View Full Version : What Are You Currently Reading?
17-04-2009, 09:05 PM
Why Pandas Do Handstands and Other Curious Truths About Animals
by Augustus Brown.
Appolo
17-04-2009, 10:44 PM
The writings of Oscar Wilde.
pinknotebook
17-04-2009, 11:34 PM
The Accidental
By Ali Smith
(I still don't get the first and last paragraph, who *that* particular character is and where he belongs)
By far the weirdest book in terms of writing style that i have ever read.
K100 (http://www.bmw-tech.org/wiki/BMW_K100)
Eurytos
17-04-2009, 11:56 PM
Physics For Engineers & Scientists 4th Edition
By Giancoli
Boring but challenging (text)book , but still a book :)
18-04-2009, 12:49 AM
Physics For Engineers & Scientists 4th Edition
By Giancoli
Boring but challenging (text)book , but still a book :)
Sigh... Wastewater Engineering: Treatment and Reuse
By Metcalf & Eddy
McGraw Hill
:lol:
eve88
18-04-2009, 07:33 AM
just about everything that was written by Robert A. Heinlein
And....Basic Pathology by Kumar, V. et al (sigh)
Heinlein is awesome. Haven't read him in a while.
atm I am reading Herbert's Dune, again. Planning to read the whole series someday.
vikraman
18-04-2009, 10:20 AM
lol you haven't read the whole series? it's fantastic. if you live in KL i can lend you the series if your collection is incomplete.
Reading Document of Destiny: The Constitution of the Federation of Malaysia by Dr.Shad Saleem Faruqi. (recommended reading for all malaysians btw.)
bluez_aspic
18-04-2009, 12:43 PM
Dune literally goes downhill after the first book.
(okay, I couldn't resist the pun haha)
@<hidden> thanks but I have my sources *cough*
18-04-2009, 07:54 PM
How could I forget the following:
May 13 Declassified Documents on the Malaysian Riots of 1969
Author: Kua Kia Soong
Publisher: SUARAM
tai1611
18-04-2009, 07:59 PM
Title: Outliers, The Story of Success
Author: Malcolm Gladwell
Danial
19-04-2009, 11:28 AM
The Third Secret by Steve Berry
vikraman
19-04-2009, 11:53 AM
Bah, the God Emperor parts are pretty good IMHO, just stay away from anything NOT written by Frank Herbert. His son's (or was it nephew?) "extension" series is rubbish.
pinknotebook
28-05-2009, 11:59 AM
The Merrow Tree - Katie Waitman
Drove my senses and imagination crazy :) Good read, this one
Ikmisje
27-07-2009, 03:39 AM
Haruki Murakami - Kafka On The Shore
mehul91
27-07-2009, 11:06 AM
Title: Confession of an economic hit man
Author: John Perkins
A nice book but the veracity is questionable.
The Case for Faith - Lee Strobel
Everyone should read that book. It talks about the 8 main reasons why people reject Christianity.
01-08-2009, 02:02 PM
Currently, i am reading The Host by Stephanie Meyer.
vaduz
01-08-2009, 02:52 PM
reading "The Harmony Silk Factory" by Tash Aw.
01-08-2009, 10:50 PM
The Man Who Loved Only Numbers by Paul Hoffman.
chikugunya
01-08-2009, 11:27 PM
The Wish List by Eoin Colfer.....
~very great book~:P:P
have a great desire to read novel "THE CHILD CALLED IT"...:nuts:nuts
anyone have it?????hehe:amuse:amuse
davinci518
18-08-2009, 09:24 AM
The Medici Seal by Theresa Breslin, good book :nuts
09-09-2009, 10:05 PM
I want to read Sophie's World. Searching for that book now. It's a philosophical novel which i used to borrowed from library long ago but i didnt manage to finish the novel. T.T
chongkeat
09-09-2009, 11:10 PM
Ace Ahead Physics Vol. 2, by a couple of teachers. :cry
The Wish List by Eoin Colfer.....
~very great book~
Oh man, I was looking around for that.
I'm on for anything by Eoin Colfer, but the latest Artemis Fowl seems a little..... strange? Not quite up to the usual standards, though the end did pick up a bit.
Cantabile
09-09-2009, 11:21 PM
Unfinished Tales by JRR Tolkien. No wonder it's titled that way, cuz really can't seem to finish it.
Zwitterion
10-09-2009, 09:27 AM
Richelle Mead's Vampire Academy
davinci518
10-09-2009, 11:19 AM
ken follett's pillars of the earth.. smashing* :nuts
Kimayu
17-10-2009, 08:57 PM
Just finished the Percy Jackson series...
Absolutely love love the Olympians more than ever now!
Perfect for those who love Greek Mythology...
missyrainy
17-10-2009, 09:47 PM
five people you meet in heaven by Mitch Albom
strongly recommend this book! :)
by the way, do you guys read any motivational books? Any recommendations?
Ucchan_Harada
17-10-2009, 10:13 PM
the hole in our gospel by richard stearns
25-11-2009, 09:27 PM
Just finished 'the last symbol' by dan brown.
Personally, it didn't make as much ooomph as angels n demons and the da vinci code...the whole dan brown series getting a wee bit too commercialised IMO
Any comments, anyone?
Dale Carnegie's How To Win Friends and Influence People is one heck of a book...
lookingaround
25-11-2009, 10:04 PM
PERLEMBAGAAN PERSEKUTUAN, published by ILBS
Erm, who whants to do it with me?
25-11-2009, 10:44 PM
Dale Carnegie's How To Win Friends and Influence People is one heck of a book...
It's not a motivational book is it? :D
Anyway I totally agree with you. I would go as far as to say it's the one book that changed me completely.
