View Full Version : Real Time Discussion using mIRC + hIRC
08-02-2004, 12:01 PM
Hi guys,
ReCom is going have a Real Time discussion.
What is Real Time Discussion. ?
In Malaysian way, we call it : 'Mamak'ing, or , we just discuss about anything..studies, sports, etc.
This is also a going to be great place where prospective Malaysia students can ask seniors, those who are already oversea about stuff.
Usually, we go to Mamak place at night, however..
ReCom members are around the globe...setting the discussion according to LA time would not make much sense because it does not reflect the 'Mamak' time for , say, people in the europe, eastern US,etc.
Time
So, first, we have to set a specific time when we want to meet
(say, 7.00pm Pacific every Saturday)
Day
When ?..most probably Sunday or Saturday. We know we're all busy...aren't we ;-)?
How?
We're going to use IRC. ReCom has IRC channel (we even have the server)...however, no one make use of it...well, the time has come.
hIRC = The Default IRC client
Introducing hIRC, a cool extension of mIRC client developed by a ReCom member,
da-hype. this is the default of mirc client that we're going to use.
Here's the image :
http://www-scf.usc.edu/~hasran/hirc1-9.PNG
Anymore suggestion about our 'Mamak'ing plan?
08-02-2004, 12:01 PM
Hi guys,
ReCom is going have a Real Time discussion.
What is Real Time Discussion. ?
In Malaysian way, we call it : 'Mamak'ing, or , we just discuss about anything..studies, sports, etc.
This is also a going to be great place where prospective Malaysia students can ask seniors, those who are already oversea about stuff.
Usually, we go to Mamak place at night, however..
ReCom members are around the globe...setting the discussion according to LA time would not make much sense because it does not reflect the 'Mamak' time for , say, people in the europe, eastern US,etc.
Time
So, first, we have to set a specific time when we want to meet
(say, 7.00pm Pacific every Saturday)
Day
When ?..most probably Sunday or Saturday. We know we're all busy...aren't we ;-)?
How?
We're going to use IRC. ReCom has IRC channel (we even have the server)...however, no one make use of it...well, the time has come.
hIRC = The Default IRC client
Introducing hIRC, a cool extension of mIRC client developed by a ReCom member,
da-hype. this is the default of mirc client that we're going to use.
Here's the image :
http://www-scf.usc.edu/~hasran/hirc1-9.PNG
Anymore suggestion about our 'Mamak'ing plan?
da-hype
08-02-2004, 12:26 PM
Well for those of you who don't know what hIRC is. Here's a breif introduction.
hIRC has been one of my project for about 2 and a 1/2 years now.
Every version i have added better GUI's and better functions. Some of the DLL's used in this script is mine, and some are not.
One of my goals is to make hIRC like phpnuke. People can make addons / modules for it and edit the codes to their likeing. It's under the GNU/GPL license. :D
Most of the modules can be unloaded.. and most of the functions can be turned on/off. Even the GUI's can be turned on or off. (for those who like their mIRC plain)
Right now version 1.9 is in the testing stage. I'm still working on fixing some known bugs and improving some of my DLL routine's.
I'll post some of the features here soon. For those who are interested in helping me script / make DLL's for hIRC. email me at da-hype@<hidden>. I'll post the language patch for hIRC here soon, so anyone that want's to help transelate it can feel free to do so. Thanks
da^hype
"Imagination is more important than knowledge." - Albert Einstein
http://www.hirc.org
da-hype
08-02-2004, 12:26 PM
Well for those of you who don't know what hIRC is. Here's a breif introduction.
hIRC has been one of my project for about 2 and a 1/2 years now.
Every version i have added better GUI's and better functions. Some of the DLL's used in this script is mine, and some are not.
