View Full Version : Childhood reading material

13-02-2004, 08:59 AM
earth you read the hobbit as a child?!?
my childhood reading consisted of stuff like aesop's fables, cinderella, rumplestiltskin, jack & the beanstalk, and the big book of fairy tales. not forgetting si tanggang, badang and pak pandir. :lol:

13-02-2004, 08:59 AM
earth you read the hobbit as a child?!?
my childhood reading consisted of stuff like aesop's fables, cinderella, rumplestiltskin, jack & the beanstalk, and the big book of fairy tales. not forgetting si tanggang, badang and pak pandir. :lol:

bachok83
13-02-2004, 09:01 AM
huhu.. u are sooo cute topdog... cinderella?? hehe

bachok83
13-02-2004, 09:01 AM
huhu.. u are sooo cute topdog... cinderella?? hehe

13-02-2004, 10:04 AM
ahh...3 billy goats gruff..

But why Gruff? that's one thing i still don't get till now..

Hmm..jgn lupe, Grimms fairy tale (sound grim :wink: but it's real entertaining!)

13-02-2004, 10:04 AM
ahh...3 billy goats gruff..

But why Gruff? that's one thing i still don't get till now..

Hmm..jgn lupe, Grimms fairy tale (sound grim :wink: but it's real entertaining!)

13-02-2004, 10:08 AM
the hobbit is a book no thicker than dickens'

the hobbit was written for kids anyway.

but, dont you guys think fairy tales are matured-rated content?
i mean cmon, the witch tried to eat hansel and grantel, the wolf tried to eat little red riding hood. hell! even the two cute piglets were eaten alive by the wolf in three little pigs!

this is outrageous! What are we teaching the younger generation!

lol!

13-02-2004, 10:08 AM
the hobbit is a book no thicker than dickens'

the hobbit was written for kids anyway.

i mean cmon, the witch tried to eat hansel and grantel, the wolf tried to eat little red riding hood. hell! even the two cute piglets were eaten alive by the wolf in three little pigs!

lol!

13-02-2004, 10:25 AM
yep, totally agree with you, _earth

My 2cents: fairy tales teach young girls n boys the stereotypical views of societies. Eg if you're not pretty, well-figured and elegant, then you're not gonna be able to get a handsome, charming husband (like topdog's fave fairy tale Cinderella :lol: )

Just another info:
i read the hobbit when i was in primary school if i'm not mistaken...it's not that thick..actually, if you really think bout it, LOTRs and all the books associated with it are not really that thick, just that they put it together n use real small prints (which i really hate coz strain my eyes) that make em look thick n therefore, kureng menarik utk dibaca.

13-02-2004, 10:25 AM
yep, totally agree with you, _earth

My 2cents: fairy tales teach young girls n boys the stereotypical views of societies. Eg if you're not pretty, well-figured and elegant, then you're not gonna be able to get a handsome, charming husband (like topdog's fave fairy tale Cinderella :lol: )

Just another info:
i read the hobbit when i was in primary school if i'm not mistaken...it's not that thick..actually, if you really think bout it, LOTRs and all the books associated with it are not really that thick, just that they put it together n use real small prints (which i really hate coz strain my eyes) that make em look thick n therefore, kureng menarik utk dibaca.

13-02-2004, 10:57 AM
ok...i take back that part about cinderella *grumbles*

hmm...i take it that children aged 5-7 don't typically read books like the hobbit? that was the age group i was thinking about when i saw the word "childhood.":)

anyway, i was never into the fantasy genre. :cry:

huhuh....how did we end up talking about cinderella and hobbits in a thread about trolls (whatever that refers to)?

13-02-2004, 10:57 AM
ok...i take back that part about cinderella *grumbles*

hmm...i take it that children aged 5-7 don't typically read books like the hobbit? that was the age group i was thinking about when i saw the word "childhood.":)

anyway, i was never into the fantasy genre. :cry:

huhuh....how did we end up talking about cinderella and hobbits in a thread about trolls (whatever that refers to)?

qedx
13-02-2004, 11:46 AM
bah when i was 4 i read scientific journals and textbooks.

qedx
13-02-2004, 11:46 AM
bah when i was 4 i read scientific journals and textbooks.

