View Full Version : Monbusho Scholarship
shazre3000
04-04-2006, 06:01 AM
Let's discuss about the Monbusho(Japanese Government) Scholarship.
So those who have applied for the scholarship and got it have to sit for their exams:
[Subjects for Examination (in English)]
Social Sciences and Humanities: English, Mathematics A, World History (compulsory) and Japanese Language (for reference).
Natural Science A: English, Mathematics B, Chemistry, Physics (compulsory) and Japanese Language (for reference).
Natural Science B: English, Mathematics B, Chemistry, Biology (compulsory) and Japanese Language (for reference).[/b]
So if anyone who have also applied for the scholarship and have any info about the past exam's or the exam syllabus or anything to do with the scholarship, do share with the other recomers.
Thanx A lot :D :D
aikws
04-04-2006, 05:52 PM
I applied Nat Sci B. The exams are of Pre-U level like A level and STPM. The math is damn tough and English wasnt easy also. Good luck! I failed to obtain the scholarship.
shazre3000
04-04-2006, 07:22 PM
I applied Nat Sci B. The exams are of Pre-U level like A level and STPM. The math is damn tough and English wasnt easy also. Good luck! I failed to obtain the scholarship.
At last someone is answering my sorrowness..
Thanks for replying...care to share your experience on attending the interview and what kind of Q's do they ask? :)
twxin
05-04-2006, 12:06 AM
how do v kno if v r shortlisted for the exam . . will they inform
us by mail or do v need to check in some website . . . thanks in advance :?
expectation
05-04-2006, 12:25 AM
I applied for humanities although I've been doing Pure Science all this while. Just felt like I need a breath of fresh air.
I know nothing about World History so just simply simply only lah.
You can read about the process in tinkosong.blogspot.com.
shazre3000
05-04-2006, 12:27 AM
In the mean time, I also dont have any latest news regarding the date for the shortlisted applicant's will be released.
any info about monbusho pls post it here.
thnx. :D
Thingy
06-04-2006, 11:24 AM
Then, the SPM 2005 leavers are doomed...A levels standard? I cant even answer SPM chemistry n physics properly now. lolz
WinnieH
06-04-2006, 02:18 PM
Then, the SPM 2005 leavers are doomed...A levels standard? I cant even answer SPM chemistry n physics properly now. lolz
lol. i think monbusho scholarship is for those who wana take degree . i read bout it somewhere
i thought that the scholarship requires one to have pre-U experience/qualification and not for applicants with SPM 2005 ? .
WinnieH
06-04-2006, 04:07 PM
i thought that the scholarship requires one to have pre-U experience/qualification and not for applicants with SPM 2005 ? .
yeah my sentiments exactly.
kevinkent
06-04-2006, 04:45 PM
I applied for humanities although I've been doing Pure Science all this while. Just felt like I need a breath of fresh air.
I know nothing about World History so just simply simply only lah.
You can read about the process in tinkosong.blogspot.com.
I thought this scholarships are for the STPM leavers?? :roll:
ichigoshiro
06-04-2006, 05:21 PM
oh dear..
but there's undergraduate section. it means spm leavers also right? X3 and they want a minimum of 11 years of education. *prays they'll accept spm leavers*
WinnieH
06-04-2006, 05:47 PM
oh dear..
but there's undergraduate section. it means spm leavers also right? X3 and they want a minimum of 11 years of education. *prays they'll accept spm leavers*
no honey i dont think they will.
shazre3000
06-04-2006, 07:31 PM
oh dear..
yeap
good luck to all of you
expectation
06-04-2006, 09:21 PM
oh dear..
no honey i dont think they will.
nolah it's stated that 11 yrs of study, which means SPM qualification also can.
but it's true that the exams are STPM/ A lvl standard so you gotta be real good.
kevinkhoo1986
06-04-2006, 10:39 PM
They do accept SPM students as well. It is because 2 years ago, I have sat for this examination with my SPM result. To be frankly the english is quite easy (Mostly are objective questions) but the Math, Chem, and physics questions are quite tough (STPM level), I remember that i just managed to answer a few questions for math, chem and leave most of it BLANK!! Furthermore i am lazy to revise all the SPM syllabus back as i did not know the exam cover until which topics..
If i am not mistaken, they ask something about partial pressure for physics during my year which was A-level standard and i knew nothing about it, not only after i studied it during form 6.
