View Full Version : Preparations For Scholarship Interview

Pages : 1 [2]

30-03-2008, 04:25 PM
Improve our English programme..For those who wish to improve their english to face JPA interview can take up the quiz .
http://www.bbc.co.uk/worldservice/learningenglish/flash/wordmaster/

Hope it helps.

haikalanuar
30-03-2008, 04:34 PM
Improve our English programme..For those who wish to improve their english to face JPA interview can take up the quiz .
http://www.bbc.co.uk/worldservice/learningenglish/flash/wordmaster/

Hope it helps.

the quiz is very easy..

cathy
30-03-2008, 05:12 PM
what should i do if i cannot answer questions ask by interviewers?my english is very weak.:cry..i could not think when i was nervous..so what should i do?

gnil
30-03-2008, 05:41 PM
hihi , i was 1 of the shortlisted candidates 4 jpa too... nw i was so nervous because my general knowledges are poor as well as my english also another obstacles for me......

if we dont really know what to answer ?? what can we do???

thanks ya for ur guys replies...... ^^

skatemusicianer
30-03-2008, 06:10 PM
Well, hey, just be relaxed before you get into the interview...when you feel that you can't answer, think fast and answer..try not to look dumbfounded or blur..if you really can't come up wit an answer, smile and tell them you're sorry and you can't answer that question... : ) rather than keeping silent..

Thanks Chen Chow for your advice up there..

Thanks!!!! Really helps to have a list..

Vaan
30-03-2008, 08:07 PM
Anybody gets the interview at 4th April 2pm at Ipoh Jabatan Belia dan Sukan? Please reply if u do coz so far I guess I am the only one.

everlearn
30-03-2008, 08:10 PM
what should I ask when the interviewer said.." Is there any question?? "

Vaan
30-03-2008, 08:46 PM
Can anyone help me? First I checked on Friday (28 Mac) I get interview at 2pm then I checked again on Sunday (30 Mac) I get interview at 2.45pm. What is going on? Can anyone explain this incident?

sugarspice
30-03-2008, 08:49 PM
Can anyone help me? First I checked on Friday (28 Mac) I get interview at 2pm then I checked again on Sunday (30 Mac) I get interview at 2.45pm. What is going on? Can anyone explain this incident?

I think the latest one is more accurate. Maybe they made some changes without you knowing. To be on the safe side, phone them up and confirm tomorrow.

cuteranger
30-03-2008, 08:52 PM
izzit necessary to wear shoe? i mean sandal is quite formal too........

Vaan
30-03-2008, 09:08 PM
Sugarspice thanks for the advice but I guess I was too panicked until I didn't see an announcement in the JPA website that stated all the 4th April 2pm interview was changed to 2.45pm due to Friday praying.

sugarspice
30-03-2008, 09:12 PM
Sugarspice thanks for the advice but I guess I was too panicked until I didn't see an announcement in the JPA website that stated all the 4th April 2pm interview was changed to 2.45pm due to Friday praying.

Haha, don't get panicked. Mine is on the first day which is April Fool, lagi teruk. Read carefully next time. :))

nicole robbin
30-03-2008, 09:29 PM
hi,sugar..i m on d 1st day oso,,,wat course u apply?? hope we can get la..gd luck 2 everyone la..

sugarspice
30-03-2008, 09:31 PM
Hiya, nicole robbin.

If I am not wrong, you're a malay right? Which state are you from?

I applied for Engineering.

Good luck to you too:laugh

tripple1
30-03-2008, 11:09 PM
hello..
i'm newcomer in this forum..
i have shortlisted in jpa scholarship interview this wednesday..
so, i want to ask something..
1. what kind of interview will be ask by interviewers?
2. does it really tough question they will ask?
in SPM, i got A1 in english while A2 in GCE O. but actually, i'm not good enough either in writing skill or communication skill. i'm so worried if i can't answering all the question during interview. i'm afraid if i couldn't perform very well. can you give me some advice to reduce my worried..?

Leen
30-03-2008, 11:18 PM
*merged with the big thread for obvious reason*

Vaan
30-03-2008, 11:22 PM
Hello, I am confused again in something. In the Borang Pengesahan Pendapatan Bulanan Keluarga, it stated that the candidate must provide certified DOKUMEN SOKONGAN to support the information written in the Borang Pengesahan. What does that means? I have my parents salary slip as requested by JPA but does this salary slip also means the DOKUMEN SOKONGAN. If not, that what is DOKUMEN SOKONGAN? If the salary slip is the DOKUMEN SOKONGAN, so does that means I must provide my parents salary slip and then again the same slip in the Borang Pengesahan? So confusing.....hope somebody can help me. Thanks in advance.

cuteranger
31-03-2008, 12:19 AM
Hello, I am confused again in something. In the Borang Pengesahan Pendapatan Bulanan Keluarga, it stated that the candidate must provide certified DOKUMEN SOKONGAN to support the information written in the Borang Pengesahan. What does that means? I have my parents salary slip as requested by JPA but does this salary slip also means the DOKUMEN SOKONGAN. If not, that what is DOKUMEN SOKONGAN? If the salary slip is the DOKUMEN SOKONGAN, so does that means I must provide my parents salary slip and then again the same slip in the Borang Pengesahan? So confusing.....hope somebody can help me. Thanks in advance.

no u no need to put two salary slip. for borang pengesahan just bring the salary slip when u go for certifying thats all u no need to clip the salary clip and borang pengesahan together

31-03-2008, 12:34 AM
no u no need to put two salary slip. for borang pengesahan just bring the salary slip when u go for certifying thats all u no need to clip the salary clip and borang pengesahan together

create a win-win and safety situation.... personally,i will clip borang pengesahan with all (if not all , those necesary) supportive documents.

and again,i will,have the original copy in my clear holder and another photostate copy ( certified ) clip together.

anyone agree with me? or disagree with me?

*make thier life easier,in return,they might make our life easier*

Vaan
31-03-2008, 12:43 AM
I would also like to know that if it is advisable to also include sijil kokurikulum for Form 1,2and 3?

haikalanuar
31-03-2008, 12:48 AM
I would also like to know that if it is advisable to also include sijil kokurikulum for Form 1,2and 3?

they didn't want those right??
if not all those interviewers will
get a bundle of certificate~

STSY
31-03-2008, 03:15 AM
Hi, l got the jpa interview. I actually also got my NS 2nd batch. But nw i edi study in kolej, din go NS. If ltr JPA ask me bout my NS, hw i wan ans? If JPA ask me whether i nw got study college, then wat ans should i give? Should i say yes or no?

nobody
31-03-2008, 03:56 AM
HI EVERYONE! I'M A NEWBIE HERE! THANKS FOR PUTTING THIS FORUM UP! COOL!

My question(think it wasn't asked before):

1) During the interview, how long is the time given for self-introduction?

2) And based on experience, anyone could please kindly tell me what the interviewers are interested to know in our self-introduction?

And,

3) When they ask for example...come on, we have only lived on this earth for 18 years...well...er...some 17...lacking of experience, and leading a dull academic life, what shall we do if there isn't any example to give at all? And what if the examples are dull and boring? Should we mention it? Will it causes bad impression due to our incapability to support our points? Sound like we are lying...

Damn...this whole interview thing is making me so nervous!

(All referring to self-introduction)
Avandia class action (http://classactionsettlements.org/)

AtMostFear
31-03-2008, 07:31 AM
self introduction is just about yourself.

your name, where you're from, and perhaps from which school. that's it.

after that jump straight to what course you're applying for and state your reasons. it could be because you used to play Lego during childhood and thus your interest in mechanical stuff blossomed, that's why you've chosen engineering. be creative, and try not to lie. convince the interviewer that you're really interested in the course you've selected by saying you've also joined robot competition at school, programming etc if you applied for engineering.

and of course not to forget, the all time favourite conclusion, "I hope I will get the scholarship as I can't wait to serve back the country after I've finished my degree."

