View Full Version : Philosophy, Language and the Arts - SCHOLARSHIPS - USA
sully
13-02-2004, 06:21 AM
Want to study humanities and the arts from a Western perspective? Need money to get your BA? Wanna continue on to do a PhD? Highly intelligent and self-motivated? If so... then this is for you.
Hi, I'm at a small liberal arts college in the USA. Majoring in Philosophy... graduating in 2005. Liberal arts colleges virtually let you select EVERY SINGLE ONE of your own courses over a period of FOUR years. They can usually be from ANY academic discipline.
I decided to do what I'm doing because I was tired of being forced to study particular things (i.e. under the Malaysian ed. sys.). Anyone with similar (broad lah... ) interests... who would like to pursue their tertiary education abroad is welcome to contact me for more information.
Lots of scholarship money is available from the USA from liberal arts colleges and other need-blind admission based institutions. ESPECIALLY if you are an Asian humanities major (big minority... all the 1st rate Asia brains are usually involved in the paper chase ($$) or science worship).
-yangjerng
sully
13-02-2004, 06:21 AM
Want to study humanities and the arts from a Western perspective? Need money to get your BA? Wanna continue on to do a PhD? Highly intelligent and self-motivated? If so... then this is for you.
Hi, I'm at a small liberal arts college in the USA. Majoring in Philosophy... graduating in 2005. Liberal arts colleges virtually let you select EVERY SINGLE ONE of your own courses over a period of FOUR years. They can usually be from ANY academic discipline.
I decided to do what I'm doing because I was tired of being forced to study particular things (i.e. under the Malaysian ed. sys.). Anyone with similar (broad lah... ) interests... who would like to pursue their tertiary education abroad is welcome to contact me for more information.
Lots of scholarship money is available from the USA from liberal arts colleges and other need-blind admission based institutions. ESPECIALLY if you are an Asian humanities major (big minority... all the 1st rate Asia brains are usually involved in the paper chase ($$) or science worship).
-yangjerng
13-02-2004, 06:24 AM
you;re doing philosophy? What do you plan to do when you graduate? Are you going to stay in the US? Are there opportunities at home?
Wow...what you're doing sounds interesting.
13-02-2004, 06:24 AM
you;re doing philosophy? What do you plan to do when you graduate? Are you going to stay in the US? Are there opportunities at home?
Wow...what you're doing sounds interesting.
13-02-2004, 10:07 AM
OhMIGod! 8O
do they hv something on English over there? This sounds real interesting man....i had real trouble finding a scholar to study English overseas...JPA xtwrkan...which is like real sad :cry: coz it's like one of the most important subjects on earth.
Anyway, you got links or something to info on this, sully? Thanks! :wink:
13-02-2004, 10:07 AM
OhMIGod! 8O
do they hv something on English over there? This sounds real interesting man....i had real trouble finding a scholar to study English overseas...JPA xtwrkan...which is like real sad :cry: coz it's like one of the most important subjects on earth.
Anyway, you got links or something to info on this, sully? Thanks! :wink:
wesleyanne
13-02-2004, 10:26 AM
-yangjerng
oh wow sully :) Im so glad to be reading this ;) for a while, I thought I was one of the very few non-engineering/comp science majors here :) hahahaha.
I totally agree with you!!! Liberal Arts colleges are awesome! I'm currently attending one as well so I can testify to that. However, I'm not a philosophy major, rather, a business major/econ minor, BUT i have taken classes in biology, math, piano, voice, psychology, languages, communication, history, political science and yes, even philosophy. Four amazing years of education, that's for sure! :) I mean where else can you find a business major spending 4 hours in biology lab, cutting DNA? hehehe.
Sully is right...private liberal arts colleges, or at least the ones I know of, tend to be rich, so they give VERY good financial aid :) its definitely worth a try, dontcha think? ;)
ohhh this is off topic BUT you know whats better than studying in a liberal arts college? AN ALL-FEMALE LIBERAL ARTS COLLEGE (for all you ladies out there)! hahahahhahah :D seriously....its an awesome experience! they tend to be more generous with scholarships as well :D
well sully, hats off to ya ;) philosophy aint an easy major! a lotta hard work too (esp with all that heavy reading and analyzing bout Aristotle, Satre, Kant, Plato etc) but it does produce great thinkers, like yourself, I'm sure! so kudos to you and keep it up :)
wesleyanne
13-02-2004, 10:26 AM
-yangjerng
oh wow sully :) Im so glad to be reading this ;) for a while, I thought I was one of the very few non-engineering/comp science majors here :) hahahaha.
I totally agree with you!!! Liberal Arts colleges are awesome! I'm currently attending one as well so I can testify to that. However, I'm not a philosophy major, rather, a business major/econ minor, BUT i have taken classes in biology, math, piano, voice, psychology, languages, communication, history, political science and yes, even philosophy. Four amazing years of education, that's for sure! :) I mean where else can you find a business major spending 4 hours in biology lab, cutting DNA? hehehe.
Sully is right...private liberal arts colleges, or at least the ones I know of, tend to be rich, so they give VERY good financial aid :) its definitely worth a try, dontcha think? ;)
ohhh this is off topic BUT you know whats better than studying in a liberal arts college? AN ALL-FEMALE LIBERAL ARTS COLLEGE (for all you ladies out there)! hahahahhahah :D seriously....its an awesome experience! they tend to be more generous with scholarships as well :D
well sully, hats off to ya ;) philosophy aint an easy major! a lotta hard work too (esp with all that heavy reading and analyzing bout Aristotle, Satre, Kant, Plato etc) but it does produce great thinkers, like yourself, I'm sure! so kudos to you and keep it up :)
sully
13-02-2004, 01:07 PM
ok ok ... very nice to meet all of you. Contact me via any of the four big mesengers... preferably not yahoo.... then we can talk, ok?
MSN: thesaturnine@<hidden>
aim: sullytheother
peace out.
-yangjerng
What am I going to do after graduation? Go home and teach tuition lah... big money waiting... you know they just switched the form 1's syllabus in math and science to English? Do you know how bad many school teachers are at English? hehehe..... the year I graduate is the year before these kiddies enter form 4.... sweet opportunity. Any business majors out there want to open tuition center with me ;-) ??
Seriously... dunno... something in either the arts or education. If I can get hired as a researcher for somebody that would be great. But I think that's slim.
sully
13-02-2004, 01:07 PM
ok ok ... very nice to meet all of you. Contact me via any of the four big mesengers... preferably not yahoo.... then we can talk, ok?
MSN: thesaturnine@<hidden>
aim: sullytheother
peace out.
-yangjerng
What am I going to do after graduation? Go home and teach tuition lah... big money waiting... you know they just switched the form 1's syllabus in math and science to English? Do you know how bad many school teachers are at English? hehehe..... the year I graduate is the year before these kiddies enter form 4.... sweet opportunity. Any business majors out there want to open tuition center with me ;-) ??
Seriously... dunno... something in either the arts or education. If I can get hired as a researcher for somebody that would be great. But I think that's slim.