View Full Version : What Are You Currently Reading?

Pages : [1] 2

pinkpau
07-02-2006, 01:56 AM
let's make this an ongoing thing .. :)

i'm just starting on Velocity by Dean R Koontz.

07-02-2006, 04:30 AM
Jackdaws by Ken Follet

lyzzy
07-02-2006, 05:42 AM
Read :) http://www.inkyhands.net

and erm, the Penelopiad by Margaret Atwood.
Mercury Capri picture (http://www.ford-wiki.com/wiki/Mercury_Capri)

07-02-2006, 02:06 PM

oooo velocity... how's that book? the front cover caught my attention....

i am currently reading the Memoirs of A Geisha.. ya i know i am outdated but this book is sooo coool... not recommended for children below age of 15 though... :lol:

07-02-2006, 11:20 PM

i am currently reading the Memoirs of A Geisha.. ya i know i am outdated but this book is sooo coool... not recommended for children below age of 15 though... :lol:
Does it really contain obscene scenes? I thought geisha is far from a prostitute (if the movie is accurate)?

08-02-2006, 05:48 AM
the affluent society by Galbraith, John K.

08-02-2006, 02:30 PM
Does it really contain obscene scenes? I thought geisha is far from a prostitute (if the movie is accurate)?

Yup. Geishas are not pros.. but geisha auctions their virginity to the highest bidder.. only virginity.

so there is this part where this writer went on describing how sayuri got *erhem* by her mizuage patron (mizuage patrons are some sort of virginity patrons)... and it's quite vivid... so.... not for children :roll:

but it's a good book.. the writer injected a lot of humor in it... go get one and read.

abstractrose
10-02-2006, 11:17 AM

Yup. Geishas are not pros.. but geisha auctions their virginity to the highest bidder.. only virginity.

so there is this part where this writer went on describing how sayuri got *erhem* by her mizuage patron (mizuage patrons are some sort of virginity patrons)... and it's quite vivid... so.... not for children :roll:

but it's a good book.. the writer injected a lot of humor in it... go get one and read.

I saw the book ages ago, and if i remember correctly, it was freakin good :D

haha, about d mizuage thingy, the explanation of sex given by Mameha to Sayuri expecially stuck in my mind :oops:

and then, i saw the movie...it was a disappointment of all disappointments..It was sooo boring!! I spend most of d time sms-ing in d cinema, which wasnt hard to do since the dialogue was slow and witless therefore easy to follow..u dont even have to watch the screen! but GongLi was gorgeous tho!!

So u guys who saw the movie, dont judge a book by its screen adaptation, go get d book!

by the way, im reading French Starter Kit lol..

10-02-2006, 01:36 PM
Iacocca: An Autobiography

Damn good leh!
And yes, the movie *Memoirs of a Geisha* was a bit dissapointing. i found the first part a bit annoying, coz they were all talking with so damn deep accent, made it kinda hard understanding what they were saying. Why cant they juz use japanese?
but am very proud of Michelle Yeoh. Honestly, i think i heard a hint of Msia in the way she speaks English, like can tell la she's fr Msia hahah

abstractrose
10-02-2006, 01:47 PM
I hope Da Vinvi code will come out good (the movie)..

Tom Hanks as Robert Langdon does have the reluctant hero\smartguy look hehe..

10-02-2006, 06:45 PM
haha, about d mizuage thingy, the explanation of sex given by Mameha to Sayuri expecially stuck in my mind :oops:

The eel and the cave... :wink:

10-02-2006, 10:10 PM
The Chinese Dilemma.\

It was introduced by a guy called Suanie.

LilDeviant
11-02-2006, 11:30 PM
Weekend in Paris by Robyn Sisman, i just love her books :lol:

13-02-2006, 10:31 PM
John Grisham had written so many books. can anyone tell me which is the best? Plot wise...

13-02-2006, 11:01 PM
So far i like "The Runaway Jury"
I haven't read the latest one though

15-02-2006, 08:09 PM
Introduction to NLP

and

Definition Book of Body Language by Pease

Aki
17-02-2006, 06:51 PM
Does it really contain obscene scenes? I thought geisha is far from a prostitute (if the movie is accurate)

If you want to know whether the facts in the book is correct or not,you should try reading Geisha, A Life by Mineko Iwasaki who is the
true geisha interviewed by Artur Golden to write the book.

John Grisham had written so many books. can anyone tell me which is the best? Plot wise..

My favourite:The last juror

18-02-2006, 04:47 AM
Moving to Freakonomics now..

18-02-2006, 06:09 AM
Moving to Freakonomics now..

just have to say this... there's faulty stats in Freakonomics... and Dr. Levitt knows it prior to publishing the book...

i know at least one... but, it's still a good read...

19-02-2006, 08:10 PM
Hmm... currently i am reading Angels and Demons by Dan Brown.
I think everyone here knows about this book rite? It's hell of a good book. Anyone here dislike it?

LilDeviant
22-02-2006, 09:19 PM
hmm another chick lit, "gossip girl" by cecily von ziegesar..
"falling leaves" by adeline yen mah.. :roll:

pinkpau
23-02-2006, 03:06 AM
in my opinion, it's okok only. this was my first Koontz book and i only picked it up cos i've got a teacher who's an avid fan and she recommended his work. i thought that his platform was good, the plot was so-so, the development was disastrous. totally no excitement at all. however what made his book stand out was the way he put emotions into words. it was very real, and makes you nod in agreement.

pinkpau
23-02-2006, 03:09 AM
hmm another chick lit, "gossip girl" by cecily von ziegesar..
oh HAHA that series is like a guilty pleasure..! though sadly the books are getting worst as the series drags on.

am currently reading Enduring Love by Ian Mcewan.

deRame
23-02-2006, 03:13 AM
just finished reading "The Malay Dilemma" by Dr.M

u need to read it to know how good dr.M's observation skill (now i really know why he managed to stay at top for 22 years). however some of his solutions to his "malay dilemma" are quite extreme and even he didn't enforce some of his "solutions" during his tenure in PM office. recommended for every Malaysian to read it in order to understand how politics in malaysia actually works.

right now, starting to read "The Chinese Dilemma" by Ye Lin-Sheng.

couldn't give any review about it since i just started to read it today.

23-02-2006, 11:29 AM
I think everyone here knows about this book rite? It's hell of a good book. Anyone here dislike it?
I am reading it now too.. Am at 11.20pm now. :p

I feel that it's a bit harder to follow compared to the Da Vinci's Code, most probably due to the more graphical descriptions of the scenes and architectures. But I found more surprises in A&D compared to Da Vinci.

abstractrose
23-02-2006, 12:12 PM

I feel that it's a bit harder to follow compared to the Da Vinci's Code, most probably due to the more graphical descriptions of the scenes and architectures. But I found more surprises in A&D compared to Da Vinci.

Dan Brown's series, DaVindi Code is still the best, especially the historical stuff, until now I am still baffled by some claims that he made about the past, so curious to find out if any were true at all. And the riddles were brain-squeezing :P.
The worst? Deception Point. So unbelievable and corny lol. I mean, he based the whole book on a little lie, and in the middle it was already exposed and thus the rest of the book was just people running for their lives.

A&D was kewl cos anti-matter do exist, as claimed by Dan Brown. Quite intriguing...

I am reading Hitler's Mein Kampf, at a painfully slow speed cos my mind always sort of tune out after a few boring long terms......T_T

lyzzy
23-02-2006, 12:34 PM

Dan Brown's series, DaVindi Code is still the best, especially the historical stuff, until now I am still baffled by some claims that he made about the past, so curious to find out if any were true at all. And the riddles were brain-squeezing :P.
The worst? Deception Point. So unbelievable and corny lol. I mean, he based the whole book on a little lie, and in the middle it was already exposed and thus the rest of the book was just people running for their lives.

A&D was kewl cos anti-matter do exist, as claimed by Dan Brown. Quite intriguing...

I am reading Hitler's Mein Kampf, at a painfully slow speed cos my mind always sort of tune out after a few boring long terms......T_T

Imho, Dan Brown is an overcommercialized, mass-market-paperback type.