25-11-2009, 11:15 PM
It's not a motivational book is it? :D
Anyway I totally agree with you. I would go as far as to say it's the one book that changed me completely.
yeah, well not exactly...but one of those rare non-fiction, factual book I actually read until the end... the other carnegie books are pretty good too but this one was my first and I thought it was the best...
Zig Ziglar is pretty okay but a little overdose on the preachiness...hehe :))
Just finished 'the last symbol' by dan brown.
Personally, it didn't make as much ooomph as angels n demons and the da vinci code...the whole dan brown series getting a wee bit too commercialised IMO
Any comments, anyone?
The Lost Symbol was a great big let down for me. Perhaps it was the fact that this book was so hyped up thanks to his previous works made the disappointment even greater. Besides, this book had too much product placement in it - like we don't need to know the guy crushed an iPhone right?
chongkeat
26-11-2009, 09:30 AM
Stephen Colbert - I am America, and so can you!
I highly recommend the audiobook over the, erm, book.
And in case any of you don't know who Colbert is,
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qa-4E8ZDj9s
Kiyosaki's Rich Dad, Poor Dad.
IN terms of financial information, it's complete bs, but it does work quite well as a motivational book. At least, it did change my view somewhat on money.
khiahsu
26-11-2009, 03:33 PM
five people you meet in heaven by Mitch Albom
strongly recommend this book! :)
Motivational books tend to be a *little* over-the-top sometimes, but I personally find Stephen R. Covey's '7 Habits of Highly Effective People' quite a good read. Practical. :)
26-11-2009, 03:56 PM
How to win friends and influence people is one of the best reads for me. Go for it ;-)
chongkeat
26-11-2009, 05:09 PM
How to win friends and influence people is one of the best reads for me. Go for it
Seconded. It really is an amazing book.
truecolours
26-11-2009, 10:49 PM
Just finished The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold.
Quite interesting read to see it in the perspective of someone looking down from heaven but IMO there were some unnecessary x-rated stuff just a little at the end. I just thought that what the persona desired to return to Earth for in the end wasn't... right. I dunno, what do you guys think?
Currently reading Little Face by Sophie Hannah
26-11-2009, 11:04 PM
The Lost Symbol was a great big let down for me. Perhaps it was the fact that this book was so hyped up thanks to his previous works made the disappointment even greater. Besides, this book had too much product placement in it - like we don't need to know the guy crushed an iPhone right?
Haha. Lol, I agree. Besides, the great-big-world-changing secret wasn't uh... as sensational/controversial as in his previous book.
And I don't believe that the baddie can undergo such drastic change in life as he did...
Am currently reading....nothing new :) just rereading old stuff like Jeffrey Archer's Matter of Honour,etc all his works..
blessusall
27-11-2009, 02:32 AM
Just finished The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold.
Quite interesting read to see it in the perspective of someone looking down from heaven but IMO there were some unnecessary x-rated stuff just a little at the end. I just thought that what the persona desired to return to Earth for in the end wasn't... right. I dunno, what do you guys think?
Currently reading Little Face by Sophie Hannah
I agree with that. Actually i don't quite like the book.
Anyway, I just read Eragon and Eldest, and am gonna start Brisingr once i get my hands on it. Fantasy books are my favorite, and these are awesome!!
28-11-2009, 10:47 PM
I love Mark Gimez books. The Colour of Law, The Perk and the Abduction. The books are very good. I suggest you all buy, it's worth ur money.
Haha. Lol, I agree. Besides, the great-big-world-changing secret wasn't uh... as sensational/controversial as in his previous book.
And I don't believe that the baddie can undergo such drastic change in life as he did...
Am currently reading....nothing new :) just rereading old stuff like Jeffrey Archer's Matter of Honour,etc all his works..
I guess that was the biggest 'twist' in the book. the baddie. The rest are all predicatble lol.
Now reading: Patricia Cornwell's Book of the Dead
29-11-2009, 02:02 PM
Stop Acting Rich by Thomas J. Stanley
Good insight on the lifestyles of the rich in America (hint: not what they show on tv)
30-11-2009, 01:21 AM
I guess that was the biggest 'twist' in the book. the baddie. The rest are all predicatble lol.
Now reading: Patricia Cornwell's Book of the Dead
That is not what I call a twist! Even my slow and sluggish brain manage to figure that out.
IMO, the master of plot twists comes from Jeffrey Deaver (not to be confused with Jeffrey Archer), especially his short stories in his books Twisted and More Twisted. Unoriginal titles but, hey, great reading
'Understanding the Lord of the Rings: The Best of Tolkien Criticism'
^
currently my means of procrastination from actually studying. I've always liked the concept of myth and how we as humans relate to it; Tolkien of course was closely acquainted with it in his scholarship, and sought to create a mythology for England. Ruth Noel's 'The Mythology of Middle-Earth' is a great starting point for those interested in delving into how Tolkien drew on existing myths in his tales (or created his own).
chongkeat
30-11-2009, 11:21 AM
Planning to start on this one after STPM:
Anathem by Neal Stephenson.
Nuff' said.
07-05-2010, 06:59 PM
The Witch of Portobello by Paolo Coelho...
mbmmbi
08-05-2010, 11:04 AM
Newspaper online
star_17
08-05-2010, 01:26 PM
Angels and Demons - Dan brown
the da vinci code makes me wanna dig into Dan Brown novels~~
rukia0827
08-05-2010, 01:26 PM
The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold....
decided to read it after watching the movie...
alter_ego
08-05-2010, 01:41 PM
eclipse.
i want to read it first before watching the movie. :)
08-05-2010, 02:24 PM
Angels and Demons - Dan brown
the da vinci code makes me wanna dig into Dan Brown novels~~
you should try digital fortress and deception point, they're good...the lost symbol is rather predictable and anticlimactic...