31-03-2008, 10:30 AM

after that jump straight to what course you're applying for and state your reasons. it could be because you used to play Lego during childhood and thus your interest in mechanical stuff blossomed, that's why you've chosen engineering. be creative, and try not to lie. convince the interviewer that you're really interested in the course you've selected by saying you've also joined robot competition at school, programming etc if you applied for engineering.

and of course not to forget, the all time favourite conclusion, "I hope I will get the scholarship as I can't wait to serve back the country after I've finished my degree."

hehehehehe....thanks for pointing out lego part... and there is another type of toy called Lacy right? LOLxxxx....

*to all my classmates here,i wanna mention the childhood series again.bear with me awhile*

How about mentioning POWER RANGER????!!!!! LOLXXXX

kaera
31-03-2008, 11:41 AM
I'll be mentioning me playing tetris n pacman on the computer since 5.. which is true XDXD

applying for CompSc XP

Olataro
31-03-2008, 12:06 PM
lol, i played with hand me down legos that i found in a public toilet.......yeah...that sounds great....X()X

And does ppl sell Lasy anymore? i miss that toy.

bartimaeus
31-03-2008, 12:58 PM
i applied for science.. what kind of toys should i be playing in my childhood?

cuteranger
31-03-2008, 01:33 PM
how about accounting? can i say i used to make a budget every month haha

Vaan
31-03-2008, 01:33 PM
I was wondering, my SPM results is straight As. Do I stand a chance to receive the JPA Medicine scholarship? coz an Orthopaediatric doctor told me that straight As candidates has slimmer chances than the ones that obtained straight A1s.

iryna
31-03-2008, 01:52 PM
I was wondering, my SPM results is straight As. Do I stand a chance to receive the JPA Medicine scholarship? coz an Orthopaediatric doctor told me that straight As candidates has slimmer chances than the ones that obtained straight A1s.

are u serious..:amazed

Vaan
31-03-2008, 01:54 PM
Yes, I am serious. But what do you think iryna?

iryna
31-03-2008, 02:04 PM
getting straight a1's is a plus but its not necessary..

i also did talked to one orthopedic surgeon during the pendedahan course(he's super cool and awesome and very macho!lol..i enjoyed talking to him..lol..)

anyways, he said its not the results that count..you have to show during your interview the real you..if you want to bcome a doctor and help ppl..stress on it during the interview..

the interviewers are wise ppl and they can tell if ur not confident or something..
and remember they r the one who will be choosing which country you'll be studying in..

Vaan
31-03-2008, 02:08 PM
Great!!!!!! I am relieved to hear that.

iryna
31-03-2008, 02:10 PM
when's ur interview vaan?

Vaan
31-03-2008, 02:14 PM
My interview is on 4th April, 2.45pm at Ipoh. How about you, iryna? It's great that you too applied for medicine course.

iryna
31-03-2008, 02:25 PM
mine's on the 2nd apr/2pm/putrajaya

i know..i c there r a lot of ppl applyin eng. o comp snc.here in recom

haikalanuar
31-03-2008, 02:31 PM
mine's on the 2nd apr/2pm/putrajaya

i know..i c there r a lot of ppl applyin eng. o comp snc.here in recom

wow..same day..
same place..
different time :(

I'll be going there 8 a.m

prepare questions for the interviewer..
do ur homework..
do ur research..
sleep!

Olataro
31-03-2008, 02:33 PM
yup. i applying for engineering too. but havent see anyone here from kota bharu who have the interview at 2nd apr, 8am.

nobody
31-03-2008, 04:08 PM

OMG! My hobby is origami and that has nothing to do with the course i'm applying-Medicine!
CROSMAN 8 SHOT ROTARY CLIPS PISTOLS (http://airsoft-shop.info/p/crosman-8-shot-rotary-clips-pistols/)

31-03-2008, 04:10 PM
Well, there is some useful tips to be shared to every person who r going to JPA interview..

Tips for Success in Interviews!

~First impression is the best impression. You will be judged by ; the way you dress, your educational qualification, , body language, manners, ability to absorb the information and interpret it intelligently and clearly. So take care to be at your best.
~Carry your relevant documents in order - like certificates, copy of application sent, bio-data etc. in a folder so that it can be easily shown when asked. Take a pen also.
~Present the documents only if the interviewer ask for it.
~Never be late for an interview.
~Greet the interviewers as soon as you enter.
~Sit down only when you are asked to. It is better not to pull the chair, either lift it or move it and always enter from the right side of the chair.
~Say 'please and thank you' whenever required.
~Listen carefully and pay attention to the question. If the question is not clear to you ask politely for a repeat.
~Reply confidently and immediately to the point, keeping your answers short unless asked for a longer description.
~While answering, look directly at the person asking the questions and try to be pleasant.
~Replies connected to any details regarding your bio-data should be authentic.
~It is better to admit if you don't know something.
~Remember to say 'sorry' if your opinions or answers are rejected.
~Avoid indulging in certain mannerisms in your speech or behavior.
~You can ask when you can expect to hear from them before you leave.
~Don't forget to say "Thank you" at the end of an interview to every interviewer before leaving.
~Shake hands only if the interviewer initiates the gesture.
~Walk out confidently without looking back.
~Gently shut the door behind you as you leave.

Hopes will help ! Good luck!

Vaan
31-03-2008, 04:10 PM
OMG! My hobby is origami and that has nothing to do with the course i'm applying-Medicine!

wow, you are applying for medicine too! Guess your results are pretty outstanding.

31-03-2008, 04:13 PM
Does it matter? If they really ask you about your hobby, just tell the truth... I don't think they need a person who is totally related to medicine in every activity... Imagine... What is your favourite food? Medicine....

nobody
31-03-2008, 04:14 PM

Means we shouldn't put our hand unless the interviewers took the initiative?
WEED (http://wwweed.com/)

Olataro
31-03-2008, 04:18 PM
u should juz shake. and firmly, or else they think u are a "whimp"

jun
31-03-2008, 04:19 PM
nolah.....we should shake their hands regardless whether they initiate it or not...it is a sign that you are matured and professional...It would be better if we took the initiative to shake their hands...of course if it is a Malay woman then you must not unless they took the initiative..

Means we shouldn't put our hand unless the interviewers took the initiative?

yes..if the interview show initial gesture of shaking hand with u, then only u do.

heffalump
Does it matter? If they really ask you about your hobby, just tell the truth... I don't think they need a person who is totally related to medicine in every activity... Imagine... What is your favourite food? Medicine....

yup, i agree with miracle seed..because i'm applying for biotechnology..and i don't think i've even hought about it when i was just a little kid..besides,my hobby is only reading novels,how should i emphasize that on biotechnology?? i don't think this matters..

haikalanuar
31-03-2008, 04:25 PM
yup, i agree with miracle seed..because i'm applying for biotechnology..and i don't think i've even hought about it when i was just a little kid..besides,my hobby is only reading novels,how should i emphasize that on biotechnology?? i don't think this matters..

U like to read~
that's what matter :P

nobody
31-03-2008, 04:29 PM
wow, you are applying for medicine too! Guess your results are pretty outstanding.
^^ What do you mean by "too", means by you are applying for medicine too? How is your result?
MODULAR ENGINE (http://www.ford-wiki.com/wiki/Ford_Modular_engine)

jun
31-03-2008, 04:33 PM
I guess fellow recormers have not yet pass the" how is your results" stage( hahahaha)

Anyway Regardless of your results i sincerely wish you all good luck!!! and since there will be no essay this year .. it is all the more important for us to do well in the interview...Cheers Guys and girls!!!!!

matchgirl
31-03-2008, 04:37 PM
I guess fellow recormers have not yet pass the" how is your results" stage( hahahaha)

Anyway Regardless of your results i sincerely wish you all good luck!!! and since there will be no essay this year .. it is all the more important for us to do well in the interview...Cheers Guys and girls!!!!!

Cheers!!!!
Cheers!!!!
Cheers!!!
(we have to do it thrice according to tradition)=)

Vaan
31-03-2008, 04:39 PM
^^ What do you mean by "too", means by you are applying for medicine too? How is your result?

