View Full Version : Matriculation: A wise choice?

crapzzz
14-03-2006, 09:39 PM
After hearig a lot of remark from ppl, i start thinking tht shud i enrol in matriks if i get the offer?

Leen
14-03-2006, 10:22 PM
After hearig a lot of remark from ppl, i start thinking tht shud i enrol in matriks if i get the offer?

If you get the offer in the 3th period during class hour, make sure you are in the airport/train station at the 4th period. :lol:

Larry
14-03-2006, 10:53 PM
How to check that we qualify for the matriks or not?

crapzzz
14-03-2006, 11:07 PM
It will be announced somewhere around april....

Larry
14-03-2006, 11:11 PM
It will be announced somewhere around april....

So where can i check it?
Or i will receive a letter?

chloe
15-03-2006, 12:54 AM
u can check ur status online or thru sms... it's somewhere around april
if you're selected, they'll mail you documents after that

kaiba
15-03-2006, 01:04 AM
Izzit wise 2 go 4 it. It seems tat tis year, there is a new policy, matrik will hav a 2 year course. but most ppl said tat it is a waste of time. so, should v, or should v not grab it??

juventus
15-03-2006, 01:08 AM

Well, it depends. If you plan to study at a local Uni, go for matriks. Firstly, it's much easier than form 6 and it's only one year.

But then, the standard of matriks is not as high as form 6. Therefore, in my opinion, you would start to feel the strain in Uni. It's your call though.

Good luck in achieving what you want!

kevinkent
15-03-2006, 03:08 AM

Well, it depends. If you plan to study at a local Uni, go for matriks. Firstly, it's much easier than form 6 and it's only one year.

Yeah... so much less stressful than form 6. I have met a lecturer who managed to score very well in STPM during her time, she just said that it was not so worthy to choose STPM. She said she is the only one who managed to get the course which she interested in among her friends who scored as well... she said she was so lucky...and said that matric is more easier and stands a better chance in Uni... if you scored well in exams...

But then, the standard of matriks is not as high as form 6. Therefore, in my opinion, you would start to feel the strain in Uni. It's your call though.

My advice, get into Uni first and then baru plan la... that time you will have a secured place.. better than STPM..( though last time i used to support STPM one...hmm...) :wink:

WinnieH
15-03-2006, 12:40 PM
yeah i agree. choose matriks if you're dead sure that you want to enrol into malaysian universities.

15-03-2006, 02:10 PM
yeah i agree. choose matriks if you're dead sure that you want to enrol into malaysian universities.
And you care about "entering university easier" and "earn money faster" more than actually excelling in life and career.

WinnieH
15-03-2006, 03:13 PM
And you care about "entering university easier" and "earn money faster" more than actually excelling in life and career.

did i ever mention that i wanna earn money faster? so you mean those who wanna go matriks all wanna earn money faster? and do you mean that by going to matriks, one cannot excel in life and career? duh.

meselsohnstahl
15-03-2006, 06:27 PM
Izzit wise 2 go 4 it. It seems tat tis year, there is a new policy, matrik will hav a 2 year course. but most ppl said tat it is a waste of time. so, should v, or should v not grab it??

where did you get this info from?? about it being two years...

petertok
15-03-2006, 06:41 PM

depends on how you define excelling in life and career though...

like why cant "entering university easier" and "earn money faster" be considered as excelling in life and career?

anyway, given the choice again, i would've gone for stpm, for its worldwide recognition.

15-03-2006, 08:24 PM

did i ever mention that i wanna earn money faster? so you mean those who wanna go matriks all wanna earn money faster? and do you mean that by going to matriks, one cannot excel in life and career? duh.
Oh no, please don't get me wrongly. My reply was actually resuming your sentence. What I actually mean is, choose matriks if you're dead sure that you want to enrol into malaysian universities and you care about "entering university easier" and "earn money faster" more than actually excelling in life and career.

I never referred to you, Winnie, so don't take it personally.

15-03-2006, 08:36 PM

depends on how you define excelling in life and career though...

like why cant "entering university easier" and "earn money faster" be considered as excelling in life and career?

anyway, given the choice again, i would've gone for stpm, for its worldwide recognition.
Sorry if I sounded as if anyone who chose matriks are people who only want to earn money easier. I actually meant "start earning money earlier". Sorry for the bad expression.