A writer who gave a talk at my univ mentioned that the reason why people liked Dan Brown so much was because when you read Dan Brown's books, you feel as if you are "tapping into some deep source of wisdom", uncovering some mystery - even though half of his facts are not true.
Suzuki Ignis specifications (http://www.suzuki-tech.com/wiki/Suzuki_Ignis)

abstractrose
23-02-2006, 12:53 PM

A writer who gave a talk at my univ mentioned that the reason why people liked Dan Brown so much was because when you read Dan Brown's books, you feel as if you are "tapping into some deep source of wisdom", uncovering some mystery - even though half of his facts are not true.

To the writer who gave the talk: I'll reserve you the right to comment so after u came out with a 'mass-market-paperback' that stays on readers' lips even after several years.

If u can't, just keep your criticism to yourself and continue working on it. Or else it might be interpreted as jealousy.. Let others enjoy their source of wisdom.

LilDeviant
24-02-2006, 10:19 PM
oo trust me, im definitely an ardent reader of chic-lit. Gossip girl is an on-going thing for me...though the plot goes complicated conveniently..its still pleasurable to read :roll: hmm why guilty pleasure tho? cz i dont really think my guilty conscience is holding me back against this.. :twisted: moreover, its really plain pleasure :lol:

pinkpau
25-02-2006, 01:34 AM
oo trust me, im definitely an ardent reader of chic-lit. Gossip girl is an on-going thing for me...though the plot goes complicated conveniently..its still pleasurable to read :roll: hmm why guilty pleasure tho? cz i dont really think my guilty conscience is holding me back against this.. :twisted: moreover, its really plain pleasure :lol:
guilty pleasure cos it's one of the most vapid books i've ever read .. yet i still keep going back for more :D

lyzzy
25-02-2006, 02:05 AM

To the writer who gave the talk: I'll reserve you the right to comment so after u came out with a 'mass-market-paperback' that stays on readers' lips even after several years.

If u can't, just keep your criticism to yourself and continue working on it. Or else it might be interpreted as jealousy.. Let others enjoy their source of wisdom.

Er, the writer made the New York Times Bestsellers List several times. And I don't think that this is not an uncommon opinion. I mean, it's okay to like quite trashy mass-market paperback novels (I'm very guilty of that too - Stephen King, anyone?) because they are a good way to spend time... and *confession* quite fun to read... but to stubbornly say that they are the best books ever .. is quite insulting to the other great authors out there...
It's like saying that Backstreet Boys (okay, I really like them...) sang the greatest music ever...
Ignis (http://www.suzuki-tech.com/wiki/Suzuki_Ignis)

25-02-2006, 03:54 AM

Er, the writer made the New York Times Bestsellers List several times. And I don't think that this is not an uncommon opinion. I mean, it's okay to like quite trashy mass-market paperback novels (I'm very guilty of that too - Stephen King, anyone?) because they are a good way to spend time... and *confession* quite fun to read... but to stubbornly say that they are the best books ever .. is quite insulting to the other great authors out there...
It's like saying that Backstreet Boys (okay, I really like them...) sang the greatest music ever...

couldn't agree more...

his books are really good... (I read all four of them...) but, after reading 3 of them, i felt if u erase the characters and the artifacts and the different venue... u can see a pretty similar plot... but, for the hang of it, i read the 4th book too... (i read the Da Vinci Code, then Digital Fortress, then Angels and Demons, and then the Deception Point...) i think one shld read them as just another fiction... better ones...

why the hype?? i think it's really down to the explanation that "you feel as if you are "tapping into some deep source of wisdom", uncovering some mystery - even though half of his facts are not true".

the ambigrams in A&D are amazing though...

abstractrose
25-02-2006, 09:33 AM
Maybe people have different definitions of success. Some think that staying on the best-selling list and whose books garnered so much readership that they have to be 'mass-produced'. And this make 'em 'trashy'?

While some other people would think that having their works admired and loved by literature critics/deep thinkers will render 'em successful. But this genre of 'success' normally means it's little understood by a regular layman.

So for Dan Brown, as a fiction writer writing for the public and not literature masters, I'd call him successful and say his books hit the spot right on.

LilDeviant
27-02-2006, 10:10 PM
hmmm how come no mention of good literary work? :roll:

02-03-2006, 07:44 PM
I LOVE A&D because of the twist.. the plot was superb. and the ambrigrams were marvellous and BRILLIANT... FYI they were art works by John Langdon, an artist....

and now i MUST read da vinci code because robert langdon is back!

Dan Brown... he made me read.....

pooh86
07-03-2006, 06:59 PM
Im reading tis book title Heaven Is Real By Choo Nam ..

A korean-Christian who shares her experiences n precious moment v Jesus ... ALthu im not Christian , Is juz a nice 2 book 2 read ... I totally support everybody read it !!! :P

GodRox
07-03-2006, 11:43 PM
Hmm, I got it for my birthday last year.

I only manage to read the first few pages... :oops: n the book has been sitting in my shelf since...

Since u say it's good, guess I'll catch up n read. :D

pooh86
08-03-2006, 07:10 PM
Hmm, I got it for my birthday last year.

I only manage to read the first few pages... :oops: n the book has been sitting in my shelf since...

Since u say it's good, guess I'll catch up n read. :D

Really ? So r u a christian ???
In my opinion .. I tink is good .... I duno abt U ... Mayb u will feel bored after reading a few pages , if u dun hv curiousity wats happening nxt in de book ....... Hope u njoy readin It .... :o

Salvation
09-03-2006, 05:33 AM
Im reading tis book title Heaven Is Real By Choo Nam ..

A korean-Christian who shares her experiences n precious moment v Jesus ... ALthu im not Christian , Is juz a nice 2 book 2 read ... I totally support everybody read it !!! Razz

Wanted to buy this book, but some people says that this book preaches false christianity and that the book ultimately glorifies the auther instead of god 8O ...so i stayed away from it. very confusing

pooh86
09-03-2006, 11:37 AM
Hmm .. Dun worry , as long ur mind is pure .. U wun effect by de others k ? juz treat it as a normal reading .... :lol:

PaTiEnT
15-03-2006, 10:16 PM
Jeffery Archer rocks! Try his books.. :D

16-03-2006, 05:43 PM
Moving into John Grisham's The Rainmaker..

pooh86
16-03-2006, 06:53 PM
The rainmaker ??? Izzit nice ??

pringles
19-03-2006, 01:08 PM
I am reading Dune. I bought the hard-cover version for only RM30 from Borders last week. :D

20-03-2006, 01:10 AM
Introduction to NLP by O Connel

How To Talk To Anyone by Leil Lowndes

Iraka
20-03-2006, 11:33 PM
Shadow Rising, by Robert Jordan.

khiahsu
10-04-2006, 05:17 PM
Haruki Murakami-Kafka On The Shore

17-08-2006, 01:20 AM
Just finished Whiteout - Ken Follet
Currently reading Possible Side Effect - Augusten Burroughs and LS' A Series of Unfortunate Events.

jiingjiunn
29-08-2006, 11:06 PM
the monk who sold his ferrari

strikingstar
14-01-2007, 12:34 AM
1. Freakonomics.

2. A Spanish book.

LilDeviant
14-01-2007, 03:36 PM
How To Argue and Win.

burlesqueen
23-01-2007, 12:59 PM
1. Life, The Universe, and Everything- Douglas Adams
2. The God of Small Things (reading it again!)- Arundhati Roy

ngai
27-06-2007, 12:05 AM
Just finished Deception Point by Dan Brown. Aint it typical Dan-full of twists and consipiracies.

28-06-2007, 12:47 PM
Blink, by Malcolm Gladwell.

