View Full Version : Actual Past JPA interview & Essay Topics Summary
hhhcce
06-02-2006, 03:26 PM
Hello there.Since now is already February,so,I think it would be appropriate to start a topic about jpa interview.I know that there are so many resources here in recom,but it is also quite impossible for the fellow recomers to read all those posts.So,I decided to make things more easy.In this forum,you just need to write down your JPA topics in ONE message.NO FURTHER REPLY is required and NO QUESTIONS can be asked here.JUST MERE YOUR JPA essay and interview topics.......
Sample
Malaysia wants to be a centre of intelligence,but JPA is still sending students oversea.Explain why?
Why do you want to apply for JPA?
N-Guy
06-02-2006, 04:39 PM
Essay Topic : Does the place you study plays a important part if you are granted JPA scholarship?
Interview Topic: Pros and Cons of Using the credit Card
ptamarai87
06-02-2006, 07:07 PM
essay:you are a 12a1's student.you want to become a teacher but your parents want you to become a doctor.what's ur decision and why?
interview:reading habits among malaysian is declining.discuss
petertok
06-02-2006, 07:20 PM
Essay topic : Same as above.
Interview : Introduce yourself. No topics were asked/discussed.
windhoe2
07-02-2006, 06:06 AM
My interview topic on 2003 : Malaysia is an education centre at this region. Discuss.
I also got a special question at the end of the interview session.
Mengapakah JPA hendak memilih anda untuk mendapat biasiswa walaupun banyak yang ada kebolehan seperti anda. Berikan 3 sebab. ( I was required to answer this in Malay)
Some of the topics from others that I can recall
1) patrioticism
2) tourism
07-02-2006, 09:04 AM
Just a short note. Please mention which year SPM were you from, as JPA's policy does change from year to year.
Thanks a lot for such a great thread. Remember, as posted, this is for the summary of all interview and essay questions for JPA. For questions, please direct them to here (http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=3431)
Besides post the questions here, I hope that you all can share your experiences of interview at the link above, as well as for those who are preparing to ask questions.
Please tell your friends about ReCom~!
Patrick
07-02-2006, 09:08 AM
Essay = The country of your choice and why
Topic = Courtesy among Malaysians. Discuss.
SPM 2004
HiGhFiDeLiTy
07-02-2006, 04:40 PM
essay topic: the country of your choice
discussion topic: patriotism is lacking among our youth nowadays. agree/ disagree?
me: SPM 2004 victim
Anonymous87
07-02-2006, 04:40 PM
Essay : Why you choose course A
Interview : As above . One additional question towards the end is, what is your stength and weakness.
- SPM 2004-
hhhcce
07-02-2006, 05:03 PM
Essay topic:Kalau kemelesetan ekonomi pada tahun 1997 melanda negara kita sekali lagi dan JPA tidak dapat menghantar kamu pergi ke luar negara,adakah kamu akan belajar di IPTA di Malaysia.(Write in BM)
Interview Topic:Children nowadays are pampered by their parent.Are you agree?
01-03-2006, 08:38 PM
Hope that more ReComers who have gone through the JPA interview process could share their interview and essay topic. This will help those preparing for JPA interview to get prepared.
Essay topic: What would you do if you received a JPA scholarship for Australia but halfway through your course the government ran short of funds and offered you a scholarship to continue your studies locally? (or something along those lines, can't remember exactly, sorry :P )
Interview topic: Girls perform better in examinations than guys. Discuss
I'm SPM 2004. forgot to mention. :oops:
seiken
01-03-2006, 08:52 PM
Oh my god...you all had to write essays?!
Back then in 2003, we only had discussions. My topic was Terrorism and another one was "what would be your do if JPA did not give you the courses and the countries you want...."
Jhuen
01-03-2006, 09:16 PM
essay: what's your preffered course and why is it the chosen one.
interview ; national service. discuss
spm 2004
04-03-2006, 07:40 PM
Hope that more ReComers will fill up their interview and essay questions for the benefits of other ReComers.
hercules
04-03-2006, 09:16 PM
Hope that more ReComers will fill up their interview and essay questions for the benefits of other ReComers.
My essay topic was Which is your preferred country and course?
Interview topic. pros and cons of national service, (2005)
I have a question. Is the essay in English or BM? Same goes to the discussion. English or BM?
juventus
05-03-2006, 01:20 AM
Nobody is very sure about it actually. Some years, it was in English, some years, it was in BM.
Just be prepared for both languages would be the best.
If the interviewer speaks to you in BM, reply in BM. If English, then reply in English.
However, I think English would most probably be a safe bet.
graphite
05-03-2006, 02:48 AM
essay: you are a 12a1s student. you want to become a teacher but your parents want you to become a doctor. what is your decision and why?
discussion: malaysia aspires to be a centre of education excellence but we still send students to study abroad. discuss the pros and cons.
year: spm 2004
all the best! :D
05-03-2006, 03:14 AM
spm 2002
essay : no need then...
discussion : how will AFTA (go find out abt it yourselves) affect our automobile industry and particularly proton (*sigh)
language : english...
took the interview in kuching
all the best to ya all :)
sping
25-03-2006, 10:00 PM
spm 2003: no discussion for some unknown reasons.
every interviewee was asked rather "standard" questions : introduce urself, ur country of choice and why, what is the course u intend to do and why, why did u apply for jpa, etc
and then the interviewers asked each interview some different questions which include: what do u think about Pak Lah as our new PM, why did u pick Port Dickson as ur interview venue since u are from Johor, etc.
25-03-2006, 10:02 PM
Hope that fellow ReComers could share their topic for the benefits of those who are applying.
i would like to ask a question regarding the essay for the interview. how long is it exactly you need to write on the topic? and how much time they'll give you for the essay writing? and one last question, it goes individually or in a group?
f0reva
26-03-2006, 11:29 PM
we||. i saw it from the newspaper.. it said we need to sit for a test.. no idea what is it.. is it tht we need to write essay? or? iq test? :?: 8O
OperaGhost
27-03-2006, 02:22 AM
i would like to ask a question regarding the essay for the interview. how long is it exactly you need to write on the topic? and how much time they'll give you for the essay writing? and one last question, it goes individually or in a group?
Last year, we had the essay session in something like an exam hall. The procedure: went in, found a place with good feng shui, received answer sheets and question paper, said a prayer, wrote silently for half an hour, handed in, had the Q&A session. Oh, not to forget receiving the free JPA pen. =)
We were asked to write a 250-word essay in double spacing for half an hour. After that, the emcee introduced the JPA officers who were going to interview us. [ Important: try to remember their names so that you can address them by their names in the interview later.] Next, the presenter briefed us on some past year statistics and asked questions like "how many of you want to go to UK/ US/ Australia etc." Then, we were told to wait outside the hall for our turns to be interviewed .
About the essay writing:
Rule 1: If they ask for 250, don't give them 500.
Your essay should be well-organized and succinct i.e. "short and sweet." =)
Rule 2: Write in large, clear fonts. You don't want the admission officers to admire your illegible handwriting instead of your brilliant ideas, do you? Also remember to double space if you are instructed to do so.
The topics I got (SPM batch 2004):
Essay: Every year, the government offers scholarships to bright students to study overseas but only scholars who meet the minimum requirements in their preporatory education can fly abroad. Those who fail to do so are still sponsored by the government to study in local private colleges. What is your opinion on this matter?
Interview: Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of National Service Training Camp.
kevinkent
27-03-2006, 03:23 AM
Last year, we had the essay session in something like an exam hall. The procedure: went in, found a place with good feng shui, received answer sheets and question paper, said a prayer, wrote silently for half an hour, handed in, had the Q&A session. Oh, not to forget receiving the free JPA pen. =)
We were asked to write a 250-word essay in double spacing for half an hour. After that, the emcee introduced the JPA officers who were going to interview us. [ Important: try to remember their names so that you can address them by their names in the interview later.] Next, the presenter briefed us on some past year statistics and asked questions like "how many of you want to go to UK/ US/ Australia etc." Then, we were told to wait outside the hall for our turns to be interviewed .
About the essay writing:
Rule 1: If they ask for 250, don't give them 500.
Your essay should be well-organized and succinct i.e. "short and sweet." =)
Rule 2: Write in large, clear fonts. You don't want the admission officers to admire your illegible handwriting instead of your brilliant ideas, do you? Also remember to double space if you are instructed to do so.
The topics I got (SPM batch 2004):
Essay: Every year, the government offers scholarships to bright students to study overseas but only scholars who meet the minimum requirements in their preporatory education can fly abroad. Those who fail to do so are still sponsored by the government to study in local private colleges. What is your opinion on this matter?
Interview: Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of National Service Training Camp.
Thanks for the info OperaGhost... really informative...
but no other tests except for the essay??
Like aptitude test?? this year?? :roll:
27-03-2006, 07:55 PM
May I know wat's tat Overseas Sponsorship Programme Aplication Test 2006 for JPA interview, mentioned in the STarEducation(date 26/3/2006)?....another test instead of the essay writing and the group dissucion? :?: 8O
my interview topic was one which has not been mentioned yet in this thread:
discuss the pro's and con's of the governments decision to implement the teaching of science and maths in english.
and here's my two cents worth about the essay:
every essay that you write expresses to the reader your ability to express yourself clearly, to clearly evaluate the given question or problem, in other words, the way you think it out...
as such, the primary focus of this essay, which is usually in a form of a question, is to see how you evaluate the situation. i.e.what your opinion is on going abroad to study, what you would do if you parents do nto agree with your career choice.
and since there is a word limit, write out your thoughts, do not think too much about a creative introduction or conclusion...which should be secondary (in other words, trying writing in the style of a factual essay rather than a creative one)
p.s. evaluate will also mean, weighing out both sides of the problem irrespective of your conclusion.
Wow, you guys make me feel old. What! Essays?? Do they actually have time to mark all 10000+ I wonder :p
SPM (2002) - Pollution
Other friends who went the same time as me got more err..interesting topics. Like "female diseases" (penyakit perempuan). No kidding - probably because all 7 of the applicants were girls, and also because the interviewers were bored? :p
Btw, you do get the odd intellectual topic. Vision schools was one in my year. But that's old news by now. :)
shihnobie
01-04-2006, 03:49 PM
I have a 'premonition' that there will be no essay writing this year.. :lol: .I think JPA will set up a psychology test or something like that. Well, that's just my opinion...
01-04-2006, 04:37 PM
May I know wat's tat Overseas Sponsorship Programme Aplication Test 2006 for JPA interview, mentioned in the STarEducation(date 26/3/2006)?....another test instead of the essay writing and the group dissucion? :?: 8O
It might not be an essay this year. It is a black box. We shall know on the 4th April, when some ReComers have attended the interview.
It could be anything. An IQ test, psychology test, or it could be an essay or anything under the Sun.
da_brightgurl
01-04-2006, 07:09 PM
It might not be an essay this year. It is a black box. We shall know on the 4th April, when some ReComers have attended the interview.