Everyone knows that the standard of the matriks syllabus is way below that of STPM, and it's easier to get into the uni. At the same time, you save one year's time. But then, what you have gained in terms of time and hassle, will be lost in terms of actual grasp in the knowledge. By adjusting ourselves to the substandard syllabus of the matriks, we learn so much less than STPM students, and hence in the future we might be disadvantaged in tertiary studies or even in our career.

Larry
15-03-2006, 10:25 PM
If you chose matriks, you wiill be guranteed a place in local university with your prefered course if you meet the minimum requirement. For stpm, on the other hand, it is tougher and need to work extremely hard for it in order to excels in you studies. Your future is not determine and it depends lots on your exam grades.

Chrisntine
23-04-2008, 11:24 PM
My advice, get into Uni first and then baru plan la... that time you will have a secured place.. better than STPM..( though last time i used to support STPM one...hmm...) :wink:[/QUOTE]

ya. i agree with u.:)) one of my frez told me matrix is not suitable to her because we have to finish our syllabus in 1 year while form6 is 1.5 years. matrix learn lesser and form6 learn more. what she told me was if she choose matrix, she will not catch up in Uni. so she choose to study in form6. but then, frankly speaking, her result was not that good, so she might not catch up in form 6 as well.=.= so all of our frez advice her to apply matrix again as she is rejected by matrix and she does not appeal.

and i told her if we go into matrix, we will enter Uni. but if do form6, we are not 100% go into U. then we will stuck. like stucking in a hole. canot in and canot out. this even worse.

phoenix1892
23-04-2008, 11:28 PM
Between asasi UM and matriks, which one should i choose if I wanna pursue medicine? JPA still comes first, but between those two, which one is the better choice?

Chrisntine
23-04-2008, 11:34 PM
Between asasi UM and matriks, which one should i choose if I wanna pursue medicine? JPA still comes first, but between those two, which one is the better choice?

u gt into UM already?? my mom do not want my sister who wan to pursue medic thru JPA. because the bond is too long-10yrs. my mom said if you meet u bad 'boss' during houseman, and u cant get out from the hospital, u will feel desperate and depress and stressful. lol. if i given a chance to choose, i will choose UM because if i enter UM, i'll be a high school student. lol. sry for my broken english.:(

phoenix1892
23-04-2008, 11:40 PM
u gt into UM already?? my mom do not want my sister who wan to pursue medic thru JPA. because the bond is too long-10yrs. my mom said if you meet u bad 'boss' during houseman, and u cant get out from the hospital, u will feel desperate and depress and stressful. lol. if i given a chance to choose, i will choose UM because if i enter UM, i'll be a high school student. lol. sry for my broken english.

No, I havent got UM yet, but I applied for it. It's just that i dont really want matriks, so if I got the asasi sains hayat UM, i would accept that (unless I got the JPA). I just wanna make sure that would be the wiser choice.

Chrisntine
23-04-2008, 11:59 PM
No, I havent got UM yet, but I applied for it. It's just that i dont really want matriks, so if I got the asasi sains hayat UM, i would accept that (unless I got the JPA). I just wanna make sure that would be the wiser choice.

i think enter UM. as UM is 1 of the best University in msia. matrix standard is low. if u enter UM, then u can direct do foundation which is more relate to medic. but if enter matrix, u only study general things. when enter UM, it is more tough to catch up. it my point of view only. depend on u.

24-04-2008, 11:32 AM
i think enter UM. as UM is 1 of the best University in msia. matrix standard is low. if u enter UM, then u can direct do foundation which is more relate to medic. but if enter matrix, u only study general things. when enter UM, it is more tough to catch up. it my point of view only. depend on u.
The standard does not depend on the course taken, but the student. You might learn less than others but if you're a really good student, it doesn't make much difference. Anyway, if I'm not mistaken asasi in UM is only open for bumiputera, non-bumi is not eligible... (Perhaps my information is outdated, but I've never heard of any non-bumi get into these courses.

natlee
24-04-2008, 01:16 PM
i suggest UM. Matrix level is damn low

25-04-2008, 08:48 AM
matri and form 6 both have pros and cons...
as for my personal opinion,it depends on one who can really adapt her or himself to the new environment there...
my frens who choose form 6 told me that they wanna live with his family and would be very 'homesick' and not accustom to new environment if they were to choose matri..
so it is really depends on one's will to survive and independent in their own way ..