Fourthshifter
28-06-2007, 03:46 PM
The books I read (almost finish reading) this month :

The wealth odyssey by Larry R Frank

Real world self defense : a guide to staying alive in dangerous time by Jerry Van Cook

Mastering Business in Asia : Successful Strategy - John Wiley and sons

Embrionic breathing by Dr Yang Jwing Ming

wpyeoh
02-07-2007, 11:38 AM
Yay, I started reading again about 2 weeks ago!
Adventure of the Christmas Pudding by Agatha Christie
A Quiver Full of Arrows by Jeffrey Archer
A Twist in the Tale by Jeffrey Archer (I've read a little more than half, but stopped it for the time being to read some other books that my brother has to return to his school library soon)
Deception Point by Dan Brown (I agree, ngai, full of twists...but the story's a little too slow for me...so it's less enjoyable than it should have been)
And a little Detective Conan :P

Coming up: Sherlock Holmes, then I'll be back to A Twist in the Tale :D

sweet_tooth
13-12-2007, 03:43 PM
Abel and Kane, by Jeffery Archer :)

tezuka87
20-12-2007, 10:32 PM
Lilith, George MacDonald

21-12-2007, 01:04 AM
Getting Things Done, David Allen

forEVA
21-12-2007, 01:29 AM
taking my own sweet time to fully understand the text
King Lear -Shakespeare

halfway through
And Then He Kissed Me -Patti Berg
Labyrinth -Kate Mosse
The Undercover Economist -Tim Hartford
The Jewish Secrets To Success (chinese version) -Li Hao

rereads
Sun Tzu Art of War (chinese version)
The 36 Tactics (chinese version)
The World Is Flat -Thomas L. Friedman
Lao Fu Zi comics :p

so no, i dont read one book at a time. n yes, i do read some of my books at least twice. (:

burningBUTTERFLIES
22-03-2008, 01:30 AM
Divine Secrets of the Ya Ya Sisterhood - Rebecca Wells
The Inheritance of Loss - Kiran Desai
On Beauty - Zadie Smith

caramel_nut
22-03-2008, 08:01 AM
Liar's Poker. Super old book but yeah... recommended to me by several people.

22-03-2008, 08:59 AM
Blue Ocean Strategy: 15 Examples in Malaysia by Lau Hoe Chai

22-03-2008, 10:13 AM
Why Asians are less creative than Westerners by Ng Aik Kwang.

For a sideline joke:
I'm reading
1) How to argue and win each time.
2) How to talk to God.

22-03-2008, 11:02 AM
The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan
Interview With The Vampire by Anne Rice

siawase_tenshi
26-03-2008, 10:31 AM
Just finished reading Artemis Fowl-The Eternity Code and Artemis Fowl-The Lost Colony. Moving on to Short Stories by Haruki Murakami.

luthien
03-04-2008, 07:56 PM
The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini - the best book ever!!! must read!!

James_Padfoot
03-04-2008, 11:18 PM
The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari - Robin S. Sharma

forEVA
05-04-2008, 10:26 AM
while you're stuck in a traffic jam, i'm playing golf.
globalization and its discontents by joseph stiglitz.

bluez_aspic
05-04-2008, 10:49 AM
globalization and its discontents by joseph stiglitz.
LOL Stiglitz. What do you make of the book? I've never read it although The Economist (free market zealots) roasted it thoroughly when it first came out (likewise with the sequel).

forEVA
05-04-2008, 11:04 AM
LOL Stiglitz. What do you make of the book? I've never read it although The Economist (free market zealots) roasted it thoroughly when it first came out (likewise with the sequel).
i actually bought it after reading it in the economist. n i roast it, too. :p

bluez_aspic
05-04-2008, 11:15 AM
i actually bought it after reading it in the economist. n i roast it, too. :p
Heh, Stiglitz isn't too bad i.m.o. - just that the self-righteousness can be rather grating at times (but that applies almost to all ivory tower economists). Meanwhile Krugman and Amartya Sen are total eggheads. Nobel Prize for Economics should really be abolished, or at least awarded to those who actually steer the economy instead to those with fartsy ideas.

To avoid this post being seen as a digression, I'm reading The Economist.

05-04-2008, 09:33 PM
The undomestic goddess-sophie kinsella
chicken soup for parents soul..haha

s-hng
05-04-2008, 10:17 PM
alias grace- margaret atwood.

very absorbing piece of metafiction.
based on a real 18th century murder case in canada.

05-04-2008, 10:44 PM
"Honk! If you're a Malaysia"- Lydia Teh

will chew this book into pieces during my free time for coming month in NS camp. hope time pass fast fast lar.

05-04-2008, 11:11 PM

will chew this book into pieces during my free time for coming month in NS camp. hope time pass fast fast lar.
Hah, I finish that book within 1 hour. It won't last long in NS camp.

New book I'm reading. The Art of Thinking by Vincent Ryan Ruggiero.

AdreanaBhatt
12-04-2008, 08:04 PM

ooh some parts of that book is funny. Currently into history based fiction. Just finished ramses, death of osiris and god of war. Now reading Memnon of Rhodes. Anyone here a fan of christian jacq?

You guys should really read Nefertiti. I loved it. It's my newest favourite

12-04-2008, 11:04 PM
Reading "Eclipse" by Stephenie Meyer now .

I had been working in Popular before . Flipped through it when I was wrapping it =p , haha!! I don't mind to tell it now because I already quitted that job ! I know there's another book that's quite hilarious and interesting . It's name is " Malaysia's Politicians Say The Darnest Things" , worth-reading it . It's a collection of quotes said by our politicians and you wouldn't believe they said it out sometimes .

ngai
13-04-2008, 12:17 AM
I have a fortunate 2 week break now. So I'm catching up on my reading. Reading Digital Fortress by Dan Brown and "On the Wealth of Nations" by erm dunno who already..lol.

yummyummylicious
13-04-2008, 12:23 AM
I have a fortunate 2 week break now. So I'm catching up on my reading. Reading Digital Fortress by Dan Brown and "On the Wealth of Nations" by erm dunno who already..lol.

yea, digital fortress is a great book...in fact all four books by Dan Brown are amazing...i'm a die hard Dan Brown fans!!! especially Da Vince Code...amazing!!!
so what am i reading now??? well my answer is Reader's Digest..lol..i read this every month..hehe..

Vaan
13-04-2008, 12:43 AM
waaa....you all can buy books or borrow. I come from a small town. No updates on whatsoever books and if so too expensive.

13-04-2008, 12:46 AM
wow...i really salute people who loves to read,because i hate it...hehe.no offence though.

13-04-2008, 12:49 AM
wow...i really salute people who loves to read,because i hate it...hehe.no offence though.

You're missing out on one of the most amazing activity in life!

13-04-2008, 12:53 AM

true2..but then again,somehow whenever i pick up a book,i drop it as soon as i start reading the first line..dont know why.hehe:P
i guess its just not my thing.if newspaper,i do read,but books are such a no2 for me.

yummyummylicious
13-04-2008, 01:01 AM

agree with ya silly boy...reading's great and i love it...
and i do suggest 2 authors who write fantastic books:
1. Dan Brown (all 4 books)
2. Stephen King ( The Green Mile , The Mist )

aiyah, out of topic...sorry

13-04-2008, 05:11 AM
Scientific American (April 2008)
Digital Camera World (April 2008)
The Intelligent Investor, Benjamin Graham...

qwerkie
13-04-2008, 09:02 PM
the impressionist
~hari kunzru~

Caprio
16-04-2008, 11:57 AM
The World is Flat by Thomas Friedman.

A good read.

tiffy!
16-04-2008, 01:48 PM
If You Could See Me Now
Cecilia Ahern

SUPER GREAT BOOK!!!!!!! she's my favvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv writer!!!! i OWIZ OWIZ OWIZ cry after reading her book. but tis one i specially recommend. it gives u a deepful insight into life's meaning and the people around you. :D

Pippa
16-04-2008, 02:27 PM
If You Could See Me Now
Cecilia Ahern

SUPER GREAT BOOK!!!!!!! she's my favvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv writer!!!! i OWIZ OWIZ OWIZ cry after reading her book. but tis one i specially recommend. it gives u a deepful insight into life's meaning and the people around you. :D

I have that book for awhile now but I've been putting off reading it in favour of other books. Is it really good?
Maybe I should start reading it. After I finish Ken Follett's Pillars of the Earth. Super thick but enjoyable nonetheless.