It could be anything. An IQ test, psychology test, or it could be an essay or anything under the Sun.
wat do u mean by under da sun???is it we have 2 stay out of da
hall n stand up under da sun???
btw,is it possible they ask 'bout RMK9 or sumtin else dat 'bout M'sia but not really appropriate with our interview :?
01-04-2006, 07:23 PM
btw,is it possible they ask 'bout RMK9 or sumtin else dat 'bout M'sia but not really appropriate with our interview :?
When I mean anything under the sun, I mean practically anything could be asked. Definitely not standing under the sun.
Yeah, RM9 is definitely appropriate to be asked. They might not ask RM9 as a whole, as it would be too general, but they might ask you on certain sectors within RM9 that received focused, eg:- biotech, biodiesel etc. You should be well-versed with RM9 to quote some statistics there.
da_brightgurl
01-04-2006, 11:42 PM
When I mean anything under the sun, I mean practically anything could be asked. Definitely not standing under the sun.
Yeah, RM9 is definitely appropriate to be asked. They might not ask RM9 as a whole, as it would be too general, but they might ask you on certain sectors within RM9 that received focused, eg:- biotech, biodiesel etc. You should be well-versed with RM9 to quote some statistics there.
well,i'm juz kiddin bout 'under da sun thing' :lol:
coz i found dat diz issues is gettin hot n evriwan here is very serious
there's a time we should reduce our stress......so,da time has come
niwei,juz 2 make me myself feel better.....coz i'm da one who feel so nervous for da interview right now~ :wink:
garycwj
02-04-2006, 06:08 PM
yup.every1 is predicting the rm9 as the question.does any1 here hav any other predictions?(hot topics in the papers,etc etc...)
kevinkent
02-04-2006, 06:59 PM
I have a 'premonition' that there will be no essay writing this year.. :lol: .I think JPA will set up a psychology test or something like that. Well, that's just my opinion...
No essay writing might be a good news... or not...
My premonition is more scary:
Its like SPM exam...
Paper 1,
Paper 2,
Paper 3??? 8O
Essay?
General knowledge?
Aptitude test?? 8O
... it might be happening.... 8O
racheL_cLc
03-04-2006, 05:35 PM
I agree that it could be anything. Besides, we're even asked to bring along 2B pencil, eraser and pen. It might be essay and some IQ tests, psychology tests or even objective question (because 2B pencil is needed). No one knows for sure. Just hope that it will not be anything of difficult mathematics, physics, chemistry and etc.
Good luck everyone and thank you for the tips.
03-04-2006, 06:15 PM
anyone want to bet with me, i say it's psychology test... heh heh...
or Pengajian Am paper taken straight from STPM examination... :p
03-04-2006, 07:20 PM
Anyway, secrets will be revealed after the candidates come back from interview tommorow.....
Hopefully it's not a weird test.....
hercules
03-04-2006, 07:54 PM
Anybody coming to intec? I heard it is going to be held in the great hall.
i'm goin to intec but on the 5th.....
anyway, it'll be great to hear from all of u who will b goin tmr!
i won't br selfish either....cos i always believe in helpin and assistin others.....
will post my ques ( n bla bla bla) on wed nite.......
yichin
03-04-2006, 10:43 PM
i m a new recomer.....i got 2 nilai.....tis friday.....anyone here got the same place wif me? i chose dentistry....
04-04-2006, 12:54 AM
OVERSEAS SPONSORSHIP PROGRAMME APPLICATION TEST.
Could be a GAT test...
04-04-2006, 01:00 AM
What is GAT test?
04-04-2006, 09:22 AM
OVERSEAS SPONSORSHIP PROGRAMME APPLICATION TEST.
=GAT test??
Anyway, I'm really curious abt what are they.....(I mean the both OSPAT n GAT).....I'm going for interview tomoro...really hope someone who are hving interview this morning will solve out the mystery..... :) Let the cat out of the bag!!
cheerYY
04-04-2006, 11:40 AM
My friend just sms me these questions..
discuss handphone in school...
qualities of a good leader...
pencemaran in malay...
Iraka
04-04-2006, 12:20 PM
Dammit...nothing about actual current issues? That blows...
04-04-2006, 01:11 PM
I think there will be no current issues especially involving politics and economy like RM9, oil prices..... because all candidates are just students who just finish SPM and pay little attention to the economy issues.... So, may be they afraid that all candidates cannot talk about it properly.......
However, may be things are different from a venue to another....
kaiba
04-04-2006, 01:19 PM
I think there will be no current issues especially involving politics and economy like RM9, oil prices..... because all candidates are just students who just finish SPM and pay little attention to the economy issues.... So, may be they afraid that all candidates cannot talk about it properly.......
i totally agree wif u. i was doin some preparation on current issues like 9MP, exhaustion of raw material, petroleum crisis n stuffs like dat. but is hard 2 say tat, da question in day one is goin 2 b da same 4 day 2 n so on.but, if is not coming out then, chill out...mayb other interviews will ask on tat. but i think questions on current issues will somehow come out in da group discussion rite?
eXPeri3nc3
04-04-2006, 01:21 PM
Good point there... So wat would u think will popup for perak??
*i'm perakian too... lolx...
Anyway... If it doesn't involve politics and such, will it be general questions? Such as ICT, and so on...
Thanks for the info. :)
04-04-2006, 01:24 PM
wawasan 2020...
kevinkent
04-04-2006, 01:29 PM
wawasan 2020...
Yeah... what about the biofuel??
lynnz
04-04-2006, 01:37 PM
What is GAT test?
GAT = General Ability Test (if im not mistaken) they conducted this during the ASEAN scholarship selection test as well..i think it's some kind of pyscology test if u ask me..
kaiba
04-04-2006, 01:38 PM
wawasan 2020...
Yeah... what about the biofuel??
izzit the same in every state?
04-04-2006, 01:47 PM
One of my friend just finished interview, 1st there is a psychology test........
Then, for the interview part, there are 2 topics, 1 in BM and 1 in English. BM is "Cara Mempromosi kehidupan sihat" while English is "Pros and cons of fast food". I still have a friend waiting for her turn.....
I'll post later if I get the topics.....
But I think there won't be any difficult topics, the problem is we're too nervous until we cannot think properly......
eXPeri3nc3
04-04-2006, 01:52 PM
What is GAT test?
GAT = General Ability Test (if im not mistaken) they conducted this during the ASEAN scholarship selection test as well..i think it's some kind of pyscology test if u ask me..
Wolau... Hard one wor.. If like asean one... :cry:
fuzzy
04-04-2006, 01:54 PM
thanx 4 da info..hey,what about the 'introduce yourself'? we dont hv to do that huh...?we can choose any language during the discussion or we have to do two types of language? any topics other than that?
lol, just for u guys info, the interview may differ. it depends on the interview panels. diff panels have diff format. (ie it can be BM - BI for 1 topic - like mine, or BM-BI 2 topics for the other group)
04-04-2006, 02:16 PM
I forgot to tell, self-intro should be brief, she said, introduce your name, from where, school and what course do you apply for.
And about the discussion, I think if they give you the topic in BM, so discuss in BM, if in English, so in English I think. My friend did both.
eXPeri3nc3
04-04-2006, 02:26 PM
I forgot to tell, self-intro should be brief, she said, introduce your name, from where, school and what course do you apply for.
And about the discussion, I think if they give you the topic in BM, so discuss in BM, if in English, so in English I think. My friend did both.
Hmm... Does tat apply nationwide?? :D
cheerYY
04-04-2006, 02:31 PM
My friend just sms me these questions..
discuss handphone in school...
qualities of a good leader...
pencemaran in malay...
anyway, to let recomers know, this is from a friend who's having interview in intan campus, sungai petani.
04-04-2006, 02:35 PM
I'm not sure but at least it was like that in Perak.
I've a thought : I think the same questions won't come out again in the same venue for the next few days but they might come out in other venues. So, can those who post today's questions state their interview venue please?
What I mean is may be the question came out in Shah Alam today will come out in Ipoh tomorrow......
Smilehoe
04-04-2006, 02:57 PM
Hei, I just came back. Lets clear the air. 1st, the OSPAT is a survey or psychological test (if that's what someone call it), with 294 questions to be answered in 45 minutes. Questions such as do you like mechanical stuff, music, and so on.
Then the interview question is 'what's the impact of reality tv shows', half of it is conducted in Eng, and half of it is in BM.
Hey CheerYY, who's that from INTAN, I didn't meet anybody from ReCom there.
cheerYY
04-04-2006, 03:03 PM
Hei, I just came back. Lets clear the air. 1st, the OSPAT is a survey or psychological test (if that's what someone call it), with 294 questions to be answered in 45 minutes. Questions such as do you like mechanical stuff, music, and so on.
Then the interview question is 'what's the impact of reality tv shows', half of it is conducted in Eng, and half of it is in BM.
eh! my friend also get the exactly same ques as u..
but i think she will mind if i write out her name here.. so sorry...
vanessa
04-04-2006, 03:33 PM
wow 294 questions in 45 mins? Do we actually have the adequate time to answer all of them? yes! abolish the essay! thx all for sharing the formats with us.. we appreciate it very much.g'luck!
vanessa
04-04-2006, 03:53 PM
sorry, forgot to ask.. how long would the group discussing be conducted? who's going to start speaking 1st? and can we bring pen and notebook to jot down our points during the discussion? thx :D
ahpei
04-04-2006, 04:02 PM
Thanks for sharing this valuable experience with us.Tomorrow after i interview,treat you to eat to mamak stall....Hope all the best for you!
04-04-2006, 04:13 PM
wow, it's really a psychological test ah???.....sounds like easy...but u can get caught b'cos or ur 'true self' of 'true interest' too......oh, I dunno I shud be happy or sad that the essay is abolished, n is replaced with this kind of test..... :?
glamour
04-04-2006, 04:21 PM
hello.....i got topic on 'pengangguran' in bm...n in english i got topic on 'female excel well in study than male do u agree?'....
glamour
04-04-2006, 04:24 PM
sorry, forgot to ask.. how long would the group discussing be conducted? who's going to start speaking 1st? and can we bring pen and notebook to jot down our points during the discussion? thx :D
the discussion would take about 50 to 60 minutes....it depends on who want to start first...actually anyone can start first n usually who start first will get extra point....yeah we can bring pen and notebook....don't worry...just relax...n guwd luck!!
ghee..... thanks for all the recommers who posted their interview questions and experiences...!!!! thumbs up for all of you!!
:wink: :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink: :wink:
btw...do you guys care to write down which location that you guys interviewed? :?: :wink:
TO ALL RECOMMERS WHO WILL GOING TO INTERVIEW TOMORROW (5 APR)...GAMBATEH... :wink:
im going to the interview tomorrow too.. :lol:
vanessa
04-04-2006, 04:35 PM
hello.....i got topic on 'pengangguran' in bm...n in english i got topic on 'female excel well in study than male do u agree?'....
tq glamour..u know what? that's exactly what have been discussed in WHI today. I don't follow the talk but just accidentally tuned in this afternoon
04-04-2006, 04:59 PM
glamour said:
So, u mean....there're actually two sessions of group discussions?
one in BM, one in BI?
or
Smilehoe said:
one topic only...half-half?....BM + BI?
seems to me it differs from centre to centre......guys, wat's ur opinion?
wolfbane
04-04-2006, 05:20 PM
I posted my experience here:
http://recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&p=86443#86443
wengyi
04-04-2006, 05:24 PM
Hi!
