View Full Version : ASEAN/NTU undergraduate scholarship interview

superbcsy
05-04-2006, 11:15 AM
Any who is offered the interview? I've just received the e-mail offering me the interview :D

x
05-04-2006, 11:49 AM
i didn't. mind sharing your results?

aikws
05-04-2006, 12:00 PM
Yeap. I received the email also.

superbcsy
05-04-2006, 12:35 PM
i didn't. mind sharing your results?

My result:
Pengajian Am: A
Math T: A
Pyhsics: A
Chemistry: A-
Biology: A

Courses applied:
1. Business + Computing (double degree)
2. Computing Science
3. Bioengineering
4. Chemical engineering
5. Environmental engineering

For NTU, you have to sumbit a separate form to apply for NTU/ASEAN scholarship whereas NUS automatically put you into consideration.

ll_angel86
05-04-2006, 01:06 PM
I also received the e-mail.

btw, I have some problems with the photo for the scholarship application. there are so many guidelines to follow. I couldn't convert my jpg photo to gif format.

At first, they wanted jpg. now, they want gif. :(

kevinkhoo1986
05-04-2006, 02:51 PM
i did not receive any email/mail from them, is that mean that i am not eligible for the scholarship? sob sob....

superbcsy
05-04-2006, 03:33 PM
i did not receive any email/mail from them, is that mean that i am not eligible for the scholarship? sob sob....

Mind sharing your result? Or have you actually applied fot it or not?

sping
05-04-2006, 04:06 PM
uh-oh...my appraisal form can't seem to reach ntu...its been more than 10 days since i sent it...i'm getting worried...

superbcsy
05-04-2006, 04:14 PM
uh-oh...my appraisal form can't seem to reach ntu...its been more than 10 days since i sent it...i'm getting worried...

You can check your application status here
https://wis.ntu.edu.sg/pls/webexe/adm_fore_appl.login

tako
05-04-2006, 05:55 PM
hmm... funny. i applied to NTU, but i didn't apply for the NTU scholarship (didn't fill in the form online). But i received an email from them instructing me to complete the form by tomorrow. they invited me to the interview too.

sping
05-04-2006, 09:18 PM

You can check your application status here
https://wis.ntu.edu.sg/pls/webexe/adm_fore_appl.login

ya..i've checked many times over the past few days...but it still shows that the docs and appraisal form have yet to arrived...dunno whether it's because they havent updated it.

i emailed them last friday, received an aknowledgement, but thought it would be better to call them, so i called on saturday, and the person told me that they would check and promised to let me know on monday via email. on monday i didnt receive the email, so i called again. this time another person who sounded rather rude told me that if they still havent receive it after a few more days, they will call me.

anyway, until today, no email yet.

but what i'm really worried about is not that the docs might have gone missing...i've heard enough of pos malaysia's mystery of the missing mails...

sigh...i guess i'll just sit and wait for them to call me ...

anyway, thanks a lot superbcsy! all the best for your interview!

Europa
05-04-2006, 09:43 PM
Anybody has any idea what they're gonna do at the interviews?

sping
05-04-2006, 10:00 PM

erm...i think it's very much a "standard" interview...one-to-one or many-to-one...i may be wrong, though. hm, u got the interview too?

Europa
06-04-2006, 01:06 AM
Oh, then it couldn't be as scary as I thought. Yeah, sp, me too.

tako
06-04-2006, 01:31 AM

you should call them and check. I've just called NUS today to see if they have received my credit card payment. I made my payment on sunday, and till today the website still showed "awaiting payment". they've updated after receiving my call though

wawa
06-04-2006, 07:59 AM
Europa wrote:

erm...i think it's very much a "standard" interview...one-to-one or many-to-one...i may be wrong, though. hm, u got the interview too?