The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold....
decided to read it after watching the movie...
I liked the book but I can't find the movie anywhere...so sad...:cry Is it nice?
eclipse.
i want to read it first before watching the movie. :)
I read the entire saga but found it disappointing especially breaking dawn. stephenie meyer is a good author but i wish she wont concentrate so much on the love triangle storyline...
sofiazee
08-05-2010, 02:33 PM
Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden - as good as the movie, or better! :D
And translated version of The Minds of Billy Milligan by Daniel Keyes, abt a criminal in the 70s who have serious Multiple Personality Disorder :O
Also! May 10 issue of Newsweek. Lol.
08-05-2010, 02:48 PM
you should try digital fortress and deception point, they're good...the lost symbol is rather predictable and anticlimactic...
I'm a Dan Brown fan too! His plot will be kinda predictable after you read one or two of his novels, but I still like how the code works and his writing style, nevertheless.
I just finished re-reading The Graveyard Book. The plot is quite nice(and maybe a little childish for some matured reader). :P
08-05-2010, 04:31 PM
I'm a Dan Brown fan too! His plot will be kinda predictable after you read one or two of his novels, but I still like how the code works and his writing style, nevertheless.
I just finished re-reading The Graveyard Book. The plot is quite nice(and maybe a little childish for some matured reader). :P
Haven't tried any Neil Gaiman's works except Coraline and I quite liked that too. :) You should try Stieg Larsson's Millenium Trilogy. (it's supposed to be more than a trilogy but the author died) It's still really good though!:))
currently readin handle with care by jodi picoult ....and planning on to start with Alice Sebold's THE LOVELY BONES...hmmm...anyone can suggest a gud courtroom thriller which isn't overtly boring....??
08-05-2010, 06:06 PM
Any John Grisham would do (except A Painted House, Bleachers and Playing for Pizza), Jeffrey Archer's A Prisoner of Birth...
08-05-2010, 08:35 PM
Haven't tried any Neil Gaiman's works except Coraline and I quite liked that too. :) You should try Stieg Larsson's Millenium Trilogy. (it's supposed to be more than a trilogy but the author died) It's still really good though!:))
Sure, I'll try the Trilogy out after I finish my Eragon Cycle. Currently reading the third book but it seems like I won't be able to finish it since I'm going to matriculation on Monday. :cry
08-05-2010, 09:55 PM
Sure, I'll try the Trilogy out after I finish my Eragon Cycle. Currently reading the third book but it seems like I won't be able to finish it since I'm going to matriculation on Monday. :cry
why don't you just bring it along? i'll definitely bring at least 5 books when i go to college...
08-05-2010, 10:05 PM
currently readin handle with care by jodi picoult ....and planning on to start with Alice Sebold's THE LOVELY BONES...hmmm...anyone can suggest a gud courtroom thriller which isn't overtly boring....??
John Grisham...
and Prisoner of Birth is good too except the courtroom scenes aren't all that many.
William Diehl's( I'm not sure if I spelled the author name right) trilogy...really really good and scary courtroom drama...I still can't find the third book! :cry First book is Primal Fear...second one can't remember the title now
Currently reading: Victor Hugo's Les Miserables (Vol 1)
08-05-2010, 10:39 PM
why don't you just bring it along? i'll definitely bring at least 5 books when i go to college...
I will bring it but I wonder if I will have the time to read it. Studies come first and I am aiming for 4.0. Anyway, thanks for the suggestion! :laugh
Currently reading: Victor Hugo's Les Miserables (Vol 1)
You have been reading the book for quite some time now(if I'm not mistaken). Haven't finish it? :P
08-05-2010, 10:56 PM
I will bring it but I wonder if I will have the time to read it. Studies come first and I am aiming for 4.0. Anyway, thanks for the suggestion! :laugh
You have been reading the book for quite some time now(if I'm not mistaken). Haven't finish it? :P
I've been reading all the time (I actually read 9 books during the course of SPM). :) You just have to divide your time well.
08-05-2010, 11:16 PM
It's in French that has been translated so it's not exactly easy reading... and I don't have time anymore.
This is the record time that I took so long to finish the book. Plan to finish during my hols later....
08-05-2010, 11:21 PM
It's in French that has been translated so it's not exactly easy reading... and I don't have time anymore.
This is the record time that I took so long to finish the book. Plan to finish during my hols later....
There seems to be quite a lot of translated books lately (Carlos Ruiz Zafon, John Ajvide Lindqvist, Paolo Coelho, Cornelia Funke, Stieg Larsson) All the translators did really good jobs. :)
edcac
31-05-2010, 01:32 PM
The Time Traveler's Wife!
elfyf
31-05-2010, 01:48 PM
All time favourite - Sidney Sheldon's
For now Im reading Are You Afraid Of The Dark.
alter_ego
31-05-2010, 01:49 PM
edcac, is it the same with the movie?
now...agatha christie's sad cypress!!...a hercule poirot novel...woohoo...
sofiazee
31-05-2010, 06:44 PM
Accuracy of Death (Trad Chinese) by Kotaro Isaka
Sorrows of an American by Siri Hustvedt
The History of Love by Nicole Krauss
edcac
31-05-2010, 07:02 PM
edcac, is it the same with the movie?