I would like to recommend My Sister's Keeper by Jodi Piccoult. Really really touching. I actually cried which is something I rarely do when reading books most people would find cry-able. Lol.

phoenix1892
16-04-2008, 02:38 PM
The Stand by Stephen King

Great book, can't seem to finish it anytime soon though coz I'm really busy now (not to mention it's 1300++ pages long)

matchgirl
16-04-2008, 02:58 PM
The World is Flat by Thomas Friedman.

A good read.

you are right...
i read it too last month

New books
1.The Kite runner
2.The Secret by Rhonda Bryne
3.The appeal by John grisham

Books
1.Sophie's World by Jostein Gaarder
2.The Memory Keeper's Daughter by Kim Edwards
3.The Lord of The Ring by JRR Tolkien
4.The Solitaire Mystery by Jostein Gaarder

Classics
1.Anne of the Green Gables
2.Moby Dick

Appolo
16-04-2008, 09:21 PM
Jane Eyre(unabridged)

Caprio
16-04-2008, 09:52 PM
Scientific American (April 2008)
Digital Camera World (April 2008)
The Intelligent Investor, Benjamin Graham...

Erm.. you bought, borrow or you download from the internet for the Scientific American?
I always eager to read it but the price in Malaysia is too expensive, RM15.

If you dowload it, can you please send me the link through PM.

Thanks in advance.

Jeryliza
18-04-2008, 06:47 PM
Just finished the latest Shopaholic book, Shopaholic & Baby. Becky will just make you laugh and cry along(sometimes in exasperation) with her!

Am also reading The Undercover Economist now. Brilliant book, made me interested in Economics. It might just change my whole life, with me majoring in Economics!

qwerkie
23-04-2008, 04:28 PM
no offence, but chick lit (like the Shopaholic series) irritates me. what with the whining and longing for fashionable clothing. bah. i tried to read Debutante Divorcee, cuz my friends are over the moon about it. i really tried! but a whole page of branded bitching later, i gave up and switched to Mitch Albom. :)

disclaimer: in no way whatsoever am i ridiculing chick lit lovers. this is merely what i think about chick lit.

^experience has taught me that fans of Sophie Kinsella can be very passionate. very.
so better be safe than sorry :)

matchgirl
23-04-2008, 04:42 PM
no offence, but chick lit (like the Shopaholic series) irritates me. what with the whining and longing for fashionable clothing. bah. i tried to read Debutante Divorcee, cuz my friends are over the moon about it. i really tried! but a whole page of branded bitching later, i gave up and switched to Mitch Albom. :)

disclaimer: in no way whatsoever am i ridiculing chick lit lovers. this is merely what i think about chick lit.

^experience has taught me that fans of Sophie Kinsella can be very passionate. very.

ya,i am a mitch fan too...

23-04-2008, 05:21 PM
Fermat's Last Theorem..:D

qwerkie
23-04-2008, 11:37 PM
ya,i am a mitch fan too...

well, he isn't exactly at the top of my list, but yeah, he's a very thought-provoking writer. his idea of heaven is kinda creepy, but it makes me look more closely at the people i meet.

so, what do you like about mitch?

shinseijiro90
23-04-2008, 11:44 PM
interview with the vampire by anne rice..

loved the movie, loving the book even more so (maybe bkos i'm just such a bookworm, lol)

ayja
23-04-2008, 11:49 PM

I used to read the Shopaholic series and well, I kinda grew out of it after that. Much to the same reasons as you. Now unfortunately I (please don't attack me) find the book a little too much, in the sense that it is turning to the point of ridiculous. Just a personal opinion, please don't bash. It is quite funny too, the earlier ones, like the Dear Smithy (banker).

Anyone here reads books by Patricia Cornwell? (Forensic Detective novels?)

alepbing
24-04-2008, 01:08 AM
I used to read the Shopaholic series and well, I kinda grew out of it after that. Much to the same reasons as you. Now unfortunately I (please don't attack me) find the book a little too much, in the sense that it is turning to the point of ridiculous. Just a personal opinion, please don't bash. It is quite funny too, the earlier ones, like the Dear Smithy (banker).

Anyone here reads books by Patricia Cornwell? (Forensic Detective novels?)

sometimes books from meg cabot and such as are just way over the top. they actually encouraged the girls to believe that life is easy, you work, live in expensive places and shop as they like. which i think a bad influence, not educational either.

btw, im reading stories we could tell - tony parsons and the color purple - alice walker.

qwerkie
25-04-2008, 12:28 AM
Kafka on The Shore
~Haruki Murakami~

i'm in love!

vimal06
25-04-2008, 01:08 AM
I'm currently reading " Honk if you're malaysian" . Local book by Lydia Teh.. Very enjoyable..

shakira
25-04-2008, 11:02 AM
i am currently reading 'the smoke jumper' by nicholas evans.. a sad story...

Caprio
25-04-2008, 04:51 PM
Currently I am reading Freakonomics. Quite an enjoyable read, though I don't agree with some of the facts there.

shakira
26-04-2008, 03:59 PM
i came across an international bestseller 'The Little Friend" by Donna Tartt.. I've just started reading it. It's really nice and it's fiction.

qwerkie
28-04-2008, 01:24 AM
i found this at the 'self help' section:

Steven Appleby's Encyclopedia of Personal Problems

oh well, guess some of us have problems with macho
transvestites once in a while... :amuse

oh yes, i am now a brand new fan of mr. murakami.
kudos to a writer so gifted, he made me wish i could
read japanese :)

LilDeviant
29-04-2008, 01:35 AM
Currently I am reading Freakonomics. Quite an enjoyable read, though I don't agree with some of the facts there.

Yes, the book's great.
Which point per say that didn't persuade you?

29-04-2008, 02:19 AM
Currently reading 'Three Cups of Tea'
Loving it!

http://www.threecupsoftea.com/

"The first time you share tea with a Balti, you are a stranger.
The second time you take tea, you are an honored guest.
The third time you share a cup of tea, you become family, and for our family, we are prepared to do anything, even die," -Haji Ali

shinseijiro90
29-04-2008, 02:20 AM
Magical Worlds of Harry Potter by David Colbert

ps/ make sure you've read all the HP books before you start on this one.

qwerkie
01-05-2008, 11:59 PM
Law of Attraction
~Michael J. Losier~

a complete waste of 2 hours.

Caprio
02-05-2008, 11:01 AM
Law of Attraction
~Michael J. Losier~

a complete waste of 2 hours.

Would you mind to elaborate further? Though I have not read it before, what I knew is that this book remains as the bestseller for some time. I think there should be something useful.

qwerkie
02-05-2008, 04:57 PM
well, it didn't really live up to its bestseller status. you would expect a bestseller to inspire and put some drive into a person. didn't happen to me. i find his concepts e.g 'vibrational bubble' and 'allowing' a bit ludicrous. i said it was a waste of time because the only thing i got out of the book was this: think positive. 2 hours for that is a waste of time, imo.

it's a bestseller probably because it is so easy to read and understand. busy people who need a little pick-me-up would have bought this book. they can walk, eat, talk on the phone and read the book at the same time and still understand what they're reading. hence, its popularity.

matchgirl
02-05-2008, 04:59 PM
Bleak House, Charles Dickens

ayja
03-05-2008, 07:18 PM
For one more day by Mitch Albom :))

03-05-2008, 07:36 PM
The God of Small Things- Arundhati Roy

alepbing
03-05-2008, 07:54 PM
For one more day by Mitch Albom :))

that is the best book yet from mitch albom. im his number one fan hoho (hyperbole)

ayja
03-05-2008, 08:00 PM
that is the best book yet from mitch albom. im his number one fan hoho (hyperbole)

This is my first Mitch Albom book ever! Very nice story...can see why so many people are attached to it. Did you watch the Simpsons movie? Lol they had his book in the book club and it was hillarious!

shinseijiro90
03-05-2008, 10:29 PM
the seventh sacrement - david hewson

herm
03-05-2008, 11:05 PM
How To Win Friends And Influence People-Dale Carnegie

zureen
03-05-2008, 11:10 PM
A Spot of Bother - Mark Haddon (author of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time, which is a lovely book)

i read the Teen Girls version, written by Dale Carnegie's daughter! it was good and helpful. i use her tips to this day, 3 years after reading the book.

rach
03-05-2008, 11:24 PM
mutation by robin cook

herm
04-05-2008, 10:29 AM
A Spot of Bother - Mark Haddon (author of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time, which is a lovely book)

i read the Teen Girls version, written by Dale Carnegie's daughter! it was good and helpful. i use her tips to this day, 3 years after reading the book.

such book existed?hmmmm,i must check it out.
izt easier to read?or what's the difference between the two versions?
mind to share?

act i m quite bored reading carnegie's version...damn long u knw:P

04-05-2008, 10:32 AM
This was the book that had the biggest impact in my life so far. It totally changed my outlook on social relationships, and in many ways taught me to behave myself. The chinese translation of this book is actually "the flaws of people" (人性的弱点), which I think is very apt.