Don't worry. They're generally lenient and are out there to help you, not make your life miserable. So enjoy. Plus, if you're good, be prepared for both universities to pitch their marketing stuff and you and they will try to grab you asap. :wink:

sping
06-04-2006, 05:20 PM

you should call them and check. I've just called NUS today to see if they have received my credit card payment. I made my payment on sunday, and till today the website still showed "awaiting payment". they've updated after receiving my call though

tako, thanks a lot for your suggestion, but if you read my earlier post i have actually called them twice plus 1 email....and today i finally got a reply to my email telling me that they have not received my docs and i should send another 1 asap. they didn't mention about the appraisal form though...

looks like i have just become a victim of pos malaysia's mystery of the missing mails (it could be singpost, but i doubt it :lol: ) so...this time i'm gonna send everything again, by post laju (regretted not using pos laju last time), and hopefully i still stand a chance to be shortlisted for the interview.

oh, and hm, i havent got the interview lar...maybe interview for Cat A kids will be held later (i hope so) since the application just closed on Apr 2. I haven't heard any news from anyone also. anyway, good luck for your interview!!

Moozy
06-04-2006, 06:06 PM
Do you all know how they select potential scholars for the interview? One of my friends(he got 4 flat in STPM) is invited to the interview even tho he did not apply for it at all while another 2 and I were not selected( we got 4.0 too) but we applied. Another friend(also 4.0) who'd not applied was not asked to attend the interview. Do they look at our co-cu? But my friends are very active, representing the state in a sports. Thanks ahead! :D

sping
06-04-2006, 11:37 PM
Do you all know how they select potential scholars for the interview? One of my friends(he got 4 flat in STPM) is invited to the interview even tho he did not apply for it at all while another 2 and I were not selected( we got 4.0 too) but we applied. Another friend(also 4.0) who'd not applied was not asked to attend the interview. Do they look at our co-cu? But my friends are very active, representing the state in a sports. Thanks ahead! :D

i think they probably havent processed all applications...what you can do now is....wait and see....

well...i got an email today telling me to send my docs again...but now when i check the application status...it says my docs have been received...

i think just give them more time to sort out things...i dont think they give a lot of importance to co-curricular activities when they shortlist for interview...more during the interview perhaps

sping
06-04-2006, 11:42 PM
but if u r really worried bout it...try appealing? ask them for a chance to be interviewed

joshuatj
07-04-2006, 01:31 AM
No reply for me.

How do I Appeal?

kevinkent
07-04-2006, 03:04 AM
No reply for me.

How do I Appeal?

Are you stpm leaver or ?? :roll:

joshuatj
07-04-2006, 03:22 AM
STPM leaver.

Applied for the scholarship.

Moozy
07-04-2006, 11:13 PM
Thanks a lot for your advices. According to my friend, the interview's on next thursday so I think NTU should have processed all applications. I requested a confirmation from the admin and thay said if I was not invited by late apr/may for the interview, my chances are low.

Anyway, thanks a lot :D

sping
07-04-2006, 11:53 PM
Thanks a lot for your advices. According to my friend, the interview's on next thursday so I think NTU should have processed all applications. I requested a confirmation from the admin and thay said if I was not invited by late apr/may for the interview, my chances are low.

Anyway, thanks a lot :D

there's a high chance that there is more than 1 interview day... so if your interview is scheduled on a later date, you'll probably be informed later...dont worry huh. if u dont get asean, there are still other scholarships available for first year students.

joshuatj
08-04-2006, 02:00 AM
Other than ASEAN? like?

tako
08-04-2006, 02:15 AM
try KUOK foundation... oh yes.. quite a number straight A students from Sam Tet who applied for the scholarship weren't invited for the interview too.. so i don't really know how it works too. 3 of us from sam tet didn't apply, but we got invited.

sping
08-04-2006, 01:35 PM
Other than ASEAN? like?

like Micron, Singapore Airlines, SIA Cargo...and some others i can't recall right now...those that say "current undergraduates are welcome to apply" on their ads...

edit: oops...forgot to say you'll have to do very well in your first year, of course...

wawa
08-04-2006, 02:10 PM
For those who are hoping to apply for other Singapore-administered scholarship, please apply asap. Because their A Level results come out earlier, and so the deadline is applied accordingly. BTW, be forewarned that some of the scholarships will require you to give up your malaysian citizenship

superbcsy
08-04-2006, 02:52 PM
For those who are hoping to apply for other Singapore-administered scholarship, please apply asap. Because their A Level results come out earlier, and so the deadline is applied accordingly. BTW, be forewarned that some of the scholarships will require you to give up your malaysian citizenship