Yup, I am applying for medicine too. My results are crap, just straight 11As. How about yours?

nobody
31-03-2008, 04:41 PM
Back to hand shake...I'm a girl(chinese), should I hand shake a malay guy interviewer if he doesn't initiate it? Look! It's getting complicated. Whom should I offer my hand if they don't take the initiative?

Yup, I am applying for medicine too. My results are crap, just straight 11As. How about yours?
By looking at your id, i see you are a FF fan too...so do I. I manage to strike a lottery and got 12 A1's...nerds...
TOYOTA CROWN MAJESTA (http://www.toyota-wiki.com/wiki/Toyota_Crown_Majesta)

31-03-2008, 04:46 PM
Back to hand shake...I'm a girl(chinese), should I hand shake a malay guy interviewer if he doesn't initiate it? Look! It's getting complicated. Whom should I offer my hand if they don't take the initiative?
Then perhaps smile is enough, some people are sensitive about direct contact, so if they don't initiate it, you can just smile and say thank you. You won't leave a bad impression even if you don't shake their hands...

Vaan
31-03-2008, 04:49 PM

By looking at your id, i see you are a FF fan too...so do I. I manage to strike a lottery and got 12 A1's...nerds...

Yay, Final Fantasy Fan and Medicine course. Same boat!

nobody
31-03-2008, 04:52 PM
1) How long is the duration for group discussion?

2) Is each of the member of the group required to stand their own conclusion? Or someone should just summarize it?

3)Are we supposed to choose a leader from the group?
BABI MAC BREAK AWAY (http://babimac.com/)

31-03-2008, 04:56 PM
1) How long is the duration for group discussion?

2) Is each of the member of the group required to stand their own conclusion? Or someone should just summarize it?

3)Are we supposed to choose a leader from the group?
For all the questions, it depends on you interviewers, and your centre.
1) Normally it lasts for 45-60 minutes.

2) It depends, the interviewer might ask someone to summarise, or everyone to give their own coclusion.

3) If the interviewer wants it...

gnil
31-03-2008, 04:57 PM
hihi..... i m applied 4 pharmacy from perak.. any1 here applying pharmacy too?? ... then wats suppose i mention when they ask about my hobby??? ^^

nobody
31-03-2008, 05:00 PM
For all the questions, it depends on you interviewers, and your centre.
1) Normally it lasts for 45-60 minutes.

2) It depends, the interviewer might ask someone to summarise, or everyone to give their own coclusion.

3) If the interviewer wants it...
2) Which means the interviewers will call the group discussion to an end? Not depending on fellow interviewees to close the file as soon as all the points are used up?
BDSM FRENCH (http://www.fucktube.com/categories/239/french/videos/1)

Olataro
31-03-2008, 05:01 PM
Thats scary...if so then we are dead...

31-03-2008, 05:03 PM
2) Which means the interviewers will call the group discussion to an end? Not depending on fellow interviewees to close the file as soon as all the points are used up?
If all the points are used up in 10 minutes, he might start another topic. If the discussion keeps going on for 40 minutes, he might decide that it's time for you all to end the discussion, all in the interviewer's hand.

sugarspice
31-03-2008, 05:05 PM
I went through NS 2008 first batch and I got to know some thing about handshake among Malays.

I was completely shocked to find girls can;t shake hands with male jurulatih even during the upacara bermaaf-maafan!! And boys can't touch girls too...

So, if a male Malay officer does not initiate, let's just nod and smile to avoid complications...hahaha...

haikalanuar
31-03-2008, 05:08 PM
In a discussion..
we can detect a leader without
even choosing one..
juz dont let it bother u..

they don't realy need to initiate a handshake..
bcoz if they did..
they will have to shake all the people's..

we can initiate it..
it's not realy a problem..

nadia.g
31-03-2008, 05:20 PM
we have to shake hands? oh really???

sugarspice
31-03-2008, 05:28 PM
In a discussion..
we can detect a leader without
even choosing one..
juz dont let it bother u..

they don't realy need to initiate a handshake..
bcoz if they did..
they will have to shake all the people's..

we can initiate it..
it's not realy a problem..

Agreed.

There's something called 'leader alarm'!!! Now I know!!

Yea, we can initiate handshake but remember not to male Malay officers, guyz!! (unless they initiate first lar)

haikalanuar
31-03-2008, 05:29 PM
well..
for guyz..only shake male officers..
for girls..female officers..

sugarspice
31-03-2008, 05:33 PM
well..
for guyz..only shake male officers..
for girls..female officers..

Yea, correct.

Oh yea, can we hug? Malays like to hug right? -everyone was hugging during upacara bermaaf-maafan during my NS...:lol

haikalanuar
31-03-2008, 05:36 PM
Yea, correct.

Oh yea, can we hug? Malays like to hug right? -everyone was hugging during upacara bermaaf-maafan during my NS...:lol

hug..
wow ..what for..
not appropriate for the interview..

nobody
31-03-2008, 05:38 PM
OMG! A warm hug? Who on earth dare to do that when hand shake is already posting a conflict here??!!

So, to conclude all, does it mean that NEVER HAND SHAKE TO MALAY OF THE OPPOSITE SEX UNLESS THEY INITIATE IT?

(No offense and not creating any racial discrimination, just trying to know each culture better)
Pissing babe (http://www.fucktube.com/categories/818/babe/videos/1)

31-03-2008, 05:39 PM
well, it depends.. its initiative.. though the Malay custom are more reserved in which a Malay girl is not to shake hands with a Malay guy, but there's no hardfast rules saying that its forbidden for Malay guys to shake hands with females of other races.. so i would suggest that you (female) should offer your handshake first and do the formal greetings first. it gives better impression and shows confidence in you..

and for hugs, i'd say not. its a formal event and handshakes are the formal ones.. unless u know the officers more personally(ie personal connection), then its fine to hug them..

Sunsoarelendil
31-03-2008, 05:41 PM
I am going for the JPA interview this wee and i am not sure what to expect and what to do??

Please Help...

bartimaeus
31-03-2008, 05:43 PM
if ure a guy dont shake hands with tudung malay girls.. do shake hands with non tudung malay girls
the opposite is not true.. if ure a girl, do shake hands with malay guys even if they wear songkok haha

nobody
31-03-2008, 05:44 PM
well, it depends.. its initiative.. though the Malay custom are more reserved in which a Malay girl is not to shake hands with a Malay guy, but there's no hardfast rules saying that its forbidden for Malay guys to shake hands with females of other races.. so i would suggest that you (female) should offer your handshake first and do the formal greetings first. it gives better impression and shows confidence in you..

and for hugs, i'd say not. its a formal event and handshakes are the formal ones.. unless u know the officers more personally(ie personal connection), then its fine to hug them..
Which means, it is okay for me as a chinese girl to hand shake with every interviewer regardless of their gender and race?
HERBALAIRE REVIEWS (http://vaporizers.net/herbalaire-vaporizer)

bartimaeus
31-03-2008, 05:48 PM
Which means, it is okay for me as a chinese girl to hand shake with every interviewer regardless of their gender and race?

Yeah giv hand shake to all of em..

haikalanuar
31-03-2008, 05:49 PM

I dont think so..

If you want to..
let the other female in your group do it first..

If not..a smile is enough

Olataro
31-03-2008, 05:49 PM
Ya. but no hugs or kisses...this is malaysia, not france X()X

nobody
31-03-2008, 05:54 PM
OMG! Why is it so hard to decide on this "hand-shake" rule? Any pro-handshaker here to give advice?
Vaporite Solo (http://www.vaporshop.com/solo-vaporizer.html)

bartimaeus
31-03-2008, 05:54 PM
refer post #321

haikalanuar
31-03-2008, 05:57 PM
well..some of the officers might be hesitant..
when u want to shake hands..
u dont want that to happen :P

to be on the safe site..
just smile~haha

nobody
31-03-2008, 06:05 PM
Maybe the topic "hand-shake rule" will make the topic of the group discussion...it is sooooooo argumentative...