A good read for all teenagers, I reckon.

saruhh
04-05-2008, 10:35 AM
"the echo maker" by richard powers

good so far (:

Caprio
05-05-2008, 11:07 AM
This was the book that had the biggest impact in my life so far. It totally changed my outlook on social relationships, and in many ways taught me to behave myself. The chinese translation of this book is actually "the flaws of people" (人性的弱点), which I think is very apt.

A good read for all teenagers, I reckon.

Yea, I agree whole-heartedly. In fact, all books written by Dale Carnegie are worth reading. They are thought provoking and insightful. The knowlege you learnt is indeed invaluable.:)

cantdecide
06-05-2008, 11:24 AM
you can't hide by karen rose..
i just love romantic suspense!!lol!

vimal06
06-05-2008, 11:30 AM
well, i just finished readoing Vermillion Eye by TunHalim.. Its a local book about mystery n thriller.. Probably 18and abouve but i dont think it aplies to matured minds.. Very interesting plot and not bad of a story.. I enjoyed it well enough..

06-05-2008, 11:48 AM
I just finished a book by Jessica Adams, with the title "Summer Psychic".
And now I'm reading Louis Duncan's "The Third Eye".

esmeralda
07-05-2008, 11:21 PM
i just finished a chocolate run by dorothy komson..
it's a romantic comedy,cute and sweet story!

JYHee
07-05-2008, 11:44 PM
"Geek high" it is quite a new published book...found it in Kinokuniya last month

kpy
08-05-2008, 06:32 PM
Currently rereading Prince Caspian by CS Lewis...

Just finished Atonement...it was really good!

kpy
09-05-2008, 03:25 PM
re: Atonement - thoughts?

Atonement...in my opinion the beginning was a bit dull, but it gets more exciting as you on. Um have you read the synopsis of it? If you have not, it's about a young girl, Briony Tallis and how she committed a terrible crime which changes her life and the lives of those involved forever on a hot summer's day. It's beautifully written and the author has this ability of describing the intricacies of human nature so perfectly. The book is divided into 3 parts. I thought part 2 of the book was dragged on a bit...it was a war scene by the way. Apart from that, it was an enjoyable read for me.

Hope that helped =) I haven't seen the movie though...I hope it's just as good as the novel

qwerkie
09-05-2008, 04:37 PM
a place called here
~cecelia ahern~

matchgirl
09-05-2008, 04:52 PM

me a mitch fan too...

Caprio
09-05-2008, 04:58 PM
The Millionaire Next Door

Not as interesting as I thought, or perhaps I expect too much from the book.

Caprio
10-05-2008, 12:27 PM
I've seen the movie, which was decent but overrated i.m.o. - Joe Wright is a good director, he sticks with Hollywood convention but does it with finesse. And there's also the Keira Knightley factor :D

I had a friend who read the novel, and perceived the main theme of the novel to be the shortcomings and redemption of literature. Shortcomings in the sense that literature fails the reality test - there are some things which cannot be conveyed through the medium, and the dangers of interpreting reality as if it were a fictional novel. Yet literature offers redemption because the characters though fictional take a life of their own and abide with us. This is re-emphasized by the twist at the end - that it was not 'real' history, but Briony's interpretation of events. I thought the movie brought home that point pretty well, but she found it unsatisfactory and so I was wondering in what ways the novel was different from the movie adaptation.

Yeah! Agree here. It is indeed overarrated due to the extensive advertisement and promotion.

Anyway, the Keira Knightley factor is irrefutable too, especially for the guys!:p

Age_2_Perfection
10-05-2008, 01:16 PM
i'm reading john grisham playing for pizza.. Just finish Children of Hurin by JRR Tolkien

13-05-2008, 01:42 AM
The Importance of Being Earnest by Oscar Wilde.

saruhh
13-05-2008, 09:00 AM
"middlesex" by jeffrey eugenides

qwerkie
13-05-2008, 11:24 PM
Vernon God Little
~DBC Pierre~

apparently it is named as one of the 100 Best Things in the World by GQ in 2003.

hmmm...

13-05-2008, 11:54 PM
a place called here- cecilia ahern

the book cover is so pretty..

qwerkie
14-05-2008, 01:49 AM
don't judge a book by its cover.. lol

but in this case, the pretty cover holds a pretty story inside :)

kintaro_kun
14-05-2008, 03:04 AM
romance of the 3 kingdoms, for the 7th time.

author: possibly, my ancestor.

prince_J
14-05-2008, 03:06 AM
the notebook... nicholas sparks.. old book tho..

altho i just finished reading the inferno by dante.. hahaha~

sherenesheep
14-05-2008, 09:05 AM
a bend in the road, nicholas sparks...

amazing...

zureen
14-05-2008, 09:13 AM
Make Your Way to the Top - Donald Trump..

i cant believe im reading this..credits go to my ever-so-innovative dad..

ayja
14-05-2008, 09:18 AM
I have no more books to read. Therefore I have resorted to re-reading my books. :P Jodi Picoult anyone? Btw, the SPCA Charity Shoppe sells old n new books donated by kind samaritans and you can get 'em at a bargain! (When I mean bargain I really mean bargain, this coming from a true blue self-professed book fanatic :laugh) Go ahead and visit it, as I found Mitch Albom's For One More Day there and it was relatively new.

princessanicole
14-05-2008, 09:23 AM
Shopaholic & Baby

16-05-2008, 11:59 AM
The 100 must-read books compiled by a website:

http://artofmanliness.com/2008/05/14/100-must-read-books-the-essential-mans-library/

(How to win friends and influence people by Dale Carnegie is there :P)

evangel
16-05-2008, 02:46 PM
Jodi Picoult, My Sister's Keeper(if i get the name right)
Kim Edwards, Memory Keepers' Daughter
Dan Browns' ( all four of his books, been rereading it again and again)
Mitch Albon's ( his stories are unique and mostly on treasuring family and friends)
Falling Leaves ( can't remember the writer's name)
Lord of the Flies by William Golding
John Grisham, The Last Juror and The Street Lawyer

Danial
18-05-2008, 01:53 PM
Angels and Demons by Dan Brown

Caprio
18-05-2008, 10:02 PM
Angels and Demons by Dan Brown

I would say that this is the best book among the four books written by Dan Brown.

Currently, I am reading The Intelligent Investor by Benjamin Graham. It is a very thick book, but the insights offered in the book is invaluable. I guess I will be spending a lot of time devouring this book.

To all the book-lovers here, happy reading! :p

qwerkie
19-05-2008, 06:22 PM
where rainbows end
~cecelia ahern~

i love the way this book is written. it's composed entirely of letters, IM printouts and e-mails sent and received by Rosie Dunne. so it actually transports me into her world and made me feel like i'm part of her life. very engaging and heart-warming. food for the soul, though not for the brain...

