View Full Version : Wawasan 2020, Selangor Maju 2005... Are we on our way there?

nalgene87
05-03-2006, 11:02 AM
So it seems to me that our government is really creative in coming up with lots of visions and slogans for m'sia. But the thing is, are we persistent enough to pursue these visions to achieve what we have wanted to achieve? Nowadays, the "wawasan 2020" signs can no where be seen, politicians have stopped talking about the "wawasan 2020" anymore.

The Danga Bay, dubbed as the excitement entertainment spot in M'sia... but on a recent trip there, I dont see that it is anywhere close to being "exciting" nor "entertaining". Food is overpriced despite being digustingly unpalatable. With so much money (taxpayers' ones) poured into the project, I can see that it is going to be another white elephant.

So it seems clear that our government only knows how to build/initiative new things. Where is the maintainence part?!?! Even the services of the LRTs in KL have declined significantly from the day it first started operation... I am seriously concerned about how the government runs the country. It is fortunate that M'sia has got loads of $$ for the government to spend on new stuffs... but oh well, we are well on our way to become a net oil importer in 2010 which means that the money is pretty limited.

juventus
05-03-2006, 11:16 AM
Maybe because it was Tun Mahathir who initiated the idea of Wawasan 2020. That's why you don't see much of it now.

But Malaysia has always been all talk and no action. When a problem arises, the whole nation would be talking about it. After a few months, everything dies down altogether.

I remember writing in my BM essays, 'Sebagai kesimpulan, kita harus berganding bahu demi mencapai Wawasan 2020.' According to my teacher, incorporating Wawasan 2020 in essays is the best 'kesimpulan'.

I totally agree with nalgene87. Malaysia is all bright ideas, but unfortunately there's no follow through. Hangat hangat tahi ayam.. hmm..How true it is..

bush
05-03-2006, 11:26 AM
.....YAY...selangor negeri maju.......negeri maju pun boleh banjir kah?

05-03-2006, 11:37 AM
Maybe selangor will be the country's first aquatic state...

05-03-2006, 11:46 AM

Ofcourse.. Even Florida gets flooding once in awhile. Ohio.. em..

If i'm not mistaken France had a huge flood just a few years ago.

05-03-2006, 11:55 AM

Ofcourse.. Even Florida gets flooding once in awhile. Ohio.. em..

If i'm not mistaken France had a huge flood just a few years ago.

the next catch phrase for selangor tourism.. Selangor : the atlantis of malaysia

and as for flood in negeri maju...think katrina...

05-03-2006, 12:11 PM
do not to forget: Kedah Maju 2010. At the current pace, heh, dream on.

kevinkhoo1986
05-03-2006, 01:38 PM

Huh? Why can't a developed place been flooded?

05-03-2006, 01:50 PM
I don't see anything maju about Selangor. All their local councils SUCK ASS.

05-03-2006, 01:51 PM
i think bush is just using the phrase to sacarstically critisize selangor...poor drainage system,...sigh....

bush
05-03-2006, 03:04 PM
we can't help if it is due to major natural disasters......

But floods due to a heavy downpour?

These type of floods SHOULD NOT happened in developed areas, the drainage or whatever system in place should be very efficient if one wants to call that place developed.

johnleemk
05-03-2006, 04:43 PM
What is this doing in the Education forum?

And re maintenance:
A Malaysian dies and goes to hell. There he finds that there is a different hell for each country. He goes first to the German hell and asks, ?What do they do here?? He is told, ?First they put you in an electric chair for an hour. Then they lay you on a bed of nails for another hour. Then the German devil comes in and whips you for the rest of the day.?

The man does not like the sound of that at all, so he moves on. He checks out the USA hell as well as the Russian hell and many more. He discovers that they are all more or less the same as the German hell. Then he comes to the Malaysian hell and finds that there is a very long line of people waiting to get in. Amazed he asks, ?What do they do here??

He is told, ?First they put you in an electric chair for an hour. Then they lay you on a bed of nails for another hour. Then the Malaysian devil comes in and whips you for the rest of the day.? ?But that is exactly the same as all the other hells - why are there so many people waiting to get in??

?Because maintenance is so bad that the electric chair does not work, someone has stolen all the nails from the bed, and the devil is a former Government servant, so he comes in, signs the register and then goes to the canteen.

05-03-2006, 09:26 PM

These type of floods SHOULD NOT happened in developed areas, the drainage or whatever system in place should be very efficient if one wants to call that place developed.

Live and learn.. I'm sure the same area won't get flooded in the future.

The whole "Selangor maju tapi banjir" mantra is Lame. Shit happenes and there's nothing sto[ping that. Instead of making fun of selangor, what about the credit to the guys who are out there helping these people.. shame on us.

bush
05-03-2006, 10:22 PM

The whole "Selangor maju tapi banjir" mantra is Lame. Shit happenes and there's nothing sto[ping that. Instead of making fun of selangor, what about the credit to the guys who are out there helping these people.. shame on us.

That is just one thing in one long list.

Shit doesn't happen if the necessary precautions are in place. Heck highway pun boleh banjir.....

The lastest and and the current problem of stinking water in PJ is still unresolved.

crapzzz
06-03-2006, 01:44 AM

That is just one thing in one long list.

Shit doesn't happen if the necessary precautions are in place. Heck highway pun boleh banjir.....

The lastest and and the current problem of stinking water in PJ is still unresolved.

I cant help agree with u.
SELANGOR MAJU tetapi ada yang tertinggal..........
What do u all think about Pulau Ketam, Sabak Bernam, Hulu Bernam, Kalumpang etc? They are all undeveloped. Her MAJU is limited to some big cities like Shah Alam, PJ etc.........

06-03-2006, 01:53 AM
where i live in USA can't be classified as Negara maju either.THere's no form of public transportation even available to me.

Sometimes when it snows, i ahve to wait for atleast 4 hours before i see one plow truck rolling by.. so i can get to work.

THe difinition of Negara maju is subjective.

I think the most important element is the Purchasing Power. I believe Selangor ranks first in that in Malaysia.

bush
06-03-2006, 02:03 AM
where i live in USA can't be classified as Negara maju either.THere's no form of public transportation even available to me.

Sometimes when it snows, i ahve to wait for atleast 4 hours before i see one plow truck rolling by.. so i can get to work.

THe difinition of Negara maju is subjective.

I think the most important element is the Purchasing Power. I believe Selangor ranks first in that in Malaysia.

If you live in the States in an area with a population density similar to that of the Klang Valley, you should have decent if not top notch amenities. No public transport or plow truck isn't that bad when compared to faeces flavoured water and occurance of floods when it rains heavily for a short time..........

My cousion who lives in taman dagang, ampang. doesn't even have a fixed line though the residents of his apartment have repeatedly requested for this service.