After all, since there isn't any specific answer or golden rule to follow, what I think is "it all depends on you"...lame...
Nash-Kelvinator (http://www.dodge-wiki.com/wiki/Nash-Kelvinator)

Olataro
31-03-2008, 06:06 PM
X()X but u cant shake the hands of malay girls though.............

nobody
31-03-2008, 06:07 PM
but I'm a girl too! I think I won't be suspected as a lesbian if i do so, rite?
Free amateur streaming (http://www.fucktube.com/)

bartimaeus
31-03-2008, 06:08 PM
yes u can.. if theyre non tudung that is... they wont hesitate trust me.. if theyre with tudung however, jus give them a smile... if ure a girl, salam everyone

Olataro
31-03-2008, 06:11 PM
no i mean i cant do that not u. girls are okay to shake girls. Juz dun hug........(its gross if someone u dun know suddenly hug u)

haikalanuar
31-03-2008, 06:12 PM
but I'm a girl too! I think I won't be suspected as a lesbian if i do so, rite?

har..
girl shaking hands with girl is a lesbian??
what makes u think like dat..
unless u are :P

u want to give hand shake or not depends on the situation..
n urself..
other people have their own opinion..
stick to ur own..

Olataro
31-03-2008, 06:22 PM
har..
girl shaking hands with girl is a lesbian??
what makes u think like dat..
unless u are :P

u want to give hand shake or not depends on the situation..
n urself..
other people have their own opinion..
stick to ur own..

Hahha....wanted to say that but i was afraid of being flamed :))

31-03-2008, 07:34 PM
For those who apply for sastera dan kemanusiaan,(humanity) i think this article can helps us to gain better understanding on humanity course!

Having learned more about the myths and stories of Western civilization, I am understanding more how study of the humanities (art, history, and literature) can be used to help people better understand and communicate with one another. It is obvious that the study of humanities is not just a college course, but it is an ongoing process and practice in life.

The humanities can first be used to understand the past which has created the present. The culture which we have was shaped by the past. Facts, findings, and literature of even thousands of years ago have influenced our world today. Knowing this past can allow people to understand our present; knowing how we came to this present helps us to communicate about it and the future.

The study of the humanities can also be used to realize differing interpretations of life and history. Studying facts of the past helps to understand literature of the past. Art reflects the cultures of the past, and shows how we achieved what we have today. For example, the Song of Roland was very biased about the Saracens (Muslims). If one only studied literature, they would have a totally skewed interpretation of who the Muslims were. By studying history though, we know that the battle in this literature wasn't even against Muslims. Also by studying history and religion we can see how Islam developed and what it really is. This is just one example of how the comprehensive study of the humanities can be used to understand the world, and to communicate fairly and intelligently with others in the world.

The humanities are not just part of the college's curriculum. The study of the humanities teaches one how to study and look at how the past developed and how it has impacted today's world. The humanities allows people of different cultures to communicate and understand their sometimes common pasts but present differences. The humanities shows how different disciplines affect and complement one another. Finally, the study of the humanities shows that this study is ongoing and continual, constantly evolving and shaping.

Dont u all think humanity is a good course>

Olataro
31-03-2008, 07:46 PM
nice. how bout engineering?

31-03-2008, 07:50 PM
Preparation on jpa scholarships oso go by the way we learn englisn
learning english can ve sometiimes complicated and confused as this language is so complex.
So as a preparation to jpa interview,these few common words we must take note on while writing essay or spaeking to interviewer..
sometimes the interviewer may test on us the common and easily confused english words..

Exp as follow:

affect / effect
Effect is usually a noun that means a result or the power to produce a result: ?The sound of the falling rain had a calming effect, nearly putting me to sleep.? Affect is usually a verb that means to have an influence on: ?His loud humming was affecting my ability to concentrate.? Note that effect can also be a verb meaning to bring about or execute: ?The speaker's somber tone effected a dampening in the general mood of the audience.?

all right / alright
Although alright is widely used, it is considered nonstandard English. As the American Heritage Dictionary notes, it's not ?all right to use alright.?

all together / altogether
All together is applied to people or things that are being treated as a group. ?We put the pots and pans all together on the shelf.? All together is the form that must be used if the sentence can be reworded so that all and together are separated by other words: ?We put all the pots and pans together on the shelf.? Altogether is used to mean entirely: ?I am altogether pleased to be receiving this award.?

allusion / illusion
Allusion is a noun that means an indirect reference: ?The speech made allusions to the final report.? Illusion is a noun that means a misconception: ?The policy is designed to give an illusion of reform.?

alternately / alternatively
Alternately is an adverb that means in turn; one after the other: ?We alternately spun the wheel in the game.? Alternatively is an adverb that means on the other hand; one or the other: ?You can choose a large bookcase or, alternatively, you can buy two small ones.?

beside / besides
Beside is a preposition that means next to: ?Stand here beside me.? Besides is an adverb that means also: ?Besides, I need to tell you about the new products my company offers.?

bimonthly / semimonthly
Bimonthly is an adjective that means every two months: ?I brought the cake for the bimonthly office party.? Bimonthly is also a noun that means a publication issued every two months: ?The company publishes several popular bimonthlies.? Semimonthly is an adjective that means happening twice a month: ?We have semimonthly meetings on the 1st and the 15th.?

capital / capitol
The city or town that is the seat of government is called the capital; the building in which the legislative assembly meets is the capitol. The term capital can also refer to an accumulation of wealth or to a capital letter.

cite / site
Cite is a verb that means to quote as an authority or example: ?I cited several eminent scholars in my study of water resources.? It also means to recognize formally: ?The public official was cited for service to the city.? It can also mean to summon before a court of law: ?Last year the company was cited for pollution violations.? Site is a noun meaning location: ?They chose a new site for the factory just outside town.?

complement / compliment
Complement is a noun or verb that means something that completes or makes up a whole: ?The red sweater is a perfect complement to the outfit.? Compliment is a noun or verb that means an expression of praise or admiration: ?I received compliments about my new outfit.?

comprise / compose
According to the traditional rule, the whole comprises the parts, and the parts compose the whole. Thus, the board comprises five members, whereas five members compose (or make up) the board. It is also correct to say that the board is composed (not comprised) of five members.

concurrent / consecutive
Concurrent is an adjective that means simultaneous or happening at the same time as something else: ?The concurrent strikes of several unions crippled the economy.? Consecutive means successive or following one after the other: ?The union called three consecutive strikes in one year.?

connote / denote
Connote is a verb that means to imply or suggest: ?The word ?espionage? connotes mystery and intrigue.? Denote is a verb that means to indicate or refer to specifically: ?The symbol for ?pi? denotes the number 3.14159.?

convince / persuade
Strictly speaking, one convinces a person that something is true but persuades a person to do something. ?Pointing out that I was overworked, my friends persuaded [not convinced] me to take a vacation. Now that I'm relaxing on the beach with my book, I am convinced [not persuaded] that they were right.? Following this rule, convince should not be used with an infinitive.

council / councilor / counsel / counselor
A councilor is a member of a council, which is an assembly called together for discussion or deliberation. A counselor is one who gives counsel, which is advice or guidance. More specifically, a counselor can be an attorney or a supervisor at camp.

discreet / discrete
Discreet is an adjective that means prudent, circumspect, or modest: ?Her discreet handling of the touchy situation put him at ease.? Discrete is an adjective that means separate or individually distinct: ?Each company in the conglomerate operates as a discrete entity.?

disinterested / uninterested
Disinterested is an adjective that means unbiased or impartial: ?We appealed to the disinterested mediator to facilitate the negotiations.? Uninterested is an adjective that means not interested or indifferent: ?They seemed uninterested in our offer.?

elicit / illicit
Elicit is a verb that means to draw out. Illicit is an adjective meaning unlawful. ?No matter how hard I tried to elicit a few scandalous stories from her, she kept all knowledge of illicit goings-on discreetly to herself. ?

emigrant / immigrant
Emigrant is a noun that means one who leaves one's native country to settle in another: ?The emigrants spent four weeks aboard ship before landing in Los Angeles.? Immigrant is a noun that means one who enters and settles in a new country: ?Most of the immigrants easily found jobs.? One emigrates from a place; one immigrates to another.

