View Full Version : Nihongo and I
Tee hee hee ... I wrote an essay about Japanese language for my Writing class ... here:
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=creative2&cmd=display&cat=1&ind=9 (http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=creative2&cmd=display&cat=1&ind=9)
Any comment?
Tee hee hee ... I wrote an essay about Japanese language for my Writing class ... here:
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=creative2&cmd=display&cat=1&ind=9 (http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=creative2&cmd=display&cat=1&ind=9)
Any comment?
11-02-2004, 10:02 AM
Maybe you can submit this for Remag ;)
11-02-2004, 10:02 AM
Maybe you can submit this for Remag ;)
hehehe hazukashii na .. kodomo no essay mitai n da ...
bachok83
12-02-2004, 02:36 AM
wow... sensei, can you teach me how to speak japanese?? hehe.. i know some, but not much.. including "ittadakimasu"
let have some food.. :D
bachok83
12-02-2004, 02:36 AM
wow... sensei, can you teach me how to speak japanese?? hehe.. i know some, but not much.. including "ittadakimasu"
boku wa sensei ja nai yo ... motto benkyou shinakya ...
schye-sensei to fish-sensei, iro iro koto ga aru n de oshiete kudasaimasen ka?
boku wa sensei ja nai yo ... motto benkyou shinakya ...
schye-sensei to fish-sensei, iro iro koto ga aru n de oshiete kudasaimasen ka?
12-02-2004, 10:54 AM
including "ittadakimasu"
Well, actually itadakimasu = itadaku is the polite form of morau which means receive.
Actually i am not sure even after asking quite a lot of Japanese here why they said this before meals. Most of them said it because its like receiving the meals from their God and kind of bersyukur laa because they can have such as nice meal but then most of them dont believe in God. Some said they are thanking those who prepare the meal for them. not sure which one though..
Maybe some of you can ask you sensei about this.
12-02-2004, 10:54 AM
including "ittadakimasu"
Well, actually itadakimasu = itadaku is the polite form of morau which means receive.
Actually i am not sure even after asking quite a lot of Japanese here why they said this before meals. Most of them said it because its like receiving the meals from their God and kind of bersyukur laa because they can have such as nice meal but then most of them dont believe in God. Some said they are thanking those who prepare the meal for them. not sure which one though..
Maybe some of you can ask you sensei about this.
12-02-2004, 11:57 AM
at the canteen of my college, they hv Jap n French words pasted on the walls, itadakimasu n bon appetit.
isn't it more like, "jemput mkn"?
*it's the most popular word in my college BTW* :wink:
12-02-2004, 11:57 AM
at the canteen of my college, they hv Jap n French words pasted on the walls, itadakimasu n bon appetit.
isn't it more like, "jemput mkn"?
*it's the most popular word in my college BTW* :wink:
not really "jemput makan" (I think it's not even "bon apetit") ... because "itadakimasu" is for ourselves while "jemput makan" is for other people ... we wouldn't say "jemput makan" if we are the one who will eat, right? where else a Japanese use "itadakimasu" when he is about to eat .. it's more like doa makan ma ...
12-02-2004, 11:14 PM
i think it's more like saying "i m gonna eat" and of course maybe some kesyukuran inside there. u know japs people are so polite, they dun want to go ahead and eat before other people which will be considered as rude i guess. they say ittadakimasu i think it's like giving signal for everyone to start eating at the same time. just my 2 cents and what i saw from japs drama.
12-02-2004, 11:14 PM
i think it's more like saying "i m gonna eat" and of course maybe some kesyukuran inside there. u know japs people are so polite, they dun want to go ahead and eat before other people which will be considered as rude i guess. they say ittadakimasu i think it's like giving signal for everyone to start eating at the same time. just my 2 cents and what i saw from japs drama.
13-02-2004, 09:56 AM
oh really? dong dong *bonking myself on head for own idiocy* :wink:
It's just that the guys keep yelling "itadakimasu" at the canteen coz we all thought that it means "sila makan".
Then how you say "jemput mkn" in Jap?
13-02-2004, 09:56 AM
oh really? dong dong *bonking myself on head for own idiocy* :wink:
It's just that the guys keep yelling "itadakimasu" at the canteen coz we all thought that it means "sila makan".
Then how you say "jemput mkn" in Jap?