Just would lk to know if they discuss one-by-one or random order?
Any limited time?
What if we ran out of ideas?
Can we discuss ideas together?
Do the interviewer(s) asks Qs?
Good luck to those on 5th April!!!!
(Mine, 7 apr)
wolfbane
04-04-2006, 05:29 PM
In my interview, they asked us to intro ouselves in order.
The discussion is up to you to discuss among yourselves. they won't interrupt you.
theres 10 mins for discussion and... i dont know how many for the presentation and adding in thereafter.
I guess if you ran out of ideas, they might input something. or u can just let someone input something.
They did ask, when you intro urself. they ask (for those who said they liked to read) what authors they liked and such. what genres.
Good luck
mine was almost the same (the test, discussion etc) only the title of discussion was 'as a JPA scholar, how can u promote our country to others'... sumbody 'kenakan' me today during the interview..... haih
wolfbane
04-04-2006, 05:41 PM
Lol. I forgot to mention my topic: "Penagihan dadah di Malaysia semakin meningkat. Bincangkan cara-cara untuk merendahkan penagihan dadah atau menghapuskannya"
04-04-2006, 05:43 PM
Presentation in English? Wolfbane, can u share wif everyone what tat presentation is/like? :wink:
No sweat, just be honest with what you answer (according to them, they might offer you another course based on your answers in that test).
is it possible that they offer u another course based on ur 'true personality'...or they just disqualify u with the reason 'u r not suitable for the course u r applying'?
Just curious.... :wink:
And for everyone who've shared ur experiences.....really thanks a lot..... :wink: ....for those who're still yet to go, wish u all the best....(tat's including me...mine is tomorrow)
wolfbane
04-04-2006, 05:46 PM
Basically what I did (I was the presenter :S) was just to just 'translate' all that we had discussed into a more coherent form to the interviewer. What answers we had, the reasons and all.
I think its the first. They said this: We may offer you another course based on the test that you have done earlier
wengyi
04-04-2006, 05:50 PM
May i know hw dey choose the presenter?
Do u get xtra pts by being d presenter?
Woahhh...really nervous lor.. :oops:
wolfbane
04-04-2006, 05:54 PM
I dont know about extra points.
I asked if anyone wanted to present. after 5 secs of silence i said: "ok I'll do it then"
vanessa
04-04-2006, 06:23 PM
i see.. so u must jot down what u have just discussed if u are going to be the presenter. am i right?
kevinkent
04-04-2006, 06:23 PM
I asked if anyone wanted to present. after 5 secs of silence i said: "ok I'll do it then"
Wolfbane, do you mind to tell us which state your interview was conducted??
Maybe you had mentioned it before but there are toooo many threads already... is hard to search for it...
Thanks... :wink:
wolfbane
04-04-2006, 06:29 PM
i see.. so u must jot down what u have just discussed if u are going to be the presenter. am i right?
All of us did actually. Each of us were given half an A4 sheet of paper to write down anything we want
Maybe you had mentioned it before but there are toooo many threads already... is hard to search for it...
Lol. I know, its hard to keep track. I'm from Malacca, interview was held in UiTM Alor Gajah
kevinkent
04-04-2006, 06:36 PM
All of us did actually. Each of us were given half an A4 sheet of paper to write down anything we want
Lol. I know, its hard to keep track. I'm from Malacca, interview was held in UiTM Alor Gajah
Yeah, my eyes gonna blow...
Thanks for answering my post... :P
Lol. I forgot to mention my topic: "Penagihan dadah di Malaysia semakin meningkat. Bincangkan cara-cara untuk merendahkan penagihan dadah atau menghapuskannya"
Well, my topic was nearly the same like wolfbane's but only a plain Penyalahgunaan Dadah Di Malaysia.
The interviewers gave us the option to choose either debate, forum or discussion style. My group chose discussion and the discussion was a bit informal.
Imagine yourself in a class and your BM teacher yells " Okay, Kumpul mengikut kumpulan anda, carikan isi-isi dan bincang pada kelas seterusnya "
Our group basically talked about langkah, kesan, and akibat. Since there were 10 applicants, the chairperson divided us into 3 smaller groups. My group talked about kesan.
One by one, they started to talk about their points. Since some points are not discussed, I decided to chip in and "menambah isi". Nevertheless, I feel as if I was over-dominating as previous posts in ReCom.org talked about moderation. Sigh....
The funny thing was our group was so deeply engrossed in the discussion that we literally lost track of time . 30 minutes for Malay and 30 minutes for English but we managed to discuss about the drug issue for 1 hour +. No english discussion for us then. Guess what ? The interviewer had to stop me from continuing my points as it was already 1.30pm ( Lunch time ).. Argh...
Is this a sign of ( ENOUGH IS ENOUGH )? because i seemed to talk too much although the points are relevant to the discussion.
What if we ran out of ideas? by wengyi
For my group, my group members tried to help me when I was facing problems translating Minister of Internal Security to Menteri Keselamatan Dalam Negeri. It is as if we were gathering points to write an essay. Haha
read my post here:
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=4074
its rather long...
05-04-2006, 10:36 AM
Good Luck to all ReComers who are attending the interview and to those that have attended, hope that you have done well.
Really hope that all of you can post your questions in this thread. And I hope to get everyone to only post interview questions and topics in this thread. The discussion should go to other threads.
Your post and sharing will not only benefit those who are taking it this year, it would help a lot to those ReComers who will have the interview in future years!!!
wengyi
05-04-2006, 11:28 AM
Want to know self-intro in BM or BI?
wolfbane
05-04-2006, 03:28 PM
Mine was in English. But I've heard they switch it around at times. It's up to them actually. There's no hard and fast rule to it. So just be prepared to speak anything in both languages. It shouldn't be that hard.
eXPeri3nc3
05-04-2006, 04:42 PM
HELLo all...
Sorry...
I just arrived home...
Basically, today's interview was quite alike the aforementioned fist-hand news....
So,there're not much I can say...
My question in ARAU:
BM- Malaysia bermatlamat untuk menjadi sebuah negara yang cemerlang dari segi pendidikan di perata dunia, akan tetapi Malaysia masih menghantar pelajar-pelajarnya ke luar negara. Apakah pendapat anda?
BI- Disadvantages of sending student to study abroad.
That's all from me....
Any question about the interview, please kindly post it here..
I hope I can help out... :P
Hm... same as pass year JPA interview question...
Wat do you answer the question?
Can giv some points? :wink:
eXPeri3nc3
05-04-2006, 05:24 PM
HELLo all...
Sorry...
I just arrived home...
Basically, today's interview was quite alike the aforementioned fist-hand news....
So,there're not much I can say...
My question in ARAU:
BM- Malaysia bermatlamat untuk menjadi sebuah negara yang cemerlang dari segi pendidikan di perata dunia, akan tetapi Malaysia masih menghantar pelajar-pelajarnya ke luar negara. Apakah pendapat anda?
BI- Disadvantages of sending student to study abroad.
That's all from me....
Any question about the interview, please kindly post it here..
I hope I can help out... :P
Hm... same as pass year JPA interview question...
Wat do you answer the question?
Can giv some points? :wink:
Moderator Note: --- Edited out at the request of author
Good point... Thankz for the info... Cultural Shock.. Didn't thought of it... U got dominated ar? Poor you... Hope tat doesn't happen to other ppl including myself... :wink:
kevinkent
05-04-2006, 06:20 PM
Thanks for answering my post... :P
Wolfbane, your group was asked to do a presentation??
06-04-2006, 12:03 AM
Year: 2006
Place: INTAN SP.
I would like to share the test n interview questions here....
OSPAT test....294 questions....
really straight forward n easy....juz hv to be honest wif urself....A bit like 'career phsycology test'......but I guess u guys won't choose the descriptions of personality which dun suit the course u apply or ur real interest....but if u're really really not suit the course u're applying....u should hv had second thoughts when u're making decision to apply for this course earlier than having 'self-conflict' in the test.....
Interview....
we introduce ourselves in English, then the interviewer gave us a topic to discuss. My topic was Graduates Unemployment....first session was conducted in BI, then after 30 mins or so, the interviewer ask us to discuss the topic in BM.....
other topics I get from my frens:
National Service
Agriculture
Teaching Sience n Maths in English
Patriotism
RMK9
How to promote our country?
Hope this help. :wink:
wolfbane
06-04-2006, 06:59 AM
Thanks for answering my post...
Wolfbane, your group was asked to do a presentation??
They called it a presentation, but its really just translating all the points that you've discussed together with your group, and 'presenting' it to them. We don't have to stand up, bring a power point or anything :P
sunflowerseed
06-04-2006, 08:30 AM
place : usm, georgetown
I went to the interview on the 5th. my group consisted 11 interviewees(only 4 of us are malay, the other chinese....)
we were asked to introduce ourselves in bm (not bad :D ).
next, we were to discuss a topic in english, the impact of the reality tv(my friend from kuantan had sms me the day b4, telling me she got this topic. so, i had mad my revision. lucky me!)
we were given 2 minutes to think b4 presenting our ideas. after 2 minutes, I gave my salam and say "may I start 1st, if all of u don't mind?" ( is this rude? hopefully, someone can give a comment on this..huhu :oops: )
however, i like my group very much. we tolerated well.
kiddskater
06-04-2006, 10:39 AM
i'm as grateful as ever for all those generous applicants who're willing to share ur experiences despite all those comments about malaysians being "kia-su"... my spoken bm is quite bad but i'll try my best.. heh.. and yes, good luck to each and everyone. we all deserve a place, all the best! pls would anyone mind to list out the "basic" questions they'll ask for introduction? thank u in advance.
Name: May Chin
Venue: USM, Penang
Date: 7th Apr
Edit: to sunflowerseed, don worry, it's not even close to being rude.
I just come back from KLIA so I hope it is not too slow for me. Well, at least those going tomorrow might learn something. :lol:
First, 294 questions with only A and B as choices and 7(or 12??:lol:) of them are based on a 1-7 scale. 45 minutes given.
For the A B questions, just remember the course you are trying to apply for and dont get carried away by your emotions. If you apply for accounting and they ask if you like to read economy section in the newspaper, be smart to answer A. 45 minutes are there so that you dont have the time to think. They dont want you to think because they dont want you to lie about yourself. However, if you want to get that course, be smart and answer according to the course you choose, not according to your emotion.
For the discussions. There are 2 sessions. First one is in BM and the other one is in BI.
BM : belajar di luar negara adalah lebih baik daripada belajar di dalam negara
So we discussed among ourselves. I had to raise up my hand to state my opinion. A lot of times, the interviewers pointes at others so that no one dominated too much. We were all a bit shy at first and everyone agreed that overseas is better than Malaysia so it's quite boring.