farther / further
Farther is an adjective and adverb that means to or at a more distant point: ?We drove 50 miles today; tomorrow, we will travel 100 miles farther.? Further is an adjective and adverb that means to or at a greater extent or degree: ?We won't be able to suggest a solution until we are further along in our evaluation of the problem.? It can also mean in addition or moreover: ?They stated further that they would not change the policy.?

few / less
Few is an adjective that means small in number. It is used with countable objects: ?This department has few employees.? Less is an adjective that means small in amount or degree. It is used with objects of indivisible mass: ?Which jar holds less water??

figuratively / literally
Figuratively is an adverb that means metaphorically or symbolically: ?Happening upon the shadowy figure, they figuratively jumped out of their shoes.? Literally is an adverb that means actually: ?I'm not exaggerating when I say I literally fell off my chair.? It also means according to the exact meaning of the words: ?I translated the Latin passage literally.?

flammable / inflammable
These two words are actually synonyms, both meaning easily set on fire. The highly flammable (inflammable) fuel was stored safely in a specially built tank. Use nonflammable to mean not flammable.

flaunt / flout
To flaunt means to show off shamelessly: ?Eager to flaunt her knowledge of a wide range of topics, Helene dreamed of appearing on a TV trivia show.? To flout means to show scorn or contempt for: ?Lewis disliked boarding school and took every opportunity to flout the house rules.?

foreword / forward
Foreword is a noun that means an introductory note or preface: ?In my foreword I explained my reasons for writing the book.? Forward is an adjective or adverb that means toward the front: ?I sat in the forward section of the bus.? ?Please step forward when your name is called.? Forward is also a verb that means to send on: ?Forward the letter to the customer's new address.?

founder / flounder
In its primary sense founder means to sink below the surface of the water: ?The ship foundered after colliding with an iceberg.? By extension, founder means to fail utterly. Flounder means to move about clumsily, or to act with confusion. A good synonym for flounder is blunder: ?After floundering through the first half of the course, Amy finally passed with the help of a tutor.?

hanged / hung
Hanged is the past tense and past participle of hang when the meaning is to execute by suspending by the neck: ?They hanged the prisoner for treason.? ?The convicted killer was hanged at dawn.? Hung is the past tense and participle of hang when the meaning is to suspend from above with no support from below: ?I hung the painting on the wall.? ?The painting was hung at a crooked angle.?

historic / historical
In general usage, historic refers to what is important in history, while historical applies more broadly to whatever existed in the past whether it was important or not: ?a historic summit meeting between the prime ministers;? ?historical buildings torn down in the redevelopment.?
i.e. / e.g.
The abbreviation e.g. means for example (from Latin exempli gratia): ?Her talents were legion and varied (e.g., deep sea diving, speed reading, bridge, and tango dancing).? The abbreviation i.e. means that is or in other words (from Latin id est): ?The joy of my existence (i.e., my stamp collection) imbues my life with meaning.?

it's / its
It's is a contraction for it is, whereas its is the possessive form of it: ?It's a shame that we cannot talk about its size.?

laid / lain / lay
Laid is the past tense and the past participle of the verb lay and not the past tense of lie. Lay is the past tense of the verb lie and lain is the past participle: ?He laid his books down and lay down on the couch, where he has lain for an hour.?

lend / loan
Although some people feel loan should only be used as a noun, lend and loan are both acceptable as verbs in standard English: ?Can you lend (loan) me a dollar?? However, only lend should be used in figurative senses: ?Will you lend me a hand??

lightening / lightning
Lightening is a verb that means to illuminate; lightning is a noun referring to the electrical charges the cause flashes of light during storms: ?The lightning struck, lightening the sky.?
nonplussed
Meaning perplexed or bewildered, nonplussed is very often thought to mean just the opposite?calm, unruffled, cool-as-a-cucumber. A common mistake is to think the word means not ?plussed,? but no such word exists. Nonplussed originates from the Latin non (no) and plus (more, further), and means a state in which no more can be done?one is so perplexed that further action is impossible. ?The lexicographer grew increasingly agitated and nonplussed by the frequency with which she noted the misuse of nonplussed.?

passed / past
Passed is the past tense and past participle of pass. Past refers to time gone by; it is also a preposition meaning beyond. ?In the past decade, I passed over countless opportunities; I was determined not to let them get past me again.?
penultimate
Meaning ?next to last,? penultimate is often mistakenly used to mean ?the very last,? or the ultimate: ?The perfectionist was crestfallen when he was awarded the penultimate prize; the grand prize went to another.?

precede / proceed
The verb precede means to come before. Proceed means to move forward. ?He preceded me into the room; once I caught up with him I proceeded to tell him off.?

principal / principle
Principal is a noun that means a person who holds a high position or plays an important role: ?The school principal has 20 years of teaching experience.? Principal is also an adjective that means chief or leading: ?The necessity of moving to another city was the principal reason I turned down the job offer.? Principle is a noun that means a rule or standard: ?They refused to compromise their principles.?

stationary / stationery
Stationary is an adjective that means fixed or unmoving: ?They maneuvered around the stationary barrier in the road.? Stationery is a noun that means writing materials: ?We printed the letters on company stationery.?

their / there / they're
Their is the possessive form of they; there refers to place; and they're is the contraction of they are. ?They're going there because their mother insisted they become proficient in Serbo-Croatian.?

venal / venial
Venal is an adjective that means corruptible; venial is an adjective that means a slight flaw or offense: ?In the Catholic church, a venial sin is one that is minor and pardonable, whereas a mortal sin is a serious transgression involving more venal or depraved behavior.?

who's / whose
Who's is the contraction of who is. Whose is the possessive form of who. ?Who's going to figure out whose job it is to clean the stables??

your / you're
Your is the possessive form of you; you're is the contraction you are. ?If you're planning on swimming, then be sure to bring your life vest and flippers.?

Take note on that.
ps: it may be seen by everyone as a petty questions, but it is always safe to take note on it! Hopes will help fellow recomers who intend to brush up their english..

insertusername
31-03-2008, 07:54 PM
Would most of the interviews be in english?

Vaan
31-03-2008, 08:28 PM
Obviously, most of the interviews will be in english. Come on, they are sending their scholars to overseas. What good will the scholars do if they can't converse in English as English is the number one international language.

dennisssj
31-03-2008, 08:29 PM

It depends really.. malay ladies do hv exceptions.. today i went for my motor test and got to know with a few malay ladies and guys(with the aim to improve my Malay speaking skills.. haha). Then i said i was afraid of failing my motor(and all sorts of stories).. then before the ladies went back, they shake my hands(since they initiated it) to wish me good luck.. but anyway(*out of topic*), i passed my motor test! heh heh heh!

dennis~~

cathy
31-03-2008, 08:33 PM
the slip temuduga got stated that we need to bring our parents' slip gaji...but the borang pengesahan pendapatan also say need document sokongan like slip gaji...so totally i need to bring how many slip gaji???

vincent ho
31-03-2008, 09:08 PM
the slip temuduga got stated that we need to bring our parents' slip gaji...but the borang pengesahan pendapatan also say need document sokongan like slip gaji...so totally i need to bring how many slip gaji???

So, see whether u can prepare how many... If u can prepare two is better, he will dont care how many u submit. No matter how, the important things is u must ensure u have the slip when they require the slip. :laugh

Sorry to u again!!

haikalanuar
31-03-2008, 09:22 PM
I am going for the JPA interview this wee and i am not sure what to expect and what to do??

Please Help...

go to the scholarship section..
there are tons of tips n advice for u

phoenix1892
31-03-2008, 09:27 PM
Can anyone help me please?

I just wanna ask if I can compiled the photostated copies of the document in another clear folder? And just give the clear folder to them after that. But I'll also be bringing the original documents in another clear folder...Can I do that? I figured (actually my dad) it'll look neater and easier...

