View Full Version : purpose of communication

10-02-2004, 02:46 PM
hey ya...
doing a paper on purposes of human n animal communications.

So, what do you think about it? gimme your ideas..coz i gotta get cracking..later!

10-02-2004, 02:46 PM
hey ya...

So, what do you think about it? gimme your ideas..coz i gotta get cracking..later!

sim_min
10-02-2004, 02:49 PM
hey ya...

hehe, you might want to refer to the movie, Dr. Dolittle :P (don't know if i got it correctly?) :roll:

sim_min
10-02-2004, 02:49 PM
hey ya...

hehe, you might want to refer to the movie, Dr. Dolittle :P (don't know if i got it correctly?) :roll:

10-02-2004, 02:56 PM
okie...another question:

a dog being raised by a cat (example laa), can't miao. right?
why?

hehe...going crazy thinking bout this.. :evil:

10-02-2004, 02:56 PM
okie...another question:

why?

10-02-2004, 03:01 PM
you might want to read about dolphins and its application (i know, it's not appropiate but just for a good laugh) in sea search and rescue mission + navy stuff.

10-02-2004, 03:01 PM
you might want to read about dolphins and its application (i know, it's not appropiate but just for a good laugh) in sea search and rescue mission + navy stuff.

Cirnelle
10-02-2004, 08:53 PM
i think the main purpose of communication is to convey our thoughts and feelings...
i dun get the part about a dog miao-ing..what has this to do with communication? :?

Cirnelle
10-02-2004, 08:53 PM
i think the main purpose of communication is to convey our thoughts and feelings...
i dun get the part about a dog miao-ing..what has this to do with communication? :?

sim_min
10-02-2004, 10:29 PM
eye contact is a way of communication too...doesn't have to talk or miao' one, right? :wink:

sim_min
10-02-2004, 10:29 PM
eye contact is a way of communication too...doesn't have to talk or miao' one, right? :wink:

11-02-2004, 12:15 AM
Interestingly enough, animals (including human) have parts of their habits untaught. These actions are either intact from birth or automatically acquired as animals grow up. They are called "instinct". An example is sleeping. You don't have to teach a baby how to sleep. It's automatic, developed during fetal period.

So in the case of cat's miaw-ing, I think it's an instinct. Cats miaw no matter who raises them. If you ever find a kitten by the roadside, bring it back home and raise it. I'm pretty sure it will miaw even if you don't teach it ...

11-02-2004, 12:15 AM
Interestingly enough, animals (including human) have parts of their habits untaught. These actions are either intact from birth or automatically acquired as animals grow up. They are called "instinct". An example is sleeping. You don't have to teach a baby how to sleep. It's automatic, developed during fetal period.

So in the case of cat's miaw-ing, I think it's an instinct. Cats miaw no matter who raises them. If you ever find a kitten by the roadside, bring it back home and raise it. I'm pretty sure it will miaw even if you don't teach it ...

wesleyanne
11-02-2004, 12:50 AM
okie...another question:

why?

Somehow, the first thing that pops to my mind is the "nature and nurture" concept, which to me, is an important concept to consider since I believe it really affects our communication development.

Here's something I read recently, a true story that kinda reminds me of the Jungle Book, and a great story on how nature and nurture plays such an important role in the development of communication as well as many others.

In 1954, a young naked boy who was starving found his way to the hospital at Balrampur, India. He showed no ability to interact with people and had heavy calluses as if he moved on all fours. In addition, there were scars on the boy's neck as if he had been dragged by animals. The boy, named Ramu by the hospital staff, spent most of his time playing with a stuffed animal as a wild animal might in its lair. He showed no interest in communicating; indeed, he seemed to feel no connection with other people. Only twice did Ramu seem excited: when he was taken to see wolves at a zoo and when he saw a dog.

Ramu would howl when he smelled raw meat in the hospital kitchen over 100 yards from his room-far too great a distance for the human sense of smell to detect a scent. Ramu also didn't eat like a human: He tore meat apart and lapped milk from a container. Most of the doctors and scientists who examined Ramu concluded he was a "wolf boy" who had grown up in the wild and been socialized by wolves. He had no concept of himself as a person. Instead, he saw himself as a wolf and was more interested in interacting with animals than humans, who were not "his kind." Thus, doctors refered to Ramu as "Ghadya Ka Bacha," Indian for "wolf boy."

