View Full Version : Help Me - Installing Ubuntu

Panda
17-02-2006, 11:47 PM
I was trying to install linux ubuntu yesterday but it failed to install properly. Now I cannot even get my windows to start!! What should I do??? :cry: shit man...

Moderator Action: Thread changed from Education to IT thread. Also renamed to enhance clarity about the thread's content. ~youngyew~

18-02-2006, 01:24 AM
pop the win Xp disk back in. reinstall the bootloader but eject the disk when it asks u to install windows.

18-02-2006, 08:10 AM
okie..here's a more detailed version of what digi had said..

boot from your winxp cd, wait till it reached the first prompt..then select recovery console...

select your windows that you need to fix..(you have only 1 windows version right?, then just key in 1 and press enter)..

it'll ask for your admin password...if you don't have any, just press enter will do, otherwise key in the password and proceed from there...be reminded that if you had inputed the wrong password 3 times, it'll ask you to restart your computer..and you'll have to start all over again....haha...

then at the next prompt, input fixmbr and press enter..it'll ask you to confirm your action..along with a scary warning...just confirm with a y and press enter

a success message will be outputted...nw type in exit and the com will reboot itself..take out the boot cd and you should be ab le to boot into your windows again...

this steps are put here assuming that you are using windows xp and windows 2000 of course...haha

just what errors have you encountered with your ubuntu installtion?? i think i might be able to help out...just post it here or pm me :)

Panda
18-02-2006, 09:02 AM
okie..here's a more detailed version of what digi had said..

boot from your winxp cd, wait till it reached the first prompt..then select recovery console...

select your windows that you need to fix..(you have only 1 windows version right?, then just key in 1 and press enter)..

it'll ask for your admin password...if you don't have any, just press enter will do, otherwise key in the password and proceed from there...be reminded that if you had inputed the wrong password 3 times, it'll ask you to restart your computer..and you'll have to start all over again....haha...

then at the next prompt, input fixmbr and press enter..it'll ask you to confirm your action..along with a scary warning...just confirm with a y and press enter

a success message will be outputted...nw type in exit and the com will reboot itself..take out the boot cd and you should be ab le to boot into your windows again...

this steps are put here assuming that you are using windows xp and windows 2000 of course...haha

just what errors have you encountered with your ubuntu installtion?? i think i might be able to help out...just post it here or pm me :)

The steps that you told me had already been tested by some computer guy that I consulted at my school. But that did not help. Just now, i could not even use the live cd, NOw, i m lucky to be able to run the live cd. What should I do? That guy told me that there might be some problem with my hard drive. So I scanned my hard drive by pressing f10.
Ok, here is my situation now, I can only press f10 or use live cd. Just now, that guy also tried to reinstall the windows for me. BUt it failed. I only see some blank screen with one keyboard cursor.

Now I am afraid to turn off my computer because not everytime I can use this live cd. I need to backup my files now. BUt I dont know how to find my c drive.

One thing, my c drive is full. Is that going to affect the installation process? If then, how should I delete some files? I cannot find my C drive!!! Help!!!!!!

18-02-2006, 02:09 PM
i'm not sure abt pressing f10 though...usually ppl press f8 to get into the safe mode and do things from there...is it the way u need to do to boot into ur cd??

usually linux will identify drives as hda1, hda2 or hdb1 or so on...

hd will refer to the drive while the a,b and so on will refer to ur drive...the numbers that follow refers to the partition on the drive...

i haven tried the live cd yet so i'm not so sure abt naming conventions but i think u'll find ur drive in /media/windows or somewhere in /media...

Panda
21-02-2006, 11:34 PM
Ok, finally I got my Windows to work at the same time successfullly install Ubuntu. Now, I am really new in Linux. Can anyone teach me how to use it? I always have problem installing new softwares in Linux. Another thing, this Ubuntu comes with a lot of software. And I tried to use the mp3 player software to open some mp3 files. But it just wont play. Why is that happening?

22-02-2006, 12:59 AM
Ok, finally I got my Windows to work at the same time successfullly install Ubuntu. Now, I am really new in Linux. Can anyone teach me how to use it? I always have problem installing new softwares in Linux. Another thing, this Ubuntu comes with a lot of software. And I tried to use the mp3 player software to open some mp3 files. But it just wont play. Why is that happening?

there's a support site for ubuntu...www.ubuntuforums.org...

there's a script installer that can handle all the things (update firefox, openoffice, media codecs etc etc etc..)

have a look here :

http://www.ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=80295&highlight=automatix

http://www.ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=66563&highlight=automatix

and here's a page in which is the linux version of equivalent windows programs :

http://www.ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=33183&highlight=automatix

i think that should be enough to get you started in your new experience :)..the wonderful world of linux...ubuntu rocks....

*edit*
and one more thing...automatix will require lots of time with your internet connection....esp if it's slow..so be prepared to wait a little while for the binaries to download...

the reason that ubuntu won't support closed (read : proprietary) formats like wma and mp3 is that it aims to be the free from constraints of licences...u cn go to www.ubuntu.com and have a look at their philosophy...hehe..but that won't stop us from playing our favourite music and videos...hehe...

Panda
24-02-2006, 10:44 AM
I am having a lot of fun using ubuntu. But I have some problem with my Windows Xp once I installed Ubuntu. First of all, my Windows clock went haywire. Ok, I dont really care about that. But now, my Windows cannot access my DVD drive. Can someone help me out? Is my Windows infected with virus?

Panda
24-02-2006, 10:47 AM
Another thing, I find that I can totally use Ubuntu without Windows except if I wanna play warcraft III. Is anyone know how to install warcraft in Ubuntu? I tried to use Wine to play but with no success.

24-02-2006, 03:40 PM
for warcraft wine cannot be used...

there's a software from cedega corporation..forgot the name, that enabled many to play warcraft...hehe...kinda in a rush now...elaborate later on...

and abt the time, i think you might have set it to UTC (Universal Time Coordinate, or in common terms, Greenwich time), and since the ubuntu synchronises the time to it's server on the net during boot time, your time will be -7 from the current time in malaysia..hehe..assuming you are in malaysia now of course...again, i'll elaborate later....hehe...

edit

ok, i've mistaken...the software is indeed cedega from transgaming corporation...but you'll need to pay a subscription fee of 5euro per month...okok..i still do keep my windows machine for gaming purposes...hehe...