yana89
28-04-2008, 08:54 AM
where did you get this info from?? about it being two years...

is actually true...
ithe programme is a pilot project by the ministry of education....
i'm one of them involve in the programme...
although people say its a waste of time...
the way i see it...not at all actually...
it gives u ample time to adjust urself to the lifestyle..and a better understanding of the subject u learning..
giving u a solid foundation when u enter U...
but the 1 year programme still stays..

its true...UM is more stndard than of matrix..
but u have to remember..that in PASUM...u hv to take both physics and bio of course..it isn't easy u know...learning all within a cramped period of 10 months...so choose wisely...

28-04-2008, 08:56 AM
its true...UM is more stndard than of matrix..
but u have to remember..that in PASUM...u hv to take both physics and bio of course..it isn't easy u know...learning all within a cramped period of 10 months...so choose wisely...

wat is PASUM??

i heard that in matri we are not allowed to take both...if take both (phy and bio)sure will suffer..

yana89
28-04-2008, 09:53 AM
wat is PASUM??

i heard that in matri we are not allowed to take both...if take both (phy and bio)sure will suffer..

PASUM is actually a short term for program asasi Universiti Malaya...
the syllabus is actually different compared to the matrix under the MOE...
they use their own syllabus...

annlui
02-05-2008, 07:09 PM
i suggest UM. Matrix level is damn low

I think you should think before you talk. Matrix is a course of a year shorter, but this doesn mean the standard is low. The word is standard, not level by the way. The syallabus ia almost the same with STPM, only that in matrix, you only study what is required in the uni, and not like the f6, you study practically everything. It doesn mean that when you do f6, you can fare better than a matrix student in uni. I have a friend who underwent matrix and his marks are always higher than the other STPM students in the uni. So it depends on the individual...Dont make a sweeping statement by saying the standard of the matrix is low.

teiya_drumzaddict
09-05-2008, 01:04 PM
Well now it seems that matrix has offered either a one year program or 2 years depends on our spm results. But i think matrix is time saving and less hard than f6. Btw,i heard if we wanna get good unis especially for medics we have to score 4 flat. is dat true? or if we failed to get excellent pointer we'll be given a diff course? Can anybody explain that? I'm pretty lost here.

GreenTea
10-05-2008, 05:37 PM
Well now it seems that matrix has offered either a one year program or 2 years depends on our spm results. But i think matrix is time saving and less hard than f6. Btw,i heard if we wanna get good unis especially for medics we have to score 4 flat. is dat true? or if we failed to get excellent pointer we'll be given a diff course? Can anybody explain that? I'm pretty lost here.

True..we have to get at least CGPA 4.00 and excellent koku marks in order to pursue medics in prestigious local unis like um,ukm and usm..It depends on your luck. Sometimes you may not even get into medics though u can score CGPA 4.00 in STPM. Many critical and popular courses like medics, pharmacy,dentistry are mostly all dominated by matriks students since they can score easily and also given priority compared to STPM students during selection for admission in local unis..this is wat we called non-meritocracy!!

teiya_drumzaddict
11-05-2008, 04:43 PM
But after matrix we can't go overseas unlike STPM right?

But I've heard rumours saying that those who did well in matrix has the chance to get scholarship to go overseas under jpa sponsorship in near future if I am not mistaken. I do not know how true the rumour is but chances is still small.

ame.zost
12-05-2008, 03:32 AM
But I've heard rumours saying that those who did well in matrix has the chance to get scholarship to go overseas under jpa sponsorship in near future if I am not mistaken.

there is always a chance to get the scholarship IF only u are offered a place at the foreign universities.

i doubted, how many universities are there accept those with the malaysian matriculation??

12-05-2008, 04:15 AM
But after matrix we can't go overseas unlike STPM right?

But I've heard rumours saying that those who did well in matrix has the chance to get scholarship to go overseas under jpa sponsorship in near future if I am not mistaken. I do not know how true the rumour is but chances is still small.

in fact moe annouced tat they are trying to standardized the level of malaysian matriculation.. in other words, to be accepted by foreign universities.. and now, according to the website of matriks.. some uni (juz very little k) frm overseas, including australia accept students frm matrics. . so.. in near future.. might be. .? =.=

12-05-2008, 11:57 AM
Anyone get matriculasi but reject it just becos jpa was granted?