Soooo, about the dog miowing, I dont think its impossible :) hehe

wesleyanne
11-02-2004, 12:50 AM
okie...another question:

why?

Somehow, the first thing that pops to my mind is the "nature and nurture" concept, which to me, is an important concept to consider since I believe it really affects our communication development.

Here's something I read recently, a true story that kinda reminds me of the Jungle Book, and a great story on how nature and nurture plays such an important role in the development of communication as well as many others.

In 1954, a young naked boy who was starving found his way to the hospital at Balrampur, India. He showed no ability to interact with people and had heavy calluses as if he moved on all fours. In addition, there were scars on the boy's neck as if he had been dragged by animals. The boy, named Ramu by the hospital staff, spent most of his time playing with a stuffed animal as a wild animal might in its lair. He showed no interest in communicating; indeed, he seemed to feel no connection with other people. Only twice did Ramu seem excited: when he was taken to see wolves at a zoo and when he saw a dog.

Ramu would howl when he smelled raw meat in the hospital kitchen over 100 yards from his room-far too great a distance for the human sense of smell to detect a scent. Ramu also didn't eat like a human: He tore meat apart and lapped milk from a container. Most of the doctors and scientists who examined Ramu concluded he was a "wolf boy" who had grown up in the wild and been socialized by wolves. He had no concept of himself as a person. Instead, he saw himself as a wolf and was more interested in interacting with animals than humans, who were not "his kind." Thus, doctors refered to Ramu as "Ghadya Ka Bacha," Indian for "wolf boy."

wesleyanne
11-02-2004, 01:18 AM
hey ya...

about the topic, do you have to write about that title specifically? or can you come up with your own that revolves around the purpose of communication? Cos if we're talking specifically about purposes, I guess that would include stuff like "to express feelings, to establish relationships" etc? and that could be applicable as the purposes of communication for both human and animals? I dunno..haha ;) sorry if I'm giving you senseless ideas....

hmmm...otherwise, if you don't have to deal with that title specifically, you could also examine how similar we humans and animals are in using nonverbal communication to express our purposes? you could include points like symbols, paralanguage, kinesics, haptics, and even proxemics?

and also, since communication abilities range from very simple to extremely complex, depending upon the species, and is influenced by a species' genetic makeup, its environment (nature & nurture), and the different ways both humans and animals respond to their surroundings, you could also write on how that would affect both the humans and animals' purpose of communication?

hehehe..like I said before, sorry if these ideas seem really random and senseless ;) just finished my math exam and my brain is malfunctioning :lol:

wesleyanne
11-02-2004, 01:18 AM
hey ya...

about the topic, do you have to write about that title specifically? or can you come up with your own that revolves around the purpose of communication? Cos if we're talking specifically about purposes, I guess that would include stuff like "to express feelings, to establish relationships" etc? and that could be applicable as the purposes of communication for both human and animals? I dunno..haha ;) sorry if I'm giving you senseless ideas....

hmmm...otherwise, if you don't have to deal with that title specifically, you could also examine how similar we humans and animals are in using nonverbal communication to express our purposes? you could include points like symbols, paralanguage, kinesics, haptics, and even proxemics?

and also, since communication abilities range from very simple to extremely complex, depending upon the species, and is influenced by a species' genetic makeup, its environment (nature & nurture), and the different ways both humans and animals respond to their surroundings, you could also write on how that would affect both the humans and animals' purpose of communication?

hehehe..like I said before, sorry if these ideas seem really random and senseless ;) just finished my math exam and my brain is malfunctioning :lol:

11-02-2004, 12:52 PM
okie...another question:

why?

Is that the story that inspired "Jungle Boy" or what?

Dogs can't meow as cats can't bark. Their vocal cords are different :D

11-02-2004, 12:52 PM
okie...another question:

why?