13-02-2004, 12:02 PM
i think we should rename it "what do you read when you were a child" or something along that line..coz yeah..like topdog said, we're going off...off...line here :lol: :lol:

13-02-2004, 12:02 PM
i think we should rename it "what do you read when you were a child" or something along that line..coz yeah..like topdog said, we're going off...off...line here :lol: :lol:

qedx
13-02-2004, 12:05 PM
splitted :P

EDIT: though mayhep topdog might want to change the topic of the first post to something better :/

qedx
13-02-2004, 12:05 PM
splitted :P

EDIT: though mayhep topdog might want to change the topic of the first post to something better :/

13-02-2004, 12:07 PM
i like hobbits, esp Frodo heheh :lol: :lol:

Topdog, nothing wrong w liking Cinderella hehe

13-02-2004, 12:07 PM
i like hobbits, esp Frodo heheh :lol: :lol:

Topdog, nothing wrong w liking Cinderella hehe

13-02-2004, 12:43 PM
alright, among all your fairy tales, what's your fav?

mine is... ummm, lemme see err...
donno. i can't remember. but i once had this little red riding hood book, huge hard cover with colorful pictures! weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!

and i take topdog is a cinderalla fan

how about the others? just dont tell me any gay disney characters.

i sound like a retard...

13-02-2004, 12:43 PM
alright, among all your fairy tales, what's your fav?

mine is... ummm, lemme see err...
donno. i can't remember. but i once had this little red riding hood book, huge hard cover with colorful pictures! weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!

and i take topdog is a cinderalla fan

how about the others? just dont tell me any gay disney characters.

i sound like a retard...

13-02-2004, 12:56 PM
huh, let me se.. When i was young those Cerita cerita nabi dan sahabat was my favourite.

Also my mom is a great story teller so ussually i get a good dose of panglipur lara by my mom every night.. this was going on untill i was about 9 years old. Then i start flipping through my dads playboys.

i spent most of my childhood playing around.. i started smoking when i was 10. so i didnt read alot..esspcially about health.

13-02-2004, 12:56 PM
huh, let me se.. When i was young those Cerita cerita nabi dan sahabat was my favourite.

Also my mom is a great story teller so ussually i get a good dose of panglipur lara by my mom every night.. this was going on untill i was about 9 years old. Then i start flipping through my dads playboys.

i spent most of my childhood playing around.. i started smoking when i was 10. so i didnt read alot..esspcially about health.

13-02-2004, 01:52 PM
i started smoking when i was 10
8O
is that a new record?

13-02-2004, 01:52 PM
8O
is that a new record?

13-02-2004, 02:02 PM
8O
is that a new record?

I highly doubt it. My brother and i tried it first when i was 9 :D i learned how to inhale and smoked on a regular basis since 10 to 21

It's been 3 months since i quit smoking.

13-02-2004, 02:02 PM
8O
is that a new record?

I highly doubt it. My brother and i tried it first when i was 9 :D i learned how to inhale and smoked on a regular basis since 10 to 21

It's been 3 months since i quit smoking.

13-02-2004, 02:25 PM
Ali Baba and the 40 thiefs! Those thiefs are cool, you know, burning in oil and all...

As a contrast, I was reading romance of the 3 kingdoms when you were reading the Hobbit... I was 19 years old before I started reading the Hobbit... :oops:

And I still can't find time to start reading LOTR! :cry:

I'd encourage kids these days to cover Harry Potter though. It teaches them that kids can do funny (magical) things if they try, a very important lesson in life :!:

13-02-2004, 02:25 PM
Ali Baba and the 40 thiefs! Those thiefs are cool, you know, burning in oil and all...

