View Full Version : the New E-Learning

17-02-2004, 11:20 AM
we're planning to revamp e-learning,

Hope you guys can give suggestions. THanks!

(How should it looks like, what's the most important in e-learning, etc)

17-02-2004, 11:20 AM
we're planning to revamp e-learning,

Hope you guys can give suggestions. THanks!

(How should it looks like, what's the most important in e-learning, etc)

laplace
17-02-2004, 11:36 AM
Well, the current e-learning page is quite "kolot"... heehee...

The current e-learning page is categorized on Uni base. Try to think about it, if I want to learn something... I am actually looking for subjects, not Uni or college, right?

I would like to suggest... we categorize all our e-learning links on subject base. Then, we create icons for each subject. We can also create icons for each Uni.

So, when members access to e-learning page, first they will see a lot of icons representing different subjects. When they click on any subject they want, the 2nd page will show them those papers/notes from different uni... all in icons. How does it sound? Will it be too cartoonic? heehee...

laplace..

laplace
17-02-2004, 11:36 AM
Well, the current e-learning page is quite "kolot"... heehee...

The current e-learning page is categorized on Uni base. Try to think about it, if I want to learn something... I am actually looking for subjects, not Uni or college, right?

I would like to suggest... we categorize all our e-learning links on subject base. Then, we create icons for each subject. We can also create icons for each Uni.

So, when members access to e-learning page, first they will see a lot of icons representing different subjects. When they click on any subject they want, the 2nd page will show them those papers/notes from different uni... all in icons. How does it sound? Will it be too cartoonic? heehee...

laplace..

17-02-2004, 11:39 AM
I agree with Laplace and if that's the sentiment from ReCom members, I would work on changing that gradually.

Another point is that currently, most of our links are in engineering. I had a tough time to find links from courses out of engineering. So, it would be great if ReComers could share with us the links of various courses in various universities.

Also most of the links that we have are from universities in US. One of the reasons is that most universities out of US do not put their course website on public domain.

Hope that we could have more ReComers giving opinion on it... We will definitely work on improving it!

Thanks Laplace for a great idea~!

17-02-2004, 11:39 AM
I agree with Laplace and if that's the sentiment from ReCom members, I would work on changing that gradually.

Another point is that currently, most of our links are in engineering. I had a tough time to find links from courses out of engineering. So, it would be great if ReComers could share with us the links of various courses in various universities.

Also most of the links that we have are from universities in US. One of the reasons is that most universities out of US do not put their course website on public domain.

Hope that we could have more ReComers giving opinion on it... We will definitely work on improving it!

Thanks Laplace for a great idea~!

18-02-2004, 11:34 AM
Good idea , Laplace.
I was searching for certain topics for my research last time... and i was like searchingby entering each university site...
However, i think not many is using the e learning now...
ANy idea of getting more people to make use of it?

18-02-2004, 11:34 AM
Good idea , Laplace.
I was searching for certain topics for my research last time... and i was like searchingby entering each university site...
However, i think not many is using the e learning now...
ANy idea of getting more people to make use of it?

19-02-2004, 03:20 AM
I think what I will do is that I will try to have all the courses link based on courses.

So, may be we can have Syamsul or Yusuf make the interface where e-learning user can select whether they would like to look at the courses based on subject or based on university.

19-02-2004, 03:20 AM
I think what I will do is that I will try to have all the courses link based on courses.

So, may be we can have Syamsul or Yusuf make the interface where e-learning user can select whether they would like to look at the courses based on subject or based on university.

royston
19-02-2004, 11:02 AM
Well, I saw a lot of people asking for knowledge/homework help by opening up a thread. Sometimes we able to help, base on our knowledge but we don't have the proper note or documents to support our words. For those who used to stay in Recom, maybe you guys can try to browse through the e-learning pages, at least you have an idea what the e-learning corner has and which link it stored. So when people ask for help on certain topic, instead of explaining to them by your own words, you may also point them to certain notes inside the e-learning corner, where they can find more proper documented notes as reference. With this, I believe the e-learning corner will become a hot area... :wink:

I will start to lepak in e-learning corner now...

~ roy ~

royston
19-02-2004, 11:02 AM
Well, I saw a lot of people asking for knowledge/homework help by opening up a thread. Sometimes we able to help, base on our knowledge but we don't have the proper note or documents to support our words. For those who used to stay in Recom, maybe you guys can try to browse through the e-learning pages, at least you have an idea what the e-learning corner has and which link it stored. So when people ask for help on certain topic, instead of explaining to them by your own words, you may also point them to certain notes inside the e-learning corner, where they can find more proper documented notes as reference. With this, I believe the e-learning corner will become a hot area... :wink:

I will start to lepak in e-learning corner now...

~ roy ~

bachok83
19-02-2004, 06:25 PM
it's certainly a very productive idea royston,

i'll join you starting from now.. :D can i?? hehe

bachok83
19-02-2004, 06:25 PM
it's certainly a very productive idea royston,

i'll join you starting from now.. :D can i?? hehe

08-03-2005, 12:17 PM
While I am in the process of trying to get our old e-learning module reactivated, perhaps, fellow ReComers could make use of such material.

http://ocw.mit.edu/index.html (MIT)
http://cmu.edu/oli/index.html (Carnegie Mellon University)

09-03-2005, 10:58 PM
These e-learning resources put up by MIT, CMU and many other universities would be fantastic resources for lifelong learning, and all of us can assess those resources free of charge.

12-03-2005, 08:09 AM
Wow...this is interesting...Thanks for the link, Chen Chow.

This is a great idea....I am more than willing to help out to make this e-learning possible...Just let me know how I can help.

e-learning is not really common in UK...I think they are more traditional...prefer students going to lectures, tutorial...to learn.. There's an e-learning portal for students but not really impressive I must say. Lecture notes are not always available for students...