The girl who sat beside of me during that exam straight away cabut after taking Math paper, and i was thinking to cabut as well but my parent insist me to finish it... :lol:
sunfish
07-04-2006, 11:36 AM
They do accept SPM students as well. It is because 2 years ago, I have sat for this examination with my SPM result. To be frankly the english is quite easy (Mostly are objective questions) but the Math, Chem, and physics questions are quite tough (STPM level), I remember that i just managed to answer a few questions for math, chem and leave most of it BLANK!! Furthermore i am lazy to revise all the SPM syllabus back as i did not know the exam cover until which topics..
If i am not mistaken, they ask something about partial pressure for physics during my year which was A-level standard and i knew nothing about it, not only after i studied it during form 6.
The girl who sat beside of me during that exam straight away cabut after taking Math paper, and i was thinking to cabut as well but my parent insist me to finish it... :lol:
ya, they do accept spm leaver. i know some1 who got d scholarship but he completed his form 6 before set off to japan.
But it's good that you gained experience eventhough you weren't selected. Not all people could obtain such an opportunity.
All the best in the days ahead!
aH_LiN
08-04-2006, 09:51 AM
err...i think it's been changed to monbukagakusho...last time i checked...or are they just trying to say that this scholarship is offered by the monbusho(education department) and kagakusho(science department)...well, wadeva it is, i've thot of applying for it also but my japanese teacher told me that they usualli accept ppl who haf had 12 years of education, which means i stand a bigger chance if i study form6...
i might do form 6 if all my hopes of getting a scholarship go down the drain...then i'll try to continue going for japanese classes at the Sarawak-Japan Friendship Club while doing my form 6...
erm, anyone else here taking japanese...or seniors who have studied japanese???i need advice on getting a decent japanese dictionary...please...
kaiba
08-04-2006, 07:54 PM
I applied 4 da scholarship 2. well, 2 b frank, i reali reali wanna go 2 japan...if there is anyone of u who knows about this particular scholarship plz send a post about it. thx in advance!!
lots of luv~
colis
10-04-2006, 10:47 PM
Seeing all these posts i decided to apply for this scholarship again next year, when i'm doing Upper Six. Seems quite tough. Unless i'm so lucky enough to get the JPA scholarship to Japan, i'll wait for it. ^ ^
when will we know da result for dis year examination anyway? :)
kimsiang
26-06-2006, 12:10 PM
They(embassy) already chose the best 16 and the students went for the interview just the on beginning of this month.At least 3 students are nominated after the interview for this scholarship this year.(There should be more but i just know 3 of them up to now,1 from penang,1 from kedah,1 from KL.)
Honda Racing F1 (http://www.honda-wiki.org/wiki/Honda_Racing_F1)
vanessa
27-06-2006, 10:13 PM
kim siang, do you know if the 3 people selected are spm leavers or studying pre-U?
kimsiang
27-06-2006, 10:25 PM
kim siang, do you know if the 3 people selected are spm leavers or studying pre-U?
One of them are stpm leaver,the rest are still studying upper 6 now.Actually i met many seniors under this scholarship but none of them was spm leaver when applying for this scholarship.(Mostly-stpm,majority-A level)
p/s:If there is,please let me know.
HAWAII MARIJUANA DISPENSARIES (http://hawaii.dispensaries.org/)
Wingmaker
27-06-2006, 10:36 PM
They(embassy) already chose the best 16 and the students went for the interview just the on beginning of this month.At least 3 students are nominated after the interview for this scholarship this year.(There should be more but i just know 3 of them up to now,1 from penang,1 from kedah,1 from KL.)
Only 3 people! Maybe undergraduate scholarship is really tough to win.
Anybody know about postgraduate rate of selection? I just went to the interview for postgraduate scholarship in the embassy.
kimsiang
27-06-2006, 10:43 PM
Anybody know about postgraduate rate of selection? I just went to the interview for postgraduate scholarship in the embassy.
When i was in the embassy for the airticket giving ceremony 2 years ago,there were around 40 postgraduate students if i am not mistaken.So,maybe it is easier to get the scholarship for this level.
Good luck to you.
Washington Medical Marijuana Dispensaries (http://washington.dispensaries.org/)
vivuvuvi
28-07-2006, 07:06 PM
Does anybody know questions and format of English test for the Monbusho exam this year ?
Thanks a lot.