Is it a wise choice to choose JPA rather than MATRI?

passer-by
12-05-2008, 12:06 PM
I did. I can't see why Matriks is better than JPA.

12-05-2008, 12:10 PM
I did. I can't see why Matriks is better than JPA.

huh...everyone was thinking of jpa...declining matri the moment they get jpa...is it a common trend among all,.,,i doubt..

passer-by
12-05-2008, 12:15 PM
huh...everyone was thinking of jpa...declining matri the moment they get jpa...is it a common trend among all,.,,i doubt..

It is a general tendency. Why don't you share some of your ideas if you think that taking matriks is a wise choice provided that JPA is awarded?

12-05-2008, 12:21 PM
yea...1st, wat was in my mind is matri is time saving...no nid to go abroad , suffer homesickness, compete with english native speakers ...
fell stress while u r at overseas ..thinking of all the way to excel in ur study..
i believe malaysian student going abroad must be very excellent in english .rite?

so it is really tough for those who are not that well-versed in english...sure will have to face problem there...

12-05-2008, 12:23 PM
jpa ia free...thats the bottom line.besides,everyone wants to see the world what.ive been stuck on this island my whole life,time to go out of the nest.

passer-by
12-05-2008, 12:42 PM
yea...1st, wat was in my mind is matri is time saving...no nid to go abroad , suffer homesickness, compete with english native speakers ...
fell stress while u r at overseas ..thinking of all the way to excel in ur study..
i believe malaysian student going abroad must be very excellent in english .rite?

so it is really tough for those who are not that well-versed in english...sure will have to face problem there...

I agree up to a point. Matriks is one-year, but it is pre-u only, and there's no 100% guarantee you'll get the degree course you want.

Problems in overseas, yes, sure there are some. But, we can't just 'imprison' ourselves in this country. We are facing the challenges of globalisation, and being given a chance to go overseas, it'll definitely widens our horizons and not to mention the knowledge, culture as well as self-confidence.

Glassylicious
12-05-2008, 01:48 PM
even if u choose matriks, u can enroll either in local or oversea uni..
please dun be so narrow-minded..if u dun haf any experienced in either field, just sit n watch..
it's better den talking crap..
going stpm or matrik, its up to u.. u choose ur own path of success.

Er, uh, you DO realize that the matriculation qualification is only for local universities. There may be a few overseas universities willing to accept our local matriculation, but those are universities who have usually signed some memorandum with us, and aren't really the kind of universities one should be aspiring to go to anyway.

Oh, the irony...>_<

I agree up to a point. Matriks is one-year, but it is pre-u only, and there's no 100% guarantee you'll get the degree course you want.

Problems in overseas, yes, sure there are some. But, we can't just 'imprison' ourselves in this country. We are facing the challenges of globalisation, and being given a chance to go overseas, it'll definitely widens our horizons and not to mention the knowledge, culture as well as self-confidence.

I agree with you! There is much to learn with overseas exposure.

Don't know about you, but if I'm placed in a slightly competitive environment, I push myself more so I can get better. =) Some amount of competition is healthy and can boost performance.

Well, I don't really see why English is a problem. They should just work to get better at it? If such students are unwilling to improve themselves for their own good and their studies' sake, well, what can we really say?

kasutmerah01
12-05-2008, 10:56 PM
i got PASUM and JPA-pharmacy..
i'm in dilemma now...
somebody please help me....which one should i choose..

stupidboy
13-05-2008, 05:23 AM
i got PASUM and JPA-pharmacy..
i'm in dilemma now...
somebody please help me....which one should i choose..

You have to go for what you're really interested in. If not, you'll regret it in the near future.

P/S: What's PASUM?

prince_J
13-05-2008, 08:31 AM
shortcut to university, especially those who wanna do medicine in local uni but yet can get JPA....

Although you might struggle during your first year in uni, but who cares? as long as u can survive ur entire term, u still come out as a doctor! :)

stupidboy
13-05-2008, 12:00 PM
shortcut to university, especially those who wanna do medicine in local uni but yet can get JPA....

Although you might struggle during your first year in uni, but who cares? as long as u can survive ur entire term, u still come out as a doctor! :)

This is our low quality educational system that we don't want to see.