As a contrast, I was reading romance of the 3 kingdoms when you were reading the Hobbit... I was 19 years old before I started reading the Hobbit... :oops:

And I still can't find time to start reading LOTR! :cry:

I'd encourage kids these days to cover Harry Potter though. It teaches them that kids can do funny (magical) things if they try, a very important lesson in life :!:

sim_min
13-02-2004, 03:35 PM
oh no~~~ you guys are such a smart kid!

i read DORAEMON!!! :oops:

sim_min
13-02-2004, 03:35 PM
oh no~~~ you guys are such a smart kid!

i read DORAEMON!!! :oops:

Cirnelle
13-02-2004, 07:17 PM
oooooh....so many memories were brought back reading this thread.... :P

i read a lot when i was a child....ladybirds (peter and jane!), enid blyton, and yeah...all those fairy tales with happy endings ( "...and the prince and princess lived happily ever after...").....oh ya and i LOVED doraemon!!

now that i am not a child anymore ( i'm not a girl, not yet a women toooo.....hahaha i am being lame :lol:).....i started reading books with not so happy ending or with no endings....and i read books about why princes and princesses do not always live happily ever after ....etc.....what i want to say is, i am not as carefree or worry-free as i once was anymore....and i really miss those days....when i could stay the whole day in my own cosy room,cuddled up with my teddy bear and bury myself in my favourite book ( which i was reading for the n-th time!! :D ) and let my imaginations run free..... with only the sound (and smell!!) of my mum cooking downstairs and my dad's typewriter.......a simple yet lasting picture of my childhood......i miss those days so badly.... :cry:

Cirnelle
13-02-2004, 07:17 PM

i read a lot when i was a child....ladybirds (peter and jane!), enid blyton, and yeah...all those fairy tales with happy endings ( "...and the prince and princess lived happily ever after...").....oh ya and i LOVED doraemon!!

now that i am not a child anymore ( i'm not a girl, not yet a women toooo.....hahaha i am being lame :lol:).....i started reading books with not so happy ending or with no endings....and i read books about why princes and princesses do not always live happily ever after ....etc.....what i want to say is, i am not as carefree or worry-free as i once was anymore....and i really miss those days....when i could stay the whole day in my own cosy room,cuddled up with my teddy bear and bury myself in my favourite book ( which i was reading for the n-th time!! :D ) and let my imaginations run free..... with only the sound (and smell!!) of my mum cooking downstairs and my dad's typewriter.......a simple yet lasting picture of my childhood......i miss those days so badly.... :cry:

14-02-2004, 04:47 AM

lol!

I took a class on fairy tales in Cornell and we read the XXX version of sleeping beauty. Basically people long ago didn't give two camel's turd about children. Fairytales started off as adult entertainment. Then some smart entrepeneur decided that, hey it's good to make children read and hence the children versions. However, since in essence fairytale had it's roots in adult literature, there are some mature interpretations of them.

When I read fairytales again in the class with all the sexual connotations pointed out, it was kinda of scary.

Did you guys know that Ring-a-ring o Roses was a rhyme about the black plague??!?

14-02-2004, 04:47 AM

lol!

I took a class on fairy tales in Cornell and we read the XXX version of sleeping beauty. Basically people long ago didn't give two camel's turd about children. Fairytales started off as adult entertainment. Then some smart entrepeneur decided that, hey it's good to make children read and hence the children versions. However, since in essence fairytale had it's roots in adult literature, there are some mature interpretations of them.

When I read fairytales again in the class with all the sexual connotations pointed out, it was kinda of scary.

Did you guys know that Ring-a-ring o Roses was a rhyme about the black plague??!?

z
14-02-2004, 05:27 AM
wow. that's interesting.
i thought the adult version is the perverted version of children stories. never knew it's the other way round.

z
14-02-2004, 05:27 AM
wow. that's interesting.
i thought the adult version is the perverted version of children stories. never knew it's the other way round.

14-02-2004, 10:51 AM
I remember finding out that the seven dwarf originally raped snow white.. i wonder how sleepy did it though :D

14-02-2004, 10:51 AM
I remember finding out that the seven dwarf originally raped snow white.. i wonder how sleepy did it though :D

qedx
14-02-2004, 11:16 AM

you sure it wasnt this? http://www.somethingawful.com/articles.php?a=1861

qedx
14-02-2004, 11:16 AM

you sure it wasnt this? http://www.somethingawful.com/articles.php?a=1861

16-02-2004, 11:46 AM
wow, that's like 8O
I knew bout fairy tales being stories for adults and they were later on simplified for the benefits of children.

But wow...last year in Social Studies class, we read a more politically-correct version of the Cinderella. Interesting though 8)

16-02-2004, 11:46 AM
wow, that's like 8O
I knew bout fairy tales being stories for adults and they were later on simplified for the benefits of children.

