View Full Version : IQ vs EQ
10-03-2006, 12:03 AM
http://www.frugalmarketing.com/dtb/eq-iq.shtml
This website claims that EQ is more important than IQ because IQ only gets you through school, but EQ gets you through life! What do you think?
deRame
10-03-2006, 12:14 AM
This website claims that EQ is more important than IQ because IQ only gets you through school, but EQ gets you through life! What do you think?
agree. i have long renounced the fact that IQ is more important than EQ. afterall emotion is the real difference between living thing and "dead" thing.
10-03-2006, 12:25 AM
well... it really depends on what u think is important in life... the word 'important' depends on whose point of view, and all...
like studying might be important for some, while playing might be important for others...
and there's always a question that bothers me when one is asking IQ vs EQ, which is more important, because i would say both are important... and i don't see why we should compare someone's IQ or EQ solely, because a person can have both high IQ and high EQ(or EI- emotional intelligence) ... and another question is, how do u benchmark one's EI? as IQ can be compared to school work or study, u can't really assess one's IQ other than looking at one's personality and characteristics...
10-03-2006, 12:49 AM
IQ is very limited
it doesnt cover even the 8 basic categories of intelligence.
10-03-2006, 01:22 AM
Sadly, most education systems around the world never put emphasis on EQ.... Not even for advance countries like US or UK. Whenever there is a debate on education system, they will always focus on how to make a child think, i.e critical thinking skills, creativity, innovativity; but never on how to make a child feel, ie maintaining cheerful emotion, importance of good relationship, correct ways to socialize and so on...
I guess this explains why in our society, there are some brainy people who just talk whenever they feel like talking, and love to engange in arguements just to prove their intellect. I feel that these people, well maybe they are really intelligent and they know a lot, but if they do things like non-stop swearing, disrespecting their listeners, ACTING ARROGANT AND COCKY and so on, they would create more enemies that they could ever imagined, and that would be dangerous because people are the greatest resource!
IQ is very limited
Mind to elaborate more? :o
kevinkent
10-03-2006, 02:22 PM
IQ is very limited
Yeah, I'm curious to know what that means too...
Personally, I agree with DecentMerson... IQ n EQ are both equally important.... but I think this question is very subjective....
It depends to the person in what kind of situation and what kind of life....
Lets say that there is a student who failed his math and other subjects in the school exam... that time he would be thinking IQ is better... and more important....
But when the situation comes to a successful person with a great career but no neither any kinds of relationships nor any best friends... he would be thinking that EQ is definitely important in his life.... am I doing the right comparison? (correct me if im wrong)
My conclusion is IQ and EQ are equally important and by the way, they are both from our brains... why not try to use and expand both of them intead of clarifying which one better, m I right?
10-03-2006, 02:26 PM
really?
izzit juz dat simple`?
wat if u hv lotsa IQ and EQ without strong will?
kevinkent
10-03-2006, 02:42 PM
IQ is very limited
iQing, since you are here... mind to tell me what is that 8 basic categories of intelligence about?.... sorry, coz my IQ is not that high yet...hmm....
and what you mean when lots of IQ n EQ without strong will? In what kind of context ? :roll:
10-03-2006, 10:37 PM
IQ is very limited
iQing, since you are here... mind to tell me what is that 8 basic categories of intelligence about?.... sorry, coz my IQ is not that high yet...hmm....
and what you mean when lots of IQ n EQ without strong will? In what kind of context ? :roll:
From the Wikipedia article - "intellingence" (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intelligence_%28trait%29):
Harvard psychologist Howard Gardner's theory of multiple intelligences breaks intelligence down into at least eight different components: logical, linguistic, spatial, musical, kinesthetic, naturalist, intra-personal and inter-personal intelligences.
EQ......showed clearly in someone by the name of Liu Bang or the first emperor of the Han Dynasty.
I dont even know my own IQ. IQ test online are just too inaccurate. I can score very high mark in one test and score an average on in another test. :oops: As for EQ, indeed it helps you throughout the life, but no, I dont think that EQ is really that important. You can easily improve your EQ but not IQ. So ,my votes go to IQ.
On the side note, I failed almost every EQ test out there. :lol:
crapzzz
11-03-2006, 12:53 AM
IMO, EQ is definately more important if compared 2 IQ. High IQ but low EQ will bring u no where, but high EQ but low IQ will at least enable u 2 mingle around with ppl harmoniously.........
It takes both IQ and EQ to make things work.......
However, my vote goes 2 EQ. :lol:
11-03-2006, 12:56 AM
EQ EQ EQ. no debate? aww.... it was suppose to be VS...