I prefer books over movies, so to be honest I haven't watched the movie. :P
vanishing acts and second glance by jodi picoult
finished for one more day by mitch albom few days back
:)):))vanishing acts and second glance by jodi picoult
vanishing acts was ok oni compared to her other books....have u read salem falls!!...its wonderful.....:))
SapphireDragon
01-06-2010, 12:29 AM
Aravind Adiga's The White Tiger.
loved that book...so dark but yet so hysterically funny!!...loved it
!!:))
bekann
01-06-2010, 12:45 AM
Catching fire by Suzanne Collins :D
manglish_lysia
01-06-2010, 01:19 AM
Horrible History - World History~!
gelato
01-06-2010, 11:53 AM
A thousand splendid suns..
this story is absolutely heartbreaking
01-06-2010, 01:09 PM
Catching fire by Suzanne Collins :D
that's a great novel! i haven't actually read it, because i downloaded the audiobook when it first came out. listened to that instead. can't wait for the final book, mockingjay to come out!
http://aloneinacrowdedworld.blogspot.com/2010/04/mockingjay-suzanne-collins.html
A thousand splendid suns..
this story is absolutely heartbreaking
yup, it's even sadder than the kite runner, if that's possible. the violence commited against women in the novel is simply atrocious.
vanishing acts and second glance by jodi picoult
haven't read either of those, though i've read some of her other books. can't bring myself to buy them, so expensive! :huh
i've heard of this but never got the chance to read it. what's it about?
now...agatha christie's sad cypress!!...a hercule poirot novel...woohoo...
read that! great book, but i can't remember what it's about... :P
I prefer books over movies, so to be honest I haven't watched the movie. :P
i agree. movies usually focus on the main plot in a novel, and ignore all the rest. it just isn't as compelling anymore...
Thomson90
01-06-2010, 01:23 PM
Lovely Bones.
Boring coz find it hard to understand..
edcac
01-06-2010, 02:16 PM
Lovely Bones.
Ah, this one I watched the movie, noticed that it's kinda so-so, therefore I didn't buy the book.
01-06-2010, 05:31 PM
Anne Frank's The Diary of A young girl. (she has the same birthday as I do! :laugh)
palfydrium
01-06-2010, 05:38 PM
Terry Prachett's 'Going Postal'. Nggh, I go stupid over Prachett's Discworld series, it's so awesome.
bekann
01-06-2010, 05:59 PM
that's a great novel! i haven't actually read it, because i downloaded the audiobook when it first came out. listened to that instead. can't wait for the final book, mockingjay to come out!
http://aloneinacrowdedworld.blogspot.com/2010/04/mockingjay-suzanne-collins.html
Haha, I hate audiobooks. But even then, this was quite expensive. RM40+ for paperback! :O
A thousand splendid suns is sadder. But I liked kite runner better.
Actually, Jodi Picoult's books aren't that expensive. But I mostly borrow them from friends. My Sister's Keeper is still the best. Followed by 19 minutes.
01-06-2010, 08:04 PM
Lovely Bones.
it's actually quite nice, if you see it from a literary point of view.
Terry Prachett's 'Going Postal'. Nggh, I go stupid over Prachett's Discworld series, it's so awesome.
I don't really like his works...not sure why...
Haha, I hate audiobooks. But even then, this was quite expensive. RM40+ for paperback! :O
A thousand splendid suns is sadder. But I liked kite runner better.
Actually, Jodi Picoult's books aren't that expensive. But I mostly borrow them from friends. My Sister's Keeper is still the best. Followed by 19 minutes.
Yup, it's rather hard to concentrate on audiobooks when people around you are talking. I ended up missing certain parts of the book because people were talking to me. I like The Kite Runner better too, though since A Thousand Splendid Suns tells a completely different story, but just as good, it's hard to find fault with it.
Jodi Picoult wrote so many books, and each of them cost around RM30+, so if I buy them all I would go broke immediately. Up to now, I have read around 6 or 7. Borrowing as many as possible but I bought a few too. My Sister's Keeper is my favorite!
edcac
12-06-2010, 02:52 PM
I'm reading The Vampire Diaries! So much better than the TV series~!
rudy92
12-06-2010, 03:32 PM
Any fans of Stieg Larssen of The Millenium trilogy fame?
His books all so syiok one...
currently reading - pillars of the earth - ken folett
vega_zeta
12-06-2010, 03:58 PM
just finished reading rage of angels and bloodline by sidney sheldon
omg...i'm a die hard fan of him...can't wait to buy other novels of sidney sheldon
after this,i'm going to read 7 ways of highly effective people...or something like that
the lace reader by brunonia barry....seems very mystical..ehehehh
12-06-2010, 05:39 PM
Agatha Christie's Endless Night. Had been skipping lines until someone died. :laugh
sofiazee
13-06-2010, 01:10 AM
Anita Shreve's The Pilot's Wife
Nicole Krauss's The History of Love
manglish_lysia
13-06-2010, 03:01 AM
Working on The Thief by Whalen Turner~! Awesome book!
26-08-2010, 10:11 PM
^ bump
Phew! Just broke the record for longest reading time ever! Finally finished Les Miserables two days ago. I know, I know, I was that slow. (approx. 7 months :lol)
In between, finished The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein . Simple but heartwarming. Although I think zebras freak me out now :laugh (read the book to find out why).
Gonna start on The Fourth Estate by Jeffrey Archer (hopefully...seeing that I don't have much time as I used to)
26-08-2010, 10:58 PM
currently reading - pillars of the earth - ken folett
is it nice? i bought it but haven't read it yet...
minemshady
27-08-2010, 10:09 AM
The Vagrants by Yiyun Li
27-08-2010, 11:33 AM
Last night on Twisted River bu John Irving. Bought it last month but I keep pausing to read other books.... :-P
The_Unfabulous
27-08-2010, 11:40 AM
Sophie's World by Jostein Gaarder..great book to get a different perspective in life..can anyone recommend a humor-themed book?
