View Full Version : fast food trend in the US and elsewhere

17-02-2004, 07:41 AM
Hey guys,
did you realize that more and more people consume more 'healthy' food nowadays. like organics foods and stuff?
check this out:
http://www.entrepreneur.com/article/0,4621,304564,00.html

if you look at the commercials by fast food restaurants, they now try to display a lot of healthy foods in their commercials.
(look at the wendy's salad)

sounds like market for "healthy food" now is becoming a trend.

p/s : but did you guys realize that, Americans still don't give up drinking soda(coke, pepsi) , despite the fact that,soda consumption would increase the risk of a person having diabetes. ? (sorry, no statistic yet, but I think it's reasonable)

17-02-2004, 07:41 AM
Hey guys,
did you realize that more and more people consume more 'healthy' food nowadays. like organics foods and stuff?
check this out:
http://www.entrepreneur.com/article/0,4621,304564,00.html

if you look at the commercials by fast food restaurants, they now try to display a lot of healthy foods in their commercials.
(look at the wendy's salad)

sounds like market for "healthy food" now is becoming a trend.

p/s : but did you guys realize that, Americans still don't give up drinking soda(coke, pepsi) , despite the fact that,soda consumption would increase the risk of a person having diabetes. ? (sorry, no statistic yet, but I think it's reasonable)

17-02-2004, 07:42 AM
by the way, this may sounds interesting for us Asians:

Asian Fast Food
Customers looking for alternatives to fast-food burgers and chicken are turning to fast-food Asian chains like Samurai Sam's. "This country is fascinated with Asian cuisine, so anything new has a ready and willing market," says Harry Balzer of The NPD Group.

It's not just restaurants benefiting from this trend. "As more fast-food Asian restaurants crop up, more Asian-style cooking will be done at home," predicts Kathy Mattisz, director of marketing for Richmond, Virginia-based soy sauce producer San-J International. That means opportunity for companies creating sauces and other ingredients that allow home cooks to recreate their favorite Asian dishes.

17-02-2004, 07:42 AM
by the way, this may sounds interesting for us Asians:

Asian Fast Food
Customers looking for alternatives to fast-food burgers and chicken are turning to fast-food Asian chains like Samurai Sam's. "This country is fascinated with Asian cuisine, so anything new has a ready and willing market," says Harry Balzer of The NPD Group.

It's not just restaurants benefiting from this trend. "As more fast-food Asian restaurants crop up, more Asian-style cooking will be done at home," predicts Kathy Mattisz, director of marketing for Richmond, Virginia-based soy sauce producer San-J International. That means opportunity for companies creating sauces and other ingredients that allow home cooks to recreate their favorite Asian dishes.

17-02-2004, 11:44 AM
I think in terms of fast food, despite the promotion of healthy food, I still feel that general American public still have the tendency to eat a lot of fast food, soda, pizza (I am wondering how healthy is pizza...), chips etc...

I am particularly surprised by the high salt content in many American food and also oily food...

17-02-2004, 11:44 AM
I think in terms of fast food, despite the promotion of healthy food, I still feel that general American public still have the tendency to eat a lot of fast food, soda, pizza (I am wondering how healthy is pizza...), chips etc...

I am particularly surprised by the high salt content in many American food and also oily food...

18-02-2004, 08:30 AM
i think fast food is so popular because

1) as its name suggests, it's fast
2) cheap
3) easy to grab and go
4) delicious (if u dun eat too often)
5) easy to make
6) it's everywhere

given the fast pace of american and a lots of the countries nowadays, not hard to see the reason why fast food is popular. take myself as example, sometime i just take mc d even though i know it's bad for health because I dun wanna spend time queueing up for a much more expensive sandwich.

guess more and more people are aware about the nutrition fact of the food, and some got scared by the obese real life example because of fast food, that's why those fast food chain are adding so called healthy menu.

since more and more people like asian cuisine, maybe we can start a fast food business selling fast,cheap and healthy asian fast food?

btw, i think the healthiest fastfood is subway

18-02-2004, 08:30 AM
i think fast food is so popular because

1) as its name suggests, it's fast
2) cheap
3) easy to grab and go
4) delicious (if u dun eat too often)
5) easy to make
6) it's everywhere

given the fast pace of american and a lots of the countries nowadays, not hard to see the reason why fast food is popular. take myself as example, sometime i just take mc d even though i know it's bad for health because I dun wanna spend time queueing up for a much more expensive sandwich.

guess more and more people are aware about the nutrition fact of the food, and some got scared by the obese real life example because of fast food, that's why those fast food chain are adding so called healthy menu.

since more and more people like asian cuisine, maybe we can start a fast food business selling fast,cheap and healthy asian fast food?

btw, i think the healthiest fastfood is subway

18-02-2004, 04:32 PM
Well, one more point is it has become a trend especailly for youngsters.Look at those advertisements on TV. They are posing an image of cool and fresh (i found this especially from Mc Donalds ads)
For example in Malaysia, we wont feel like they are "low class" even they are cheap. In fact some may be proud of it when they told our friends that we had our meal there which is not common for other restaurant of the same price/level.