One of my goals is to make hIRC like phpnuke. People can make addons / modules for it and edit the codes to their likeing. It's under the GNU/GPL license. :D
Most of the modules can be unloaded.. and most of the functions can be turned on/off. Even the GUI's can be turned on or off. (for those who like their mIRC plain)
Right now version 1.9 is in the testing stage. I'm still working on fixing some known bugs and improving some of my DLL routine's.
I'll post some of the features here soon. For those who are interested in helping me script / make DLL's for hIRC. email me at da-hype@<hidden>. I'll post the language patch for hIRC here soon, so anyone that want's to help transelate it can feel free to do so. Thanks
da^hype
"Imagination is more important than knowledge." - Albert Einstein
http://www.hirc.org
dinna_g
08-02-2004, 02:47 PM
i just wanna get this right.. is hIRC similar to irc? can i access the channel through the normal mIRC? it's just that i've been using the plain irc since 1996 that i'm not really interested in changing the software.. i tried using pirch before (swhere in 1998), after several months, it drove me insane.. can you explain a little bit more? how it works and stuff...
dinna_g
08-02-2004, 02:47 PM
i just wanna get this right.. is hIRC similar to irc? can i access the channel through the normal mIRC? it's just that i've been using the plain irc since 1996 that i'm not really interested in changing the software.. i tried using pirch before (swhere in 1998), after several months, it drove me insane.. can you explain a little bit more? how it works and stuff...
just any normal irc client will do... ill just use chatzilla haha
da-hype
08-02-2004, 03:20 PM
just wanna get this right.. is hIRC similar to irc? can i access the channel through the normal mIRC? it's just that i've been using the plain irc since 1996 that i'm not really interested in changing the software.. i tried using pirch before (swhere in 1998), after several months, it drove me insane.. can you explain a little bit more? how it works and stuff...
The foundation of hIRC is still mIRC. All it is.. is a Full script for mIRC.
It's not like the other "malaysian made scripts". I've used more than just "mirc scripting" for it. Which explains the nicer GUI. (trying to apply what i've learnt :P )
It there are any CS major that want to help with DLL routine's for this script, feel free.
There is a telnet module, a IE module, a media player module and so on (just to name a few). I'm trying to figure out how to make a voice chat and webcam option for hIRC. (any CS major's interested? )
Version 1.8 is available here in recom.org or hIRC.org. (It's kind of buggy.. sorry)
here is an example of some routine's i have the hIRCDLL.dll
this one don't work.. so if anyone could help me figure it out, that would help :P
//****************/
//Restart function/
//****************/
int __stdcall Restart(HWND mWnd, HWND aWnd, char *data, char *parms, BOOL show, BOOL nopause)
{
ExitWindowsEx(EWX_REBOOT | EWX_FORCE,0);
lstrcat(data,"S_OK");
return 3;
}
//Shutdown function
int __stdcall ShutDown(HWND mWnd, HWND aWnd, char *data, char *parms, BOOL show, BOOL nopause)
{
ExitWindowsEx(EWX_SHUTDOWN | EWX_FORCE,0);
lstrcat(data,"S_OK");
return 3;
}
Technical notes
This section contains technical information for programmers who want to create DLLs for use with mIRC.
The routine in the DLL being called must be of the form:
int __stdcall procname(HWND mWnd, HWND aWnd, char *data, char *parms, BOOL show, BOOL nopause)
mWnd is the handle to the main mIRC window.
aWnd is the handle of the window in which the command is being issued, this might not be the currently active window if the command is being called by a remote script.
data is the information that you wish to send to the DLL. On return, the DLL can fill this variable with the command it wants mIRC to perform if any.
parms is filled by the DLL on return with parameters that it wants mIRC to use when performing the command that it returns in the data variable.
Note: The data and parms variables can each hold 900 chars maximum.
da-hype
08-02-2004, 03:20 PM
just wanna get this right.. is hIRC similar to irc? can i access the channel through the normal mIRC? it's just that i've been using the plain irc since 1996 that i'm not really interested in changing the software.. i tried using pirch before (swhere in 1998), after several months, it drove me insane.. can you explain a little bit more? how it works and stuff...