27-08-2010, 12:20 PM
Sophie's World by Jostein Gaarder..great book to get a different perspective in life..can anyone recommend a humor-themed book?
A Spot of Bother by Mark Haddon is a pretty good humourous novel...
slappyfin3
27-08-2010, 11:57 PM
Oh, I have a spot of bother just never bothered reading it :D
Reading White Noise - Don DeLillo. It's haunting how relevant it is to this day
28-08-2010, 09:44 AM
I know quite a few but they are usually short stories, not a whole book.
Not quite humourous but more to light-hearted, The Tangled Web by L.M. Montgomery is pretty good although the writing style is a little bit different from contemporary authors.
sleevelesssky
28-08-2010, 04:52 PM
If you are fond of mean humor, I recommend The Twits by Roald Dahl.
imranariffin
10-01-2011, 09:19 PM
Lord Of The Flies by William Golding.But I just understand a bit.
slappyfin3
11-01-2011, 12:16 AM
Bad Science by Ben Goldacre
11-01-2011, 07:37 AM
Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro...
KenT13
11-01-2011, 10:22 AM
Honk! If You Are A Malaysian by Lyndia Teh
alter_ego
11-01-2011, 03:28 PM
My Sister's Keeper - Jodi Picoult
I'm touched.
eve88
11-01-2011, 03:34 PM
Fanfiction, actually. http://www.fanfiction.net/s/1248431/1/Promises_Unbroken ; but its still what I'm currently reading.
Its one of the better fanfics out there.
cycycy
11-01-2011, 04:57 PM
In her shoes - Jennifer Weiner
:confetti
11-01-2011, 09:39 PM
The Monk Who Sold His Ferarri - Robin Sharma
Kemai
11-01-2011, 11:12 PM
Life of Pi - Yann Martel
bekann
11-01-2011, 11:56 PM
Wicked by Gregory Maguire
12-01-2011, 08:06 PM
True Grit by Charles Portis.
cycycy
12-01-2011, 08:20 PM
The girl with the dragon tattoo - Stileg Larsson
12-01-2011, 11:18 PM
The Golden City - John Twelve Hawks
ayjiahui
13-01-2011, 05:57 PM
Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov
re-reading, actually.
Young
13-01-2011, 06:44 PM
Flip-flopping between Sophie's World by Jostein Gaarder and Brave New World by Aldous Huxley.
Alexis Ma
14-01-2011, 05:30 AM
Brave New World. Lovely bit of horrifying dystopian literature.
Vanity Fair.
Brave New World. Lovely bit of horrifying dystopian literature.
Vanity Fair.
sleevelesssky
14-01-2011, 10:30 AM
Murakami.
Murakami.
Murakami.
AtiPuspa
14-01-2011, 10:57 AM
re-reading Stieg Larsson's trilogy. :)
14-01-2011, 01:02 PM
The Psychology of Love - Sigmund Freud
weixiang
14-01-2011, 03:41 PM
Brisingr by Christopher Paolini. XD
bekann
14-01-2011, 06:30 PM
TEE Exam Questions - Biology by T Blake.
:))
Young
14-01-2011, 06:38 PM
Lol that is just.. tragic. XD
14-01-2011, 07:17 PM
What's wrong with you? :amazed
*shakes head in horror*
Glassylicious
15-01-2011, 05:23 AM
"Equality" from the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy.
ayjiahui
15-01-2011, 10:43 AM
The Psychology of Love - Sigmund Freud
oooo sigmund freud - is the book another psychoanalysis?
Toffeeapple
15-01-2011, 12:11 PM
Bleak House by Charles Dickens and Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. I'm participating in this 50 book challenge for 2011 which I discovered on another forum. I'm not expecting to reach the 50 target at all, but at least it serves as some sort of motivation to keep me reading. :P
Glassylicious
15-01-2011, 07:29 PM
Chapter 7: "Vulnerability by Marriage" of Susan Okin's "Justice, Gender and the Family".
15-01-2011, 08:52 PM
oooo sigmund freud - is the book another psychoanalysis?
It's actually a compilation of Freud's research, theories and essays regarding psychoanalysis. Makes a pretty interesting read.
Glassylicious
16-01-2011, 05:03 AM
Jeremy Waldron, 'When Justice Replaces Affection: The Need for Rights', Harvard Journal of Law and Public Policy [1988].
JonChua
17-01-2011, 12:11 AM
Blood of the Mantis by Adrian Tchaikovsky, again. Also reading The Lies of Locke Lamorra on the side, by Scott Lynch, also again. No new books, sob :cry
ayjiahui
17-01-2011, 12:36 AM
Blood of the Mantis by Adrian Tchaikovsky, again. Also reading The Lies of Locke Lamorra on the side, by Scott Lynch, also again. No new books, sob :cry
haha but i think re-reading is great you know - books speak to you differently every time you read it :)
KenT13
26-01-2011, 10:05 PM
A Brief History of Time Stephen hawking
The Grand design stephen william hawking
26-01-2011, 11:24 PM
Predictably Irrational: The Hidden Forces That Shape Our Decisions, by Dan Ariely.
27-01-2011, 12:00 PM
Too Close to Home - Linwood Barclay
PS : Just finished Emma Donoghue's Room and it was soooooo GOOD!
27-01-2011, 12:47 PM
Competing in a flat world, by Victor Fung et al
Linchpin by Seth Godin
kinon
29-01-2011, 01:38 PM
Chicken soup for the soul - jack canfield
Its quite diverse in terms of motivation stories
splitpeamaster
29-01-2011, 03:16 PM
Penelopiad by Margaret Atwood.