Is that the story that inspired "Jungle Boy" or what?

wesleyanne
11-02-2004, 01:39 PM
hmmmm...i'm not sure but i think the jungle book was written in the 1890s by Rudyard Kipling? if it was, then this incident probably couldnt serve as an inspiration :)

wesleyanne
11-02-2004, 01:39 PM
hmmmm...i'm not sure but i think the jungle book was written in the 1890s by Rudyard Kipling? if it was, then this incident probably couldnt serve as an inspiration :)

11-02-2004, 01:42 PM
i think we communicate for survival. If a baby can't cry no one will feel the urge to shut the damn baby up by stuffing it with food or milk. I think basic communication like this is inherent almost as instinct but later on due to our superior intellect we develop better communication tools like words and grammar and stuff. I think cats and dogs don't talk like each other because nature has them developing that way. they can't evolve just because one was raised by the other. But i think if we had like a thousand years and we forced them to live with one another, I think they may start sounding the same.

Just a thought on how much of our language is natural or instinct, think about this. most languages have almost the same sound for mother. ma, mum, ma ma, emak, mak, etc.

11-02-2004, 01:42 PM
i think we communicate for survival. If a baby can't cry no one will feel the urge to shut the damn baby up by stuffing it with food or milk. I think basic communication like this is inherent almost as instinct but later on due to our superior intellect we develop better communication tools like words and grammar and stuff. I think cats and dogs don't talk like each other because nature has them developing that way. they can't evolve just because one was raised by the other. But i think if we had like a thousand years and we forced them to live with one another, I think they may start sounding the same.

Just a thought on how much of our language is natural or instinct, think about this. most languages have almost the same sound for mother. ma, mum, ma ma, emak, mak, etc.

11-02-2004, 01:52 PM

ye ke? didn't know that hehe

anyway, like Luke said, bout the nature n nurture part, true... humans grow up to be who they're shaped to be (like a Chinese brought up in an Indian family, may learn how to speak Tamil) but animals just follow the life style (hunting etc), not the way their "parents" (sorry, dunno the suitable words :P ) speak (like barking, meowing etc).

The thing is, is it really because of their different vocal cords, or is it because they are not intelligent as humans are?

Bottom line: me very confused :?

11-02-2004, 01:52 PM

ye ke? didn't know that hehe

anyway, like Luke said, bout the nature n nurture part, true... humans grow up to be who they're shaped to be (like a Chinese brought up in an Indian family, may learn how to speak Tamil) but animals just follow the life style (hunting etc), not the way their "parents" (sorry, dunno the suitable words :P ) speak (like barking, meowing etc).

The thing is, is it really because of their different vocal cords, or is it because they are not intelligent as humans are?

Bottom line: me very confused :?

wesleyanne
11-02-2004, 01:53 PM
But i think if we had like a thousand years and we forced them to live with one another, I think they may start sounding the same.

Yup, I think you're right. I think as time evolves (and like you said, takes thousands and thousands of years) and both were naturally forced to live together, a common sound might be formed. I think the whole nature and nurture concept also takes into consideration the intellectual and communication capacity of a species. Humans are considered to be intellectually superior beings, hence, like the little boy in the story, would be more able to adapt and pick up the wolves' communication behaviors than lets say, the wolves adapting to the humans' communication behaviors.

wesleyanne
11-02-2004, 01:53 PM
But i think if we had like a thousand years and we forced them to live with one another, I think they may start sounding the same.

Yup, I think you're right. I think as time evolves (and like you said, takes thousands and thousands of years) and both were naturally forced to live together, a common sound might be formed. I think the whole nature and nurture concept also takes into consideration the intellectual and communication capacity of a species. Humans are considered to be intellectually superior beings, hence, like the little boy in the story, would be more able to adapt and pick up the wolves' communication behaviors than lets say, the wolves adapting to the humans' communication behaviors.

12-02-2004, 12:14 PM
so, we're talking bout, hv some sort of connection with the level of intelligence of the species? :?

12-02-2004, 12:14 PM
so, we're talking bout, hv some sort of connection with the level of intelligence of the species? :?