CurbsideProphet
11-03-2006, 07:22 AM
IMHO, IQ tests tests much more your ability to do IQ tests than your real IQ...
And to have an EQ centered education - the thought really scared me more than a bit. It made me think of Huxley's Brave New World - all synchronized, every aspect of our lives controlled, with the illusion that we are in control...
But then again, to what extent we have control over ourselves now? =/
I think I value EQ a little more than IQ too. IQ might make learning easy for you, but EQ is what you use to respond to emotions - something you will never run away from. Of course ideally, you would want both...
11-03-2006, 08:13 AM
well, if you study the history of the world, almost all people who had high IQ don't have good EQ, which makes for the failure of their relationships with the people surrounding them...
there is always balance in this world, in no way you can have high of both Qs at the same time...high IQ, low EQ, vice versa is somehow quite true, but not always...
i value EQ more than IQ as well...if you can control your emotions well, you can get through anything in life...while IQ only give you to solve things analytically, and not all things are solvable by logic alone...abstraction helps a lot too...
11-03-2006, 12:31 PM
well, if you study the history of the world, almost all people who had high IQ don't have good EQ, which makes for the failure of their relationships with the people surrounding them...
there is always balance in this world, in no way you can have high of both Qs at the same time...high IQ, low EQ, vice versa is somehow quite true, but not always...
i value EQ more than IQ as well...if you can control your emotions well, you can get through anything in life...while IQ only give you to solve things analytically, and not all things are solvable by logic alone...abstraction helps a lot too...
what a sad point of view
WinnieH
12-03-2006, 09:27 PM
agree. i have long renounced the fact that IQ is more important than EQ. afterall emotion is the real difference between living thing and "dead" thing.
i agree too. people with hiGH IQ dont always succeed in life... but people with High EQ does always succeed in life, be it socially or emotionally.
13-03-2006, 09:54 AM
i don't think this statement is valid... it might be convenient to think so... but, what really decide one to only give up one to have another...
it's not like an equation where IQ + EQ = X... where X is some positive fixed number... so, IQ, EQ > 0....
13-03-2006, 09:58 AM
IQ and EQ can be improved
I will let u ponder upon it
if u believe that one is high and one is low and accepted it as life.... well, it is your choice, just like the choice of the majority.
okaywhy
13-03-2006, 12:19 PM
I think IQ and EQ are just a system to measure certain skills that the 'experts' reagrd as 'intelligent'. It's weird to see people getting so fond of these stuff. Some fanatics even go to the extent to form an "organisation" where membership is restricted for the high IQs... pardon my low IQ and EQ, I can't see any sense of it.
IMHO, just do whatever you're passionate about. If it turns out that the experts think that you're intelligent, then that's the way it is. If it turns out that you're an ordinary person with low IQ and EQ, so be it, so long as you're doing what you like and you're happy about it, why bother?
da-hype
13-03-2006, 12:27 PM
my mom has given ALOT of talks about this in malaysia. and she's been telling me this since god knows when. To answer u're question.. i think BOTH are equally important :D
13-03-2006, 01:43 PM
juz wanna add more info to IQ EQ fans here...
there are also stuffs like CQ and SQ
C = creativity and S= success
have fun figure it out
kaiba
14-03-2006, 04:15 AM
CQ n SQ? i reali get all mixed up. well, i think CQ is reali important, coz nowadays , ppl r hunting 4 new ideas, new innovation n new creation! without CQ, it will definitely b a dull life. where ppl's senses r only limited 2 reading( IQ ), talking ( n having sex..kidding >> EQ ) n being 2 kiasu ( like da s'poreans >> SQ )
14-03-2006, 04:30 AM
there r still many other categories of talents, intelligence and potentials
I will let you think about it....
14-03-2006, 05:01 AM
i don't think this statement is valid... it might be convenient to think so... but, what really decide one to only give up one to have another...
it's not like an equation where IQ + EQ = X... where X is some positive fixed number... so, IQ, EQ > 0....
have i said it's always true?
it's the general trend...and just some of my thoughts...think the high IQ thingy applies a lot to those super-brilliant peoples...
let me quote some for ya:
albert einstein
issac newton
karl marx
winston churcill...
iqing..let me add one more to your nifty little list..
FQ - Financial Quotient
SQ - Spiritual Quotient
oh well, when will people stop bother about these silly numbers...
okaywhy
15-03-2006, 04:36 AM
SQ - Spiritual Quotient
I thought SQ = Sexual Quotient
15-03-2006, 04:41 AM
whatever you want to put it as...