And, for the borang kehadiran program pendedahan kerjaya doktor, do I need 2 copies of that too?

Thanks in advance...and sorry if this is not the place to ask this

fuwei
01-04-2008, 01:49 AM
Hello, may i ask, during the discussion, do we need to mention out our opinions to the interviewers or jz among the group member ?
chechow, any idea ?

nobody
01-04-2008, 02:22 AM
Since it is more towards group discussion,i think we mention our opinions among the group member. However, there were cases where interviewers post question in the middle of the interview. In that case, answer to the interviewers but at the same time do some eye contact with the group member to know their opinions.

Please correct me if I'm wrong.
Public risky (http://www.fucktube.com/categories/939/risky/videos/1)

AtMostFear
01-04-2008, 04:42 AM
if you get the chance to handshake with the interviewer, try to give a firm and confident handshake. not too soft and not hard. who knows it might change their mind about you.

leechinyiun
01-04-2008, 09:09 AM
Hey.................
May i know more information about d jpa interview???????
Thanks........................

iryna
01-04-2008, 09:10 AM
owh!!!getting nervous!!!!

sugarspice
01-04-2008, 09:14 AM
Hey.................
May i know more information about d jpa interview???????
Thanks........................

Hello Chin Yiun, I know you want to know more about JPA interview but this isn't the right thread to post your questions. This thread is solely for scholarship holders to have their particulars written down.

Please refer to the following threads, hope they help.

http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=6067

http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=3052

Vaan
01-04-2008, 10:38 AM
Hey, calm down. You are passing the nervousness to me. lol

haikalanuar
01-04-2008, 10:40 AM
Hello, may i ask, during the discussion, do we need to mention out our opinions to the interviewers or jz among the group member ?
chechow, any idea ?

among group member..
group discussion right..
interviewers will only
observe ur group..
be outstanding n recognized!

Olataro
01-04-2008, 01:51 PM
Hmm...i wonder wat should you do if you interview says ur cocky, stupid, etc.....is it a bad sign?

And how in the world is the group interview conducted? Is it okay to froce someone out to present?

haikalanuar
01-04-2008, 01:53 PM
Hmm...i wonder wat should you do if you interview says ur cocky, stupid, etc.....is it a bad sign?

And how in the world is the group interview conducted? Is it okay to froce someone out to present?

of course it's a bad sign..

it's not up to yoou to force it on others..
the interviewer will personally
ask them to present..

Olataro
01-04-2008, 01:58 PM
X()X

this is scary.....i am terrified

01-04-2008, 02:04 PM

Is that a rhetorical question?

Don't worry. There WILL be a volunteer of there is a group discussion.

fuwei
01-04-2008, 02:09 PM
hei fuwei r u bean wei's brother?
Anyway if u r not, what course r u applying 4?
Where is ur interview?

erm, ya...
i'm binwei's bro.
Who are you plz ?
I'm applying for diploma japan engineering.
My interview is at University malaysia terengganu.

Olataro
01-04-2008, 02:19 PM
Any good place for electronic engineering other than japan?

Shawn_Paul
01-04-2008, 02:38 PM
If they ask you "Any questions?"
Is it advisable to ask them a question or two?
If so, what?

ronaldo7
01-04-2008, 02:42 PM
If they ask you "Any questions?"
Is it advisable to ask them a question or two?
If so, what?

just ask about the bonds

nobody
01-04-2008, 03:47 PM
What are the qualities they are looking for in JPA interview this year?

Leadership? Communication skills? Team work?

Could anyone please enlighten me?
Sumo (http://www.toyota-wiki.com/wiki/Subaru_Sumo)

sugarspice
01-04-2008, 09:35 PM
What are the qualities they are looking for in JPA interview this year?

Leadership? Communication skills? Team work?

Could anyone please enlighten me?

No team work. This year they wanna be fair. They go one by one, meaning EVERYONE gets a chance and no need any team work or so.

org_jhr
01-04-2008, 09:53 PM
anybody can help me???

my course is science and my interview is on thursday.

actually, i am not really clear about this course, can anybody tell me the truth..

Vaan
01-04-2008, 10:41 PM
anybody can help me???

actually, i am not really clear about this course, can anybody tell me the truth..

Search the net. I mean really search the net for it. I am sure you are bound to get something out of the net.

YvonM
01-04-2008, 11:52 PM
anybody can help me???

You mean your course is just Science, that is all eh? Gee..
Bachelor of Science? Man..
Tell you what, go on to any university website, idk.. UM/USM/Newcastle Unviersity/QU/your pick. Search course: Science.
Worse come to worse, go to UCAS, type Science for the choice of your course. See what you get. Rather than Google-ing 'science', that will take up to eons and I doubt you'll get much at the end of the day.

On UCAS, jut click on any courses related to Science, say Bachelor of Science, you will get the rough idea of what to expect in your course.

Hope this helps.. :amuse
And all the best with your interview.

extell
03-04-2008, 09:52 AM
For those with specific countries of interest, eg. Eng in Japan, be prepared to answer questions regarding the country. Don't go all blank...learn some japanese for gods sake and say that you're willing to learn a new language.
Hope this helps, as I heard many students were questioned when they brought up 'where they wanna study'.

jun
03-04-2008, 08:25 PM
For those with specific countries of interest, eg. Eng in Japan, be prepared to answer questions regarding the country. Don't go all blank...learn some japanese for gods sake and say that you're willing to learn a new language.
Hope this helps, as I heard many students were questioned when they brought up 'where they wanna study'.

actually in my interview place(merlimau melaka..) they rarely asked about why u take the course and where you wanna study...but i do agree with you that we should show them that we are interested in learning a language...try greating them in japanese or german!!! tats what i did ...i applied for german engineering and i greated them in german...it shows that you are really determined to get the scholarship!!!

extell
03-04-2008, 11:22 PM
actually in my interview place(merlimau melaka..) they rarely asked about why u take the course and where you wanna study...but i do agree with you that we should show them that we are interested in learning a language...try greating them in japanese or german!!! tats what i did ...i applied for german engineering and i greated them in german...it shows that you are really determined to get the scholarship!!!
Cool~ *thumbs up* Way to go :)
yeah, in my interview, none were asked to.

evan89
04-04-2008, 01:39 PM
go to germany must learn german ooo... think carefully

fuwei
04-04-2008, 03:52 PM
Oh yea~~~
Just passed my JPA interview session.
Nothing to be scared about. Just like having a chat with the interviewers.
But the question that really shock me is : " Terangkan demokrasi parlimen" -_-!!
but i just said as what i remembered.
Finally, the JPA interviewers advice : " talk loud and be confident" (main key to success in any interview)

extell
14-04-2008, 08:49 PM
Oh yea~~~
Just passed my JPA interview session.
Nothing to be scared about. Just like having a chat with the interviewers.
But the question that really shock me is : " Terangkan demokrasi parlimen" -_-!!
but i just said as what i remembered.
Finally, the JPA interviewers advice : " talk loud and be confident" (main key to success in any interview)
True *nod nod* Talk steadily and don't be pressured if you're bombarded with tough questions. Answer politely and make enough eye contacts. I have been to interviews where the other candidate was looking on the floor...Instantly, the interviewers lost interest in her. :amazed

chewyee5911
15-04-2008, 09:04 PM
Hi everyone,i am new comer here. and i nid help....
i got a interview in this thusday....
the course is Accounting..
any1 can help me the way to handle the interview?

princessanicole
15-04-2008, 09:23 PM
Hi everyone,i am new comer here. and i nid help....
i got a interview in this thusday....
the course is Accounting..
any1 can help me the way to handle the interview?

what interview?? taylor's world class scholarship??

YvonM
17-04-2008, 03:59 AM
True *nod nod* Talk steadily and don't be pressured if you're bombarded with tough questions. Answer politely and make enough eye contacts. I have been to interviews where the other candidate was looking on the floor...Instantly, the interviewers lost interest in her. :amazed

Haha. I agree man.
And yknow what, just yesterday I've received a hate comment from some anonymous who has been to the JPA interview before on my post regarding my JPA interview. Eye contacts and confident, thats what I've said. Whole lot more, I even said it is for you to take my advice. Im just sharing right, I mean we all are, obviously over here at Recom. Our friend here got so emotional he/she bombarded me for sharing what I've been through. And LOL! I did it for friends/those who came up to me for help. Not for this person who has been to the interview 3 years ago.