House Rules, Jodi Picoult.
star_17
31-01-2011, 12:34 PM
regretting myself for not buying "The Complete Work of William Shakespeare" T.T
It compiles all his plays and sonnets. Btw, I'm reading My Sister's Keeper (kinda old I know). I'm halfway through it and it's a really good read =)
31-01-2011, 11:38 PM
regretting myself for not buying "The Complete Work of William Shakespeare" T.T
It compiles all his plays and sonnets. Btw, I'm reading My Sister's Keeper (kinda old I know). I'm halfway through it and it's a really good read =)
Oh, I bought it once for about $9 in Singapore. Gave it away as a present because I didn't like Shakespeare.... :P
Nicholas92
01-02-2011, 11:53 PM
Oranges are Not the Only Fruit, Jeanette Winterson (it's a Lit text)
Technically I've finished 'reading' it but classes involve dissecting it chapter by chapter...so I haven't truly finished it yet I suppose :) it's an awesome read, accessible and funny for a simple read and stuffed with meaning and allusions for people who read closely.
blessusall
02-02-2011, 01:33 AM
the crime code by Michael Cordy. it has good arguments. cool genetics stuff as well.
poohshao
02-02-2011, 12:19 PM
I Kiss Dating Goodbye ----John Harris
The outsiders by S.E.HINTON :P:P
02-02-2011, 11:04 PM
Up in the Air by Walter Kirn
cycycy
21-02-2011, 04:05 PM
The Girl who played with fire - Steig Larsson
leeashroe
05-03-2011, 11:24 AM
To Kill a Mockingbird - Harper Lee
TheTruthIsFake
05-03-2011, 10:39 PM
The World Is Flat, Thomas L. Friedmann
ayjiahui
08-04-2011, 10:26 AM
i know why the caged bird sings by maya angelou :)
xJing
14-04-2011, 12:23 AM
Case For Christ by Lee Strobel. He's a senior crime reporter with a law background, and when his wife converts to Christianity, he goes all over America digging out solid evidence as to why Christianity isn't just some wishy-washy faith. Kind of astonishing at parts, actually.
Li Shan Shung
15-04-2011, 12:44 AM
Is there Life After Death by Anthony Peake.
FoxyWoxy25
18-04-2011, 11:44 PM
This thread.
marczeman
19-04-2011, 01:45 AM
American Sucker by David Denby
also,
A Long Way Down by Nick Hornby
just finished Anna Karenina btw, totally worth it.
Cactus
19-04-2011, 02:41 AM
Not too long ago:
Yes Means Yes! Visions of Female Sexual Power & A World Without Rape by a collection of writers (btw is the penjodoh bilangan correct?)
Currently:
The Emperor of All Maladies - A Biography of Cancer by Siddhartha Mukherjee
The Winner Stands Alone by Paulo Coelho..
hrz000
19-04-2011, 11:47 AM
Rich Dad Poor Dad by Robert T. Kiyosaki
AlternateF4
19-04-2011, 04:08 PM
A year in the Merde, Stephen Clarke
joan2468
23-04-2011, 11:36 PM
Bird by Bird, by Anne Lamott. Less than 40 pages in this book and I already love it. It's great food for the writer's soul.
23-04-2011, 11:50 PM
Losing You by Nicci French (love psychological thrillers!)
It Gets Better : Coming Out, Overcoming Bullying and Creating a Life Worth Living by Dan Savage and Terry Miller (only managed to get this via Amazon, cost me RM80, but worth every ringgit spent)
The life of Pi by Yann Martel. Awesome content about human and animal relationships, and what not, religion.
Definitely a good read. Wondering whether it's gonna become a movie. ;D
xJing
02-05-2011, 11:24 PM
The life of Pi by Yann Martel. Awesome content about human and animal relationships, and what not, religion.
Definitely a good read. Wondering whether it's gonna become a movie. ;D
I want that book! It's going for RM20+ only now, and I really want to get my hands on it.
I suggest u get it at BookXcess in Amcorp Mall. There's a hard cover version with illustrations selling at only Rm20+! That is if u live in Klang Valley. Forgive my ignorance.
Lovin' it!
xJing
03-05-2011, 12:04 AM
I suggest u get it at BookXcess in Amcorp Mall. There's a hard cover version with illustrations selling at only Rm20+! That is if u live in Klang Valley. Forgive my ignorance.
Lovin' it!
Wow that's seriously cheap. haha. I should try to get that. thanks for the info. :amuse
marczeman
03-05-2011, 01:10 AM
Here's the torrent link for the pdf, if you use torrents : http://thepiratebay.org/torrent/4618197/Yann_Martel__Life_of_Pi_(2001)_[pdf]__[101]
And if you don't mind reading off the comp screen lah. :laugh
kun_JK92
03-05-2011, 01:12 AM
reading an old book >.<
The world is flat
broaden my mind though..=)
KenT13
03-05-2011, 01:12 AM
Physical chemistry-form 6 zzzz
kun_JK92
03-05-2011, 01:13 AM
LOOL:laugh...
weiliang
03-05-2011, 01:15 AM
LOL. u confirm form6 already??
KenT13
03-05-2011, 01:17 AM
No,, read for fun.Chapter 1 is pretty easy
xJing
03-05-2011, 08:25 AM
Here's the torrent link for the pdf, if you use torrents : http://thepiratebay.org/torrent/4618197/Yann_Martel__Life_of_Pi_(2001)_[pdf]__[101]
And if you don't mind reading off the comp screen lah. :laugh
Wow reading the entire thing on a computer screen sounds daunting, especially since I like papers so much. :P But thanks anyway, I might actually consider that. hahaha
03-05-2011, 11:38 AM
Lovin' it!