18-02-2004, 04:32 PM
Well, one more point is it has become a trend especailly for youngsters.Look at those advertisements on TV. They are posing an image of cool and fresh (i found this especially from Mc Donalds ads)
For example in Malaysia, we wont feel like they are "low class" even they are cheap. In fact some may be proud of it when they told our friends that we had our meal there which is not common for other restaurant of the same price/level.

19-02-2004, 03:18 AM
I think in Malaysia fast food is definitely not cheap... Especially if we reflect back when we were small, I used to long for those dinner out at KFC. It was like the best meal I could have in a month or two and that would be KFC. It is definitely much more expensive than other normal food. A piece of fried chicken was around RM1.75 in around year 1988... At that time, hawker food was just around RM1 per plate...

And now hawker at my place is around RM1.60-RM2.00, KFC is just slightly above RM2.00 . So, it seems that the price inflation of fast food is not that significant, compared to other hawker food...

19-02-2004, 03:18 AM
I think in Malaysia fast food is definitely not cheap... Especially if we reflect back when we were small, I used to long for those dinner out at KFC. It was like the best meal I could have in a month or two and that would be KFC. It is definitely much more expensive than other normal food. A piece of fried chicken was around RM1.75 in around year 1988... At that time, hawker food was just around RM1 per plate...

And now hawker at my place is around RM1.60-RM2.00, KFC is just slightly above RM2.00 . So, it seems that the price inflation of fast food is not that significant, compared to other hawker food...

19-02-2004, 01:00 PM
malaysia should ban american fast food chains. especially mcdonald's.

when it comes to fast food, screw free trade and globalization. think about it: workers are underpaid, food is quite literally junk and relatively expensive. even worse, they project a cool and hip image that gullible malaysians love. i'm speaking from experience. it wasn't until i got to the States that i realized how bad fast food was.

i say we throw them out.

19-02-2004, 01:00 PM
malaysia should ban american fast food chains. especially mcdonald's.

when it comes to fast food, screw free trade and globalization. think about it: workers are underpaid, food is quite literally junk and relatively expensive. even worse, they project a cool and hip image that gullible malaysians love. i'm speaking from experience. it wasn't until i got to the States that i realized how bad fast food was.

i say we throw them out.

19-02-2004, 02:49 PM
Then you better go back and create your own version of fast food chain to replace the void created by such a ban. Fact that they are thriving shows that there is demand, and if McDonalds is banned, some other fast food will just thrive.

19-02-2004, 02:49 PM
Then you better go back and create your own version of fast food chain to replace the void created by such a ban. Fact that they are thriving shows that there is demand, and if McDonalds is banned, some other fast food will just thrive.

19-02-2004, 09:00 PM
topdog, may be you should start up with a chain of healthy food and run an ad to fight against McD and other fast food...

19-02-2004, 09:00 PM
topdog, may be you should start up with a chain of healthy food and run an ad to fight against McD and other fast food...

19-02-2004, 09:28 PM
Well, how about slow food which is getting more and more attention recently?

19-02-2004, 09:28 PM
Well, how about slow food which is getting more and more attention recently?

21-02-2004, 01:18 AM
i was being (half) tongue-in-cheek about banning fast food in malaysia. but come to think of it, is it really that outrageous an idea? i dunno...it seems to me that fast food serves a different purpose in malaysia compared to in the u.s. what i mean is, americans eat fast food but they do not like it. they eat it coz it's fast and easy on the wallet. it's convenient for the working person.

but in malaysia, people go to fast food outlets for special occasions! like society farewell parties, birthday parties, dating...people actually hang out there! i've never worked in malaysia before so i can't say for sure if office people eat fast food for lunch, but i doubt that they do. so is there really a big demand for it like people tend to think?

what i'm saying is...in the u.s. fast food is like an evil necessity, whereas in malaysia fast food is like a novelty. (after all, not only do chains like KFC, mcdonalds have omputih names, they ARE from america, so they must be cool right?) maybe that's why most people don't know it's bad for them. so will fast food chains be missed if we get rid of them?