ASAP? Sorry but never heard that before. Mind to elaborate on that? I've searched the word using yahoo but fail to find anything relevant to it.

superbcsy
08-04-2006, 03:05 PM
Wawa, is ASAP=A*STAR scholarship? Too sad that I found out the scholarship after its closing date.

kevinkhoo1986
08-04-2006, 04:32 PM

Where can i apply for it>?

masdie
08-04-2006, 04:43 PM
Wawa, is ASAP=A*STAR scholarship? Too sad that I found out the scholarship after its closing date.

I think ASAP means as soon as possible.

wawa
08-04-2006, 05:16 PM
LOL, yeah I meant As Soon As Possible, a reminder to you guys that Singapore deadlines are somewhat different from ours, since they go by their own A Level timings.

A*Star Scholarship supports you up till PhD. Sounds great huh? The catch:
1. Becoming a Singaporean is compulsory
2. Min 3.8/4 CAP every semester.

superbcsy
08-04-2006, 10:28 PM
:o Sorry, I'm not very get used to acronyms. ASAP=as soon as possible? That's "creative"
Anyway, I don't feel like to give up my malaysian citizenship. There're still rooms for improvement and development in Malaysia though I don't recommend anyone to pursue his/her tertiary studies in public university.

meselsohnstahl
08-04-2006, 11:06 PM
:o Sorry, I'm not very get used to acronyms. ASAP=as soon as possible? That's "creative"
Anyway, I don't feel like to give up my malaysian citizenship. There're still rooms for improvement and development in Malaysia though I don't recommend anyone to pursue his/her tertiary studies in public university.

why not?? malaysian public u's not so bad...

sping
09-04-2006, 09:45 PM
LOL, yeah I meant As Soon As Possible, a reminder to you guys that Singapore deadlines are somewhat different from ours, since they go by their own A Level timings.

A*Star Scholarship supports you up till PhD. Sounds great huh? The catch:
1. Becoming a Singaporean is compulsory
2. Min 3.8/4 CAP every semester.

yeah....most of the deadlines have already passed....but do look out for these scholarships if you wanna apply for them during your first year in uni.

haiching
25-08-2006, 09:53 AM
I am going for the ASEAN interview next mon.
Can I know how's the proceed of the interview?
And wat should I take notice?
thx lots

ll_angel86
25-08-2006, 11:05 AM
thx lots

which ASEAN interview? for pre-u?
The one I went for was for a scholarship to study at NTU.
they asked me things connected to my choice of study: economics
and just normal stuff.

Larry
25-08-2006, 02:02 PM
I am currently a lower sixth-former, i have a few questions regarding this scholarship:

1) Do they look on our co-cu?

2) Let say i am not interested for the scholarship and what i want is just to gain admission into this university, will i stand a better chance?

Thanks for the head-ups!

ll_angel86
25-08-2006, 04:28 PM
I am currently a lower sixth-former, i have a few questions regarding this scholarship:

1) Do they look on our co-cu?

2) Let say i am not interested for the scholarship and what i want is just to gain admission into this university, will i stand a better chance?

Thanks for the head-ups!

answers:
1. I think they do look at your co-cu but not so much as academic achievement. everyone at the interview session (during my session) had straight A's.not sure about other sessions though.

2. scholarship n admission is under 2 different sections. I was called for an interview even before I got news of my admission. It was only on the day of the interview itself that I was accepted.
some people applied for admission but did not apply for the scholarship, however NTU invited them to the interview anyway.so, no u won't stand a better chance of entering uni jsut becoz u tell them u don't need a scholarship.

hope this helps! :D

haiching
25-08-2006, 06:36 PM
thx lots

and just normal stuff.

I'm goin for pre-U interview.
wat should I take notice about it??

ll_angel86
26-08-2006, 02:27 PM
thx lots

and just normal stuff.