But wow...last year in Social Studies class, we read a more politically-correct version of the Cinderella. Interesting though 8)

aida_ikmal
16-02-2004, 04:15 PM
da latest harry potter novel..[i forgot lah the title]
i'm sure that they'll end up in da hospital for headaches!

aida_ikmal
16-02-2004, 04:15 PM
da latest harry potter novel..[i forgot lah the title]
i'm sure that they'll end up in da hospital for headaches!

mercsinc
17-02-2004, 04:52 AM
i had read a few fairy tales back in the days, but i was more hooked up on dr. suess. that dude is insane and his books are way out of this world. i never knew that rymes really appealed to kids (especially me...when i was a kid). now, come to think of it, i dont even know how "green eggs and ham", "cat in the hat", "sam and the firefly", etc ...got my attention. i know i still have the whole collection back home stashed somewhere in the study...

about the adult version of snow white...if the dwarves raped her... i would assume that the big bad wolf also raped little red riding hood...and the prince in sleeping beauty also raped the princess while she was asleep...lol...

mercsinc
17-02-2004, 04:52 AM
i had read a few fairy tales back in the days, but i was more hooked up on dr. suess. that dude is insane and his books are way out of this world. i never knew that rymes really appealed to kids (especially me...when i was a kid). now, come to think of it, i dont even know how "green eggs and ham", "cat in the hat", "sam and the firefly", etc ...got my attention. i know i still have the whole collection back home stashed somewhere in the study...

about the adult version of snow white...if the dwarves raped her... i would assume that the big bad wolf also raped little red riding hood...and the prince in sleeping beauty also raped the princess while she was asleep...lol...

17-02-2004, 10:27 AM
oh my GOd! 8O

what are teaching our youngs? raping is a part of life? :wink:

Hey..Dr Seuss's pretty interesting..though i always thinik of the books as "the book with real buruk drawing" heheh :D

17-02-2004, 10:27 AM
oh my GOd! 8O

what are teaching our youngs? raping is a part of life? :wink:

Hey..Dr Seuss's pretty interesting..though i always thinik of the books as "the book with real buruk drawing" heheh :D

19-02-2004, 01:14 PM
How's this? i got it from a book i got for 12 bucks..hehe..real enlightening stuff! read on, y'all!

THE THREE CO-DEPENDANT GOATS GRUFF
A POLITICALLY CORRECT STORY
by James Finn Garner
Once on a lovely mountainside lived three goats who were related as siblings. Their name was Gruff, and they were a very close family. During the winter months they lived in a lush, green valley, eating grass and doing other things in a naturally goatish manner. When summer came, they would travel up to the mountainside to where the pasture was sweeter. This way, they did not overgraze their valley and kept their ecological footprint as small as possible.

To get to this pasture, the goats had to cross a bridge over the wide chasm. When the first days of summer came, one goat set out to cross the bridge. This goat was the least chronologically accomplished of the siblings and thus had received the least superiority in size. When he reached the bridge, he lashed on his safety helmet and grasped the handrail. But as he began to cross, a menacing growl came from beneath the bridge.

Over the railing, and onto the bridge leaped a troll – hairy, dirt-accomplished and odor-enhanced. “Yaaarghhhh!!” intoned the troll. “I am the keeper of this bridge, and while goats may have the right to cross it, I’ll eat any that try!”

“But why, Mr Troll?” bleated the goat.

“Because I am a troll and proud of it. I have a troll’s needs and those needs include eating goats, so you better respect them or else.”

“The goat was frightened. “Certainly, sir,” he stammered. “if eating me would help you become a more complete troll, nothing would please me more. But I really can’t commit to that course of action without first consulting my siblings. Will you excuse me?” And the goat ran back to the valley.

Next, the middle sibling goat came up to the bridge. This goat was a more chronologically advanced than the first goat and so enjoyed an advantage in size (although this did not make him a better or more deserving goat). He was about to cross the bridge when the troll stopped him.

“nature has made me a troll,” he said, “and I embrace my trollhood. Would you deny my right to live the life as a troll as fully and effectively as I can?”

“Me? Never!” exclaimed the goat proudly.