PaTiEnT
19-05-2008, 08:11 PM
Silent Boy by Torey Hayden :)

matchgirl
19-05-2008, 08:21 PM
Emma by jane Austen

shakira
22-05-2008, 04:26 PM
the ideal muslim by muhammad ali al-hasyimi

celestial_sacred
22-05-2008, 06:48 PM
The 7 books of LoTR by J.R.R. Tolkien (yeah.. I'm so outdated)

nadia.g
23-05-2008, 04:19 PM
Mayada The Daughter of Iraq. I love this book. I recommend it for those who wud love to noe wat really happened to iraq

Caprio
23-05-2008, 04:31 PM

Not out-dated lar. Good books transcend time. Just like the literature.

matchgirl
23-05-2008, 04:49 PM

ya,i had read thrice...
very nice, superb

celestial_sacred
23-05-2008, 06:13 PM
Thrice? Wow! I wish I could but those are books from the school library. I'll be out of school by the time I finish reading all seven. XD

qwerkie
25-05-2008, 05:05 PM
in commemoration of Douglas Adams, i am currently reading

The Hitchhiker's Guide To The Galaxy

with a towel wrapped around my neck. cheers to Ford as i knock down a Pan Galactic Gargle Blaster!

tezuka87
27-05-2008, 09:53 PM
I like Douglas Adams tooo!! Super funny! LOTR has seven books? I thought it was only one, and divided into three parts cos it was too long that time it was supposed to be published...hmm, I love LOTR!!
Just finished Next by Michael Crichton...liked Sphere, Jurassic Park and The Andromeda Strain a lot!! :D

celestial_sacred
28-05-2008, 12:06 AM
By seven, I meant the rather simpler English one. ^^;

camy
28-05-2008, 06:31 PM
The Perfumed Garden by Sheikh Nefzaoui.

hm.... pardon this choice of book ok... but i just find it somewhat...

Ok. I read this book merely out of curiosity of the title. NOT BECAUSE OF THE CONTENTS. The title sounded catchy and I searched for a copy online. To my surprise, the book (or text) is actually a *ahem* manual. However, if anyone just plans to read this at random, I must say that the slightly archaic terms used to describe things that we can in fact use simple words, make this an extremly entertaining read. ahahaha... I'll spare everyone the details ok...

I just find this text very horrifyingly funny and unique. I never would have believed that a Muslim scholar wrote this.

oh.. and sorry if you find that this book ruins ur brains... ahaha...

d3stinydanc3withm3
28-05-2008, 06:38 PM
The Perfumed Garden by Sheikh Nefzaoui.

hm.... pardon this choice of book ok... but i just find it somewhat...

Ok. I read this book merely out of curiosity of the title. NOT BECAUSE OF THE CONTENTS. The title sounded catchy and I searched for a copy online. To my surprise, the book (or text) is actually a *ahem* manual. However, if anyone just plans to read this at random, I must say that the slightly archaic terms used to describe things that we can in fact use simple words, make this an extremly entertaining read. ahahaha... I'll spare everyone the details ok...

I just find this text very horrifyingly funny and unique. I never would have believed that a Muslim scholar wrote this.

oh.. and sorry if you find that this book ruins ur brains... ahaha...

Wanna swap that book for my big and blue CollegeBoard nerdbook?

03-06-2008, 10:07 PM
Asia Future Shock by Michael Backman.
Have a look~

Caprio
04-06-2008, 11:13 PM
See you at the top by Zig Zaglar

I need motivation.:P

Herlene
05-06-2008, 03:49 PM
I've just finished Eragon, will be starting on reading Elders.For those who are interesed,the third book, Brisingr is coming this September.

Chester_Cobra
06-06-2008, 03:31 AM
Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami

great great book.

Caprio
06-06-2008, 11:44 AM
I've just finished Eragon, will be starting on reading Elders.For those who are interesed,the third book, Brisingr is coming this September.

Are you sure about that? I thought the book is only coming out in US in this coming September. Malaysia is the same as well?

Yvette
06-06-2008, 03:43 PM
The Hundred Secret Senses by Amy Tan. It is simply hilarious!

Herlene
07-06-2008, 12:06 PM
Are you sure about that? I thought the book is only coming out in US in this coming September. Malaysia is the same as well?

Oops my mistake...sorry

skygurl89
07-06-2008, 12:24 PM
Abel and Kane, by Jeffery Archer :)

i jus finished jeffery archer's abel and kane yesterday! it is the most intriguing novel i've ever read after dan brown's da vinci's code that is. oh, and a constant princess by philippa gregory days before.

Caprio
07-06-2008, 10:22 PM
Oops my mistake...sorry

Lol. No need to sorry. Haha... Not a big deal!:p

Currently reading Lateral Thinking by Edward de Bono.

saruhh
07-06-2008, 10:29 PM
Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami

great great book.

i've been meaning to get my hands on this book for a while now ;p

currently reading "the book of other people", edited by zadie smith

14-06-2008, 01:14 AM
Almost finish with American Gods by Neil Gaiman. Not too pleased with the profanities laden all over the book.

herm
14-06-2008, 10:56 AM
Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen. *swt* the language makes me @<hidden>@<hidden>

icomeinpeace
14-06-2008, 05:04 PM
everyone worth knowing by karen weisberger

Yvette
15-06-2008, 08:16 PM

yupz, it's coming this 20th September..wee! =)

nigelsim
15-06-2008, 08:25 PM
i'm currently reading the book entitled "Malaysia and the club of doom" by syed akbar... interesting... such an eye opener...

sikballa
15-06-2008, 08:26 PM
I've been reading The Client by John Grisham.

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini.

Anyone up for chinese novels? I've just finished那些年我们一起追过的女孩子by九把刀

herm
15-06-2008, 11:13 PM
Anyone knows the source of ebooks?kindly pm me.thanks.

JYHee
16-06-2008, 11:47 AM
I've been reading The Client by John Grisham.

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini.

Anyone up for chinese novels? I've just finished那些年我们一起追过的女孩子by九把刀

The kite runner is an awesome book...fascinating !

I'm readin "the 7 habit of highly effective teenager" by Sean COvey

Yvette
16-06-2008, 02:20 PM
I noticed some of us discussing Jodi Piccoult in this thread. Her book "My sister's keeper" is currently being made into a movie starring Cameron Diaz and other well known stars.

Danial
16-06-2008, 06:13 PM
The Templar Legacy
- By Steve Barry

For One more Day
- Mitch Albom

alepbing
16-06-2008, 06:32 PM
For One more Day
- Mitch Albom

Good book. I've read 3 of his novels, and they are... fantabulous

moi: currently stop reading novels, will begin later XD

Caprio
17-06-2008, 05:35 PM
For One more Day by Mitch Albom

I would say the previous two books are much better compare to this one. I find it quite boring.

alepbing
17-06-2008, 05:40 PM
For One more Day by Mitch Albom

I would say the previous two books are much better compare to this one. I find it quite boring.

hehe. i think the opposite, i like for one more day better because it actually made me cry=lolness haha

gnaw
17-06-2008, 10:35 PM
i've only read Mitch Albom's 5 People You Meet In Heaven, but it was great~

I;ve just finished "First Among Equals" by Jeffrey Archer...it was interesting even though i don't know anything about British government or their history ^^

Now reading "Living Without Procrastination" by M.Susan Roberts... learning to deal with my crippling weakness.

phoenix1892
18-06-2008, 12:22 AM
Currently reading:

French Phrases for Dummies
Rough Guide to Unexplained Phenomena

Unfinished books, would probably read again later:

The Stand by Stephen King
The Alexander Cipher by Will Adams
Classical Mythology

Danial
18-06-2008, 12:35 AM
The Righteous Man
- By Sam Bourne

(Bought the book, will read it later on. Currently reading the The Templar Legacy)

qwerkie
18-06-2008, 09:15 PM
To Kill A Mockingbird
~Harper Lee~

it's nice to go back to oldies sometimes...
i find it profoundly satisfying...

nadia.g
19-06-2008, 09:45 AM
Dale Carnegie's How to stop worrying and start living

evanka
19-06-2008, 10:32 AM
This month I read about 3 books:

To Kill A Mockingbird-I love it! :)

The Great Gatsby-It's about infidelity of lovers. Sad ending. It's not my favorite though.