Srsly.
And this anonymous said that, being smart in life is not everything.:notrust
Uh, I beg to differ.
Hater said he/she cracked a joke in his/her interview and made a lasting impression. Said we shouldn't talk much on topics/questions brought forward.

Waht do you guys think? :huh

adamhan
17-04-2008, 10:55 AM
Srsly.
And this anonymous said that, being smart in life is not everything.:notrust
Uh, I beg to differ.
Hater said he/she cracked a joke in his/her interview and made a lasting impression. Said we shouldn't talk much on topics/questions brought forward.

Waht do you guys think? :huh

I think whoever he/she is, doesnt want to share knowledge. You gain more by sharing, theres nothing to lose, the more you give the more you get.

Discussion on topics/questions brought forward gives you a basis/platform/guideline if you're new to these interviews. Its research, its not like you want to go into the interview room unprepared right?

Your academics is a pre-requisite to obtain scholarships and many other things. True its not everything but its the most of everything excluding all the other special cases.

Well, people have different opinions, dont hate just disagree. haha. Still theres more to life than this.

YvonM
17-04-2008, 11:19 AM
I think whoever he/she is, doesnt want to share knowledge. You gain more by sharing, theres nothing to lose, the more you give the more you get.

Discussion on topics/questions brought forward gives you a basis/platform/guideline if you're new to these interviews. Its research, its not like you want to go into the interview room unprepared right?

Your academics is a pre-requisite to obtain scholarships and many other things. True its not everything but its the most of everything excluding all the other special cases.

Well, people have different opinions, dont hate just disagree. haha. Still theres more to life than this.

Haha. Word~
I wished you can tell her this man. I have no idea why was I her target anyway out of how many thousands of scholar out there.
Still, she ain't going to stop me from sharing. Like you've said,

You gain more by sharing, theres nothing to lose, the more you give the more you get.

adamhan
17-04-2008, 11:38 AM
[QUOTE=YvonM;163581]I have no idea why was I her target anyway out of how many thousands of scholar out there.[QUOTE]

Jealous prolly, but she has her reasons :P

I had Khazanahs interview this year, 1-1 with the human capital director, he was kind enough to give feedback. Confident, polite and humble, good communcation skills is important in an interview. He noticed i was tense though, but he said it was alright, its expected and natural. He did stress on being honest. Managed the 2nd round this sat.

Ive had people facing me and a finger in my face but their eyes was totally somewhere else, everyone would lose interest right?

artistic1412
28-04-2008, 05:28 PM
hey i got 3rd stage khazanah! a 1 on 1 5 mins interview with the executives..

any tips? quite scared and hell nervous..

cherrol
25-05-2008, 02:30 AM
hi there!
any ytm scholars around.
i'm attending my interview soon, so i need help.
can tell me about the interview+ bengkel thingy?
thanks.

Leen
29-05-2008, 07:36 AM
Come on, people. There are tonnes of answers to the same questions in this thread. Try go through some pages and find them instead of asking the same questions over and over again.

For interviews, try to keep your calm. Don't act all mighty and arrogant. That's the first pitfall. When they ask you certain questions, try answering them in creative manner instead of just normal expected answers.

As for attire, wear anything that you think is "professional" though I really don't see a difference between wearing jeans/T-shirt and shirt/slack. For me, Steve Jobs does a way better job in managing Apple Inc. than most of our little companies but he still wear turtle neck and jeans all the time. What's with the obsession toward professionalism anyway?

For those who need to go through certain "bengkel", try to participate as much as you can. Try to get people notice your presence without trying too hard. It is important that you stand out among the crowd because in a huge crowd, most probably the interviewers will prefer those that they know. So try to make them know you and portray your good side while you're at it.

archer
17-06-2008, 03:08 PM
I`m applying for CN Yang Scholarship and asked to take an interview at June 19th.Is someone able to give some specific advice?My first choice is chemistry&biomolecular (chemistry@<hidden>) engineering,my second choice is environmental engineering,and my third choice is physics&applied physisc.NO fourth and fifth choices.
Thanks in advance.

noriepie
20-11-2008, 01:20 AM
heeey!! so i went for my very first interview of any kind yesterday - and it was a scholarship interview. :)

What interview: UEM Group Scholarship 2008: Local Universities
What i did to prepare: Researched about UEM on their website, looked at this forum for tips, and basically talked to my family and ask them what they did for their interviews - and this helped a lot because they know more of my habits than anybody else.

Also, on the ride over, my dad and my sister gave me practice questions, like basic ones and just fixed or gave suggestions for answers. it turned out to be the same questions i was asked on the interviews. So practice the basic questions. Eg "why do you think you deserve so and so scholarship?"

u know the basics: be confident but not cocky, smile, don't use hand gestures too much, focus on the question, don't repeat what you wrote on the resume but just pass through it. Focus on the question is important.

I applied for UIA school, biotechnology
i wore a nice white/silverish blouse, and loose black pants and black shoes-not sure if it was the right attire, but it seemed fine.
---------------------------------------------------------------------

9.10 am - write for 20 minutes and the prompt was something like this: "in a willing-taker-willing-giver situation, it is highly unlikely for these cases to be reported. Tell us some ways to help us eradicate the roots of corruption"

Then they put us in the waiting room, and during that time I did a confidence visualization. You know, when you imagine what you want to happen in there, and when the time comes, you follow it! it helped me calm down a lot.
finally my name was called.

Three interviewers, 2 malay men (one was in the website-UEM management chart under Yayasan UEM, CEO and among other things), and a chinese woman.

Intros my mom said that if they don't invite you to sit down, you stand first. then ask them 'may i sit down'?

"So did you choose UIA because it's close to your house??" [laughs, i joined in]
[I]No, actually the campus I'm going to is in Kuantan
"ooh, kuantan, so tell me how did you manage to get into the international education system?"
told them life story..bla bla bla
"oh, so what subjects did you take there?"
It wasn't so much of subjects, i took the IB diploma. I'm not sure whether you're familiar with it?
"why don't you tell us a bit about the IB diploma"
Okay, bla bla bla, have to do this, do that. bla bla
[more questions about IB diploma, in which I promoted the programme and myself]
"So here comes the million dollar question [smile], why do you think you deserve our UEM scholarship?"
[smile] Well, why not? [everybody laughs]
"haha, that's not the answer I was looking for, haha"
Well I think i deserve this scholarship because as you can see, i am a well-rounded person. I not only strive to achieve academically, but i also strive to achieve in my personal activities and co-curricullar activities. bla bla bla, also gained good skills such as bla bla
"Why don't you give me an example of your leadership skill"
bla bla bla
"Good, so why did you choose UIA, and biotechnology there"
Well for biotech, I chose that because bla bla bal...and for UIA because it's bla bla bla good programme bla bla
"What do you know about UEM"
Well I know that UEM stands for bla bla bla, and it plays an influential role in Malaysia and bla bla bla, works in engineering and bla bla
"As you know, when you recieve our scholarship, you will have to work for us' [nods] "tell us where do you think or see yourself fit in in our company"
I know part of UEM deals with waste management and biotech bla bla bla
"So you don't work in labs?"
Well, if i can, I'd like to do both. I know I like lab work because i've done that bla bla bla but i think i also prefer to be around talking to people
"Do you know what a UEM scholar gets?"
No, not really
"Well, bla bla bla"
- then he talked about suggesting to live in the uni hostel for the first year, and talked about himself and why going to malaysian school is better for more opportunity, and more about the company, and what they will do for UEM scholarship students, and a lot more -
"So, what do you think?"
Yes!
"You wouldn't mind us bothering you for the 3 months?"
No actually, when I hear about what you're saying, I'm actually getting pretty excited!
"Great, that's what we want to hear. Any questions"
When do we know whether we have the scholarship or not?
"December, so how did you think you did today?"
I think I did pretty well, [smile] I'm quite happy, thank you soo much!
"okay [nod], that's it, thank you"

and that was it - end of story
pretty long interview huh? a lot of bla blas. hope this helps though! and hope i get the scholarship! lol good luck everybody

Joveen
13-12-2008, 05:50 PM
Hi everyone..I'm new here.. would just like to know if it is good to reveal a bit of my health background (I have health problems but not too severe) if i were to apply for medicine? I mean when the interviewers ask me why do i want to be a doctor? don't get me wrong.. i am not hoping for their sympathies..it is just that it is related to why I'm so keen in taking up the medicine course..

iman0711
09-02-2009, 06:47 PM
i am an spm-leaver..i'am now under intensive japanese and english lang. course by YPM..if i am succeed in my spm and the test here..MAYBE i ll get JAD program..here's d question..if i apply for jpa or other scholarship,,,must i tell em that i am currently bond to this scholarship????what should i answer if they ask???