“then stand still there while I come over and eat you up. And don’t try to run away; I would take that as a personal affront.” He began to invade the goat’s caprinal space.

“However, ” blurted the goat,” I have a very close family, and it would be selfish of me to allow myself to be eaten without asking their opinion. I have respect for their feelings, too. I would hate to think of my absence would cause them any emotional stress, if I hadn’t first…”

“Go then!” screamed the troll.

“I’ll rush back here as soon as possible as soon as we reach a consensus,” the goat said, “ for it’s not fair to keep you in suspense.”

“You’re too kind,” sighed the troll, and the goat ran back to the valley. As his hunger grew, the troll began to feel a real grievance towards the goats. If he didn’t get to eat at least one of them, he was determined to go to the authorities.

When the third goat came to the bridge, the troll discovered that he was nearly twice the troll’s size, with large, sharp horns and hard, heavy hooves. The troll felt his physical-intimidation prerogative fading fast. As fear turned his insides into jelly, the troll sank to his knees and pleaded,” Oh please, please forgive me! I was using you and your goat siblings for my own selfish ends. I don’t know what drove me to it, but I’ve seen the error of my ways.”

The goat, too, got down on what passed for knees in goats and said,” Now, now, you can’t take all the blame for yourself. Our presence and supreme edibility put you in this situation. My siblings and I all feel terrible. Please, you must forgive us.”

The troll began to sob. “No, no, it’s all my fault. I threatened and bullied you all, just for the sake of my own survival. How selfish I was!”

But the goat would have none of this. “We were the selfish ones. We only wanted to save our own skins, and we totally neglected your needs. Please, eat me now!”

“No,” the troll said, “you must butt me off this bridge for my insensitivity and selfishness.”

“I’ll do no such thing,” said the goat,” since we all tempted you in the first place. Here, have a chomp. Go ahead.”

“I’m telling you,” the troll insisted, standing up, “I’m the guilty one here. Now, knock me off this bridge and be quick about it!”

“Look,” said the goat, rearing to his full height, “no one’s going to take away my blame for this, not even you, so eat me before I pop you in the nose.”

“Don’t play guiltier-than-thou with me, Hornhead!”

“’Hornhead’? You smelly hairball! I’ll show you guilt!” And with that, they wrestled and bit and punched and kicked as each sought to don the mantle of blame.

The other goats bounded up to the bridge and sized the fight. Felling guilty for not accepting enough of the blame, they joined the others in a whirling ball of hair, hooves, horns, and teeth. But the little bridge was not built to carry such weight. It shook and swayed and finally buckled, hurling the troll and the three co-dependant goats Gruff into the chasm. On their way down, they each felt relieved that they would finally get what they deserved, plus, as a bonus, a little extra guilt for the fate of the others.

19-02-2004, 01:14 PM
How's this? i got it from a book i got for 12 bucks..hehe..real enlightening stuff! read on, y'all!

THE THREE CO-DEPENDANT GOATS GRUFF
A POLITICALLY CORRECT STORY
by James Finn Garner
Once on a lovely mountainside lived three goats who were related as siblings. Their name was Gruff, and they were a very close family. During the winter months they lived in a lush, green valley, eating grass and doing other things in a naturally goatish manner. When summer came, they would travel up to the mountainside to where the pasture was sweeter. This way, they did not overgraze their valley and kept their ecological footprint as small as possible.

To get to this pasture, the goats had to cross a bridge over the wide chasm. When the first days of summer came, one goat set out to cross the bridge. This goat was the least chronologically accomplished of the siblings and thus had received the least superiority in size. When he reached the bridge, he lashed on his safety helmet and grasped the handrail. But as he began to cross, a menacing growl came from beneath the bridge.

Over the railing, and onto the bridge leaped a troll – hairy, dirt-accomplished and odor-enhanced. “Yaaarghhhh!!” intoned the troll. “I am the keeper of this bridge, and while goats may have the right to cross it, I’ll eat any that try!”

“But why, Mr Troll?” bleated the goat.

“Because I am a troll and proud of it. I have a troll’s needs and those needs include eating goats, so you better respect them or else.”