Arabian Nights-Hahaha. X-rated and not recommended to younglings. Amusing tales minus the XXX part.:P

I'm reading The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho for the third time. It's very inspiring and uplifting. I'm feeling low right now.:cry

akirasama89
19-06-2008, 11:05 AM
Hey! I've finished mitch albom's 5 people you meet in heaven! I did try the Arabian nights but there were 10 thick volumes and I was pressed for time at the moment and stopped. I'm planning to pick it up again sometime.

What I'm reading now is Ain't she sweet by Susan Elizabeth Phillips. Yeah. A chick flick. It's fun and emotional and the language is what I'm used to. I'm going to try finishing this list of top 100 romance novels. Just to see whats the best. XD

You can check out the list at http://www.likesbooks.com/top1002007results.html

Have fun!

basikal
19-06-2008, 02:58 PM
currently reading oscar wilde's the importance of being earnest.

clep
19-06-2008, 03:53 PM
Graham Greene's 'The Quiet American'.
Also, Bill Bryson's 'A Short History of Everything'.

princessanicole
19-06-2008, 03:59 PM
Mahathir vs Abdullah Covert Wars & Challenged Legacies by Malaysiakini

teiya_drumzaddict
20-06-2008, 11:36 PM
The Ravenscar Dynasty by Barbara Taylor Bradford

aitheng
21-06-2008, 12:08 AM
Nights of rain n stars
by Maeve Binchy

qwerkie
21-06-2008, 03:45 PM
Blood Orchid
~Stuart Woods~

Stupid corny title, but a gripping story.

cyther90
21-06-2008, 03:48 PM
Water Margin...chinese graphic novel, but english subbed...5 books...One of mahathir's favourite novel...

passer-by
21-06-2008, 04:28 PM
NEXT by Michael Crichton

CurbsideProphet
22-06-2008, 02:42 PM
The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat by Oliver Sacks - Amazing read about strange neuropsychological problems =D

23-06-2008, 07:13 PM
How to influence people and win friends
Dale Carnegie

ISBN: 9780671723651

23-06-2008, 07:15 PM
How to influence people and win friends
Dale Carnegie

ISBN: 9780671723651

same here. =)

Caprio
24-06-2008, 02:16 PM
The Six Thinking Hats by Edward de Bono.

Yukie
24-06-2008, 03:40 PM
The Alex Rider series by Anthony Horowitz---it's really really exciting! ( 7 books at the moment )

qwerkie
25-06-2008, 02:33 PM
Gone Baby Gone
~Dennis Lehane~

xinni
25-06-2008, 02:42 PM
nothing but achitecture's blog , it sounds weird I know but I didn't have much choices ..

25-06-2008, 02:50 PM
nothing but achitecture's blog , it sounds weird I know but I didn't have much choices ..

obsession of architecture stuff...hehe

currently read about Teachers training guide by NUTP(national union teacher profession).

Best buy book..:P

xinni
25-06-2008, 03:01 PM

currently read about Teachers training guide by NUTP(national union teacher profession).

It's to ensure I can THINK 'architecturely' ...it's rather hard..

25-06-2008, 03:08 PM
It's to ensure I can THINK 'architecturely' ...it's rather hard..

i am sure u can make it..archictect nowadays is really demanding...furthermore an artistic person can really be a good archictect in future.there are 3 of my frens get architect under jpa...guess wat? they score A1 in pendidkan seni spm...that really place an edge over the granting of JPA.

music_freak28
27-06-2008, 08:57 AM
Nineteen Minutes-Jodi Picoult

qwerkie
27-06-2008, 02:20 PM
Stardust
~Neil Gaiman~

eeramohd
01-07-2008, 09:21 PM
currently re-reading Deathly Hallows for the third time. long holiday.. lol..

reccomending:-
1984 - George Orwell
good omens - terry pratchet and neil gaiman
understanding power - noam chomsky
imperial ambitions - noam chomsky

Smilehoe
01-07-2008, 09:43 PM
Three Cups of Tea
Greg Mortenson & David Oliver Relin

Haven't finished... It is quite interesting though

09-07-2008, 09:48 PM
My sister's keeper by Jodi Picoult....simply touching....techniqueful,fine and unpredictable plot

princessanicole
09-07-2008, 10:01 PM
Then We Set His Hair on Fire: Insights and Accidents from a Hall of Fame Career in Advertising by Phil Dusenberry

jjaiteng
09-07-2008, 10:18 PM

hi starlemon, where u buy this book? is it popular?

bluez_aspic
09-07-2008, 10:36 PM
reccomending:-
1984 - George Orwell
good omens - terry pratchet and neil gaiman
understanding power - noam chomsky
imperial ambitions - noam chomsky
It's because Noam Chomsky gets some things right that he is so wrong about the others. He styles himself as a leftist railing against American foreign policy and diminishing liberty yet is a socialist who effectively supports a greater role for government. This is contradictory and typical left-wing nonsense - greater government intervention requires the expansion of state powers, but that is the same thing as an increasing violation of individual rights and liberty. The remedy is not to have 'better' or more 'efficient' government (both oxymoronic), but to have MINIMAL government.

This is the true libertarian tradition.

Iraka
10-07-2008, 01:26 PM
Just finished reading Idlewild by Nick Sagan.

Yvette
20-07-2008, 10:09 PM
currently re-reading Deathly Hallows for the third time. long holiday.. lol..

ahh..fren...i'm doing the same thing..only that it's my second time reading it =P
i rmb the story so vividly though

Just finished Eragon after starting it 2 years ago. I find it difficult to read such descriptive works. Anyway, I found Paolini's work pretty predictable.

Iraka
20-07-2008, 10:34 PM
More than halfway through Spin by Robert Charles Wilson now. Highly recommended!

clep
21-07-2008, 12:28 AM
I feel that Paolini is somewhat like a mediocre spin-off from Tolkien and other fantasy staples (he admitted to being influenced by JRRT, anyway).

Almost anything by Pratchett and Gaiman is gold :)

Right now I'm reading Plato's The Republic; decided to do that since the comprehension passages in SAT are no longer the simple types seen in SPM. Got to 'upgrade' my reading list :p

aitheng
22-07-2008, 05:34 PM
im currently reading the chicken soup for the couple soul.
the stories in that book is really touching.

hajar
21-08-2008, 01:09 PM
Recently read Mayada, Daughter of Iraq. Like most Jean Sasson books, it depicts the life of women from the middle east. Not a fan. Read it mostly because my aunt bought it.

music_freak28
24-08-2008, 05:55 PM
just read murphy's boy by torey hayden.

donkay91
01-10-2008, 11:42 AM
reading 'Dreams From My Father' by Barack Obama. anybody read that one yet?

Yvette
13-11-2008, 02:12 AM
The Inheritance of Loss by Kiran Desai is a really really good read. =)

chongkeat
14-11-2008, 07:38 PM
Hitchhiker's guide to the Galaxy. Actually, all five in the series....

An excerpt:
Far out in the uncharted backwaters of the unfashionable end of the western spiral arm of the Galaxy lies a small unregarded yellow sun.

Orbiting this at a distance of roughly ninety-two million miles is an utterly insignificant little blue green planet whose ape-descended life forms are so amazingly primitive that they still think digital watches are a pretty neat idea.

This planet has - or rather had - a problem, which was this: most of the people on it were unhappy for pretty much of the time. Many solutions were suggested for this problem, but most of these were largely concerned with the movements of small green pieces of paper, which is odd because on the whole it wasn't the small green pieces of paper that were unhappy.

And so the problem remained; lots of the people were mean, and most of them were miserable, even the ones with digital watches.

Many were increasingly of the opinion that they'd all made a big mistake in coming down from the trees in the first place. And some said that even the trees had been a bad move, and that no one should ever have left the oceans.