The foundation of hIRC is still mIRC. All it is.. is a Full script for mIRC.
It's not like the other "malaysian made scripts". I've used more than just "mirc scripting" for it. Which explains the nicer GUI. (trying to apply what i've learnt :P )
It there are any CS major that want to help with DLL routine's for this script, feel free.
There is a telnet module, a IE module, a media player module and so on (just to name a few). I'm trying to figure out how to make a voice chat and webcam option for hIRC. (any CS major's interested? )
Version 1.8 is available here in recom.org or hIRC.org. (It's kind of buggy.. sorry)
here is an example of some routine's i have the hIRCDLL.dll
this one don't work.. so if anyone could help me figure it out, that would help :P
//****************/
//Restart function/
//****************/
int __stdcall Restart(HWND mWnd, HWND aWnd, char *data, char *parms, BOOL show, BOOL nopause)
{
ExitWindowsEx(EWX_REBOOT | EWX_FORCE,0);
lstrcat(data,"S_OK");
return 3;
}
//Shutdown function
int __stdcall ShutDown(HWND mWnd, HWND aWnd, char *data, char *parms, BOOL show, BOOL nopause)
{
ExitWindowsEx(EWX_SHUTDOWN | EWX_FORCE,0);
lstrcat(data,"S_OK");
return 3;
}
Technical notes
This section contains technical information for programmers who want to create DLLs for use with mIRC.
The routine in the DLL being called must be of the form:
int __stdcall procname(HWND mWnd, HWND aWnd, char *data, char *parms, BOOL show, BOOL nopause)
mWnd is the handle to the main mIRC window.
aWnd is the handle of the window in which the command is being issued, this might not be the currently active window if the command is being called by a remote script.
data is the information that you wish to send to the DLL. On return, the DLL can fill this variable with the command it wants mIRC to perform if any.
parms is filled by the DLL on return with parameters that it wants mIRC to use when performing the command that it returns in the data variable.
Note: The data and parms variables can each hold 900 chars maximum.
dinna_g
08-02-2004, 03:29 PM
gotcha! good job, da-hype! good to hear that you have interesting add ons.. i'll give your hIRC a shot at some point.. but i love the plain old mIRC.. hehe.. maybe cause it has a sentimental value to me.. or because it's just the plain old mIRC. plain but reliable...
dinna_g
08-02-2004, 03:29 PM
gotcha! good job, da-hype! good to hear that you have interesting add ons.. i'll give your hIRC a shot at some point.. but i love the plain old mIRC.. hehe.. maybe cause it has a sentimental value to me.. or because it's just the plain old mIRC. plain but reliable...
da-hype
08-02-2004, 03:34 PM
Like is aid the GUI for hIRC can be turned on / off for the normal mIRC look. But if you are using a mIRC version less that 6.12 i advice you to update it. Cause the older versions have a CTCP DCC exploit. (people can crash you mIRC)
da-hype
08-02-2004, 03:34 PM
Like is aid the GUI for hIRC can be turned on / off for the normal mIRC look. But if you are using a mIRC version less that 6.12 i advice you to update it. Cause the older versions have a CTCP DCC exploit. (people can crash you mIRC)
dinna_g
09-02-2004, 12:50 AM
did mIRC come up with newer version after v6.12? currently, i'm using that version.. but yea, i'll definitely give your hIRC a shot.. i don't use irc that often anyways.. only for some reasons that i dare not mention.. hehehe..
dinna_g
09-02-2004, 12:50 AM
did mIRC come up with newer version after v6.12? currently, i'm using that version.. but yea, i'll definitely give your hIRC a shot.. i don't use irc that often anyways.. only for some reasons that i dare not mention.. hehehe..
da-hype
09-02-2004, 05:52 AM
yeah 1.9 will use mIRC 6.12
da-hype
09-02-2004, 05:52 AM
yeah 1.9 will use mIRC 6.12