BI : reality TV show
At first, we agreed that it was good. Then, one Indian guy started saying how bad reality TV was and even when we tried to tell him that the good outweights the bad, he still thought that reality TV show should be terminated. So the debate got hotter and hotter with 9 people vs 1 person. I got a bit uncomfortable with his points and so I asked him if he really watched reality TV after all. Surprising ly, according to him, WWE is also reality TV show. I had to show him that WWE is only a soap opera and not a reality TV show and after some debates with 9 of us, the interviewers asked me to summarize the whole thing. Before I spoke 2 sentences, he poked in and the whole chaos started again. In the end, he said that he rested his case and we all went away. Of course, we approached the 2 interviewers and shook hand with them too. :lol:
---------------------------------THE END------------------------------------------
Hopefully, luck will be on my side. I do a few times of LS no jutsu before going into the room as well.
Oh, one surprise this year. Even if you dont get overseas program, JPA might still sponsor you to go to local U. Hm.....another tactics to please those who did not get chosen for scholarships. That way, people cant appeal or complain anymore. Smart move from JPA. :cry:
thegoz
06-04-2006, 02:11 PM
mine was just now at USM, Penang. I was in the first group, Panel 2. First, we were asked to introduce ourselves in BM. Then, the English group discussion. The topic was Rate of Crime Is Increasing, What's your role?
I offered to start the discussion and (i think) everyone else is ok with it. Then the discussion began...
Bla bla bla...
After an hour of bullshitting, the interviewer stopped us from talking and give chance to those who haven't talked yet. Then, he ended the discussion.
penguinelle
06-04-2006, 02:19 PM
my first time here, this forum has been really enlightening!
tomorrow I'll be going for my interview in USM Penang, am keeping my fingers crossed... I wanted to choose 'Pengajian perniagaan' but I couldn't, because I didn't take any Business -related subjects for my SPM. I chose 'Veterinary Science' instead. >.<
Is there anyone else who chose this? I have this odd feeling that I'm the only one who chose it... :(
Frankly, I still want to do Business :P I hope the discussion/ forum thing is relaxed and informal though... Is it?
Larry
06-04-2006, 07:04 PM
I just come back from KLIA so I hope it is not too slow for me. Well, at least those going tomorrow might learn something. :lol:
First, 294 questions with only A and B as choices and 7(or 12??:lol:) of them are based on a 1-7 scale. 45 minutes given.
For the A B questions, just remember the course you are trying to apply for and dont get carried away by your emotions. If you apply for accounting and they ask if you like to read economy section in the newspaper, be smart to answer A. 45 minutes are there so that you dont have the time to think. They dont want you to think because they dont want you to lie about yourself. However, if you want to get that course, be smart and answer according to the course you choose, not according to your emotion.
For the discussions. There are 2 sessions. First one is in BM and the other one is in BI.
So we discussed among ourselves. I had to raise up my hand to state my opinion. A lot of times, the interviewers pointes at others so that no one dominated too much. We were all a bit shy at first and everyone agreed that overseas is better than Malaysia so it's quite boring.
At first, we agreed that it was good. Then, one Indian guy started saying how bad reality TV was and even when we tried to tell him that the good outweights the bad, he still thought that reality TV show should be terminated. So the debate got hotter and hotter with 9 people vs 1 person. I got a bit uncomfortable with his points and so I asked him if he really watched reality TV after all. Surprising ly, according to him, WWE is also reality TV show. I had to show him that WWE is only a soap opera and not a reality TV show and after some debates with 9 of us, the interviewers asked me to summarize the whole thing. Before I spoke 2 sentences, he poked in and the whole chaos started again. In the end, he said that he rested his case and we all went away. Of course, we approached the 2 interviewers and shook hand with them too. :lol:
---------------------------------THE END------------------------------------------
Hopefully, luck will be on my side. I do a few times of LS no jutsu before going into the room as well.
Oh, one surprise this year. Even if you dont get overseas program, JPA might still sponsor you to go to local U. Hm.....another tactics to please those who did not get chosen for scholarships. That way, people cant appeal or complain anymore. Smart move from JPA. :cry:
You mean those spm leavers who shortlisted will get the scholarship to study in local university if we don't get the overseas?
dvmpt
06-04-2006, 07:09 PM
the topics i got 2day are quite ok.
for bi i got public transport in m'sia. den for bm my group got kualiti filem tempatan berbanding luar negara.
~uitm melaka~
06-04-2006, 08:06 PM
Really hope that ReComers who have gone for interview could share your experience, as well as more importantly the topic of your discussion , so that we can build a large pool of past-year questions for those applying next year and future years.
And I really hope that fellow ReComers would utilize ReCom as a tool to network with fellow Malaysians, involve in discussion, initiate discussion in any topic about Malaysia, towards the visiion of helping to build a united and prosperous Malaysia.
Can I request any ReComer who is free to help collect all the past-year questions (that are scattered around various threads in ReCom), into a list, in a format as follow:-
Topic of JPA Interview:-
etc
Lets work together for the benefit of many fellow Malaysians!
Good Luck!
06-04-2006, 08:35 PM
I have combined the list of all topics mentioned in this thread:-
1. Public Transport in Malaysia
2. Quality of Local Film vs Foreign Film
3. Increasing crime Rate
4. Reality TV Show
5. Study Abroad vs Study in Malaysia
6. Graduate Unemployment
7. National Service
8. Agricultural
9. Teaching of Mathematics and Science in English
10. Patriotism
11. 9th Malaysian Plan
12. How to Promote our country?
13. Drug Abuse in Malaysia
14. Female vs Male in Academic Achievements
15. Usage of Handphone in Schools
16. Qualities of A Good Leader
17. Pollution
18. Healthy LifeStyle
19. Pros & Cons of Fast Food
20. Aspiration of Malaysia to be Center of Education Excellence vs Sending Students Abroad
21. How will AFTA affect our Automobile Industry
22. Vision School
23. Pros & Cons of Using Credit Card
24. Declining Reading Habit in Malaysia
25. Courtesy Among Malaysians
26. Children nowadays are being pampered
27. Terrorism
If anyone is aware of any other topic being asked in JPA interview, please kindly post it here. This will help those students applying in future years.
Thank you.
shihnobie
06-04-2006, 09:20 PM
28. ICT: Advantages and Disadvantages (Nilai 2006)
yee_88888
07-04-2006, 12:31 AM
Melaka
white collar criminal
cara mengatasi masalah cetak rompak
all the best to all
Yamaha wave blaster history (http://www.yamaha-tech.com/wiki/Yamaha_Wave_Blaster)
shihnobie
07-04-2006, 12:42 AM
31. 1st Class Facility, 3rd Class Mentality (Nilai 2006)
johntck
07-04-2006, 09:12 PM
Hello!
this year BATCH 2006 NO ESSAY!
but got one psikology test.
You will have to interview together with others which are in your group. Almost 12 persons per group.
Interview: 1) introduce urself.
2) discuss a topic which is given by the interviewers.
(introduction or discussion can be in Malay or Inggeris. Have to see how the interview order.)
The topics that i heard from other group of students:
1)RM-9
2)taking drugs
3)the price of petrol is increasing.
4)should we take handphone to school?what is your view?
5)crime rate is increasing.what is your role?
6)national service
7)should we only take the car licence when we are 25 years old?
8)ICT
9)healthy lifestyle
10)about the event like Malaysian Idol(I'm not clear of this.)
That's all i can remember. Hope that these all can help you to perform well.
Good luck ya!
my group discussion was almost 100% in English. i don't have the opportunity to speak in BM during the interview session.
my topic of the discussion is:
Influcks(i don't really know the exact spelling but the meaning is 'kemasukan' in BM) of foreign workers in M'sia.
my group got only one topic to discuss.... no topic in BM... maybe it's because our performance too bad.. so, they thought of saving time rather than hearing to all the rubbish we're crapping...
yee_88888
08-04-2006, 03:53 PM
hi, dyee :) . somehow i think tat u r interviewed in malacca, am i rite?
FREE XXX (http://www.fucktube.com/)
erm.. no.. my interview not in malacca but in kuala terengganu..
yee_88888
08-04-2006, 04:03 PM
ic... sorry :oops:
LOS ANGELES DISPENSARY (http://dispensaries.org/)
You mean those spm leavers who shortlisted will get the scholarship to study in local university if we don't get the overseas?
According to that person(dont know the name), there should be a local university waiting for you even if you dont secure an overseas one. Well, at least something is better than nothing. This is just another way to shut up the mouth of those who appeal and appeal year after year.
does it means those who got da interview...den din shortlisted for overseas programme will then get a local programme?
if yes...it will be a tremendous, elating, bombasting, totally a good news for me... :D :D :D :D :D :D
if i'm not mistaken, you need to apply for the local scholarship, right? and i heard they said that the application will only be open around Jun or July! it's like still so long!!!
dvmpt
09-04-2006, 10:26 PM
I remembered they did mentioned something about scholarships to study in local universities. I'm not so sure when the application can be done.
thanks guys.... for all the replies :wink: :wink:
Firstly, the interviewer asks us to introduce ourselves in Malay. The topic that we discussed is female do better academically nowadays. (In English)
Lastly, we were asked to 'nyatakan cita-cit? anda' in Malay.
It is unfair in my case. My group consists of 14 people and hence, each and everyone of us has little chance to speak.
Any hot topic this year?
LOL i dun believe in speculating but i strongly suggest you to read up the topics of previous years (if you haven;t). relax lar..... its still long before the application is open. :D
dreAmer1388
28-01-2007, 10:10 PM
SPM 2005, Interviewed in Kajang, Selangor.
BM & ENG: Why most fresh graduates are unemployed? Discuss.
We did not do different question for BM and Eng due to shortage of time?so v just ?recycled? the same discussion topic!
? and we did not even intro ourselves?reason? Shortage of time too. Sometimes it?s nice to have your slots at the end of the day. The adjudicators just rushed on the interviews.
For SPM 2005 batch, we did not have essays, just sit for a little test before the interview? and it seems like a Career Test I did before in my college orientation week. There?s no right and wrong for wat u have answered. Fun tho. No worries about that.
Just be prepare for a LoOOng long wait from morning till evening. Tedious tho. But it's a great opportunity to meet new friends!
30-01-2007, 10:17 PM
Compilations of all past year JPA interview questions are as follow:-
1. Public Transport in Malaysia
2. Quality of Local Film vs Foreign Film
3. Increasing crime Rate
4. Reality TV Shows (eg: Malaysian Idol)
5. Study Abroad vs Study in Malaysia
6. Graduate Unemployment
7. National Service
8. Agricultural
9. Teaching of Mathematics and Science in English
10. Patriotism
11. 9th Malaysian Plan
12. How to Promote our country?
13. Drug Abuse in Malaysia
14. Female vs Male in Academic Achievements
15. Usage of Handphone in Schools
16. Qualities of A Good Leader
17. Pollution
18. Healthy LifeStyle
19. Pros & Cons of Fast Food
20. Aspiration of Malaysia to be Center of Education Excellence vs Sending Students Abroad
21. How will AFTA affect our Automobile Industry
22. Vision School
23. Pros & Cons of Using Credit Card
24. Declining Reading Habit in Malaysia
25. Courtesy Among Malaysians
26. Children nowadays are being pampered
27. Terrorism
28. ICT: Advantages and Disadvantages
29. White Collar Crime
30. Ways to Overcome Piracy (Counterfeit) Problem
31. 1st Class Facility, 3rd Class Mentality
32. Price of Petrol Increasing
33. Age For Driving Licence
34. Foreign Workers in Malaysia
If any ReComers get other interview questions that above, please kindly share it here for the benefit of fellow ReComers who would go through the interview this year.