How do I get there via public transport from KL Sentral? Can someone provide directions?
yishan93
03-05-2011, 12:14 PM
The Client by John Grisham^^
iKoMetaga
03-05-2011, 12:26 PM
How do I get there via public transport from KL Sentral? Can someone provide directions?
Take the LRT (Putra Line) from Sentral to Taman Jaya. Amcorp Mall is just 5 minutes walk from the station, you can't miss it. Oldest A@<hidden> in the nation also located next to the station.
Amcorp Mall used to be pretty dead but has recently been revitalized by Starbucks, Flea Market Sunday and some random stores. Check out the model hobby shop. Lol I remember the days when they used to have this ridiculously huge donkey head sticking out from the exterior of the mall like a wall decor. What were they thinking hahaha. Man, I miss KL-days.
Man, I love going to the flea market sunday. So many interesting oldies and antique stuff there. Sometimes when I'm bored on Sunday I'd just go there and spend a whole afternoon looking around.
Nature Girl by Carl Hiaasen
Kinda pointless reading it but i would say the author can sometimes be VERY funny. I laughed out loud in public! HAHA. Get this : 'Hey. Sometimes life is a shit flavored Popsicle' HILARIOUS.
Bought it at RM5 or RM10 (so cheap i bought dozens of books got mixed up XD) at Book Xcess Amcorp Mall during their Big Bad Wolf Sales.
Big Bad Wolf Sales is a total MUST GO event annually (year end). U can stock up even TIMES higher education guide at RM 15. Great place to get x'mas presents too!
Cactus
07-05-2011, 11:31 PM
Trying to bring myself to read:
A Brief History of Time, by Stephen Hawking
Not exactly a physics guy you see >.<
08-05-2011, 12:15 AM
I finished Crocodile Tears and Scorpia Rising by Anthony Horowitz in the past twp days. Now busy studying my Economics textbook. :P
ayjiahui
12-05-2011, 11:13 AM
A doctor in the house! LOL. Mahathir is actually quite funny (that or my sense of humour is really weird :P)
The diving pool by Yoko Ogawa.
Hmmm. makes you think about ethics and values.
ayjiahui
12-05-2011, 09:56 PM
The diving pool by Yoko Ogawa.
Hmmm. makes you think about ethics and values.
is it good? do you like it! i really like books about ethics and values!
Shaheera
12-05-2011, 10:47 PM
Anyone here reads The Mortal Instruments series?:)
is it good? do you like it! i really like books about ethics and values!
To think of books that questions your ethics i must say Japanese writers like haruki murakami and natsuo kirino have this kind of flair that makes you pause and think.
Well, the diving pool is a book consisting of 3 short stories. Currently i'm at my 2nd story. The first was kinda mind bogging as the character found joy in making other ppl suffer. But since it was told in a first person's view, I empathised with the character.
So if u like this kind of stories, it's quite a good read. And since it's translated, English Language in the books are fairly simple.
Oh, and if you do wish to buy books, i strongly recommend buying them at bookxcess in Amcorp Mall, PJ. I managed to get The Diving Pool at a STEAL at Big Bad Wolf Sale organised by Book Excess. *they are absolutely brand new*
Shaheera
13-05-2011, 09:38 AM
To think of books that questions your ethics i must say Japanese writers like haruki murakami and natsuo kirino have this kind of flair that makes you pause and think.
Well, the diving pool is a book consisting of 3 short stories. Currently i'm at my 2nd story. The first was kinda mind bogging as the character found joy in making other ppl suffer. But since it was told in a first person's view, I empathised with the character.
So if u like this kind of stories, it's quite a good read. And since it's translated, English Language in the books are fairly simple.
Oh, and if you do wish to buy books, i strongly recommend buying them at bookxcess in Amcorp Mall, PJ. I managed to get The Diving Pool at a STEAL at Big Bad Wolf Sale organised by Book Excess. *they are absolutely brand new*
I absolutely LOVE Big Bad Wold sale. All books are for RM8/RM10?RM20 only. Novels are usually RM8. There was someone who bought over thousands of books.
leeashroe
13-05-2011, 11:30 AM
Big Bad Wold Sale? Where is this? Is it in KL? (a noob from JB)
I'm currently reading Rosamunde Pilcher's short stories. This collection is entitled The Blue Bedroom & Other Stories.
FoxyWoxy25
15-05-2011, 02:51 AM
GQ Magazine. The thinking man's FHM.
15-05-2011, 10:21 AM
GQ Magazine. The thinking man's FHM.
Gosh, you actually buy them? They're horribly expensive!
FoxyWoxy25
15-05-2011, 11:34 AM
I do, but not often. I buy the Australian edition since I live here, plus it's cheaper than the air freighted British or American editions. If I don't convert back to Ringgit, then it doesn't seem so expensive.
chocolatefreak
15-05-2011, 10:50 PM
The Age Of Innocence- Edith Wharton. Jodi Picoult's earlier books were quite thought provoking. certainly made me question the rules of society.
Jodi Picoult's earlier books were quite thought provoking. certainly made me question the rules of society.
Ooooh yes! Jodi Picoult makes u question ethics, law and family values all the time!
Ought to recommend The Pact. Liked the way she intwinned both the past and present to eventually come to an end.
15-05-2011, 11:29 PM
Ooooh yes! Jodi Picoult makes u question ethics, law and family values all the time!
Ought to recommend The Pact. Liked the way she intwinned both the past and present to eventually come to an end.
Have you read her latest, Sing You Home? I loved it! (although that might be because I could identify well with the main characters) :P
chocolatefreak
16-05-2011, 12:21 AM
Totally, read that book and actually made me teared.
