View Full Version : Best Bittorrent Client

kakumei
03-01-2006, 02:48 PM
I've been wondering which client is the best. I'm using BitComet but found out an issue that this client is a big leecher. It suck bandwidth of private trackers. Many want it to be banned...

I was using Azureus, but I found out it is to buggy on my computer. All those NAT problems always occurs. It is due to my stupid Norton Antivirus...

I got nothing against BitComet. It is fast, but I don't know whether it'll stay to upload after complete download...

03-01-2006, 02:59 PM
I'm still using Bit tornado.. simple, light and well pretty much no bugs and doesnt eat to much processing power of my ancient machine.

I tried both azereus and bitcomet and found it to be an overkill for downloading torrents.

masdie
03-01-2006, 03:20 PM
?Torrent is the only one I've used. No installation needed. Very small file. Very small memory usage.

13-01-2006, 05:13 PM
Bitcomet and Shareaza.

Try Shareaza at www.shareaza.com

Free.

13-01-2006, 05:16 PM
and firefox and bittorrent has what in common?

13-01-2006, 05:21 PM
My mistake. Already edited.

kakumei
10-02-2006, 12:48 PM
I tried utorrent, azureus, bitcomet, bit tornado and ABC. I did some comparison to their average download speed on my computer.

utorrent ~ av. of 45 - 60 kbps
azureus ~ av. of 20 - 33 kbps
bitcomet ~ av. of 45 - 65 kbps
bit tornado ~ av. of 70 - 90 kbps

ABC ~ can't tell much for this client.

There are many other factors involved (seeds, peers...) in determining the speed of download. But this is what I see in average of their speed.

I like bit tornado. The problem is that it don't have a user-friendly interface.

*latest update*

kakumei
10-02-2006, 12:53 PM

Are they in the same category?

Firefox = internet browser
Bittorrent = P2P program?

Common?Let's ask those experts in Recom... :D

10-02-2006, 11:28 PM
so far i think utorrent's the best.

btw, kakumei did you forward the bittorent ports to your computer?

i've been averaging about 150Kbps for utorrent so far...if there's alot of seeds like naruto it's about 220Kbps.

kakumei
11-02-2006, 02:15 PM
I don't have any NAT problem when downloading. I think I did forward the port...

There is no way i can reach you speed, weich...it's limited by my maximum bandwidth... :D

Leen
28-02-2006, 10:32 PM
Anyone know anything about bitlord? Is it good too? I am using the bittorent itself. Is that good too? :oops: My friend told me that ABC is superb and I might consider changing a client. Suggestions?

28-02-2006, 10:42 PM
bit comet..hehe..stable and small and fast and doesn't mess up the registry...

day_dreamer
28-02-2006, 10:55 PM
yah, bitcomet rules......a very good program.

01-03-2006, 08:38 AM
Memory hogging?

04-03-2006, 02:09 AM
i don't think firefox did hog that much ram in my system...with 9 tabs open, only 44m..

juventus
04-03-2006, 02:19 AM
I'm using Azureus now. I tried out Bit Torrent. It was slowing down my computer terribly.

Firefox is a web browser, Bit Torrent is not exactly a P2P program, but quite close to it.

In fact, I'm so confused about torrents. I've only recently discovered it and it's great!

Much better than P2P programs anyway.

04-03-2006, 02:18 PM
I'm using Azureus now. I tried out Bit Torrent. It was slowing down my computer terribly.

Firefox is a web browser, Bit Torrent is not exactly a P2P program, but quite close to it.

In fact, I'm so confused about torrents. I've only recently discovered it and it's great!

Much better than P2P programs anyway.
The reason seehua talked about firefox was in response to my "memory hogging" statement.

Bit Torrent is P2P, it only differs from the other P2P softwares in its mechanism where a distribution of file fragments is used optimally to the result of higher overall download speed.

04-03-2006, 03:50 PM
ok.i think reference to firefox here is confusing people out there...hehe...go to the firefox thread if you want to know more about firefox :)

22-08-2007, 06:54 PM
If I'm not mistaken BitComet is banned by many trackers. I noticed that most people are using utorrent and azureus nowadays.

By the way, for people who have no idea what bittorrent is, this is a rather good introduction:

http://lifehacker.com/software/ultranewb/a-beginners-guide-to-bittorrent-285489.php

Continuation of the introduction above:

http://lifehacker.com/software/hack-attack/intermediate-guide-to-bittorrent-286607.php

04-09-2007, 04:19 PM
here 's the comparision between the bit torrent softwares

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_BitTorrent_software

I can see that Azureus has the most 'tick'

04-09-2007, 04:29 PM
Actually, i m new to this bit torrent stuff

I try downloaded 1 bit torrent file (about 16 kB only) .
How do i use it / open it?
(it is a songs folder)

somebody please enlighten me, tq

04-09-2007, 04:37 PM
Do you have any of the bittorrent client installed already? (utorrent, azureus etc)

It will be opened automatically by those clients if it's installed. IF it's not, then you would not be able to download a torrent.

05-09-2007, 09:33 AM
oh, i know already, i downloaded the TORRENT file using my college's computer

i think it is just a shortcut, only 16kB, erm , am i right?

05-09-2007, 02:33 PM
I m using Azureus, can i know the correct method to download songs or movie from the internet?

i have tried out about 5 hours, it is still not working,somebody please teach me , tq

05-09-2007, 02:38 PM
somebody helps me , please

05-09-2007, 03:44 PM
BitComet 0.70 is the best version...... the newer version is suck...
BitLord is based on the code of BitComet 0.5X if i'm not mistaken...

Azureus is java-based.... that is what i'm using now... but the interface may a little bit confusing... (for beginners)...

05-09-2007, 03:54 PM

Azureus is java-based.... that is what i'm using now... but the interface may a little bit confusing... (for beginners)...so, can u teach me please?

11-10-2007, 10:51 PM

Azureus is java-based.... that is what i'm using now... but the interface may a little bit confusing... (for beginners)...so, can u teach me please? ...hey y dun u come to my house and ask me to show u.. u downloaded bitcomet (or any other BT client) onot..?

12-10-2007, 11:00 PM
UPDATE:

I have switched to Bit Comet

I have found out how it works

thx 4 everybody 's help

13-10-2007, 06:45 AM
I am not sure about others, but I heard that bit comet is frowned upon by many tracker providers and are even banned in certain services due to its leeching behaviour.

14-10-2007, 02:10 AM
a lot of bad comments about Bit Comet can be found here (http://fileforum.betanews.com/review/1078332329/1/view)

14-10-2007, 02:13 AM
Ranking of Bit torrent client:

http://netforbeginners.about.com/od/peersharing/f/torrentclients.htm

18-10-2007, 06:57 PM
I juz downloaded uTorrent.. give it a try ..
bt nt today, I hv to finish my downloading files in bitcomet 1st ..

19-10-2007, 02:59 PM
Anyone try this before??

BitTorrent: Bypass any Firewall or Throttling ISP with SSH
http://torrentfreak.com/bittorrent-over-ssh-071014/

19-10-2007, 03:36 PM
Anyone try this before??

http://torrentfreak.com/bittorrent-over-ssh-071014/ I tot we need to pay for creating a SSH account?

19-10-2007, 04:30 PM
Anyone try this before??

http://torrentfreak.com/bittorrent-over-ssh-071014/ I tot we need to pay for creating a SSH account?

yea...

I currently use silenceisdefeat which requires a small $1 donation. However, the account is immediately activated and works fine for me.