View Full Version : Interesting Places In Europe
18-02-2004, 02:09 AM
To organize the threads in this Special Interest Group much better, I have decided to spilt the sharing of experiences of various traveling experiences into various continents.
So, this thread is specifically for interesting places that you have known or been in Europe
18-02-2004, 02:09 AM
To organize the threads in this Special Interest Group much better, I have decided to spilt the sharing of experiences of various traveling experiences into various continents.
So, this thread is specifically for interesting places that you have known or been in Europe
etcmp
11-12-2004, 11:19 PM
HI!!!!!
I recommend a few nice places to go see and visit!!
1. South of france-Carcasonne, Marseilles, Perpignan, Nimes, and Avignon
2. Holland-Amsterdam, and Haarlem..
3. UK-OXFORD!!
4.Spain-Barcelone, Sevilia and Madrid
5. Italy-Rome
6.Iceland
7.Sweden (voted best place among my friends to visit for the weekend)
And opps..( i know brazil is not in europe..but..visit rio !! it's fantastic!!)
12-12-2004, 12:49 AM
etcmp, may be you should share with us the interesting parts of your visits to those cities.
I would be heading towards London and Prague this winter break.
etcmp
12-12-2004, 01:38 AM
ohh hoo
I wil lbe in london and oxford for the xmas holiday. PRAGUE IS beautiful..I haven';t been there myself, but got couple of friends who has recently been there..
I shall ask them and let u know asap about interesting points to visit!!
If u like nature, u can also try the french alps..mont blanc, morzine or saint jeans d'aulps (who knows ifu have the time to take a train (tgv) from waterloo to paris)..u can rent a cabin and go mountain hiking, it's very pretty up there..with cows and greens..it's really very lovely.
Anyway, hope u will have a great winter break in Europe.
London..is nice! expensive though..a bit cosmopolitan, busy busy! nice area to go see is chelsea (sp not sure if correct..sorry) .
What sort of things u like to do? that wld help me to narrow down the points of interest...if u dun mind sharing..:)
p:s/ur doing a GREAT job keeping this forum nice and going..
cheers
N
12-12-2004, 01:47 AM
I would be in London from 31st to 3rd, where I would stay near Imperial College, thanks to fellow ReComers and IAs, Wei Cher and Jia Hong. I guess I would be staying within London city, not planning to go far. Perhaps, seeing the countdown in London, going to some of those unis, like Cambridge, Oxford, LSE and of course Imperial since I am staying nearby there, and also some of the museums and other places where tourists visit.
For Prague, I will be attending a conference there. International Youth Leadership Conference from 3rd to 8th and then spend 3 more days there visit all those chateau, museums etc. Hopefully that Prague is also very beautiful when covered with snow~!
etcmp
12-12-2004, 07:27 PM
Hiya ! Yeah oxford is not far from london, u can take a bus ride around 1 hr and 30 minutes ride. Ahah....well, to tell u the truth, there are many "touristic" places to go see in London- sherlock holmes musuem, and if u crave for malaysian food, u can go to the malaysian satay house or mawar ( hhaha..thats what i do ) and if u enjoy parks, u shud go to hyde park..I don't know if shopping is ur thing?? coz chelse area is the place to shop, it's the high street !
- Typically, i think people go to hyde park, madame tussard, big ben clock, london bridge..IF u want to "cheat" just take the tour bus and in no time u wld be covering the whole London!! Heh.
-I prefer oxford, there is a musuem of science /arts..can't remember, with great "head" of scholars ..i have a picture of that too.! Oxford is tiny, and a real student city and go visit the oxford bookstore and blackwell (i think that is the name??) Where the bookstore consists of 5 huge floors..and u can get almost any kind of books there..
- And there is a great chinese restaurant also in Oxford..err..this one i have to ask my cousin..he is studying in oxford, and has live there for 3 yrs , so i reckon he can suggest some nice places for u.
Prague..u have to wait a bit!! friends not around this sunday..
Wow!! international youth leadership! U do have the right leadership!! Congratulations! How are the candidates selected?
ps" what do u study???
probably i can find this thread somewhere on this forum (regarding the question imposed on u above_..but due to "time constraint" I am ashamed to admit Ihave not the time to read all!! sorry!!
xiaohu
22-06-2005, 04:58 AM
Flew to Florence, Italy from London Gatwick on a school History of Art trip (we're studying the Florentine Renaissance) in February. Highly recommended - it's one of the most fascinating and beautiful cities on earth! On the way I had this magnificent view of the Alps from the window - quite incredible, you have to see it for yourself. We stayed in a little hotel near the Cathedral, very central. Temperatures still slightly above zero, so it was really nippy esp when the wind blew. Bring a pair of comfortable but strong walking shoes (that's what they always stay) cos we walked EVERYWHERE and some of the roads are cobbled instead of paved. Basically it was wonderful if you're into the cultural and historical stuff - the Renaissance in Italy drew on the learning of the Greeks and Romans, and contributed majorly to Western civilisation. Do some research before you go. It's not a very metropolitan city like Milan but there's plenty of big branded shops like Gucci and Guess if that's what you're looking for. Ate and drank like royalty for week - you've gotto know where you're going; Lonely Planet's a pretty good guide. Gimme a shout if you want some places recommended. Have also been to France (Toulouse) and Russia (Moscow + St Petersburg).
boafan
04-09-2005, 05:32 PM
Paris definitely..
Mozart's home..for music enthusiasts..
Seine River
PISA
Venice - a MUST..