For those ReComers who sat for SPM in 2006, do start preparing for your JPA Scholarships interview (if you plan to apply) with those past-year questions in mind. This would give you good practice, although some of the questions from here might be repeated and there might be some new questions being asked this year.
sapphire1989
01-02-2007, 02:06 AM
wow....thanks chenchow for taking the effort to summarize it into a list....will help us a lot...thanks!
uglyducklai
02-02-2007, 11:08 PM
walau~~~cool tread,indeed!!
well,few weeks ago i already think of preparing myself for the interview,so,buy The Star everyday (almost everyday) to polish up my English.
But,the fact is,I DUN THINK I REALLY CAN OBTAIN STRAIGHT As IN SPM!!! haiz.....very big posibilities that i would even have a chance to be interviewed.Another sad fact.
Anyway,really thanks to all the Recommers for helping the helpless young generation-like me
ai........ :cry:
Yvette
05-02-2007, 01:42 PM
The advantages and disadvantages of National Service. (this was in English)
Reading habits of Malaysians ( in Malay)
we had a debate style interview. Make sure you fully involve yourself in it.
Appolo
05-02-2007, 06:44 PM
My interview question is the pros and cons of reality tv show.
There was a chairman for the discusssion group and the interviewers chose some of us in the group for questions related to the topic in BM.
No essays, just a personality test that I did not answer as truthfully as I hoped myself to be.
slumber
07-02-2007, 12:13 AM
mine was about the teenagers lack of patriotism ...
discuss in english
present in malay...
my presentation in malay was so horrible... stuck n cannot think any malay word for the intro :oops:
better u prepared urselves in malay also 8)
claypot
07-02-2007, 08:06 PM
The advantages and disadvantages of National Service. (this was in English)
Reading habits of Malaysians ( in Malay)
we had a debate style interview. Make sure you fully involve yourself in it.
same as mine....
jay3349
08-02-2007, 10:53 PM
They asked me about traffic rules and NS.
In my interview we were asked to pair up and present a topic. Then others were free to ask questions.
Make sure you ask questions. Not hard ones. Make them easy to understand, short and answerable.
No controversy, no dominating
Appolo
12-02-2007, 10:00 PM
I remembered last year I tried to memorize all of the thrusts involved in the ninth Malaysian Plan, a popular issue indeed at that time of the year.
Unfortunately, a majority of my friends who did not do their homework properly missed out on the question while I was disappointed that I'm not asked for my opinion on that particular toipc.
Luckily i manage to pass some of my notes to the rest of my friends who were required to take the interview in the evening session.
The questions asked on the 9th Malaysian plan is normally concentrated on the obstacles faced in executing it and the benefits gained from the plan itself.You may be asked to give your opinion on whether a certain allocation of fund under the plan is advisable or the opposite, such as the millions of ringgit spent for conservation,protection and cleaning of rivers.
I will definately place my bet on questions that asked about the scholarships offered to 10A1 students from poorer backgrounds under the 2007 Budget.Since such questions are closely related to student life, it will definately improve your common knowledge even though you may not be asked babout it.
Apart from that, be sure to be on the look out for major events currently taking place in Malaysia such as the flood in Johor and news reported in the bulletins.
The most important thing is to muster every ounce of confidence you have while you're talking and utilize what you have learned from the syllabus taught in secondary school or your daily observation.
I hope what I said just now can be of help. :) :o :D 8) :wink:
alex2020
12-02-2007, 10:57 PM
SPM 2005, Interviewed in Kajang, Selangor.
BM & ENG: Why most fresh graduates are unemployed? Discuss.
We did not do different question for BM and Eng due to shortage of time?so v just ?recycled? the same discussion topic!
? and we did not even intro ourselves?reason? Shortage of time too. Sometimes it?s nice to have your slots at the end of the day. The adjudicators just rushed on the interviews.
For SPM 2005 batch, we did not have essays, just sit for a little test before the interview? and it seems like a Career Test I did before in my college orientation week. There?s no right and wrong for wat u have answered. Fun tho. No worries about that.
Just be prepare for a LoOOng long wait from morning till evening. Tedious tho. But it's a great opportunity to meet new friends!
Same question. I think we are in the same group... Hehe!!!
24-02-2007, 10:49 AM
Hey, for jpa, do we still have to prepare essays?Or is it more of a group discussion and debate?And if we are supposed to write essays, how long must our essays be?
Appolo
01-03-2007, 09:53 PM
There are chances that an essay might not come up but to do some preparation on essay topic is not a bad idea at all.At least you can try to improve the way you perceive a particular question.
luthien
04-03-2007, 02:51 AM
d psycho test veri(200000X) ez 1.. jz asking bout ur interests.. n d answer is veri veri obvious 1.. haha..
thn for d interview part:
-10 o 12 ppl in a gp
-intro in english (name, school, parents occupation n things like tat.. veri basic 1 n no Qs like 'wats special bout u', 'ur co-cu')
-nid 2 say WAT COURSE u choose n WHY
-n oso WHICH COUNTRY u 1 2 do ur course in n WHY (gt 1 girl in my gp said india n she reli got it..coincidence o wat )
-i dunno bout otr interviewers but mine asked each candidate aftr tey intro, a general knowledge Q relevant to course.. he asked me how many teeth does an adult human has.. d Q came rather unexpectedly n i was quite stunned.. my answer.. 34.. lol..)
-BM- gejala dadah
-Eng - how u promote malaysia to otr countries..
tips:
-for d interview part, u mz nt onli look confident, u nid to SOUND confident as well.. dun ever tremble whn u talk n FLUENCY is very very important..
-anthr important thing.. DUN EVER act like a LOG n play dumb during d interview.. since thr r quite a lot of ppl to b interviewd, it is oso quite challenging to observe n choose each.. so , i came up wiv tis theory tat whoever is all quite during d interview will b automatically eliminated.. tats y sum 11As didn gt d scholarship.. othrs who at least talkd quite a bit wil b furthr considered 4 d schlrshp according to their results..
-so,no matter how nervous u r or tat u dun hev enuf points for d Qs, mz voice out ur opinion.. jz ACT confident even though u r getting all gooey inside.. haha.. tats wat i did last yr.. sum of my opinions r actuali rubbish n pointless..
hope tis can help u guys tis year.. haha.. good luck n all d best!! :wink:
elfingirl
12-03-2007, 01:34 AM
hi, im kinda new here.. not really sure about how this thing works...
but just wanna say lots of thanks to all of you.. i just happened to stumble on this site & i felt like i found some hidden treasure...
U're all so helpful!!! really appreciate it a lot... especially the part on info about the scholarships.. more than the newspapers can provide. Yup, thanx lots lots!!! :D
prophecus
15-03-2007, 05:23 PM
Interview location: INTEC
topic: reading habits is declining (already summarized by chenchow)
SPM 2005
well.. the interview ran well for me.. everyone introduced oneself in Malay, what's the name, what course, why you want.. then.. discussion.. bla bla same process.
just want to say a thing.. if your name starts with MU (e.g Muhammad) then it's great a possibility that your group is male malay.. my whole group was male and malay.. huuh..
17-03-2007, 11:35 AM
This is a very important topic for those JPA-aspirants to start preparation!
jasmine_tea
26-03-2007, 04:29 PM
hi everyone
I'm new here... juz got to know abt this forum fr my fren last week
I find tis forum very useful
many tips for me to prepare for JPA interview tis coming april
thx so much for those who provide useful tips !!!
appreciate them very much :lol:
at 1st, i thought all the question r in english
now i know there is BM questions too
must start preparing
thx again guys!
vince
27-03-2007, 12:29 AM
spm 2005,interview:2006,intec
discussion only.
in bm-kebaikan dan keburukan penggunaan telefon bimbit di sekolah
in english-national service.discuss
hey guys, thanx alot!! :lol:
btw, may i noe wat 2 wear 2 d interview??
izzit advisable 2 wear baju kurung 2 show our .. arhem sincerity?
haha! :oops: thx again !!
groundum
29-03-2007, 02:18 PM
u guys shake the interviewer hands b4 or after the interview sesson? :lol:
i hear nothing about canada.. can anyone who knows anything or any advice bout applyin to canada share with me?
sham_15
30-03-2007, 08:56 PM
thanks to all the guys who have shared ur experiences. I'm certain that this info is going help me and others a great deal. by the way i'm going to the interview on 5th apr 07 2.00p.m. at Putrajaya International Conventinal Centre. anyone else going there ?
I also wish all the best to all the recomers.
quixotic89
31-03-2007, 04:32 AM
thanks to all the guys who have shared ur experiences. I'm certain that this info is going help me and others a great deal. by the way i'm going to the interview on 5th apr 07 2.00p.m. at Putrajaya International Conventinal Centre. anyone else going there ?
hey sham_15..im goin to putrajaya on 5th apr 2pm too..to all recomers..all the best..let us have faith and confidence in tacklin the questions given..well..it seems that the jpa's policies on topics of discussions do change evry year..so,there might be a possibity that a new question other than previous years might be asked..how bout compiling all the latest national issues here..for example..cluster schools??
8) [/quote]
willy_wonka
31-03-2007, 04:53 PM
hai....nice to join u all
erm, may i know who is going to interview in ipoh on 6th april, because i`am going to that place too, i`m quite nervous with the interview,it is better to meet some friend over there. hehe :)
haiz....
really don`t know what preparation should i do, before the interview, any advice please? :lol:
sore_four_eyes
31-03-2007, 05:25 PM
hey sham_15..im goin to putrajaya on 5th apr 2pm too..to all recomers..all the best..let us have faith and confidence in tacklin the questions given..well..it seems that the jpa's policies on topics of discussions do change evry year..so,there might be a possibity that a new question other than previous years might be asked..how bout compiling all the latest national issues here..for example..cluster schools??