“The goat was frightened. “Certainly, sir,” he stammered. “if eating me would help you become a more complete troll, nothing would please me more. But I really can’t commit to that course of action without first consulting my siblings. Will you excuse me?” And the goat ran back to the valley.

Next, the middle sibling goat came up to the bridge. This goat was a more chronologically advanced than the first goat and so enjoyed an advantage in size (although this did not make him a better or more deserving goat). He was about to cross the bridge when the troll stopped him.

“nature has made me a troll,” he said, “and I embrace my trollhood. Would you deny my right to live the life as a troll as fully and effectively as I can?”

“Me? Never!” exclaimed the goat proudly.

“then stand still there while I come over and eat you up. And don’t try to run away; I would take that as a personal affront.” He began to invade the goat’s caprinal space.

“However, ” blurted the goat,” I have a very close family, and it would be selfish of me to allow myself to be eaten without asking their opinion. I have respect for their feelings, too. I would hate to think of my absence would cause them any emotional stress, if I hadn’t first…”

“Go then!” screamed the troll.

“I’ll rush back here as soon as possible as soon as we reach a consensus,” the goat said, “ for it’s not fair to keep you in suspense.”

“You’re too kind,” sighed the troll, and the goat ran back to the valley. As his hunger grew, the troll began to feel a real grievance towards the goats. If he didn’t get to eat at least one of them, he was determined to go to the authorities.

When the third goat came to the bridge, the troll discovered that he was nearly twice the troll’s size, with large, sharp horns and hard, heavy hooves. The troll felt his physical-intimidation prerogative fading fast. As fear turned his insides into jelly, the troll sank to his knees and pleaded,” Oh please, please forgive me! I was using you and your goat siblings for my own selfish ends. I don’t know what drove me to it, but I’ve seen the error of my ways.”

The goat, too, got down on what passed for knees in goats and said,” Now, now, you can’t take all the blame for yourself. Our presence and supreme edibility put you in this situation. My siblings and I all feel terrible. Please, you must forgive us.”

The troll began to sob. “No, no, it’s all my fault. I threatened and bullied you all, just for the sake of my own survival. How selfish I was!”

But the goat would have none of this. “We were the selfish ones. We only wanted to save our own skins, and we totally neglected your needs. Please, eat me now!”

“No,” the troll said, “you must butt me off this bridge for my insensitivity and selfishness.”

“I’ll do no such thing,” said the goat,” since we all tempted you in the first place. Here, have a chomp. Go ahead.”

“I’m telling you,” the troll insisted, standing up, “I’m the guilty one here. Now, knock me off this bridge and be quick about it!”

“Look,” said the goat, rearing to his full height, “no one’s going to take away my blame for this, not even you, so eat me before I pop you in the nose.”

“Don’t play guiltier-than-thou with me, Hornhead!”

“’Hornhead’? You smelly hairball! I’ll show you guilt!” And with that, they wrestled and bit and punched and kicked as each sought to don the mantle of blame.

The other goats bounded up to the bridge and sized the fight. Felling guilty for not accepting enough of the blame, they joined the others in a whirling ball of hair, hooves, horns, and teeth. But the little bridge was not built to carry such weight. It shook and swayed and finally buckled, hurling the troll and the three co-dependant goats Gruff into the chasm. On their way down, they each felt relieved that they would finally get what they deserved, plus, as a bonus, a little extra guilt for the fate of the others.

19-02-2004, 01:54 PM
amusing...but really, "dirt-accomplished" and "odor-enhanced" is just gratuitous.

19-02-2004, 01:54 PM
amusing...but really, "dirt-accomplished" and "odor-enhanced" is just gratuitous.

angie
20-02-2004, 03:37 PM
i don't remember i had any book when i was a child
every tales i know is from tv. and i didn't even know what is 'alphabet' before school. all i did is painting so i did have many sketchbooks but sure people won't call those reading materials, ne?

angie
20-02-2004, 03:37 PM
i don't remember i had any book when i was a child
every tales i know is from tv. and i didn't even know what is 'alphabet' before school. all i did is painting so i did have many sketchbooks but sure people won't call those reading materials, ne?