And then, one Thursday, nearly two thousand years after one man had been nailed to a tree for saying how great it would be to be nice to people for a change, one girl sitting on her own in a small cafe in Rickmansworth suddenly realized what it was that had been going wrong all this time, and she finally knew how the world could be made a good and happy place. This time it was right, it would work, and no one would have to get nailed to anything.

Sadly, however, before she could get to a phone to tell anyone about it, a terribly stupid catastrophe occurred, and the idea was lost forever.

This is not her story.

But it is the story of that terrible stupid catastrophe and some of its consequences.

It is also the story of a book, a book called The Hitch Hiker's Guide to the Galaxy - not an Earth book, never published on Earth, and until the terrible catastrophe occurred, never seen or heard of by any Earthman.

Nevertheless, a wholly remarkable book.

In fact it was probably the most remarkable book ever to come out of the great publishing houses of Ursa Minor - of which no Earthman had ever heard either.

Not only is it a wholly remarkable book, it is also a highly successful one - more popular than the Celestial Home Care Omnibus, better selling than Fifty More Things to do in Zero Gravity, and more controversial than Oolon Colluphid's trilogy of philosophical blockbusters Where God Went Wrong, Some More of God's Greatest Mistakes and Who is this God Person Anyway?

In many of the more relaxed civilizations on the Outer Eastern Rim of the Galaxy, the Hitch Hiker's Guide has already supplanted the great Encyclopedia Galactica as the standard repository of all knowledge and wisdom, for though it has many omissions and contains much that is apocryphal, or at least wildly inaccurate, it scores over the older, more pedestrian work in two important respects.

First, it is slightly cheaper; and secondly it has the words Don't Panic inscribed in large friendly letters on its cover.

But the story of this terrible, stupid Thursday, the story of its extraordinary consequences, and the story of how these consequences are inextricably intertwined with this remarkable book begins very simply.

It begins with a house.

extreme
14-11-2008, 09:29 PM
Hey there anyone got any suggestion of good book to read that we can get from the guternberg (http://www.gutenberg.org/wiki/Main_Page)???

Read the monk who sold his Ferrari and How to be positive,confident and courageous and last week.
:)):))

15-11-2008, 01:13 AM
Hot, Flat and Crowded

CurbsideProphet
15-11-2008, 04:41 AM
Hitchikers Guide To The Galaxy (H2G2) is my absolute favourite! :D The inane randomness, yet poignant details, the little semi-prophetic, semi-philosophical rants... the physics jokes... Nothing quite beats it! Eoin Colfer of the Artemis Fowl series is writing a 6th book...

If I could be granted any wish, it was that Douglas Adams had not died before me, & that I could have met him at least once.

Sorry I have no Gutenberg recommendations except for the very obvious Hamlet by Shakespeare. :P

I'm currently reading Mother Tongue by Bill Bryson, a person that can make any subject, even the different types of dust, interesting. Here he talks about the diversity of languages - a lot of cute anecdotes about English and even some thoughts on Manglish.

15-11-2008, 08:45 AM
Language and Nation Building: a study of the language medium policy in Malaysia by Alis Puteh
- basically the book talks abt the changes in language policies in Msia before and after the war and how it has affected/impacted our national education system in general. a good read, esp since now theres this huge debate abt maths and science in english, and whether we should go on with it.
-personally i think exposing the kids to english is a good idea, coz being an english teacher, and being one who hates learning grammar formally, i know that its important kids get to hear and listen and be surrounded by the language as much as they can coz only then theyll begin to recognise the sounds and the correct pronunciations etc. And once they are comfortable with the language, only then they will be wanting to use it. It beats hvg grammar rules shoved down ur throat and doing grammar worksheet after worksheet for sho!

The Trumpet of the Swan by EH White
-same dude who wrote stuart little/chicken little, cant remember which haha. very cute story abt a little trumpet swan who cant trumpet *kinda ironic haha* and has an awesome conscience. a good read, i really enjoyed it, esp the part where he worked to pay for the trumpet.

Other than that, im also reading a few others, which im too lazy to list down. I really shud juz concentrate on one and finish it off hehe this school hols plan to curl up and read and read and read. Bliss!

15-11-2008, 09:33 AM
I read about the Teaching English language method and theology published by MELTA. A great book expose on the various teaching methology on the english language and it make readers realised the importance of this language.

Personally i would say that to brush up your english, one way is to know exactly the extent of Language policy in Malaysia.And yes this book expose me to various language and linguistic practices in our country. The overgrowing of foreign tourists in MAlaysian for the past few years depict the fact that MAlaysian should learn more foreign language for the benefits of promoting tourism, but still english language is a medium language and is paramount vital to that development.

chongkeat
15-11-2008, 09:48 AM
Hitchikers Guide To The Galaxy (H2G2) is my absolute favourite! The inane randomness, yet poignant details, the little semi-prophetic, semi-philosophical rants... the physics jokes... Nothing quite beats it! Eoin Colfer of the Artemis Fowl series is writing a 6th book...

What I like about Hitchhiker's guide is how seemingly random events (like the petunias) in the beginning of the book can be intricately related to the story later on.
Anyway, Artemis Fowl is very cool, though I wonder, how on earth are they going to film it?

Sorry I have no Gutenberg recommendations except for the very obvious Hamlet by Shakespeare.
A Midsummer Night's Dream is my personal favorite. (Though I've only read a couple of plays....) I'd love very much to see a play, any play, by Shakespeare.

eve88
18-11-2008, 06:39 PM
Hey there anyone got any suggestion of good book to read that we can get from the guternberg (http://www.gutenberg.org/wiki/Main_Page)???

Gutenberg stocks old books - the ones which copyrights have expired.

So far, from there, I've read :

Wizard of Oz (L. Frank Baum)
Jungle Book & Jungle Book 2 (Rudyard Kipling)
My Man Jeeves & Right Ho, Jeeves (P.G. Wodehouse)

Downloaded but haven't gotten around to reading or have given up cuz its too hard :

Great Expectations (Charles Dickens)
Beasts of Tarzan & Jungle Tales of Tarzan (Edgar Rice Burroughs)
The Canterbury Tales (Geoffrey Chaucer)
Relativity: The Special and General Theory (Albert Einstein)

-----
Just finished Bill Bryson's A Walk in the Woods.

clep
19-11-2008, 01:02 AM
Coraline by Neil Gaiman is going to be released as a movie.

As is Watchmen, one of the greatest graphic novels of all time. Everyone should read it - great art, provoking questions about the nature of humanity...it was even on Time's list of 100 Best Novels despite the fact that it's not strictly a novel. Movie's out in 2009.

I just finished Terry Pratchett's Bromeliad Trilogy, and, like I do all Pratchett books, thoroughly enjoyed it.

qwerkie
20-11-2008, 03:48 PM
unfortunately, Gaiman and Pratchett haven't been coming up with very nice reads lately. Pratchett's Making Money is, imo, a waste of money. Could have just downloaded it. Now, we shall all pretend I did not say that.

Am reading Sandman: Season of Mists, a comic written by Neil Gaiman

Cheers to his dark yet hauntingly realistic creations!

herm
20-11-2008, 09:55 PM
Understanding Chemistry - Nelson Thornes >.<

chongkeat
21-11-2008, 09:27 AM
If any of you haven't read it yet, I would completely recommend that you read "Cryptonomicon" by Neal Stephenson, particularly those of you with a fascination for crypto.

Appolo
21-11-2008, 11:45 AM
Leviathan by Hobbes

Quite the classical piece for political philosophy.

clep
21-11-2008, 08:36 PM
Sandman: World's End and Sandman: Preludes and Nocturnes are two of my favourites. What I like is that they get different artists for different stories, so that the tone and art complement each other.

Danial
22-11-2008, 11:41 AM
I'm currently reading Steve Berry - The Venetian Betrayal

Li Shan Shung
17-04-2009, 08:25 PM
The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

radio_active91
17-04-2009, 08:35 PM
Percy Jackson and The Olympians series.
They're turning it into a movie, yahoooo!