8) [/quote]
I'm due on 5th April, 2pm, Putrajaya as well! :D I have a feeling they'll ask something closer to yourself, like why you take the course, what is the most embarrassing experience you've ever had before moving on to national issues. I think RM9 is worth a read-up on as well as piracy, maybe our current PM's policies, i.e. Islam Hadhari, etc.
lawteoh
31-03-2007, 09:13 PM
erm, may i know who is going to interview in ipoh on 6th april, because i`am going to that place too, i`m quite nervous with the interview,it is better to meet some friend over there. hehe :)
haiz....
really don`t know what preparation should i do, before the interview, any advice please? :lol:
Hey.. I am going there also... yay!! I got a partner!! Everybody also go on 5th april.. left me alone.. sigh... What time are you going? They ask me to reach there at 10 am...... U noe where is INTIM?
uglyducklai
31-03-2007, 09:23 PM
Hey.. I am going there also... yay!! I got a partner!! Everybody also go on 5th april.. left me alone.. sigh... What time are you going? They ask me to reach there at 10 am...... U noe where is INTIM?
is located at Cempaka Ipoh Garden.
not everyone go on 5th,haha,coz me and my frenz are last day,same time with u.
wish u luck
lawteoh
31-03-2007, 11:36 PM
is located at Cempaka Ipoh Garden.
not everyone go on 5th,haha,coz me and my frenz are last day,same time with u.
wish u luck
wao.. u also that time? good.... Hope we can meet that time.. haha... as a friendly competitor...... Maybe we will get the same group that time? who knows? :p
Bubbly_Putsie
01-04-2007, 01:06 AM
So
im new here..reli nervous bout the interview...mine is on 4th april at putrajaya, 10am...any1 else going on the same date? hoping 2 meet sum new frens...im juz wondering wat kind of topic would come out this year?...will there be any essays?
pop_kornt
01-04-2007, 02:45 AM
So
im new here..reli nervous bout the interview...mine is on 4th april at putrajaya, 10am...any1 else going on the same date? hoping 2 meet sum new frens...im juz wondering wat kind of topic would come out this year?...will there be any essays?
same goes wif me on 4th of april in putrajaya..
but mine is 8am a bit early then urs..
so wat course u applied??
01-04-2007, 12:08 PM
haiz....
I'm going on the 6th also..anyone going to INTIM for the 2 p.m. session?
sapphire1989
01-04-2007, 02:46 PM
hey everyone....i'm goin on 5th April...2pm too!! hehe :D
good luck everyone! letz give our best shot!
lawteoh
01-04-2007, 09:05 PM
haiz....
You are also from Ipoh? .... erm... I deduce that ur time is at 2 pm... am i right about this? lol.... Too bad can't meet ya that day! Feeling sorta nervous.. :P
groundum
01-04-2007, 09:11 PM
can som pls tell me ow 2 curePEK CHEK-ness+ nervous..???
lawteoh
01-04-2007, 09:13 PM
can som pls tell me ow 2 curePEK CHEK-ness+ nervous..???
What is pek chek? lol.....
Bubbly_Putsie
01-04-2007, 09:39 PM
So
lucky u...at dat time, i bet the interviewers r in gud mood...neway, i applied for accountancy...u?can help me ah?...rite afta ur interview, can tell me everything?...as in wat questions they ask, the essay?...i mean i bet u din applied 4 the same course as me?...pls...by smslah...give me ur number, & i'll miss col ulah...i noe i sound desperate, but pls...
ericjoe
01-04-2007, 09:45 PM
So
lucky u...at dat time, i bet the interviewers r in gud mood...neway, i applied for accountancy...u?can help me ah?...rite afta ur interview, can tell me everything?...as in wat questions they ask, the essay?...i mean i bet u din applied 4 the same course as me?...pls...by smslah...give me ur number, & i'll miss col ulah...i noe i sound desperate, but pls...
hah...so kia su? i also want to learn from you...Bubbly_Putsie..what course u apply 4? how is your result?
Bubbly_Putsie
01-04-2007, 09:50 PM
So
hah...so kia su? i also want to learn from you...Bubbly_Putsie..what course u apply 4? how is your result?
me kia su?im hurt even though i dun even noe wat it means...kidding...i applied for accountancy...u?...my results?erm..i dun wanna tell..oklah..i got a1s on the subjects dat required for the course ive applied...u?
juliaroxxx
01-04-2007, 10:28 PM
haiz....
cool, im also goin for the interview on the 6th( 10am) at INTIM Ipoh!!! :D
ericjoe
01-04-2007, 11:15 PM
So
me kia su?im hurt even though i dun even noe wat it means...kidding...i applied for accountancy...u?...my results?erm..i dun wanna tell..oklah..i got a1s on the subjects dat required for the course ive applied...u?
i got 10A1 and 1A2 :( and i apply engineering.....haih..
01-04-2007, 11:57 PM
So
i got 10A1 and 1A2 :( and i apply engineering.....haih..
i oso at putrajaya, 4/4, 10 am...... course engineering..... lets do a small get together at the place want o not... i surveyed the place just now... like dewan berhantu... so quiet and no one was there.... pm me if same day and time....
02-04-2007, 10:15 AM
haiz....
You are also from Ipoh? .... erm... I deduce that ur time is at 2 pm... am i right about this? lol.... Too bad can't meet ya that day! Feeling sorta nervous.. :P
Erm...I'm not really from Ipoh although I frequently visit Ipoh...And yes, my time is at 2pm, anyone going for that session? Would love to meet up with you!!
pop_kornt
02-04-2007, 02:33 PM
So
yea probably they'll be in the gud mood..
but if u can see the other side of it..
they'll surely expecting some fresh and gud answering
from this early group..sure can just pm me i'll give my number..
i applied for science course..so c u there..and gudluck..~~
02-04-2007, 05:27 PM
May I noe wat's bou't the personality test?
02-04-2007, 05:50 PM
So
no essay..... same time & date..... wat course u apply? me engineering......
lawteoh
02-04-2007, 05:56 PM
haiz....
cool, im also goin for the interview on the 6th( 10am) at INTIM Ipoh!!! :D
Wow.. guess I dun feel alone now.. haha... Meet ya there if we really can meet..haha.. And I am Lawrence... XD
well, what school are you from? Im from ACS... =)
lawteoh
02-04-2007, 06:02 PM
haiz....
Erm...I'm not really from Ipoh although I frequently visit Ipoh...And yes, my time is at 2pm, anyone going for that session? Would love to meet up with you!!
Well, if my group is the last for the interview, then sure can meet up wan... XD ..... Then where are you from? Weird.. coz ur place of interview is also at INTIM (Ipoh) :P
nightingale89
02-04-2007, 10:13 PM
So
hi!! mine is on the 4th too.. 8am..
i applied for science course also.. medicine..
yea, i agree wif pop_kornt, i think they'll be expecting someone really good.. :?
oh well.. lets just do our best? :lol:
btw.. pop_kornt, wat time are u planning to go there?
we should be there bfore 8, rite? so..7.45 should be fine?
i really dun wanna be late for de interview...
8am is kinda EARLY..
well..at least for me.. hehe
03-04-2007, 08:33 AM
haiz....
Well, if my group is the last for the interview, then sure can meet up wan... XD ..... Then where are you from? Weird.. coz ur place of interview is also at INTIM (Ipoh) :P
hi I'm oso at INTIM(ipoh), 5th apr , 10am!!!
who else is going on tat time???
I'm nervous!
03-04-2007, 11:18 AM
haiz....
I'm from a little town not too far away from Ipoh...there's no centre here, so the nearest would be Ipoh. I think my interview's the last for the whole session. Anyone going on Fri 2 pm at INTIM Ipoh? Seems like I'm the only one here :cry:
pop_kornt
03-04-2007, 11:51 AM
So
hi!! mine is on the 4th too.. 8am..
i applied for science course also.. medicine..
yea, i agree wif pop_kornt, i think they'll be expecting someone really good.. :?
oh well.. lets just do our best? :lol:
btw.. pop_kornt, wat time are u planning to go there?
we should be there bfore 8, rite? so..7.45 should be fine?
i really dun wanna be late for de interview...
8am is kinda EARLY..
well..at least for me.. hehe
ooic medicine..
i applied for science huhu it just stated science..
sound funny rite..huhuhu i think 745 would be ok..
i think i'll reach there around 7.45...
yea im agree with u..
is really early for me 8am..wow..~~
huhuhuh but its ok la..
just do our besh k..
c u there~~
Daniel_Chin
03-04-2007, 01:02 PM
I'm going for the interview tomorrow, 10.00 a.m., INTIM. It seems like I'm the only one who applied for Architecture. :(
Shienna
03-04-2007, 01:04 PM
You're not the only one. I applied for architecture too ;3
Daniel_Chin
03-04-2007, 01:06 PM
You're not the only one. I applied for architecture too ;3
Really? :lol: So, when is your interview?
Shienna
03-04-2007, 01:10 PM
Tomorrow, 8 a.m. at Kepala Batas.
I fear for the interview Ox
I hope there'll be questions I can answer.
Daniel_Chin
03-04-2007, 01:13 PM
Me too...It depends on your interviewers actually, what questions they'll ask or whether it's conducted in BM or BI. Let's hope that we are the lucky ones tomorrow. :wink:
dissapointed89
03-04-2007, 01:14 PM
Anybody who had thier interview on 3rd april(today), we will be gratefull if u can share your experience here....
it will be very usefull to other recommers that are going 2 get interview the coming day to prepare accordingly..
looking forward to hear any...
bye2....
Shienna
03-04-2007, 01:18 PM
@<hidden> Daniel_Chin - Yeah. But most probably they'll find a way to question us in both languages.
All we can do now is get ourselves ready and pray for the best x3
lawteoh
03-04-2007, 02:03 PM
haiz....
I'm from a little town not too far away from Ipoh...there's no centre here, so the nearest would be Ipoh. I think my interview's the last for the whole session. Anyone going on Fri 2 pm at INTIM Ipoh? Seems like I'm the only one here :cry:
well, u r quite right about that... most people get the morning session wan... But dun be sad ya... smile... Its the interviewers you are targeting ma... :P
I am quite lucky.. One of my classmates get the morning session and its on that day also.. haha.. good luck for the last session? Well, probably the interviewers are tired that time and in good mood since its the last session..haha.. So, u wil most probably get chosen la provided u impress them... XD
03-04-2007, 02:10 PM
haiz....
well, u r quite right about that... most people get the morning session wan... But dun be sad ya... smile... Its the interviewers you are targeting ma... :P
I am quite lucky.. One of my classmates get the morning session and its on that day also.. haha.. good luck for the last session? Well, probably the interviewers are tired that time and in good mood since its the last session..haha.. So, u wil most probably get chosen la provided u impress them... XD
But in the afternoons when the weather is hot, they tend to get a little grumpy, don't they? :wink: Plus, they've already had to endure 2 sessions with you guys. No offence, but what makes you think they'll be in a good mood?
Hi, i m a newbie here and i hope tat i can get along with u all guy coz i m also going to the JPA interview this friday at 10am. Really nervous now and hope that i can see any recommer there... haha nice to meet u all. AH before i forget, my interview place is in Putrajaya.
dissapointed89
03-04-2007, 02:48 PM
HELLO....
Attention to those who had their interview on the 3rd april(today), it will be gratefull to us if u can tell your experience....
it will come handy 4 other recommers that are going to be interview on the coming day....
thanks....
luv_shinichi
03-04-2007, 07:44 PM
I got the intro in English, they didn't ask about the country we choose, very strange for me.. Are they going to decide themselves?
Anyway, i have the discussion in BM.. Ibu bapa lebih mementingkan kerjaya drp pendidikan anak-anak. Bahaskan. (but they didn't even give us any time to think about it, we gotta start the debate right away.)