20-02-2004, 03:46 PM

that's wat i read tooooo..... plus.... bookworm's book....(singapore publisher)

and i recommend Harry Potter to the children now....i only start to read about it when I'm form 2.....

and also Artemis Fowl..... very nice book..... if u like Harry Potter + a sci-fi flavor... this is a must read..... there's 3 books out there.... i think the 4th is on the way.

20-02-2004, 03:46 PM

that's wat i read tooooo..... plus.... bookworm's book....(singapore publisher)

and i recommend Harry Potter to the children now....i only start to read about it when I'm form 2.....

and also Artemis Fowl..... very nice book..... if u like Harry Potter + a sci-fi flavor... this is a must read..... there's 3 books out there.... i think the 4th is on the way.

21-02-2004, 11:46 AM
hey, i found one of those the other day. It was selling for like 12 bucks per book. real cheap (it was a second hand book store)
Anyway, what's artemis's all bout? sci fi or something like myth n magic kinda thingy?

21-02-2004, 11:46 AM
hey, i found one of those the other day. It was selling for like 12 bucks per book. real cheap (it was a second hand book store)
Anyway, what's artemis's all bout? sci fi or something like myth n magic kinda thingy?

profmich
27-04-2005, 04:33 PM

It's about a child genius who is a mastermind in crime. The only known human to breach the faerie world. Currently in it's third book. Highly recommended for kids.

p/s: I picked it up from my little sister's collection of books (was curious to see why was she so engrossed in the series, haha).

elemneon
27-04-2005, 09:36 PM
First books that I read: Definitely Peter and Jane. Nice pictures. :D
Then the mandatory Enid Blytons books. Fairy tales first then the children investigators series followed by those boarding schools story. Then on to Sweet Valley from Kids to Twins to Jr. High and halfway into High before I realised that its boring. Bookworm and Doraemon too.

Artemis Fowl is a good read. Children nowadays are so lucky when it comes to choices. I feel old now.

balderdash
27-04-2005, 10:23 PM
Mine was Enid Blyton. Loads of her stuff. Typical children's 'classics' like Heidi ( I even read the sequels!), The Little Princess kinda stuff. Was made to read Bronte at 12 and hated it but now I am completely into it ehe. When i was younger...fairy tales definitely....Peter and Jane series was pre-k.....Little House on the Prairie.....JUDY BLUME!!...

Relating to a discussion above, yea fairy tales do carry a certain political content. It's interesting to find out that actually the 'original' fairy tales were meant as folk tales for adults, hence its romantic and violent content. Also, in many of the original versions, the female protagonists were not as weak as we read them now. After taking my feminism literature class, I hesitate to introduce fairy tales or any of the children literature that I've read as a child to my future kids hehe.

Though I dont' think that I'd be too ready to introduce feminist rewritings to them :) I did some for my feminism class. They were COOL.

lolilo
28-04-2005, 01:25 PM
ladybird's book....peter and Jane, Tom and Kate...blablabla

Smarty and friends.....Reading Is fun!!! hahaha...

fairy tales--my fav--jack and the beanstalk ( hohoho, says the giant, i smell a little kid, where is he?)

Sweet Valley Kids ( duh ) i read the whole series....

goosebumps....

er... Calvin and hobbes comics....

clifford the big red dog... cute leh..

sno
28-04-2005, 02:26 PM

fairy tales--my fav--jack and the beanstalk ( hohoho, says the giant, i smell a little kid, where is he?)

goosebumps....

don forget all the goosebumps n fear street we used to read !! hehe
still remember in standard 6, they said 1999 is the year judgement day will come n u said we mus finish the whole goosebumps series before we d.i.e. hahaah

i read a lot of simplified classics as a kid coz there's this heinemann(how to spell) simplified versions available in the local library

lolilo
29-04-2005, 12:29 PM

goosebumps....

don forget all the goosebumps n fear street we used to read !! hehe
still remember in standard 6, they said 1999 is the year judgement day will come n u said we mus finish the whole goosebumps series before we d.i.e. hahaah

i read a lot of simplified classics as a kid coz there's this heinemann(how to spell) simplified versions available in the local library

:oops: we were kids back then, thought the world of Fear Street and can even read them a few weeks before UPSR, heh......
i still don't know why i like fear street and goosebumps so much, maybe because its not scary? i never read horror anymore......
ahahah :o