"sila makan" =
biasak: tabete kudasai .. douzo
polite skit: tabete kudasaimasen ka? douzo ..
extra polite: otabe ni natte kudasaimasen ka?
rasenye ade yg lagi polite tp takat ni tu je yg aku belajo ..
"sila makan" =
biasak: tabete kudasai .. douzo
polite skit: tabete kudasaimasen ka? douzo ..
extra polite: otabe ni natte kudasaimasen ka?
rasenye ade yg lagi polite tp takat ni tu je yg aku belajo ..
13-02-2004, 11:57 AM
Okie more Qs:
"tabete" is what?
"otabe ni natte" ape maknanye? 'douzo' is "silakan" right? :wink:
13-02-2004, 11:57 AM
Okie more Qs:
"tabete" is what?
"otabe ni natte" ape maknanye? 'douzo' is "silakan" right? :wink:
tabete comes from taberu which means to eat
otabe ni natte == otabe ni naru , i think. basically means being in state of eating, i guess. when japanese go into super polite mode, it is painful
the o in otabe is just an honorific thing
tabete comes from taberu which means to eat
otabe ni natte == otabe ni naru , i think. basically means being in state of eating, i guess. when japanese go into super polite mode, it is painful
the o in otabe is just an honorific thing
13-02-2004, 12:57 PM
actually we dont use otabeni nattekudasai. Usually we will use omeshiagarikudasai which is the MORE polite form....argh..Japanese is quite troublesome too sometimes....
13-02-2004, 12:57 PM
actually we dont use otabeni nattekudasai. Usually we will use omeshiagarikudasai which is the MORE polite form....argh..Japanese is quite troublesome too sometimes....
16-02-2004, 01:57 PM
wow, so..it's like u use diff words to express diff levels of politenes?
what if u terslh guna? then does it change anything? or it just reflects on your ignorance? e.g for new learners laa kann
Arigato! :wink:
16-02-2004, 01:57 PM
what if u terslh guna? then does it change anything? or it just reflects on your ignorance? e.g for new learners laa kann
16-02-2004, 02:40 PM
If they know you are foreigners then it should be OK but they will jsut feel weird laa...Just like when you are using bahasa baku when you are talking with your friends or when you use Hang or aku when talking to your sensei.
16-02-2004, 02:40 PM
If they know you are foreigners then it should be OK but they will jsut feel weird laa...Just like when you are using bahasa baku when you are talking with your friends or when you use Hang or aku when talking to your sensei.
16-02-2004, 03:35 PM
tapi, if i guna "hang" with my Recom senseis can kan? hehe :wink: :wink:
16-02-2004, 03:35 PM
tapi, if i guna "hang" with my Recom senseis can kan? hehe :wink: :wink:
Yes. You use different words to express different degrees of politeness. For example,
Taberu is the verb to eat.
Meshiagaru is the honorific form of taberu. This form is also known as son keigo.
Then we have the colloquial word which is only used by guys, kuu.
It is what some people say, mendokusai. (which means troublesome). The language is divided to honorific, polite, common and colloquial. There are some slangs too.
taberu, makan
meshiagaru, bersantap.......hey is this right?
Anyway, son keigo is used to people in the outer group or people of higher seniority ranks. Note that you do not use son keigo for your parents......unless they insist :lol: . (The Japs divide people to outer and inner groups and according to seniority ranks).
BTW, people do not usually use son keigo for friends unless you sudah gaduh and want to show you are very tsumetai (cold) towards that person.
Yes. You use different words to express different degrees of politeness. For example,
Taberu is the verb to eat.
Meshiagaru is the honorific form of taberu. This form is also known as son keigo.
Then we have the colloquial word which is only used by guys, kuu.
It is what some people say, mendokusai. (which means troublesome). The language is divided to honorific, polite, common and colloquial. There are some slangs too.
taberu, makan
meshiagaru, bersantap.......hey is this right?
Anyway, son keigo is used to people in the outer group or people of higher seniority ranks. Note that you do not use son keigo for your parents......unless they insist :lol: . (The Japs divide people to outer and inner groups and according to seniority ranks).
BTW, people do not usually use son keigo for friends unless you sudah gaduh and want to show you are very tsumetai (cold) towards that person.
16-02-2004, 04:21 PM
oo..oke...thanks for the explanation..wow, nvr knew it's so complicated..wow! 8O
16-02-2004, 04:21 PM
oo..oke...thanks for the explanation..wow, nvr knew it's so complicated..wow! 8O