I'm not very sure coz mine wasn't for pre-u. but it should be like most interviews. make sure your replies are not too long or short. dress appropriately and be polite. just the basic stuff. and do not exaggerate or lie about your achievements.....it won't work.

haiching
27-08-2006, 04:10 PM
thx lots

and just normal stuff.

I'm not very sure coz mine wasn't for pre-u. but it should be like most interviews. make sure your replies are not too long or short. dress appropriately and be polite. just the basic stuff. and do not exaggerate or lie about your achievements.....it won't work.

okay,thx lots!
But wat kind of questions they will ask??please help quick...the interview is tomorrow!thx thx thx

ll_angel86
28-08-2006, 09:13 AM
thx lots

and just normal stuff.

okay,thx lots!
But wat kind of questions they will ask??please help quick...the interview is tomorrow!thx thx thx

sorry, can't tell u. each interviewer is different. they won't ask da same questions. even for the same interview, my friends and I got different questions. but be prepared to tell them something about yourself, why u r motivated, yor weaknesses n strengths.......

haiching
28-08-2006, 06:04 PM
Phew..Just came back from interview.Thx lots ll_angel86!

So,i'm now here to share my experience.
Well , the interviewers are all really kind. They are all together three interviewers but mostly only one of them ask questions.
Firstly, they ask u simple questions such as how u reach singapore and etc.I think it's because they want to release our tension.
Then they start to ask more detail questions about the path we are heading in the future.

There are really no specific questions as wat ll_angel86 said,everyone questions are different. I think polite,truthful and humble is really important.

So,gd luck to the others who are also goin for asean selective test and interview in the future!!

ll_angel86
29-08-2006, 09:34 AM
Phew..Just came back from interview.Thx lots ll_angel86!

So,i'm now here to share my experience.
Well , the interviewers are all really kind. They are all together three interviewers but mostly only one of them ask questions.
Firstly, they ask u simple questions such as how u reach singapore and etc.I think it's because they want to release our tension.
Then they start to ask more detail questions about the path we are heading in the future.

There are really no specific questions as wat ll_angel86 said,everyone questions are different. I think polite,truthful and humble is really important.

So,gd luck to the others who are also goin for asean selective test and interview in the future!!

you are welcome. hope u are successful!

haiching
29-09-2006, 05:55 AM
thanks,i've got the Asean scholarship!
thx lots

ll_angel86
02-10-2006, 01:47 PM
CONGRATS!!!! :D

sunshine88
02-10-2006, 10:10 PM
congratulations to all of u who manage to secure the scholarship..However,i need a help here.I never knew that i can u se my STPM results to apply.Can u guys provide me a link where i can get more info bout this asean scholarship :?: can i really use my STPM results to apply :?: 8) ....need some clarification,if u dun mind

sping
03-10-2006, 08:54 AM
congratulations to all of u who manage to secure the scholarship..However,i need a help here.I never knew that i can u se my STPM results to apply.Can u guys provide me a link where i can get more info bout this asean scholarship :?: can i really use my STPM results to apply :?: 8) ....need some clarification,if u dun mind

yes, definitely...but are u going to NTU or NUS? cos for NUS, u dont need a separate application for the scholarship. u'll be shortlisted for the interview automatically if u're good enough when u apply for a place at the university. For NTU they do have a separate application for the scholarship but well in the past, there had been ppl who didnt apply for it but got shortlisted for the interview.

remember to watch out for the deadlines for the applications...if its earlier than the release of ur stpm results, u may use ur trials results or projected results to apply. Links? ermm... try www.nus.edu.sg and www.ntu.edu.sg and look out for 'scholarships' or do a search or it. the information should be there.... though the deadline for the next intake is probably not updated yet.

sunshine88
03-10-2006, 02:33 PM
thanks a lot sping..... 8) ..

SamLee
04-10-2006, 11:49 PM
did anyone get any details information regarding the scholarship that is only applicable for 3 students in one school, i mean upper six. that scolarship will held interview in January 2007. my school submit my name but i dunno details. please tel me.... I knew the scholarship is for NUS