I heard that many past year questions are being asked this year as well..so it's a good idea to look out for those questions..
nysha
03-04-2007, 08:56 PM
well tis year is a physcology test >>>>thnk god ..physcology test meanin that the test that we usually do out of sum magazines.its pure common sense nothing to worry
Home insurance advice (http://www.insurance-forums.org/home-insurance/)
Lee89
03-04-2007, 09:18 PM
Hi thr!!!!! im Lee...m new here......
So, basically, thr's a psychology test and group discussion ony la??? got anytin els ah??? heehee...my interview's in putrajaya at 2pm tmrw....any1 out thr dat's goin thr at d same time s me???
huh??there din ask any question???really strange..i hope mine also like tat
03-04-2007, 09:38 PM
I'm 5th Apr, 10 am...
Ipoh.
hope won't b same group wiv those really "geng" ppl... :lol:
ckkeong
03-04-2007, 09:43 PM
arrrr..... my interview is 2morrow morning at 10am in Putrajaya.
So anxious about it, anyone else will be joining me 2morrow????
Hopefully can discuss the topic given 2morrow either in english or in bm ....
joan89
03-04-2007, 09:58 PM
anyone going for 5th April, 10am at putrajaya?
hope those who had gone through the interview can share ur experience here...reli nervous now...
nervous
03-04-2007, 10:18 PM
So, basically, thr's a psychology test and group discussion ony la??? got anytin els ah??? heehee...my interview's in putrajaya at 2pm tmrw....any1 out thr dat's goin thr at d same time s me???
Hey Lee, My time slot is also the same as u!!I am KAI LIANG!!
hope to see u there tomorrow!!
Btw, wat course did u apply for??
good luck and all the best!!
Do ur best and god will do the rest!!
sleep well tonight :P
Lee89
03-04-2007, 11:03 PM
Hey Lee, My time slot is also the same as u!!I am KAI LIANG!!
hope to see u there tomorrow!!
Btw, wat course did u apply for??
good luck and all the best!!
Do ur best and god will do the rest!!
sleep well tonight :P
Hey Kai Liang!!! :P
haha..yup..hope 2 c u thr 2!
i applied 4 actuarial sc..u???
Thx 4 ya best wishes!
all the very very VERYYYYY BeSt 2 u 2!!!!!
lawteoh
03-04-2007, 11:31 PM
haiz....
But in the afternoons when the weather is hot, they tend to get a little grumpy, don't they? :wink: Plus, they've already had to endure 2 sessions with you guys. No offence, but what makes you think they'll be in a good mood?
Cause after that, they will be free from us guys already!! Merdeka!! haha.... So, the last session, after the interview with you guys, then they can finally go back and have a good night sleep lor.. Remember, they are facing hundreds of applicants daily.. Obviously, when they are faced with only a few more remaining, their mood will be good... Its just my opinion... :)
Daniel_Chin
03-04-2007, 11:41 PM
haiz....
Cause after that, they will be free from us guys already!! Merdeka!! haha.... So, the last session, after the interview with you guys, then they can finally go back and have a good night sleep lor.. Remember, they are facing hundreds of applicants daily.. Obviously, when they are faced with only a few more remaining, their mood will be good... Its just my opinion... :)
I don't agree with that. When the interviewers are finishing, they tend to be impatient. Just can't wait to go back to eat or sleep. It's just like the driving test...the last candidate usually required to drive short-cut(And I'm one of them :( )
lawteoh
04-04-2007, 02:40 PM
err... ur point is good... Agree also... haha.... But if they are impatient and u r given a short cut, wouldn't that benefit you? In a sense, they will just give you 1 topic and not 2 topics (like some of my friends).... Oh ya.. you are asked to give a speech that time... but the bad point is you have to take that time (which is very short) to impress them.. or else u r out!!
And erm.. one more thing... when you are required to drive short-cut, normally u will pass it.... XD.. but dunno whether its similar to the interview anot la..... :P
So the interview this year will hav 2 topic??? BM o BI??whose going PUTRA this friday??Hope to meet sum1 here haha..any1 can share his/her experieces here??about tis year interview
lawteoh
04-04-2007, 02:47 PM
So the interview this year will hav 2 topic??? BM o BI??whose going PUTRA this friday??Hope to meet sum1 here haha..any1 can share his/her experieces here??about tis year interview
The interview will be in in two language.... Better prepared urselves for that...
-ELaiNE-
04-04-2007, 03:11 PM
hope those who had gone through the interview can share ur experience here...reli nervous now...
Hey there..i'm going the same place, date and time as you. I'm Elaine and i assume you're joan right? What course did you apply for? See you there!
groundum
04-04-2007, 03:34 PM
i wunder how can we prepare...
the interviewer thinks abt the topic on the spot..they even asked us to recomen the suitable topic for us to discuss abt..=.=
Estrella
04-04-2007, 04:47 PM
Hey there..i'm going the same place, date and time as you. I'm Elaine and i assume you're joan right? What course did you apply for? See you there!
i'm same as u guys. wish to meet u guys there tomorrow
carmen
04-04-2007, 04:56 PM
Another fellow Recommer same day n place with me! My interview at 10 am!
so wats ur name??haa.full name
wat course u've choosen?
carmen
04-04-2007, 05:32 PM
I'm Jia Wen!
Course: Accounting. You?
groundum
04-04-2007, 07:25 PM
on9 flirt alert..^^
ok..jus joking..dun flame..LOL
lawteoh
04-04-2007, 09:56 PM
on9 flirt alert..^^
ok..jus joking..dun flame..LOL
on9 flirt alert? haha... hey stick to the topic la... haiyo.. But its ok to see some guys and girls flirting here.. make this thread more lively.. haha
Kevin89
04-04-2007, 11:09 PM
List of Questions that were asked this few days, hope can benefits the others that going for 5th and 6th April.
1. Increasing crime rate among students
2. Patriotism among teenagers
3. Parents are spending less time with their children (Ibu bapa pentingkan kerjaya daripada pendidikan anak-anak)
4. Perempuan masa kini terutamanya lepasan graduan luar negara menjadi ketua bagi kegiatan jenayah di Malaysia
5. Reality tv program give negative impact on students or not
6. Presents students are more pampered
7. 1st class infrustructure, 3rd class mentality (1st class infrastructure and 3rd class mentality still prevails)
8. Schools emphasize on academics excellence (Education system too emphasised on academics and tourism)
9. Junk food
10. Teenagers nowadays do not socialize
11. ICT: Advantages and disadvantages
12. Tahun ini ialah Tahun Melancong Malaysia. Apakah usaha yang boleh anda buat untuk melaksanakan program ini?
13. Mat dan Minah Rempit is a gang of young people who do not have direction in life, do u agree?
14. Heavy fines should be issued to litter bugs
15. Human resource
16. Drugs
17. Students who are choosy in picking their courses (Graduate unemployment is due to graduates being choosy about their job?)
18. Global warming
19. RMK 9
20. Things to prepare before going abroad
21. Children nowadays prefer to play computer games, etc
22. Violence
23. Female vs Male in Academic Achievements
24. Reading Habit Among Youth is Declining
25. Dasar pandang ke timur
26. Corruption
27. Do you agree that bloggers should be registered?
28. Education system
29. The philosophy of a coin [the most unexpected question for me]
30. Do you think it's the right choice to categorize students into art stream and science stream
31. Should school uniform be ambolish or not
32. Tell us one strength and weakness of yours. One only
33. Pick a cartoon character that would best explain you and why
34. Picture yourself in 10 years time, and what would you want to be
35. Isu-isu semasa di Malaysia pada masa kini?
36. Kemajuan sains dan teknologi membawa lebih banyak keburukan atau kebaikan
37. Your favourite tv programs and why
38. Nelayan laut dalam lebih mengutung daripada peladang
39. National Service for females should be established or not?
40. Malaysia harus membina sebuah pusat penyelidikan di kutub selatan
41. Negara barat dikatakan lebih maju dalam bidang IT. Apakah sebabnya?
42. Leadership & followership. The conclusion between leadership & followership
43. Our leader idols
For those questions which are alike, i put it in bracket ( )
Lee89
04-04-2007, 11:51 PM
:P those goin 2 putrajaya...
prepare 4 tis too: thr r so many applicants 4 this scholarship, so y u think u shud b chosen? (y u deserve the scholarship la....)
one more thing, pls manage ya time well 4 d personality test...
thr's lots of questions....
so dun take too long to think abt it...
if not, sure cant finish 1...
all the best 2 u ppl goin 4 the interview!!!! 8)
05-04-2007, 12:00 AM
YU FAN. Engineering.Haha
haha....i got the same day 2...my interview will be at 10 am....how about you?? izit ur surname start with alphabet "K"? :roll:
ya. My name start with K so is it related to the grouping??can any1 tell me more about RMK9 and human resource
lawteoh
05-04-2007, 03:03 PM
:P those goin 2 putrajaya...
prepare 4 tis too: thr r so many applicants 4 this scholarship, so y u think u shud b chosen? (y u deserve the scholarship la....)
one more thing, pls manage ya time well 4 d personality test...
thr's lots of questions....
so dun take too long to think abt it...
if not, sure cant finish 1...
all the best 2 u ppl goin 4 the interview!!!! 8)
thanks.... Well, I think the best way is to see what questions then immediately circle it.. anyway, why shud we think woh? It seems like a fun test only... haha
05-04-2007, 03:07 PM
I went 4 my interview 2day & it's quite fun actually... :P
but my group only consist of 5 ppl & thr r no group discussions at all...
juz individual questions...
totally diffrent from wat other groups did...
but i like the interviewer...
he's really good...
Thumbs up 2 him!!! :D
lhann90
05-04-2007, 05:51 PM
my topic is 'reality tv programme brings more impact to students.do u agree?'.....oh my goodness...only 4ppl in my group...n i'm d only one chinese in d 1st session...mayb tis can impress dem...haha...n i tot i did faster than a malay guy beside me in d test,forgot d time was running....til d officer said it's time...luckily they waited for us...haha...so must do faster!!my wear was not formal enuf wen i saw others chinese girls wore baju kurung,tensed up d atmosphere...too bad i recognised 1malay girl ther,but d officer separated us,i'm havin test1st...no chance to make any new fren... d interviewer asked d 4th guy to start intro,but he seemed not ready yet,so he pointed to me...9696...my fren has been asked a weird ques...if for me,sure die...'what is science n what is d separatin of science n art?'...my fren jz simply boomed it...haha..gd luck to others!!
20-01-2008, 12:48 AM
For past year JPA Scholarships Interview Questions, please refer to here!
I am in the NS for second batch while the interviewing session going on (around april)... Okay,let say,IF i am short-listed for the interview,HOW? What should i do? DAMN WORRY~
Any Seniors please help,give guides~
my frenz was in the NS 2nd bacth oso gt shortlisted...
they take a few days off then go 4 interview...
