View Full Version : it is time for revival of remag
hafidz
09-01-2006, 05:22 PM
i think it is time for revival of remag.. what do you guys think?
since i suck at anything web-based, if anyone cares to teach me... i am willing to help out... but at present i can only offer writing articles to start doing sth that hafiz(jebai) did in the past that meant a lot to this community...
care to share thoughts people?
p/s: jebai, i apologize... i havent been on top of things for a while.. but since i have YET to graduate.. maybe i can help out by writing articles on a monthly basis....
09-01-2006, 10:40 PM
good to know there are people that care out there.
At the moment, remag needs a person that is able to deal with the technical part (HTML and the CMS stuff). Remag has kinda lost those techical guys to various reasons. And also, I don't think we'll be able to do remag with the old model. blogging definitely is the way to go.
I have some unpublished articles in my email account. perhaps, we could start with those.
koopai
09-01-2006, 10:45 PM
I'm on it. remag revival in 3 days. (+/- 2)
10-01-2006, 01:38 AM
So, blogging style + editor approved articles I assume? Don't want the blog to turn in to a huge chatter house...
10-01-2006, 01:45 AM
I'm in. If you need any articles to be proofread, send it my way.
koopai
10-01-2006, 03:18 AM
yes jinjoo. blogger style + editor proved and i'll turn off comments possibility if appropriate. Anyone for chief editor ?
no articles yet. anyone with previous remag articles?
10-01-2006, 02:41 PM
yes jinjoo. blogger style + editor proved and i'll turn off comments possibility if appropriate. Anyone for chief editor ?
Great that koopai and gangs are helping to revive ReCom. On previous remag articles, i believe masterof_none or _earth should have access to them, right?
Fellow ReComers, do start write up for Remag~!
koopai
10-01-2006, 07:14 PM
yes, fellow recomers, write and email to f dot badiran [at] gmail dot com.
10-01-2006, 10:58 PM
what is the next magazine topic?
koopai
11-01-2006, 12:50 AM
there is no topic. submit, approved, published, then respond from readers.. this way i hope remag can get more audience..
11-01-2006, 01:34 AM
sexy pictures sells...
yummie :P
11-01-2006, 10:46 AM
sexy pictures sells...
yummie :P
yup yup! who has sexy girlfriend(s)? share them with us!
With me, I have three fresh articles, all written by a person (Sawittri Charun). A good start. They are:
1. Cyber Shopping (cure or curse)
2. When Photographs Mean More Than Images
3. Window shopping (no pain no gain)
I'll try to read them, repair some glaring problem if there is any (I'm familiar with the author, she doesn't have much problem grammar and all) and hand it out for further proofreading later today okay?
Besides Brendan, who else wanna proofread? I don't want to send the stuff to the old proofreaders. It would be awkward to send them stuff and after so many months of inactivity. But I'll email them later today, ask them if they are willing to help out again.
EDIT: Already read through, sent them to digimushu for double checking. Sent email to old editors if they wanna help.
koopai
11-01-2006, 11:59 AM
earth, please send me previous remag editors contact details. I need them (want to put their details in the editorial board). and check your pm too.
Suggestion:
Create a thread in ReCom forums for each article and link to it from the article so that there can be some discussion?
11-01-2006, 08:14 PM
hey guys. how long shud it be?
i got an article, but it's about 1500 words long. is dat ok, or too long?
sorry hv been inactive for a very very long time. summer's making me feel lazy ;p
and yea, count me in.
11-01-2006, 08:38 PM
Suggestion:
Create a thread in ReCom forums for each article and link to it from the article so that there can be some discussion?
That would be a good start to initiate a discussion in ReCom first, before we have the ability to have the discussion done wholly at ReMag.
In terms of length, I think 1500 words should be perfectly alright. Budakkerek, do submit it to koopai. Really thank fellow ReComers for working hard towards that end.
Another thing, I am not sure whether I should post this, but I guess it is for the benefit of ReMag anyway. The ReMag is under development at www.remag.org . So, any ReComer who has any thoughts on it, please post it up here for discussion.
koopai
12-01-2006, 02:13 AM
We can have a forum wrapped in remag.org but that would need another user registration which is not good. A link should be enough. I'll try to add a "comment" function but don't expect it before a month or so. Thanks _earth for the articles. I'll upload it asap. Need some rest for now...
hafidz
12-01-2006, 09:25 AM
woo-hoo that's the spirit gang... anyways, do we know who's the head editor yet? or the team that would be running the show and their duties etc?
salute to koopai, and hence i nominate him as the running mate of hilary clinton... thank you...
ok seriously, who do we sent articles to now?
12-01-2006, 09:28 AM
First of all, I would like to thank everyone, especially koopai, for the work on reviving ReMag.
I am very excited about the development. and I love the new site.
I've uploaded the previous articles here :
http://remag.recom.org/
But the articles are all over place. I'll organize it, and upload it back again.
Great job guys!
12-01-2006, 10:03 AM
earth, please send me previous remag editors contact details. I need them (want to put their details in the editorial board). and check your pm too.
won't be able to do that just yet. Still waiting the old editors' response. Once they agree to help agree, then it's cool.
ok seriously, who do we sent articles to now?
At the moment, I could receive new article it and hand it over to our editors before we come up of a structure again. My addy is mnoorsha at umich dot edu.
12-01-2006, 02:45 PM
Well, we have five articles now.