09-02-2009, 07:39 PM
Hi everyone..I'm new here.. would just like to know if it is good to reveal a bit of my health background (I have health problems but not too severe) if i were to apply for medicine? I mean when the interviewers ask me why do i want to be a doctor? don't get me wrong.. i am not hoping for their sympathies..it is just that it is related to why I'm so keen in taking up the medicine course..
Of course it's fine as long as your health condition doesn't hinder you from providing healthcare service to your patients.

10-02-2009, 01:29 AM
i am an spm-leaver..i'am now under intensive japanese and english lang. course by YPM..if i am succeed in my spm and the test here..MAYBE i ll get JAD program..here's d question..if i apply for jpa or other scholarship,,,must i tell em that i am currently bond to this scholarship????what should i answer if they ask???If I'm not mistaken, there is a column in scholarship application form for you to fill in, whether you are under any other scholarships...

12-03-2009, 09:36 AM
Yes. There are only officers from various JPA department. You'll have to do a personality test but no psychologists involved during the interview.
I was told that my panel's got a psychologist at the front desk, but i guess it depends. But don't worry it doesn't matter: they're really nice.

Athersin
12-03-2009, 09:43 AM
Psychologist at the font desk? !! Dont think so! The personality test is as what we did online last year.

CCY_to_the_top
12-03-2009, 01:58 PM
ah!! 14A1!!

markwongsk
12-03-2009, 05:08 PM
ah!! 14A1!!

CCY broadcasting everywhere =D :oh

So we play along...

CONGRATULATIONS!!!!! :amuse

subzero0c
13-03-2009, 04:08 PM
Which interview you all discussing?
Cant get Khazanah...T.T..only got 9A 1 B(only 5 A1...)
So I'm applying for JPA,Petronas and MEXT only..

SapphireDragon
27-03-2009, 11:32 AM
I was told that my panel's got a psychologist at the front desk, but i guess it depends. But don't worry it doesn't matter: they're really nice.

Wat should i wear? If I wear hawaii pants and slippers, they say its too sloppy. But if I wear a James Bond suit with Rolex watch, I might as well not take the scholarship cuz I look too rich.

27-03-2009, 11:53 AM
Wat should i wear? If I wear hawaii pants and slippers, they say its too sloppy. But if I wear a James Bond suit with Rolex watch, I might as well not take the scholarship cuz I look too rich.

this question's probably been answered a million times already.just wear formal attire.just don't go overboard.

27-03-2009, 01:50 PM
Agree with you castle. Reminder for everyone, please read the previous entries before asking anything about attire for the interview.

In fact,we also had given examples. There are better issues can be discussed.

reshasymphonia
05-02-2010, 12:38 PM
I'm going for my very first interview (for an academic scholarship anyways) under MNRB this March and I'd just like to know what kind of questions do they ask basically? My general knowledge isn't that strong so it would help a lot to have a few pointers on what to read up. So far, all I've managed to dig up on MNRB is from its official site, can anyone recommend anywhere else to find more info? Would they ask about questions about our government? (like who's the minister of such and such. I honestly have no idea, but I'm working on it)

This question probably has no link to the thread, but I thought I'd just ask anyway, sicne its been stuck in my head for a very long time and i'd like to clarify. Let's say if I get a scholarship to study in Japan, does that mean my whole course would be in Japanese or do I only learn basic Japanese to communicate with the people there? Thanks a lot!

05-02-2010, 01:20 PM
I'm going for my very first interview (for an academic scholarship anyways) under MNRB this March and I'd just like to know what kind of questions do they ask basically? My general knowledge isn't that strong so it would help a lot to have a few pointers on what to read up. So far, all I've managed to dig up on MNRB is from its official site, can anyone recommend anywhere else to find more info? Would they ask about questions about our government? (like who's the minister of such and such. I honestly have no idea, but I'm working on it)

This question probably has no link to the thread, but I thought I'd just ask anyway, sicne its been stuck in my head for a very long time and i'd like to clarify. Let's say if I get a scholarship to study in Japan, does that mean my whole course would be in Japanese or do I only learn basic Japanese to communicate with the people there? Thanks a lot!

If you got a scholarship to Japan, I think you will have to do your pre-u at Malaysia and continue your studies later in Japan. You will not only learn Japanese language, they will also include stuffs like maths, sciences etc..

Go surf wikipedia if you need general knowledge. :)

05-02-2010, 06:28 PM

Why Japan??? As I know, actuarial science students seldom being sent to Japan and usually being sent to United States, United Kingdom, Australia and Canada.

reshasymphonia
05-02-2010, 06:32 PM
I'm not only considering actuarial science. I'm okay with anything really :P
So I was just wondering if we had to study in Japanese earlier. I'm considering medicine as well since i pretty much love biology and chemy as well. :nod yeah, I know indecisiveness. Hahax

If you got a scholarship to Japan, I think you will have to do your pre-u at Malaysia and continue your studies later in Japan. You will not only learn Japanese language, they will also include stuffs like maths, sciences etc..

Go surf wikipedia if you need general knowledge. :)

That sounds pretty cool. Thanks!

05-02-2010, 09:23 PM
I'm not only considering actuarial science. I'm okay with anything really :P
So I was just wondering if we had to study in Japanese earlier. I'm considering medicine as well since i pretty much love biology and chemy as well. :nod yeah, I know indecisiveness. Hahax

oh okay, that's very good that you have a lot of interests and options for you to choose and pursue. Good luck anyway!!! :)

ricecracker
08-06-2010, 11:48 AM
Hi everyone! I was wondering if there are any of you who have gone through a teleconference interview before. I'm pretty sure teleconference interview = phone call interview, right?

I've got one coming up, so yeah I'm pretty nervous about it cuz I really want to do well for this interview, but I would so much prefer a face-to-face interview :/ I have a feeling I'll be really awkward during this interview. Any advice?

IamSaphiraQueen
24-06-2010, 04:19 PM
Hi everyone! I was wondering if there are any of you who have gone through a teleconference interview before. I'm pretty sure teleconference interview = phone call interview, right?

I've got one coming up, so yeah I'm pretty nervous about it cuz I really want to do well for this interview, but I would so much prefer a face-to-face interview :/ I have a feeling I'll be really awkward during this interview. Any advice?

actually u r luckier this way, at least the interviewer miss out ur non-verbal communication that may show u r nervous ..etc. i think u can prepare some notes for usually asked ques beside u, stay calm and dont sound nervous. speak clearly and listen carefully

kotoral125
26-05-2011, 11:25 AM
Hi,

Good ideal, pls try to keep posting. I like this topic very much and I will digged this one. Tks again.

If you want to get more materials that related to this topic, you can visit: Nurse manager interview questions (http://interviewquestionstoask.info/interview-questions-to-ask-nurse-manager)

Best regards.

cloudychai
11-10-2011, 10:14 AM
hi,i'm new . i'm a form one student. i desperately want to apply the asean scholarship for secondary three students .hope i could get some experience about interviewing that scholarship from anyone here:)