View Full Version : Malaysia 9th plan..

sathyasri
01-04-2006, 09:54 PM
Hi everyone..as u all know Malaysia have juz announced the 9th plan for the next five years.Hmmm anyway i want to find your opinons about this plan n allocation this time..what are the advantages u think each sector have got..I think agriculture n ICT have its main priority....I have decided to do dentistry..so i think health care has its own advantages too...hope one day i will be a specialist..orthodonthics maybe..dreamin!!! GOvernment have allocated few millions for R&D fund...especially to attract foreign investors..hope investors will put their money for research....if not..:(..wat is ur opinon...gov.. really intend to develop business based research in science n technology..I think malaysia need more time to achive that...hope to get replies from all of u soon..especially tell me pros n cons from the 9th for medicine n dentitsry huh..sadly they didnt increase basic salary for dentistry......thanks in advance

bush
01-04-2006, 10:14 PM
Unless there is a major shift in government policies, R&D, biovalley and whatnot are just flashes of a dream. We are just not competitive enough to be a leading hub for excellence in science and technology.

Just check out the Singaporean Agency for Science, Technology and Research and look at what we have..............

They have the will power and the institutions to keep talents, what do we have?

Last but not least, Universities do play a major role if we want to develope a k-based economy. We know that Singaporean tertiary institutions already have co-ops and tieups with universities like stanford and MIT etc. While our premier institution of higher learning is just drifting out from the influence of our lovable Capt. Datuk Prof. Dr. Hashim. Can you see the disparity?

Can you do all that in 5 years?

sjen
01-04-2006, 10:21 PM
I heard they tend to put more effort in biotech since other country are doing so, but i feel like putting so many money in it is such a waste. Since our country still don't have that potential in biotech you know. And then spending of 170000000000 for the ninth projext, is it a bit too much? I mean why spending more and more as years gone, but then we can't see much improvement especially the poor people life. Every plan, they said they want to help the poor people, but why, theres still so many poor people and non-employeer. The only thing i am glad is, they are putting more effort in Pertanian field, since the universities graduate are having serious problem in finding jobs, i think, pertanian is one of the very good field. EARN a LOT !! ACTUALLY, change ur attitude, and u will know.APPRECIATE LAR ~~ ( i might do pertanian too, if i got sponser)

Patrick
01-04-2006, 10:29 PM
The problem is, our government doesn't care about quality.

Look at our education system. They set the marks for an A using the bell curve. The result, excess high-achievers.

They build MORE and MORE universities, when the current ones are deplorable. Why can't they improve them first before building more?
The result, excess manpower with degrees, often without the imperative skills for employment.

sincerehart
02-04-2006, 10:37 AM
8MP ,.... 9MP got any difference or not in d quality of life.

all i know, we the students have sooo much 2 study... in class teachers just wanna finish syllabus . sooo many things 2 hafal but got no time to analyse, evaluate n appreciate what we learn

now moe wants to change system... less exam based....
mum says heard that b4lor ,when i was still in primary .. kbsr kbsm etc

gov has good plans but implementation wise .....some one has 2walk around with d cane
malaysia boleh (tak implement properly as planned if no one is watching, )

i give up my seat on d bus 2 older people, help them carry their things up but so often, i see most young people not bothered.
tell u a story. once i overheard tis :

lady: dik, bas ini lalu sect 17 tak.....
student:( in a reluctant tone): tak tau. kalau dia lalu , lalula .kalau tak lalu, tidakla

maybe student always ponten kemahiran hidup/pendidikan moral class ,oh??

lady bout mid40's. student bout 19-early 20's girl

sanzo_reload
02-04-2006, 01:54 PM
The biggest for the 9th MP would be Agriculture, biotechnology and ICT. Wider application of modern farming method in agriculture would no doubt, help those from rural areas to increase their income, hopefully one day reducing the income disparity between urban and rural areas..

For biotechnology, I think the opening of Malaysia first National Institute of Pharmaceutical in Nilai (if I'm not mistaken) is the first step for Malaysia to improve the health services in Malaysia as well as producing our own world-class health products. This sector also will provide more job opportunities for Malaysian as well as help to improve other economic sector esp. Agriculture for research.

ICT however, I don't think we can compete with other cybercities like Silicon Valley nor Bangalore yet, but it's a good step that Malaysia finally decided to introduced new cybercities (Malacca, Perak, Sarawak, Johor) so that the more people from can also gain the benefit from this technology.

The usage of technology (ICT) in school is a good thing. The problem is, like my school, we got computer and internet facilities but students were not allowed to use the computer. So what's the computer are for? Exhibition?? In the end, most of the computer skills that we learn is from home, not school. Therefore, if you want to make Smart School a reality, we have to change the attitude of the teacher towards technology first..

lianawakaka
02-04-2006, 02:13 PM
when this rm9 is beingtold in tv, i was kinda bz, so i dont have the chance to see it...anybody here know where can i read it? since i will be going to jpa's interview at 4th april and im kinda worried that they might ask about this... :?

nookief
02-04-2006, 02:18 PM
The usage of technology (ICT) in school is a good thing. The problem is, like my school, we got computer and internet facilities but students were not allowed to use the computer. So what's the computer are for? Exhibition?? In the end, most of the computer skills that we learn is from home, not school. Therefore, if you want to make Smart School a reality, we have to change the attitude of the teacher towards technology first..

yup, this step also had been implemented in my skool (ex skool)
long tym ago, but, they do not allowed we student to use it~
hurm~ the program is under telekom smart skool (if im not mstaken)

expectation
02-04-2006, 03:31 PM

YES exactly.

Anyway i find this really questionable. The 9th MP said that they will allocate about 700 millions to transport. Now, rewind to last month when if I'm not mistaken, supposedly the govern will save about 4 BILLION a year by hiking up the petrol price and also the money will supposedly be channelled to improve the transportations and whatnots.

So the question is where will the excess money go?
*cough* MAS *cough*

02-04-2006, 03:34 PM
when this rm9 is beingtold in tv, i was kinda bz, so i dont have the chance to see it...anybody here know where can i read it? since i will be going to jpa's interview at 4th april and im kinda worried that they might ask about this...

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2006/3/31/nation/20060331174714&sec=nation

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2006/3/31/nation/20060331170915&sec=nation

Hope this help u, n good luck :wink:

nookief
02-04-2006, 03:41 PM
*cough* MAS *cough*

cough.... cough.... hahaha

lianawakaka
02-04-2006, 04:14 PM
hey thanks 4seasonspring....this is really helpful...but thats a lot to read !!8O ....huhhuhuhu.....guess i just read the one that have something to do with science and health....anyway, thanks ya?

sanzo_reload
02-04-2006, 04:24 PM
Anyway i find this really questionable. The 9th MP said that they will allocate about 700 millions to transport. Now, rewind to last month when if I'm not mistaken, supposedly the govern will save about 4 BILLION a year by hiking up the petrol price and also the money will supposedly be channelled to improve the transportations and whatnots.

*cough* MAS *cough*

Really? I wonder where will the money go.. lol..

02-04-2006, 06:01 PM
all the money and almost none of them gone to sabah and sarawak?

this is pathetic...almost all of our oil money are channeled to develop west malaysia and this is how they say thank you?