Hey, Dominic? Is the book good? I haven't read it yet but I've been kind of afraid to touch her books recently, don't know why. I think it's because there's only so much courtroom drama and family crisis I can take per read.
16-05-2011, 12:31 AM
Hey, Dominic? Is the book good? I haven't read it yet but I've been kind of afraid to touch her books recently, don't know why. I think it's because there's only so much courtroom drama and family crisis I can take per read.
Yup, it's good. Well, there's always courtroom and family drama in all her books. You can't have one without the other. :P
chivalrybasterd
16-05-2011, 01:25 AM
Currently reading The Gunslinger by Stephen King. Halfway through and I have to admit that the details are awesome. However, at the moment, I am utterly unimpressed with the story. I have been told that this book is awesome. So far, it is just so-so.
I had anticipated addiction, but all I got was leisure reading. Maybe I set my hopes too high?
fran28
16-05-2011, 09:53 AM
James Patterson- Mary Mary.. Best thriller I've ever read.
Have you read her latest, Sing You Home? I loved it! (although that might be because I could identify well with the main characters) :P
Oooh, so that must be her newest book! Have not come across it yet, gonna look out for it!
Anymore recommendations for Jodi Picoult's books?
I think it's because there's only so much courtroom drama and family crisis I can take per read.
I have friends that could not even bring themselves to finish her books. Emotional attatchment i suppose?
Or am i just too cold-blooded to LIKE her books?
chocolatefreak
16-05-2011, 11:00 PM
Don't think so. Her books are emotional. I liked 'Mercy'. I don't know if there's a pattern here...haha
16-05-2011, 11:42 PM
My all time favorites are My Sister's Keeper, Vanishing Acts and Sing You Home. The rest are mostly rather meh.
AngelColdplay
02-06-2011, 10:55 PM
I just read The Boy In Striped Pajamas - John Boyne. Yes im slow, but only finally managed to read it after all this while. :) It's a simple yet thought-provoking story regarding the Holocaust.
Trying to bring myself to read:
A Brief History of Time, by Stephen Hawking
Not exactly a physics guy you see >.<
U have an ally here. Lol. I can hardly bring myself to read the Wikipedia summary of the book, let alone the actual book.
02-06-2011, 11:17 PM
I just read The Boy In Striped Pajamas - John Boyne. Yes im slow, but only finally managed to read it after all this while. :) It's a simple yet thought-provoking story regarding the Holocaust.
Yes! Finally there's someone who has read this book! The ending left me looking like this :oh for quite a while
AngelColdplay
02-06-2011, 11:57 PM
Yes! Finally there's someone who has read this book! The ending left me looking like this :oh for quite a while
I know right? I actually found out more about the story as my knowledge on the Holocaust is limited. (SPOILER ALERT! Stop reading this if u have never read and intend to read the book) It was a gas chamber. I wish it would have described what happened in detail as it was very vague. But a good book non the less, don't u think?
03-06-2011, 12:15 AM
Yeah, I agree even though the vagueness of the ending made me feel unsatisfied. Btw, there's a movie adaptation of this novel; a few changes here and there but still good nevertheless.
AngelColdplay
03-06-2011, 12:24 AM
Yeah, I agree even though the vagueness of the ending made me feel unsatisfied. Btw, there's a movie adaptation of this novel; a few changes here and there but still good nevertheless.
Agreed. When i first read the review for the book, i thought the ending would be epic and all, but...yeah. I know. Haven't gotten around to watch it yet. :) Thanks btw.
leeashroe
23-12-2011, 10:55 PM
I'll be buying myself Sing You Home next month, can't wait to read it (poor and broke college student needs a monthly planned budget for books, you see). I've finished Murakami's Sputnik Sweetheart and Norwegian Wood last week, very good stuff, I'd recommend them to anyone's who's interested in, um..the non-conventional themes of romance (at least in my opinion!). Currently I'm juggling between finishing Jane Eyre and Superfreakonomics :)
U have an ally here. Lol. I can hardly bring myself to read the Wikipedia summary of the book, let alone the actual book.
This was said to be 'readable for non-Physics people' but I was like reading an alien language when the book was in my hands. It was loooonggg time ago, though. Maybe at that time my brain did not have the capacity to understand Hawking's words, I should try reading it again now and see if it still makes any sense :/
23-12-2011, 11:33 PM
Hmmm... I just finished Gregory Maguire's Out of Oz, which was a lot better than its two predecessors, in my opinion, and I am now switching back and forth between Julie Powell's Julie and Julia and Patricia Nell Warren's The Front Runner. Warren is one helluva writer, and this is the second time I'm making my way through her books. :))
26-12-2011, 12:34 AM
I'm reading Dan Ariely's Predictably Irrational, and it's such a great book introducing novices to behavioral economics. Well it interests me! :D
sandwraith
09-05-2012, 08:10 AM
I have just finished The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini... It's a pretty dark story that left me feeling numb for days xD *loving the after-effect*
tisisme
09-05-2012, 08:28 AM
i love Stephen King =)
sandwraith
09-05-2012, 08:45 AM
I have never read any of the Dark Tower series...
tisisme
09-05-2012, 09:13 AM
I have never read any of the Dark Tower series...
well, i guess you should start doing so cause it is reli nice !
ecah18
09-05-2012, 12:00 PM
think and make it happen by Dr Augusto Cury
18-05-2012, 01:55 AM
The Quants by Scott Patterson! And, Fooled by Randomness by Nassim Nicholas Taleb! :))
dantyh
18-05-2012, 06:57 AM
Currently reading The Sins of The Father, 2nd book of The Clifton Chronicles by Jeffrey Archer. The way he twists events in the books always stuns me and I can never bring myself to put the book down