atama,atama,atama
atama ga yokunaru

haha...sorry, i thought those weird symbols are bcos of the PC here cant decode Japanese character :P
I was listening to that song everyday in canteen for quite sometime...
and we used to make fun of our muslim friends who can eat only sakana in the canteen using taht song....hah

07-03-2004, 05:12 PM

sakana,sakana,sakana,
sakana wo taberuto

atama,atama,atama
atama ga yokunaru

haha...sorry, i thought those weird symbols are bcos of the PC here cant decode Japanese character :P
I was listening to that song everyday in canteen for quite sometime...
and we used to make fun of our muslim friends who can eat only sakana in the canteen using taht song....hah

08-03-2004, 10:27 AM

Dang, you got me! :?

can anyone explain what the sakana song's about? Arigato! :wink:

08-03-2004, 10:27 AM

Dang, you got me! :?

can anyone explain what the sakana song's about? Arigato! :wink: