View Full Version : 20 Influential Islamic Innovators/Inventions
13-03-2006, 08:44 AM
I think much of this stuff gets overlooked....considering the "Islam = Jihad" mentality that plagues much of the world society.
http://news.independent.co.uk/world/science_technology/article350594.ece
13-03-2006, 09:45 AM
we were forced 2 learn about islamic civilisation since form 4 and in INTEC life and talking about the past does not change the present state as life is in NOW, not hundred years ago.
talking about civilisation,
why muslims destroyed the brahmin temple in northern India and build a mosque on it, and why they cut down the bo tree where buddha was enlighthened under it?
these events brings disastors to our future generation forever n ever
13-03-2006, 11:39 AM
why they cut down the bo tree where buddha was enlighthened under it?
Your questions are a little ridiculous, think about it.. but anyways you know i like having fun on sunday.. after all it "his" day off and i get to do whatever i want.
For your number one question, as to why the temple was destroyed and a mosque built on top of it?
Answer: Because they can..
To your second question, why they cut the tree down,
Answer: It was blocking the sunlight to a newly built mosque and to test how patient a buddhist is and ofcourse... because they can.
Now, before you get the flame thrower and burn me down.. lets all think about what would Jesus, Muhammad, Moses, Buddha and Ram would've had reacted to what i've just wrote.
Then... maybe we all can practice what we preach.. what do you say?
Do you want to turn the other pipi?
13-03-2006, 11:46 AM
Islamic technology?
REDICULOUS
We might as well come up with:
1. Toaist Gunpowder and Paper
2. Hindu chapatti
3. Christian internet
13-03-2006, 11:59 AM
2. Hindu chapatti
I thought that was Wonder bread... the same people who invented wonder bra.
13-03-2006, 01:36 PM
hahaha
instead of giving credits to the individual who invented those stuffs or the origin country of the inventor,
those top ppl in the religion quickly want to claim credit to "promote" their religion further...
stop it, simply just stop the attempt of grouping some bright people into your religious category to show your religion is powerful....
it is not something to glory about (mixing religion with secular invention), it is annoying
if this game is to be played, greek, chinese, jewish and christians inventors are far more than muslims inventors.
13-03-2006, 01:38 PM
Your questions are a little ridiculous, think about it.. but anyways you know i like having fun on sunday.. after all it "his" day off and i get to do whatever i want.
For your number one question, as to why the temple was destroyed and a mosque built on top of it?
Answer: It was blocking the sunlight to a newly built mosque and to test how patient a buddhist is and ofcourse... because they can.
Now, before you get the flame thrower and burn me down.. lets all think about what would Jesus, Muhammad, Moses, Buddha and Ram would've had reacted to what i've just wrote.
yes,
anyone can as they can choose to do so...
but it will lead to any result base on their action...
and India dont have to split and form pakistan and bloodshed can be avoided...
but if u say you can and make such choices,
our grandchildren will have to pay, becoz we can.
13-03-2006, 01:46 PM
whoa, you burn down things because you can? i might as well say i can burn down the whole earth. Why? Because i can...
off the nuclear weapons go...
13-03-2006, 01:48 PM
yes... it is sad that people have too much sense of BOLEH and AKU PALING HEBAT
13-03-2006, 01:50 PM
those top ppl in the religion quickly want to claim credit to "promote" their religion further...
stop it, simply just stop the attempt of grouping some bright people into your religious category to show your religion is powerful.... .
I guess learning bits of history here and there doesn't really mean anything to you?
There's no other way of introducing a bunch of inventors from a huge time gap other then to find few of the things that they have in common.
Also i dfind it fitting to point out the goods of any particular religion especially those that are heavily scrutunized, critisized and being in the spot light for all the wrong reasons.
As i've said a couple of billions times, i don't consider myself a Muslim (but you are) and i also realize that most of the inventions listed there have nothing to do with Islam. However all of them are according to history born and died as a Muslim.
It's about making a point that, beside suicide bombing, Civil wars, beating up women for not covering their faces.. there are some Muslims that are beyond that and have made great contribution to the world.
13-03-2006, 01:53 PM
I didnt say that u r muslim, it is u who assume that I think that way...
now I know more on how u make assumption on how ppl think , even when u cant read people's mind..
ok, back to the topic.
if you want to show that the world have muslims who contribute a lot,
why dont you give good examples of muslims TODAY
instead of showing us good muslims of the PAST?
13-03-2006, 02:02 PM
I didnt say that u r muslim, it is u who assume that I think that way...
Unless there was an invisible post that i couldn't see, i'm pretty sure you were reffering to me, when you said "stop it, simply just stop the attempt of grouping some bright people into your religious category to show your religion is powerful...."
ok, back to the topic.
if you want to show that the world have muslims who contribute a lot,
why dont you give good examples of muslims TODAY
instead of showing us good muslims of the PAST?
I'd be to lazy to compile a list, as you can see i didn't compile the previous list either.
Whatever happen to your stance against spoon feeding? YOu always get cranky about spoon feeding...
13-03-2006, 02:05 PM
hahaha
now recommers can see your attitude more clearly now
blaming me 4 waiting 4 ur spoonfeeding juz becoz I ask for a more relevent proof...
ok, ok you win...
big brother gives you some candies
*give thirdshifter some sweets*
13-03-2006, 02:18 PM
hahaha
now recommers can see your attitude more clearly now
blaming me 4 waiting 4 ur spoonfeeding juz becoz I ask for a more relevent proof...
ok, ok you win...
big brother gives you some candies
*give thirdshifter some sweets*
Thanks Iqing for the offer. .. and now as the famous German proverb says, "The main thing is keeping the main thing the main thing".
Lets get back to topic yah.
Rinke
13-03-2006, 02:34 PM
Dear All
Perhaps we may want to look why Muslims stop being in the front line of innovation by let say the 16th century. In particular why Industrial Revolution which happened first in England never caught up with the Muslim world. Instead the Muslim world was steadily being colonised starting around 18th century: that?s the time when the British carved up the Mughal empire in India.
Also notice that an older civilisation - China, which was one of the top civilisations at par with the Muslims*, stop being innovative at the end of the Ming period. And then during the Manchu/ Qing dynasty, the Chinese civilisation went downhill.
What happened? Care to speculate?
* Some say that China was the most developed country during those times, as Muslims were also advised to go to China to extend their knowledge.
13-03-2006, 02:58 PM
Dear All
Perhaps we may want to look why Muslims stop being in the front line of innovation by let say the 16th century. In particular why Industrial Revolution which happened first in England never caught up with the Muslim world. Instead the Muslim world was steadily being colonised starting around 18th century: that’s the time when the British carved up the Mughal empire in India.
I think the Islamic empire of Ottoman Turks played a huge part in the backward-ism of the Islamic World. Most of the arabic speaking world was under their banner for atleast 400 years. Certain territory were theirs even longer.
The Ottoman empire who was consistanly trying to expand had been egaged in war fare as long as it existed. I don't think there was ever peace time when they were around.
The whole arabia were trained to be militias. Ottoman made it cumpolsory for all male 15 years old to enlist in the army.
Education, science were never a priority because all they did was feed of the resources of those it had conquered.
Eventually it all came to an end when some of the arab militias that were part of the empire in the early 1900s turn their back against the ottoman and supported the brittish empire.. not because they were less evil.. but more generous.
13-03-2006, 04:15 PM
To all you wannabe historians,
Stop living in the past lah... Make today count, and forgot about all those dead geezers.
13-03-2006, 05:32 PM
learn from history, but don't get stuck there...go forward...
13-03-2006, 08:08 PM
learn from history, but don't get stuck there...go forward...
the thread started has yet to realise that
13-03-2006, 09:18 PM
i read an article recently which said that muslims may have a lot of inner virtue but this is considerred not so valuable to non muslims nowadays. The main thing islam teaches is inner virtue. I dont know what science islam has made to the world. If you watch the film recently with orlando bloom. saladin was making ice in the dessert. that is muslim technology. whereas the crusader didnt have cold drinks. I really dont know what muslims have done for the world. if its more or less than some other civilizations? Do non muslims have inner peace. There are a lot of non muslims who dont have inner virtue. You see their actions on the street everyday. it is these people that islam can help.
14-03-2006, 12:34 AM
PJKru needs 2 learn more about religion marketing :P
his skills in promoting Islam sux
14-03-2006, 12:37 AM
i read an article recently which said that muslims may have a lot of inner virtue but this is considerred not so valuable to non muslims nowadays. The main thing islam teaches is inner virtue. I dont know what science islam has made to the world. If you watch the film recently with orlando bloom. saladin was making ice in the dessert. that is muslim technology. whereas the crusader didnt have cold drinks. I really dont know what muslims have done for the world. if its more or less than some other civilizations? Do non muslims have inner peace. There are a lot of non muslims who dont have inner virtue. You see their actions on the street everyday. it is these people that islam can help.
inner virtue can only be found within a person...it can't be found within a religion...
a religion can only teach inner virtues but it'll always be the person him or herself that choses to implement it or not...
i don't know about the main thing that islam teaches mainly inner virtue or to fear god in everything we do...but what i know is that every other religions also teaches inner virtues...
btw, what's ur definition of inner virtues anyway...hmm...
and oh ya..i think i am out of topic d...haha...pls start a new thread if you guys wanna discuss this...
now back to the discussion...i don't think it's proper to attribute technology discovery to religions...since it's the person which did the discovery and application..we should honour the individual person instead...hmm...and if th person is not known, then honour the civilization...if we attribute it to religion, it's like honouring the islamic world now for their past achievements...it's just...not right...looking at it's condition now...
14-03-2006, 12:54 AM
I think this innovation exhibition is held in a museum?
Why blame PJKru? Is it wrong to promote education and knowledge?
And if we shouldn't learn from the past, how can we move ahead and what all the museums are for?
14-03-2006, 01:03 AM
I think this innovation exhibition is held in a museum?
Why blame PJKru? Is it wrong to promote education and knowledge?
And if we shouldn't learn from the past, how can we move ahead and what all the museums are for?
he said film la..haha..i think the title is "kingdom of heaven." i've watched the film and i like it...it goes to show us that wars, no matter how it is justified, is bad for humanity...that what i got from the movie...and a lot more about how lust can harm us all...hehe...
it is not wrong or promote education and knowledge...but attributing it to a certain religion, IMHO, is not a good way of remembering it...
14-03-2006, 05:31 AM
it is not wrong or promote education and knowledge...but attributing it to a certain religion, IMHO, is not a good way of remembering it...
What about to one race? Is that a better idea?
It seemed that all of you are reacting to a different issue al together rather then trying to question how true is it really that Coffee was discovered by a shepard..
History is easier to learn when you group them and find similarities.
That is why there is so many subject of history. Just like the greek, the romans and the chinese.. Islam also played a huge part in the civilazation of this world.
I don't understand why some of you, that didnt even click on the link are jumping the gun.. sheesh. The exhibition about these Muslim inventors are being held in a science museum in England for Dynasty Mings sake..
14-03-2006, 05:48 AM
i thought i had written there that we should attribute it to a civilization?
examples will be like ancient china, the ottoman empire, mayan civilization, the europeans during the industrial revolution...
these provide a much more accurate sense of time rather than using religions...
14-03-2006, 05:53 AM
Thats true i'm not gonna say your wrong but nne the less whats wrong with grouping them by race, religion, or citizenship?
the way i see it, it provides an interesting way to introduce people and get attention and make learning a more exciting process.
14-03-2006, 06:01 AM
well, it's just my little mind doing a little sorting combined with the tendency of people misusing these categories to glorify themselves...
well..think of it again...any categorization is open to misuse...
yea, i can agree with you on the fact that categorization makes history easier to learn with these kind of categorization for many people...i learn history chronologically without much categorization using religions though...hehe...okok..not everyone's minds are the same...
14-03-2006, 10:47 AM
i thought i had written there that we should attribute it to a civilization?
examples will be like ancient china, the ottoman empire, mayan civilization, the europeans during the industrial revolution...
actually, it is correct to attribute those things to the Islamic civilization because at that time from andalusia to egypt to persia, they were basically under one empire. And at the same time, that empire had Islam as its principle religion. It's probably wrong to attribute those achievement the religion but it's certainly accurate to attribute it to the Islamic civilization. Unless, you could find another name for it?
15-03-2006, 06:44 AM
at the time the empire was known as the ottoman empire...use this name instead...
15-03-2006, 11:09 AM
at the time the empire was known as the ottoman empire...use this name instead...
No. ottoman only started to encompass the whole muslim world in the 16th century. The one that contributed to human civilization (like algebra, chemistry, astronomy) was founded earlier, before it was swallowed up by the Turks. There were Umayyad, Abbassid, etc. All these civilization succeeded one another. Just one Tang, Han, Ming, etc succeeded one another.
So, calling it Ottoman would be inaccurate. It would be like calling the Chinese civilization as just Ming, or Yuan or Qing. Choose your favorite dynasty.
Anyway, even historians call it Islamic civilization. I'll go with the authorities and call it Islamic civilization.
CrosshaRe
15-03-2006, 11:36 AM
My 2 cents to why categorising those inventors with Islam is correct:
Education and knowledge are part of the Islamic teachings. Those inventors (a majority anyway, such as Al-Khawarizmi and Avicenna, don't know bout the shepard though) were also islamic scholars, i.e. ulamas. So knowledge seeking was essentially motivated by their religion.
If you look at western innovators, they were largely secular (assumption). I'm saying this because if you were to question a lot of them about their religion (eg christianity), would they rival priests and missionaries of their religion? Compare that to say, Avicenna, who had extensive religious knowledge (tasawuf, feqah, etc.). So you could say that Avicenna was an ISLAMIC scientist, but Newton was secular in outlook.
An interesting comment by the Prophet to a question about how Islam would be eventually:
Phophet: The community will be large.
Q: Then Islam will be strong?
Phophet: No. They will be like foam in the sea.
So even the phophet knew how useless muslims would turn out. In another hadith the prophet said Islam would rise, then eventually fall. That has proven correct.