21-02-2004, 01:18 AM
i was being (half) tongue-in-cheek about banning fast food in malaysia. but come to think of it, is it really that outrageous an idea? i dunno...it seems to me that fast food serves a different purpose in malaysia compared to in the u.s. what i mean is, americans eat fast food but they do not like it. they eat it coz it's fast and easy on the wallet. it's convenient for the working person.

but in malaysia, people go to fast food outlets for special occasions! like society farewell parties, birthday parties, dating...people actually hang out there! i've never worked in malaysia before so i can't say for sure if office people eat fast food for lunch, but i doubt that they do. so is there really a big demand for it like people tend to think?

what i'm saying is...in the u.s. fast food is like an evil necessity, whereas in malaysia fast food is like a novelty. (after all, not only do chains like KFC, mcdonalds have omputih names, they ARE from america, so they must be cool right?) maybe that's why most people don't know it's bad for them. so will fast food chains be missed if we get rid of them?

21-02-2004, 06:01 AM
hey topdog,

stop making me more guilty than I am right now. :D
I've learned my lesson about fast food. Stop nagging me.

21-02-2004, 06:01 AM
hey topdog,

stop making me more guilty than I am right now. :D
I've learned my lesson about fast food. Stop nagging me.

24-05-2004, 10:39 PM
finally got around to reading "fast food nation". it was enough to make one be a vegetarian (especially if one is in the U.S.).

must read.

25-05-2004, 02:07 AM
hmm, I don't think anybody forced anybody to get cheeseburgers at Mcdonalds.

People who believe that Fast food chains are somehow responsible for them being over-weight are stupid.

Fast food chains are there to serve as a convienient way of filling your tummy. If you think its unhealthy then don't go.

Nasi Lemak is probably as bad as a Cheeseburger.

If you eat right and work out, you won't be a fat ass.

Being over weight would make you dumb. And Dumb people have dumb ideas.

25-05-2004, 03:06 AM
no, no, it's not about "fast food makes you overweight", not at all. (i agree that it's stupid to blame fast food for obesity.) in fact the book hardly touches on that.

what i found really eye-opening reading the book was investigations into food production methods in the u.s., particularly conditions in slaughterhouses.

what's especially startling is the power huge corporations yield when it comes to OPPOSING more effective regulations on food production.

maybe i'll post some examples later.

25-05-2004, 08:45 AM

just a matter of "exotic" i think. before i went to US, i used to think fast food is nice as well (mainly because i only ate it less than 5 times annually). It provides something different that makes people wanna go there. as an average m'sian (exclude those fastfood addict of course), how often do u eat burger and french fries? just like some chinese restaurant which serves "fake" chinese food still manage to attract so many mat salleh. just a matter of taste changing i think

25-05-2004, 11:35 AM
what i found really eye-opening reading the book was investigations into food production methods in the u.s., particularly conditions in slaughterhouses.

what's especially startling is the power huge corporations yield when it comes to OPPOSING more effective regulations on food production.

maybe i'll post some examples later.

WAs it by any chance written by PETA?

Here's a video that i saw few months ago. I think its probably a summary of the book you read only that its graphically in details.

http://www.petatv.com/tvpopup/video.asp?video=mym2002

Enjoy!

luan
27-11-2004, 02:36 PM
you know what sumhow i think once a while u consume fast food is alrite...cos it makes u feel happy...hahahah i dunno consuming fast food satisfy me a lot...i think fast food is merely "happy food" u know same as chocolates, candies and ice cream...so no harm if people consume in moderation... :)

in stead of health consious maybe nowadays people are more particular on thier outlook so they start consuming healthy food :) i guess....

theT
28-11-2004, 09:45 AM
i hate those subway commercial.

this mcdonald strip has so-and-so fat and our sub just have 10(or is it 5) gram of fat. Yeah, less fat. But with foot long sub, just imagine the calories and carb.

don't be fool by those so-called healty conscious advertisement.

28-11-2004, 08:46 PM
as long as it's processed we can't really guarantee if it's healthy or not isn't it?

Go organic? How many of you buy organic food back in M'sia?

30-11-2004, 03:08 AM
With organic food costing on average 15% more, we students tend to stick to the *healthier option.

*healthier to the wallets that is.