Appolo
21-01-2008, 08:21 AM
I am in the NS for second batch while the interviewing session going on (around april)... Okay,let say,IF i am short-listed for the interview,HOW? What should i do? DAMN WORRY~
Any Seniors please help,give guides~
Well you are normally given two type of option to choose from:
option A- you are assigned to an interview center near your camp
option B- you can apply to ask that you interview place to be your hometown or whatever interview center that might appeal to you.Recive confirmation from the scholarship provider and take a couple of days off for the interview.
I have friends who tried both methods.
Shareen
03-03-2008, 11:48 PM
I'd like to know what are the topics or questions during that JPA interview that can be asked?
04-03-2008, 01:51 AM
Search the forums.....there is a thread which has all that you need.
Sh3ng
05-03-2008, 07:51 PM
I'd like to know what are the topics or questions during that JPA interview that can be asked?
Ya, there's a thread under scholarship on jpa past interview topics. Try searching for it and you can get more information there. :D
try this...mights help..
http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=3663&start=210
08-03-2008, 05:25 PM
Bump this up for fellow ReComers to use. Hope to see more ReComers share topics here too!
08-03-2008, 05:25 PM
Can someone consolidate all the topics of interview into a long list? Lets help all fellow ReComers together!
any hot topic this yr??thanks
davidchak
15-03-2008, 11:38 PM
Election Results?
Better or worse?
Lol...
16-03-2008, 12:37 AM
rising prices of petrol and flour?
passOUT
16-03-2008, 09:45 PM
^
you mean inflation???
they are just kidding. No politics or economics related question will be ask.... *those seniors already say this at the precious post...*
twinklecheesse
20-03-2008, 02:37 PM
Hi..
I had gone through the pages of interview questions.Can I have your opinion of the questions that might be asked this year?Besides, I applied for biotechnology under JPA.Is there any recomers currently doing biotech?I would like to have your advice:p
Thanks.:)
Appolo
20-03-2008, 02:56 PM
Well, I'm doing biotech.
For the topics, try and search through the older posts in the thread.It would be more or less the same every year.
I would say that economy and history would be too heavy for an inerview.
20-03-2008, 07:27 PM
yes. as well as politics. these topics would have a hard time in poppng out during interviews.
SciLian
22-03-2008, 04:52 PM
These topics r rarely asked but don't be surprised when they ask you something that's out of the topic anytime like what's your ic no. and how many teeth does an adult human has. They do that to check whether you're nervous..... well be prepared for any possiblities.
23-03-2008, 08:39 PM
general topics, fat chance. for example- schools emphasize too much on academic, what do you think?
23-03-2008, 09:39 PM
co-curricular activities as well..
qqlemon
28-03-2008, 07:31 PM
:Pi'm new here..i gt my spm result with 9A..n shortlisted for the interview on 3rd april..such a shock for me..there sum que bout the interview..hoping tat there is sum reply here..for the group discussion..should i take the dominant to start the discussion 1st??izit more beneficial for me(bt my bi was nt so gud at all...)if i'm nt the 1st to start the discussion...hw should i voice out my opinion??or jst sitting there??gotta raise up my hand??izit the esay writing included the interview session??:crysuch a shock tta i get the interview with my result like tat....hoping reply soon!!~~
haikalanuar
28-03-2008, 10:08 PM
:Pi'm new here..i gt my spm result with 9A..n shortlisted for the interview on 3rd april..such a shock for me..there sum que bout the interview..hoping tat there is sum reply here..for the group discussion..should i take the dominant to start the discussion 1st??izit more beneficial for me(bt my bi was nt so gud at all...)if i'm nt the 1st to start the discussion...hw should i voice out my opinion??or jst sitting there??gotta raise up my hand??izit the esay writing included the interview session??:crysuch a shock tta i get the interview with my result like tat....hoping reply soon!!~~
at least ur better than me..
i got 7a's and got shortlisted for the interview..
what's more shocking is not all A1:amuse
well..i chose korean engineering :))
dya_ilham
28-03-2008, 11:03 PM
hai qqlemon & haikalanuar, i got shorlisted too for jpa this year. im taking the interview at putrajaya on the 1st april at 8am...so how about u guys? r u guys ready to face the interviewers? anyway, there's a few things that im very curious about:
1. we'll have to take the personality test online right? so since my interview is on the 1st april, and the on9 test starts on the 1st april...should i take the test afterwards? im really confuse man...
2. will there be any essays this year?
3. if im not mistaken, there will be a group discussion and a one to one interview? am i right?
4. what on earth should i wear? people keep telling to wear baju kurung but if the person choose to wear a shirt with tailored pants instead....is it ok?
im so sorry for all the questions...maybe it's just because of the nerves...im so so nervous right now..hope there's somebody out there that can give us updates and tips about the interview for 2008....nevertheless, good luck to all who got shorlisted!
kaera
29-03-2008, 12:44 AM
1. Yup you ca do it anytime duirng that time period. I dont think it has to be before your interview, that would be terribly evil of them.
2. No one knows. prior 2007 there were essays, 2007 none.. this year who knows? do let us know if there are any though,thanks!
3. You enter in a group, only once. during the group interview they may ask you questions personally.
4. Yup it should be ok based on what seniors say but for some reason baju kurung seems greatly encouraged but personally I think you'd look smarter in blouse and pants.
Im nervous too!! Good luck to you, Mine is 1st Apr 10am.. slightly later than you...
29-03-2008, 01:02 AM
For those who had gone through the interview, please share your questions and experience here..
imforumer
29-03-2008, 01:14 AM
there is a sticked thread about JPA 2008 scholarship... Why not discuss there? Compile everything into one would be much easier... Btw, i got shortlisted too, need some opinion from the experienced one.
link: http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=6067
29-03-2008, 01:27 AM
Post here so that past year questions can be collected . Post there just merely applicable for this year..
there is a sticked thread about JPA 2008 scholarship... Why not discuss there? Compile everything into one would be much easier... Btw, i got shortlisted too, need some opinion from the experienced one.
link: http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=6067
You are shortlisted? Good then.. Prepare for it, get your clothes, shoes , certs, everything done. Then, practise in front of the mirror ..
What can I help you actually?:P
heffalump
29-03-2008, 01:58 AM
:))hello there..
i'm new here..
well,i'm also shortlisted for the interview,mine is on the 1st of april at 2 p.m..
i'm quite hazy regarding a few things..could anybody clarify this for me please..
as i read this thread from the beginning,there's been a lot of discussion regarding essays and test ie; GAT and pyhscological test..maybe it's the format during those years though..well,how does the jpa interview operates actually..would there be any essay writing session? essay writing is online or else? what about the online test that we have to do this year? does anybody has any idea about it? the only thing i know that it's going to be a grouped interview..
i'm really freaked out to face the interview though:oh..really hope that u guys would help..and all the best to all!! do share please...:))
29-03-2008, 02:25 AM
No essay writing for my year, 2007.
For the online test, i think jpa introduces new system for psychological test..To save paper, i think , haha
Group interview, no big deal, just answer whatever questions the interviewer asks you. Don't avoid, don't digress, juz be urself
Nitez.. (tired now)
29-03-2008, 02:27 AM
:))hello there..
i'm new here..
well,i'm also shortlisted for the interview,mine is on the 1st of april at 2 p.m..
i'm quite hazy regarding a few things..could anybody clarify this for me please..
as i read this thread from the beginning,there's been a lot of discussion regarding essays and test ie; GAT and pyhscological test..maybe it's the format during those years though..well,how does the jpa interview operates actually..would there be any essay writing session? essay writing is online or else? what about the online test that we have to do this year? does anybody has any idea about it? the only thing i know that it's going to be a grouped interview..
i'm really freaked out to face the interview though:oh..really hope that u guys would help..and all the best to all!! do share please...:))
Dear heffalump, for the last 2 years, no essay writing is required so I assume it will be the same for this year. Nevertheless, we can never be too sure so I suggest you to be vigilant regarding this matter.
Ah! The interview is the best part! 2 years ago, A few applicants and I turned into King Arthur's knights and had a fantastic discussion on the round table. There were we, facing each other, all under each other's scrutiny, nervously waiting for the interviewer to open his mouth. Question asked, everyone positioned themselves, ready to pounce on one another. Words after words, we hurled at each other's face. "I disagree, I agree but, moreover and etc" After this tiresome discussion, I realised this is no interview! We were smartly placed in a game show! Lovely! The only catch is there is no audience to clap and cheer and certainly no buzzer to attract the interviewers' attention, only our mouths.
Ok, although I do realise this is a ludicrous attempt of fiction writing, I hope you are now clearer as to what you will be experiencing during your interview. There is no guarantee that things will be the same but it won't deviate much from what I've written. Good luck and may the force be with you. XP
heffalump
29-03-2008, 01:40 PM
:)) thank u sillyboy..
but mind if i'm asking..what do u think regarding being dominant in the group discussion..i mean..some sort of volunteering to start the discussion..is it ok? or..?? but i guess it's ok to state our idea even though we disagree with the others right? proper language..grammar..fluency..important is it?
it's been such an enjoy during this holiday..i'm sure all spm leavers are the same too..lol..:laugh thus,all this holiday excitement had made me felt like it's quite hard to gain some skills back..ie;speaking coherently (debate style) or even writing essays..as the saying goes..'practice makes perfect'..but u know it's quite been a while since i last wrote an essay..and that was during spm..:cry is there anybody feeling the same way as i do? i do participate in speech competitons..but all this relaxing had made me a little bit terrified!!! a part from that the need to give excellent ideas and feeling nervous in the same time also scares me a lot..(crucial is it??) well,that's all an interview is about right?
it's cold feet sindrome i guess!!! any tips to overcome it?
29-03-2008, 02:50 PM
:)) thank u sillyboy..
but mind if i'm asking..what do u think regarding being dominant in the group discussion..i mean..some sort of volunteering to start the discussion..is it ok? or..?? but i guess it's ok to state our idea even though we disagree with the others right? proper language..grammar..fluency..important is it?
it's been such an enjoy during this holiday..i'm sure all spm leavers are the same too..lol..:laugh thus,all this holiday excitement had made me felt like it's quite hard to gain some skills back..ie;speaking coherently (debate style) or even writing essays..as the saying goes..'practice makes perfect'..but u know it's quite been a while since i last wrote an essay..and that was during spm..:cry is there anybody feeling the same way as i do? i do participate in speech competitons..but all this relaxing had made me a little bit terrified!!! a part from that the need to give excellent ideas and feeling nervous in the same time also scares me a lot..(crucial is it??) well,that's all an interview is about right?
it's cold feet sindrome i guess!!! any tips to overcome it?
Dominating a discussion reflects your unreceptive personality. Therefore, I strongly advise against it. However, volunteering to initiate a discussion is acceptable. That is by no means dominant so do not worry. Yes, you are allowed to express your own views but never go overboard. They do take into account of your language proficiency so be eloquent, spontaneous and most importantly, be confident.
The skills, I believe are already with you so now what is left is just some polishing work. Given that you participated in speech competitions, I would say you are one step closer towards obtaining the scholarship. At least, you underwent training to speak under such circumstance. Stop thinking of how this relaxing affected you adversely but concentrate on the coming interview. Lastly, be poised and exude confidence in your actions. Allright, I hope my ramblings helped! =)