1. Cyber Shopping (Sawittri Charun)
2. When Photographs Mean More Than Images (Sawittri Charun)
3. Window shopping (Sawittri Charun)
4. Am I dyfunctional? (Tasneem Muhammad)
5. Arabized Malays (me =) )
koopai
13-01-2006, 03:58 AM
to _earth: i got the first 3 articles . thanx.
to master of none: i've downloaded the previous remag. however, there are multiple copies and i don't know which one is to publish. need your help on this.
to everyone:
1) we need articles, poems, etc... send to: submit@<hidden>
2) we need publicity. spread the news. If you have a blog, then create a short post, describe in 50-100 words about remag (hint: use like online magazine, malaysia, students as keywords) and put remag.org link IN your post.
3) we need a logo. send your logo to submit@<hidden>
4) every month, we will have a ReMag cover competition. (A4 format only please) submit to: submit@<hidden>
updates and features to come:
1) i think domain name propagation has completed. if anyone has trouble viewing remag.org, please send an email to contact@<hidden>
2) contact form has completed.
3) submission form is pending. (don't know how to eliminate malicious virus)
4) newsletter: about 20%. (the mailing list only. site integration: not yet)
5) site design: minimalistic for now.
IMPORTANT
Please use the following format when writing your article if you don't mind. If somehow you can't follow this format, then it's ok. I'll do it for you.
1) arial
2) size 10
3) justified
4) normal spacing
5) include your name, a short "tell me about yourself", an email
Many thanks and enjoy writing, enjoy reading.
13-01-2006, 10:01 AM
already asked Sawittri to write a short description of herself.
Also, I've posted a notice at kakiseni (http://www.kakiseni.com/notices/), asking for contribution.
and koopai, you might want to check the decoding. In the past, sometimes the characters don't come up as they supposed to be.
koopai
13-01-2006, 10:44 AM
already asked Sawittri to write a short description of herself.
Also, I've posted a notice at kakiseni (http://www.kakiseni.com/notices/), asking for contribution.
Again, thanks.
and koopai, you might want to check the decoding. In the past, sometimes the characters don't come up as they supposed to be.
Can you be more specific? The wysiwyg editor i use won't listen to me sometimes..; I'll check it out. Maybe i'll define my own stylesheet rather than relying on the editor.
And great news, someone from DBP is interested in ReMag. Publicity, publicity, publicity, lagi dan lagi..
A question for all:
Is it ok if I use the contact form as a submission form? do you mind copy and paste into the text area???
13-01-2006, 04:35 PM
check out my signature heh! 8)
I've posted a bulletin on Friendster. Hope so ppl will respond lah. :D
14-01-2006, 02:10 PM
Can you be more specific? The wysiwyg editor i use won't listen to me sometimes..; I'll check it out. Maybe i'll define my own stylesheet rather than relying on the editor.
something like, character "," turning into 檳城 or a square char. But I don't any right now.
And great news, someone from DBP is interested in ReMag. Publicity, publicity, publicity, lagi dan lagi..
What kind of interest?
A question for all:
Is it ok if I use the contact form as a submission form? do you mind copy and paste into the text area???
It's alright. But I do think the articles need to be seen by an editor for proofread. I don't think we should post anything without proofreading.
Also, maybe we should ping Petaling Street Project (http://www.petalingstreet.org/) to get more readership.
koopai
14-01-2006, 03:18 PM
DBP is concerned about "memartabatkan bahasa" stuff and they think and hope that remag can help. Basically, they are concerned about the lack of young writers in BM...
Submission form: will be integrated soon.
Proofreading: yes, all submission will have to pass this first. That's why I need editorial board details. So far, I have created 3 editors.
Editors (those with their ID's and PW sent thru pm): You can go to the editorial desk and go to article, and edit/correct/delete... By default, all articles are in unpublished status.
koopai
15-01-2006, 07:33 AM
updates:
1) newsletter = done.
2) article view counter = done.
3) faq = 50% (module installed but no content yet. can someone write a faq?)
4) about page = done (but no content yet. ditto)
working on:
1) make use of clean URL for better SEO
2) complete the submission form
3) make a better design (can someone with css skills help me out?)
4) add rating function so that we can elect the best article
5) html to pdf (for now, remag relies on css: print media)
6) monthly and previous remag compilation. (magazine cover needed!!)
contribute:
1) promotion
2) article, poetry, etc..
important links:
1) submit@<hidden> <-- to submit
2) contact@<hidden> <-- anything else not related to submission
3) www.remag.org <-- read and enjoy
15-01-2006, 08:05 AM
Under the menu.. why not link to the forum?
koopai
15-01-2006, 08:49 AM
will do. thanx for reminding me.
koopai
15-01-2006, 09:03 AM
Under the menu.. why not link to the forum?
done.
koopai
17-01-2006, 04:03 AM
if you have problem viewing remag.org, try to clear your cache. if the problem remains, please let me know:
contact@<hidden> or just post here
updates:
1) submission form is now integrated (though it is not so pretty.. still waiting for volunteers with css skills)
2) hit counter seems to have some problems. (disabled)
3) newsletter is up and running.
4) recom link
5) faq module installed but no content (just like the about page)
6) compilation work has started
need: (desperately)
1) contribution (articles, poems, etc...)
2) volunteers to help me maintain the site
3) editors
remag's future is in our hands.